Bollywood Corner

I actually I wanted to post this a few days back...I was listening to some Telugu songs...after a couple of songs which I heard this suddently stuck...

How Heroines who made Debut, or initial movies with Telugu Hero Venkatesh became super stars or big Actors in Bollywood

Katrina Kaif ...her 2nd Film after disaster Boom(pretty much this Telugu film is her first high profile film)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=kkYAV7BRSv8&feature=plcp

Preity zinta in 1998 movie..her 2nd film...called PRemante Idera

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=PnnI6QMYbvU&feature=related

Tabu Debut with 1991 Movie "Coolie No. 1)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=tB7urRoLsGc

Divya Bharati -- her Debut Movie 1990...Bobbili Raja..and then she was a huge star after

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fRXTvpi0ybE

Along with those....Karishma Kapoor's 7th or 8th movie was with Venkatesh..and after year or so...she became a huge actor..

Shilpa Shetty,Raveena Tandon....he has a quite a record in Heroines truning big after they act with him :D

Yami Gautam?!

She is a must for best newcomer and not Huma!

yeah...Yami Gautam and Diana Penty are both better than Huma.

Actually the thing is ...Huma Qureshi is daughter of a restuarent Chain owner Saleem's in Delhi...and she is from a mega rich family...and has quite a bit of influence in the film faternity...that is why she is every where compared to other new comers. Although I like the fact she is not taking the conventional route which she could have easily....and also is not size zero!!

today navroks is too busy to reply to me :(

haha...I do not know what to reply man to that....yes..song situations have changed.....Is Daud the last hindi movie where hero and heroine go into a jungle???

But Bollywood has a knack of inserting song situations everywhere and anywhere....we do not need anything or a situation :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=nEWp0dTrqlk

I have no doubt in my Mind that this movie will be a crapfest...none of the trailers..songs are remotely appealing...even for bollywood masala standards it looks way over the top...this song is a little better!!

Asin..:facepalm: What crap choice of films after a good career down south in Tamil and Telugu and Ghajini in Hindi !! She is a good actor to be doing this...should be leaving these movies to Sonakshi Sinha !!

Asin is ruined..she was the top actress down south..but she got lured by Bollywood..and rejected Tamil movies..now she is doing these second hand roles..no one wants to watch her now...talk about how to ruin a successful career

^^^ Seriously!!!! Oh My God is only good movie in last few years...Since Hey Babby....only Desi boyz is worth mentioning....!!! Few commercial successfull movies in between were all crapfests too....Horrible movies!!

But his next movies after this are okay..

Special Chabbis with A wednesday Director...Kajal Agarwal..

Once upon a time in Mumbai II

and remake of Tamil film Thuppaki (apparently it is not a regular south remake)....

Asin is ruined..she was the top actress down south..but she got lured by Bollywood..and rejected Tamil movies..now she is doing these second hand roles..no one wants to watch her now...talk about how to ruin a successful career

So True...she has a very good number of nice movies in Tamil and Telugu....and Ghajini in Tamil and hindi were both awesome !!! She was one of my favorite actors for a while.... especially after I watched this song in a movie called Gharshana(telugu) this movie..from 3:38 in below video !!! I see her going into oblivion in a year or two now...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CyqIWiXUL_o&feature=plcp

^^^ Seriously!!!! Oh My God is only good movie in last few years...Since Hey Babby....only Desi boyz is worth mentioning....!!! Few commercial successfull movies in between were all crapfests too....Horrible movies!!

But his next movies after this are okay..

Special Chabbis with A wednesday Director...Kajal Agarwal..

Once upon a time in Mumbai II

and remake of Tamil film Thuppaki (apparently it is not a regular south remake)....

Well,

We`ll know that after watching it :P

paresh rawal is not suited for a villain's role now..after doing comedy roles his evil role doesnt look credible at all

looks like a sequeal of' aamir 'movie....poor rajeev khandelwal seems to be blackmailed in this movie too...

rajeev khandelwal will remain a flop actor..because he has a very unfashionable name...if he had talent he could be a manoj bajpayee who had another boring name by bollywood standards

he has to remove extra letters from his name to become acceptable to indian audience.. from rajeev khandelwal to rajeev khan..

yeah...Yami Gautam and Diana Penty are both better than Huma.

