Bollywood Corner

^both the points but still i wonder how movie crosses 100 crores easily now a days...i have heard trade analysist KOMAL NAHATA saying on etc that only 2 to 3 percent india's population watches movies on multiplex\theatres

True, India is a mega huge market really.....For a movie to become a hundred crore movie in Bollywood...2-3% of the people in India is all that is needed !!!!

Our Biggest hit 3 Idiots is estimated to be watched by 8-9 % of Indians in theatres....that is still 90 Million people !!! That is not to say Movie loving population is less, Most people watch Movies on Television /DVD...which will be aired/ release in 2 to 3 months....that is why Satelite rights are humongous...around 60 crores for a few movies !!! Increase in Multiplexes, ticket prices also makes families to choose movies and go only once in a while....

Also Whole of south India, Eastern India do not watch bollywood....some have their own industries!!!! As Bollywood market expands, middle class increases and more population go to theatres....100 crores will be no big deal reallly...its already lost its charm with the big stars like Aamir,SRK and co...they are aiming on 200 crores irrespective of how good the movie is !!

And the Drama Starts ... Ajay Devgan has sent legal notice to YashRaj Films..

Ajay Devgn Ffilms (ADF), through their lawyers Naik & Naik have served Yash Raj Films (YRF) a notice in the Competition Commission, for using their dominant position in the Bollywood film market. And, using and abusing their clout to deny ADF their rightful due, for ADF's November 13 Diwali release, Son Of Sardaar.

Our sources indicate that the notice was filed on October 18, three days prior to Yash Chopra's demise. But it was apparently served to YRF only last evening. The source says, "ADF was forced to take legal recourse because of monopolistic practices of YRF. Before the release of Ek Tha Tiger, in August 2012, YRF had reportedly used their dominant position in the market to enter into an arrangement with the exhibitors saying that they will give them Ek Tha Tiger only if the exhibitors agreed to reportedly give their Diwali release prominence over others.''
Ajay remained unavailable for comment. A copy of the notice is with us. And Son Of Sardaar is definitely releasing on November 13, this Diwali.

Role of the Competition Commission of India
The Competition Commission of India is a body of the Government of India that is responsible for enforcing the Competition Act 2002. This act is there to prevent activities that have an adverse effect on competition and was established in October 2003. The Competition Act, 2002, as amended by the Competition (Amendment) Act, 2007, follows the philosophy of modern competition laws. The Act prohibits anti-competitive agreements, abuse of dominant position by enterprises and regulates combinations, which cause or are likely to cause an appreciable adverse effect on competition within India.

Credit: TOI

^^^ Lol ...used to writing Devgan!! I wonder why he changed it..he was originally Devgan right??

Devgan was not good according to numerology...and see how removing a letter has made his fortunes soar.... i have also added an extra e in my name...let's see!!

That is Salman Bhai's Desperate attempt at promoting SOS over Jab Tak hain Jaan...he is even promoting it in Big Boss !!!

Aishwarya's 39th Birthday Today....she recieved second highest civilain award from the French Government today(Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres)....Broken down into tears while she was giving the Speech ....came a long way from where started...

Pics from the function....

N5oCI.jpg

249353_429284323799957_1946292319_n.jpg

46213_429284377133285_2018861507_n.jpg

544956_429284280466628_385298142_n.jpg

Chevalier dans l'Ordre des Arts et des Lettres

what kind of award is that..sounds like some fancy perfume name..

Haha....Donno!!! Btw...I am not sure if you Watch Tamil Cinema....but have you watched Iruvar...1997 movie..aish' s first movie...starring Mohanlal,prakash raj, Tabu,Aish,Gowthami....Rahman Music..directed by Maniratnam....It is based on the lifes of MGR(Mohan Lal), Karunanidhi(Prakash raj) and Jayalalitha(Aish)...I consider it as one of the finest movies ever made in India....Suprisingly she acts very well in her first movie...and then becomes horrible in Jeans and the movies after untill 2003/2004...taal/hum dil de... being an exception...

