Which side will win the iconic India versus Pakistan clash on 23 October in the ICC T20 World Cup?

You guys still want to play India after the Asia cup debacle? I for one want Pak to pull from this match and see how much money icc earns from the competition..that's the only thing Indians care about

Last 2 Asia cups were played in neutral venue with BCCI and SLCB as host boards. I didnt see them crying or threatning to pull out from ICC events. I am sure PCB is also mature enough to realize this and won't do any such stuff. Its just the uber emotional fans that need to come to terms with reality.

A great game awaits on 23rd for all of us to savour or as some would day its the #GreatestRivalry :inti

Any team that can hit Shadab and Nawaz out of the attack will win against Pakistan. India don't have left handed batsmen to take them down.

That's the only battle that counts. Everything else is of little significance.

Any team that can hit Shadab and Nawaz out of the attack will win against Pakistan. India don't have left handed batsmen to take them down.

That's the only battle that counts. Everything else is of little significance.

Rishabh Pant isn't left handed? :inti

Last 2 Asia cups were played in neutral venue with BCCI and SLCB as host boards. I didnt see them crying or threatning to pull out from ICC events. I am sure PCB is also mature enough to realize this and won't do any such stuff. Its just the uber emotional fans that need to come to terms with reality.

A great game awaits on 23rd for all of us to savour or as some would day its the #GreatestRivalry :inti

I for one want India to play the greatest rivalry match with themselves

Don't want Pak to pull out of the T20 WC just the India match

Pakistan's preparations for the big clash against India at the ICC Men's T20 World Cup on Sunday have taken a hit with news that experienced batter Shan Masood has been taken to hospital following a blow at training.

Masood was struck on the right-hand side of his head during a practice session at the MCG on Friday and officials took no risk with the 33-year-old as they took him straight to hospital for observation.

The incident means Masood's place in Pakistan's XI for their T20 World Cup opener against India on Sunday is in doubt, with fellow leftie Fakhar Zaman in contention to replace him.

Masood was likely to come in after star duo Babar Azam and Mohammad Rizwan and bat at No.3 for Pakistan during the T20 World Cup given he appeared in this position for much of the recent tri-series in New Zealand.

ICC

I have been for this match since they announced the itinerary. I am sure most would have. It is likely to be a damp squib now. Wish they never met each other early on. May be later in league phase where they can have reserve days

It's quite clear Rain will win. Probably better. A lot of Pak-India matches in ICC Tournaments are usually one sided.

For India opening batter Gautam Gambhir, who played a crucial role in the team's victory in the first ever T20 World Cup in 2007, has picked his ideal playing XI for the Indian team, which will start its 2022 T20 World Cup campaign on Sunday against Pakistan. Making some keen observations, Gambhir picked Mohammed Shami as India's lead paceman over Bhuvneshwar Kumar and also said that he would play Rishabh Pant over Dinesh Karthik.

"India should play 3 pacers. In my view, Shami should play in place of Bhuvneshwar. Arshdeep and Harshal Patel being the two other pacers. Yuzvendra Chahal and Axar Patel as two spinners. Hardik Pandya as fourth seamer....Shami is good with the ball both at the start and in death. He bowled really well at the death in warm-up match vs Australia," Gambhir told Zee News.

He further explained why he thought playing Rishabh Pant over Dinesh Karthik was more important for the team but added that Karthik will get the nod over Pant.

"You don't pick a batter to play just 10 balls. You pick a batter who can bat for long and Karthik has not been given that role or he has not shown the same intentions himself. He only comes to play 3 or 4 overs in the death. But what if India loses a couple of quick wickets? That is when you need Pant as you don't want to expose Hardik so early," said Gambhir

India were eliminated in the Super12 stage of the ICC T20 World Cup last year and would want to make it to the semifinals this time around.

NDTV

Looks like the crapiest 2nd kit ever..
something from Kerry Packer's era, circa '79.

yTV6i33.png

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/vmijsz" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Shami, who was down with COVID-19, was a late inclusion to the squad after Indian pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out
Mohammed Shami may be short on game time leading up to the T20 World Cup but former Australia all-rounder Tom Moody feels he's a big player and his expertise would be crucial in India's high voltage opening match against Pakistan here on Sunday.

