'When you've the best car, why leave it in garage?': Brett Lee on Umran Malik missing out on T20 WC

Bhaag Viru Bhaag

Senior Test Player
India dealt with a huge blow when Jasprit Bumrah was officially ruled out of the T20 World Cup, early this month. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have not officially named his replacement but Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur are set to travel to Australia to join the Rohit Sharma-led Indian team Down Under, prior to the main draw of the mega event.

303150-brett-lee-opines-on-umran-maliks-non-selection-for-t20-world-cup.jpg

Nonetheless, former Aussie speedster Brett Lee has backed Umran Malik and feels he should have been part of India's T20 WC squad. "Umran Malik is bowling at 150 km per hour. I mean when you have the best car in the world, and you leave it in the garage, then what's the point of having that car? Umran Malik should have been picked in the Indian squad for the World Cup," Lee told Khaleej Times.

"Yes, he is young, yes, he is raw, but he bowls at 150 kmph, so get him in the team, get him to Australia where the ball flies through. It's different when you have a guy bowling at 140 kmph and a guy who is bowling at 150 kmph," the ex-speedster added.

Umran debuted at the international level after an impressive run in IPL 2022, where he accounted for 22 scalps -- fourth-most overall -- for the one-time winners Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). However, he got only limited chances under his belt for the national side, when the regulars were rested. In three T20Is he has played so far, the the 22-year-old accounted for two scalps at an economy rate of 12.44.

It looks like the Indian team management isn't looking at Umran at the moment and the young pacer will have to remain consistent and needs to work on his line and lengths, without compromising on pace, to cement his place across formats.

https://www.wionews.com/sports/when...-umran-maliks-non-selection-for-t20-wc-524754

After looking at Haris Rauf's improvement I would love to see Umran Malik in the team. We need a bowler like him in the team. I hope some miracle happens and he is included in the team. :yk2 :inti

Guys like him can be erratic for 3 overs and completely terrify you in one over. Seen with Malinga in many IPL games where he would go missing first three overs. He would come and bowl a match winning 4th over.

Best car?

His line and length is anything but best. Pace is not everything.

He is a good prospect but not ready for international cricket yet.

There is a reason they say when Rajdeep speaks you listen bcoz over the years I have built a reputation of rating a player's potential correctly. One example being, everyone laughed when I said KL Rahul is India's best test opener who has been benched unfairly for much inferior players like Mayank etc and then England tour & Lords test happen, and rest is history.

Take it from me, Umran Malik will never be a successful bowler at top level. I have seen him enough to know he is just brainless erratic player who only strives for pace and pace without brain means nothing. People who are dreaming that he will produce match winning fiery spell from somewhere are highly mistaken. This comparison with Haris Rauf also must stop as Rauf has quite a deceptive cutter and much better overall control. Don't take me wrong, I want him to succeed but he is nowhere close to being ready for international cricket yet. I think I have said this in another Umran Malik thread that the only reason he has been hyped up bcoz he is from Kashmir.

There is a reason they say when Rajdeep speaks you listen bcoz over the years I have built a reputation of rating a player's potential correctly. One example being, everyone laughed when I said KL Rahul is India's best test opener who has been benched unfairly for much inferior players like Mayank etc and then England tour & Lords test happen, and rest is history.

Take it from me, Umran Malik will never be a successful bowler at top level. I have seen him enough to know he is just brainless erratic player who only strives for pace and pace without brain means nothing. People who are dreaming that he will produce match winning fiery spell from somewhere are highly mistaken. This comparison with Haris Rauf also must stop as Rauf has quite a deceptive cutter and much better overall control. Don't take me wrong, I want him to succeed but he is nowhere close to being ready for international cricket yet. I think I have said this in another Umran Malik thread that the only reason he has been hyped up bcoz he is from Kashmir.

