Virat Kohli - The Mega Discussion

Amir said:
1) I didn't bring Sachin up. He was already in the discussion about who Virat would go onto replace. Best you rejog your memory.
2) Imran has a World Cup.
3) Though, you have a point. Imran never did hit a century against Bangladesh!

Unfortunately Imran does not have a WC, its his team Pakistan which won the cup. Imran captained the side but it was a complete team effort as far as I am concerned. Winning a world tournament cannot be a single effort, it has to be a team effort. If Inzimam hadn't played that brilliant innings in the semis against NZ Pak wouldn't have been there in the finals. If Wasim hadn't scored those important runs in the final overs in the finals, pak wouldn't have got to 249. Rameez's hundreds in the round robin games, Mushtaq's brilliant spell in the finals to rip out the top order.

Please stop giving credit to induviduals for winning a cup. I think Sachin did his best both the times India made it to the final stages during his career and unfortunately we were not good enough as a "TEAM" to grab the opportunity. Both the times he was the highest scorer in the tournament. why is Kallis still called a great in spite of his team never having won a WC? Is it because he is not playing for India? Why not blame him too for not having a WC? What about Lara? did he win a WC?Why is he called a great?

So based on your opinion, Rameez was better player than Yousuf as he has a world cup to his credit. Jogindar sharma is a better bowler than Donald as he "won" the WC (As if WC is like a tennis Grand slam which a induvidual can win)?

The funniest thing is how he started defending his hero even before I brought up anything related to his abilities. All I said is -
^^ I believe you would love it if an Indian pulls Imran Khan out of no where and belittles him for nothing.

To this his response was that Imran has a World Cup :))

Bublu Bhuyan said:
But equivalent to THE Bangladesh.

Who got off topic. Me or you ? Your insecurity made you post point 2 and 3 in your above post. "Imran has a World Cup ....." :)))

I apologize, I digressed a little. It appears giri bit the bait.

As for belittling Imran. If I wanted to defend Imran, I could write pages and pages. Plus, I think you first have to belittle Imran for me to defend him. I was merely rubbing it in that Sachin doesn't have a World Cup.

Anyways, as you said lets get back on topic. I don't want to ruin the second coming of Teenda's thread. After all, it is awfully difficult to handle the pressures that come along of such role after playing an amazing match winning innings vs the worst ranked team.

BTW, did you see all of VRats innings today? Give me a ball by ball description, it shouldn't take you that long.

Amir said:
Anyways, as you said lets get back on topic. I don't want to ruin the second coming of Teenda's thread. After all, it is awfully difficult to handle the pressures that come along of such role after playing an amazing match winning innings vs the worst ranked team.
No thank you. I'd wait for him to average 55.54 in Tourney Finals and 103.08 in such Finals won by India before calling him the 2nd coming of Sachin. As of now he has looked more like Imran Khan in terms of performing in such Finals. Has only played 2 Finals as of yet, hope he'll catch up with that average of 21.44 after playing in some more Finals.

Virat Kohli - Legend in the making?

I was having a look at last year stats and this guy was 2nd in the list top scorers. Has 4 centuries already to his name, be it on flat tracks!

And he is only 20 odd now - if he continues the way he going now, he'll surely break Taindu records of most centuries and runs! Averages 57 and in 1st Class and looked good so far against the South Africa pace attack!

What do you guys think?

Lol he has just started his career, too early to say if he's going to become a legend.

Anyway he has just been run out a few mins ago :))

he is a very good player....but u know many ppers here dont give credit where it is due...above are some typical examples..

Too early to say, things can change very fast, we have seen too many examples from Pakistan itself

:afridi :umarakmal etc etc etc

He actually looks a class batsman, unlike the Raina's/Yusuf Pathans. Kohli and Rohit Sharma are the future for India.

Is a good player. Has earned a place in the ODI team through his performances now.

It will be interesting to see how he does in test matches.

A very solid player for India, will be much better than his more hyped compatriots. One to watch out for in the WC, too.

