Why doesn’t BCCI (and state bodies) upgrade stadiums to have world-class facilities?

Slog

Senior Test Player
It is the richest board and has one of the richest franchise leagues in the world.

But every year or so there are issues due to something rudimentary like ground drainage facilities.

I remember several years ago (I think during SA 2015 tour) [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] and I had an argument and he said that the match abandoned on that tour was an anomaly and Indian cricket grounds were comparable to world class grounds you see in the NFL. 5 years on I highly doubt even he would agree to his own assertion but you never know.

Point is why are grounds so poor. And obv drainage is just one thing. Even aesthetics etc. they are concrete jungles with little architectural beauty

It is the richest board and has one of the richest franchise leagues in the world.

But every year or so there are issues due to something rudimentary like ground drainage facilities.

I remember several years ago (I think during SA 2015 tour) [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] and I had an argument and he said that the match abandoned on that tour was an anomaly and Indian cricket grounds were comparable to world class grounds you see in the NFL. 5 years on I highly doubt even he would agree to his own assertion but you never know.

Point is why are grounds so poor. And obv drainage is just one thing. Even aesthetics etc. they are concrete jungles with little architectural beauty

I think money is not the problem. It is lack of capable state administrative bodies with nepotistic selections holding office, rampant corruption in hiring and procurement, lethargic stuff without any sense of accountability, lack of any vision be it in terms of administration, infrastructure, adopting best practices etc.

As far as the aesthetics are concerned, it's really a wider problem that spans in other areas as well. I guess they don't hire good architects , neither there is any appreciation for it.

Guwahati is small and infrequently used ground. The issue was not drainage, it was spilling of water on pitch while removing covers.

There are over 40 grounds in India which have hosted international cricket matches.

There are 38 BCCI members, some of them like MP have multiple international grounds.

Not all grounds are of the dame quality. Its like saying that the MCG and the old perth WACA ground had same facilities.

I think money is not the problem. It is lack of capable state administrative bodies with nepotistic selections holding office, rampant corruption in hiring and procurement, lethargic stuff without any sense of accountability, lack of any vision be it in terms of administration, infrastructure, adopting best practices etc.

As far as the aesthetics are concerned, it's really a wider problem that spans in other areas as well. I guess they don't hire good architects , neither there is any appreciation for it.

And Indian cricket grounds other than 7-8 stadiums are really not upto the mark in terms of maintenance. Only Mumbai, Calcutta, Hyderabad, Pune, Nagpur, Mohali and couple more are maintained well. And even these are not at par with Australia in terms of overall infrastructure. In fact Bangladesh and Sri Lanka which gets lot of rain are better in may aspect in managing their grounds during rainy seasons.

Infectiveness of state boards

There are more than 35 international stadiums in India

Btw yesterdays match was at Guwahati, Assam center stage of recent CAB and CAA protests

Rarely north east gets a match

India vs Sri Lanka: BCCI unimpressed after leaking covers sees umpires call off Guwahati T20I

Using hair dryer to dry the pitch after water seeped in through leaking covers is not something that is expected at an international cricket ground. But that is exactly what happened at the Barsapara Stadium in Guwahati on Sunday as the opening game of the three-match T20I series between India and Sri Lanka had to be called off without a ball being bowled. And that hasn’t gone down well with the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) which now awaits chief curator Ashish Bhowmick’s report on the same.

Speaking to IANS, a BCCI official said that this was elementary and is a direct effect of the lack of experience among the new state association officials. In fact, he also pointed at the lack of preparedness of Bhowmick and CEO Rahul Johri.

“These things will happen as there is learning curve that officials of all associations are faced with after the implementation of the Lodha report. No association had the opportunity to plan for succession and continuity. In this day and age continuity strategies remain one of the biggest concerns for stakeholders across the globe.

“The associations were never given the opportunity to address this concern. I think a lot of blame lies with the BCCI’s curator and ultimately with the CEO who should at least have had the foresight to ensure that the basics were in place,” he said.