KL Rahul has a test average of 35. :facepalm

And who are these people who say 'when Rajdeep speaks you listen'? :91: :inti

. Only reason he got the hype was because of his high pace. If he doesn't compromise on that he will produce match turning overs. The reason he didn't click was there was a rapid drop in his pace. He was bowling at 140k vs Ireland. That doesn't cut it. 145k bare minimum. 150k is ideal. There are some sides that are extremely weak against high pace. India can easily use them rather than trundlers. Sure teams lke England are used to playing that pace so they will hit you over. But selectively he can be used.

What car would that be ?

BMW, Mercedes, Nissan Micra...

To be honest, all of Rauf's improvement has been through the international cricket. He played 1 season of PSL as the sole recognized domestic cricket before turning out for Melbourne Stars which led to his international debut. He has barely played any domestic cricket. It's also pretty interesting that he had never played with the hard ball before getting scouted by LQ in 2017.

. Only reason he got the hype was because of his high pace. If he doesn't compromise on that he will produce match turning overs. The reason he didn't click was there was a rapid drop in his pace. He was bowling at 140k vs Ireland. That doesn't cut it. 145k bare minimum. 150k is ideal. There are some sides that are extremely weak against high pace. India can easily use them rather than trundlers. Sure teams lke England are used to playing that pace so they will hit you over. But selectively he can be used.
That was my question exactly. He looked 8-10 km/hr slower when he debuted for India compared with the speeds he was generating in IPL. You would think he would let it all rip for his first outing in international cricket but it didn't happen, he found it hard to touch even 145.

I don't know if it was fitness or nerves. And it reflected in his performance. You can get away with not having skill to swing or Seam the ball if you can bowl at the stumps consistently at 150km/hr. You're bound to have matches where you'll be hit around but also outings in between where you will dismantle sides. But you cant dream of doing that when you're bowling in the low 140s with little control.

That was my question exactly. He looked 8-10 km/hr slower when he debuted for India compared with the speeds he was generating in IPL. You would think he would let it all rip for his first outing in international cricket but it didn't happen, he found it hard to touch even 145.

I don't know if it was fitness or nerves. And it reflected in his performance. You can get away with not having skill to swing or Seam the ball if you can bowl at the stumps consistently at 150km/hr. You're bound to have matches where you'll be hit around but also outings in between where you will dismantle sides. But you cant dream of doing that when you're bowling in the low 140s with little control.

He looked a little nervous.

India dealt with a huge blow when Jasprit Bumrah was officially ruled out of the T20 World Cup, early this month. The Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) have not officially named his replacement but Mohammed Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur are set to travel to Australia to join the Rohit Sharma-led Indian team Down Under, prior to the main draw of the mega event.

Nonetheless, former Aussie speedster Brett Lee has backed Umran Malik and feels he should have been part of India's T20 WC squad. "Umran Malik is bowling at 150 km per hour. I mean when you have the best car in the world, and you leave it in the garage, then what's the point of having that car? Umran Malik should have been picked in the Indian squad for the World Cup," Lee told Khaleej Times.

"Yes, he is young, yes, he is raw, but he bowls at 150 kmph, so get him in the team, get him to Australia where the ball flies through. It's different when you have a guy bowling at 140 kmph and a guy who is bowling at 150 kmph," the ex-speedster added.

Umran debuted at the international level after an impressive run in IPL 2022, where he accounted for 22 scalps -- fourth-most overall -- for the one-time winners Sunrisers Hyderabad (SRH). However, he got only limited chances under his belt for the national side, when the regulars were rested. In three T20Is he has played so far, the the 22-year-old accounted for two scalps at an economy rate of 12.44.

It looks like the Indian team management isn't looking at Umran at the moment and the young pacer will have to remain consistent and needs to work on his line and lengths, without compromising on pace, to cement his place across formats.

https://www.wionews.com/sports/when...-umran-maliks-non-selection-for-t20-wc-524754

Unleash this beast

Indian management didn’t want to take big risk.Umran May be quick but he is not ready yet.