Raina, Vijay & Yuvi were also called legends by Indian fans after few decent ODI performances. All of them were found wanting in test matches. Unfortunately, bowlers are allowed to bowl short in test matches unlike in IPL. :amir

Fantastic young batsman...shame some Pak fans can't appreciate this and give credit where it's due...if Kohli was a Pak, bet the same posters woulf declare him the next Bradman!

Too early to say, things can change very fast, we have seen too many examples from Pakistan itself

:afridi :umarakmal etc etc etc

You love bringing Afridi into every thread. And you are not obsessed with him.

A very talented young player. In another thread i rated umar akmal better than him. But now he has changed my mind completetly.

He is the future captain of INDIA.

Fantastic young batsman...shame some Pak fans can't appreciate this and give credit where it's due...if Kohli was a Pak, bet the same posters woulf declare him the next Bradman!

Fantastic batsman?? What are his stats in real form of the game?? :yk

I was having a look at last year stats and this guy was 2nd in the list top scorers. Has 4 centuries already to his name, be it on flat tracks!

And he is only 20 odd now - if he continues the way he going now, he'll surely break Taindu records of most centuries and runs! Averages 57 and in 1st Class and looked good so far against the South Africa pace attack!

What do you guys think?

He would be a very good batsman if he is half as good as Tendulkar.

He is good but not in league of Tendulkar, Sehwag and Dravid.

at best maybe he'll have 40-45 average in test cricket. I don't think he has the talent to average 50+. I could be wrong.

Well it is too early to say anything. He looks good so just hope he reaches his potential. If he becomes as good as Gambhir, I will be happy.

Pretty smart player, solid batting technique for an opener, great execution and control over strokes, ( no miscues, lucky flukes, flying edges, or half hearted polks on the front foot), looks stone cold no matter how intense the pressure may be, he also has a great focus and is very serious about his game. All qualities that are extremely rare to find in most of Pakistani openers.

Too early to assess his ability. He needs to play for at lest two years in both test & odi and in all conditions to get an idea of his ability.

Suresh raina & YV were shortly deemed to be the next greats of the game but soon realised they couldn't play test cricket on bouncy tracks.

He looks quite sold, technique wise. However that does not mean he will become a legend, other aspects have to come into play as well.

He is the best young batsmen India have at present.. Can play short ball... better than Rohit and other over hyped players...

that isnt hard is it,the likes of sami, zaheer, steyn, johonson play the shorter ball better then rohit sharma.

Not a legend at this time but definitely someone a team like Pakistan would yearn to have as an opener.

Virat Kohli: what a player

Virat is a seriously good player in ODIs and will be a great test player too. Techincally gifted, he is also mature in his strokeplay.

I think that some of the likes of Yuvraj and Dhoni may not do so much in the World Cup but this man will be one of the stars.

Kholi will be the batting STAR for years to come he has proved himself in shorter format let see how long it takes him to break into Test team. Best young batsman around.

He is very pleasing to the eye. Very good temperement to go with it

really class act. His mental toughness and his ability to play against any opposition in any condition in any match situation is evident in his short career already.
But mark my words, ahmad shahzad is a better talent.

the nation has its best wishes with him, may all our prayers work just like they worked for sachin

He is doing alright now but don't want to get my hopes up. Raina, Vijay and Yuvraj have all in one way or other still to prove that they can be depended upon in all conditions and formats so don't want to praise Kohli till he books his place in the test squad.

he's been amazingly consistent. india have had their fair share of jokers in the past few years but this guy looks the real deal imo

Very classy, has trouble outside his off-stump but, oh boy is he a good batsmen lol. The way he plays in fantastic to see, a bit like how yousuf used to pace his innings in ODI's. Taking singles, working the ball down to third man and if slightly on the pads then down to square leg.

I think he'll have an impact in the world cup, i hope they won't drop him just because of the big names who'll come in. Should be in the test squad would be suited to the number 6 position which india are struggling with atm.

really class act. His mental toughness and his ability to play against any opposition in any condition in any match situation is evident in his short career already.
But mark my words, ahmad shahzad is a better talent.

someone mentioned a while ago that shezhad has more talent than shewag. is that you?

