Narendra Modi : Mega Discussion Thread

It has been repeated to you multiple times that Karnataka changes power every 5 years and it was a vote for anti-incumbency on state govt.

Oh is that so?

Then why did Modiji waste his time and my money (as a taxpayer) on expensive roadshows. He could have used the time for better projects like resolving the Manipur crisis or the wrestlers' complaints which he chose to ignore for his campaigns. Or he could've used the money for facelifting his chubby cheeks more.

Anyway, leave all that. What do you think of the pic I posted above. Do you think Modiji is crying? He looks so cute when he is crying. To have to wait for another year to see him cry more is making me so impatient and sad :(

Oh is that so?

Then why did Modiji waste his time and my money (as a taxpayer) on expensive roadshows. He could have used the time for better projects like resolving the Manipur crisis or the wrestlers' complaints which he chose to ignore for his campaigns. Or he could've used the money for facelifting his chubby cheeks more.

Anyway, leave all that. What do you think of the pic I posted above. Do you think Modiji is crying? He looks so cute when he is crying. To have to wait for another year to see him cry more is making me so impatient and sad :(

What do you mean by waste his time? :facepalm:

He is a politician and it is his role to promote his party. What is wrong in that? Pappu Gandhi lost 26 elections since 2014, then why did he do Road yatra or whatever that buffoonery was called?

Your logic and sensibilities have completely gone since Karnataka win. And all this arrogance just for winning 1 state, imagine what will you do if Congress ever wins India.
[MENTION=29115]RexRex[/MENTION] - see what yout friend is doing here :)))

What do you mean by waste his time? :facepalm:

He is a politician and it is his role to promote his party. What is wrong in that?

A PM who only has time for campaigning and doing opening ceremonies? Wish he spent some time doing some actual work. And leave some ceremonies for his ministers. He is everywhere there is a photo-op. Did you see him waving the green flag for every Vande Bharat train? He looked so cute and funny waving that flag recently via video conference while watching the screen through the corner of his eyes :danish

Pappu Gandhi lost 26 elections since 2014, then why did he do Road yatra or whatever that buffoonery was called?

Hold on a minute. Buffoonery you say?

Then what is this?

:apology

Rahul Gandhi's bhaarat jodo yatra has been a big sucess. Normally I dont praise him but this was a good move. His image where he is giving speech in Mysuru soaked in rain was good one. People are slowly starting to take him seriously. Now if that will transcribe into vote is anyone's guess but a good start nonetheless after being a pappu for years.

Your logic and sensibilities have completely gone since Karnataka win. And all this arrogance just for winning 1 state, imagine what will you do if Congress ever wins India.

2 weeks of merciless trolling and harsh punishment online and offline.

Then I'll go back to how I used to be pre-2014 with a minimal interest in politics :)

Hitman you should't be posting stuffs like this here and make our resident anti Modi brigade burn in hatred. They are still day dreaming after Karnataka election, don't kill it so early man.

I'm merely posting tweets, not giving any opinion.

Is Modiji crying :(

When you're just recovering from a traumatic event, any elation can trigger such extreme emotions in the normally iron-faced chota god-man :apology

View attachment 119496

Modi is quite popular among NRIs because of all his memes. 'Beti bachao, beti pataao' still tops the list. They were excited to see the main character in those memes. Reminds me of a cartoon character like doreamon. :91: :inti

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/NeUMcANirew" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

You like videos that have 30-second clips looped repeatedly? And with dramatic music?

It takes time and repetition, huh, to understand them?

I suppose you also like books with lots of pictures in them?

You like videos that have 30-second clips looped repeatedly? And with dramatic music?

It takes time and repetition, huh, to understand them?

I suppose you also like books with lots of pictures in them?

Yeah agree the repeats are frustrating and the music sucks....

Puppu still not winning the 2024 elections though, make sure you are here after the results.

:angel:

i suppose the Aussie opposition leader has been bought out as well?? what do you think? [MENTION=428]Romali_rotti[/MENTION]

It is first time in independent India that an incumbent PM came with an even bigger majority. It is unheard of that after 9 years of rulling, he is still the most popular PM in the world.

That’s not true. Simple google search tells me Nehru did that in 1957 and indira Gandhi did in 1971

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/IW7RDQbz4Sc" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Gotta give credit where it is due, the Modi Government's push for infrastructure has been a game changer.

Doesn't mean all of it will go according to plan, some will flop some will succeed.

Look at the difference in Kashmir for example now there is so much progress, with infrastructure, tourism, etc this was confirmed to me recently by my own relatives who are hardcore pseudo secular communist from Kerala :apology: compare now to when my ammayi Sonya and Congress was in power; letting that land just rot away, infested with terrorism, no future for the youth, pretty much a foresaken place.

2 more terms of BJP government and Kashmir will turn into one of the better places in India....

New Delhi: Prime Minister Narendra Modi inaugurated the new parliament building amid a boycott by opposition parties, which insisted President Droupadi Murmu should do the honours. The PM unveiled a plaque marking the inauguration.

The new parliament building can comfortably seat 888 members in the Lok Sabha chamber and 300 in the Rajya Sabha chamber.

NDTV

PM Modi inagurating new Parliament building in Hindu traditions and Sanskrit language. The lost tradition of Indian Sengol is being revived and will now sit in Indian parliament.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This will remain one of the most beautiful moments of Indian history!<br><br>I consider myself lucky to witness this historical moment. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MyParliamentMyPride?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MyParliamentMyPride</a> <a href="https://t.co/sQDlvkMCas">pic.twitter.com/sQDlvkMCas</a></p>— Mr Sinha (@MrSinha_) <a href="https://twitter.com/MrSinha_/status/1662717141341327360?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">He's Vummidi Ethirajulu, born in 1926, the maker of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sengol?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sengol</a>.<br>He had to wait for almost a century to witness this historical moment! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MyParliamentMyPride?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MyParliamentMyPride</a> <a href="https://t.co/20S06SMIM4">pic.twitter.com/20S06SMIM4</a></p>— Mr Sinha (@MrSinha_) <a href="https://twitter.com/MrSinha_/status/1662654904178188289?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WATCH?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WATCH</a> | 'Sarv-dharma' prayers are underway at the new Parliament building as the inauguration ceremony is led by PM Modi <a href="https://t.co/6NyADeDZoM">pic.twitter.com/6NyADeDZoM</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1662653934945857536?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

PM Modi inagurating new Parliament building in Hindu traditions and Sanskrit language. The lost tradition of Indian Sengol is being revived and will now sit in Indian parliament.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">This will remain one of the most beautiful moments of Indian history!<br><br>I consider myself lucky to witness this historical moment. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MyParliamentMyPride?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MyParliamentMyPride</a> <a href="https://t.co/sQDlvkMCas">pic.twitter.com/sQDlvkMCas</a></p>— Mr Sinha (@MrSinha_) <a href="https://twitter.com/MrSinha_/status/1662717141341327360?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">He's Vummidi Ethirajulu, born in 1926, the maker of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Sengol?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Sengol</a>.<br>He had to wait for almost a century to witness this historical moment! <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MyParliamentMyPride?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MyParliamentMyPride</a> <a href="https://t.co/20S06SMIM4">pic.twitter.com/20S06SMIM4</a></p>— Mr Sinha (@MrSinha_) <a href="https://twitter.com/MrSinha_/status/1662654904178188289?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 28, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Wow this is amazing, what a fitting tribute, unfortunate the poor man had to wait so long to witness this event.

