No evidence supports Indian news agency’s baseless story claiming Hindus denied rations in Karachi

Poutine

Tape Ball Star
KARACHI: A news story with the title, ‘COVID-19: Hindus denied food supplies in Pakistan’s Karachi’, that was released by an Indian news agency, Asian News International (ANI), has turned out to be completely fabricated news.

As The News investigated the matter, it found no evidence supporting the Indian news agency’s claim that the Hindu community was denied food items while they were being distributed in a small coastal area of the city, Rehri Goth, which is inhabited by fishermen, some 10 kilometres away from Ibrahim Hyderi in Karachi.

Ibrahim Hyderi’s Assistant Commissioner Samiullah, Union Committee Chairman Asif Shah, representative of non-governmental organisation Pakistan Fisher Folk Forum that works for fishermen Kamal Shah, and one of the Hindu leaders of Ibrahim Hyderi, Santosh Maharaj, confirmed to The News that there were no Hindus living in Rehri Goth in the first place. “There are only 20 shops belonging to the Hindus in Rehri Goth,” shared Maharaj, who is also a sanitary inspector at the Bin Qasim Authority. Samiullah, who hails from the Khairpur city, said there was no possibility of discrimination on the basis of religion while distributing food items especially in the times of a pandemic.

“To say that Hindus did not get any ration is impossible as there are none in the goth,” he said and added that those Hindus who have shops in Rehri Goth generally help their Muslim brothers by lending them money when they are in need. There are total 70 Hindu families residing in Ibrahim Hyderi belonging to the Bania Hindu Community, according to Maharaj. “Our mother tongue is, however, Sindhi,” he said and lamented that so far they had not been provided any rations by the government. “But it is for all the residents of Ibrahim Hyderi, and it is not the Hindu Community only that has been deprived of rations,” he said and added that whenever any calamity occurred, all the people of the area, including the Hindus and Muslims, suffered together.

The ANI in its story claimed that “During the COVID-19 outbreak, thousands of poor people gathered at ‘Rehrri Ghoth’ [correct spelling Rehri Goth] in Karachi to receive food supplies and daily essentials. However, those who belong to the Hindu community were told to go back since the rations were only meant for Muslims.”

More on: https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/63...ory-claiming-hindus-denied-rations-in-karachi

I wonder why people have to make an effort and go out of their way to prove this wrong when the first assumption was this seems like a propoganda news or some ignorable social media rumor.

Probably because the news was trending in India and was published by 'reputable' outlets such as ANI.

What an idiot.

Twitter posts which were spreading this fake news were getting thousands of likes and retweets.

Because it is an evil rumour which can cause a lot of harm and fear unless it is addressed firmly and loudly.

Do you really need to be told this?

I've seen this a lot with religious minorities in Pakistan.

If something doesn't go their way they start using the religion card

Eye witness account not proof enough or ?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Trivia: Hunger doesn't see if you're a Hindu, Christian or a Muslim.<br><br>After Saylani Welfare Trust refused to give ration bags to Hindus and Christians who were lined up in Karachi, the Edhi foundation and JDC delivered ration for the community. <a href="https://t.co/m2f2E1WWI1">pic.twitter.com/m2f2E1WWI1</a></p>— Naila Inayat नायला इनायत (@nailainayat) <a href="https://twitter.com/nailainayat/status/1244276862806867970?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 29, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Are you not able to read?

"Saylani Welfare Trust"

So what is your point?

Can you elaborate?

It's a private charity.

You can't use its actions to undermine the Pakistani government.

Also, we don't even know the context.

The article was talking about something else

"Scores of marginalised people gather at Karachi's Rehrri Ghoth to receive food supplies and daily essentials as shops remain shut to curb the spread of coronavirus. But those belonging to the Hindu community are told to go back since the rations are only meant for Muslims."

This was the fake news being spread

No Hindus live in Rehri Ghoth so where did these supposed Hindus come from?

"Scores of marginalised people gather at Karachi's Rehrri Ghoth to receive food supplies and daily essentials as shops remain shut to curb the spread of coronavirus. But those belonging to the Hindu community are told to go back since the rations are only meant for Muslims."

This was the fake news being spread

No Hindus live in Rehri Ghoth so where did these supposed Hindus come from?

Its called fake news and people who did are the sick ones.

You are underestimating Indian media. They are also trying hard to communalize this coronavirus pandemic and blaming muslims for this. They have their own audience who follows them blindly. :inti

What kind of logic is this?
If something like this happened in india these people would face backlash.
Ghatiya mentality on show here.