Watch it if you get a chance....brilliant movie with brilliant songs!!! I am trying to see if there is movie with subs in youtube....movie is there if u understand tamil !!

songs from the movie

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/zulPFoY64wE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/W_6goZ7p1bE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<iframe width="480" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/JqgwTxDeOa8" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

oh yes..i have watched iruvar.. by mani rathnam.. heard about it because of ash... man what happened to diectors like mani rathnam.. there was a time when the best movie was coming from tamil nadu with mani rathnam and a.r rahman combo and getting dubbed in hindi for the rest of us..

Yaa....I think Anjali ( What a masterpiece), Roja And Bombay were all Dubbed in Hindi !!! I am not sure if Kamal Haasan's Nayagan was dubbed !!! Manirathnam has aged man...he was still good till Guru Though !!! Had a heart attack during Raavan....Heard that he will only be doing movies which do not involve much Stress.....doing a love story called "Kadal" in Tamil now ...Rahman's Music!!! I watched his Movie Thalapathi (Rajni,Mamutty)..just recently....brilliant movie...loosely based on Mahabharath

oh yes..i have watched iruvar.. by mani rathnam.. heard about it because of ash... man what happened to diectors like mani rathnam.. there was a time when the best movie was coming from tamil nadu with mani rathnam and a.r rahman combo and getting dubbed in hindi for the rest of us..

There are still good movies coming in Tamil. But they can not be dubbed into Hindi. Too much nativity.

When Mani Rathnam became Mani Ratnam, he lost his soul.

^^^^ True. always thought the same....Moment he started making direct hindi movies...his movie never felt the same....although they were good. And best movie after he started making movies in hindi was his direct tamil movies...Kannathil Muthamittal, Alaipayuthey!!!Kannathil Muthamittal is actually one the finest movies to come!!! not sure if it is dubbed in hindi !! Can't explain...but Iruvar/Mounaragam/Nayagan/Anjali/Thalapathi/Roja/Bombay/Agni Natchathiram/Alaipayuthey ....are just different , had a lot soul from Yuva/Dil se/Guru etc etc..not saying later are bad..but comparitively speaking !!

I think the same is happening with A R Rahman too...Not that he is making bad music....but his initial music had soul, felt Indian....Now His music is little complicated...

Yash Raj responds to Ajay's Legal Notice..

We were indeed quite surprised to receive an intimation from Ajay Devgn Films’ lawyers today saying that they had filed a complaint with the Competition Commission of India against YRF, alleging malpractice committed by us in connection with the release of JAB TAK HAI JAAN and thereby affecting the release of Son of Sardar. For a company like ours, which has maintained the highest standards of work ethics and fair play, this has really come as a shock.

We would like to clarify at the outset that we still haven’t received any notice from the Commission and will suitably represent our stance if and when called upon to do so. Worldwide, as well as in India, distributers often sign deals for their complete annual slate of films to simplify the process. We trust the Competition Commission will also see it as universally acceptable fair business practise.

As we have mentioned in the past, all the exhibitors, when approached by us earlier this year for booking their theatres, were happy to play out Yashji’s movie considering their long standing and emotional relationship and goodwill with YRF of over 40 years. A Yash Chopra/Shah Rukh Khan movie, coming after a gap of 8 long years, did not need any coercion for contractual screening. Additionally, some exhibitors, who played EK THA TIGER, have chosen not to screen JAB TAK HAI JAAN.

Interestingly, of the 10500 plus single screens available on an all-India basis, we have booked less than 1500 single screens (an industry norm for an A-lister movie), a fact that has been common knowledge for some time now. If this was an issue, why wasn’t it raised earlier? Why wait till now when both films are nearing release?

We had announced JAB TAK HAI JAAN would be a Diwali 2012 release as far back as 27th June 2011 and thereafter every press release of ours reiterated this. Given that most big ticket films avoid simultaneous releases, it was odd that Son of Sardar announced their release for the same day almost a year later on 29th May 2012. They were also able to lock their final distribution partner as late as 4th Oct 2012. It would seem odd that they would expect us to wait for our release plans to be put in place till they had finalised theirs!

It is also unfair to say that we are in any way in a dominant position. While we are releasing just three films this year, the two production houses in question, VIACOM 18 & EROS, who are distributing Son of Sardar, have a combined release strength of almost 27 films in a year.