Well done PM Modi.. Respect..

Someone should learn this art of making every occasion about I, me, myself from feku.

The beloved CM of my state.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">How blessed are we to have you guide, and steer, the destiny of Bharat in the last 9 years Adarniya Pradhan Mantri Shri <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@narendramodi</a> Ji. What makes this 9-year special is its sacred significance, its supreme power encapsulated in as many planets in the universe.<br><br>With your… <a href="https://t.co/m9SuquaqgA">https://t.co/m9SuquaqgA</a></p>— Himanta Biswa Sarma (@himantabiswa) <a href="https://twitter.com/himantabiswa/status/1663401523890774017?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 30, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

BJP govt completed 9 years in center today. How do you see its performance?

#9YearsOfSeva is trending no.1 in India

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Over the past 9 years, we have strived to uphold the dignity and enhance the livelihoods of India's poorest. Through numerous initiatives we have transformed millions of lives. Our mission continues - to uplift every citizen and fulfill their dreams. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9YearsOfSeva?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9YearsOfSeva</a> <a href="https://t.co/FsydmGoAcf">pic.twitter.com/FsydmGoAcf</a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1663438359992365057?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 30, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

[MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] I know you love your CM and I'm genuinely sorry to go after him because you're a good guy and I don't want to hurt you. But I have to.

"What makes this 9-year special is its sacred significance, its supreme power encapsulated in as many planets in the universe."

What is this guy trying to say. He's trying to sound mystical but ends up sounding like an uneducated (in Science and Indian spirituality) clown.

So what happens in the 10th year to that Modi power when he runs out of planets?

And someone please educate this former Congressman who can't stop kissing the ground Modi walks on - by scientific consensus there are no longer 9 planets in our Solar System (which also is a speck in the Universe he is so fond of).

It's eight :apology

[MENTION=133315]Hitman[/MENTION] I know you love your CM and I'm genuinely sorry to go after him because you're a good guy and I don't want to hurt you. But I have to.

"What makes this 9-year special is its sacred significance, its supreme power encapsulated in as many planets in the universe."

What is this guy trying to say. He's trying to sound mystical but ends up sounding like an uneducated (in Science and Indian spirituality) clown.

So what happens in the 10th year to that Modi power when he runs out of planets?

And someone please educate this former Congressman who can't stop kissing the ground Modi walks on - by scientific consensus there are no longer 9 planets in our Solar System (which also is a speck in the Universe he is so fond of).

It's eight :apology

What other option does he have? He is from BJP, and the Chief Minister of a state. Once you are in BJP, it's compulsory to brown nose Modi. Much like how it's compulsory to brown nose Sonia and Rahul once you are in Congress.

Well,

Indian astrology names navgraha or the nine planets.

Himanta is CM because Modi supported him when he left Congress.

Himanta is a brilliant administrator. A very competent CM but without BJP and Modi he wouldn't have been able to defeat congress.

HBS is being groomed for a national role. May be the next Home minister.

Well,

Himanta is CM because Modi supported him when he left Congress.

Himanta is a brilliant administrator. A very competent CM but without BJP and Modi he wouldn't have been able to defeat congress.

HBS is being groomed for a national role. May be the next Home minister.

He is a hero in Assam. A very, very competent man.

BJP govt completed 9 years in center today. How do you see its performance?

#9YearsOfSeva is trending no.1 in India

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Over the past 9 years, we have strived to uphold the dignity and enhance the livelihoods of India's poorest. Through numerous initiatives we have transformed millions of lives. Our mission continues - to uplift every citizen and fulfill their dreams. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/9YearsOfSeva?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#9YearsOfSeva</a> <a href="https://t.co/FsydmGoAcf">pic.twitter.com/FsydmGoAcf</a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1663438359992365057?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 30, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Given the tremendous strides India has made under PM Modi, I would happily switch Modi with any Pakistani PM. Modi has really shown the way for world leaders when it comes to the welfare of the nation. Respect!

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">9 years.. 9 scams.. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NaakamiKe9Saal?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NaakamiKe9Saal</a> <a href="https://t.co/FaZB6xDT8L">pic.twitter.com/FaZB6xDT8L</a></p>— Spirit of Congress✋ (@SpiritOfCongres) <a href="https://twitter.com/SpiritOfCongres/status/1661954638625787904?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 26, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Modi government is not just a national disgrace but a huge international embarrassment. <br><br>They have damaged irreparably India’s reputation over the last 9 years. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MurderOfDemocracy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MurderOfDemocracy</a> <a href="https://t.co/UGN5jmbBry">pic.twitter.com/UGN5jmbBry</a></p>— Sanjay Jha (@JhaSanjay) <a href="https://twitter.com/JhaSanjay/status/1663731451014287361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 31, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

The rest of your comment had nothing to do with this little line you injected in.

It's clear you are trying to cover up for Himanta's ill-informed goof up.

Talking of ill-informed, let's come to you :apology

The concept of Navagraha referring to nine heavenly bodies is a much more recent idea and wasn't the case during Vedic times. And even in that, the sun and moon were included with the moon contributing an extra 2, based on its cycles. So that's 4 spots occupied by the sun and moon. Leaving us with 5 planets. Funnily, 5 were the number of planets observable in the pristine clear unpolluted skies during ancient times :)

Isn't it amazing that not one religious text across the world could predict or teach the ignorant folk in those times some basic scientific facts :ssmith

But you have modern wonders who deliberately misinterpret their archaic ignorant religious books deliberately to try and make each of their religions sound important and clever.

Given the tremendous strides India has made under PM Modi, I would happily switch Modi with any Pakistani PM. Modi has really shown the way for world leaders when it comes to the welfare of the nation. Respect!

Not only you guys but we in India also will swap any PM in the past with Narendra Modi. Probably Atal ji will come close but still he was not comparable to Modi. Pls don't listen to the miniscule anti national voice here in this forum who are still burning like charcoal since 2014 that their beloved party is not in power and unable to digest the strides that India is making in global economy. They are trying to identify new new bahana (excuse) to somehow topple this govt and make a situation similar to what is there in Pakistan now. I am sure you must have heard there is a new drama going on named as 'Wrestlers protest'. After Shaheen Bagh 2020 and Farmers Protest 2021, ladies and gengtleman Indian tukde tukde gang presents Wrestlers protest released exclusively in India in 2023. Only the actor has changed - it was Rakesh Titait then (during farmers protest) and Sakshi Malik now but the motto is same i.e to create political instability. Back in 2016 the slogan was 'Award Wapasi' by bollywood actors and now its 'Award in Ganges' by wrestlers. :)))

Kuch bhi karo...Modi ko roko. How come he is developing India? That is the mindset of few people but luckily it is only few. Mass majority is with the right side i.e with our beloved PM.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">The Modi government is not just a national disgrace but a huge international embarrassment. <br><br>They have damaged irreparably India’s reputation over the last 9 years. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/MurderOfDemocracy?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#MurderOfDemocracy</a> <a href="https://t.co/UGN5jmbBry">pic.twitter.com/UGN5jmbBry</a></p>— Sanjay Jha (@JhaSanjay) <a href="https://twitter.com/JhaSanjay/status/1663731451014287361?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 31, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Good to see that Sanjay Jha didn't become a sanghi mouthpiece even after leaving Congress unlike so many of his ex colleagues who got sold to feku for a few rupees.