Shami, who was down with COVID-19, was a late inclusion to the squad after Indian pace spearhead Jasprit Bumrah was ruled out for an indefinite period following the recurrence of his back stress.

The veteran pacer was pressed into action in final over of their warm-up match against Australia at the Gabba on October 17 as he grabbed 3 for 4 to hand India a six-run win.

"He (Shami) may be short with some volume in his bowling, but that one over he bowled against Australia would have gone a long way with regards to not so much the physical side of things, but definitely the mental side of things,” Moody said at Star Sports show ‘Game Plan’.

Down with COVID-19, Shami could not feature in India's build-up home series against Australia and flew straight to Brisbane after being picked on October 14.

Shami had last played a T20I during the T20 World Cup in UAE-Oman in 2021, while his last international appearance was in an ODI in the England series in July this year.

The 57-year-old Aussie, however, was firm in backing Shami and said he would make a formidable pace trio with Bhuvneshwar Kumar and Arshdeep Singh.

"I’d be going with Shami. I’d just go with his experience. Obviously, Bhuvi and Arshdeep are the first two. I just think that in big tournaments, you back big players. And he’s a big player with a lot of experience." Pakistan superstar pacer Shaheen Shah Afridi, who rattled Indian top-order en route to leading the side to a 10-wicket victory in the last T20 World Cup, will be back in action after recovering from an injury.

But it will be a different venue and the conditions will also vary at the MCG and Moody advised the Indian batters to be watchful not conservative.

"I think it’s an intriguing contest, because to me, India are a batting strong side while Pakistan, I think, are a bowling strong side.

"So, for me it’s a real contest as to how well India bat against a very strong new ball attack. If they get through that, I see India controlling the game," Moody, who coached Sri Lanka to the ODI World Cup final in 2007, said.

"But that's where they need to manage -- in the first six overs. Now, we know its T20, we know its Power Play, we also know that if we want to get off to a flyer, we have to manage that carefully. So, I’m not saying you need to be conservative, you need to be watchful." The veteran coach also said both teams would have to be tactfully aware of playing at the MCG.

"Another thing to take into consideration is the big boundaries. Yes, there will be big boundaries at the MCG, we know that.

"It’s a big venue, so the short ball and the use of that length, hard length, with that change of pace into that length, is the key to bowling at the MCG.

"So, I’m sure that both teams are very aware of what the tactical play is with the ball in those top end overs and particularly in those defensive overs."

https://www.thehindu.com/sport/cric...hami-in-match-vs-pakistan/article66042021.ece

No high pace options, inability to take down left arm/wrist spin. No quality in form leg spinner.

Very hard to see India get out of the group.

Bhaag Viru Bhaag planning on how to run away when the going gets tough tomorrow late evening as [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] is in some serious mood of @ss whopping as the game progresses tomorrow just before he starts the Diwali celebrations. :kp :inti

No high pace options, inability to take down left arm/wrist spin. No quality in form leg spinner.

Very hard to see India get out of the group.

Don't think even the most optimistic of Indian fans see this team going far this tournament.

Weather looking good?

If so am going to get the NOW TV sky stream, otherwise will need to use plan B :butt

Yes weather has improved and we may even get a full 40 over match. In fact the weather at Sydney looked worse but we are now having a full match there today.