Everyone agrees that the festive time of Diwali has space for two simultaneous releases. Give the audience a choice to choose the one they want to watch. Few of the exhibitors have already chosen, on the basis of a business decision, the one they want to exhibit.

King Khan Outside his House on his Birthday...Crazy Fans..

3gXC8.jpg

4oOQ5.jpg

adLTN.jpg

At 12 O clock Midnight.....SRK climbs the wall to say Hii to Fans at 12 !!
<iframe width="640" height="360" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/FpvjdOBflyE" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

^^^^ True. always thought the same....Moment he started making direct hindi movies...his movie never felt the same....although they were good. And best movie after he started making movies in hindi was his direct tamil movies...Kannathil Muthamittal, Alaipayuthey!!!Kannathil Muthamittal is actually one the finest movies to come!!! not sure if it is dubbed in hindi !! Can't explain...but Iruvar/Mounaragam/Nayagan/Anjali/Thalapathi/Roja/Bombay/Agni Natchathiram/Alaipayuthey ....are just different , had a lot soul from Yuva/Dil se/Guru etc etc..not saying later are bad..but comparitively speaking !!

I think the same is happening with A R Rahman too...Not that he is making bad music....but his initial music had soul, felt Indian....Now His music is little complicated...

A film, if it has to be genuine, can't work both in Hindi and Tamil. Mani Rathnam tried to find a balance and ended up making films which were neither here nor there.

sa.jpg

Tha image i posted now have changed completly to a car.

A R Rahman Fans....Just do not Miss 1st episode of MTV Unlugged.....That was some Genius at work...He Modified and almost reinvented some songs.....I cannot post the youtube links because the videos uploaded by both MTV and viacom are blocked in USA!!

Official site links!!

Yeh Jo Des He Mera from Swadesh

http://mtv.in.com/videos/episodes/u...-2-ye-jo-des-ar-rahman-12542.html#currentshow

Aaj Jaane na Zidd Karo from Pakistani Singer Farida Khanum (this was great too)

http://mtv.in.com/videos/episodes/u...zidd-na-karo-full-song-12598.html#currentshow

Dil se

http://mtv.in.com/videos/episodes/u...ahman-dil-se-full-song-12600.html#currentshow

Tu Bole from Jaane Tu Ya Jaane Na

http://mtv.in.com/videos/episodes/u...hman-tu-bole-full-song-12608.html#currentshow

Rehna Tu from Delhi 6

http://mtv.in.com/videos/episodes/u...man-rehna-tu-full-song-12604.html#currentshow

Phir se Ud Chala

http://mtv.in.com/videos/episodes/u...se-udd-chala-full-song-12606.html#currentshow

NenjuKulle from Kadal (Tamil song, I thought this was brilliant)

http://mtv.in.com/videos/episodes/u...n-nenjukulle-full-song-12602.html#currentshow

Btw...that Nenjukulle is a new song......from Maniratnam's next "Kadal ". Rahman's Tamil songs are just something else...even compared to his hindi ones!!!

Btw....that instrument in Rahman's hand in Aaj Jaane na zidd karo, Nenjukulle...it is harmonium,right?? I am just guessing from the piano and that part where musician pushes in....looks little different from harmonium !!

Btw..ARR Trending in twitter in India !!

that is an accordion.. and i just checked that song..Aaj jaane ki zidd na karo.. couldnt bear it for more than 1 minute.. his voice is just not suited for these songs.. please Mr. Rahman..don try your hand at ghazals..

Oh Thanks.....Wonder how different are sounds that comes from it to harmonium!!!!! I am not a fan of Rahman's voice either...I do not dislike it to such an extent that I switch it off...he has a very dusky voice and sometimes spoils powerfull songs when he sings on stage....But I think he kinda suits to some songs like Khwaja Mere Khwaja, Piya HAzi Ali, Tere Bina from Guru, Dil se...even Maa tujhe salaam

