India (308/6) defeat England (304) by 4 wickets in the 2nd ODI, securing the 3-match series 2-0 with one game remaining

The last time India successfully chased down 300 + against a team not named West Indies was way back in Jan, 2017.

We are not a great chasing side. Haven't been one in years.

The last time India successfully chased down 300 + against a team not named West Indies was way back in Jan, 2017.

We are not a great chasing side. Haven't been one in years.
I think in 2022 we chased

India beat SA in 45 overs chasing 282..

How far is Rohit from SHahid Afridi from overtaking his 6 hitting record?

Mahmood and Atkinson are cannon fodder on these pitches. They do not hurry the batsmen into playing false shots. Easy and predictable pace. Even Rohit feasting today.

Hopefully it is not just a flash in the pan. If Brainfade Sharma finds his form, the CT in Dubai will get a lot more interesting.

As said earlier, England would be gutted to not have got 350 on the board after the start they had.

Problem for England is they don't really use much common sense in choosing how to attack.

Salt and Duckett are setting up good starts for them and Root and Buttler are high class players but the likes of Brook, Livingstone, Overton etc. are not good at rotating against spin.

The fact that #3 -#6 are all right handers is something that teams will exploit. Expect SA to bring both Maharaj and Shamsi in against Eng.

In this match rohit gave enough for his pr to survive till ct and torture Indian fans
As i predicted pr started in Web sites.one dismissal made his look washed out for entire season with avg of 6 🤣

• Screenshot_20250209_234446_Chrome.jpg
    Screenshot_20250209_234446_Chrome.jpg
    83.4 KB · Views: 2
India despite not using Bumrah in bilateras they are doing this well

ewrewrwe.png

As i predicted pr started in Web sites.one dismissal made his look washed out for entire season with avg of 6 🤣

Such fans represent one extreme of ICT fanbase and people like you represent the other extreme who use unpleasant language to castigate one of India's greatest ODI batters.

It is good that Indian selectors and team management do not get swayed by public opinion and whims which are very capricious.

Problem for England is they don't really use much common sense in choosing how to attack.

Salt and Duckett are setting up good starts for them and Root and Buttler are high class players but the likes of Brook, Livingstone, Overton etc. are not good at rotating against spin.

The fact that #3 -#6 are all right handers is something that teams will exploit. Expect SA to bring both Maharaj and Shamsi in against Eng.
Now with Bethell being a doubt for CT, it's thrown a spanner into the works.

The weirdest thing of that is that they've added Tom Banton to this side for the last game.

He's not played a game for the last 5 years and hasn't played a List A game either so why would you pick someone for the sake of it just because he can bowl?

Dan Lawrence would've been a better option IMO.

The weirdest thing of that is that they've added Tom Banton to this side for the last game.

He's not played a game for the last 5 years and hasn't played a List A game either so why would you pick someone for the sake of it just because he can bowl?

You mean Jamie Smith because I thought he was injured not Bethell ?

Banton's a keeper batsman, he doesn't bowl. Very few English players are going to have played much list a cricket given the hundred.

lol floodlights not working in India. Imagine the trolling if it had happened in gadaffi yesterday

Banton's a keeper batsman, he doesn't bowl. Very few English players are going to have played much list a cricket given the hundred.
Just checked on Lawrence even he hasn't played a List A game since 2019.

It's weird how they've been neglecting 50 Over cricket for the last 5 years.

The world's richest cricket board can't keep a floodlight working at one of its top venues during an international match, and we troll Pakistan. What a shame!

Smiths currently injured but it sounds less serious. Bethell's just picked up an injury that sounds like it could be longer term.

Then, Banton is a poor cover, since you need someone who can bowl a bit as well . England already have Salt and Buttler to keep wickets if necessary and Smith too if he gets fit

Rehan Ahmed was already added to the squad so would be the replacement from the bowling side of things.

England has some unfixable issues. Their game against spin is poor. Pakistan went delirious after beating them with spin. But fact is England struggles against spin even on flat wickets.

Orissa aka Odisha is extremely backward. Not sure why BCCI hosts matches in these cities. Floodlight failure? Feels like 90’s again. What an embarrassment.

Exactly. There is no equivalence between floodlights failure and faulty floodlights like the allegations against Gaddafi floodlights
Still this is really bad . We can't defend this by using other examples .

Orissa aka Odisha is extremely backward. Not sure why BCCI hosts matches in these cities. Floodlight failure? Feels like 90’s again. What an embarrassment.
Yea.. Since small towns don't get many matches they try to award them some LOI bilateral.

We took lights for granted. Cuttack teaching us to appreciate basic things and be grateful. Some lessons are bigger than a cricket match.

Still this is really bad . We can't defend this by using other examples .

Failure itself is not bad. But time taken to restore is bad. You shouldn't take this long to restore it. Rohit wanted to play without that light. But it is flickering. THey shoudl have managed to turn it off altogether.

Match has been paused due to floodlight issues of Gaddafi stadium, isnt that right?

Of wait its Cuttack

They award small cities to host matches to draw more crowd. Crowd is there. But they should be able to keep all these things checked. THey host a match once every 4 years.

Koi bhai taar lagao yaar jaldi 🤣🤣

Aaj to Rohit form m lag rha hai .Goro ki dhulai karne ke pure mood main hai

Cuttack

Last test played here was in 1995 - 30 years back

Last ODI played here was in 2019 - 6 years back

They don't have backup generators in this day and age? That too for the millions they're making as the richest board in the world.
State boards are taking all the money but doing nothing to upgrade the facilities . Corruption is rampant .

They don't have backup generators in this day and age? That too for the millions they're making as the richest board in the world.
This is a smallere venue they don't pay attention to like they do with bigger venues. THey are hosting a ODI here after 6 years.

England missed a trick by not opening with Atkinkson and Wood tonight.

Mahmood should've bowled 1st change followed by Rashid and then Overton.

They award small cities to host matches to draw more crowd. Crowd is there. But they should be able to keep all these things checked. THey host a match once every 4 years.
So why can't they have day matches in these smaller cities with shaky floodlights? It's a sunday , for crying out loud, and the crowds will come. Why do they insist on D/N matches?
India fully deserves the trolling for this one.

Such fans represent one extreme of ICT fanbase and people like you represent the other extreme who use unpleasant language to castigate one of India's greatest ODI batters.

It is good that Indian selectors and team management do not get swayed by public opinion and whims which are very capricious.
Rohit and kohli are a very good odi batters .no doubt. But u should let them go as soon as they fade out.you have to follow meritocracy as a constraint for selection not legacy based stats.current situation is thar both are done and dusted . we need new blood all the time to keep going .We should have an eye on future otherwise we will become like wi .Wi in prime times doesn't nurtured young talent and kept on hoping players will be flown like an automatic machine.Priority should be the team not some old washed up superstars.

So why can't they have day matches in these smaller cities with shaky floodlights? It's a sunday , for crying out loud, and the crowds will come. Why do they insist on D/N matches?
India fully deserves the trolling for this one.
Valid point. But i think they consider this as prime time.

This is a belter. He will score runs against bowlers like Mahmood on surfaces like this. Does pakistan have any such bowlers?

Things happen everywhere in the world but the bigger person is the one that doesn't mock others when it happens in their country.

Agree.

Some of these Indians often mock other countries and other people. But, when they get it back, they act all victims.

Complete losers. :dav