"What Virat Kohli does, I want to try to do the same and emulate him" : Babar Azam

Babar Azam speaking on the post-match show Straight Drive:

"I tried to play a few shots at the beginning but they didn't come off, but we made up for that in the end"

"I try to keep things simple and play shots when the ball is in my area. I also take chances sometimes when required. Our plan is to try and score around 7 an over which is what we try to maintain. My role is to try and play out the overs while the other batsmen play around me"

"I was aware of the record but I wasn't counting, I was trying to do well for the team"

"I try to make sure I play few dot balls and keep rotating strike even if the bowlers are bowling well"

"On these pitches, slower balls disturb batsmen quite a bit. The field can give you an idea as to whether the bowler will bowl a slower ball"

"I don't take any team lightly, I have a plan as to how I will play against each team based on the videos and analysis we do"

"My role-model is AB de Villiers and after him, Virat Kohli, who I even follow now. What isn't good about Virat Kohli? Everything is good about him. What I like the most is his confidence when he arrives at the crease. If he's scored a 100 in the previous game, he still comes to the next game as though he hasn't done anything and aims higher. His confidence, balance, the way he treats bowlers. What he does, I want to try to do the same and emulate him"

"Technically, I want to work on my game against short-bowling"

Babar has the right attitude where as we have a talented cricketer who wants to copy everything Virat does except his work ethic and hardwork. :inti

I think he said Kohli is very confident when he comes to the crease. Doesn't matter if he scored a 100 or not, he always is confident (has that swagger irrepective of whether he scored runs or not).

Just listened to it again, I think he is referring to Kohli's hunger for runs here.

"Agar sau bhi kiya ho, aglay match mein wo wese hi aata hai jesay uss ne kuch nahi kiya"

Exactly. One is currently banned and other is piling up the runs.

Can you clarify who we are discussing lol. I have an idea it’s shezad who’s banned and Akmal who’s scoring runs but want too be sure.

I have seen a big improvement since he has opened- his strike rotation and shot range have both improved. I think he still lacks the hitting power of the top batsman especially of spinners. Overall def on the right track and needs to open in all limited overs cricket.

There is no issue with having Kohli as a role model. I hope he can learn a lot from him. Babar won't surpass him but there's no harm in using him as an example.

Needs to start hitting the gym like Kohli.

idk what the team management is doing, its been like 2 years and Babar is still very skinny. He needs to put some meat on those bones and develop some muscles.

Babar can certainly learn a thing or two from his cousin on how to put some meat on bones :D

There is definitely improvements in his game. I hope he transfer some of this form into the ODI's against the Kiwis. But he is a big player for the future and under Mickey he will improve.

Nothing wrong in trying to emulate one of the greats of the game. I hope he becomes one of the greatest Pakistani cricketers but he needs to build some muscle and work on his power game.

It's his body structure. He's an ectomorph. He'll always have difficulty putting muscle on. They can put muscle on but it can take years.

Make your own identity. Wannabe's get nowhere, original is always the original. Make Virat emulate you if anything not the other way round.

Babar has the right attitude where as we have a talented cricketer who wants to copy everything Virat does except his work ethic and hardwork. :inti

What is this about taking dig at Indian players in every post? Who told you that our boys dont hv work ethics or dont do hardwork? Stop making it obvious dude.

We all saw what Babar Azam did in Asia cup and what our lads did and who did what.

What's wrong with what he said? Kohli is possibly the hardest working batsman of all time. Babar can become a great batsman if he can follow Kohli's work ethic. It's not like Kohli has the best batting technique or stance, people praise his drive to score runs.

Brilliant attitude from the young record-breaker. Idiotic fans need to stop the comparisons with Kohli until he reaches his level, and I promise you he will ;) Inshallah.

Make your own identity. Wannabe's get nowhere, original is always the original. Make Virat emulate you if anything not the other way round.

It's real world, not a Bollywood film.

People follow greats of their profession. Every great bowler had his ideals. Every batsman had his.

Today's great is you know who and is followed by everyone.

It's real world, not a Bollywood film.

People follow greats of their profession. Every great bowler had his ideals. Every batsman had his.

Today's great is you know who and is followed by everyone.

With that attitude he will always be a wannabe. By all means he can look at Kohli as a role model but saying he wants to emulate him smacks of an inferiority complex. Next he'll be looking to marry an actress in his attempts to be like him.

And so what? It has gotten him this much success why would he stop? What is so bad about trying to emulate the best player? How is that an inferiority complex? Nobody is as good as Kohli. :facepalm:

What is this about taking dig at Indian players in every post? Who told you that our boys dont hv work ethics or dont do hardwork? Stop making it obvious dude.

