2nd Test: Pakistan vs South Africa @ Port Elizabeth (Day 3)

Imran_The Man! said:
Kami comtinues to snatch at the ball this morning, nightmare behind the stumps continues.
His basic technique looks pretty poor at the moment, and his confidence looks really low. Someone needs to have a word with him.

& that word is dropped. A word he is aquainted with but not in regards his place in the team. He is destroying Kaneria.

Sami should try and not worry about this- if he loses confidence again we are down to only 2 bowlers

Is it possible that if Akmal gets "injured" during the match, Zulqarnain can come in as a replacement for him?

If so then someone should punch Akmal in the stomach.

Imran_The Man! said:
Kami comtinues to snatch at the ball this morning, nightmare behind the stumps continues.
His basic technique looks pretty poor at the moment, and his confidence looks really low. Someone needs to have a word with him.

pata nahi kab aur kaun karega yeh neik kaam... we've been pleading for this since the england series

Akmal's drops hurt Kaneria more then he thinks. Now Kaneria is thinking:

"Abey yaar, yeh to catch lega nahi, so I must bowl something else" and that takes a variation out of kaneria.

You can bet your last dollar . Akmal will continue to drop catches and yet continue to play - that is the psyche of Team Management ..They want status quo

one wicket and we are in with the all-rounders/ tail- so we are still in business- Danish had bowled well but just needs a bit of luck--Akmal and umpires backing is needed here..

Kallis really has to go. But we are still in good control. Though if Boucher and Kallis get to gether, we might just be...

PepsiCola said:
Is it possible that if Akmal gets "injured" during the match, Zulqarnain can come in as a replacement for him?

If so then someone should punch Akmal in the stomach.

Anyone know?

The wicket is flat and I can see our guys scoring 200 plus again with Inzi back in form and Younis, Yousuf looking as good as they are these days MashaAllah- no need to panic

New ball will give us a couple of wickets hopefully- Kallis needs to go he looks ominous .

Well, the official rules in cricket *do* allow a substitute to keep wickets. But that requires the batting captain's permission, and they are within their rights to refuse.

The rules say that a sub cannot field at a "specialist" position. Even the slips and silly mid-on or mid-off are considered special positions, and may be subject to an objection. But it's one of those rules that are there on the books, but not really enforced.

But it is very rare that a sub acts as a 'keeper.

Lead upto 15 now - another great on-drive for Kallis - Hafeez not looking threatning

As someone rightly remarked ..it is hard enough to get players like Kallis out once ..but if you give them so many chances - you are committing suicide

and Rameez in the commentary box-- but Gibbs crashes one to the cover boundary from Kaneria to welcome him

I am fed up with this kabaaz face wicket keeper he should be dropped immediatly and this zulqarain bloke should be brought in.

Akmal has just dropped too many on the field and dropped to many in the toilet he clearly he has a diaphria problem even his brother can do a better job!

I feel sorry for Kaneria - No spinner can be successful if the likes of Akmal are standing behind the wickets ..

Akmal's father was kidnapped and robbed at gun point. he was badly injured yesterday , in critical condition, too much bleeding, Akmal almost left for Pakistan.
Fighting of his life!! I understand!!

TheSaint said:
Lead upto 15 now - another great on-drive for Kallis - Hafeez not looking threatning
Hafeez was never a threatning bowler in test matches unlike Malik or Afridi who usually chipped in with a wicket or two

Obsessed_in_a_good_way said:
Well, the official rules in cricket *do* allow a substitute to keep wickets. But that requires the batting captain's permission, and they are within their rights to refuse.

The rules say that a sub cannot field at a "specialist" position. Even the slips and silly mid-on or mid-off are considered special positions, and may be subject to an objection. But it's one of those rules that are there on the books, but not really enforced.

But it is very rare that a sub acts as a 'keeper.

Players and officials
In men's cricket the ball must weigh between 5.5 and 5.75 ounces (137.5 and 143.8 g) and measure between 8 13/16 and 9 in (220 and 225 mm) in circumference.

The Cricket pitch dimensions

A wicket consists of three stumps, upright wooden poles that are hammered into the ground, topped with two wooden crosspieces, known as the bails.

The first four laws cover the players, the umpires and the scorers.
Law 1: The players. A cricket team consists of eleven players, including a captain. Outside of official competitions, teams can agree to play more than eleven-a-side, though no more than eleven players may field.
Law 2: Substitutes. In cricket, a substitute may be brought on for an injured fielder. However, a substitute may not bat, bowl, keep wicket or act as captain. The original player may return if he has recovered. A batsman who becomes unable to run may have a runner, who completes the runs while the batsman continues batting. Alternatively, a batsman may retire hurt or ill, and may return later to resume his innings if he recovers.
Law 3: The umpires. There are two umpires, who apply the Laws, make all necessary decisions, and relay the decisions to the scorers.
Law 4: The scorers. There are two scorers who respond to the umpires' signals and keep the score.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laws_of_cricket

sorry to be boring!! :26:

partnership of 49. we need to break that and make sure we take quick wickets.