Not only you guys but we in India also will swap any PM in the past with Narendra Modi. Probably Atal ji will come close but still he was not comparable to Modi. Pls don't listen to the miniscule anti national voice here in this forum who are still burning like charcoal since 2014 that their beloved party is not in power and unable to digest the strides that India is making in global economy. They are trying to identify new new bahana (excuse) to somehow topple this govt and make a situation similar to what is there in Pakistan now. I am sure you must have heard there is a new drama going on named as 'Wrestlers protest'. After Shaheen Bagh 2020 and Farmers Protest 2021, ladies and gengtleman Indian tukde tukde gang presents Wrestlers protest released exclusively in India in 2023. Only the actor has changed - it was Rakesh Titait then (during farmers protest) and Sakshi Malik now but the motto is same i.e to create political instability. Back in 2016 the slogan was 'Award Wapasi' by bollywood actors and now its 'Award in Ganges' by wrestlers. :)))

Kuch bhi karo...Modi ko roko. How come he is developing India? That is the mindset of few people but luckily it is only few. Mass majority is with the right side i.e with our beloved PM.

Those wrestlers brought glory to India and deserve respect. If they have a genuine grievance, it must be addressed. Very unfortunate that the clueless scu**gs in the opposition are using their shoulders to fire on the government. Shows to what extent these scoundrels can go.
The wrestlers themselves have also been somewhat naiive in allowing opportunists to take advantage of their grievances. They should have been more wary. It is not like the opposition has the wrestler's interests in mind. They are merely using them as a tool in their own dirty agenda.

Those wrestlers brought glory to India and deserve respect. If they have a genuine grievance, it must be addressed. Very unfortunate that the clueless scu**gs in the opposition are using their shoulders to fire on the government. Shows to what extent these scoundrels can go.
The wrestlers themselves have also been somewhat naiive in allowing opportunists to take advantage of their grievances. They should have been more wary. It is not like the opposition has the wrestler's interests in mind. They are merely using them as a tool in their own dirty agenda.

The wrestlers requested Brinda Karat (leftist leader) to leave the stage and to not politicize it, four months back.

It just shows how helpless they've been made to feel that they started welcoming politicians once they realized the establishment didn't care a damn about them except when they were useful for photo-ops.

These are all political stooges of congress and opposition. Congress is well aware that if they themselve goes and protest against this honest govt., people will give them flying chappal. So they are picking the vulnerable groups that people in India have sympathy for and asking them to protest. Its a dirty dirty game. First it was farmers and now its olympic medalists. Ofcourse no one will be harsh on them as they are our heroes and the purpose of congress will also be achieved. It is called shooting the gun from someone else's shoulder. My head hungs in shame when I look into this corrupt party and how ugly they can go just for power.

India transformed in less than a decade; different from 2013: Morgan Stanley report.

Morgan Stanley hails 'significant changes' in India since 2014

In a short span of 10 years, India has gained positions in the world order with significant positive consequences for the macro and market outlook, Morgan Stanley Research has said in a report.

The report, India Equity Strategy and Economics: How India Has Transformed in Less than a Decade, highlights the 10 big changes, mostly because of India's policy choices, and their implications for its economy and market.

"This India is different from what it was in 2013. In a short span of 10 years, India has gained positions in the world order with significant positive consequences for the macro and market outlook. We present a snapshot of these changes and their implications," the report said.

It added, "We run into significant skepticism about India, particularly with overseas investors, who say that India has not delivered its potential (despite its being the second-fastest-growing economy and among the top-performing stock markets over the past 25 years) and that equity valuations are too rich." It added, "However, such a view ignores the significant changes that have taken place in India, especially since 2014."

Morgan Stanley's Research had taken these 10 big changes namely, supply-side policy reforms, formalisation of the economy, Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act, digitalizing social transfers, Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, flexible inflation targeting, focus on FDI, India's 401(k) moment, government support for corporate profits and MNC sentiment at multiyear high, while filing the report.

While drawing the data for supply-side policy reforms, the research has gathered the figures related to India's corporate tax at par with peers and infrastructure.

In 10 years, India's base corporate tax rate has stayed below 25 per cent while for new companies with operations commencing before March 24, it has stayed at 15 per cent.

In terms of infrastructure development, the research has taken factors like national highways, broadband subscriber base, renewable energy and railway route electrified.

In the formalisation of the economy, Morgan Stanley had taken GST collections, which were showing upward trends over the years, and digital transactions which grew 76 per cent of the GDP.

On May 18, Morgan Stanley said India is poised to grow at 6.2 per cent in the current financial year 2023-24 with improving macro stability indicating that the monetary policy will not have to turn restrictive.

In a report titled "Asia Economics: The Viewpoint: Addressing the Pushback to Our Constructive View", authored by Chetan Ahya, Derrick Y Kam, Qiusha Peng, and Jonathan Cheung, Morgan Stanley said India enjoys tailwinds -- both cyclical and structurally.

"We see healthy balance sheets sustaining the robust trends in domestic demand. Improving macro stability means the monetary policy will not have to turn restrictive, allowing the economic expansion to continue," the report said.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/indicators/india-transformed-in-less-than-a-decade-different-from-2013-morgan-stanley-report/articleshow/100641623.cms

Thank you Modiji :)

We have recovered quickly from Pandemic and Russia-Ukraine War compared to many other counties.
It's due to prudent & frugal measures taken by Modi government.

Inflation at an 18-month low of 4.7%.
Forex reserves at one year high, nearly $600 billion.
Exports surge 14%.
Monthly GST collections at a record high of 1.9 lac crore.
GDP growth rate of 7.2%.
Manufacturing PMI at a 4-month high.
Sensex at an all-time high of 63,000.

India's GDP Growth in FY23.

Q1 - 13.5% (Apr-Jun,2022)
Q2 - 6.3% (July-Sep,2022)
Q3 - 4.4% (Oct-Nov,2022)
Q4 - 6.1% (Jan-Mar,2023)

Overall GDP Growth = 7.2%

Exceeded all expectations.

India transformed in less than a decade; different from 2013: Morgan Stanley report.

In a short span of 10 years, India has gained positions in the world order with significant positive consequences for the macro and market outlook, Morgan Stanley Research has said in a report.

The report, India Equity Strategy and Economics: How India Has Transformed in Less than a Decade, highlights the 10 big changes, mostly because of India's policy choices, and their implications for its economy and market.

"This India is different from what it was in 2013. In a short span of 10 years, India has gained positions in the world order with significant positive consequences for the macro and market outlook. We present a snapshot of these changes and their implications," the report said.

It added, "We run into significant skepticism about India, particularly with overseas investors, who say that India has not delivered its potential (despite its being the second-fastest-growing economy and among the top-performing stock markets over the past 25 years) and that equity valuations are too rich." It added, "However, such a view ignores the significant changes that have taken place in India, especially since 2014."

Morgan Stanley's Research had taken these 10 big changes namely, supply-side policy reforms, formalisation of the economy, Real Estate (Regulation and Development) Act, digitalizing social transfers, Insolvency and Bankruptcy Code, flexible inflation targeting, focus on FDI, India's 401(k) moment, government support for corporate profits and MNC sentiment at multiyear high, while filing the report.

While drawing the data for supply-side policy reforms, the research has gathered the figures related to India's corporate tax at par with peers and infrastructure.

In 10 years, India's base corporate tax rate has stayed below 25 per cent while for new companies with operations commencing before March 24, it has stayed at 15 per cent.

In terms of infrastructure development, the research has taken factors like national highways, broadband subscriber base, renewable energy and railway route electrified.

