After 10 years of hiatus, Karachi police arrest killer of journalist Wali Khan Babar [Update #67]

Shahrukh Khan

Very sad news. It happened about an hour ago. He was on the way to his home and target killers stopped him and shot him. He was a very active reporter of Geo News

• 1-13-2011_77204_l.jpg
    1-13-2011_77204_l.jpg
    10.4 KB · Views: 1,006
Inna Lillahi wa Inna Elaihi Raajeeeon

May ALLAH (SWT) grant him a place in Jannah and provide sabr to his family to overcome this huge loss and tragic incident. Ameen!

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/rePg1bX5bBI?fs=1&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/rePg1bX5bBI?fs=1&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

Innalillahi wa inna ilaihi rajioun

Poor chap, I wonder if the drug-sellers got him

tragic incident.

May ALLAH (SWT) grant him a place in Jannah and provide sabr to his relatives

Inna lillahi wa inna ilayhi raajioon.

This soo sad and at the same time very alarming that target killings are increasing! First Taseer, then Justice Iqbal's parents and now Babar!

May Allah provide sabr to the family and grant Babar Jannah, Ameen.

Kab kharay hongay loag apne mulk k liye? Insaaf k liye?

^ Jo jo kharay ho rahay hain, wuhi mar rahay hain, bibi. Aur aagay bhi yahi hoga.

Innalillahi Wa Inna Ilaihi Rajioun

What a tragedy, the guy was only 22 years old....

May Allah grant him a place in Jannat and bless his family with sbar and strength to cope with this young chap's tragic death.

Why is everyone so surprised ? There are many more innocent,ordinary Pakistani people killed every day,either due to target killings,personal scores and drug-trafficking.You don't hear that being reported on the news.

MQM the benevolent liberal organization's handiwork...target killing of yet another pukhtoon in Karachi...

Why is everyone so surprised ? There are many more innocent,ordinary Pakistani people killed every day,either due to target killings,personal scores and drug-trafficking.You don't hear that being reported on the news.

Oh for God sake cut this crap...target killing has been getting intense coverage in Pakistani media. On daily basis Geo will have a breaking news on incidents of target killing from Karachi to Quetta. Don't confuse Pakistani media with PP Time Pass forum, just because people here don't seem to open threads regarding every single case of target killing, doesn't mean Pakistani media isn't reporting.

Not true,there are still hundreds if not, thousands of unreported target killings every day.Yes its sad when anyone is murdered but an extra fuss is kicked up when its a journalist or politician.

Hence the reason honest people prefer to keep a low profile in our country.

MQM the benevolent liberal organization's handiwork...target killing of yet another pukhtoon in Karachi...

What makes you think that MQM is behind this? Last time I checked the drug activities in Peshawar are done by Pukhtoons so maybe it's just Pukhtoons killing one of their own?

Secondly you make it seem like Pukhtoons are the ones that get mistreated and killed in Karachi. Stop playing the victim card I'm fairly confident that no one gets targeted as much as Mohajirs in Karachi. All ANP has ever done is instigate ethnic violence in the city and pollute it thoroughly at least MQM was productive when Mustafa Kamal was in power.

Not true,there are still hundreds if not, thousands of unreported target killings every day.Yes its sad when anyone is murdered but an extra fuss is kicked up when its a journalist or politician.

Not true. I've seen many reportings of 'ordinary' cases of taget killing from Quetta and Karachi. And to make things real for you, there are hundreds and thousands of local events that don't make it to news, pretty pathetic to expect media to report every single case of target killing, murder, rape, robbery etc.

Its so pathetic to see people bitching and complainting about irrelevant things instead of paying respect to the dead person. Thats so low, and it only paints you as an extremely cold and disrespectful individual.

Not true. I've seen many reportings of 'ordinary' cases of taget killing from Quetta and Karachi. And to make things real for you, there are hundreds and thousands of local events that don't make it to news, pretty pathetic to expect media to report every single case of target killing, murder, rape, robbery etc.

