What was the last film you watched?

yeah man Im a big batman fan. I liked the dark knight returns series.

Yeah the Frank Miller stuff was probably the most influential stuff written about a comic book super/anti hero. Black Mirror is good to I got the graphic novel but not read it yet but it has a dark tone to it and is a bit of a psychological thriller, must be compelling.

Just watched Under the Red hood man that was intense, i wish these animated movies were longer. Never seen Batman so emotional and open about all the pain he feels inside. Really thought he would pull the trigger on Jason, writing team did a fantastic job in making sure Bats got out of that one and kept his code in-tact :)) although i question why he saved Joker because just like in Batman Begins he didn't need to Save Rahs al Ghul. Don't know what happened to Jason at the end there, maybe he went back to nanga parabat in Pakistan :)

[MENTION=101412]SwingNSeam[/MENTION] if Jason was [MENTION=115388]I Believe in the Teesra[/MENTION] in that situation, I would never hesitate to put a bullet through his head.

Into the Woods.

This was a painful film to watch.

I'd only recommend it if you are a big Disney fan and like musicals, otherwise avoid it.

2/10

Agree, but given what he had to work with i think it was decent enough. I wouldn't say weak so much as limited. His role seems to be shackled down and doesn't have room for him to do much with. He seems best when he has a little freedom and can get himself into a completely different mindset and is given a little creative freedom which i don't think he was given as much as he would have liked. I heard an interview in which he stated he was doing the directors head in as he wanted more time to get across the character and such. Or maybe i'm just biased in my feelings for this beautiful pyscho.

The overall movie had poor character development and dragged on way too long.

6/10 seems more accurate and maybe even a little generous.

Haha, that is interesting. Need to get a good copy of this online to watch.

poster212x312.jpeg

8/10

Keanu Reeves is back in form wreaking havoc on a hapless Russian mob for killing his dog and stealing his car. This movie is seriously cool. Better than the overrated Equalizer. Chuffed to see two Wire alumni in Lance Reddick(Daniels) as the mysterious hotel manager and Clarke Peters(Freamon) as a fellow Hitman.

View attachment 53280

8/10

Keanu Reeves is back in form wreaking havoc on a hapless Russian mob for killing his dog and stealing his car. This movie is seriously cool. Better than the overrated Equalizer. Chuffed to see two Wire alumni in Lance Reddick(Daniels) as the mysterious hotel manager and Clarke Peters(Freamon) as a fellow Hitman.

It didn't have the preachy tone of Equalizer which meant I'd rate this higher. Seriously cool flick. Cult level cool almost.

Gone_Girl_Poster.jpg

9/10

Tremendously enjoyable thriller from the Master David Fincher. Seriously twisted and full of surprises.

Loved the performances too from Affleck, Pike, Perry, Harris, Coon and Dickens. Kind of a kinky hitchcockian thriller but I thought it was pretty well done.

Gone_Girl_Poster.jpg

9/10

Tremendously enjoyable thriller from the Master David Fincher. Seriously twisted and full of surprises.

Loved the performances too from Affleck, Pike, Perry, Harris, Coon and Dickens. Kind of a kinky hitchcockian thriller but I thought it was pretty well done.

Did you read the book first?

I've really wanted to watch the movie but not finished the book. Book is ranked as one of the greatest psychological thrillers ever written, female authors dominate in that genre big time.

The gambler - really boring. it took me 4 naps in between to finish the whole thing.
nightcrawler - boring but it was rated highly on this forum. Maybe i am not into monologues/documentary style story lines.
sugar daddies 2014 - story line was straight forward but high school girls who played lead roles were pretty so i did not feel that bored, actually .

im into mystery.thriller genre any good releases in 2014? Today im going to watch non stop which i did not when it was relase because of exams. Let's see how it turns out

Did you read the book first?

I've really wanted to watch the movie but not finished the book. Book is ranked as one of the greatest psychological thrillers ever written, female authors dominate in that genre big time.
Nope haven't read it yet. Reportedly, it's quite faithful to the novel. Flynn herself wrote the movie too.

