WI v Pak [Group D/Game 1] WI Inns [241-9/50 overs]

Noman said:
this match is lost. this is just because of rana and some bad fielding it between with good fielding.

Small boundaries - slow pitch - and Pakistan havent batted yet.

Pakistani fans doing their thing.

Noman said:
this match is lost. this is just because of rana and some bad fielding it between with good fielding.

don't be so pesimistic my friend...we will clean up inshallah.

next time we use the spinners for the last 4 overs.

these bowlers are not of the calibre of asif, yet.

Pakistan to chase successfully? I haven't been watching because I am at school, but what do you guys think?

seriously competitive score, particularly because WI ended the innings with the momentum. We'l need some big knocks to reach that target.

Bilsher007 said:
Rao iftikhar has been great MASHALLAH !
iftikharanjum.jpg

to jhumo, to nacho, to meray sang nacho gao
I am a Disco Dancer

Match is in the balance. Barring any collapse we should be in the match.
This is a short ground especially when hitting straight so anyone who can hit staright can get some good sixes. We atcually will miss Afridi hitting in this small ground but anyone should be easily hit 6s.

242 is a pretty decent total, pakistan need to get off to a good solid start.

Hopefully hafeez/I nazir will fire early on...

We gave 25 runs more then we should have !! but hey at the start of the game we would
have been more then happy with 242 to win .. we are a batsman short then we normally
are so its gonna be a bit hard..

I take Pak to win.

What time is the restart (how long is the break)?

Inzi made a mistake with rana bowling that one over in the death overs. SPinners shold have been kept on.

Overall i believe if pakistan play professionally and not lose their head than we should win this match INSHALLAH.

Openers should'nt need to do anything extravagant. Nazir will need to use his brain better and hafeez should look to bat out the 50 overs.

Remember guys we have batting line up upto 7, i know rana, kaneria and gul can swing the bat about but really pakistan needs to plan their innings very well.

242 is more than we should have conceded - 225 was a fair score, but we are good enough to chase 342, so 242 should not pose a problem.

BUT this is the world cup - and there is extra pressure in batting 2nd away from home.

Allah Malik:)

Pak batsmen just need to play patiently waiting for the bad balls. if they bat through out 50 overs, they are automatically through. no need of any extra heroic act.

This is the exact same score Australia scored in the 1996 World Cup Final. Just thought I'd let you guys know.

Bilsher007 said:
Inzi made a mistake with rana bowling that one over in the death overs. SPinners shold have been kept on.

Overall i believe if pakistan play professionally and not lose their head than we should win this match INSHALLAH.

Openers should'nt need to do anything extravagant. Nazir will need to use his brain better and hafeez should look to bat out the 50 overs.

Remember guys we have batting line up upto 7, i know rana, kaneria and gul can swing the bat about but really pakistan needs to plan their innings very well.

^yeah inzi as usuall making stupid errors.gul should ve bowled 10 instead of 9 and malik or rana should ve bowled one less

theres no menacing brutes in the WIndies attack
we should get this , our strength is the batting

242 is more than we should have conceded - 225 was a fair score, but we are good enough to chase 342, so 242 should not pose a problem.

BUT this is the world cup - and there is extra pressure in batting 2nd away from home.

Allah Malik:)

When did we successfully chase 342. Having said that, I don't see anything in WI bowling to doubt Pakistan will get there.

The straight boundaries are incredibly short. I would have fancied sending Afridi early on if he was playing but since he isn't I think Nazir or Hafeez have to take advantage of the powerplays by hitting straight

241 is a good, competitive total. I think we have conceded 25-30 runs too many here, but we can still chase it. Hopefully we get a good start from the openers

With exception of rana all the other bowlers gul, rao, kaneria, malik and hafeez bowled very well and the fielding certainly put brakes on the windies. At one point windies looked as if they could get 260 or 275 but we did very well to pull them back.

241 is a modest target on a very good batting track with short boundaries. Pakistan will need to plan preofessionally and not do stupid things when they come out to chase 242.

Time for a dinner and Namaz break chaps - Jin logon nay namaz naheen parhi hai, ab ja kar parlain....PP aur uskay nawahi illaqon may Isha ya Maghrib ka waqt hogya hai :)

Saudi said:
This is the exact same score Australia scored in the 1996 World Cup Final. Just thought I'd let you guys know.[/QUOTE

^lol.that was a flat wicked.this one is nt ..a bit of movement and bounce.but we ll see

This should be easy. There are no demons in the pitch and WI bowling is mostly of the dibbly dobbly sort. So, Pakistan will have to gift the match as WI do not have the firepower to wrestle a win. Nice and easy should do it. The exact situation for the two Y's

Decent performance by both teams.......good start to the world cup though a bit dissapointed with the pitch....