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DqNhu7Sbmf8

Oh Thanks.....Wonder how different are sounds that comes from it to harmonium!!!!! I am not a fan of Rahman's voice either...I do not dislike it to such an extent that I switch it off...he has a very dusky voice and sometimes spoils powerfull songs when he sings on stage....But I think he kinda suits to some songs like Khwaja Mere Khwaja, Piya HAzi Ali, Tere Bina from Guru, Dil se...even Maa tujhe salaam

basically he suits to those songs which he sung in the first place... i listened to the other songs and found them nice..because they were original rahman songs..but the ghazal was noise pollution to my ears..
but i read the comments people going crazy over that song.. this is the halo effect at work.. when you see a person is very good at something..you start thinking he is good at everything.. therefore Rahman the musician and composer gets mixed with Rahman the singer.. he is great at the former..and sucks as a singer

^^^^^ Very True!!! Always argued with friends on this myself...he is not that great a singer!!!!! but This program was more about modifying songs I think...and just using acoustic instruments...!!! at least he acknowledges it and does not sing many ..unlike Reshammiya who ends up spoiling his own good works...

My fav of those was Yeh Jo desh,Tu Bole and Nenjukulle....liked the remaining as well !! but first 3 are going to my phone....

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DqNhu7Sbmf8

He has started singing more songs off late. In fact a song each in most of the films. I think he should sing sparingly like he used to do in the 90s. But if he can sing like /Dil se re..', I won't mind hearing him all the time. :)

True...One recent Example where Different singers do better than him is ... Mannipaaya from Vinayathandi Varuvaya(Vintunnava from Yem Maaya Chesaave in Telugu)..While Tamil Version..Rahman Sang himself......and in Telugu version of the song...Karthik sang it....I thought Karthik sang it so much better.....Listen to them one after the other you will see so much difference...not saying Rahman is bad ..but..

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=WcP-OHY9eO0

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=_MaY1yGAl7E

Rahman was much better in the 90s..his music was so fresh and melodious.. but he got fame for songs like Jai Ho..which were so mediocre.. but because the west liked that so all is well.. now he is being smart..after showing his talent and getting fame..he can live off that fame and even his mediocre music will fetch him a lot of money.. even if he has to collaborate with one of the worst bands like pussycat dolls...a smart thing to do..

and it does not help when his great works go unnoticed because movie bombs at box office....Delhi 6 for example..Even Yuvraaj. But it is unfair to say he has become mediocre....just recently he had Rockstar, Vinayathandi Varuvaya....Jaane Tu ya Jaane na , Delhi 6, Rang De basanti and many..

but he has also many average works in between his brilliant works these days...Ghajini,Blue, Raavan, Jhoota Hi sahi...I personally think Even his Jab tak Hain Jaan album is only decent for his standards!!! unliek in the 90's...where every album was brilliant!!

and it does not help when his great works go unnoticed because movie bombs at box office....Delhi 6 for example..Even Yuvraaj. But it is unfair to say he has become mediocre....just recently he had Rockstar, Vinayathandi Varuvaya....Jaane Tu ya Jaane na , Delhi 6, Rang De basanti and many..

but he has also many average works in between his brilliant works these days...Ghajini,Blue, Raavan, Jhoota Hi sahi...I personally think Even his Jab tak Hain Jaan album is only decent for his standards!!! unliek in the 90's...where every album was brilliant!!

i am not saying he has become mediocre.. he is of course talented.. but nowadays even if he farts that music will sell..because he has won the Americans' award.. now he is more of brand AR Rahman than the artist AR Rahman..which is fine..because everyone deserves to make money.. i like SRK doing those same old boring movies..because he knows those movies will sell..and he doesnt have to prove that he is a great actor anymore... the creative artist stagnates when you get satisfied with the success you have..i think this is what that has happened to AR Rahman..

personally i like Ilayaraja much better..and even that copycat RD Burman who had songs you could humm...over Rahman..who is more techno and foot thumping..dinchak dinchak..

i am not saying he has become mediocre.. he is of course talented.. but nowadays even if he farts that music will sell..because he has won the Americans' award.. now he is more of brand AR Rahman than the artist AR Rahman..which is fine..because everyone deserves to make money.. i like SRK doing those same old boring movies..because he knows those movies will sell..and he doesnt have to prove that he is a great actor anymore... the creative artist stagnates when you get satisfied with the success you have..i think this is what that has happened to AR Rahman..

personally i like Ilayaraja much better..and even that copycat RD Burman who had songs you could humm...over Rahman..who is more techno and foot thumping..dinchak dinchak..