Gone_Girl_Poster.jpg

9/10

Thanks for suggestion :)

At least speak something more about the movie , so that others are also encouraged to see ......... why just one liners ?

i did not want to give away the whole storyline and everything. Script had great comic lines. Actors were top notch in their roles. No over the top acting. I watched after a couple of months when it was released but still cinema was houseful. I watched it at atrium cinema, karachi. I wish it had been released in India, too. Indians would have a good time as well. if pakistanis can watch indian movies why not Indians. It was so much better than Indian movies. It also goes to show that if you have good actors at your disposal , good script , you do not nee to shell out a huge chuck of money on production value.
On technical side of things , Pakistan directors have nailed it down if you have already watched 021 operation or Waar. so no negative points there as well.

here is a comic line "when javed sheikh was buying carrots/gajeerin tu sabzi wale ney bola aaj bhabi bhaut khoosh hon ghee". etc

i did not want to give away the whole storyline and everything. Script had great comic lines. Actors were top notch in their roles. No over the top acting. I watched after a couple of months when it was released but still cinema was houseful. I watched it at atrium cinema, karachi. I wish it had been released in India, too. Indians would have a good time as well. if pakistanis can watch indian movies why not Indians. It was so much better than Indian movies. It also goes to show that if you have good actors at your disposal , good script , you do not nee to shell out a huge chuck of money on production value.
On technical side of things , Pakistan directors have nailed it down if you have already watched 021 operation or Waar. so no negative points there as well.

here is a comic line "when javed sheikh was buying carrots/gajeerin tu sabzi wale ney bola aaj bhabi bhaut khoosh hon ghee". etc

No , i did not mean , you give storyline , just mention something , so that others can know what it is about :)

Watched the following in the last few days....

John Wick....8/10 Enjoyable film that finally sees Reeves making a decent comeback.

The Guest....8/10 Didn't expect too much from this but the nice twist at the end was what made it for me. Dan Stevens was brilliant as the psycho come likeable character.

The Equalizer 7/10 Can't go wrong with Washington and some Kickass choreography.

Whiplash 8/10 Just watch for the immense performance of J.K Simmons and Miles Teller.

American Sniper 4/10 Don't know what happened. Had a decent lead in Bradley Cooper but story was hard to engage after reading what the main character Chris Kyle did and lied about. Bradley Cooper does well to get in to the role but ultimately the film isn't something that'll get you attention.

Foxcatcher 7/10 Very good performances by all the lead characters, especially Steve Carell as John du Pont. The only issues I had were the strangely odd makeup. It seemed like the the 2 main leads were chewing Paan all the way through the duration.

Kill The Messenger 7/10 Very good, although slow drama about Jeremy Renner as Gary Webb a journalist, looking in to the cocaine trade that may have links to the CIA, that may have repercussions to his career and ultimately his life.

The Gambler 7/10 Stars Mark Wahlberg as a professor that dabbles in high-stakes gambling. It's actually pretty good if not decent.

Big Hero 6.... 8/10 Loved it. Watched it with the nephew and niece and both couldn't stop laughing at Baymax the big white robot.
Not just a animation but a very good story too.

Talented Mr. Tom Ripley 8/10 good movie top acting by Matt Damon

Working Girl 7/10 a good comedy, drama from the 80's

PK

A stranger in the city asks questions no one has asked before. Known only by his initials, P.K.'s innocent questions and childlike curiosity will take him on a journey of love, laughter and letting-go.

A very good script. Dialogues are well written and well researched.
Some very very good moments stitched together.
Aamir Khan gave performance of the year.
Anushka also does a decent job , she has fresh look in the movie.

Aamir Khan Plays an Alien

PK

A stranger in the city asks questions no one has asked before. Known only by his initials, P.K.'s innocent questions and childlike curiosity will take him on a journey of love, laughter and letting-go.

A very good script. Dialogues are well written and well researched.
Some very very good moments stitched together.
Aamir Khan gave performance of the year.
Anushka also does a decent job , she has fresh look in the movie.

Aamir Khan Plays an Alien

8 / 10

( Forgot to rate )

Gone_Girl_Poster.jpg

9/10

The ending really sucked for me.

I liked it. It was unconventional. Not a typical slam-bang ending but a rather calm but quietly fierce one.

The movie works even better when you consider it as a satire on marriage and a pretty brutally honest look of today's media.

z44.jpg

8/10

A decent film made more than decent by a truly outstanding performance from Bradley Cooper. I am not a Cooper fan but he totally ditches the smartass persona he had developed in movies like The Hangover and very convincingly portrays a Navy SEAL. Despite all kinds of controversy over this movie, it is directed well (by the ultimate badass Eastwood) and has some truly gripping scenes. I also appreciated Sienna Miller's small but crucial role as the supportive but overwhelmed wife.

