GentleMan
today navroks is too busy to reply to me 

Yami Gautam?!
She is a must for best newcomer and not Huma!
today navroks is too busy to reply to me![]()
Asin is ruined..she was the top actress down south..but she got lured by Bollywood..and rejected Tamil movies..now she is doing these second hand roles..no one wants to watch her now...talk about how to ruin a successful career
^^^ Seriously!!!! Oh My God is only good movie in last few years...Since Hey Babby....only Desi boyz is worth mentioning....!!! Few commercial successfull movies in between were all crapfests too....Horrible movies!!
But his next movies after this are okay..
Special Chabbis with A wednesday Director...Kajal Agarwal..
Once upon a time in Mumbai II
and remake of Tamil film Thuppaki (apparently it is not a regular south remake)....
Yami is so hot ... i like that babe Esha Gupta tooyeah...Yami Gautam and Diana Penty are both better than Huma.
Actually the thing is ...Huma Qureshi is daughter of a restuarent Chain owner Saleem's in Delhi...and she is from a mega rich family...and has quite a bit of influence in the film faternity...that is why she is every where compared to other new comers. Although I like the fact she is not taking the conventional route which she could have easily....and also is not size zero!!
as usual bollywood doing the stereotype of a police officer as some singh or khan guy...when are they going to show honest police officers as inspector paswan or inspector yadav..
its Shekhawat in Talaash
ok navroks, another question...do you think some names are trendy in bollywood.. like pushpa, pooja, priya, simran, anjali among females.. and vijay,raj, prem, sid, rahul, rohit among males.
i wonder why they stick to mostly these names.
navroks, i wanted to see this caste bias in the police movies..so the top cop movies i remember, with the hero's name are
Sarfarosh, Ajay Singh Rathore
Shool, Samar Pratap Singh
Gangajal, Amit Kumar
A Wednesday, Prakash Rathore
Rowdy Rathore, Vikram Rathore
Khakee, Anant Shrivastav
Talaash, Surjan Singh Shekhawat
seems rathore, and ultimately the rajputs are favourite to play a honest and brave cop...such clear caste bias
Asked a fellow sociology friend. This is what he has to say:
Singh could be a non-Rajput. The title is used by a number of castes including SCs. Same for Kumar - in fact Rajputs rarely use the title Kumar.
Srivastava is a Kayastha title.
Shekhawat could be a Rajput or a Jat. Both communities use the title.
Rathore are Rajputs.
i also think that they dont put too much thought into the names.. i am saying that it is in their subconscious mind...want to name a brave and honest cop, the first name that comes to their mind is some rathore... castiesm is ingrained in their minds..
It is less about the casteism...and more about the how the name sounds....It is like the name is ingrained in the subconcious that it is powerfull...but not the caste itself!!!!
Asked a fellow sociology friend. This is what he has to say:
Singh could be a non-Rajput. The title is used by a number of castes including SCs. Same for Kumar - in fact Rajputs rarely use the title Kumar.
Srivastava is a Kayastha title.
Shekhawat could be a Rajput or a Jat. Both communities use the title.
Rathore are Rajputs.
why do they think that the name sounds powerful?? because there is association between names and castes...that IS casteism..
Its because Rathores ruled most of the present rajputana....so the name sounds kinda royal..
why do they think that the name sounds powerful?? because there is association between names and castes...that IS casteism..
Gman ... why are heroes called rahul or raj & not laloo or mulayam or akhilesh or robert or ramesh - is that some kinda bias & casteism rolled together ?
no, first names are not the problem because first names are caste-less...it is the surnames which denote caste which i am talking about
lolz. i hope your next fave movie has a hero called Laloo Agarwal![]()
you dont get me..the first name is not the problem, the surname is..so yes i will be happy when the next movie has Raj Paswan as the main hero.
no,everything has to be right ...i can imagine you in front of a mirror striking a pose & saying - k*TTe, Laloo Agarwal tera khoon pi jaayega![]()
please, not agarwal...that is not a backward caste...i want a backward caste name in the movies
navroks, i wanted to see this caste bias in the police movies..so the top cop movies i remember, with the hero's name are
Sarfarosh, Ajay Singh Rathore
Shool, Samar Pratap Singh
Gangajal, Amit Kumar
A Wednesday, Prakash Rathore
Rowdy Rathore, Vikram Rathore
Khakee, Anant Shrivastav
Talaash, Surjan Singh Shekhawat
seems rathore, and ultimately the rajputs are favourite to play a honest and brave cop...such clear caste bias
gentleman watch aarakhshan , an obc was the hero , played by SAK.
but yeah you are right on the money, casteism is alive and well, we just don't care enough about it in bollywood because its mostly mindless timepass entertainment not dealing with deep/heavy issues.
thanks for talking about aarakshan.. what was the solution the movie offerred, that reservation is bad, and let the upper caste (amitabh bachchan) help the backwards to bring them in mainstream.. the movie had a patronizing solution...similarly to hollywood movies where a white guy comes and emancipates the blacks..
and the OBC was a hero ONLY because it was relevant to the movie..otherwise it is the usual khans and rathores.
Well I didn't understand the concept of that movie...in first half they were talking about reservation and suddenly in second half the the whole point changed ...they start talking about how these rich coaching classes are destroying our education system....it became a personal battle between amitabh and vajpeyi...in my view they should have stick to the topic of reservation..
no, i dont want reservation in bollywood..just exposing the casteist mentality present there..i will keep it a bollywood thread..but i have evidence of casteism in many spheres of life..maybe for another thread..Gentleman wants reservation in names used in movies also, lol.
Talaash releasing soon![]()
Son Of Sardar
Very average movie.The action scenes were simply boring and childish.
The entire plot becomes predictable in the middle of the movie.
2.5/5
Son Of Sardar
Very average movie.The action scenes were simply boring and childish.
The entire plot becomes predictable in the middle of the movie.
2.5/5
Matru Ki Bijli ka Manodala Title song
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dK23GGm5bwA
Bhaag Milkha Bhaag Teaser
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nR9JS2WsNg
Looks good!!! Farhan Akhtar is such a brilliant talent..as an actor..as a director...as a writer..as a producer.....even as a singer!!!!
few big names...Om Prakash Mehra( Rang de basanti director)...binod pradhan.....SEL
Cant wait for it!
Especially because Anushka is in the movie![]()
why do you like anushka so much?? she is not even pretty...and her acting is also theek thaak.