In the formalisation of the economy, Morgan Stanley had taken GST collections, which were showing upward trends over the years, and digital transactions which grew 76 per cent of the GDP.

On May 18, Morgan Stanley said India is poised to grow at 6.2 per cent in the current financial year 2023-24 with improving macro stability indicating that the monetary policy will not have to turn restrictive.

In a report titled "Asia Economics: The Viewpoint: Addressing the Pushback to Our Constructive View", authored by Chetan Ahya, Derrick Y Kam, Qiusha Peng, and Jonathan Cheung, Morgan Stanley said India enjoys tailwinds -- both cyclical and structurally.

"We see healthy balance sheets sustaining the robust trends in domestic demand. Improving macro stability means the monetary policy will not have to turn restrictive, allowing the economic expansion to continue," the report said.

https://economictimes.indiatimes.com/news/economy/indicators/india-transformed-in-less-than-a-decade-different-from-2013-morgan-stanley-report/articleshow/100641623.cms

Morgan Stanley is illiterate bhakt.

These wrestlers want everyone to believe their words. Evidence, court, process be damned.

Vinesh phogat is notorious for indiscipline and has been suspended before. Sakshi too was suspended. Infact she lost trials and missed the last olympics.

These wrestlers want direct entry to olympics. They don't want nationals and trials. Vinesh Phogat said it.

The brains behind this is Deepinder Hooda. He lost to BBS Singh and thought he will get his chance once BBS Singh leaves. Singh instead groomed his son and his son would have won the WFI elections beating Hooda. There is one industrialist financing all this.

This is a region and caste dispute at its core.

Came to post this here, credit where it’s due but Indian citizens were already on the upward path as such.
Ever since 1991 reforms India hasn't looked backward.

Came to post this here, credit where it’s due but Indian citizens were already on the upward path as such.
Ever since 1991 reforms India hasn't looked backward.

In 2013 India was among the fragile 5 economies. Congress had put the economy on a death bed. Double digit inflation, falling growth and expanding budget deficit was killing the economy.

The freeby economy was called Sonianomics by congress supporters after the 2009 elections.

Till this day the government is paying interest and principal on the oil bonds issued by Chidambaram.

In 2013 India was among the fragile 5 economies. Congress had put the economy on a death bed. Double digit inflation, falling growth and expanding budget deficit was killing the economy.

The freeby economy was called Sonianomics by congress supporters after the 2009 elections.

Till this day the government is paying interest and principal on the oil bonds issued by Chidambaram.

To be fair if Monmohan Singh had full control of Congress India would have been doing very good before the arrival PM Modi

But unfortunately

My Ammayi Sonya, her fraud son in law Vadra, our bah bah black sheep have you any wool aka Raul Puppu, king pin fraud Chithambharam aka jail resident were in charge...

Since so many here have started doing bhangra over some report that firstly doesn't mean jack in terms of Modi's contribution to it and which secondly also is far removed from the lived experience in India, lemme settle them down.

One thing I agree with bhakts is that Rahul Gandhi is a comedian.

He truly is. Especially when he's talking about Modi.

Here's one new sketch. Very entertaining. Must watch for everyone. Bring your family and friends. Children and pets allowed too :)

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/0J_8jbp70_4" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">🇮🇳India's GDP Emerged Again As The Fastest-Growing Economy In FY 2022-23. <br><br>🇮🇳: 7.2%<br>🇨🇳: 4.4%<br>🇸🇦: 3.7% <br>🇳🇬: 3.0%<br>🇯🇵: 1.6%<br>🇨🇦: 1.5%<br>🇪🇸: 1.2%<br>🇲🇽: 1.2%<br>🇿🇦: 1.1%<br>🇧🇷: 1.0%<br>🇺🇸: 1.0%<br>🇫🇷: 0.7%<br>🇬🇧: 0.3%<br>🇮🇹: -0.2%<br>🇩🇪: -0.3%<br>🇷🇺: -2.3%<br>🇵🇰: - 💥 <a href="https://t.co/brp5QUPsAo">pic.twitter.com/brp5QUPsAo</a></p>— Megh Updates 🚨™ (@MeghUpdates) <a href="https://twitter.com/MeghUpdates/status/1663934676518715392?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">May 31, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

GDP growth for India is only 7.2%. You will get more growth if you keep this GDP in a Fixed Deposit. Follow us for more financial insights - INC.

Or they will say that the GDP slowed down from 9.1 in 2021-22 to 7.2 in 2022-23.

INC = TOXIC.

I know we have Indians here who hate BJP from the core of their heart. I won't blame them, they might have their reason for their hate. After all, they too are citizens of my country and can support or dislike whichever party they want. But I have always, always hated INC. The Tarun Gogoi government in my state was basically a disaster for us.

I hope I live to see the day when our GDP Per Capital touches $10,000. I'll die a happy death if that happens in my lifetime.

INC = TOXIC.

I know we have Indians here who hate BJP from the core of their heart. I won't blame them, they might have their reason for their hate. After all, they too are citizens of my country and can support or dislike whichever party they want. But I have always, always hated INC. The Tarun Gogoi government in my state was basically a disaster for us.

I hope I live to see the day when our GDP Per Capital touches $10,000. I'll die a happy death if that happens in my lifetime.

There is nothing wrong in not liking BJP or Modi. Its a political party and leader.

Thing is that during this Modi regime these people having hatred for Hindus and the hatred for the country itself has been exposed.

Gogoi has tried his best to change the demography of Assam.

There is nothing wrong in not liking BJP or Modi. Its a political party and leader.

Thing is that during this Modi regime these people having hatred for Hindus and the hatred for the country itself has been exposed.

Gogoi has tried his best to change the demography of Assam.

It's because of him and his Government we have this issue of illegal Bangladeshi immigrants in our state. Trust me, it's not a minor issue. Tarun Gogoi's government will be remembered by us Assamese people as a disaster for decades to come.

But But Morgan Stanley is a Bhakt....

The wheel is turning, haven't you seen our little puppu running all over the world and crying and begging to the western countries to interfere in India and halt the progress, so he can be the leader of the nation one day..

Our Puppu :angel:

The wheel is turning lol..

:apology:

The wheel is turning, haven't you seen our little puppu running all over the world and crying and begging to the western countries to interfere in India and halt the progress, so he can be the leader of the nation one day..

Our Puppu :angel:

The wheel is turning lol..

I'm glad to know my words have been haunting you. Feels good.

That explains a lot. Was wondering where this smell of coconut oil was coming from

That explains a lot. Was wondering why the ongoing obsession with a clown like Puppu that has an IQ of -100, you need to stop munching those coconut biscuits and rubbing that shi* on your head..

Indian PM Modi invited to address joint meeting of US Congress on June 22

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The leaders of the U.S. Congress said on Friday they had invited Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi to address a joint meeting of the House of Representatives and Senate on June 22, one of the highest honors Washington affords to foreign dignitaries.

"During your address, you will have the opportunity to share your vision for India's future and speak to the global challenges our countries both face," House Speaker Kevin McCarthy, Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer, Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell, and House Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries said in a letter to Modi.

The speech would be Modi's second to a joint meeting of the U.S. legislature.

The White House announced last month that President Joe Biden had invited Modi for an official state visit this month.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/worl...p&cvid=53c2a6ee019f434598b514b8e9e8c51a&ei=17

Indian PM Modi invited to address joint meeting of US Congress on June 22

WASHINGTON (Reuters) - The leaders of the U.S. Congress said on Friday they had invited Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi to address a joint meeting of the House of Representatives and Senate on June 22, one of the highest honors Washington affords to foreign dignitaries.

