Australia v Pakistan | WT20 2016 | 25th March, 2016 | Mohali | Australia Innings

#GreenRoars

Australia Squad
SPD Smith*, DA Warner, AC Agar, NM Coulter-Nile, JP Faulkner, AJ Finch, JW Hastings, JR Hazlewood, UT Khawaja, MR Marsh, GJ Maxwell, PM Nevill†, AJ Tye, SR Watson, A Zampa

Pakistan Squad
Shahid Afridi*, Ahmed Shehzad, Anwar Ali, Imad Wasim, Khalid Latif, Mohammad Amir, Mohammad Hafeez, Mohammad Irfan, Mohammad Nawaz (3), Mohammad Sami, Sarfraz Ahmed†, Sharjeel Khan, Shoaib Malik, Umar Akmal, Wahab Riaz

Why does Cricinfo Pakistan version say this?

"Pakistan needs big victory to stay alive."

I would have though, any sort of victory would be enough :13:

Well a victory wont be good enough if we beat Australia although I'm surprised at that title. If Pakistan win today, Australia need to India NY quite a big margin to qualify

Mathematically speaking, A big victory would ensure that the last game comes down

(a) India Winning and Pakistan getting knocked out
(b) India Loosing and Pakistan Proceeding to the next round

A big margin of victory could essentially knock out the Aussies of the competition as something like 80 run win over India would be highly improbable - almost impossible to say the least, therefore I think the editor wrote this as how it is.

This may sound racist but I guess the editor is a desi guy :yk majority desis just can't stand the Aussie *****.

Yup, I also think the same way as the NRR of Pakistan is just so fine but maybe they're thinking that if Australia wins from India with a big margin so they'll qualify, BTW, i need a clarification for this as many on PP were also saying this.

[MENTION=139973]carrom_ball[/MENTION]

You should be hired by PCB right away dude. These dimwits would certainly need a bloke like you to spell it out for them on how to approach a game mathematically :facepalm:

I want Afridi to do a 0(1) today, it will be a fitting tribute to his career and an exit with his trademark style.

UA's day today. Its freakin 4 AM here and if Pak and UA don't bat first, its all for nothing

Big victory would make our case strong but I think around 10-20 run victory would be solid enough to make things difficult for Aus, even if they win

This win big is BS, even a ten run victory would do, are chase down target in 19 overs, because this will mean Oz need to win vs india atleast by 50 runs or chase target atleast inside 15 overs, which will be highly improbable if not impossible.

Correction : Any sort of victory wont be enough

Afridi and Smith look like Frodo and Sam Baggins in front of the Interviewer :yk2

Oh Goddd afridi ne palti kha li. He is saying that he has not taken any decision on retirement and will look to retire in front of his nation.

Irfan out Wahab in. Good move because Irfan is just rubbish. Glad Shehzad is playing because he will fail again and be dropped

Only wahan comes in for irfan..thats it. Means hafeez isnt playing????

Damn. Lost the toss again. Get ready to chase another 180 y'all

Holi witth Maxwell, maxi playing holi in India, i am sure all the other teams did too. Its impossible not to play holi when in India on that day.

This is beyond pathetic.

Wahab for Irfan?

The pitch is going to turn!!

Should have played Nawaz.

Afridi says he hasn't taken retirement decision, will take in front of my nation.

:afridi

Shehzad (will play rubbish as usual)
Sharjeel
Akmal
Malik
Latif
Sarfraz
Afridi
Imad

Should be the batting order

Damn! I changed my avatar in respect of Afridi's last game and was thinking about changing the flag, but Lala comes to the toss and makes an another U turn about his retirement:afridi2

Lala! Keeping people guessing since 20years:afridi

Damn! I changed my avatar in respect of Afridi's last game and was thinking about changing the flag, but Lala comes to the toss and makes an another U turn about his retirement:afridi

Lala! Keeping people guessing since 20years:afridi

Thats going to show how confuse he is... he cant even takea decision

Oh Goddd afridi ne palti kha li. He is saying that he has not taken any decision on retirement and will look to retire in front of his nation.

Sorry worry keh ke nation key aagay thode se aason baha kar jaaye ga. Don't worry, let him have a big press conference one last time as a player.

Latif is much better than Nawaz as a batsman and we are chasing so we should be happy. As long as Shehzad doesnt bat for too long anything can be chased on this wicket against this bowling

Sorry worry keh ke nation key aagay thode se aason baha kar jaaye ga. Don't worry, let him have a big press conference one last time as a player.

Izzat se jana nahi aata Pak ke players ko :facepalm:

Stupid Geo. Wattos retiring and in his memory they are talking about Wahabs spell a year ago. What a joke this nations media is

95% confident that Pakistan will lose today. Awful at chasing. It's going to be the same story.

Batting second + pressure = Pakistan loss.
A simple formula that so many Pakistani fans are used to now.

Afridi just wanted to create drama after the New Zealand game by saying that the game against Australia might be his last. Lool.

Afridi just said he hasn't taken any decision on retirement. What do u have to say? :))

Lala will put in a World Class performance and prove that his decision to not retire was the right one

Hahahahaha height of ignorance!! Shehzad just said to the interviewer that its good to be in the top 10 run scorers in this world cup. Please get rid of this joke

He really thinks he is a good batsman, should be kicked out permenantly

Because he sacrificed his wicket for the betterment of team, not like Shehzad and Umar :))

Well, he deserve an other chance and also Hafeez is injured.
Yaar he's useless, never rated him. Nawaz would've been a better choice here.

Because he sacrificed his wicket for the betterment of team, not like Shehzad and Umar :))

Well, he deserve an other chance and also Hafeez is injured.

Agree with you. Stupid people blaming him for no reason when it was all Shehzads fault

If Pakistan wins then Lala is not retiring, he will have something to hold on to and hide behind it for his new decision.

But if he loses then it will be easy for PCB to get rid of him since he would have only won one match against BD in this WC.

Lets see which side "The Seniors" take today

Lets listen to the Kaumi Anthem...

What a moment ...

Semi final time...

If Pakistan wins then Lala is not retiring, he will have something to hold on to and hide behind it for his new decision.

But if he loses then it will be easy for PCB to get rid of him since he would have only won one match against BD in this WC.

Lets see which side "The Seniors" take today

He will retire after this tournament, it's confirmed.

It's 330 am and I am pumped

Sent from my SM-G925W8 using Tapatalk

Latif is a flawed batsman yes but Nawaz is worse as a batsman
Nawaz is really underrated around here. He hasn't played enough to be discarded just yet. Much better technically than Khalid. Plus, his bowling would've been useful against Australia.