What was the last film you watched?

Shutter Island.

One of the best I've seen for a while.

Scorsese is brilliant - he should explore horror elements more in his upcoming movies - he has the gift.

DiCaprio continues to impress - I still reckon he's one of the more under-rated actors going around - not saying people don't think he's a good actor, but people don't think he's as good as he actually is - discount him for being a "pretty boy" instead.

Thoroughly enjoyed it, and will watch it again.

saqibsalman said:
Shutter Island.

One of the best I've seen for a while.

Scorsese is brilliant - he should explore horror elements more in his upcoming movies - he has the gift.

DiCaprio continues to impress - I still reckon he's one of the more under-rated actors going around - not saying people don't think he's a good actor, but people don't think he's as good as he actually is - discount him for being a "pretty boy" instead.

Thoroughly enjoyed it, and will watch it again.

It was really good.. but not the best DiCaprio Scorsese movie

The Departed still takes the cake for me

Just quietly I thought Shutter Island was terrible. Worst Scorsese movie ever. Too many twists, poor ending, not scary AT ALL, not even thriller-esque at all. Bad movie all round.

Poison said:
Just quietly I thought Shutter Island was terrible. Worst Scorsese movie ever. Too many twists, poor ending, not scary AT ALL, not even thriller-esque at all. Bad movie all round.

come on it wasnt that bad... indeed it wasnt brilliant.. but still acting was top notch from dicaprio

I HIGHLY recommend you guys to watch The Hurt Locker

It is an amazing film. Appreciate it for the quality of the movie.

Di Caprio's acting may have been good, but a poor script and poorer screen directions made it a very boring movie to watch. I kept waiting for the 'scary part' to come, or the 'big twist', but it NEVER CAME.

Poison said:
Di Caprio's acting may have been good, but a poor script and poorer screen directions made it a very boring movie to watch. I kept waiting for the 'scary part' to come, or the 'big twist', but it NEVER CAME.

I'm eagerly waiting for "Inception"

Chris Nolan and DiCaprio connection is gonna be legendary

From Paris with Love - loved it, Travolta was absolutely bad@ss!

Equilibrium - had always wanted to see it, not too great IMO

Seen a number since January, including 'The Book of Eli' noteworthy ending, and the sad Lovely Bones, but it's AVATAR that I've seen two times more, after first being blown away at the IMAX in December by Cameron's cine-spectacular. Love that movie, especially the female pilot's line: "You're not the only one with a gun, b****"!!! Reminds of kick-butt Ripley from Aliens 2!

Doubt.

Wow. Just wow. I thought it was a great movie. One of the best I 've seen in a while.

Would definately recommend it. If you like your movies with a strong story, some great acting and one's that leave you thinking from start to finish then this is definately for you.

Watched a fair bit of movies in the last few days;

World's Greatest Dad - quite an entertaining and quirky movie with an interesting story line and some dark humour. Robin Williams did a fantastic job as always. Do give it a try.

Green Street Hooligans - If you are a football fan then its a must watch for you, even if you aren't it still is a very very good movie about the rivalry between West Ham & Millwall.

Atonement - a really class movie, brilliant acting and storyline. Won quite a few oscars IIRC.

Whiteout average movie, if you are a big fan of suspense then it might excite you somewhat but I won't recommend watching it.

The Maiden Heist - also a very good movie, dunno why it wasn't popular but its a pretty good comedy with Morgan Freeman.

foozee said:

The Departed was good, but I can't really rate a movie that is a re-make of a non-Hollywood movie.

Chris Nolan and DiCaprio? Can't wait.

Also, saw the trailer for Green Zone (Damon's new movie) - some of the war scenes in that look phenomenal.

The Hurt Locker was also brilliant - some awesome sequences in there.

Karthik Calling Karthik - good movie, definitely worth a watch

1408 - Starring John Cusack and Samuel L Jackson, one twisted horror movie, it finishes and you wonder what exactly went on there

Road Trip - The ultimate gross out movie, funny and laugh out loud movie

Notorious - Based on the rapper Notorious BIG, good movie and you get a chance to see how the rivalry between him and 2pac started and finished..

Invictus - not exactly a masterpiece, but the subject matter was powerful enough to make it a very moving story.

the Lives of Others - lovely, lovely movie, simply brilliant.