"During your address, you will have the opportunity to share your vision for India's future and speak to the global challenges our countries both face," House Speaker Kevin McCarthy, Senate Majority Leader Chuck Schumer, Senate Republican Leader Mitch McConnell, and House Democratic Leader Hakeem Jeffries said in a letter to Modi.

The speech would be Modi's second to a joint meeting of the U.S. legislature.

The White House announced last month that President Joe Biden had invited Modi for an official state visit this month.

https://www.msn.com/en-gb/news/worl...p&cvid=53c2a6ee019f434598b514b8e9e8c51a&ei=17

Mehhh above is no big deal.

I am waiting for our Harvard graduate to address Congress in the US, now that is the real deal..

:uakmal

<iframe width="560" height="315" src="https://www.youtube.com/embed/H7JqAM8_Qeo" title="YouTube video player" frameborder="0" allow="accelerometer; autoplay; clipboard-write; encrypted-media; gyroscope; picture-in-picture; web-share" allowfullscreen></iframe>

Great movie, worth the watch, adaptation of the book..

I will be buying the book to get a detailed insight...

On Health Of Democracy Under PM Modi, US Says "Go See For Yourself"
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be on a state visit to the US later this month.

India is a vibrant democracy and anybody who happens to go to New Delhi can see that for themselves, the White House said Monday, as it appeared to dismiss concerns about the health of democracy in India.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be on a state visit to the US later this month.

"India is a vibrant democracy. Anybody that, you know, happens to go to New Delhi can see that for themselves. And certainly, I would expect that strength and health of democratic institutions will be part of the discussion," John Kirby, Coordinator for Strategic Communications at the National Security Council in the White House, told reporters at a news conference here.

"Look, we never shy away. And you can do that with friends. You're supposed to do that with friends. You never shy away from expressing concerns that we might have with anyone around the world. But this (State) visit is really about advancing what is now and what we hope will be a deeper, stronger partnership and friendship going forward," Mr Kirby said in response to a question.

Mr Kirby said India is a strong partner with the United States on many levels.

"You saw that in Shangri-La Secretary (of Defense, Lloyd) Austin announced some additional defense cooperation now that we're going to pursue with India. Of course, there's an awful lot of economic trade between our two countries. India is a member of the Pacific Quad and a key friend and partner with respect to Indo-Pacific security," he said.

"I could go on and on and on. There are innumerable reasons why India certainly matters, not just bilaterally between the two of our nations, but multilaterally on very many levels. And the president is looking forward very much to having Prime Minister Modi here to talk about all those issues and to advance and deepen that partnership and that friendship," Mr Kirby said.

NDTV

On Health Of Democracy Under PM Modi, US Says "Go See For Yourself"

India is a vibrant democracy and anybody who happens to go to New Delhi can see that for themselves, the White House said Monday, as it appeared to dismiss concerns about the health of democracy in India.

"India is a vibrant democracy. Anybody that, you know, happens to go to New Delhi can see that for themselves. And certainly, I would expect that strength and health of democratic institutions will be part of the discussion," John Kirby, Coordinator for Strategic Communications at the National Security Council in the White House, told reporters at a news conference here.

"Look, we never shy away. And you can do that with friends. You're supposed to do that with friends. You never shy away from expressing concerns that we might have with anyone around the world. But this (State) visit is really about advancing what is now and what we hope will be a deeper, stronger partnership and friendship going forward," Mr Kirby said in response to a question.

Mr Kirby said India is a strong partner with the United States on many levels.

"You saw that in Shangri-La Secretary (of Defense, Lloyd) Austin announced some additional defense cooperation now that we're going to pursue with India. Of course, there's an awful lot of economic trade between our two countries. India is a member of the Pacific Quad and a key friend and partner with respect to Indo-Pacific security," he said.

"I could go on and on and on. There are innumerable reasons why India certainly matters, not just bilaterally between the two of our nations, but multilaterally on very many levels. And the president is looking forward very much to having Prime Minister Modi here to talk about all those issues and to advance and deepen that partnership and that friendship," Mr Kirby said.

NDTV

Modi is honored a lot outside of India.

:)) They have gone from constructive criticism to elementary school insults

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">ð��…ð��¨ð��« ð��*ð��¡ð��ž ð��©ð��žð��«ð��Ÿð��žð��œð��* 'ð���ð��‘' ð��¥ð��¨ð��¨ð��¤! <a href="https://t.co/gEDH2i06ST">pic.twitter.com/gEDH2i06ST</a></p>— Congress (@INCIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/INCIndia/status/1667407700882255872?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 10, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

India World's Fastest Growing Economy Due To Modi Govt's Visionary Efforts: BJP

On Tuesday, the Indian economy is not only propelling the growth of the country but has also become an engine of growth for the global economy due to "concerted and visionary efforts" of the government, the BJP said.

Indian economy is not only propelling the growth of the country but has also become an engine of growth for the global economy due to "concerted and visionary efforts" of the government, the BJP said on Tuesday.

Addressing a press conference, BJP national spokesperson Gopal Krishna Agarwal claimed India's gross domestic product (GDP) has increased to 3.75 trillion dollars from around 2 trillion dollars in 2014.

"India's economy is not just doing well but for the last two consecutive years, India is the world's fastest-growing economy and in coming years it will continue to remain the world's fastest-growing economy," he said.

"The Indian economy is not only propelling the growth for India but it has also become an engine of growth for the global economy due to concerted and visionary efforts of the government under Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

"This is not merely a statement but supported by several data which has been released in past the one week and fortnight,"
he added.

Referring to government data released on Monday, Agarwal said retail inflation, which is troubling the biggest economies of the world, has come down to 4.25 per cent in India while the food inflation which affects the common man most has come down to 2.91 per cent from 3.84 per cent.

"A very important piece of data came yesterday. India's GDP has increased to 3.75 trillion dollars from around 2 trillion dollars in 2014," he said.

"This is the situation at a time when global headwinds which is restraining the economy globally leading to recession, the NSSO data indicates that the growth rate of the Indian economy has crossed 7 per cent," he said.

"Earlier many people were apprehensive that India's growth rate will come down from 7 per cent," he added.

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Link: https://www.outlookindia.com/nation...modi-govt-s-visionary-efforts-bjp-news-294455

PM Modi To Address Sold-Out Diaspora Event In Washington
Prime Minister Modi is visiting the US from June 21-24 at the invitation of US President Joe Biden and First Lady Jill Biden.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will speak on the role of the diaspora in India's development during his address to Indian Americans here next week, according to a community leader in charge of hosting the event.
Prime Minister Modi is visiting the US from June 21-24 at the invitation of US President Joe Biden and First Lady Jill Biden. They will host PM Modi at a state dinner on June 22. The visit also includes an address to the Joint Session of the Congress on June 22.

Chicago-based Dr Bharat Barai, who was at the Ronald Reagan Building venue in Washington DC on Wednesday to give final shape to the next week's event, said that it is a sold-out event, with registration completed for all 838 seats.

"As far as the registrations are concerned, they are closed for the host committee as well as other people. We had an extraordinary response, all by word of mouth because we had only 838 seats. So there was no time and there was no capacity if we advertised outside," Barai told PTI.

"We used the database that we had from the previous public meetings of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and even before we could contact the people, they contacted us and it's all filled up," he said.

Modi will address an invitation-only gathering of diaspora leaders from across the country at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington on June 23.