Another official pointed at the disappointment that the fans must have felt considering that the rest of the ground was completely dry. In fact, he pointed at how having the expertise of the experienced officials from the past, even in an advisory role, could have helped avoid such a situation.

“Due to the Supreme Court order, we are afraid to seek advice from the former office bearers even though the court allows us to have them in advisory capacities in one order as we don’t want to take a risk. We however feel sad for the fans, some of whom had gone to Guwahati from far away places for nothing,” he rued.

Asked about the whole fiasco, a former office bearer said that it was just a matter of time before the new officials would get a hang of things.

“We have the utmost confidence in the Sourav Ganguly-led team of office bearers and are confident that they will take quick steps to ensure a smooth process for all associations so that the fans aren’t inconvenienced at any other venue,” he told IANS.

A BCCI functionary when contacted said that GM Cricket Operations Saba Karim would be the right person to check with on Bhowmick’s team messing it up on the international stage.

Karim though said that he is awaiting the report from Bhowmick. “I don’t look into international cricket, but I can comment once I get the report from the chief curator who was there,” he told IANS.
https://www.hindustantimes.com/cric...wahati-t20i/story-Nq9GETsCEQ39D0AkHL2tZL.html

Our stadiums are better than what they were before, when they were modernized for the 2011 World Cup.

Still light years to go to match global sporting venues though.

I remember several years ago (I think during SA 2015 tour) [MENTION=76058]cricketjoshila[/MENTION] and I had an argument and he said that the match abandoned on that tour was an anomaly and Indian cricket grounds were comparable to world class grounds you see in the NFL.
Can't compare to the NFL. American sports venues make millions of dollars every year by selling their naming rights to companies. In India, stadiums can't have names of corporations. That's why the Pune stadium had to be named Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium rather than the Sahara Stadium as intended.

Making truly world class stadiums require hundreds of crores of rupees. And with their being 20+ member states with BCCI each with multiple stadiums, there simply isn't enough money to allocate on the stadium alone.

Also another difference with the NFL is that in the US, usually the stadium is owned by the city and built on taxpayer's money. In India, cricket stadium are owned by the state cricket association and built entirely on the funds they have.

This is sad but true.

Despite BCCI having all the money in the world, the cricket fan experience at Aus and English ground is far more enjoyable. Their staff are professional in every aspect of ground maintenance.

Lalit Modi was one of those guys who'd take a keen interest in these little things but he got booted out.

Can't compare to the NFL. American sports venues make millions of dollars every year by selling their naming rights to companies. In India, stadiums can't have names of corporations. That's why the Pune stadium had to be named Subrata Roy Sahara Stadium rather than the Sahara Stadium as intended.

Making truly world class stadiums require hundreds of crores of rupees. And with their being 20+ member states with BCCI each with multiple stadiums, there simply isn't enough money to allocate on the stadium alone.

Actually that’s a good point.

Stadiums should be given for naming rights. That would be a huge revenue stream.

England and Australia have started that.

However needs to be ensured money is used mostly for uplift of stadium. For some reason India is only one from Big 3 that seems to have ‘chaaloo’ attitude to stadium experience

Guwahati is small and infrequently used ground. The issue was not drainage, it was spilling of water on pitch while removing covers.

There are over 40 grounds in India which have hosted international cricket matches.

There are 38 BCCI members, some of them like MP have multiple international grounds.

Not all grounds are of the dame quality. Its like saying that the MCG and the old perth WACA ground had same facilities.
You’re right you cannot compare the MCG to The old WACA. But you would have to give credit that neither of those stadiums would face drainage issue which, forget Guwahati, even the bigger grounds in India have faced in recent years.

Also another difference with the NFL is that in the US, usually the stadium is owned by the city and built on taxpayer's money. In India, cricket stadium are owned by the state cricket association and built entirely on the funds they have.

How do these associations earn money?

I’m sure IPL teams pay. What else?