I don't think you have to be ready to bowl 24 balls. Even if he gets it 3 or 4 right he can do a lot of damage. This is one format that allows half ready batsmen, bowlers to blossom.

And no steering wheel at the moment.

An accident waiting to happen. But in a couple of years time, I think he can become a lethal option for death overs with that pace.

We will most likely go with the bowling attack of Bhuvi, Shami, Arshdeep and Pandya. Wonder you will bowl in death overs now with Arshdeep from one end. Siraj would have been a better bet than Shami on current form, ofcourse again depends on which Siraj shows up. :inti

Sure we are unleashing a beast... be warned

Harshal Patel: 'There's nothing wrong in bowling 24 slower balls in a T20 spell'

Umran was tonked a bit overseas but he's definitely better than this bowling imposter called Harshal Patel. It's an absolute insult to Indian cricket whenever this guy bowls or rather acts as if he's bowling. He's being smashed for 45+ runs in every game he plays and yet he continues to play for some reason.

Rajdeep sounds like a 'apne mu mian mithu".

One thing India never had is pace, and by sitting someone like Umran, India maintains to keep the trundlers legacy going...not like Umran wouldn't eventually turn into a trundler. That's just Indian phast bowling culture :)

Rajdeep sounds like a 'apne mu mian mithu".

One thing India never had is pace, and by sitting someone like Umran, India maintains to keep the trundlers legacy going...not like Umran wouldn't eventually turn into a trundler. That's just Indian phast bowling culture :)

Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Umesh etc all have pace. Not sure what you meant by Indian bowlers never had pace. We won 2 back to back test series in Australia and drew in Eng courtesy of our pace bowling. Go and watch Shami's spell in 2nd innings of Brisbane test in 2018 or Bumrah's spell in 5th day of Oval test 2021 or Bumrah's spell in MCG 2021. Then come back to me with a straight face and say India don't have pace bowling culture. I know a certain country who takes pride of tear away pace bowler is yet to draw a test match downunder since 1995.

In Indian cricket sab changa si...don't need a spray gun like Umran just bcoz he has pace. Thanks.

Hoping to see Shami, Siraj, Umran and Shahbaz play for India in the same game one day.

Fastest car with worst alignment.

Pick him if you want to go down the cliff.

Not ready yet. Maybe in future.

Has pace but very little control. He is currently the version of Rauf that existed before 2021. Should not be in the squad.

When Wasim Akram speaks about fast bowling, you listen. :kp :inti

'You see that guy? I'd pick him in India squad all the time': Wasim Akram names Bumrah's T20 World Cup replacement

With Team India continuing to fret over Jasprit Bumrah's replacement, an official decision of which is yet to be taken by the BCCI, former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram has thrown a unique name in the hat.

akram-bumrah-pcb-getty_1665590901656_1665590913471_1665590913471.jpg

With Team India continuing to fret over Jasprit Bumrah's replacement, an official decision of which is yet to be taken by the BCCI, former Pakistan captain Wasim Akram has thrown a unique name in the hat. As the team management continues to mull over a possible replacement for their premier pacer, who last week was ruled out due to an injured back, several fast-bowling options have come to the fore. Earlier, Deepak Chahar, thanks to his handy batting, along with Mohammed Shami was the front-runner to replace Bumrah, but an injury to him has further narrowed the list down.

On Wednesday, reports emerged that the fast-bowling trio of Shami, Mohammed Siraj and Shardul Thakur will fly to Australia on Thursday to link up with the Indian squad. And it is quite possible that one of these three will be announced as Bumrah's official replacement. However, the bowler Akram wants to see in the Indian squad is pace sensation Umran Malik, who so far has featured in only three T20Is for India.

"You see that guy? Umran Malik... he is quick. India took him to Ireland and he got hammered. It happens in T20, but you got to stick with him. If I were in think tank, then I will have him in the squad all the time. The more he plays, the better he will become. Experience in Twenty20 matters a lot," Akram told reporters.