"The topic is going to be the role of the diaspora in the growth story of India. We want to see what we can do as a diaspora to help India and the people of India come up to the new place in the world," Barai said.

Noting that the event will have very few cultural elements, he said the organisers want to make it primarily an engagement between the diaspora and the prime minister.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-...washington-4122481#pfrom=home-ndtv_topstories

PM Modi To Address Sold-Out Diaspora Event In Washington
Prime Minister Modi is visiting the US from June 21-24 at the invitation of US President Joe Biden and First Lady Jill Biden.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi will speak on the role of the diaspora in India's development during his address to Indian Americans here next week, according to a community leader in charge of hosting the event.
Prime Minister Modi is visiting the US from June 21-24 at the invitation of US President Joe Biden and First Lady Jill Biden. They will host PM Modi at a state dinner on June 22. The visit also includes an address to the Joint Session of the Congress on June 22.

Chicago-based Dr Bharat Barai, who was at the Ronald Reagan Building venue in Washington DC on Wednesday to give final shape to the next week's event, said that it is a sold-out event, with registration completed for all 838 seats.

"As far as the registrations are concerned, they are closed for the host committee as well as other people. We had an extraordinary response, all by word of mouth because we had only 838 seats. So there was no time and there was no capacity if we advertised outside," Barai told PTI.

"We used the database that we had from the previous public meetings of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, and even before we could contact the people, they contacted us and it's all filled up," he said.

Modi will address an invitation-only gathering of diaspora leaders from across the country at the Ronald Reagan Building and International Trade Center in Washington on June 23.

"The topic is going to be the role of the diaspora in the growth story of India. We want to see what we can do as a diaspora to help India and the people of India come up to the new place in the world," Barai said.

Noting that the event will have very few cultural elements, he said the organisers want to make it primarily an engagement between the diaspora and the prime minister.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-...washington-4122481#pfrom=home-ndtv_topstories

Modi is much more loved and adored by NRI's than people living in India. I haven't found a proper reason for that till date.

The Biden administration has eased norms by releasing policy guidance on the eligibility criteria for those waiting for green cards to work and stay in America, days ahead of Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit to the US.
Prime Minister Narendra Modi is visiting the US from June 21-24 at the invitation of US President Joe Biden and First Lady Jill Biden. They will host PM Modi at a state dinner on June 22.

The visit also includes an address to the Joint Session of the Congress on June 22.

NDTV

‘I am a fan of Modi’: Tesla CEO Elon Musk after meeting PM in New York

Tesla founder and CEO Elon Musk on Wednesday said he's a fan of Prime Minister Narendra Modi who “really wants to do the right thing for India.” Speaking to reporters after meeting Modi in New York, Musk said the Indian prime minister really cares about India as he's pushing Tesla to make significant investments in the country.

“Which is something we tend to do. In a nutshell, it was a fantastic meeting with the prime minister,” Musk said.

“He wants to be open, he wants to be supportive of new companies and make sure it accrues to India's advantage. Which is, obviously, that's the job,” the billionaire investor added.

When asked about what he thinks of Modi's leadership for making technologies inclusive, Musk said, “He really wants to do the right thing for India. I am a fan of Modi. It was a fantastic meeting and I like him quite a lot.”

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr"><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/WATCH?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#WATCH</a> | Tesla and SpaceX CEO Elon Musk, says "I can say he (PM Modi) really wants to do the right things for India. He wants to be open, he wants to be supportive of new companies and make sure it accrues to India's advantage... I'm tentatively planning to visit India again next… <a href="https://t.co/7Et2nIX3ts">pic.twitter.com/7Et2nIX3ts</a></p>— ANI (@ANI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ANI/status/1671303984982945792?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 20, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

According to a Reuters report, Musk was to brief PM Modi on plans to set up an electric vehicle manufacturing base in India.

"I am confident Tesla will be in India and will do so as soon as humanly possible," Musk said when asked by reporters about a timeline.

Musk is also the executive chairman of Twitter, which has had run-ins with Modi's government.

Last week, Twitter's co-founder Jack Dorsey said New Delhi threatened to shut it down in India unless the social network complied with orders to restrict accounts critical of the handling of farmer protests, a charge Modi's government called an "outright lie".

Prime Minister Modi arrived in the United States on Tuesday for a state visit that has been projected as a milestone in ties between the two countries that would deepen and diversify their partnership. Modi has been to the US five times since becoming prime minister in 2014, but his visit until Saturday will be his first with the full diplomatic status of a state visit.

Link: https://www.hindustantimes.com/indi...r-meeting-pm-in-new-york-101687304891831.html

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Great meeting you today <a href="https://twitter.com/elonmusk?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@elonmusk</a>! We had multifaceted conversations on issues ranging from energy to spirituality. <a href="https://t.co/r0mzwNbTyN">https://t.co/r0mzwNbTyN</a> <a href="https://t.co/IVwOy5SlMV">pic.twitter.com/IVwOy5SlMV</a></p>— Narendra Modi (@narendramodi) <a href="https://twitter.com/narendramodi/status/1671342741857632256?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Modi is much more loved and adored by NRI's than people living in India. I haven't found a proper reason for that till date.

The man is a Text-book workaholic and a go-getter. These attributes resonate very strongly with the NRI community and hence the adoration. Also not even the worst critic will doubt his sincerity towards furthering India's cause. And then there is the chalk and cheese comparison between him and his predecessor - Manmohan Singh lol ... there is no comparison. A doorknob has more personality than MMS.

President Biden has declared “the battle between democracy and autocracy” to be the defining struggle of his time. But when he rolls out the red carpet on the South Lawn of the White House for Prime Minister Narendra Modi of India on Thursday morning, Mr. Biden will effectively call a temporary truce.

In granting Mr. Modi a coveted state visit, complete with a star-studded gala dinner, Mr. Biden will shower attention on a leader presiding over democratic backsliding in the world’s most populous nation. Mr. Modi’s government has cracked down on dissent and hounded opponents in a way that has raised fears of an authoritarian turn not seen since India’s slip into dictatorship in the 1970s.

Yet Mr. Biden has concluded, much as his predecessors did, that he needs India despite concerns over human rights just as he believes he needs Saudi Arabia, the Philippines and other countries that are either outright autocracies or do not fit into the category of ideal democracies. At a time of confrontation with Russia and an uneasy standoff with China, Mr. Biden is being forced to accept the flaws of America’s friends.

Two and a half years into his administration, the democracy-versus-autocracy framework has, therefore, become something of a geopolitical straitjacket for Mr. Biden, one that allows for little of the subtleties his foreign policy actually envisions yet that virtually guarantees criticism every time he shakes hands with a counterpart who does not pass the George Washington test. Even some of his top advisers privately view the construct as too black-and-white in a world of grays.

“Any time a president dresses up his foreign policy in the language of values, any concession to geopolitical reality inevitably elicits cries of hypocrisy,” said Hal Brands, a professor of global affairs at the Johns Hopkins University School of Advanced International Studies. “The reality, of course, is that every U.S. president — including the ones most devoted to democracy and human rights — realized that there were some relationships that were just too strategically important to hold hostage to concerns about democratic values.”

The dynamic, which has played out repeatedly, has become a wearying topic for some top administration officials. The democracy slogan, they said, never fully captured a more textured strategy that goes well beyond dividing the world into two simple and opposing camps. It was more about recognizing the growing global drift away from freedom and the threats posed by more aggressive powers like Russia and China.