Even if the claims in the video are right(that’s a big IF because the person whose tweet you posted is notorious for posting fabricated news) then the private trust is too be blamed. Indian media and social media are making it seem like the government or every organization is partaking in discrimination. Are you claiming the are no Indian groups that discriminate against Muslims? In fact wasn’t there a BJP politician who recent opened a fund raiser just for Hindus and said Muslims won’t be entitled to any funds. Did that get a backlash in India? https://www.huffingtonpost.in/entry...dfunds-for-hindus_in_5e5cb5edc5b6450a30c12cc4

Obviously if Saylani welfare did what they are accused of doing then action needs to be taken against them but can’t use actions of one group to blame the whole country.

Even if the claims in the video are right(that’s a big IF because the person whose tweet you posted is notorious for posting fabricated news) then the private trust is too be blamed. Indian media and social media are making it seem like the government or every organization is partaking in discrimination. Are you claiming the are no Indian groups that discriminate against Muslims? In fact wasn’t there a BJP politician who recent opened a fund raiser just for Hindus and said Muslims won’t be entitled to any funds. Did that get a backlash in India? https://www.huffingtonpost.in/entry...dfunds-for-hindus_in_5e5cb5edc5b6450a30c12cc4

Obviously if Saylani welfare did what they are accused of doing then action needs to be taken against them but can’t use actions of one group to blame the whole country.

How did we not hear about this at all?
Our media didn't even say anything

Tells us a lot about how much India's obsessed with us

How did we not hear about this at all?
Our media didn't even say anything

Tells us a lot about how much India's obsessed with us

That’s true, it seems like every little action taken even by a small group in Pakistan becomes mainstream news in India but Pakistani media completely ignores Indian bigots like Kapil Mishra who are actually part of the ruling party.

The real face of Sanghis:

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Kapil Mishra crowdfunds Rs 71 lakh for Delhi riots victims, but only for Hindus<a href="https://t.co/DqvYpxHgDI">https://t.co/DqvYpxHgDI</a></p>— HuffPost India (@HuffPostIndia) <a href="https://twitter.com/HuffPostIndia/status/1234415136942776322?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 2, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Despite Pakistan being a majority Muslim country, I can’t imagine a politician openly saying that their funds are only for Muslims. But in India Kapil Mishra did this and it seems like he had his party’s support as he wasn’t removed or even reprimanded.

I've seen this a lot with religious minorities in Pakistan.

If something doesn't go their way they start using the religion card

Well I mean when people have death sentences for blasphemy or people are living in constant threat of their daughters getting abducted or they are told they are 2nd class citizens who can never run for office ever their “whining” can be overlooked.

None of these by the way are made up

Despite Pakistan being a majority Muslim country, I can’t imagine a politician openly saying that their funds are only for Muslims. But in India Kapil Mishra did this and it seems like he had his party’s support as he wasn’t removed or even reprimanded.

What would he be removed for?

The whole point of the RSS party is to discriminate against the minorities

Well I mean when people have death sentences for blasphemy or people are living in constant threat of their daughters getting abducted or they are told they are 2nd class citizens who can never run for office ever their “whining” can be overlooked.

None of these by the way are made up

The majority of the people on blasphemy death row are muslims.

So your point being?

Think you are missing the point. In the OP you mentioned "No evidence to support hindus were denied food in Pakistam". But you have not given any evidence either that these claims were incorrect. You just quoted a Pakistani news source to prove Indian news source was incorrect. Well, that dont mean anything either. Hence I posted the twitter video as an evidence.

Your logic :)))

You do realise it is "innocent until proven guilty"

Not the other away around.

The Al-Khidmat foundation which is the charity arm of Jamat-e-Islami, the only religious party that manages to get a sizeable number of seats (even they make less than 10% of the voter base). Al-Khidmat going around and disinfecting churches and mandirs.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">الخدمت فاؤنڈیشن کے ان رضاکاروں کے لیے شاباش جو کراچی کے ایک چرچ میں جراثیم کش سپرے کرنے پہنچے۔ کورونا وبا کی صورت میں جس بڑے خطرے کا قوم کو سامنا ہے، اس میں ضروری ہے کہ انسانیت کا بلاتفریق خیال رکھا جائے۔ <a href="https://t.co/W4e0a9dpwy">pic.twitter.com/W4e0a9dpwy</a></p>— Siraj ul Haq (@SirajOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SirajOfficial/status/1243953118204878848?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 28, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Isn't it a good thing that it got investigated. After all an assumption is just an assumption. If there indeed was any discrimination during these hard times then it needed warranted to be dealt with.

