Australia v Pakistan | 1st Test - Day 5 | MCG | 30/12/09

so how crucial were those two drop catches, now we can easily see. If they (misbah and umar) had caught those we only would have needed around 25-50 runs right now.

Well played by ajmal, no idea why they took a single to give him the strike so early in the over though

More of the same. Ajmal takes a bye of the first ball of the over. What does Yousuf do? Takes a single off the 2nd ball instead of hogging the strike.

usman303 said:
we ONLY need 195 runs ONLY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
yes and with 2 wicket remaining!!!!!!
if u didnt know, ajmal and asif cant bat..

is it only me who thinks the both the deliveries of hautirz were no balls? They only showed the replays once from side view and both of them looked no balls.

WHY are you taking singles from the first ball of over? This is Steve Waugh-esque shepherding of the tail

Cheguvera said:
True dat...
I can't believe Che is agreeing with me. oh well at least we have something in common apart from being Pakistani and Altaf biggest supporter. :)

Yousef is trusting Ajmal, there is no way he can score enough runs while sheperding the strike, no one other than Inzi could have done that!

Yousuf doesn't have much time before the tail enders get out.
This is the time he should look to play aggressively.

At least he tried to get a single of the last ball of that over

Billy's called Hauritz for about 5-6 NBs - and I think hes been wrong every time

sssssh, the umpires are teaming up with the Aussies remember

At least Pakistan made more than Australia did...... in the 2nd innings.

WithLoveFromCanada said:
bhai aap sab logon ne haar maan li? ya koi abhi bhi umeed lagaye bheta hai.
We don't give up, till the fat lady sings

15 minutes to lunch.............. lets see if pakistan can take this into 2nd last session

I just woke up but I think that I am going back to sleep

slix10 said:
We don't give up, till the fat lady sings
She finished her song a while ago, in fact she's retired now - can't handle our batting collapses.

All we need is ten 6s from Yousuf and the Australians have a game.............

Shah said:
At least Pakistan made more than Australia did...... in the 2nd innings.
And...you guys forget that Aus declared. (weren't AO)

1994/1995 methinks - Aus tour of Pak - Karachi match - Stand of 130 odd

Saqib said:
hahaha...

vlcsnap2009123001h56m21.png

LOL .. who's at the crease.

Tapori said:
Ermmm anyone remember Inzi and Mushtaq Ahmed?
Yep. you mean they were both bearded, both plump, both played at MCG in 92 and both are retired for ages?

we should go with 5 bowlers and 6 batsmen. (if afridi is not available)

5 bowlers being aamer, asif, sami, gul and kaneria.

6 batsmen baing butt, faisal/misbah, younis, yousuf, umar, kamran

Again Yousuf takes a single off the first ball of the over. I think that he is protecting his wicket. Selfish and jahil.

*** is Yousaf doing? he needs to be the striker, *** is he not rotating the strike so that happens?

wait for the backlash. tommorrows headline would be . Dasti summons PCB on suspicions of match fixing

Shah said:
Again Yousuf takes a single off the first ball of the over. I think that he is protecting his wicket. Selfish and jahil.
if yusuf gets out, mach is literally over.. what he doing is right, there is still whole lot of time left (almost 5 hours..) and they should just keep taking singles patiently

12thMan said:
Channel 9's cricket show will go on even if match is over before lunch
We are indeed blessed.

What about Nine News? Or the Calendar? Or the Memorabilia? :)
Makes me wonder if its a Sports channel or the Shopping channel QVC.

I think its time they showed those 4 KFC catches again now - its been 3 minutes, and we all need to see them 20 times an hour.

Yousuf playing to improve his measly 30 average against Australia, not shepherding the strike whatsoever. And we criticise Sachin for playing for landmarks.

amar1212 said:
if yusuf gets out, mach is literally over.. what he doing is right, there is still whole lot of time left (almost 5 hours..) and they should just keep taking singles patiently

Yea but i don't think :ajmal has it in him to bat through the seamers.

Johnson's not reversing the ball, it's hitting the rough and swinging away off the pitch. They don't know what reverse swing is.

amar1212 said:

hmmm, if hes not on strike than the wickets will fall anyways.

cricfan967 said:
Yea but i don't think :ajmal has it in him to bat through the seamers.
yea but if they keep taking singles, the lead will decrease and it will take some pressure off of him...