It probably canonizes Kyle and is ten minutes too long but ultimately, a good movie.

So I watched three movies that were clearly made for Oscar-bait.

American Sniper.
Well crafted. But very one sided. C'mon guys at least try and show some diversity of views. Bradley does well in it. 7/10 purely as a film. 2-3/10 as a piece of propaganda.

The theory of everything.
A movie made for Oscar-bait but for once it would be well deserved here. I went into it with no expectations and was blown away by the lead role. The film could have probably focused more on his scientific endeavours rather than relationship but was still enjoyable nonetheless.

The imitation game [/

The imitation game
The stakes were a lot higher in this one than the other two. Which made it more enjoyable. Benedict does well, Keira looks pretty and it's an enjoyable film to watch overall. Kinda irks me to see a minimum of 2-3 world war movies every year but ah well. I'd give this a 7.

Watched "baby" in the opulent Gold Class lounge at PVR Select Citywalk. My patriotic spirits were raised so I ordered desi Sula wine instead of imported options.

Silkwood 4/10

A really over hyped movie based on a true story but the screenplay and makeover was pretty poor shocking that people call it Meryl Streep's masterclass :13:

Tip to Pakistanis.

You may consider giving Akshay Kumar's Baby a miss. It's Gadar lite. ROFL.

Don't watch much Bollywood movies but remember watching a bit of Gadar a few years ago at a friends house . I actually thought it was a parody/B-grade movie, didn't realize movies like that were actually taken seriously in India :)).

Watched BABY today. Missed the first 20 minutes due to a traffic jam. Great movie, and there were quite a few scenes where the audience clapped. Every Indian who is patriotic like me must watch it. The movie showed how Muslims and Hindus in India are patriotic, and enemy nations are trying to divide a wedge between us. 10.5/10 (Extra marks for no songs)

Young muslim engineer brainwashed by mujahideen, gets his training on how to make bombs and all of sudden he becomes patriotic and wants to help police. A very dangerous terrorist escapes from prison van with he help of his friends and then goes out of India by plane. How he did it they didn't show. Kuch zyada nahi ho gaya? mujhe hazam nahi hua :sethi

Girl Gone 8/10

A very intriguing movie which will keep you engage from start to finish. Definitely watch it.

DDLJ is even better, i can still enjoy the film.

I'd say KKHH is better, tbh :)

Made me wish my uni life was as hip and fun as Xavier's.

Although I must admit I could do without the uber stupid philosophy/literature classes mulling over the fazool question of 'pyaar kya hota hay?' :)))

Disney's Mulan: 10000/10

Seriously, how can one not like this movie? Perfect characterisation, Eddie Murphy is funny as hell (as Mushu) - and I can't help belching out singing "I'll Make a Man out of you" :)) :heart:

Going to watch Disney's Hercules tonight - I have every dialogue memorised from this movie as it is - my favourite childhood Disney film :))

I'd give it the same rating :)

OK. Disney's Hercules. I'd give this a million out of 10.

Seriously, a very under-rated movie. I'd say it has the wittiest dialogues and snide remarks on money and mercantilism that practically border on contemporary despite it's historical setting. Hades as a villian, is genius. And Herc is just -- :heart:

Need to watch then :)

Although I must admit I could do without the uber stupid philosophy/literature classes mulling over the fazool question of 'pyaar kya hota hay?' :)))

What a life it would be..... My dream school/college/university life would be, students being asked to compose essays about what exactly is love and to propose different endings to all the tragic love stories. I promise I wouldn´t have had 50 plus missed days from my school that I did in 2008 or something.

Disney's Mulan: 10000/10

Seriously, how can one not like this movie? Perfect characterisation, Eddie Murphy is funny as hell (as Mushu) - and I can't help belching out singing "I'll Make a Man out of you" :)) :heart:

Going to watch Disney's Hercules tonight - I have every dialogue memorised from this movie as it is - my favourite childhood Disney film :))

I'd give it the same rating :)

Pardon but I first read it as "Disney Mullah", and then as "Disney Multan" on the second attempt.

What a life it would be..... My dream school/college/university life would be, students being asked to compose essays about what exactly is love and to propose different endings to all the tragic love stories. I promise I wouldn´t have had 50 plus missed days from my school that I did in 2008 or something.

Forgot to add that instead of Rahul, it will then be like, "Rawal, tum btao, pyar kya hai?"