Its so pathetic to see people bitching and complainting about irrelevant things instead of paying respect to the dead person. Thats so low, and it only paints you as an extremely cold and disrespectful individual.

You make it sound as if target killing is a new occurrence,this has been going on since the 1990s and most probably earlier than that,what do you expect when the law is not enforced in what is a lawless state ? Hence why I am not surprised,if you think that makes me cold,fine.

Inna Lillahi Wan Inna Ilayhi Rajioon.

May Allah SWT grant him a place in Jannah and watch over his loved ones in their hour of need.

gut-wrenching news, I think its time they took precautions and use aliases to report these kind of potentially life-threatening news.

too many good people senselessly losing their lives.

What makes you think that MQM is behind this? Last time I checked the drug activities in Peshawar are done by Pukhtoons so maybe it's just Pukhtoons killing one of their own?

Secondly you make it seem like Pukhtoons are the ones that get mistreated and killed in Karachi. Stop playing the victim card I'm fairly confident that no one gets targeted as much as Mohajirs in Karachi. All ANP has ever done is instigate ethnic violence in the city and pollute it thoroughly at least MQM was productive when Mustafa Kamal was in power.

Superb post............Im sick of ppl blaming each and everything on MQM. Pehelwan goth is filled with qabza groups and ppl of drug mafia, its near gulistan e johar and backing these criminals is the only business ANP group has in karachi.
Really sad that the innocent guy got killed but shame on some ppl for starting the blame game.

Superb post............Im sick of ppl blaming each and everything on MQM. Pehelwan goth is filled with qabza groups and ppl of drug mafia, its near gulistan e johar and backing these criminals is the only business ANP group has in karachi.
Really sad that the innocent guy got killed but shame on some ppl for starting the blame game.

I was going to say that. This poor guy was trying to do his job and do something for his country, Pakistan, and was killed. I don't care if he was Pathan, Mohajir, Punjabi, Sindhi, Balochi, or Kashmiri the fact is he was doing something that would have benefited the country. Instead of mourning his loss, a particular poster has used this as an opportunity to instigate ethnic hate.

very well said by both posters, totally agree.

let's not lose sight of the fact that a young man has lost his life here.

I sense something else ..... he was a pashtun ..... and got killed/shot in Muhajir influenced area .These days , ethnic violence in Karachi is again on the rise , muhajirs and pashtuns both fear to go into each-other areas courtesy both MQM and ANP .

quiet shocking! I think I have seen him in Geo broadcasts

RIP --- terrible time for Pakistan atm

me and my family are very sad to hear this

may ALlah rest his soul in peace and help his family and friends,
I Pray that justice is served

Inna Lillahi Wan Inna Ilayhi Rajioon.

May Allah SWT grant him a place in Jannah and watch over his loved ones in their hour of need.

This was his last report :(

<object width="480" height="385"><param name="movie" value="http://www.youtube.com/v/sML_DYGUac8?fs=1&hl=en_US"></param><param name="allowFullScreen" value="true"></param><param name="allowscriptaccess" value="always"></param><embed src="http://www.youtube.com/v/sML_DYGUac8?fs=1&hl=en_US" type="application/x-shockwave-flash" allowscriptaccess="always" allowfullscreen="true" width="480" height="385"></embed></object>

^ Jo jo kharay ho rahay hain, wuhi mar rahay hain, bibi. Aur aagay bhi yahi hoga.

It is easier to silence an individual, however when the nation rises together these people will run for cover.

Strength in numbers

It is easier to silence an individual, however when the nation rises together these people will run for cover.

Strength in numbers

Good sentiment and used to work on me in the past, but things are different now in light of current developments. I don't see this nation rising anytime soon, sorry. In fact, I don't think there is a 'nation' to begin with.

Well it sadens me when you mention a terrorist organisation such as MQM odridanry mohajirs think they are being targetted, yet the truth of the matter is that MQM is one thing and being Mohajir is quite another. Not Every Mohajir is part of this terror group. Civilise majority of Mohajirs are very patriot Pakistanis. MQM is a terrrorist organisation and only minority of mohajirs is being represented by them. Rest are all at gun point...