Some stats for the upcoming game - courtesy of TOI

CnDpiRP.jpgZJDJZPO.jpgIV1i1Vr.jpgLZRg4Q4.jpg0c9aYYD.jpg

Babar Azam speaking in the pre-game presser

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 56.250%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/27yajl" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

Babar Azam:

"The way our fast bowlers are performing, Shaheen [Shah Afridi] has come back, [Mohammad] Wasim, and especially the way Haris [Rauf] has improved his bowling and grown his game, our confidence in our bowling unit is quite high - So, on the day, we will try to execute our plans to perfection"

Bhaag Viru Bhaag planning on how to run away when the going gets tough tomorrow late evening as [MENTION=139595]Ab Fan[/MENTION] is in some serious mood of @ss whopping as the game progresses tomorrow just before he starts the Diwali celebrations. :kp :inti
How old are you these days? The guy who runs away from me and this forum is going to whoop posters behind here? Didn't you pick Pakistan as favorites for this match? Are you worried now? :91: :inti

why are the indian posters whooping each other.

so its chand raat of pakistan vs india :), uff gonna be difficult to sleep and wait for the game. Love the atmosphere and the talk shows that take place before the match

Rohit Is not that smart a captain but then Babar is an average skipper basically it's and India Pakistan clash about who is worst of the two

Even Sky Sports analysts like Nasser mentioned toss advantage at Dubai not just Indian fans.
Expert opinion counts only when convenient especially for self proclaimed "real cricket fans"..did you not know that nikhil bhau...

At SCG, when seamers generally bowl slower cutters at around 75 mph , they get most value out of the wicket. High pace is not that effective.

MCG is different. Generally it's a good venue for high pace and wrist spin. Pakistan have the fastest pace attack and India only have Shami who may bowl a couple above 140 kph. Also, Shadab is superior to Chahal on current form.

I just hope it's not a complete disaster for India.

At SCG, when seamers generally bowl slower cutters at around 75 mph , they get most value out of the wicket. High pace is not that effective.

MCG is different. Generally it's a good venue for high pace and wrist spin. Pakistan have the fastest pace attack and India only have Shami who may bowl a couple above 140 kph. Also, Shadab is superior to Chahal on current form.

Hopefully we get the full 40 overs

'Suryakumar doesn't bother me because you can't bat like Viv Richards everyday': Ex-Pakistan captain's blunt remark

Pakistan, who finished as a semi-finalist in 2021 T20 World Cup in the UAE, will begin their campaign in Australia on Sunday, when they take on arch-nemesis India at the Melbourne Cricket Ground. Pakistan have had a recent edge over India in the last 12 months, having beaten them twice in three meetings. And former Pakistan captain Aamer Sohail expects the same in Melbourne as well, and while opining on the match result, made a blunt remark on India's new batting sensation, Suryakumar Yadav.

Suryakumar has been considered as the biggest threat in the Indian batting line-up by veterans and legends of the game owing to his impressive show in the format in the last 12 months. He is also the No.2 ranked player in the ICC T20I list after Pakistan's Mohammad Rizwan.

However, Sohail admitted that had he been the captain of the present Pakistan side, he would have remained unfazed over the threat Suryakumar poses, explaining that one cannot bat like the great Viv Richards everyday. The veteran cricketer hence picked Pakistan as favourites in the India tie.

“Maine baat kya ki, Pakistan ke bowlers. Pakistan ke bowling line-up ko saamne rakhke, I will go with the Pakistani team. India ke team main bohot talent hai, lekin, mere liye aap Suryakumar ka naam lete hai ya auro ka naam lete hai, agar main Pakistan team ka captain hu toh yeh mujhe disturb nehin karenge. Kyunki roz roz aap Viv Richards ke tarah bat nehi kar sakte. Bhai woh ek hi naam tha. Kohli is a dangerous player. Rohit Sharma bhi hai,” he told Sports Tak.

Pakistan have so far beaten India only once in 13 World Cup meetings, the won win coming last year in Dubai. They had won by 10 wickets.

https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...amer-sohail-blunt-remark-101666430360585.html

I’m thinking Pakistan are slight favourites going into this game. I’m expecting us to win, unless india bat first and set about 170+. I imagine that will be difficult with the likes of shaheen, naseem and haris bowling in Australian conditions. I think india will only manage 140-150.

Dude India firm favorites heading into this game. Pak batting is hopeless

India has a slight edge over Pakistan going into this match. Mainly because the Australian pitches with the bounce they offer suit our batsmen. But the reason I am saying slight is because even if it doesn't rain tomorrow the conditions will be overcast which will help the bowlers. With Jadeja missing India are clearly 1 batsman short. We have only 6 batsmen and Axar is a bowler who can bat a bit. On the flip side overcast conditions mean our bowlers like Bhuvi and Arshdeep too can utilize the conditions.