Rahman was Brand Rahman before Oscars too..infact everybody in India thought he got oscars for very mediocre works...Rahman brand has increased outside India due to oscars than in India to be honest....his songs sold before Oscars..and after too !!!! Do not think Rockstar or Jaane tu or VTV audio were success because Rahman got oscars...coz they were good..his bad album were not received even after!! I think for any artist...quality decreases as time goes by...and 20 years of Music...500 songs...got to decrease at some point!!!

I rate Ilairaja better than Rahman as well..and come on...Rahman and techno..dinchaak???Not even his recent works were dinchaak...forget 90's...

tell me how many of his songs can you hum.. mukkala mukabla.. humma humma...chaiya chaiya..sathiya sathiya.. all are nice to hear if you have good speakers..but not good for humming in your bathroom..or while walking on the streets..

The thing with hummable songs is one catch phrase is enough....like Tere Mast Mast do Nain in Dabangg !!!!

It is not hummable that matters when discussing music...but if the music stands the test of time..and passes through generations....it has been 20 yrs....Roja/Bombay/Rangeela/Taal/Jeans/Kadhalan/Laagaan...and many more are still considered quality music!!!!!

Bappi Lahari made so many hummable songs for short period of time!!

I also think many Rahman songs which are simple and hummable too....Go through his filmography...you will def find songs there which people sang in their day to day lives.....

The thing with hummable songs is one catch phrase is enough....like Tere Mast Mast do Nain in Dabangg !!!!

It is not hummable that matters when discussing music...but if the music stands the test of time..and passes through generations....it has been 20 yrs....Roja/Bombay/Rangeela/Taal/Jeans/Kadhalan/Laagaan...and many more are still considered quality music!!!!!

Bappi Lahari made so many hummable songs for short period of time!!

I also think many Rahman songs which are simple and hummable too....Go through his filmography...you will def find songs there which people sang in their day to day lives.....

that is fine if hummable doesnt matter to you.. to each his own!! for me i want to sing a song while walking..and Rahman's songs are not suitable for that... even his songs have catch phrases but still not hummable..

bappi lahiri is a personal favourite..that copy cat and gold mountain made some songs that are even now played in discos and remixed by everyone...have danced to so many of his songs..even now i prefer dancing to his songs that A R Rahmans..

When we actually 'listened to' the music, it was hummable. But now it is the time of watching music, So now you dance to the music.

this is one of my favourite bappi da's songs..very dance worthy and very hummable

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/N7JsIvYvsFA?list=PL7541F087D72EC2B2&hl=en_US" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

that is fine if hummable doesnt matter to you.. to each his own!! for me i want to sing a song while walking..and Rahman's songs are not suitable for that... even his songs have catch phrases but still not hummable..

bappi lahiri is a personal favourite..that copy cat and gold mountain made some songs that are even now played in discos and remixed by everyone...have danced to so many of his songs..even now i prefer dancing to his songs that A R Rahmans..

Humming is all good...There are songs that struck in people's mind for a while...for me Music is about what is sounds good to my ear when I listen to it than Me , a common man being able to recreate it does not matter to me.

Like I can never sing Dil se or songs in Lagaan ....or Lukka Chuppi from Rang De Basanti or Khwaja mere Khwaha from Jodha Akbar or Jashn Bahara or Paruvam vanaga from Roja or Maa Tujhe Salaam or Songs from Jaane Tu...but when I listen to them...I enjoy them like no other songs!!!!

The thing is it is credit to Rahman for becoming so popular and connecting people through Music than couple of lyrics or catch phrases!!

this is one of my favourite bappi da's songs..very dance worthy and very hummable

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="http://www.youtube.com/embed/N7JsIvYvsFA?list=PL7541F087D72EC2B2&hl=en_US" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen></iframe>

haha..fun song!! but. come on now..which part of this is hummable!!!! If this is hummable....many Rahman songs are hummable...almost all are...

Humming is all good...There are songs that struck in people's mind for a while...for me Music is about what is sounds good to my ear when I listen to it than Me , a common man being able to recreate it does not matter to me.