“From our perspective, it has never been as simple as drawing up jerseys,” Jake Sullivan, the president’s national security adviser, said in an interview with several reporters on Tuesday. “It has always been about seeing those long-term trends and trying to point those trends in the right direction and then being prepared to have a more sophisticated approach to how we build relationships with a range of different countries.”

The White House sees the Modi visit as a critical moment to cement a relationship with one of the leading “swing states,” as officials have come to describe powers that have not definitively taken sides in Russia’s war against Ukraine. And U.S. officials see India as one of the bulwarks against an advancing China.

“We expect this will be a historic visit,” Mr. Sullivan said, predicting “a significant number of announcements” of agreements on military sales, technology, supply chains, semiconductors and energy, among others. “This really, from my perspective, will be one of the defining partnerships of our age.”

Mr. Sullivan insisted that Mr. Biden was not betraying his commitment to democracy by hosting Mr. Modi so lavishly and said the president would raise democracy and human rights concerns, albeit diplomatically. Mr. Biden, Mr. Sullivan said, will “try to indicate where we stand without coming across as somehow talking down to or lecturing another country that has a proud history of sovereignty.”

The president will do so, evidently, without the traditional joint news conference that he holds with many visiting leaders. While no official schedule has been released, Indian officials have resisted their American counterparts’ efforts to seek such a session, since Mr. Modi does not hold news conferences even on his own soil and has no interest in subjecting himself to questions from American journalists.

Mr. Modi will arrive at the White House on Wednesday evening for a private dinner with Mr. Biden, who will just be returning from a three-day swing through California. The president then will formally welcome Mr. Modi on Thursday morning with a pomp-filled arrival ceremony on the South Lawn. After meetings during the day, the two will reconvene at a state dinner in the evening, only the third that Mr. Biden has held during his presidency after events for the leaders of France and South Korea, two strong democracies.

Mr. Modi arrives as India has just surpassed China as the world’s most populous nation and feels it is coming into its own on the global stage. Now the planet’s fifth-largest economy, India has a young work force, a strong technology industry, a growing consumer market and barely scratched potential as a manufacturing hub.

India’s trade with the United States has reached about $190 billion a year, and Atul Keshap, a former American envoy to New Delhi now serving as the president of the U.S.-India Business Council, has forecast that it soon could be worth $500 billion. Only Canada, Mexico, the European Union and China are in that league.

NY Times.

I’m guessing NY times thinks America is flawless.. NY times has notoriously hated India over the years seems like a consistent bias but understandable.

WH is truly rolling out the red carpet for Modi. First it was just the State Banquet, now it’s being announced that Modi will have a 2 hr private dinner with the President and First Lady. Sab paise ka khel hai, Babu bhaiyya!

That refugee Ilhan Omar at it again. Nice slap on the face by Atif Rasheed.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I belong from religious Minority Of India but I live freely with my religious freedom and religious identity in Prime Minister Narendra Modi's India, I have equal share in every resource here, I have the freedom to speak whatever I want in India.<br>I also have the freedom to write… <a href="https://t.co/Op2f7W95OS">https://t.co/Op2f7W95OS</a></p>— Atif Rasheed (@AtifRasheed80) <a href="https://twitter.com/AtifRasheed80/status/1671439681115004928?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Lol Illhan Omar :)))

No one cares whether you come or not...

Awwww

Good riddance to bad rubbish

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PM Modi received a ceremonial welcome amid rain and gusty winds at the Joint Base Andrews Airport in Washington DC. <a href="https://t.co/p1KmCjzgxL">pic.twitter.com/p1KmCjzgxL</a></p>— BJP (@BJP4India) <a href="https://twitter.com/BJP4India/status/1671605588059631616?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">People from Indian community welcome PM Modi on his arrival in Washington DC. <a href="https://t.co/eZePJQOrAP">pic.twitter.com/eZePJQOrAP</a></p>— BJP (@BJP4India) <a href="https://twitter.com/BJP4India/status/1671586964427120641?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

:))) Another slap on her face.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Don’t spread lie madam . <br><br>Iam Indian Muslim .we are living freely in democratic way ans enjoying our rights . <br><br>Modi ji focused on the education and economic of the minority community in India . <br><br>Shame on you . Don’t lie . <a href="https://t.co/xyFYvmAOm5">https://t.co/xyFYvmAOm5</a></p>— Aquib Mir (@aquibmir71) <a href="https://twitter.com/aquibmir71/status/1671585975246671872?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2023</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

PM Gifts Sandalwood Box, Lab-Grown Green Diamond To Bidens
Prime Minister Narendra Modi met Tesla CEO and Twitter owner Elon Musk today as he began his landmark three-day state visit to the US.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is on his first state visit to the US, gifted a handcrafted sandalwood box to US President Joe Biden, and a lab-grown 7.5 carat green diamond to First Lady Jill Biden. The sandalwood box contains a silver idol of Lord Ganesha and a diya (oil lamp).
PM Modi was greeted with a ceremonial welcome and guard of honour at the Andrews Air Base. President Joe Biden and first lady Jill Biden welcomed PM Modi to a White House decorated with peacocks and lotus blooms today, hosting a vegetarian dinner.

Later in the day, he will hold a series of meetings with another group of industry leaders and CEOs. Among those PM Modi will meet are Micron's CEO Sanjay Mehrotra, GE chief H Lawrence Culp Jr and chief of Applied Materials Gary Dickerson -- names that have raised speculation about big announcements on Thursday.

In the evening, he will address a joint-sitting of the US Congress. This will be his second address to a joint-sitting - a first for an Indian and a rare honour for world leaders.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-modi-us-visit-live-updates-pm-modi-to-leave-for-us-today-4135504

PM Gifts Sandalwood Box, Lab-Grown Green Diamond To Bidens
Prime Minister Narendra Modi met Tesla CEO and Twitter owner Elon Musk today as he began his landmark three-day state visit to the US.

Prime Minister Narendra Modi, who is on his first state visit to the US, gifted a handcrafted sandalwood box to US President Joe Biden, and a lab-grown 7.5 carat green diamond to First Lady Jill Biden. The sandalwood box contains a silver idol of Lord Ganesha and a diya (oil lamp).
PM Modi was greeted with a ceremonial welcome and guard of honour at the Andrews Air Base. President Joe Biden and first lady Jill Biden welcomed PM Modi to a White House decorated with peacocks and lotus blooms today, hosting a vegetarian dinner.

Later in the day, he will hold a series of meetings with another group of industry leaders and CEOs. Among those PM Modi will meet are Micron's CEO Sanjay Mehrotra, GE chief H Lawrence Culp Jr and chief of Applied Materials Gary Dickerson -- names that have raised speculation about big announcements on Thursday.

In the evening, he will address a joint-sitting of the US Congress. This will be his second address to a joint-sitting - a first for an Indian and a rare honour for world leaders.

https://www.ndtv.com/india-news/pm-modi-us-visit-live-updates-pm-modi-to-leave-for-us-today-4135504

Indian people are our own people, we’ll live and die with them, They can love snd despise BJP/Modi, their choice. But I can see why a lot of people, specially British Pakistanis, hate him.

Modi US visit: Why Washington is rolling out the red carpet for Indian PM

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi's visit to the US has assumed huge significance amid global economic and geopolitical headwinds.

The White House is pulling out all the stops to welcome Mr Modi - it's a state visit, the highest level of diplomatic protocol the US accords to visiting leaders. Mr Modi will be given a ceremonial welcome at the White House on Thursday before he holds direct talks with President Joe Biden.