Umran was shortlisted as one of the net bowlers, along with Kuldeep Sen to travel Down Under but the 22-year-old apparently ran into some visa issues, due to which he is yet to depart for Australia. But with time running out, the door is slowly closing on Umran's World Cup dreams. There is no shortage of speed for Umran but many experts feel that the youngster needs to be a lot more disciplined with his line and length before being given a long run with the Indian team. Weighing in on the same, Akram explained bowlers should be prepared to get hit especially in T20Is and how Umran's case is no different.

"Unfortunately, Twenty20 format is not for bowlers. The format is the need of the hour, it is entertaining and it's picked up worldwide. Bowlers should understand that they will be hammered once in a while, which they do now," Akram added.

"Flat decks become one-dimensional. The pitches in Dubai offered a bit for the bowlers and once it is set then the next day it is better for batters. That should be the future of the format."

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...20-world-cup-replacement-101665589892807.html

After looking at Haris Rauf's improvement I would love to see Umran Malik in the team. We need a bowler like him in the team. I hope some miracle happens and he is included in the team. :yk2 :inti

It was really impressive how Pakistani selectors and team management supported and kept faith on Haris. Haris is now delivering the goods.

Same can be said about India and Ishant Sharma the test bowler.

Bumrah, Shami, Siraj, Umesh etc all have pace. Not sure what you meant by Indian bowlers never had pace. We won 2 back to back test series in Australia and drew in Eng courtesy of our pace bowling. Go and watch Shami's spell in 2nd innings of Brisbane test in 2018 or Bumrah's spell in 5th day of Oval test 2021 or Bumrah's spell in MCG 2021. Then come back to me with a straight face and say India don't have pace bowling culture. I know a certain country who takes pride of tear away pace bowler is yet to draw a test match downunder since 1995.

In Indian cricket sab changa si...don't need a spray gun like Umran just bcoz he has pace. Thanks.

Your delusions are something, proven by your mu mian mittu comment.

I don't need to go anywhere to check out any video. I know your phast bowling culture, it doesn't exist. You have a factory of trundlers and you are continuing with the great trend. Giving random games mean nothing and having 1-2 good/decent fast bowlers out of a billion people mean nothing. Now don't follow up with "when Rajdeep says India got a pace culture, you gotta believe it" :))

"Umran goes for runs and should not be selected" 😆.. Some of the Indian fans are funny. Who is not going for runs these days for India?? Even Bumrah was being annihilated. Atleast this guy has pace and cannot be lined up by batsmen before the delivery. On top of that, WC is in Australia. India has the slowest attack in Asia. Even Ban has couple of faster bowlers.

Pak > SL > Ban > Ind

It was really impressive how Pakistani selectors and team management supported and kept faith on Haris. Haris is now delivering the goods.

That's because Pakistan has a fast bowling culture and have legends who are there to support them. This is why in the Shaheen vs Nagarkotti thread I said that Shaheen will be better in the long run because of fast bowling culture in Pakistan and Nagarkotti won't even get a proper chance. :inti

Has pace but very little control. He is currently the version of Rauf that existed before 2021. Should not be in the squad.

Bhuvi loses control as well in death overs. Pace is an asset, not easy to 150k if it gets accurate.

India should have groomed him and carried him all along, ignoring his initial failures. Would have turned the corner by now, Its too late now

"Umran goes for runs and should not be selected" 😆.. Some of the Indian fans are funny. Who is not going for runs these days for India?? Even Bumrah was being annihilated. Atleast this guy has pace and cannot be lined up by batsmen before the delivery. On top of that, WC is in Australia. India has the slowest attack in Asia. Even Ban has couple of faster bowlers.

Pak < SL < Ban < Ind

Bowlers like Umran Malik can run through batting lineups. These guys go after Bhuvi, Harshal after every match but still don't want to replace them with Umran Malik. :91: :inti

"Umran goes for runs and should not be selected" ��.. Some of the Indian fans are funny. Who is not going for runs these days for India?? Even Bumrah was being annihilated. Atleast this guy has pace and cannot be lined up by batsmen before the delivery. On top of that, WC is in Australia. India has the slowest attack in Asia. Even Ban has couple of faster bowlers.