The pitch is sluggish so 242 may be a challenging score but I am backing PAK to pull through it.

how long is the break?
in how many minutes Pak shall be resuming the innings? anyone please

Sparhawk said:
play resumes in 40 mins.

Cheers - means I miss the first 30-35 overs of the PAk inngs.

Hopefully we will have won by the time I get back:)

The pitch is tailor made for a slow and steady Inzi special.

Cheers - means I miss the first 30-35 overs of the PAk inngs.

Hopefully we will have won by the time I get back:)

Oh!!!! No such luck for you. You will have to sit and watch it out :)

this target against south africa or australia on that wicket will be difficult but i think against west indies its getable

Credit where its due.

We bowled & fielded well by & large. Just the ocassional lapse here and there (keeps the haters busy though:)

Pakistanis need to score 3, 4 or 5 runs in 45 off 50 ovrs, while 10 runs each in the other 5 overs to win the game...They need to play with consolidation in mind...Mohammad Hafeez will have to play a long innings...Imran Nazir can give it a go after the first five overs...Collymore and Gayle can be dangerous...

242 is comfortably gettable from what I've seen. We were fortunate in that Shiv Chanderpaul used up a lot of deliveries at the beginning without going on to get a decent score. The ground is very small, particularly straight down the ground, and it should be possible to smash a few quite easily in that direction. The other thing is that as a team we are not the best at turning ones into twos and twos into threes through good running. However, that potential disadvantage is partially negated by the fact the ground is small enough that there were relatively few twos in the WI innings and no threes. This kind of chase is made for the big 3 nurdling singles around with the occasional boundary. So, I'm optimistic. Bring it on.

this total should be getable i reckon a 6 wicket win for pakistan with a big score from younis.

All pakistan openers need to do is rotate the strike and take as many as singles, twos and the odd boundary. I don't want pakistan to score at 5 or 6 plus an over and be losing wickets at regular intervals. It is very important to keep wickets in hand and score at about 4 an over maximum uptil 35 over.

If pakistan is something like 170/3 at 35 th over than i would surely fancy pakistan chasing 242 INSHALLAH. I feel a bit uncomfortable with imran nazir as an opener as he lacks greatly in temperament.

"This is the exact same score Australia scored in the 1996 World Cup Final. Just thought I'd let you guys know."

that was so ten years ago.

Our big guns will see us through this. I'd be pretty distraught if we lost this one.

Some pakistan batsmen will need to get a hundred here if we are to chase this down.

Not really. If the top four make decent scores (i.e. 30-70) then we can get through quite easily

Kamran said:
this total should be getable i reckon a 6 wicket win for pakistan with a big score from younis.

PLEASE STOP assuming, the last thing we need is making futile assumptions and being complacent and than bringing upon us curse.

Miandad mentioned long time ago that the match is not over till the last ball is bowled.

Yes: Pakistan needs to play at about 4 or 4.5 runs per over till 40th over with 2 or 3 wickets down and then give it a blast...Unfortunately one of Azhar or Arafat is not playing...

Well guys what you think sami should have played instead of rana ???

I could'nt believe the scorecard before the match when i saw rana's name in the pakistan squad.

Imran nazir needs to be told if hes going to slog he needs to go straight as the boundaries straight are alot shorter.

hopefully hafeez will fire as well.

i hope we can treat this is a warm up match to the rest of the tournament.

we need to take our bowling to the next level and oh yes, our tactics need to be relooked at.

What was that last 3 over lapse, i am sure we could have done with 20 runs less with containing the batsmen.

maybe we can invent a new version of cricket which takes into account wickets lost and runs conceded, now that would give the captains a headache, and possibly we could get jobs as cricket strategists with our teams (problem is such a job would go to musharaf's family)

one of the top order bats needs to stay there for 30-40 overs. Otherwise they boyz are likely to panic :22:

Hmmm......once Afridi is back....two changes are needed in this side. Get Afridi in for Kaneria....and get Sami (or anyone else) for Rana...unless he manages to get his act together. Problem is that against the minnows there isnt a lot of potential of knowing whether he is upto it.

I think we're a bit lucky that Bradshaw isn't playing because he performs well against us.