Guwahati isn't an architectural beauty. It is actually a small city when compared to other metropolitan cities.

Moreover, the rain that is going on now, is a big anomaly. I have hardly seen rain in the month of January where as I have spent around 20 years of my life in this city.

The drainage is much better than English grounds. Only issues is, you can't do anything when rain comes in the winter.

Guwahati isn't an architectural beauty. It is actually a small city when compared to other metropolitan cities.

Moreover, the rain that is going on now, is a big anomaly. I have hardly seen rain in the month of January where as I have spent around 20 years of my life in this city.

The drainage is much better than English grounds. Only issues is, you can't do anything when rain comes in the winter.

Drainage is much better than English grounds? What are you basing this statement on?

And rain in January is an anomaly and you can’t do anything when rain comes in winter? That makes no sense. Are you saying the drainage system become automatically better in the summer? Like if it rains (x) mm in winter and (x) mm in summer, drainage will be perfect in summer but not in winter? How does that work?

Drainage is much better than English grounds? What are you basing this statement on?

And rain in January is an anomaly and you can’t do anything when rain comes in winter? That makes no sense. Are you saying the drainage system become automatically better in the summer? Like if it rains (x) mm in winter and (x) mm in summer, drainage will be perfect in summer but not in winter? How does that work?

In winter, we usually have no rains at all. That's why guwahati is chosen in winter.

No you said drainage is much better than English grounds. If it’s better how can it not handle this rain at all.

Because for the same rain, we had abandoned match in England. But yesterday, the ground was absolutely dry after the rain stopped. Only the pitch had few spots.

There are close to 40 int'l grounds in India. It's wrong to generalize on one ground. A few venues like Eden, Chinnaswamy, Wankhede etc have world class facilities on par with the Aussie grounds. But yes, I agree that with the money BCCI generates, they must have done better at improving the drainage at a few venues.

BCCI needs to take serious steps to insure the minimum level of facilities on grounds controlled by state associations. Some of state associations are really negligent. Had really poor experience at Pune test last year.

You’re right you cannot compare the MCG to The old WACA. But you would have to give credit that neither of those stadiums would face drainage issue which, forget Guwahati, even the bigger grounds in India have faced in recent years.

But it was not drainage issue. Water seeped onto pitch while removing covers.

Both Eden and Bangalore faced drainage issues. But both immediately took steps to remedy the matter.

Bangalore infact has a system that probably one of its kind in a cricket stadium.

Its the smaller venues that face the issue.

Going forward BCCI has to reduce the number of test venues and then international venues.

At more than 30, its not possible to maintain all of them.

A lot of the new grounds are quite good. India has close to 50 international cricket venues though and not all are state of art.

All said and done. Facilities are provided as per people. Do ordinary people of subcontinent even deserve world class facilities? They will make a mess of it.

This year Assam will host IPL matches.

This is unlikely now with this latest mess. Will be surprised if sponsors and broadcasters allow BCCI to consider Guwahati atleast for this season. And to be fair , a message needs to be given to inept officials. Can understad drainage issues with ground which needs larger investment, but there can't be any justification for water seeping into the pitch while removing the covers.

Was asking generally

Yes IPL team stadiums have better standard although I do like Gujarat stadiums and they have no IPL team for now..(probably gonna get one soon).

Only sponsors can pay but with so much scrutinization I expect stadiums to get better and better..

A lot of the new grounds are quite good. India has close to 50 international cricket venues though and not all are state of art.

All said and done. Facilities are provided as per people. Do ordinary people of subcontinent even deserve world class facilities? They will make a mess of it.

What a dumb thing to say. :inti

Having proper covers is a necessity for any cricketing venue. People pay for the ticket to come into the stadium to see the match; venue should have enough facilities available to host the match if it is possible. Clearly the umpires questioning the covers manifests that match was possible and couldnt take place due to sub standard covers and drainage facilities. Everyone from around the world deserves full value for their money which clearly wasnt the case in Gauhati.

