CT 2009 | Semi Final 2| 3/10/09 | Pakistan V New Zealand | Wanderers | Pak Innings

Oh for the love of God, give it a rest. I'm convinced you have an agenda against Nazir as you criticise whatever he does and however he bats. Are you totally oblivious to the fact that the New Zealand opening bowlers, particularly Bond were bowling very well with the new ball and it required application and watchful batting. So what does Nazir do? He does exactly that, plays himself in and gets out to a brute of a delivery. Most, if not all international batsman would have had difficulty playing that.

You criticise him for sending his partner back and accuse him of wanting the free hit? You're kidding me right? Nazir was trying to avoid a run out. I'll admit it wasn't the best call initially, but in the end he made the rest decision and sent his team mate back, theerby averting a run out.

People like you, so called fans of Pakistan cricket need to open your eyes and actually put some thought into your posts rather than just criticising a player, who deliberately curbed his natural attacking instincts for the sake of his team. Something, incidentally, haters like you have always criticised Nazir for not doing. And when he does that, he's wasting deliveries? Make your mind up!!

Totally agree

Bond was bowling superbly and it would have been criminal to go after him so credit to our openers for treating him with the respect he deserved

I thought Nazir played the innings well - careful first up BUT then started to free his arm as soon as Butler came on - was just unlucky he got a gem of a delivery

Atleast that should give YK some confidence that he can come out of his bad patch and what a better day than today to lead by example, InshahAllah.

Cheguvera,.... i DOUBT your intent ... Plz go away

Request to PP members, plz ignore this character... who ever the f. he/she is

Wow. Just giving it away here. Need to rebuild. YK and MoYo have a tough task ahead.

khilari said:
aah, akmal gone ... good field placement

Really...only sweeper on the off side...and Akmal hits it straight down his throat...

Stupid, brainless shot if anything...

Damn it!!

Big trouble now. Now it's up to yusuf and yk to bat 20 overs. Anything less than 280 and nz will be favourites with these small boundaries.

Akmal though, openings not working. Need to find someone else.

Cheguvera said:
Here is some pro bono batting coaching tips for your make benefit...notice how your little bradman was planting his front foot when facing balls from Bond, this even before the ball was being delivered...so this left him no room to make the adjustment to move back...

However nothing wrong with making the first move forward, that is only if you are able to adjust to the line and length....

Nazir on the other hand was planting his front foot, which makes it very difficult to move onto the back foot...

Even Akmal who got a couple of nasty deliveries similar to Nazir and those hit him on his glove, but he was able to keep those down cause he played those on the back foot...
Oye hoye genius, he was on the backfoot when he was fending away that ball. The ball was rising, that WAS NOT chest high. Might have been chest high to a taller batsman, but Nazir is short if you have not noticed. The main point is the ball was rising and you CANNOT play such balls. The only possible option is to leave the ball, which with Nazir's instinctive style of batting, is not a possibility

And Imran Nazir is one of the best players of the short ball. The speed with which he rockets back onto the backfoot has been well-documented. Its not just about the first movement, its about the position of the batsman when he is about to play the delivery

Chalo we've still got some fire in the tank.

bad bad shot from akmal...

we are only two down and the run rate was decent...absolutely no need to lay that shot under the circumstances...

anyway, we need a good partnership now...and like i said before 250 would be a good score with our bowling line-up and nz's lack of quality in the middle and lower order

I thought brain explosions were reserved for the likes of Imran Farhat, what has Kami done...

Unnecessary pressure added on now and once again it is up to Yousuf to consolidate

Anyways - the match is far from lost so no idea why people are starting to slit their wrists

Yousuf and YK need to keep their wicket intact and inshallah we can get to a healthy total - keep the faith

Geordie Ahmed said:
Anyways - the match is far from lost so no idea why people are starting to slit their wrists

Yousuf and YK need to keep their wicket intact and inshallah we can get to a healthy total - keep the faith

How long have you been on PP dear sir? :aamir

Akmal is useless. How he has been playing in the team for last few years is beyond comprehension.

Keep in mind eng were 100/6 yesterday. Far from over. Sensible batting and 300 is still on.

we hate players like Yousuf who play too defensive ... better start praying for him for a long innings

Geordie Ahmed said:

absolutely!

these two just have to look for the singles now and to put the bad balls away...

they shouldnt try to score a four out of nothing...it must be risk free for the next 12-15 overs

Pitch seems to have a little extra bounce interestingly enough. Well if these can get some sort of 100 run partnership going, we can get a good total. We need to get 250+.

Umar Akmal needs to stand up today.

Usman Chadda said:
Oye hoye genius, he was on the backfoot when he was fending away that ball. The ball was rising, that WAS NOT chest high. Might have been chest high to a taller batsman, but Nazir is short if you have not noticed. The main point is the ball was rising and you CANNOT play such balls. The only possible option is to leave the ball, which with Nazir's instinctive style of batting, is not a possibility

And Imran Nazir is one of the best players of the short ball. The speed with which he rockets back onto the backfoot has been well-documented. Its not just about the first movement, its about the position of the batsman when he is about to play the delivery

Genious if you call that a back foot defense then I don't know what to say...

Plus I said it makes it hard for him to make that adjustment and his position though on the back foot was no where near a comfortable one...

He just jumped up in the air to avoid the ball hitting his noggin..

GLORY OF '92 said:
Keep in mind eng were 100/6 yesterday. Far from over. Sensible batting and 300 is still on.

Mate we've got the two Y's still out there, Umar Akmal to follow, and then the Great one himself. I don't know why everyone's already got their panties in a twist.

ahmed16 said:
neither is Younus, so who would you put there, my one would be Umar Akmal.
YK has scored runs outside asia esp in tests but for some reason is unable to do it in odis and its time to try some one young at 3 in oneday cricket.

interested to see umar akmal here .. should be promoted ahead of afridi

Amazing. Nazir looked the more responsible between himself, akmal, and malik today. :)

Cheguvera said:
Really...only sweeper on the off side...and Akmal hits it straight down his throat...

Stupid, brainless shot if anything...

Aren't there any Indian cricket forums on the web? U want pakpassion experts to create you one?

RexRex said:
interested to see umar akmal here .. should be promoted ahead of afridi

Depends greatly on situation. If we lose another here doubtless Akmal will come in next, but if these two tough it out till the 35th, Afridi will come in next.

Pakistan have given a very good start here
72/3 15.1
with only umar and afridi to come after this... pak in big trouble
Inshallah these two will get us through, but i have this bad feeling Pakistan will bundle out today

Did we really think it was going to be a cakewalk?

Rebuild job required

Pakistan should target around 230. Should be enough

Cheguvera said:
Genious if you call that a back foot defense then I don't know what to say...

He just jumped up in the air to avoid the ball hitting his noggin..
Where did I say that was a backfoot defence? And just how the hell can you defend a rising short ball such as that?

Romali_rotti said:
280 is still gettable for Pak

350 I think isn't out of the equation. The pitch does have some bounce though, will be interesting.

these two (YK AND MOYO) are hundred scorers...they have to stay there until 40 overs

Poison said:
Yaar your negativity is annoying, you dont let anyone enjoy the game.

Chup kar :aamir

Stop posting then and watch the game if you want to enjoy it...