Why are Indian mangoes better than Pakistani mangoes?

Indian Mangoes vs Pakistani Mangoes - Which are the superior of the two?

Both Indian and Pakistani mangoes are very good.

There is something called an "acquired taste". If you grew up eating one kind, you will usually prefer it to the other kind.

I ate some Pakistani mangoes in Paris and they were pretty good. It is usually hard for people of one country to find mangoes of another country, though a few years ago I believe Pakistani mangoes were available in Delhi.

As a larger country, India does have a wider variety of excellent mangoes compared to Pakistan's more limited selection.

Even Indian stores in Canada carry Pakistani mangoes but never seen Indian mangoes.

Checkmate

:salute

Harrods and Selfridges in the UK stock Pakistani mangoes. /

Does anyone know when the mango season starts?

One of the teachers jokingly said that Ind Mangoes were better so i got a box of PK mangoes and left them in the staff room. The feedback was that not only were the best Mangoes they had tasted, they were the best fruit most of the teachers had ever eaten.

The steady decline of the Pakistani rupee has led to more and more Pakistani mangoes being exported due to the comparatively lower purchasing power of the local population.

https://www.itfnet.org/v1/2019/10/pakistan-mango-exports-likely-to-surpass-120000-tons/

The best Indian mangoes are not exported but consumed domestically.

Indian mangoes wannabe Pakistani mangoes when they grow up

I don’t think I have had any Pakistani mangoes ever. I don’t know if I may have accidentally as I have never heard of any names of specific Pakistani mango types. Please feel free to share. For example Banganpalli is a famous mango that’s popular in the south just like Alphonso or Hapus in some other pa rts. Of the country .These are recognizable names.

Not adding flame to the argument, genuinely willing to know

I don’t think I have had any Pakistani mangoes ever. I don’t know if I may have accidentally as I have never heard of any names of specific Pakistani mango types. Please feel free to share. For example Banganpalli is a famous mango that’s popular in the south just like Alphonso or Hapus in some other pa rts. Of the country .These are recognizable names.

Not adding flame to the argument, genuinely willing to know
please add flame its a fun thread :) which makes us look normal all neighboring nations fight like this rather than whose military capabilities are better

Langra, Anwar Rathor, and there is this big one I forgot the name tho lol

please add flame its a fun thread :) which makes us look normal all neighboring nations fight like this rather than whose military capabilities are better

Langra, Anwar Rathor, and there is this big one I forgot the name tho lol

I have heard about the langra mango in India as well may be its common to both countries .

Langra is from states like Rajasthan and maybe UP, Haryana, Punjab etc., so it could also be there in Pakistan. It is a very good variety.

A few years ago, towards the end of summer, our local vendors in Delhi were selling "Pakistani" mangoes. Not sure what variety they were.

I bought 3 boxes, one Indian. Comparing them was LFC v Man Utd , LFC being the Pak of course :klopp

Personally the best mango I've ever tasted was from Thailand. It cost me a fortune but it was worth it.

In Scotland we normally get Pakistani or Indian mangoes which are generally good or you get the horrible Kent mangoes. I've even tried the Alphonso mango after being told how amazing they are and was left very disappointed. It was just another average mango.

I'm actually going to go buy some mangoes today if I can find somewhere that isn't selling 4 mangoes for 7 quid!

There is an indian cultivar called Imam pasand. Good choice for those who want halaal mangoes. Otherwise mangoes are basically hindu fruits.

Mangoes er God’s fruits..mazakh mein bhi jooth nahi boltey kaka.

Yes, that is what [MENTION=136588]CricketCartoons[/MENTION] said, though using a different word :)

Indian Alfonso mangoes are off the chart. Sadly, we can’t find it here in Toronto. My alternative have been Mexican mangoes, not bad for the price.
Never tried Pakistani mangoes, so can’t really comment.