Like I can never sing Dil se or songs in Lagaan ....or Lukka Chuppi from Rang De Basanti or Khwaja mere Khwaha from Jodha Akbar or Jashn Bahara or Paruvam vanaga from Roja or Maa Tujhe Salaam or Songs from Jaane Tu...but when I listen to them...I enjoy them like no other songs!!!!

The thing is it is credit to Rahman for becoming so popular and connecting people through Music than couple of lyrics or catch phrases!!

i like to sing because i dont like to have earphones plugged in my ears..even while driving in the car i sing aloud... if you drive on a long bridge and sing..yeh..dil..diwana.. from Pardes..you will feel like shahrukh..

so you agree to my point that A R Rahman's songs are not so hummable..but good to listen to..i am not saying it is bad..but was making this distinction about his songs..

yes..credit to him because he came at a time when music was becoming boring..i still remember the roja songs.. so melodious and fresh..it made me fall in love with the village side... he has deserved all the fame that he has got..

i like to sing because i dont like to have earphones plugged in my ears..even while driving in the car i sing aloud... if you drive on a long bridge and sing..yeh..dil..diwana.. from Pardes..you will feel like shahrukh..

so you agree to my point that A R Rahman's songs are not so hummable..but good to listen to..i am not saying it is bad..but was making this distinction about his songs..

yes..credit to him because he came at a time when music was becoming boring..i still remember the roja songs.. so melodious and fresh..it made me fall in love with the village side... he has deserved all the fame that he has got..

True...Rahman songs ..for lack of better word are more complicated. Songs in movies like..as you said Pardes or even DDLJ or Dil to pagal hain...are very singable for everybody!!!!

Yes...I agree with you that Rahman's Music is not as hummable as others.....But I used to hum Urvasi Urvasi take it is policy :D

i know bappi da is laughed at by those so called elites.. but his songs had a good message for people..and it was such that even a kid would start dancing to his tunes.. songs like mumbai se aaya mera dost..dost ko salaam karo.. talked about friendship and being a good host.. "raat ko khao piyo, din ko aaram karo"..and a way of life of enjoying the nights and resting during the day..

"goro ki na kaalo ki duniya hai dilwalo ki"..very anti racism song..that the world doesnt belong to blacks or whites..it belongs to people who have a heart..

"yaar bina chain kahan re".. he says even if you get gold and diamond of the world..without a companion life is meaningless.. his songs were anti consumerism and pro human values

and who can forget his innovation when he gave the meaning of DISCO. D for dance, I for item, S for singer, C for chorus, O for orchestra

tell me just one bappi da song which was dull.. his songs were all good to listen to..

Do not credit bappi da for lyrics and movie situations yaar!! Agree he made music for da masses though ...nothing to look down upon!!!

basically he suits to those songs which he sung in the first place... i listened to the other songs and found them nice..because they were original rahman songs..but the ghazal was noise pollution to my ears..
but i read the comments people going crazy over that song.. this is the halo effect at work.. when you see a person is very good at something..you start thinking he is good at everything.. therefore Rahman the musician and composer gets mixed with Rahman the singer.. he is great at the former..and sucks as a singer

Damn , took teh words right outta my mouth . Rehman the composer and gulzaar is a deadly combo. Add Sonu nigam to the mix and you have MAGIC! .Rehman as a singer is very ordinary.

yes..this video misses a part when govinda comments on those who found his songs cheap..and says "tujhe nachan na aaya to main kya karu" such a simple fun song..and easy to copy dance moves!!

during my extreme narcissism days i used to make my own dance videos on these songs..mostly govina and bappi lahiri songs.. no matter how tense you are..if you dance to these songs the problems in life appear small...

yes..this video misses a part when govinda comments on those who found his songs cheap..and says "tujhe nachan na aaya to main kya karu" such a simple fun song..and easy to copy dance moves!!

during my extreme narcissism days i used to make my own dance videos on these songs..mostly govina and bappi lahiri songs.. no matter how tense you are..if you dance to these songs the problems in life appear small...

I can imagine you dancing on a street :)))

no..i am not an extrovert.. made dance videos in our hostel..not on streets.. i love to dance to bollywood songs..copying their exact steps.. once during college ragging we had a sikh boy..and he could play the bhangra style drum very well..so i asked him to play the drum..and i danced to that.. then another guy asked me are you ragging him or is he ragging you...