Next time Akmal says - Cmon Danny Boy to Danish ..Danish should respond by saying get lost Akky boy ..You act as a depressant

CrickFan said:
Next time Akmal says - Cmon Danny Boy to Danish ..Danish should respond by saying get lost Akky boy ..You act as a depressant

did akmal drop another one?

PepsiCola said:
I think we will be chasing 250, if we dont get one soon.

even 250 won't be a difficult target to chase in this pitch. 30-40 each from the top batsmen would make it, no need of a spetacular innings either.

South Africa arent even attacking Farhat! If the idea was to tire down our main bowlers and pick on the part-timers, that sure isnt happening here!

South African run-rate 2.12

Our batting doesn't have the pressure capactity to chase 250, and Day 5 pitch wont be so easy.

Thanks. I stand corrected. I was relying upon the memory, which is possibly based on the older law. It used to be as I described. If one is to check the history of test matches, there are catches and stumps credited to substitute 'keepers.

Thanks for clarifying. So, it means that unless Younis or someone else is willing to put on the gloves, Kamran Akmal continues to be our man behind the stumps!

TheSaint said:
Players and officials
In men's cricket the ball must weigh between 5.5 and 5.75 ounces (137.5 and 143.8 g) and measure between 8 13/16 and 9 in (220 and 225 mm) in circumference.

The Cricket pitch dimensions

A wicket consists of three stumps, upright wooden poles that are hammered into the ground, topped with two wooden crosspieces, known as the bails.

The first four laws cover the players, the umpires and the scorers.
Law 1: The players. A cricket team consists of eleven players, including a captain. Outside of official competitions, teams can agree to play more than eleven-a-side, though no more than eleven players may field.
Law 2: Substitutes. In cricket, a substitute may be brought on for an injured fielder. However, a substitute may not bat, bowl, keep wicket or act as captain. The original player may return if he has recovered. A batsman who becomes unable to run may have a runner, who completes the runs while the batsman continues batting. Alternatively, a batsman may retire hurt or ill, and may return later to resume his innings if he recovers.
Law 3: The umpires. There are two umpires, who apply the Laws, make all necessary decisions, and relay the decisions to the scorers.
Law 4: The scorers. There are two scorers who respond to the umpires' signals and keep the score.

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Laws_of_cricket

sorry to be boring!! :26:

CrickFan said:
Yes he dropped Kallis ..

can't believe this :12: :12: it will be miracle if we still go to won this match even after so many sitters dropped by Akmal

UsmanCHADDA said:
South Africa arent even attacking Farhat! If the idea was to tire down our main bowlers and pick on the part-timers, that sure isnt happening here!

I think it is just to let the Asif-Sami combo get some rest before the new ball

UsmanCHADDA said:

I think it is just to let the Asif-Sami combo get some rest before the new ball forn our side and SA are hoping not to lose a silly wicket

I am glad that we (as in the ppl in the Middle East) cannot watch this borefest. Gibbs and Kallis partnership run-rate is about 2.29!

Obsessed_in_a_good_way said:
Thanks. I stand corrected. I was relying upon the memory, which is possibly based on the older law. It used to be as I described. If one is to check the history of test matches, there are catches and stumps credited to substitute 'keepers.

Thanks for clarifying. So, it means that unless Younis or someone else is willing to put on the gloves, Kamran Akmal continues to be our man behind the stumps!

So no punching Akmal?

UsmanCHADDA said:
I am glad that we cannot watch this borefest. Gibbs and Kallis partnership run-rate is about 2.29!

yeah but runs are ialso important. 52 partnership is ok.

UsmanCHADDA said:

I think it is just to let the Asif-Sami combo get some rest before the new ball from our side and SA are hoping not to lose a silly wicket at this crucial stage with Gibbs who is an opener and Kallis who is one-down and well set

PepsiCola said:
Why is Farhat bowling AROUND the wicket? Its completely useless!

To stop the batsmen from picking up easy runs. Although the way Gibbs and Kallis are playing right now, Inzi shouldnt worry about leaking boundaries or even singles!

If SA see off the new ball, they really will be in control

Thanks Shoaib.

lead is 30 runs with 6 wickets at hand. We need quick wickets with new ball.

kaneria still bowling? so inzy will take new ball after launch i guess.

Asif and Sami will have to make the new ball talk for two reasons. To put Pakistan in a strong position and to save us from this torture!

even if they take the new ball...with only two bowlers how much good will it do ?

gibbs might also murder the new ball to all parts of the ground.....I'd stick with the spinners for a while and try and get a wicket before taking the new ball .

anyway...I would panic If were you guys...south africa are 30 for 4 on a flat wicket .

oh mann... i jumped out of my bed when inzi took it... Wat a sportsman inzi is.. he signaled the umpires that it wasn't clean

Inzi is great- this catch was not going to be easy for a third umpire not to give out as the pictures were not clear and Inzi did not claim which seemed to be a great catch in front and tumbling over

Well new ball is available and I think Sami will take it.

Still very happy with Inzi.

well , we will soon see...new ball taken ....two quick wickets here and it's game over.....but if the batsmen get onto the new ball....runs could flow quickly....and if S.A get about 70 ahead without losing a wicket...its going to be interesting...