This is unlikely now with this latest mess. Will be surprised if sponsors and broadcasters allow BCCI to consider Guwahati atleast for this season. And to be fair , a message needs to be given to inept officials. Can understad drainage issues with ground which needs larger investment, but there can't be any justification for water seeping into the pitch while removing the covers.

Sponsors and Broadcasters dont get to say that much to BCCI.

RR has chosen Assam as a home center so thats that.

Bcci will deal with those inept groundsmen.

Mumbai Set To Get New Cricket Stadium With 1 Lakh Capacity – Report​

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) is planning to build a new cricket stadium in Mumbai that will have a seating capacity of 1 lakh fans. According to a report in the Times of India on Sunday (July 7), MCA is planning to build a new stadium in Thane district, which will be 68 km away from the Wankhede Stadium.

It has been reported that the new stadium will be built on 50 acres of open land in Amane village. MCA has reportedly submitted the open tender floated by the Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation (MSRDC) to acquire the land and is waiting for the approval of the Maharashta government for the project.

The new stadium is said to be a dream project of former MCA President Amol Kale, who passed away last month.

The report of the new stadium came a day after Maharashtra deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis called for the ionic city to have a bigger stadium during the felicitation ceremony of Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal at the Maharashtra state assembly.

“We have one of the historic stadiums in Mumbai in the form of Wankhede Stadium. Ashish Ji (BCCI treasurer and BJP MLA Ashish Shelar) is here. Mumbai needs a bigger stadium than Wankhede. Therefore, in the near future, our chief minister will extend all possible help to MCA and BCCI. Wankhede is a historic stadium and cannot be compared to any other. But it is time to give Mumbai a stadium with a capacity of more than one lakh,” said Fadnavis.

At present, Mumbai is the home of three international cricket stadiums: Wankhede Stadium (33,000), Brabourne Stadium (20,000), and DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai (45,000).

Mumbai Set To Get New Cricket Stadium With 1 Lakh Capacity – Report​

The Mumbai Cricket Association (MCA) is planning to build a new cricket stadium in Mumbai that will have a seating capacity of 1 lakh fans. According to a report in the Times of India on Sunday (July 7), MCA is planning to build a new stadium in Thane district, which will be 68 km away from the Wankhede Stadium.

It has been reported that the new stadium will be built on 50 acres of open land in Amane village. MCA has reportedly submitted the open tender floated by the Maharashtra State Road Development Corporation (MSRDC) to acquire the land and is waiting for the approval of the Maharashta government for the project.

The new stadium is said to be a dream project of former MCA President Amol Kale, who passed away last month.

The report of the new stadium came a day after Maharashtra deputy Chief Minister Devendra Fadnavis called for the ionic city to have a bigger stadium during the felicitation ceremony of Rohit Sharma, Suryakumar Yadav, Shivam Dube, and Yashasvi Jaiswal at the Maharashtra state assembly.

“We have one of the historic stadiums in Mumbai in the form of Wankhede Stadium. Ashish Ji (BCCI treasurer and BJP MLA Ashish Shelar) is here. Mumbai needs a bigger stadium than Wankhede. Therefore, in the near future, our chief minister will extend all possible help to MCA and BCCI. Wankhede is a historic stadium and cannot be compared to any other. But it is time to give Mumbai a stadium with a capacity of more than one lakh,” said Fadnavis.

At present, Mumbai is the home of three international cricket stadiums: Wankhede Stadium (33,000), Brabourne Stadium (20,000), and DY Patil Stadium, Navi Mumbai (45,000).

I hope they've thought it through fully
- public transport links need to be solid - accessible from the station
- parking should be planned
- should be fully covered. Too many Indian stadiums are only partly covered letting spectators brave the elements
- should include a cricket academy like the NCA. Maharashtra needs one other than the private academies
- should be multi-sport. With 50 acres, they can afford to subsidised other sports like Badminton, Kabaddi, swimming etc.

