[VIDEOS] Shreyas Iyer Performance Watch

Your understanding is near zero as always.
The match just played was an odi. Mamoon thinks Iyer is the best ODI batsman in the world. I answered to his post ( so I am talking about ODI's.)

Hard to understand for you, I know.

By the way, what do you think, Iyer is the best ODI batsman in the world or Mamoon has lost it?

Yeah he is mixing up formats now. He has completel lost it. He is bringing Babar and Rizwan into every India thread today especially when he is quoting you. :inti

It was such a pleasure to ses so many best in the world in the same Xi Today. Iyer, best odi batsman in the world, Sharma best opener ever, Dhawan best pair, Kohli best this and Rahul best that.

Just lost a very tight match vs Bangladesh.

It was such a pleasure to ses so many best in the world in the same Xi Today. Iyer, best odi batsman in the world, Sharma best opener ever, Dhawan best pair, Kohli best this and Rahul best that.

salty as ever.

iyer needs to perfect that pull shot. how can someone who has played so much at wankhade be so bad vs short ball.

Babar best batsman lost a home match and surrendered against Zimbabwe.

Scored 4 fifties (including a 100) and 49 in 5 innings in NZ. Failed in BD lol He is bad? If he had scored 100 vs BD and failed against NZ then also you would say It is just BD. Basically he has to score non stop. Even here he just gifited his wicket after being set.

82* for Iyer - playing a potentially match winning innings

iyer needs to perfect that pull shot. how can someone who has played so much at wankhade be so bad vs short ball.

He is somebody who is leaning too forward and is tall . Pull shots played well by shorter players in general as they have more time to go back onto back foot .

He plays it well against 130-135 k . To pull 140-150 k u need that extra second . He is working on the technique aspect . Mentally he is not afraid of short balls - unlike say a kambli who didn’t have the toughness to face short pitch .

He is somebody who is leaning too forward and is tall . Pull shots played well by shorter players in general as they have more time to go back onto back foot .

He plays it well against 130-135 k . To pull 140-150 k u need that extra second . He is working on the technique aspect . Mentally he is not afraid of short balls - unlike say a kambli who didn’t have the toughness to face short pitch .

Rahul is tall too but he plays pull shot well. Any reason for that? Naturally gifted??

or simply you can be a rohit sharma and pull 145ks on the front foot into the stands :84:

i hope he fixes it soon. will be great middle order bat in the long run for the team in tests & ODIs. already bashes spin.

Good series vs BD..contributed in both innings. Next challenge would be home series vs Australia. If he can pass that, I think he can be a good all format player.

He needs an assured performance in SENA conditions to be a test player.

Raina was poor playing short balls, otherwise could smash fast bowlers and spinners even of hard lengths. Shreyas is another level bad. Cannot play short ball, hard lengths etc.

Shreyas strength is strike rotation and innings building. He is very good in that. Taking singles and two and keeping the scoreboard moving, he seems to thrive in that. When it comes to hitting, he is not good vs quality pace. Against spin, he can destroy bowling and that is how he maintains a 130 strike rate in T20.

Raina was very good striker of ball and could play quickfire knocks vs pace or spin both. He could play impact knocks at 6 also for India, don't think Iyer can do that. But Iyer has better strike rotation and innings building skill than Raina.

Actually his connection rate has improved now. His only problem is picking the right ball to go after. He was hitting in the air. In the second innings he was consciously rolling the wrist to keep the ball down. That is a huge step. He is definitely improving faster than any player that had short ball weakness.

observed this and pleasantly surprised. swivelling his body on the pull and rolling the wrists.
few more days of practice and he should be an ok player of short ball i guess.

The nerves of steel that he showed today tells us that he will have a good career across all formats. Already 28 so won't be an elite level batter but still a good enough batter.

Plays spin beautifully. His hands adjust bat speed according to the ball's pace after pitching.

Yeah came here to type that, the guy is like old school Indian batsmen lol very good at playing spin but short balls :))

Top top player, better than Babar Azam but his competition was Kohli, Rohit, Pujara etc. not Hafeez & Malik, so he had to wait for a long time to get a consistent run.

Does anyone seriously think this guy is the future over a repositioned Shaw in the middle-order. I can understand them keeping Gill out because they see him purely as an opener. But Iyer? Even Mayank playing the middle-order role would be superior to this jr. Rahul. Doesn't even have Rahul's skills but has his midget mind.

He is best suited to the IPL and tiktok or that Indian version since it was banned, where he can dance with his sister.