We all saw what Babar Azam did in Asia cup and what our lads did and who did what.

he's probably talking about Ahmed Shehzad i think

If he can copy Virat'e attitude, he would have done a great favor to himself.

He is trying to achieve what Virat does for India. He did not say he wants to copy his style or something like that. Virat is a gold standard for batters around the world, so no wonder Babar wants to emulate him. If he is able to achieve even 75% of the consistency Virat has, he will become the greatest batsman for Pakistan.

Nothing wrong in this. Virat is a legend. And i am glad he is try to emulate the best of the game.

Not sure why egos are hurt here. Virat has time and again said that AB devilliers was better than him (fans can debate) and that Amir is one of the toughest bowlers he has ever faced. Many Indian bowlers have openly said that they look up to Wasim and Waqar.

Mutual respect is common among players. Young players drive inspiration from greats of the game and look to improve like them.

On a side note, I remember saying one thing even before Babar had made his debut. I had said that Babar Azam and Haris Sohail's development as Batsmen is critical for Pakistan's future generations. They can have the effect that Wasim had on bowling.

And so what? It has gotten him this much success why would he stop? What is so bad about trying to emulate the best player? How is that an inferiority complex? Nobody is as good as Kohli. :facepalm:

So what that he's a wannabe afraid to carve out his own reputation. He is not successful because he imitates Kohli rather because he is a god batsman. Inferiority complex is means he is so impressed by someone that wants to be like them.

He is trying to achieve what Virat does for India. He did not say he wants to copy his style or something like that. Virat is a gold standard for batters around the world, so no wonder Babar wants to emulate him. If he is able to achieve even 75% of the consistency Virat has, he will become the greatest batsman for Pakistan.

The problem is this culture of wanting to be the new Akram, new Tendulkar, new Richards and so forth. Let him be the only Babar Azam.

There is a difference between to copy someone and trying to do what the other person does for his team. He did not say he wants to be next Kohli, he said he wants to do what Kohli does for India for the Pakistan batting. He is talking about consistency and hunger for runs. People always take inspirations, the comparisons and calling a player next Akram, Kohli, Tendulkar are done by the fans, none of the players even remotely think that.

Well I wouldn't expect him to say he wants to be exactly like Kohli for the fear of being mocked. Sadly many Pak cricketers clearly attempt to emulate Kohli's appearance as well. Ahmed Shehzad is another one that comes to mind. Fans should also stop calling him "Our Kohli" or the new this or that, he is our Babar Awan. Great Cricketers have their own personality as well as ability.

He talks as if he stays with kl rahul.
He knows everything about kl according to him kl rahul has zero work ethic, zero commitment, wonder who tells him that.

So what that he's a wannabe afraid to carve out his own reputation. He is not successful because he imitates Kohli rather because he is a god batsman. Inferiority complex is means he is so impressed by someone that wants to be like them.

Who wouldn't be impressed by Kohli? and who wouldn't want to be as good as Kohli? Every player learn from other players, in this case Babar learns by watching Kohli. Is his technique, stance, and life style the same as Kohli? no, he does what any smart player would do. That is to learn how to be a better cricketer by watching the best. And you call this inferiority complex? People wont remember that he tried to emulate Kohli, all they will remember is how good he was. Having a role-model does not affect your own legacy.

Where has Babar said he wants to copy Kohli's batting style? He sais he wants to have the same mindset as Kohli. Getting inspiration is not copying.

Well son, pull up your socks, and get working real hard, when u think you are working hard, then step it up a few notches further, and you will be on your journey, and put this on a loop and keep at it to even think about matching or going past him... i am not a kohli fan, but i respect his hard work and brand of talent...

Good attitude. He role model's Kohli too which is good for him. The lad will work hard (I can feel it).

Where has Babar said he wants to copy Kohli's batting style? He sais he wants to have the same mindset as Kohli. Getting inspiration is not copying.

That is what he means. Don't expect him to say it.

It shouldn't be about emulating, it should be about surpassing - T20 fastest 1k runs already in the bag. :salute

Yes.

Today's shots for the first time reminded me of Kohli at his best.

It was absolutely amazing to watch, pure batting class, such a great range of shots.

He's definitely gonna be Kohli v2.

Saw Kohli play today instead of Babar.

Still long way to go babar but its good to see him following footsteps of a great player.

Yes.

Today's shots for the first time reminded me of Kohli at his best.

It was absolutely amazing to watch, pure batting class, such a great range of shots.

He's definitely gonna be Kohli v2.

Saw Kohli play today instead of Babar.

Actually Kohli never played such an innings in T20.. Babar is actually better than him in this format!