I haven't been to Ahmedabad or the new stadium in Punjab but recently built Indian stadiums are definitely improving. Pune has it's faults (not fully covered) but bathrooms are good, food options are plenty and the viewing experience is decent..

I think it's planning for far future.

Once Narendra Modi goes, Ahmedabad centrism will end and Mumbai will be Cricket HQ once again.

So they need to show off with w huge stadium. Also nice chance for some corruption as well.

Once Narendra Modi goes, Ahmedabad centrism will end and Mumbai will be Cricket HQ once again.

So they need to show off with w huge stadium. Also nice chance for some corruption as well.
Agreed. I'm all for newer Stadiums in upcoming cities but we need to maintain the primacy and prestige of the historical centres of cricket.

I've watched cricket in
Brabourne
Wankhede
DY Patil (Navi Mumbai)
Eden Gardens
Kotla
Rajiv Gandhi (Hyderabad)
MCA (Pune)

The old stadiums have the atmosphere but the facilities were terrible and spectators are treated like they're doing you a favour.

The newer Stadiums don't have the magic yet but it's a much better experience.

There's still a lot of work to do. I've seen stadiums in England, Spain and the States and there's no reason why we can't get close with the money now coming in to cricket.

Actually Wankhede is small. Hence a bigger stadium.

The new stadium in Chandigarh is near competition before the IPL 2025.

Worth noting that Chandigarh/Mohali once proudly owned the best cricket stadium in Bharat in terms of ground quality, pitch quality and facilities at the PCA, Mohali. Due to logistics issues and being very near to airport they had to shift base to this new stadium but i am so glad that the dedication to have a top notch sports complex is still there. They have taken their sweet time to build this and there has been no hurry.

IMG_8247.jpeg
IMG_8246.jpeg
IMG_8243.jpeg
IMG_8241.jpeg

Every major Bharatiya city building and renovating cricket stadiums.

Meanwhile the national capital Dilli with its horrendous ugly as hell stadium with not a care in the world what’s happening everywhere else.

IMG_8249.gif

IMG_8250.jpeg

The new stadium in Chandigarh is near competition before the IPL 2025.

Worth noting that Chandigarh/Mohali once proudly owned the best cricket stadium in Bharat in terms of ground quality, pitch quality and facilities at the PCA, Mohali. Due to logistics issues and being very near to airport they had to shift base to this new stadium but i am so glad that the dedication to have a top notch sports complex is still there. They have taken their sweet time to build this and there has been no hurry.

Building a new stadium like this in India with no roof just seems insane.

Meanwhile the national capital Dilli with its horrendous ugly as hell stadium with not a care in the world what’s happening everywhere else.

View attachment 150566

View attachment 150567
Surely has to be the ugliest stadium going around. If there is any stadium uglier than it is probably located in the sub-continent too.

Building a new stadium like this in India with no roof just seems insane.
Bcci distributes 500 crores each year for each association. So all construction will be in phases.dont ask me about the previous balances and savings though .u know where it goes

DDCA Arun Jaitley is an eyesore, sure. But it's 10x better than many others when it comes to spectator comfort - massive leg room and space to roam around. Also concourse, exit etc as well connectivity is very good. Could leave after the match and in 5 minutes you are onboard the delhi metro.

Surely has to be the ugliest stadium going around. If there is any stadium uglier than it is probably located in the sub-continent too.

This stadium should either be nuked or it should be turned into a museum of the history of corruption in Bharat. All that money these people must have looted to have some village level mistri build this ugly monstrosity.

The Delhi stadium is so ugly it’s kinda racist to mock it.

DDCA Arun Jaitley is an eyesore, sure. But it's 10x better than many others when it comes to spectator comfort - massive leg room and space to roam around. Also concourse, exit etc as well connectivity is very good. Could leave after the match and in 5 minutes you are onboard the delhi metro.
If a car park won't have space than what will?