Actually the thing is ...Huma Qureshi is daughter of a restuarent Chain owner Saleem's in Delhi...and she is from a mega rich family...and has quite a bit of influence in the film faternity...that is why she is every where compared to other new comers. Although I like the fact she is not taking the conventional route which she could have easily....and also is not size zero!!
Yami is so hot ... i like that babe Esha Gupta too :)

I m really looking forward to Talaash...looks quite thrilling and trailers doesn't give away too much....And also aamir khan is named Surjan Singh Shekhawat (I am a shekhawat myself!!!!!!

as usual bollywood doing the stereotype of a police officer as some singh or khan guy...when are they going to show honest police officers as inspector paswan or inspector yadav..

its Shekhawat in Talaash

navroks, i wanted to see this caste bias in the police movies..so the top cop movies i remember, with the hero's name are

Sarfarosh, Ajay Singh Rathore
Shool, Samar Pratap Singh
Gangajal, Amit Kumar
A Wednesday, Prakash Rathore
Rowdy Rathore, Vikram Rathore
Khakee, Anant Shrivastav
Talaash, Surjan Singh Shekhawat

seems rathore, and ultimately the rajputs are favourite to play a honest and brave cop...such clear caste bias

ok navroks, another question...do you think some names are trendy in bollywood.. like pushpa, pooja, priya, simran, anjali among females.. and vijay,raj, prem, sid, rahul, rohit among males.

i wonder why they stick to mostly these names.

ok navroks, another question...do you think some names are trendy in bollywood.. like pushpa, pooja, priya, simran, anjali among females.. and vijay,raj, prem, sid, rahul, rohit among males.

i wonder why they stick to mostly these names.

Two theories, 1) Most common names in India. 2) Once they have been used in hit movies, Director/writer tends to stick to it assuming it will be hit for their movies too.

navroks, i wanted to see this caste bias in the police movies..so the top cop movies i remember, with the hero's name are

Gangajal, Amit Kumar
Khakee, Anant Shrivastav

seems rathore, and ultimately the rajputs are favourite to play a honest and brave cop...such clear caste bias

Asked a fellow sociology friend. This is what he has to say:

Singh could be a non-Rajput. The title is used by a number of castes including SCs. Same for Kumar - in fact Rajputs rarely use the title Kumar.

Srivastava is a Kayastha title.

Shekhawat could be a Rajput or a Jat. Both communities use the title.

Rathore are Rajputs.

Singh could be a non-Rajput. The title is used by a number of castes including SCs. Same for Kumar - in fact Rajputs rarely use the title Kumar.

Rathore are Rajputs.

i know Srivastava as Kayastha and Singhs are used by even backwards, but there is a clear bias in the bollywood names when showing a brave police officer.. it perpetuates the myth that some castes are the brave and honest ones

I seriously do not think Bollywood or people put so much thought into names....the discussion probably ends at which name sounds appealing or which sounds powerfull.....I do not think the discussion goes into castes at all !!!!!

Rathore is one name used for powerfull because it has been that way...but everbody knows that every rathore is not brave...not every name that is not used in bollywood as a police officer are cowards!!

i also think that they dont put too much thought into the names.. i am saying that it is in their subconscious mind...want to name a brave and honest cop, the first name that comes to their mind is some rathore... castiesm is ingrained in their minds..

It is less about the casteism...and more about the how the name sounds....It is like the name is ingrained in the subconcious that it is powerfull...but not the caste itself!!!!

why do they think that the name sounds powerful?? because there is association between names and castes...that IS casteism..

Rathore are Rajputs.

Shekhawats are Rajputs....I m a shekhawat myself...actually its sherawat that jats use...like mallika sherawat

why do they think that the name sounds powerful?? because there is association between names and castes...that IS casteism..