Live of Others is the German one from a few years back right? Fantastic movie

From Paris with Love- Trash dont bother wasting your time watching this sh*t.
also so many times in movie he says mother F*cker pakistanis

afzaal1988 said:
From Paris with Love- Trash dont bother wasting your time watching this sh*t.
also so many times in movie he says mother F*cker pakistanis

Is it garbage because he says " Mother Fu..... Pakistanis" or is it garbage because its a pathetic movie?

If its because of what he says then that's not the right way to judge the movie. IF the bad guys were from Russia/Canada/Australia he would have similar lines about them. No need to get worked up because he used "Pakistanis". Its probably the nationality of those "bad guys" in the movie.

Although I haven't seen the movie so...

Men who stare at goats

Was surprisingly good. The last 30 minutes or so could have been better but other than that i really enjoyed it.. geroge clooney was hilarious. 8/10

Sparhawk said:
Men who stare at goats

Was surprisingly good. The last 30 minutes or so could have been better but other than that i really enjoyed it.. geroge clooney was hilarious. 8/10
I second that. Nice, easy movie but I agree last 30 minutes would have been better if not for that Bollywood Eshtyle ending.

OTOH, I got the Blue ray of Brave Heart and I watched it again 100th time, last night and still the same MAZA. What a movie!

Invictus ...good one

karthik calling karthik ...decent (deepika looks fab with short hair)

teen patti ... third grade

harishchandrachi factory ..marathi film (is avaliable with subtitles ) ...suprisingly good..chronicles the birth of indian cinema through phalke and the way he had to overcome odds , peoples attitudes , temporary blindness all for his single minded devotion towards creation of first indian motion pic

World's Greatest Dad ... v good

All the President's Men - great movie. It is old. I watched it few months ago but last night at 9 pm there was no good movie starting except this so watched it again

Foozee said:

That is the ultimate movie for me!

Sadly many people I watched it with or recommended to didn't understand it. The weird scene connections got them off.

Equilibrium.

Awesome Movie. How did this movie flop so badly? I thought it was pretty good.

Juggernaut said:
Equilibrium.

Awesome Movie. How did this movie flop so badly? I thought it was pretty good.

I saw it the other day for for the first time as well...the concept was good, but the move was not well-made IMO...they didn't really develop the story that well and the movie ended too abruptly...under a better director I think it could have been a legendary film.

tahaqureshi said:
That is the ultimate movie for me!

Sadly many people I watched it with or recommended to didn't understand it. The weird scene connections got them off.
I thought The Departed was excellent till the last few scenes. Stupid ending. I felt similar after Reservoir Dogs, all very anti-climactic.

d0gers said:
I thought The Departed was excellent till the last few scenes. Stupid ending. I felt similar after Reservoir Dogs, all very anti-climactic.

Haha yeah. I don't want to write a spoiler here, but the scene at the elevators is just really retarded.

Cast Away..
Tom Hanks..kya acting ki hai bhai..
great story..one particular scene that I will remember..is when Tom Hanks cries for the volleyball...(Wilson) amazing scene man.....

Gran Torino

Highly recommended movie, Clint Eastwood at his superior best, with a top class story and an all round engrossing film...ending reminded me of Falling Down with Michael Douglas..

Luton Bad Boy said:
Gran Torino

Highly recommended movie, Clint Eastwood at his superior best, with a top class story and an all round engrossing film...ending reminded me of Falling Down with Michael Douglas..
its ok but not eastwoods best ...

yesterday i saw a film called as blind fury was very good

Foozee said:
Inglorious Bast**ds

This is such a gr8 movie, Brad Pitt and Christoph Waltz(playin Nazi seargent) were both amazing in it.. Christoph Waltz will surely get an oscar for that kind of performance..brilliant

movie had everything, drama, action, suspense, comedy, wittyness.. gr8 dialogue and good acting by everyone

9/10

Chris Waltz got the Oscar.... deserved it :)

Luton Bad Boy said:
Gran Torino

Gran Torino and Falling down are both class movies. Don't let anyone tell you otherwise.

d0gers said:

I enjoyed the hk kong original more - Infernal Affairs defo recommend it.