This is not Dubai where dew was a major factor. I am sure Rohit and co will come prepared this time around. In Asia cup too Naseem bowled well in the 1st round. In the second round Naseem was carted around. I believe even with a batsman short the Indian batsmen are skillful enough to handle the pace battery of pakistan.

But in t20s favourites doesn't matter. How many people expecetd WI to bow out dosearly? Or how many predicted NZs destruction of Australia? Whoever plays well will end up winning.

First time in ages, in ICC tournaments. Pakistan to me looks the favourites in this contest. So if the match get’s going I predict a Pak win.

Pak will chase anything around 170 with ease, our bowling sucks.

Both teams might want to chase if they win the toss

Well played Pakistan. I think bit of bad luck and inexperience costed the game.

India are favorites. Some of you always play safe in threads like these and show their true colors after India win the match against Pakistan. Asia Cup's first encounter between India and Pakistan is a pretty good example of that. :inti

Sorry bro, I know you must be hurting today! Good game though.

Don't even know who you are but it seems I did hurt you in the past with my opinions. :shhh :inti

MCG - Pace and wrist spin worked. Finger spin smashed. Almost a complete disaster for India :inti

A classic Virat Kohli chase came to the fore as the Indian cricket team took on Pakistan in the T20 World Cup 2022 at the Melbourne Cricket Ground on Sunday. The match turned out to be a spectacle, with India winning the contest on the very last ball, courtesy of Kohli's unbeaten 82. The echoes of the Indo-Pak battle at MCG was such that even Australia all-rounder Mitchell Marsh couldn't stop singing praises for the match.

In a press conference on Monday, Marsh admitted that cricketing contests don't get much better than the one the world witnessed in Melbourne on Sunday.

He even said that if the World Cup "gets any better than that, then we are in for an amazing three weeks".

"I actually think we should just stop the World Cup there. Um, if it gets any better than that, we're in for an amazing three weeks. India v Pakistan is always an incredible game to watch. I can't imagine what it would be like to have been in that crowd and to be a part of it," Marsh said in the press conference on the eve of Australia's match against Sri Lanka.

Marsh also heaped praise on Virat Kohli who arguably produced his finest performance in a T20 match, helping India chase down the target of 160 runs from near-impossible situations.

"But yeah. Amazing. Virat Kohli has been through an indifferent 12 months when you think about his career. And for him to do that, um, you know, put his mark on the World Cup and it was an incredible innings to watch, an incredible game. So hopefully there's a few more of those," Marsh further said.

NDTV

Pakistan and Indian fans enjoying themselves

<div style="width: 100%; height: 0px; position: relative; padding-bottom: 80%;"><iframe src="https://streamable.com/e/ls17d9" frameborder="0" width="100%" height="100%" allowfullscreen style="width: 100%; height: 100%; position: absolute;"></iframe></div>

The cricketing rivalry between India and Pakistan is arguably one of the fiercest in global sport. While sport is held dear in Australian culture, for Indians and Pakistanis, cricket represents something greater, transcending passion to something more akin to religion. With the T20 World Cup being held on Australian shores for the first time, over 90,000 people descended upon the MCG. If it wasn’t the largest gathering of South Asians in history outside of South Asia, it would be mighty close.

The rivalry between the two nations is often characterised by political tensions. They last played a bilateral series over 10 years ago and now only play at global events. Indeed, bureaucratic tensions simmered before the match after the Board of Control for Cricket in India secretary, Jay Shah, unilaterally declared that India would not play the next Asia Cup in Pakistan. Yet, animosity could not have been any further from the stands of the MCG on Monday night.

On the way towards the Melbourne Park precinct were two enterprising groups side-by-side, one selling India jerseys and one selling Pakistan jerseys. A group of India supporters, decked out in the nation’s royal blue, posed together with green-clad Pakistan supporters. Throughout the sea of blue and green around the precinct, this was the general trend and instead of the turbulent rivalry often fuelled by fans on social media, this felt like a true celebration of the diaspora in Australia.