As India's batters continue to enjoy a field day against Australia in the 4th Test of the Border Gavaskar Trophy in Ahmedabad, there were a couple of surprising moves on offer. Ravindra Jadeja was promoted ahead of Shreyas Iyer in the batting line-up on Day 3. But while initially it seemed as if the move stemmed from the temptation of getting left-hand, right-hand combination going, the plot thickened when there was still no sign of Iyer as KS Bharat walked in at the fall of Jadeja’s wicket.

On Sunday morning, the reason behind Iyer not batting at his preferred No. 5 position was revealed. The BCCI pushed out an update informing that Iyer complained of pain in his back and that he is under the supervision of the board's medica team. "Shreyas Iyer complained of pain in his lower back following the third day's play​. He has gone for scans and the BCCI Medical Team is monitoring him," a release stated.

The seriousness of Iyer's injury remains to be seen though. If Iyer is indeed incapable of batting, the game may just open, with only Ravichandran Ashwin and Axar Patel as the two recognised batters to come after this. Both have batted tremendously in the series but an interesting scenario may just unfold with the pitch finally showing signs of doing something. India, still training are being moved forward by Virat Kohli and Bharat, and one more wicket at this juncture may just make this game that bit more interesting.

This is the second time in two months that Iyer has been plagued by a troubled back. After playing the two-Test series against Bangladesh in December, Iyer had a swelling in his lower back, which required him to take an injection and subsequently ruled him out of the home series against New Zealand and Sri Lanka. After undergoing rehab at the NCA in Bengaluru, Iyer was declared fit and was drafted back in the squad for the second Test of the India vs Australia Test series in Delhi.

HindustanTimes

From BCCI release today:

Mr Shreyas Iyer is scheduled to undergo surgery for his lower back issue next week. He will remain under the surgeon’s care for two weeks and will return to the NCA after that for rehabilitation.

Shreyas Iyer reveals details of rehabilitation journey.

India middle-order batter Shreyas Iyer spoke at length about the physical and mental battles he had to go through after his surgery.

Iyer’s presence in the Asia Cup squad marks his return to competitive cricket for the first time since March. The Mumbai batter had missed a part of the Ahmedabad Test against Australia due to a bulging slip disc.

Iyer’s presence is key to the India batting lineup. He is a possible solution to their number four quandary. The batter has played 20 innings at the position with 805 runs to his name at an average of 47.35.

In an interview with the BCCI, Iyer stated that his current routine focussed on staying in the present and keeping his preparation in order.

See, for me it is important for me to be in the present and do my routines right," Iyer said.

"I don’t want to think about what is going to happen beyond and what has happened in the past.

"I’m happy being where I am. I’m ticking all the boxes day by day. In terms of preparation, I had fantastic two days of practice with the boys and also it was competitive. So happy to be here right now and embracing each and every moment.”

He also opened up on the nature of his injury.

"To be precise, I had this nerve compression, basically this slip disc which was compressing the nerve and the pain was going all the way down to the bottom of my tiny toe. And it was horrendous, at that point of time, and I was in excruciating pain."

The batter underwent surgery in London in May and was in the NCA in rehabilitation.

Iyer stated that going through rehabilitation was a tough ask. The player was thankful to his friends, support staff and family, who supported him in this journey.

"As a professional athlete, it is tough when the pain is not subsiding. Thankfully I had a great set of friends around me and support staff and also my family," Iyer said.

"So they were the ones who calmed me down in this situation. I was panicking but patience is the key at this point of time especially. I’m truly happy to be where I am right now, because I never imagined that I would recover so fast."

India begin their Asia Cup campaign against Pakistan on 2 September.

Shreyas Iyer: I never imagined I'll be playing Asia Cup. The recovery was slow and steady. I passed the fitness test one week before selection, and I was really happy with that. I was nervous last night, couldn't sleep. I am super excited to play this match against Pakistan. It's a phenomenal feeling to be honest as they are the number 1 team at the moment. We are privileged to be a part of this team and journey with Rahul sir (Dravid) as the coach and under Rohit Sharma's captaincy. The spirits are high in the dressing room and we are looking forward to this game. Delighted to be playing against these (Afridi, Rauf, Naseem) bowlers, plan is just to watch the ball and play according to the situation.

Upto the youngsters today....Lets see how Iyer takes this challenge

He was looking really fluid today when others around him were clearly struggling. He was unfortunate to get out the way he did but I look forward to seeing him play in the rest of the asia cup

Looked good today and was timing the ball nicely.

Nice set up by Pakistan though - short ball, mid wicket in there who he hit it straight to.