Other not USUAL type of films off top of my head i recommend are :

ammores peros (mexican)
No country for old men
Sympathy for mr vengenace (korean)
City of god (Brazilian)
Memento

All must watch

Back to original question

Last film i watched - burn after reading

Last film in cinema - avatar

d0gers said:

The Departed had the best ending ever.. how can you say that... Dicaprio elevator scene was a shocker for me..haha

Foozee said:
The Departed had the best ending ever.. how can you say that... Dicaprio elevator scene was a shocker for me..haha
Well, I didn't like it. Not much else I can say about it really.
Zaz said:
ammores peros (mexican)
No country for old men
Sympathy for mr vengenace (korean)
City of god (Brazilian)
Memento
That's a fine list. Only one I haven't seen is Sympathy.. which is part of the Oldboy trilogy. Actually have only seen Oldboy out of the 3. But have the other two on my computer, just never got around to watching them.

I pretty much crapped in my pants during No Country.. amazing movie.

Just finished watching A Serious Man - what a bunch of horse excrement. What makes it worse is the amount of people out there that lap this garbage up just because they think it makes them clever

The Coen Brothers are not far off getting to the top of my "Would love to repeatedly punch them in the face list"

I want to watch Green Zone.

Matt Damon was awesome in the Bourne series.

The Green Zone definitely looks the goods on the trailer.

Damon again being typecast into this sort of role - but he's good at it so no complaints.

Luton Bad Boy said:
Gran Torino

Saw this the other day after you said it was good. i really enjoyed it.

Just watch both The Hurt Locker and Green Zone. Both outstanding movies.
Hurt Locker deserved Oscar for a wonderfully directed and emotional charged story with actual true life events.

Green Zone, Well What you can say about it. It is from the same team who brought you "The Bourne Triology" so you just get to watch it.

Geordie Ahmed said:
Just finished watching A Serious Man - what a bunch of horse excrement. What makes it worse is the amount of people out there that lap this garbage up just because they think it makes them clever

The Coen Brothers are not far off getting to the top of my "Would love to repeatedly punch them in the face list"

I agree. It was the biggest piece of crap I've ever seen.

City of Ember - :))

Shutter Island - dragged on a bit, but the final reveal made it worth it in the end

Funny People - I thought it would be crap, as most Sandler movies are it, but was surprisingly good.

Wake Up Sid - boooooring

d0gers said:
Well, I didn't like it. Not much else I can say about it really.That's a fine list. Only one I haven't seen is Sympathy.. which is part of the Oldboy trilogy. Actually have only seen Oldboy out of the 3. But have the other two on my computer, just never got around to watching them.

I pretty much crapped in my pants during No Country.. amazing movie.

No country was defo brilliant, Javier Bardem played one of the best villains ever brilliantly and the scenes at night in the hotel which rolled onto the street was truly frightening

Sympathy was the first in the trilogy i saw, up there with oldboy if not better

Lady vengeance was good but not in same league

Just watched 2012.

Funny how both 2012 and The Day After Tomorrow are made by Roland Emmerich and both of them start off with scenes in India, where the end of the world is showing it's signs.

Public Enemies - expected a lot more with such a brilliant cast.

What do you think I should watch tomorrow? I don't want to watch anything new cause you know how the prints are online :D.

My choices are.. Surrogates, Friday the 13th and Outlander.

kingusama92 said:
What do you think I should watch tomorrow? I don't want to watch anything new cause you know how the prints are online :D.

My choices are.. Surrogates, Friday the 13th and Outlander.

This.. really good

The Road - good movie, Viggo was just brilliant as always, and the kid was just amazing.

ali110 said:
Just watch both The Hurt Locker and Green Zone. Both outstanding movies.
Hurt Locker deserved Oscar for a wonderfully directed and emotional charged story with actual true life events.

Green Zone, Well What you can say about it. It is from the same team who brought you "The Bourne Triology" so you just get to watch it.

Oh!!! Its an awesome movie.... :14:

The Thrill and suspense was superb. Especially the scene final EOD rescue attempt in which a civilian was tied with bombs!

Very surprising that a female had directed this movie

I watched ' Up in the Air' yesterday and this was way too boring!!

Not sure what genre this movie falls in but poor story.. didnt watch it fully though

Luton Bad Boy said:
Gran Torino

whats the movie's genre?
when was it released?

last year...it's about a racist old white guy who has trouble getting along with minorities, until a Cambodian family moves in next door...very good movie, definitely worth a watch.

Ahmed Zulfiqar said:
last year...it's about a racist old white guy who has trouble getting along with minorities, until a Cambodian family moves in next door...very good movie, definitely worth a watch.

Ok... that will my next download then ;-)

abdul2009 said:
I watched ' Up in the Air' yesterday and this was way too boring!!

Not sure what genre this movie falls in but poor story.. didnt watch it fully though

that movie is brilliant..