Its because Rathores ruled most of the present rajputana....so the name sounds kinda royal..

and royalty has no place in a democracy and an egalitarian society..so bollywood should stop perpetuating this stereotype

ppl are forgetting one of the most powerfull reel inspecter of bollywood---vijay khanna of zanzeer fame,,,,,there you go,,,

Gman ... why are heroes called rahul or raj & not laloo or mulayam or akhilesh or robert or ramesh - is that some kinda bias & casteism rolled together ?

no, first names are not the problem because first names are caste-less...it is the surnames which denote caste which i am talking about

Bollywood films always takes cheap shots at those states who are out of hindi belt.

lolz. i hope your next fave movie has a hero called Laloo Agarwal :)

you dont get me..the first name is not the problem, the surname is..so yes i will be happy when the next movie has Raj Paswan as the main hero.

no,everything has to be right ...i can imagine you in front of a mirror striking a pose & saying - k*TTe, Laloo Agarwal tera khoon pi jaayega :amir

please, not agarwal...that is not a backward caste...i want a backward caste name in the movies

gentleman watch aarakhshan , an obc was the hero , played by SAK.

but yeah you are right on the money, casteism is alive and well, we just don't care enough about it in bollywood because its mostly mindless timepass entertainment not dealing with deep/heavy issues.

Gangajal, Amit Kumar
Khakee, Anant Shrivastav

Because we rajputs are brave and honest :D

Ok,

Well I think its because the first directors in indian cinema started to use these names and it was successful so thats most probably why its still like that.

Actually,

The caste thing is a big problem generally in Asia so its not a suprise thats its used like that in movies.

gentleman watch aarakhshan , an obc was the hero , played by SAK.

but yeah you are right on the money, casteism is alive and well, we just don't care enough about it in bollywood because its mostly mindless timepass entertainment not dealing with deep/heavy issues.

thanks for talking about aarakshan.. what was the solution the movie offerred, that reservation is bad, and let the upper caste (amitabh bachchan) help the backwards to bring them in mainstream.. the movie had a patronizing solution...similarly to hollywood movies where a white guy comes and emancipates the blacks..

and the OBC was a hero ONLY because it was relevant to the movie..otherwise it is the usual khans and rathores.

thanks for talking about aarakshan.. what was the solution the movie offerred, that reservation is bad, and let the upper caste (amitabh bachchan) help the backwards to bring them in mainstream.. the movie had a patronizing solution...similarly to hollywood movies where a white guy comes and emancipates the blacks..

and the OBC was a hero ONLY because it was relevant to the movie..otherwise it is the usual khans and rathores.

Well I didn't understand the concept of that movie...in first half they were talking about reservation and suddenly in second half the the whole point changed ...they start talking about how these rich coaching classes are destroying our education system....it became a personal battle between amitabh and vajpeyi...in my view they should have stick to the topic of reservation..

and talking about casteism...well dude its not gonna end even if they stop using these names in bollywood....it"ll be always here unless they stop this reservation thing...the reservation should be given to BPL families no matter they belong to which caste...in India a general boy will have to get minimum 75% to get admission in AIIMS while a ST boy can easily get the seat with 50-55% and they are also from good families..it"ll **** ap general boy that he s working so hard to get a seat while his friend who enjoys reservation, having same family background will get the seat so easily..

Well I didn't understand the concept of that movie...in first half they were talking about reservation and suddenly in second half the the whole point changed ...they start talking about how these rich coaching classes are destroying our education system....it became a personal battle between amitabh and vajpeyi...in my view they should have stick to the topic of reservation..

that was one confused movie..in the first half it raised the question of reservation, showing why it is needed and the potential misuse of it..and then in second half it went into the coaching school business.. but in the end the solution it offered was patronizing..that upper castes should participate to uplift the lower castes..

Gentleman wants reservation in names used in movies also, lol.
no, i dont want reservation in bollywood..just exposing the casteist mentality present there..i will keep it a bollywood thread..but i have evidence of casteism in many spheres of life..maybe for another thread..

Today...I watched a gem of a Movie Called "Pyaar ki Punchnaama" (2011 )....Movie is the need of the hour....Have never seen a movie take the male point of the view in a relationship...so hillariously....It is border line male chavunist actually by the end of the movie....

This scene was just Epic ....some of the points raised were just so true....especially the table and ungli...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9-jsG9ne6hU

Theatricla Trailer is hilarious too :D

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7pFE44rnRk0

A youtube comment sums up the movie....

"This movie is definitely not for everyone..neither its related to any sexist agenda..its a bitter reality bout women portrayed in such a funny way. And not jst India, there r women like this everywhere around the world..some too controlling in the name of love..some cross all the boundaries in the name of their personal space and some just take benefit of poor guys(who are too insecure bout themselves) in the name of frndship. Personally I enjoyed the movie and I bet a lot of other ppl did too!!"

