Zimbabwe v Pakistan | 3rd ODI | Harare | 14/09/11 | Pakistan innings

It's as if Pakistan are playing against a side which are ranked #1 in the ODI World rankings. The approach from the Pakistani batsmen is simply not good enough.

They need to apply the pressure by approaching the bowlers with a menatality to scoring runs, not being defensive or having a RR of around 3 OR just under 4... Not good enough.

Run rate is now slowed down to 4.7, That's why i don't like a middle order with Shafiq+Younus+Misbah.

It's as if Pakistan are playing against a side which are ranked #1 in the ODI World rankings. The approach from the Pakistani batsmen is simply not good enough.

They need to apply the pressure by approaching the bowlers with a menatality to scoring runs, not being defensive or having a RR of around 3 OR just under 4... Not good enough.

that's because we are playing test players in ODIs.

They are hitting straight to the fielders.

:yk tends to make up for the dot balls once he's set on the crease, just waiting on him to get a couple to the boundary

Run rate is now slowed down to 4.7, That's why i don't like a middle order with Shafiq+Younus+Misbah.

Too defensive. Using Umar Akmal in a low order position is a complete joke. We're seriously lacking a batsmen who's approach is nothing BUT attacking... With maturity ofcourse.

that's because we are playing test players in ODIs.

Their's plenty of players from other International sides who have a higher status from their abilities shown in test cricket BUT yet they have suceeded in ODI's (ie Amla, Dravid)... So I don't see why YK, Asad and Misbah can do the same.

asad shafiq is not suited for limited overs cricket,compare that to india..we have so many talented young one day batsmen

So, what have your batsmen achieved?

And comment on the match only, stop trolling!

I wish the same..We have got better openers like Nasir Jamshed,Azhar ali than him.

I'm not too convinced about Azhar Ali as an opener. We need to bring Ahmed Shehzad back, I know he wasn't the most consistent but he is only 20 and already had 2 int'l hundreds and he had aggresive talent.

I'm glad Shafiq is out there with a real senior like YK who can show him Strike Rotation and picking the gaps. They both have similar abilities in the fact that they are not natural big hitters of the ball and are there for picking the 1s n 2s.

Dropping Umar Akmal for Shafiq was/is wrong. Younis, Farhat or Misbah should of been "rested". Not having a rotator of strike, instead of similar batsmen is pure wrong.

Shafiq hopefully picks ups his rate once and if he passes his fifty.

Shouldn't be looking at it like that. 19 off 41 isn't really acceptable so he needs to start looking for the gaps. YK has already picked up the pace and thats just showing what experience can do for ya!

This guy Asad has small frame and zero power in his arms. Cant hit anything with force.

lol you're obviously one of those that judges a player after watching him play a few balls. watch his t20 performances, you'll see that he can hit big.

Younis Bhai suddenly raises the level of his performance against certain special teams. For example , he averages 53 against Zim in the Odis. Making full advantage of todays oppurtunity as well.

Mumbai's Midget averages 136.66 vs Bangladesh, with 5 centuries, and 76.50 vs Zimbabwe, with 3 centuries, in Tests.
Hope you don't count these 8 centuries/averages, too.

Rameez Raja awain hi rou raha hai, let the boys play man.

Whats wrong with Aasad??? playing test match????
he is playing a Farhat innings? thats not how he should play. Its not like he is facing A Aussie or Eng Pace attack. Hate this defensive approach of our batsmen. Why cant they play freely

He has alot of power. He is playing his first game of the tour man and if he stays till the batting PP then you will see his power. And I guess you haven't seen him in T20! Calm down.

Raja should have played, poor guy didn't get a game all tour.

He will probably play the in the T20s and to be honest he has been picked on basis of his performance in the last domestic T20.

Good going by these two.

So glad to see them getting singles! I love singles....the most important part of batting (other than not getting out, of course). Our other tuk tuk or gung ho (with nothing in between) batsman should watch and learn.

Am talking about International Cricket .Shafiq has a Strike rate of 90 in T20s. What Power are you talking about? Just hitting one six someday once in a bluemoon isnt equivalent of being Power hitter. Raina , Umar Akmal these two guys are small built but can hit the ball a long way .
Asad is only like those chipku batsmen such as Dravid & Chanderpaul who cant clear the ropes easliy. Been watching him since the Odis in England and even against the Semi Match he was a lost cause

Am talking about International Cricket .Shafiq has a Strike rate of 90 in T20s. What Power are you talking about? Just hitting one six someday once in a bluemoon isnt equivalent of being Power hitter. Raina , Umar Akmal these two guys are small built but can hit the ball a long way .
Asad is only like those chipku batsmen such as Dravid & Chanderpaul who cant clear the ropes easliy. Been watching him since the Odis in England and even against the Semi Match he was a lost cause

Who said you have to hit sixes with ease to become a decent ODI player?

Woke up late today. Can anyone give an update of how everyone has played today?

asad shafiq is a replacement for younis khan in the future

he needs to improve against spin and rotating the strike and also finding the gaps for the boundaries :moyo

inshallah he will improve, shafiq is never going to be a power hitter

well timed innings by shafiq, came in when wickets fell and now he has increased his strike rate to 70.

Woke up late today. Can anyone give an update of how everyone has played today?

Hafeez played well for his 23

Farhat, lucky as allways, struggled to 37.

Younis and Asad playing well, taking singles and doubles and the occational boundary.

Looking good so far are Pakistan.

Vitori is bowling so wide from the crease, I'm surprised it hasn't been given a no-ball.

Umar Akmal is short but well-built.
And 'chipku' (what the... ?) batsmen, how dare you... R. Dravid. :facepalm:
But I somehow agree: you'll never see Asad Shafiq taking the bowler to the cleaners aggressively, but, if he finds his confidence, he'll find the gapes and poetically reach the boundaries, à la Mohammed Yousuf.
Though we've seen him in a beast mode (Faysal Bank T20 - 91*), but guess that was one-off.