ISLAMABAD: Foreign Office Spokesperson Zahid Hafeez Chaudhri on Sunday rejected claims that Pakistan is sending mangoes to foreign dignitaries as gifts and dismissed related media reports as “factually incorrect and misleading."

“We have seen media reports regarding the dispatch of Pakistani mangoes last week as a gift to some foreign dignitaries. We reject these reports as factually incorrect and misleading,” the spokesperson said in a statement.

He said a section of the Indian media had carried wrong and irresponsible reports, adding that every year, the President of Pakistan sent high-quality mangoes as a gift to selected countries as part of goodwill and to promote trade diplomacy efforts. Consequently, the mango exports increased to $104 million in 2019-20 from $78 million the previous year, he explained.

The spokesperson said that the Ministry of Foreign Affairs prepared a list of countries keeping in view quarantine regulations, sanitary and phytosanitary requirements as well as the availability of flights. Since last year, COVID-19 related stipulations are also part of the consideration.

“For the current year, the process is still in the planning stage. As such, there is no question of dispatch of mangoes to any country,” he added.

GEO

I love both Indian (Alphonso/Badami/Langda) and Pakistani (Chaunsa only). Fortunately, the akistani Mango season starts just as Indian Mango season fades so have the best of both.
So ppl who compare, make sure you know the right time to buy and taste

I love both Indian (Alphonso/Badami/Langda) and Pakistani (Chaunsa only). Fortunately, the akistani Mango season starts just as Indian Mango season fades so have the best of both.
So ppl who compare, make sure you know the right time to buy and taste

Aha, I see, that's probably why we only find Pakistani mangoes here in Norway in summer. But then again if Indian mangoes are so good and popular I wonder why they are not available in large quantity here even in winter/spring as there is a large Indian population here too. I have seen the Indian mangoes, but moslty one box here and there.

Indian govt have banned(or significantly reduced) export of Indian mangoes in order to meet the domestic demand. Lot of suppliers used to export majority of the mangoes overseas for high prices, which would inflate the prices domestically. We can’t seem to find Indian mangoes here in Canada as well(mostly we have Mexican ones) due to export ban.

Hmm, I need to try this Alphonso sometime. With that name sounds like the only upper class english speaking mango among chaunsa, sindhdi, dusehri etc.

We should also give one of our Pakistani mangoes a fancy name. Langda and anwar ratol sound like villains from a punjabi movie.

I have tried the alphonso indian mango. Its easily available at the stores here. No way it can be compared to pakistani mangoes like chaunsa, sindhri, which are way more superior in taste. Issue is the cost, here in the US, Pakistani mango costs almost $7 a piece.

I think you have been fooled by someone Alphonso are distinct in taste and many time I have been fooled after being local in India as some varieties look similar to Alphonso but how can I expect a foreigner to decide which one is Alphonso and probably I think the guy is fooling you in name of Alphonso and export of mangoes is banned in India and even we Indians hardly get it as it is out of stock in no time then how can it be supplied to foreign land without fulfilling local demand

Alphonso is the king of mangoes (and not just like that). Everything else is make believe.

I have tried the alphonso indian mango. Its easily available at the stores here. No way it can be compared to pakistani mangoes like chaunsa, sindhri, which are way more superior in taste. Issue is the cost, here in the US, Pakistani mango costs almost $7 a piece.

Where in the US can you find Pakistani mangoes?
I ve never seen any Pakistani (or Indian) mangoes in Chicago and NYC. All we can get here are the mangoes from Philipines or South America.

the king of mangoes is definatly chuasa and sindhri, dont get the fuss about anwar ratol, there like florida mangoes.

Ive tasted alphonso and kesar from india and they dont even come close to sindhri or chausa.

the king of mangoes is definatly chuasa and sindhri, dont get the fuss about anwar ratol, there like florida mangoes.

Ive tasted alphonso and kesar from india and they dont even come close to sindhri or chausa.