Pak > SL > Ban > Ind

India's pace attack is second best in Asia, though its inferior to all four SENA countries. Bangladesh has poor bowlers. Sri Lanka had rookie medium pacers in Asia Cup, some of them debuting.

Bumrah and Siraj are the best bowlers in the country.

Others are not good enough:inti

Bumrah and Siraj are the best bowlers in the country.

Others are not good enough:inti

This thread is about T20s. Stick to the topic at hand. And if you are talking about T20s then I thought you don't consider a sample size of 5-6 matches relevant? Siraj has played only 6 matches and Umran has played 3 only. :91: :inti

Because we have our Shuuuper Fhaazht Trundler Arshadeep Singh

and

to be ATG, Avesh Khan

:inti:

Fastest car Not the best

India obviously at the moment dont think hes good enough N thats fair enough

That was just Ishant being buddy of MSD lol

"Umran goes for runs and should not be selected" &#55357;&#56838;.. Some of the Indian fans are funny. Who is not going for runs these days for India?? Even Bumrah was being annihilated. Atleast this guy has pace and cannot be lined up by batsmen before the delivery. On top of that, WC is in Australia. India has the slowest attack in Asia. Even Ban has couple of faster bowlers.

Pak > SL > Ban > Ind

Bhuvi's controlled wides in 19th over are the order of the day lol When a genuine quick gets angry he can rev himself up and bring on heat. What can Bhuvi do when he gets hit for 6. He will try bowl even slower and terrorize the batsman.

I believe we are going back to the era of Venky Prasad as bowling coach. Trundlers galore. Even Avesh who was 145± is bowling 130-135.

"I dont know who you are, but i will find you and make you a trundler " - Venky Anna

Bhuvi loses control as well in death overs. Pace is an asset, not easy to 150k if it gets accurate.

India should have groomed him and carried him all along, ignoring his initial failures. Would have turned the corner by now, Its too late now

He was actually getting worse through the 2nd half of the IPL and then the internationals he played.

He wouldn't do any worse. I would take any bowler over Harshal patel and Bhuvi the T20 bowler. The pathetic selectors don't give a F about India's chances at the world cup all they want is a player from their region doesn't matter if they are good enough to play at the highest level. More like quota system

Best car?

His line and length is anything but best. Pace is not everything.

He is a good prospect but not ready for international cricket yet.
Erratic line and lengths and runs leaking guranteed. Needs more domestic cricket experience. Pace is overrated else Aus Eng Pakistan would have won a lot more than they do in reality.

That was just Ishant being buddy of MSD lol

Whatever, Ishant was supported by Indian selector and team management and MSD as a captain was part of it. Ultimately Ishant dropped his bowling average from one of the worst in cricket history to a respectable one and has taken his tally past 300 wickets.

That's because Pakistan has a fast bowling culture and have legends who are there to support them. This is why in the Shaheen vs Nagarkotti thread I said that Shaheen will be better in the long run because of fast bowling culture in Pakistan and Nagarkotti won't even get a proper chance. :inti

That culture theory has been hit big time buddy. Pakistan had skillful fast bowlers ,that means, They had speed,swing , accuracy and brain.

Do you think apart from Shaheen any present Pakistani fast bowler has any one of these ?

Erratic line and lengths and runs leaking guranteed. Needs more domestic cricket experience. Pace is overrated else Aus Eng Pakistan would have won a lot more than they do in reality.

Trust me. Seen several express merchants. Akhtar was fairly accurate. But lot of guys were far more erratic than Umran. Umran rarely bowled horribly wide deliveries.

India went out of the last T20 WC in the first round. Lost to pakistan.

Yet the same BK, Ashwin are playing. On top they have decided to select Harshal Patel, Axar Patel kind of rubbish.