For both the Indian and Pakistani diaspora, the Covid-19 pandemic hit particularly hard. The two nations were two of the hardest-hit during the pandemic, with loss touching most at some point. Combined with two years defined by lockdowns, travel bans and increased cognisance of discrimination towards these communities, it often felt as though there was not a lot to cheer about. On Monday, there was a sense both sets of fans felt they were in it together and a sense of camaraderie built around the grounds.

Indian and Pakistani bands played simultaneously, engulfing the MCG in a wall of sound. They joked and laughed in the lines to enter the ground and they jostled to get a glimpse of the teams warming up in the practice nets. The diasporas are two of the fastest-growing in Australia so the audience was comparatively young; the excitement of many attending their first India v Pakistan game (myself included) was palpable.

Music and song were ever-present throughout the match, with both groups of fans allowing themselves to be swept up in the atmosphere as their chants filled the stadium. Most memorably, , the roar of thousands singing the Indian national anthem was nothing short of chill-inducing. Captain Rohit Sharma was almost in tears by the time the anthem concluded.

As the players entered the fray, the MCG transformed into a modern-day colosseum, with baying spectators gleefully awaiting the gladiatorial combat they were about to witness. When Arshdeep Singh trapped Pakistan captain Babar Azam in front of the stumps in the second over, the excited murmur turned into a visceral roar. The sound perforated through the stands so powerfully it almost felt as though the ground were shaking.

The horns of the Pakistani bands began to blare when it seemed the match was beyond even Kohli’s reach. But when the man from Delhi hit Haris Rauf back over his head for six in the penultimate over, the crowd whirred back into life, doing everything they could to cheer their team on. When the winning runs were struck, it felt for a moment as if time stopped. Then, it was pure pandemonium

Many will argue this was the greatest ever T20 game. On cricketing quality alone, perhaps others sit above this match. But considering the crowd, the atmosphere, the drama and the overall narrative, there’s a very strong argument that this was one of the most iconic cricket matches of the 21st century. It was career-defining for Virat Kohli. Perhaps it also defined a generation of fans as well.

Either side of us, the most fervent Indian and Pakistani supporters cheered their heart out for their teams the whole way through the match. Yet after the final ball was struck, both groups shook hands with us and then with each other. It was a display of camaraderie symbolic of the occasion. This was more than a cricket match. It was a celebration. And one that nobody in the ground will ever forget.

https://www.theguardian.com/sport/2...post-covid-celebration-for-hard-hit-diasporas

Haha, Sehwag at its savage best. :inti

India 12- 1 Pakistan :inti

Those two memes are his savage best? Says a lot about his level of humor.

It was an amazing game of cricket, appreciated all around the world including Pakistan. Weird to see someone felt the need to again bring up this beaten-to-death jibe about TV smashing.

Sehwag really needs to get on with the times...and so do people like you.

Add Ct17 league match too. India have won 4 ODIs and a T20I. Pak have won 2 T20IS and 1 ODI. I think what he meant is unlike the pre-2017, Both have been neck and neck and their levels are very close to each other and have an equal chance of winning.

Now India have won 4 ODIs and 2 T20Is. Pak have won 2 T20IS and 1 ODI since CL17 League matches, India won 6 and Pak won 3 across all formats in the last 5 years!

Aaron Finch:

"Regardless of what the result is...I think the India-Pakistan game was amazing. I was actually sitting at home, nervous! I was nervous in the build-up watching that because I know how big a clash it is and I can't wait for the day that I can retire and go and watch an India-Pakistan game live somewhere"

"I was sitting on the couch in my hotel room and i was nervous in the build-up, it's quite strange, yeah"

"What it was...was a Virat Kohli masterclass! You always felt even though..... with three overs to go that if you're still there...you know the amount of pressure that he puts on the opposition just by being there and yeah it was just great viewing," shared Finch.