^^^

Hmm...No if you watch bollywood only once in a while...there are way better movies.

No..if you do not like Candy floss cinema..

Yes..if you watch bollywood regularly and like Karan johar style cinema..and want to spend some time!!

^^^

Hmm...No if you watch bollywood only once in a while...there are way better movies.

No..if you do not like Candy floss cinema..

Yes..if you watch bollywood regularly and like Karan johar style cinema..and want to spend some time!!

Hm. Thanks :13:

no..i am not an extrovert.. made dance videos in our hostel..not on streets.. i love to dance to bollywood songs..copying their exact steps.. once during college ragging we had a sikh boy..and he could play the bhangra style drum very well..so i asked him to play the drum..and i danced to that.. then another guy asked me are you ragging him or is he ragging you...

I'd love to see you dance, would be hilarious as hell, can you upload the dance video here? :))

Hm. Thanks :13:

Okay. I guess I confused you..

The thing is movie is set in an over the top college....very glee like settings....superficial relationships.....good looking people...where poor people wear designer clothes....It is very candy floss cinema..where characters are introduced by remix of old songs.....Just very very escapist cinema...I can really understand people who will hate the movie. For me...I thought it was a decent movie for an evening....if you do not want to use your brain..want to watch good songs...well made scenes and stuff...To give you a taste..this is thr intro of the heroine...they remixed the old song Gulabhi anken...
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=GTU0ON9gGrk

for those born in late 70s to early 80s..there was Jo Jeeta Wahi Sikandar..
for those early to mid 80s..there was Kuch Kuch Hota hai
and for those born in late 90s..there is Student of the year..

see how each movie has shown how times have changed.. how things started getting more fake with each generation..

for those born in late 70s to early 80s..there was Jo Jeeta Wahi Sikandar..
for those early to mid 80s..there was Kuch Kuch Hota hai
and for those born in late 90s..there is Student of the year..

see how each movie has shown how times have changed.. how things started getting more fake with each generation..

Why is Student of the year Jo Jeetha Wahi of this generation??? It is just another random movie which will be forgotten next year....

We had way way better young movies in 2000's...

For starters.....Dil Chahta Hain !!!

Why is Student of the year Jo Jeetha Wahi of this generation??? It is just another random movie which will be forgotten next year....

We had way way better young movies in 2000's...

For starters.....Dil Chahta Hain !!!

DCH has not based on school/college life.. the others were strictly about school or college life.and from the trailers it looked like a copy of JJWS.. i dont have much faith in those born in late 90s..they might be going crazy about this alia bhatt girll who hasnt even hit puberty and is acting in movies..actually just posing with loads of lipstick..

^^ How about 3 Idiots..!!! anyway..nobody is going gaga over Ali Bhatt !! I will be suprised if she gets any movies in the near future except teen movies...she is 19 yrs old and looks like one!! 90's generation will take India forward !!! Wait n see :D...I am 89...so technically I am 80's !!!:D

oh yes forgot about 3 idiots..there are a few generation defining movies..like JJWS, KKHH and DCH.. 3 idiots might be included in that list..

yes..90's generation will take india forward if they get time from their flash mobs and starbucks!! (joking)

But unlike the 90's ...I think in 2000's we will have atleast 30 to 40 movies which will stand the test of the time in long run..say 20 to 30 yrs from now.. ....

And lol...we can handle both mate...Read Unmukt Chand...or Virat Kohli(87..but def the 90;s kid)...there is a reason why there is great increase in start ups in India....we can have fun and work hard at the same time :D

What are the some good Bolly movies released this year?

When is DVD of Burfi coming out?

So you have wrong date of birth on PP.

^^^^ Yes, I just saw...I guess I just gave a random day when I registered likie I do when I register for random sites. Did not realize I would stay this long here ...corrected now!!

hey navroks...good to see you online! now tell me what do you think about the trend of body building in bollywood.. earlier we had actors who didnt mind having a belly..or being too thin.. but why does every actor now from hrithik to salman to tusshar has to have a chiseled body?