This stadium should either be nuked or it should be turned into a museum of the history of corruption in Bharat. All that money these people must have looted to have some village level mistri build this ugly monstrosity.
This is the same Barabati stadium, this same light issue was previously occurred. What a shame! Corruption at highest order

Pretty incompetent stuff. Stuff like this shouldn't be happening in an international cricket match.

In subcontinent instead of being worried about capacity and numbers ground should be built more for comfort of crowds. Provide roof cover and make arrangement for hygienic washrooms and drinking water access.

Stadiums in england, south africa, nz the viewing experience and comfort level is so nice.

With desi stadiums everything from ticket booking, car parking, entry into stadium and then quality of experience is sub par. People are treated like cattle by security instead of patrons.

In subcontinent instead of being worried about capacity and numbers ground should be built more for comfort of crowds. Provide roof cover and make arrangement for hygienic washrooms and drinking water access.

Stadiums in england, south africa, nz the viewing experience and comfort level is so nice.

With desi stadiums everything from ticket booking, car parking, entry into stadium and then quality of experience is sub par. People are treated like cattle by security instead of patrons.
Don't forget the jail bars..

It’s what they deserve.

People of subcontinent do not deserve great things. Mediocre level job for them is fine.

I swear when i look at this stadium it reminds me of Dubai plaza at 6th road rawalpindi

Stuff like this should happen so that some stupid people on the internet can stop mocking PCB for once and become humble.
You feel bad for the fans, because instances like these will only lessen the chances of more international matches taking place in cities like Cuttack, which aren't major centers and rarely get international cricket as it is.

Where is BCCI's IPL money? They should keep all of their stadiums in good conditions.

:inti

You feel bad for the fans, because instances like these will only lessen the chances of more international matches taking place in cities like Cuttack, which aren't major centers and rarely get international cricket as it is.

True that.
I support cricket at different venues. We must take the game to every corner of the country and not just keep it exclusive to major cities.

Latest news from the very state where this match is taking place.

GjVDtpWaYAAHCN-

314 new stadiums in each of the blocks of the state coming up. Thankfully, they'll be multipurpose.

Amravati in Andhra Pradesh, will soon host Bharat’s largest cricket stadium, with a seating capacity of over 1.32 lakh 😯, surpassing the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) is planning to construct the largest cricket stadium in Capital Amaravati City.

The Amravati Cricket Stadium will be part of a 200-acre sports city. The ACA plans to construct the stadium on 60 acres of land. The ACA plans to source financial support for the stadium from the BCCI and local funds or public partnership.

IMG_8465.jpeg

Amravati in Andhra Pradesh, will soon host Bharat’s largest cricket stadium, with a seating capacity of over 1.32 lakh 😯, surpassing the Narendra Modi Stadium in Ahmedabad. Andhra Cricket Association (ACA) is planning to construct the largest cricket stadium in Capital Amaravati City.

The Amravati Cricket Stadium will be part of a 200-acre sports city. The ACA plans to construct the stadium on 60 acres of land. The ACA plans to source financial support for the stadium from the BCCI and local funds or public partnership.

View attachment 150640
Beautiful

Cricket stadiums can be gigantic really. Massive structures.

View attachment 150566

View attachment 150567
Thats because DDCA under the tight clasp of corrupt sanghis/Jaitleys since like forever and hence the sorry state of Ferozshah Kotla stadium.

Other parts of Bharat have Sanghi government and cricket administrations too and they’re building great stadiums there.

View attachment 150640
Looks like more than 70 % would be covered - again depending on the time of the day....the average johny sitting in 35 deg + deserves some shade which will defo add to comfort factor and player viewing experience. also does not look like there are any pilons, pillar like structure in between the stands which is a good thing...

Other parts of Bharat have Sanghi government and cricket administrations too and they’re building great stadiums there.
But DDCA being corrupt and inefficient under Jaitleys is also a truth

No doubt.
But they really are the ofd ones out. Every other state renovated and built good cricket stadiums. Heck Bihar has them that aren’t even used for international cricket and they’re better than Delhi cricket ground.