Why can't he just be babar azam? He should try to play consistent cricket in all formats and that will do. No need to copy someone. Reminds me when i was kid i used to copy every thing my friend used to do (cause he was topper)

Babar is no way near Kohli right now but this is not a fault of Babar's as Kohli is already a bonafide ATG batsman. Babar has a long way to go and hopefully he can emulate Kohli as much as humanly possible.

Anyway. Enjoy this innings against legends like Beuran Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi. Who are these guys again?

Anyway. Enjoy this innings against legends like Beuran Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi.

No, man it was a really good innings. I have my highest regards from him. It's when immature fans make outlandish statements, I get annoyed.

Well played, young man. May you do even better in the future.

No, man it was a really good innings. I have my highest regards from him. It's when immature fans make outlandish statements, I get annoyed.

I would have no problem in praising Babar if his fans would stop comparing him to Kohli who is 10 times the batsman Babar would ever be.

It is not just about scoring runs, it is about seizing the big moments which Babar has not been able to do.

He needs to take Pakistan home in these type of situations, but he lacks the mental edge and the ability to clear the rope.

Anyway. Enjoy this innings against legends like Beuran Hendricks, Lutho Sipamla, Junior Dala, Tabraiz Shamsi. Who are these guys again?

Without entering the debate of witch innings was better etc, Kohli, in that innings batted well just two overs against Faulkner and Coulter Nile so it's quite strange from yourself to point out the quality of the bowling here.

It is not just about scoring runs, it is about seizing the big moments which Babar has not been able to do.

He needs to take Pakistan home in these type of situations, but he lacks the mental edge and the ability to clear the rope.

He had no choice but to play big risky shots. Talat kept on playing shots and missing. One of them had to go big.

Yes one good innings albeit in home conditions.

I would have no problem in praising Babar if his fans would stop comparing him to Kohli who is 10 times the batsman Babar would ever be.

That's what I said previously.

That poster is a troll and surely not a proper fan of the game. He's totally clueless, ignore him.

Babar still has a long way to go but today's knock was brilliant, the strokeplay reminded me of Kohli.

The pressure is always on Babar because other players can't even do the basics correctly just look at Talat in this innings.

Maybe the batting partners to help chase 190 too, no?
I didn't knew that in in T20's you had to score more than that to win it. You lack of understanding of the game or bias against pakistanis is reaching new heights with the emergence of Babar.

He had no choice but to play big risky shots. Talat kept on playing shots and missing. One of them had to go big.

All of that is true, but once in a lifetime players like Kohli win games from situations like these. Babar so far has not exhibited that killer instinct.

Yeah he should have chased it by himself right. Even if he scored 190 by himself I am sure you will still find something negative to say.

Without entering the debate of witch innings was better etc, Kohli, in that innings batted well just two overs against Faulkner and Coulter Nile so it's quite strange from yourself to point out the quality of the bowling here.

Faulkner and Coulternile are very good compared to the rubbish served by SA here. Young bowlers with no ability to handle pressure.

Yeah he should have chased it by himself right. Even if he scored 190 by himself I am sure you will still find something negative to say.

I am waiting for him to win Pakistan a game of cricket from a dicey situation and I will have nothing negative to say.

All of that is true, but once in a lifetime players like Kohli win games from situations like these. Babar so far has not exhibited that killer instinct.

I agree, but when you have quality players playing with you it's much easier-as we saw in WT20 2016 when Kholi played some great innings.

The bowling attack which Kohli faced was way better than SA's bowling attack today and you have to be extremely biased to not see that.

What new thing did we learn today? This was stereotypical Babar knock.

A run machine with beautiful stroke-play, but struggles to clear the rope and always manages to not take Pakistan home by getting out at the wrong time.

he came as an opener
and he has done well to chase 188 target in t20s,
to chase 180+ score you need team effort. even a great player like kohli will find it difficult to chase that kind of score if he has hussain talat batting on the other end.

Babar after 10 overs was 72 (43b)

Babar ended with 90(58)

After 10 overs Babar faced 15 balls and scored 18 runs. Batsman on other end was not hitting out as well. There is no point in having 9 wickets in hands and allow RR to climb up to 12.

Over all a super effort from Babar and he had the right idea to go after bowling from the get go. Mistake he made was after 10th over despite Pakistan having 9 wickets in hand.

There are always excuses for not winning games. At the end of the day, Babar so far has not showing the ability to conjure magic in such moments.

Other big players have won big games from such situations before, even though they had the excuse to fail like Babar did today.

There are always 99 excuses to fail and 1 excuse to succeed. It is understandable that our fans will do bhangra on this innings, but these type of performances have been a common theme of his career so far.

Kohli usually has had support in limited overs from the likes Dhawan, Rohit, Dhoni etc it’s usually in test cricket where he is has played those lone warrior kind of knocks there he has a poor track record of taking India home it’s ususally Pujara who carries India to wins in test cricket