3 Idiots is overrated. Didn't like it much. I like crime movies like Satya, Paan Singh Tomar.

yes..i think so too..but this is the kind of movies that are getting popular now.. 3 idiots was a light movie with a good theme... it had the feel good factor of munnabhai mbbs... that baby delivery scene was silly.. and some jokes were old..

hey navroks...good to see you online! now tell me what do you think about the trend of body building in bollywood.. earlier we had actors who didnt mind having a belly..or being too thin.. but why does every actor now from hrithik to salman to tusshar has to have a chiseled body?

Trend bhai Saab ..Trend !!!!! Hrithik Started it...and then everybody followed.

But I think it is not Body building....body building is what salman, hrithik does....remaining are just in the right shape...

Ranbir has good shape..but not six packs..Imran does not...Imran hasmi does not...Ajay did not untill Singham..and then he is back to normal...Aamir had only for ghajini....SRK for Om shanti Om....Akshay does....
Most actors have it only for a very short time....remaining time they just have a good looking body....
Hrithik, Arjun Rampal, Salman are only few who "body build" !!!

This is good actually...promotes being healthy and in shape actually!!!

Bigger concern is the size zero phase of heroines started by Kareena....thankfully even that is gone !!!

yes..i think so too..but this is the kind of movies that are getting popular now.. 3 idiots was a light movie with a good theme... it had the feel good factor of munnabhai mbbs... that baby delivery scene was silly.. and some jokes were old..

3 Idiots for me was the weakest Hirani Movie. Having said It is a wonderfull movie....fun...meaningfull....good songs..as gentleman said a feel good factor..

Satya, Paan Singh tomar are completely different...better cinema for sure..but....you do not watch two different types of movies with the same mindset....

i know my friend its the trend..but why? why even the need to be in shape..you are actors not models..an what are models doing in movies?? what are girls like katrina kaif doing here who have no role except to look pretty and smile like a silly girl??

it promotes being healthy?? what about representing the common man..who looks like amol palekar and sanjeev kumar...why has movie shifted from showing common people to showing those perfect specimen of human beings..with right shape..perfect set of teeth..perfect hairline?? and dont you think people will low self esteem want to look like these perfect heroes because they are not comfortable in their own skin??

i know my friend its the trend..but why? why even the need to be in shape..you are actors not models..an what are models doing in movies?? what are girls like katrina kaif doing here who have no role except to look pretty and smile like a silly girl??

it promotes being healthy?? what about representing the common man..who looks like amol palekar and sanjeev kumar...why has movie shifted from showing common people to showing those perfect specimen of human beings..with right shape..perfect set of teeth..perfect hairline?? and dont you think people will low self esteem want to look like these perfect heroes because they are not comfortable in their own skin??

Err...What????? I see people who are in shape of Ranbir Kapoor everyday....not necessarily the looks...his body shape is how a normal day to day youth looks like...Thin and in good shape(Note I am not talking about looks)

And Ajay Devgan...doesn't he look like a common man when he plays normal roles? I though Ranbir looked like every other kid in Wake up sid...and even in Rocket Singh...

Have you seen Imran Khan in Matru ki Bijli Ki Mandola Trailer...he looks like a villager

SRK looks like a common man too....no????...I am not sure what is exact reason.

and if you look at heroines...Sonakshi Sinha.....Huma Qureshi....Even Kajol or Rani Mukherjee or Zinta or susmita Sen ...all were in real good shape..

Lead actors who play lead roles are in good shape in all the woods....because it is a visual medium......

And if you go down south..Dhanush, Rajni are all super stars...and they look like person next door.....

When did showing common people mean showing out of shape people...

and then we have paresh rawal to nawazudhin sidique to pito bash to many others...

And please...Self esteem?? Every movie industry is escapist in nature...especially the main stream ones!!!!

It is actually the low self esteem people who look at people looking at good looking actors and feel the pinch and judge fans !!!

From brad pitt to depp ...being in shape is good !!

and they all turn into normal roles when needed...

Since we are talking amol Palekar..

What about vidya in dirty picture

manoj in gangs, nawazudhin in gangs

konkana sen sharma...doesn't she look like a normal girl??

pankaj kapoor....

Ranveer Singh.....is not good looking either..and looked like a typical youth in band bhaja bharat!!

Parineeti...is not in good shape either....Arjun Kapoor .,is not greak god either !!!