DLF Cup - W.I v india (game 2)

jusarrived said:
I don care who's fault it is...if a team looses every time a player score's a century,wats the use of having him in the team!

Perhaps you would need to look into the team to see why the team loses even though a player scored a century? How many times have Pakistan lost a game when one of the batsmen scored a century?

Raina gone.

Too late as they will get 300+ now.

Still not out of it though. We need Gayle to get us off to a flier and then Lara to finish those Indians off.

jusarrived said:
I don care who's fault it is...if a team looses every time a player score's a century,wats the use of having him in the team!

he's got more centuries in winning causes then any other player has overall

english_to_the_core said:
Perhaps you would need to look into the team to see why the team loses even though a player scored a century? How many times have Pakistan lost a game when one of the batsmen scored a century?

Not many actually.

Another six from the great Sachin!, he is on fire!, India get past 300, well played Sachin, anchoring the innings!, another brilliant 100!.

India 302/5 (49.2 ov)
West Indies
India won the toss and elected to bat first

India RR 6.12

India finesh on 309/5, brilliant knock from Sachin who scored 142 not out, just scored his 5th 6. Wi will really need to bat well to win this one.

Tupac said:
down the track and hits Bravo out of the ground!

Man this guy is a run machine. 40 centuries!! look at the way he is maintaining strike rate at around 86 for this many years. Just when people write him off he comes out with a bang.

english_to_the_core said:

we win wen other batsmen score big,don we ?...teams fine!

This was a good innings though!

India 309/5 (50.0 ov)

India RR 6.18

Welldone sachin

Batsmen R B 4s 6s SR
SR Tendulkar (rhb) 142 148 13 5 95.94

& welldone INDIA

another selfish display of batting through the full 50 overs......Afridi is never that selfish he would have made double figures and got out so that someone else could have some bowling. He only hit 5 sixes and 13 fours .....how selfish

Tendulkar batting throughout the innings and made a very fine, fine innings of 142 not out, all the Aussie team must be watching this very closley.

We need to restrict India to less than 300 in order to stand any chance. Their bowling should not give us the same problems that the Australian bowling did and if our batsman put their heads down and, most importantly, Lara delivers......we have an excellent chance here of bringing more laughs at India.
so much for restricting india to under 300. i predict victory by some 50 odd runs but i do feel gayle and changerpaul will put the scare in us.

this pitch is too tedious to bat on. the wickets of dravid, sehwag and dhoni... all thanks to the exceptionally low bounce. especially sehwag. that ball just sat down!

and thats real talent btw... coming back after a long absence and then not just scoring a century but also remaining not out for 50 overs!

some gr8 sixes by sachin. never seemed as if he was out of action for so much time.

APOCALYPSE said:
another selfish display of batting through the full 50 overs......Afridi is never that selfish he would have made double figures and got out so that someone else could have some bowling. He only hit 5 sixes and 13 fours .....how selfish

Not a selfish knock, if Tendulkar got out in the 20th over, I doubt India would have passed 250, India needed someone to bat through the innings, and Sachin batted well throuhout the innings, plus the pitch was not easy to bat on, India needed 300+. There was uneven bounce which Dravid and Dhoni got out too, and is very hard to play on, a very fine knock indeed, this could be a matchwinning knock.

Great.
Now all the Indians on my campus will be trumpeting this for the next few months as the "glorious return of sachin". Probably be like a dozen articles on cricinfo about this as well.
How sweet it would be if India still lost the match.

Playa said:
Not a selfish knock, if Tendulkar got out in the 20th over, I doubt India would have passed 250, India needed someone to bat through the innings, and Sachin batted well throuhout the innings, plus the pitch was not easy to bat on, India needed 300+. There was uneven bounce which Dravid and Dhoni got out too, and is very hard to play on, a very fine knock indeed, this could be a matchwinning knock.
that was intended as sarcasm ;-)

jackal786 said:
Man this guy is a run machine. 40 centuries!! look at the way he is maintaining strike rate at around 86 for this many years. Just when people write him off he comes out with a bang.

Watch out Aussies!, he will want to give them a misrable time again, just like he did all the way through the 97/98 season.

Well I didn't see Tond's innings so I cannot comment on how he played but to score a century like that it would have to have been a fantastic innings......along the lines of a Younis, Yousuf or Inzi innings I would imagine (and that is a compliment). Not saying he is as good as those three (because, let's face it, he isn't any more) but this innings was probably as good as one of theirs.

Going to be very difficult for us to win this match now. Will need a solid start like we did in the last game. Gayle will have to do one of his specials and then we'll see what happens.

Come on Windies!

Playa said:

I THINK Apocalypse was being sarcastic, though i cant be sure since ive beenw rong before on the forums. Am i right Apocalypse? Even if u werent sarcastic, no biggie. Nothing wrong with bashing Sachin.

Afridi is nothing in front of Sachin!

See afridi's last 10 innings " he is ZAADU MAAR BATSMAN"

He's contribution to the team is NIL, Why he is in the team, Just because he threaten's to retire?

Well played Tendy, tricky conditions but he did as champions do and for India to score 300 here is a brilliant effort even taking into account some shocking efforts from the Windies in the field. BTW that was a brilliant impersonation of Akmal in England by Baugh 10 out of 10.

Question now is can Lara come up with something similar or better?

Playa said:
Watch out Aussies!, he will want to give them a misrable time again, just like he did all the way through the 97/98 season.