Langra with that paper thin seed is pretty awesome too.
It’s sorta rare as not a huge production hits the market ever every season.

Some Indian mangoes (yellow colored) that I purchased from local desi stores here in the U.S., were a shame on the name of mangoes.

I ve never seen any Pakistani (or Indian) mangoes in Chicago and NYC. All we can get here are the mangoes from Philipines or South America.

They are available during a very short window in the season - some websites have them for sale too.

Usually around $50 for 4 mangoes.

Ordering online is the best option. I have seen them available some years in stores, however other years they are not available. They are kind of expensive online, however i think its worth it.

Ultimately whats the best mango is subjective to the person. People in Mexico and Philippines would like their mangoes more than the ones in Pakistan and India.

I personally like the Chaunsa the most. However I certainly wont say no to the Anwar Ratool, and Sindhri if given an option.

Ultimately whats the best mango is subjective to the person. People in Mexico and Philippines would like their mangoes more than the ones in Pakistan and India.

I personally like the Chaunsa the most. However I certainly wont say no to the Anwar Ratool, and Sindhri if given an option.

I feel that if you are eating in April, you would find Alphonso tastier and in June it would be the Pakistani Variety. Mangoes are very seasonal and lose their taste in cold storage unlike Apples.

I get every kind of mango from various countries including Kenya, South Africa, Mexico. (not seen philippines). Most stores here have a mango season sale and I have routinely tried all varieties for many years. So have my Kenyan and Filipino colleagues and all rate Alphonso as sweetest followed by Chaunsa (Pakistan) and then Badami in that order. The Kenyan ones which look very green reddish are not that juicy or delicious as compared to the ones from the subcontinent.

Just ordered a large box of Chaunsa and an extra large box of Langra through ZZMango.

Lets see what my luck reveals? :D

Man Hires Guards, Dogs To Protect World's Most Expensive Mango Priced At Rs 2.7 Lakh Per Kg

When orchardist couple Rani and Sankalp Parihar planted two mango saplings years back, they thought they will grow like other trees in their orchard in Madhya Pradesh’s Jabalpur. The saplings developed and bore unusual ruby-coloured mangoes. To the couple’s pleasant surprise, the mangoes turned out to be Japanese Miyazaki.

Known as egg of the sun
The couple has deployed four guards and six dogs to protect the rare mangoes that cost Rs 2.7 lakh per kg. The couple has currently cultivated seven mangoes, which are rarely grown in India and are also known as an egg of the sun.

As per reports, Sankalp Parihar was given some mango saplings by a man while travelling on a train to Chennai. The couple planted two of the saplings in their orchard, but little did they know that the saplings will grow to bear the world's most expensive mangoes.

"He offered these saplings to me and asked to take care of these plants like our babies. We planted in the orchard without knowing what variety of mangoes it will produce.”

Couple named the variety 'Damini'
Parihar said thieves last year broke into their orchard and stole the mangoes after it became locally known that they have started growing this rare fruit. He said they somehow managed to save the trees.

He added last year when the saplings started bearing fruits, they found them to be very different. “As I did not know the name of this variety, I named the fruit after my mother Damini. Later, we researched about this variety and found the real name. But it is still Damini for me.”

Rani said mango cultivators and fruit lovers were contacting them and a businessman has offered ₹21,000 for a mango. “...a jeweller from Mumbai is ready to pay whatever price we quote. But I have clearly said that we will not sell it to anyone. We will use the fruits to grow more plants,” said Rani Parihar.

About Miyazaki mangoes
The mangoes are grown in Japan's Miyazaki city. The mango is over 350 grams in weight and has a 15% or higher sugar content.

These mangoes are rich in antioxidants and contain beta-carotene and folic acid, which is great for people that need help with tired eyes. They are grown during the peak harvest between April and August.

https://www.indiatimes.com/news/india/worlds-most-expensive-mango-miyazaki-man-hires-dogs-guards-to-protect-it-542995.html#highlight_53324