Problem is that bcci is bcci and it has tentacles across the political spectrum. No one is going to question them.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="in" dir="ltr">Umran Malik was breathing fire against Maharashtra in Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 2022.<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/T20WorldCup?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#T20WorldCup</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/INDvsPAK?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#INDvsPAK</a> <a href="https://t.co/rgUU1J1pkd">pic.twitter.com/rgUU1J1pkd</a></p>— Cricket Videos🏏 (@Crickket__Video) <a href="https://twitter.com/Crickket__Video/status/1582214820715057153?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">October 18, 2022</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Waqar Younis on TV:

“Wasim bhai, I don't know if you remember. Recently Asia Cup me jab ham log the, unke commentators bhi the. They had long shows, were talking about team combinations and all. Uss discussions me ham log bhi the, we were talking about our side. And they were just more keen on bowlers who control the game. Just bowl good seam, which is good, you need 1-2 bowlers like that. But we were insisting that you need to look into pace"

“You're going to Australia, there's going to be bounce and you need variations. Nobody talked about the (Umran) Malik guy, who had clocked 156kph. He might be expensive on odd day, but farak daalti hai pace"

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...dia-s-t20-world-cup-loss-101668166988578.html

Waqar Younis on TV:

“Wasim bhai, I don't know if you remember. Recently Asia Cup me jab ham log the, unke commentators bhi the. They had long shows, were talking about team combinations and all. Uss discussions me ham log bhi the, we were talking about our side. And they were just more keen on bowlers who control the game. Just bowl good seam, which is good, you need 1-2 bowlers like that. But we were insisting that you need to look into pace"

“You're going to Australia, there's going to be bounce and you need variations. Nobody talked about the (Umran) Malik guy, who had clocked 156kph. He might be expensive on odd day, but farak daalti hai pace"

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...dia-s-t20-world-cup-loss-101668166988578.html

He also said that when you have pace, you can learn the other skills on top of that later on. What’s wrong is when you compromise pace for other skills.

Waqar may be a mediocre head coach, but he’s a world class bowling coach and we achieved a lot with our bowling when he was only bowling coach.

People take the one example of Md Sami and think everyone will end up like that, ignoring about 50-100 players who prioritized pace first and learned the skills of line/length, movement, variation thereafter.

This is why I’ve been harping about Hasnain. He has mad speed, and already has movement at such a young age. Need to use him when he is young. Pacers peak usually up to 32-34, but who knows, with modern fitness it may be more.

We keep hearing how good Umran Malik and Muhammad Siraj are. India's never plays them for some reason:ht

Thoda pace Kam kar dege toh ye khila lenge unhe bhi..batsman nets me injured ho jaege toh batting kaun karega :rabada2

Best car without brakes..

An accident waiting to happen. But in a couple of years time, I think he can become a lethal option for death overs with that pace.

We will most likely go with the bowling attack of Bhuvi, Shami, Arshdeep and Pandya. Wonder you will bowl in death overs now with Arshdeep from one end. Siraj would have been a better bet than Shami on current form, ofcourse again depends on which Siraj shows up. :inti

What is your opinion these days? Has Umran installed brakes in himself? And were you really going with a bowling attack of Bhuvi, Shami/Siraj, Arshdeep and Pandya? I think Umran would have made a lot of difference and we would have atleast avoided 170/0. :ab :inti

155 kph is one of the fastest balls bowled in recent times that fetched a report.However,I read on cricinfo that he may be replaced by Arshdeep for tomorrows match !!

Umran is still like a car without brakes. He has good pace but needs a bit of time to develop his game to become a genuine international level fast bowler like Nortje, Ferguson, Wood.

As a result, India should be careful in developing him and keep 4-5 quality pace bowling options for all formats. As of now, India has Bumrah and Siraj as top 2. Shami has been a good bowler for India so will be persisted for ODI World Cup, aside of these three you have Prasidh for ODIs and Arshdeep for T20Is. Umran can be middle order enforcer in both formats but you need to continue with other options as well.