I sense something else ..... he was a pashtun ..... and got killed/shot in Muhajir influenced area .These days , ethnic violence in Karachi is again on the rise , muhajirs and pashtuns both fear to go into each-other areas courtesy both MQM and ANP .

yes

r.i.p ...

Blame game between MQM and ANP already started. Expect more violence in coming days. Both parties have held press conference today and blamed one and other.

Will you guys cut the crap out of ethnicities... Seriously, even from an outsider point of view, it is embarrassing that posters argue abt ethnicities and blame game when someone has been unfortunately killed.......

mojahir this, pakthoon that, how abt being pakistanis, and condemning whoever does wrong irrespective of his enthinicity.

when educated (atleast to the level of using internet) posters cant rise above such petty things, then I cant imagine the level on the streets?

Well it sadens me when you mention a terrorist organisation such as MQM odridanry mohajirs think they are being targetted, yet the truth of the matter is that MQM is one thing and being Mohajir is quite another. Not Every Mohajir is part of this terror group. Civilise majority of Mohajirs are very patriot Pakistanis. MQM is a terrrorist organisation and only minority of mohajirs is being represented by them. Rest are all at gun point...

i have lived in khi and im not even pure mohajir im a khan and I dont think MQM is a any where near to terrorist organization. Yes bad ppl are there but they have got the least number of such kind of menl when u compare them to other parties. So u plz cut the crap and kindly use other hundred threads to propagate against the 3rd biggest party of pakistan. I am really shocked at ppl using this thread to spread hate against political party.

Keep instigating.

The point was MQM has potential at an administrative level. Secondly if MQM is a terrorist organization then every single political party is a terrorist organization. Yes including Tehreek-e-Insaaf due to their links with JUI.

yes

r.i.p ...

Victim card again. Wait for the full story to come out or do you only believe in conspiracy theories?

Good sentiment and used to work on me in the past, but things are different now in light of current developments. I don't see this nation rising anytime soon, sorry. In fact, I don't think there is a 'nation' to begin with.

I wrote the same reply as Vegitto wrote to your post but I erased it.

Because I thought twice.That there is no unity among people anymore. Pathans vs Muhajirs vs Punjabis vs Balochis and etc etc.
I just cannot see this country as a nation anymore.

Keep instigating.

The point was MQM has potential at an administrative level. Secondly if MQM is a terrorist organization then every single political party is a terrorist organization. Yes including Tehreek-e-Insaaf due to their links with JUI.

Victim card again. Wait for the full story to come out or do you only believe in conspiracy theories?

What kind of garbage is This. Since when is Teherek Insaf is aligned with JUI. MQM on other hand has been sitting in gov't with JUI for last 3 years.

Enough of this B.S

I wrote the same reply as Vegitto wrote to your post but I erased it.

Because I thought twice.That there is no unity among people anymore. Pathans vs Muhajirs vs Punjabis vs Balochis and etc etc.
I just cannot see this country as a nation anymore.

Yes. And you are forgetting differences between different Islamic sects, not to mention, tension between different schools of thought within those sects.

None of these would have mattered much, neither religious nor ethnic differences, had they not had a political element to them. Unfortunately, all of them do. So Pakistan is mostly just a name on a map now. Every one of these groups have a political agenda and want their own derh inch ki masjid. A nation is very hard to find in this mess.

Keep instigating.

what victim card?

are u going to deny the ethnical clashes in karachi?

no...this is exactly what happens...pathans kill mohajirs, mohajirs kill pathans etc etc etc blah blah blah

what victim card?

are u going to deny the ethnical clashes in karachi?

no...this is exactly what happens...pathans kill mohajirs, mohajirs kill pathans etc etc etc blah blah blah

Well no I'm not going to deny that but initially it sounded as if you were playing the victim card.

Regardless is it necessary to jump the gun instead of waiting for the full story to come out? In all honesty it sounds more like he got murdered by drug dealers he was investigating against.