Me: "Pyar..... ? Jo mei´n aapki barrhi beyti se karta hoo´n, ma´am."

Cani-arrabbiati-1974.jpg

8.5/10

Stunning crime thriller from the Italian master, Mario Bava. Three robbers take a guy, his ill kid and a woman hostage in their car to take them to their getaway. Brutal, grim and ultimately very unpredictable, the movie is a must watch.

Has a twist ending that would bury your jaw six feet under the floor.

Speed.

Best action movie of the 90s imo. Just gripping from start to finish, and the acting was top notch especially the villan.

Pardon but I first read it as "Disney Mullah", and then as "Disney Multan" on the second attempt.

I read it disney multan.Thought it was some Pakistani Jatt movie and then I read Eddie Murphy.

The boxtrolls : 9/10 : I wasn't keen on this movie but after seeing it, I thought it was great. Loved it

Nightcrawler : 9/10 : jake gyllenhaal killed it in this movie, highlighted his true talent and potential in this movie.

The equalizer : 8/10 : Denzel washington was pretty bad-ass in this movie.

The Drop.
Excellent movie the and keeps you engaged but the best thing about the movie is Tom Hardy he's brilliant.
8/10

'Baby' (2015)

The film is getting great reviews, but to be fair I am still to get my head around the hype. Very boring, too long and loses paces on so many occasions. In a sense this was amongst Bollywood´s very long films seeing that it had only one song, that too only two-minutes long I think. More or less, the film is a biography of one officer and all the operations that he takes part in. I am bitterly disappointed as I was expecting a lot more from it.

What I found really, really strange is that the role of the main villain, shown as a Pakistani terrorist, is played by a Pakistani actor! Yes, he is Rasheed Naz and has worked in 'Khuda Kay Liye' (2007). He isn´t too famous to be recognised immediately by people, but I wonder what the reactions would be in Pakistan had he been some famous star from the country, seeing that the film is all anti-Pakistan.

Three out of 10!

'Baby' (2015)

The film is getting great reviews, but to be fair I am still to get my head around the hype. Very boring, too long and loses paces on so many occasions. In a sense this was amongst Bollywood´s very long films seeing that it had only one song, that too only two-minutes long I think. More or less, the film is a biography of one officer and all the operations that he takes part in. I am bitterly disappointed as I was expecting a lot more from it.

What I found really, really strange is that the role of the main villain, shown as a Pakistani terrorist, is played by a Pakistani actor! Yes, he is Rasheed Naz and has worked in 'Khuda Kay Liye' (2007). He isn´t too famous to be recognised immediately by people, but I wonder what the reactions would be in Pakistan had he been some famous star from the country, seeing that the film is all anti-Pakistan.

Three out of 10!

The film is banned in Pakistan

What was the last film you watched? ('Baby' 2015)

The film is banned in Pakistan

Not much of a news, this. I was expecting this. This however doesn´t still make it too hard watch.

Nightcrawler

Stunning performance by Jake Gyllenhaal and not a too shabby one form Riz Ahmed.

8/10.

Taken 3

Awful awful end to the trilogy that should've with the first part.

3/10

The Drop

Good slow burning thriller/drama. Also the last performance on the big screen of the great James Gandolfini. Tom Hardy plays a rather simple characters that may have more to offer by the end.

7/10

Finally watched million dollar arm last night. Indian were bowling at their trundler pace. They went to wrong South Asian country.

'Baby' (2015)

Three out of 10!

And why on earth did that Saudi Arabian police officer allow them to go despite being told that they do have a patient on the flight with a medical condition? That absolutely made zero sense!

'Baby' (2015)

Three out of 10!

And why on earth did that Saudi Arabian police officer allow them to go despite being told that they do have a patient on the flight with a medical condition? That absolutely made zero sense!
Thanks for the spoilers :mv

That can be explained, the cop knew that it was a terrorist being kidnapped, so he allowed it.

But the real issue with the movie was its attitude towards Indian muslims. Be an Indian first, and a Muslim later, that was the message. Why does there have to be an order, why can't someone be a Muslim and an Indian at the same time.

MPW-43662

8/10

The 1978 highly paranoid and suspenseful version starring Donald Sutherland. Really cool, scary flick with a superb twist ending. Look out for Leonard 'Spock' Nimoy in a rather different role and Jeff Goldblum in a typically quirky role.

This will render you sleepless with terror!