Sachin has his maximum centuries against ozzies along with srilanka. 7 each. He averages 49 against ozzies. Yuvraj's return will boost the Indian camp hugely. After winning 3 successive man of the series award Yuvi's form has gone to a new level. Infact he is the msot inform batsman from India.

D BHAI said:

He's contribution to the team is NIL, Why he is in the team, Just because he threaten's to retire?
That and hes actually a very good bowler...

Anyhow, sounds like a great effort from Tendulkar to play this way after such a long layoff. Full credit to him

pitch is keeping low. But Taylor's efforts must be appreciated. He is very quick and straight. Very handy bowler against tailenders.

We have made a good start.

25 for 0 after 3 overs.

Fake Pathan just got hammered for 17 runs in 1 over

2.5 Pathan to Gayle, FOUR, a good length on off and he stands there and powerfully biffs that off the backfoot past a diving mid-off for four more, unorthodox but supreme

2.2 Pathan to Gayle, FOUR, width offered, he stands tall and smashes that between point and cover for four, classic Gayle stroke!
2.1 Pathan to Gayle, FOUR, full on middle and leg, he hustles into his shot and gets an inside egde between his legs for four

let the show begin :D

West Indies 32/0 (4.1 ov)
West Indies require another 278 runs with 10 wickets and 45.5 overs remaining

Poor Bowling by Irfan Pathan,!

West Indies 32/1 (4.2 ov)
West Indies require another 278 runs with 9 wickets and 45.4 overs remaining

D BHAI said:

doesn't seem to have a problem when playing against your team though does he ??

55 for 1 after 8 overs

We have made a good start. Just need a bit more of a platform before unleashing Lara.

Agarkar's recent improvement perhaps shows that there's still hope for Sami?

66 for 1 off 9 overs.

We need less than a run a ball now

We need to restrict India to less than 300 in order to stand any chance. Their bowling should not give us the same problems that the Australian bowling did and if our batsman put their heads down and, most importantly, Lara delivers......we have an excellent chance here of bringing more laughs at India.

ohh hashh lol :)) :19:

78 for 1 after 10 overs.. I have to leave for work at 2.45ish. Hope the game is finished by then.

Wi doing very well, India needs both these batsmen and Lara out asap!.

310's a big target so much can happen yet and remember what happened to the Windies the other day they were going even better chasing a significantly lower total.

windies crusing at the moment with a run rate almost 8 an over. India may be able to post high scores but as usual it will probably be made a mockery and chased down of because of their pie-throwers.

West Indies 84/1 (10.4 ov)
West Indies require another 226 runs with 9 wickets and 39.2 overs remaining

West Indies RR 7.87
Required RR 5.74
India RR 6.18

Indian Bowlers ko dho daala!!!!

One goes - all will fall - the way of the Ninja, WI style.

yaar kya baat hai?

I remember you being very negative about our chances in the ODI series earlier in the year and we beat them 4-1! Have some faith in our team. We can do this! :19:

what chance do india think they have in CT and WC with bowlers such as these.

Probably not much difference between the bowling of India and OZ, though OZ had a rusty great in McGrath, but India have a good spinner in Harbhajan, however it's the fielding where the big difference arises as Agarkar has just shown.

Windies off to a good start 92/1 off 11 overs, Gayle playing very well!. but still 228 off 39 overs needed, a lot can happen, WI in the 1st watch was chasing 30 runs lower, and they was even in a better postion to win, anything can happen.

W.Indies will have one of the strongest batting line-ups at the WC. Gayle, Chanderpaul, Sarwan, Lara and Bravo are all capable of doing something special on their day. And Ramdin showed in the Stanford 20/20 that he can hit a ball far. I'm presuming Ramdin will be first choice. They also have a reasonable tail.

yaar kya baat hai?

I remember you being very negative about our chances in the ODI series earlier in the year and we beat them 4-1! Have some faith in our team. We can do this! :19:

eeyore.jpg

Thats me - Mr. Optimistic.

Augustus said:
W.Indies will have one of the strongest batting line-ups at the WC. Gayle, Chanderpaul, Sarwan, Lara and Bravo are all capable of doing something special on their day. And Ramdin showed in the Stanford 20/20 that he can hit a ball far. I'm presuming Ramdin will be first choice. They also have a reasonable tail.

Where this batting line up a couple of days ago vs 2nd string Aussie attack? ;-)

Everyone has collapses. The Wsst Indies don't often deliver, but on paper they have a lot of talent in the short-format of the game.

Gayle is gone caught behind and that is the game. He had to make 100 because Lara will do nothing.

That is a big blow to our chances.

Gayle definitely needed to stay until the 20th over at least.

Lara will 90% fail. Going to be tough for us now but we are not out of it thanks to the run rate. There is time to consolidate and rebuild.

Patel strikes!, the dangerman is gone, but still anything can happen, Lara is come in and the game is never over when Lara is there.

Amir said:
Gayle is gone caught behind and that is the game. He had to make 100 because Lara will do nothing.

Challo - WI ka Drama shroo....

Augustus said:
Everyone has collapses. The Wsst Indies don't often deliver, but on paper they have a lot of talent in the short-format of the game.

Hope they collapse in thier 1st WC game!!! :)

yaar i have class now....hopefully when i come back we'll have calmed this hurricane!

16.3 Harbhajan to Lara, 5 wides, flighted delivery outside the leg stump, Lara comes down the track and, misses it, Dhoni misses it too, a stumping chance goes a begging

A chance to get rid of Lara has just been missed!, Lara will want to make India pay for this.

Playa said:
A chance to get rid of Lara has just been missed!, Lara will want to make India pay for this.

Dont worry - he wont last too long :(