Haris Rauf broke Shreyas Iyer's bat with an express delivery in the India-Pakistan Asia Cup Clash

1693720512205.png

The most important player for India in this world cup because he is probably the best player of spin going around currently and in India teams will operate with 20 overs of spin.
Even on minefield pitches I have seen him tackling spin with ease.

India batting - a joy to watch and no better example than the one from Iyer today

1695575625070.png

Spinner killer.

If Bharat and Aussies have a big match in the World Cup, we definitely need Shreyas bhai to take care of the Zampa threat.

This loser scored in a useless match again it seems, when the stage was already set for him. I was expecting him to do something to make it impossible to drop him.

When asked about his troubles against bouncers, Iyer was in no mood to play defensive and decided to issue a sharp retort to the reporter.

Here's how the conversation went:

Reporter: I wanted to ask, short ball has been a problem for you since the beginning of this World Cup and today we saw some great pull shots. How much are you prepared for the next match against South Africa because we know how good they are with the short balls.

Shreyas Iyer: When you say it's a problem for me what do you mean?

Reporter: Not a problem, problem exactly but it has troubled you.

Shreyas Iyer: Troubled me? Have you seen how many pull shots I've scored? Especially which has gone for four.
If you're trying to hit a ball, you're bound to get out anyway. Irrespective it's a short ball, it's an over pitch. If I get bowled two or three times, you all would say that, OK, he can't play an in-swinging ball. He can't play a cut if a ball is seeming.
So, see, we, as players are bound to get out on any sort of deliveries. You guys have created that environment outside that he can't play a short ball. And I feel that people are picking that up every now and then and it plays on your mind regularly and you keep working on that.

Coming from Mumbai, especially from Wankhede, where the bounce is pretty much even and it bounces way more than any other pitches. So, I've played majority of my games here, so I know how to tackle it. It's just that when I go to hit some shots, you are bound to get out and sometimes it may work, sometimes it may not. And majority of the times it hasn't worked for me, maybe that's the reason you think it's a problem for me. But in my mind, I know there's no problem.

When asked about his troubles against bouncers, Iyer was in no mood to play defensive and decided to issue a sharp retort to the reporter.

Here's how the conversation went:

Reporter: I wanted to ask, short ball has been a problem for you since the beginning of this World Cup and today we saw some great pull shots. How much are you prepared for the next match against South Africa because we know how good they are with the short balls.

Shreyas Iyer: When you say it's a problem for me what do you mean?

Reporter: Not a problem, problem exactly but it has troubled you.

Shreyas Iyer: Troubled me? Have you seen how many pull shots I've scored? Especially which has gone for four.
If you're trying to hit a ball, you're bound to get out anyway. Irrespective it's a short ball, it's an over pitch. If I get bowled two or three times, you all would say that, OK, he can't play an in-swinging ball. He can't play a cut if a ball is seeming.
So, see, we, as players are bound to get out on any sort of deliveries. You guys have created that environment outside that he can't play a short ball. And I feel that people are picking that up every now and then and it plays on your mind regularly and you keep working on that.

Coming from Mumbai, especially from Wankhede, where the bounce is pretty much even and it bounces way more than any other pitches. So, I've played majority of my games here, so I know how to tackle it. It's just that when I go to hit some shots, you are bound to get out and sometimes it may work, sometimes it may not. And majority of the times it hasn't worked for me, maybe that's the reason you think it's a problem for me. But in my mind, I know there's no problem.
That's false bravado. Everyone knows he is a bunny against short pitched bowling. Yes, he can hit a few boundaries but there isn't always control. Because of this false bravado, he is reluctant to duck under the short balls. His small head has a giant ego that stops him from fulfilling his potential. The subpar SL team gave a semblance of superiority to Iyer, Siraj. They both were primed to lose their spots in the next game. Come knockouts, if there is a bowler that will go for plenty, it would be Siraj and if there's a walking wicket, that will be Short ball bunny Iyer. Time will tell.

Doing his job in the semi final.

Our faith in him is paying off

Back to back World Cup centuries

66 ball century in the semi final

Take a bow !!

He can't perform in high pressure games. He needs a set platform to perform.

Shreyas Iyer slams half-century vs Australia in 5th T20I. He manged to score 53(37)

In First ODI vs South Africa, Shreyas Iyer scored 52(45) at strike rate of 115.55

He should not be any where near test team.He is struggling with bounce even in odi's in south africa. They should go with other batsmen may be gaikwad in test matches

If you are going to drop people for specific weakness INdia has to drop entire line up. I still remember how many of our guys got out in the slips against Jansen.