Yes. And you are forgetting differences between different Islamic sects, not to mention, tension between different schools of thought within those sects.

None of these would have mattered much, neither religious not ethnic differences, had they not had a political element to them. Unfortunately, all of them do. So Pakistan is mostly just a name on a map now. Every one of these groups have a political agenda and want their own derh inch ki masjid. A nation is very hard to find in this mess.

Tis' true.

Keep instigating.

no baby its not me actually , whole Karachi knows what is happening , mqm , anp , ppp all 3 are fighting for districts . ppl of visible ethnic characters are afraid even to travel through the rival ethnicity area . Funny thing is that they react to each other so quickly , lol , its like .... 1 anp man down in central ....2 hrs later 1 mqm man down in south . disgusting to see muslim against muslim .

Only good thing I reckon abt this so called ethnic clash is that it is limited to political workers / sympathizers only ....... as of yet !

I doubt it was ethnic killing Poisonjet. Probably the drug-sellers

I wonder why people don't add "Shaheed" to these sorts of people's names?

Shaheed baray log hotey hein. Like bb zia or taseer

i am not stressing to anything . Considering the current circumstances in city , ethnic killing is definitely a possibility or even random target killing in retaliation as this guy was a crime reporter . Drug dealers as u r saying , r not this capable in Karachi to target someone on their own . They r also political backed and are set up in different districts to run the business .

Will you guys cut the crap out of ethnicities... Seriously, even from an outsider point of view, it is embarrassing that posters argue abt ethnicities and blame game when someone has been unfortunately killed.......

mojahir this, pakthoon that, how abt being pakistanis, and condemning whoever does wrong irrespective of his enthinicity.

when educated (atleast to the level of using internet) posters cant rise above such petty things, then I cant imagine the level on the streets?

Very well put this post, as well as zimrans. Everyone is very quick to play the (non existent) race card. Outside of South Asia no one knows the damn difference between a Pathan and a Muhajir.

Pakistan court convicts five of reporter's murder in landmark case | Reuters

Reuters) - A Pakistani court convicted five men on Saturday of murdering a young television reporter, his brother said, marking the first time anyone has been convicted for killing a Pakistani journalist.

Wail Babar, a 28-year-old journalist for Geo news, covered the seamy side of Karachi, a sweltering port megacity of 18 million people. He reported on drugs, crime, militancy and deadly turf struggles between the city's main political parties.

He was shot dead on January 13, 2011 as he left work.

One of the men convicted, Mohammad Shahrukh Khan, said in a videotaped confession posted on YouTube that he had been asked to follow Babar home from work by an activist from the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), the party that rules Karachi.

The MQM denies any link to Khan or the other killers.

Khan said he followed Babar and called in the route to the MQM activist. Moments later, a man he had met at the activist's house shot Babar to death, he said.

"The traffic had come to a complete halt. Zeeshan was on foot. He was wearing a cap and pants. He stepped in front of Wail Babar's car and fired six to seven times. He had a black pistol," he said in the YouTube confession, which was authenticated to Reuters by the prosecutor.

The activist and the gunman were never caught but the court sentenced them to death in absentia, said prosecutor Abdul Maroof. One man was acquitted and Khan and three others were sentenced to life in prison.

Six witnesses, a lawyer and two policemen linked to the case have been murdered, said Maroof, who took on the case in 2012 after two previous prosecutors fled the country.

Maroof's own house was attacked in November but he shot back and wounded the gunman, who was later captured. Maroof said his attacker and all five accused stated they were members of MQM.

"I think justice has been done. I hope people would think again before attacking any other journalist in Pakistan," he said.

The Committee to Protect Journalists says 46 journalists and media workers have been killed in Pakistan for their work since 2007. Babar's is the first case successfully prosecuted.

The MQM denies any involvement.

"None of the workers convicted by the court are members of the MQM. MQM does not tolerate violence," said party spokesman Nadir Jamal. "They were never affiliated with the MQM. I have verified it today."