Watch the movie with your guy friends....just not with Girl friends or Wives....

My rating: 4/5 -- coz the movie did what it set out to achieve

^^Absolutely must watch for every boyfriend or husband. :)

I really enjoyed this movie when I watched it first time and one can definitely connect to it.

navroks, today I was thinking of the white/half white actors we have in bollywood.. the most famous of them all, Helen, the dance queen.. and the versatile actor, Tom Alter and the Australian Bob Christo.. while Helen played did the cabaret which might have been seen taboo for our women, Tom Alter and Bob were often used to play the evil Britisher...

AU_2011120910:28:35.jpg

Jagir_085.JPG

Son Of Sardar

Very average movie.The action scenes were simply boring and childish.
The entire plot becomes predictable in the middle of the movie.

2.5/5

Recently Watched Prakash jha's Chakravyuh... Abhay Deol is so so ahead of his other brothers....
6.5 out of 10....
One can watch it once..... At the end it tells about certain facts related to Naxals.. Very saddening...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qLZC67-NfOI

India's First dance film in 3D Starring Prabhu Deva

Looks great....looks like Remo has got almost all the Dance India Dance team...Dharmesh...Shakti Mohan..Aleesha...Salman ....and many others !!!!

Nice to see Prabhu on Screen after a long time....

prabhu deva is a spent force.. he is not even good for item songs now..his popularity was back in the days of Kadhalan. this movie will be a flop.

^^^^ Really? He still dances awesome at 40...and he is more into chorepgraphy now anyway (even in this he is more choreograhy than dance)..Lakshya song was one of the finest I have ever seen !!! True his popularity at his peaks during Kadhalan...but then you cannot expect him to dance like he used to at this age.....he is still brilliant .....

See this...last years IIFa...not one his finest...but he was still good

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8FqcntuuhgE

and this

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=RpUzvZEGN6w

i meant that he isnt popular anymore..no one goes to watch prabhu deva dance... didnt mean he has turned bad..he still can dance well.. no matter how shining a diamond is, with time people dont get dazzled by it anymore

^^^^^ Ofcourse not, I do not agree he is not pipular though !!!we have so many dancers these days....Hrithik, Shahid..all can dance brilliantly...even the new gen choreographers !!! Prabhu deva is not Only great dancer we have now.....but I still think he has uniqueness to his dance ....hischoreogrpahy have some kinda personality to them.....and has comedy touch to it....I cannot explain it...but see these...

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SeWBKvd7QHs

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Ckcg5690Ao8

Son Of Sardar

2.5/5

I'd give it 2.5 out of 10..the movie just didn't make sense at all...complete waste!

talash will do better than aamir's last release- dhobhi ghat.....couldnt stand that movie or 10 mints,,,,wonder how critics admired that

Son Of Sardar

2.5/5

Apart from a few jokes, it was lame. Even 2.5 is too much.

1/5.

Matru Ki Bijli ka Manodala Title song

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=dK23GGm5bwA

Bhaag Milkha Bhaag Teaser

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0nR9JS2WsNg

Looks good!!! Farhan Akhtar is such a brilliant talent..as an actor..as a director...as a writer..as a producer.....even as a singer!!!!

few big names...Om Prakash Mehra( Rang de basanti director)...binod pradhan.....SEL

lol, this movie looks hilarious! I am looking forward to pankaj kapoor's acting in the movie...

Heard "Talaash" has broken all the records and declared as Super Duper Hit. Gonna watch it in Cinema after a few days when able to find ticket.

Kareena's song in Dabangg 2 Fevicol se

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3cqPV0o4bX8

Looks Like Dabangg 2 is nothing but Dabangg all over again....in every possible way

Tere Naina in Dabangg becomes Dagabaaz Re in Dabangg 2

Humko Peeni hain Becomes Pandey Ji Seeti Maare

Munni Badnaam becomes Fevicol se....

Kareena looks good!!! Song is not as catchy as Munni...and Nobody can beat Malaika Arora Khan in item songs!!

Whatever people have to say about Salman Khan's acting skills but one thing is for sure he is a trend setter. Look now how every cop wants to don a moustache etc The word "Dabangg" got into a vernacular of a common man.