Sachin, Sehwag, Gambhir, Kohli = A full force in the World Cup..

India v Bangladesh.. Really looking forward to that match because Bangladesh will give them a tough fight for sure at their home ground

Sachin, Sehwag, Gambhir, Kohli = A full force in the World Cup..

India v Bangladesh.. Really looking forward to that match because Bangladesh will give them a tough fight for sure at their home ground

Cant wait cant wait cant wait for that match......... 19 Feb

kal yaar mujhe bada afsos hua iski century hojati to maza aajata ..ek to waise hi haar gaye aur century bhi nahi hui ....

koi nahi kohli
..u have great future ahead ...well played boy ....:14: :14:

All the Best for future

rohit sharma, uthappa in the batting dptt to name a few. Mithun, Unadakat in bowling just to name a few

I always thought in the future Kohli would lead India and Aamer would lead Pakistan :wasim vs :sachin

rohit sharma, uthappa in the batting dptt to name a few. Mithun, Unadakat in bowling just to name a few

Rohit Sharma isn't even successful in Indian domestic cricket. Neither is Uthappa. Unadkat hasn't even played 1 season of domestic cricket. They need to prove themselves on domestic scene first. This is what happened with Raina as well. Thats why he struggled in Tests.

Rahane, Pujara would probably be future of Indian middle order along with someone like Kohli... But too early to say.

Kohli isn't even certain of a place in WC11.. He is still next 1 in packing order. I am almost certain.. India with go with Yuvraj, Raina and Yousuf along with Sehwag, Gambhir, Tendulkar and Dhoni.

Rohit Sharma isn't even successful in Indian domestic cricket. Neither is Uthappa. Unadkat hasn't even played 1 season of domestic cricket. They need to prove themselves on domestic scene first. This is what happened with Raina as well. Thats why he struggled in Tests.

Rahane, Pujara would probably be future of Indian middle order along with someone like Kohli... But too early to say.

Kohli isn't even certain of a place in WC11.. He is still next 1 in packing order. I am almost certain.. India with go with Yuvraj, Raina and Yousuf along with Sehwag, Gambhir, Tendulkar and Dhoni.

Rohit Sharma isn't succesful at domestic cricket????
He has a 1st class average of 60.

Raina has a decent 1st class record, he showed his potential in that one season before he finally become a permanent fixture in limited overs team. Since then he's done well at the national level so domestic record becomes irrelevant. He failed to perform in tests because he can't play the short ball, there's no 2 ways about it.

Rohit Sharma isn't succesful at domestic cricket????
He has a 1st class average of 60.

Raina has a decent 1st class record, he showed his potential in that one season before he finally become a permanent fixture in limited overs team. Since then he's done well at the national level so domestic record becomes irrelevant. He failed to perform in tests because he can't play the short ball, there's no 2 ways about it.

Even in this years domestic he failed to score when runs were needed most. Compared to him Rahane was more successfull.

Absolutely, Rahane, Mukund and a few others deserve chances now ahead of Rohit. But to say he's been a failure in domestic cricket is pushing it.

He should get a run in the Test side soon, look at what playing a trillion ODIs before his Test debut did to Suresh Raina.

Lets see how he does in his second season! Many a player looks like a legend in the making after a good 1st year, let exposure kick in as that seperates the weak from the strong.

Where Has Virat Kohli Dissappeard?

for being a guy who was the ranked number 2 before the world cup i havent heard his name at all after was it injuries or was it something else

its hard to belive he would fall down so fast

Virat Kohli

100 :14:

Hope this wins the match for us .

----------------------------------------------------------------

July 21st, 2012 update

Last 5 ODI scores -
133*

It was perfect ending to see Dravid playing his last ODI inning along side with Kohli, who is about to replace him for number 3 position of RSD.

May be they haven't updated his profile page yet, it is his 6th hundred i guess. :)

Excellent knock. Would have been nice if he scored in the 2nd or 3rd odi instead of dead rubber nevertheless a pressure free ton.

first time I enjoyed watching him play.It really was a quality knock.