The MQM's leader, Altaf Hussein, is wanted for an unrelated murder case in Pakistan and lives in exile in London.

Murtaza Babar, the brother of the journalist, appealed to British authorities to extradite Hussein to Pakistan to face charges in his brother's death.

"Justice has not been served," he said angrily. "These are the foot soldiers."

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/03/01/us-pakistan-journalist-murder-idUSBREA200HV20140301

Finally some good news in this case but SHOCKING how almost all witnesses, lawyer, policemen etc were murdered. Haven't even seen this much brutality in a film where half a dozen witnesses get killed one by one. Now this is MQM for you, all the links are there and we have people supporting such a gang. Can you even imagine what goes on in Khi with these criminals in charge? They take a stance against Talibans NOT for the love of this country but due to the fear that the city they rule might slip out of their hands.

Umar Cheema ‏@UmarCheema1 Jan 14
Facts: Dead body of Rajab Bengali (who helped police tracing car used in murder of Wali Khan Babar) was found on Jan 29, 2013. 1/10

2/10: Policeman Asif Rafique who noted number of car used in murder of Wali Khan Babar, was shot dead 18 days after Wali's murder

3/10: Police constable, Arshad Kundi, who recovered the car used in Wali Khan Babar's murder was killed 37-day after Wali's killing.

4/10: 85-day after Wali Babar's murder, five alleged killers were arrested. Meanwhile, brother of SHO Shafiqu Tanoli was killed.

5/10: SHO Shafique Tanoli who arrested five alleged killers had a narrow escape when fire opened on him. One of his colleague killed.

6/10: Three lawyers (convinced by Wali Babar's family for contesting the case) fled country one after another following death threats.

7/10: Naimat Randhawa Advocate who took up the case on repeated requests of Wali Khan Babar's brother, was shot dead.

8/10: SHC later shifted case proceeding to Kandh Kot (Interior Sindh). House of prosecutor of case (Abdul Maroof) was attacked, he survived.

9/10: Even hearing of WaliBabar case in Kandh Kot has adjourned multiple times as MQM MNA Salman Baloch,lawyer of 5 accused, doesn't appear.

From what i've read the charges against him are slight and he will be let off

Which is not really how it works in the British justice system

Geo News reporter Wali Khan Babar Killed

After what has happened to the witnesses of the Wali Babar, absolutely no question anyone in Karachi would ever go to court against MQM. They are the urban LeJ, a truly ruthless criminal organization.

I personally knew a young guy, a former APMSO worker who was shot in broad daylight by mutahidda killers in front of an apartment block in Azizabad. No one came forward as witness despite the fact that dozens not only saw but knew even the names of the killers.

Pakistan court convicts five of reporter's murder in landmark case | Reuters

Reuters) - A Pakistani court convicted five men on Saturday of murdering a young television reporter, his brother said, marking the first time anyone has been convicted for killing a Pakistani journalist.

Wail Babar, a 28-year-old journalist for Geo news, covered the seamy side of Karachi, a sweltering port megacity of 18 million people. He reported on drugs, crime, militancy and deadly turf struggles between the city's main political parties.

He was shot dead on January 13, 2011 as he left work.

One of the men convicted, Mohammad Shahrukh Khan, said in a videotaped confession posted on YouTube that he had been asked to follow Babar home from work by an activist from the Muttahida Qaumi Movement (MQM), the party that rules Karachi.

The MQM denies any link to Khan or the other killers.

Khan said he followed Babar and called in the route to the MQM activist. Moments later, a man he had met at the activist's house shot Babar to death, he said.

"The traffic had come to a complete halt. Zeeshan was on foot. He was wearing a cap and pants. He stepped in front of Wail Babar's car and fired six to seven times. He had a black pistol," he said in the YouTube confession, which was authenticated to Reuters by the prosecutor.

The activist and the gunman were never caught but the court sentenced them to death in absentia, said prosecutor Abdul Maroof. One man was acquitted and Khan and three others were sentenced to life in prison.