Then there is the state dinner, a meeting with CEOs, an address to a joint session of Congress and speeches to Indian-Americans, which have been highlights of Mr Modi's past US visits.

All this for a leader once denied a visa to travel to the US because of concerns over human rights - now the US sees Mr Modi as a crucial partner.

Behind the carefully crafted ceremonies lie discussions that have the potential to not only infuse new energy into India-US relations but also have an impact on the global order.

The Indo-Pacific is where the US possibly needs India's influence more than anywhere else right now. The US has long viewed India as a counterbalance to China's growing influence in the region, but Delhi has never been fully comfortable with owning the tag.

It may still be reluctant to do so but China continues to be one of the main catalysts driving India-US relations.

The China factor at the heart of Quad summit
But India has not shied away from taking decisions that irk China. It held a military drill with US forces last year in Uttarakhand state, which shares a Himalayan border with China. Delhi has also continued to actively participate in the Quad - which also includes the US, Australia and Japan - despite angry reactions from Beijing.

Indian diplomacy has been getting more assertive about saying that this is the country's moment on the global stage. It has good reason - India is one of the few economic bright spots in the world right now.Geopolitics is also in its favour - most countries want a manufacturing alternative to China, and India also has a huge market with a burgeoning middle class. This makes it a good option for countries and global firms pursuing a China plus one policy.

Can India replace China as the world's factory?
Tanvi Madan, director of The India Project at the Brookings Institution in Washington DC, says that what matters to the US is what India does and not what it publicly says about China.

"At the end of the day, whether or not India has publicly embraced the tag, it is very clear that Indian governments have seen the US relationship as helpful as they deal with China," she said.

Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi holds a meeting with US President Joe Biden (not pictured) during the Quad Leaders Summit at Kantei in Tokyo on May 24, 2022. (Photo by SAUL LOEB / AFP) (Photo by SAUL LOEB/AFP via Getty Images)
IMAGE SOURCE,GETTY IMAGES
Image caption,
Mr Modi will hold talks with President Biden during the visit
Michael Kugelman, director of the South Asia Institute at the Wilson Center think-tank in Washington, added that the two countries had now started "seeing eye to eye on the broader Indo-Pacific theatre".

"We are starting to see the US recognise the importance of western components of the Indian Ocean region. For many years, India's main concern, for good reason, was the Indian Ocean region. Whereas for the US, it was the Pacific and the South China Sea. They will look at maritime security for the region now," he said.

The joint statement may not mention China directly but it will be high on the agenda as the two leaders discuss ways to consolidate their presence in the Indo-Pacific.

But while they agree on China, the two countries have had differing approaches to the Ukraine war.

Delhi has not directly criticised Russia, which analysts say is largely due to its huge dependency on Russian defence imports and its "time-tested ties" with Moscow.

India relies on Moscow for nearly 50% of its defence needs, but that's not the only reason. India has always taken pride in following its policy of non-alignment - or strategic autonomy, as it has been called in recent years. It doesn't want to be confined to a specific power centre in the global order, which irked Washington diplomats in the early months of the invasion.

But the US has softened its stance in recent months - it has even overlooked India's continuous purchase of crude oil from Russia.

India leads demand for cheaper Russian oil
India's Russia oil imports jump tenfold, bank says
India too has gone a step forward by publicly calling for an end to the war.

Ms Madan added that the different responses to the invasion weren't a deal-breaker in India-US relations.

"When there is strategic convergence, the two countries are incentivised to manage their differences. Maybe not eliminate them, but manage their differences. And I think that has happened with their differing stands on Russia," she said.

Russian President Vladimir Putin (L), Indian Prime Minister Narendra Modi (C) and Chinese President Xi Jinping (R) pose for a group photo prior to their trilateral meeting at the G20 Osaka Summit 2019 on June 28, 2019 in Osaka, Japan. Vladimir Putin has arrived in Japan to participate in the G20 Osaka Summit and to meet U.S.President Donald Trump. (Photo by Mikhail Svetlov/Getty Images)
Image caption,
Russia's invasion of Ukraine and China's growing influence in Asia are expected to come up during talks
Meanwhile, other key areas of discussion include technology, defence and global supply chain management.

The two countries have signed what they call the Initiative on Critical and Emerging Technology. The deal will allow US and Indian firms and universities in different sectors, including IT, space, defence, artificial intelligence, education and healthcare, to work together.

The leaders may also announce more co-operation in technology, especially in semi-conductor manufacturing where China is the biggest player.

Defence is another area that has emerged as a key point of convergence.

India is the world's biggest arms importer and Russia still accounts for a major chunk of it at 45%, data analysed between 2017 and 2022 suggests. But the headline here is that Moscow's share used to be 65% until 2016 - that's where the US sees an opportunity.

Why India is not criticising Russia over Ukraine
Washington's share has grown but it's still just 11%, behind France's 29%. So some big-ticket defence deals are inevitable - they are likely to announce India's purchase of the battle-tested MQ-9A "Reaper" drones and a deal between GE and Indian state-run firms to manufacture fighter jet engines in India.

Mr Kugelman says defence co-operation between the two nations "has come a long way".

"If you look at the recent track record, one could argue that the treatment the US gives India is not dissimilar from what it gives to many of its allies," he said.

President Joe Biden (R) gestures with India's Prime Minister Narendra Modi as the two leaders met in a hallway as Biden was going to a European Commission on the Partnership for Global Infrastructure and Investment on the sidelines of the G20 Summit in Nusa Dua, on the Indonesian island of Bali, on November 15, 2022.
Image caption,
The two leaders met last autumn - there has been a lot of fanfare around Mr Modi's US trip
While defence and technology will most likely see some big announcements, the same can't be expected in trade.

The US is now India's top trading partner at $130bn, but analysts say there is still huge untapped potential. The two countries have had major differences over tariffs and export controls.India has signed a free trade agreement with Australia and Dubai and is discussing similar deals with others including Canada, the UK and the EU.No such deal is on the cards this visit but the leaders may discuss or at least lay the ground for solving trade-related issues in the future.

Mr Kugelman said the differences were not discarded but set aside in the interests of more mutually beneficial areas of co-operation.

But he added that trade between Indian and US firms has flourished in recent years despite inter-government differences.

It may not be the top priority but trade will certainly feature when the two leaders discuss global supply chain issues owing to the pandemic and China's monopoly.

"Trade used to be a sore subject but I think the two sides are approaching trade policy differently today. But you can't look at global supply chain issues without eventually discussing trade," Ms Madan said.

The timing of the visit is also interesting as both countries will hold elections next year and the two leaders will be looking at sellable headlines for their domestic audiences.

So some big headline-making deals are inevitable. But then, US-India relations have always been complex - with decades of mistrust followed by rebuilding of trust and then occasional flare-ups.

But Mr Biden seems determined to make India-US relations shine even though some in his country have questioned India's record on human rights under Mr Modi.

On the eve of the visit, 75 Democratic members of Congress urged President Biden to raise human rights issues. They said they were concerned about rising religious intolerance and press restrictions, the shrinking of political space and the targeting of civil society groups in India. Human rights groups plan protests during Mr Modi's trip.

US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken's recent statement spoke volumes about the current status of the relationship: "We know that India and the United States are big, complicated countries. We certainly have work to do to advance transparency, to promote market access, to strengthen our democracies, to unleash the full potential of our people. But the trajectory of this partnership is unmistakable and it is filled with promise."

https://www.bbc.com/news/world-asia-india-65947363