He is never a good test batsmen against any sena country in their backyard. He continuously hufs and pufs against the short ball. Even today ,he was trying to duck/evade and suddenly he tried a pull out of frustration which might have landed him in trouble. IN WC finals too, he was expecting a bouncer and cummins got him with pitched in delivery. We must be ruthless and its only survival of the fittest.

During the press conference ahead of India's 1st T20I against Afghanistan, when asked about the exclusion of Shreyas Iyer from the squad, the India Cricket Head Coach stated:

"There were absolutely no disciplinary reasons for his non inclusion. It's just that he missed out. There are a lot of batters in the team and I think Shreyas Iyer missed out. He did not play the T20Is in South Africa as well. It is unfortunate because he is a fine player but there are a lot of batters and it is not easy to fit everyone in the squad and the playing XI. So, no disciplinary reasons at all."

He is a bit one dimensional batsman so not fit for T20s. He is good only for ODIs and Tests in Asia.

Shreyas Iyer while speaking to media after Mumbai's emphatic win over Andhra:

"See, right now I'm being in the present. I have finished the match which I was asked to play (Ranji game against Andhra). I came, and I executed, so I am happy with what I'm doing."

"Something that is not in my control, I can't be focusing on that. Coming here and winning the match was my focus and that's what we did today."

"It's important to take one match at a time, not think about five-match Test series. The team is only for the first two games. The motto would be to perform in the first two games and then look forward to the rest of the games."

"I'm assuming that we would be getting turning wickets against England. But other than that, it was just for my match fitness, to stay on the field as long as possible, that's what mainly I was focusing on because especially after my injury, it has been tough for me to stick on the outfield for long. So this was great practice for me."

"It's fun. I love competition, and when competition is there, you face more challenges. And that's what I thrive on personally. So I enjoy having competition around because then you can go at each other and also against the opponents to show your talent and skills."

"I'm going to play attacking irrespective of the situation. And also when you bowl negative, when you bowl safe and defensive at the start, you want to score runs and you need to take your team through up to a certain point."

"So that was my mindset and that's why stuck with. Yeah, I was happy irrespective of the score."

Shreyas Iyer is a fraud batsmen flat track Bully

I think he has this amazing ability to be arrogant and egoistic despite being mediocre.

The attitude is of Viv Richards although the skill level is Iftikhar Ahmed.

Iyer not able to keep up in this series so far - gone for 27.

He is a hack. Too many Failures for him now. Needs to be dropped from the next match .

According to reports, Shreyas Iyer may end up missing the last three Tests against England in the five-match series due to injury. The report states that Iyer has complained of stiffness in his back and pain in his groin area while batting, which could lead to the batter not playing the remaining matches.

Lel people said this joke of a cricketer is better than babar lol.

Babar isn't kohlis class but he is aeons ahead of frauds like iyer kl Rahul and Gill.

Gill is rubbish. Watch his 100, there were like 3 chances to get him out. Lucked out with lbw. He will get found out again in the next game. He is fit for odi t20 but not tests.

According to reports, Shreyas Iyer may end up missing the last three Tests against England in the five-match series due to injury. The report states that Iyer has complained of stiffness in his back and pain in his groin area while batting, which could lead to the batter not playing the remaining matches.
Niggled lol. Don't believe it's an injury. He has been found out

Iyer has been a big disappointment so far. His performance is below par considering all the hype surrounding him. He is found wanting for his place in the team now.

He is only good for ODIs. Doesn't merit a place in any other format.

India should invest on Washington Sundar.

According to reports, Shreyas Iyer is expected to be excluded from the list of centrally contracted players for the 2023-24 season. One of the reasons behind this decision is reportedly his absence from domestic cricket despite the board's insistence.

Shreyas Iyer opted out of Mumbai's match despite the National Cricket Academy stating that he has no injuries. Rohit Sharma commented on the matter after India's win over England in the 4th Test in Ranchi:

"Jin logon ko bhookh hai, hum unhi logon ko mauka denge (We will give opportunities to only those who are hungry)."

"Agar hunger nahi hai to unko khila ke koi matlab nahi hai (There's point in playing those who don't have the hunger)."

"I don't see anyone in the team here who is not hungry. All the boys who are here and also those who are not, they all want to play. But the thing with Test cricket is that you get very few opportunities. If you don't utilise them, they go away."

According to reports, Shreyas Iyer is expected to be excluded from the list of centrally contracted players for the 2023-24 season. One of the reasons behind this decision is reportedly his absence from domestic cricket despite the board's insistence.
Shreyas Iyer dropped from BCCI annual contract list for 2023-24

NDTV

Harsh. But since it is a punishment he has to improve his relationship with BCCI by playing first class cricket. He was one of the integral part of world cup squad.