Six witnesses, a lawyer and two policemen linked to the case have been murdered, said Maroof, who took on the case in 2012 after two previous prosecutors fled the country.

Maroof's own house was attacked in November but he shot back and wounded the gunman, who was later captured. Maroof said his attacker and all five accused stated they were members of MQM.

"I think justice has been done. I hope people would think again before attacking any other journalist in Pakistan," he said.

The Committee to Protect Journalists says 46 journalists and media workers have been killed in Pakistan for their work since 2007. Babar's is the first case successfully prosecuted.

The MQM denies any involvement.

"None of the workers convicted by the court are members of the MQM. MQM does not tolerate violence," said party spokesman Nadir Jamal. "They were never affiliated with the MQM. I have verified it today."

The MQM's leader, Altaf Hussein, is wanted for an unrelated murder case in Pakistan and lives in exile in London.

Murtaza Babar, the brother of the journalist, appealed to British authorities to extradite Hussein to Pakistan to face charges in his brother's death.

"Justice has not been served," he said angrily. "These are the foot soldiers."

http://www.reuters.com/article/2014/03/01/us-pakistan-journalist-murder-idUSBREA200HV20140301

Finally some good news in this case but SHOCKING how almost all witnesses, lawyer, policemen etc were murdered. Haven't even seen this much brutality in a film where half a dozen witnesses get killed one by one. Now this is MQM for you, all the links are there and we have people supporting such a gang. Can you even imagine what goes on in Khi with these criminals in charge? They take a stance against Talibans NOT for the love of this country but due to the fear that the city they rule might slip out of their hands.

why is the convicted guy's name same as the thread's starter name? some thing fishy about this

So the MQM have been proved every bit as evil as the evil Taliban for killing innocent people. These people and their supporters deserve to rot in hell. May Allah show the likes of MQM and the Taliban no mercy. Where is Tafa the warlord? What happened to his "liberal values"?

In any other country, this story would become one of the most talked about news like the case of "Sialkot brothers being beaten to death" or "Delhi Gang rape" but unfortunately it's just another murder case in Pakistan where half a dozen witnesses are also murdered one by one without an eyebrow raised.

MQM denying any links but their own sitting MNA is lawyer of all accused.

MQM is no different to Talibans, both terrorist groups who target innocent civilians. One use religion to kill and other to keep hold on one of the biggest port cities in the world. Talibans at least get openly criticised (rightly so) as opposed to MQM (Na maloom afraad party).

what is so surprising in this? MQM having a militant is well known, even other parties have them, though MQM"s is much more dangerous.

After 10 years of hiatus, Karachi police arrest killer of journalist Wali Khan Babar

On of the main culprits in the murder of journalist Wali Khan Babar has been arrested after a gap of almost 10 years, Sindh Information Minister Nasir Hussain Shah said on Monday.

Babar, aged 28, was shot dead in the Liaquatabad neighbourhood of Karachi while driving home from office in the limits of the Super Market police station on January 13, 2011. The murder case was lodged the same day.

Police had arrested five suspects – Faisal Mehmood alias Nafsiyati, Naveed alias Polka, Muhammad Ali Rizvi, Shahrukh alias Manni and Shakil Malik – in the city on April 7, 2011.

Addressing a press conference, Karachi police chief Ghulam Nabi Memon said Zeeshan alias Shaani is directly responsible for the murder of the journalist as he had opened fire on the newsman.

According to the confession of Zeeshan, the police chief said MQM-London South Africa chapter was involved in the murder of slain journalist.

“Wali Babar was killed because he was considered close to the Awami National Party (ANP) and would report anti-Altaf Hussain stories,” he added.

AIG Ghulam Nabi also said that the federal intelligence agency provided the tip-off about the whereabouts of Zeeshan which led to his arrest by special unit of the Sindh police.

A special Anti-Terrorism Court (ATC) handed down death sentences to two absconders and life imprisonment to four others found guilty of murdering TV reporter Babar.

https://tribune.com.pk/story/224323...ice-arrest-killer-journalist-wali-khan-babar/