Your logic :)))

You do realise it is "innocent until proven guilty"

Not the other away around.

True statement but Pakistan is one of the worst when it comes to religious persecution.

In before you go the old Kashmir,cow lynching route, I don’t think it’s even close how both India and Pak are ranked in those regards. It’s sad and I don’t want to disrespect the victims with a smilie here.

So yeah if Ted Bundy denies a murder he will still be a suspect for his track record

KARACHI: A news story with the title, ‘COVID-19: Hindus denied food supplies in Pakistan’s Karachi’, that was released by an Indian news agency, Asian News International (ANI), has turned out to be completely fabricated news.

As The News investigated the matter, it found no evidence supporting the Indian news agency’s claim that the Hindu community was denied food items while they were being distributed in a small coastal area of the city, Rehri Goth, which is inhabited by fishermen, some 10 kilometres away from Ibrahim Hyderi in Karachi.

Ibrahim Hyderi’s Assistant Commissioner Samiullah, Union Committee Chairman Asif Shah, representative of non-governmental organisation Pakistan Fisher Folk Forum that works for fishermen Kamal Shah, and one of the Hindu leaders of Ibrahim Hyderi, Santosh Maharaj, confirmed to The News that there were no Hindus living in Rehri Goth in the first place. “There are only 20 shops belonging to the Hindus in Rehri Goth,” shared Maharaj, who is also a sanitary inspector at the Bin Qasim Authority. Samiullah, who hails from the Khairpur city, said there was no possibility of discrimination on the basis of religion while distributing food items especially in the times of a pandemic.

“To say that Hindus did not get any ration is impossible as there are none in the goth,” he said and added that those Hindus who have shops in Rehri Goth generally help their Muslim brothers by lending them money when they are in need. There are total 70 Hindu families residing in Ibrahim Hyderi belonging to the Bania Hindu Community, according to Maharaj. “Our mother tongue is, however, Sindhi,” he said and lamented that so far they had not been provided any rations by the government. “But it is for all the residents of Ibrahim Hyderi, and it is not the Hindu Community only that has been deprived of rations,” he said and added that whenever any calamity occurred, all the people of the area, including the Hindus and Muslims, suffered together.

The ANI in its story claimed that “During the COVID-19 outbreak, thousands of poor people gathered at ‘Rehrri Ghoth’ [correct spelling Rehri Goth] in Karachi to receive food supplies and daily essentials. However, those who belong to the Hindu community were told to go back since the rations were only meant for Muslims.”

More on: https://www.thenews.com.pk/print/63...ory-claiming-hindus-denied-rations-in-karachi

Shame on Indian news agency, Asian News International (ANI) for fabricating such a news even in these testing times of humanity. :facepalm: It makes you feel sick that humans can still stoop to such gutter level

You are underestimating Indian media. They are also trying hard to communalize this coronavirus pandemic and blaming muslims for this. They have their own audience who follows them blindly. :inti

Still I was expecting there will a bit of sympathy towards other humans even if they are different in these testing times on humanity. After all virus will not differentiate if you are hindu or not. This is disgraceful.

True statement but Pakistan is one of the worst when it comes to religious persecution.

In before you go the old Kashmir,cow lynching route, I don’t think it’s even close how both India and Pak are ranked in those regards. It’s sad and I don’t want to disrespect the victims with a smilie here.

So yeah if Ted Bundy denies a murder he will still be a suspect for his track record

A Pakistani politician had an anti-Hindu poster which he apologized for but he was still removed by the government. In India you have politicians, making anti Muslims comment on a regular basis and nothing happens to them, are you actually going to deny that? Was action taken against Kapil Mishra for excluding non-Hindus from his charity?

Both countries have a poor record in treating minorities but it seems like Pakistan is at least making an effort to change while India is marching backwards

I could tell this was a fake news because no neutral newspaper was reporting it. Also, the news was too unbelievable to be true.

I am glad this has been debunked. I criticised the Sindh govt as I thought they were responsible and owe them an apology. In this testing time we are all one, and it would have been evil if it was true.

A Pakistani politician had an anti-Hindu poster which he apologized for but he was still removed by the government. In India you have politicians, making anti Muslims comment on a regular basis and nothing happens to them, are you actually going to deny that? Was action taken against Kapil Mishra for excluding non-Hindus from his charity?

Both countries have a poor record in treating minorities but it seems like Pakistan is at least making an effort to change while India is marching backwards

Their sitting CM of most populous state said "Boli se nahi mannay ga tu goli se tu maan hi jayega" for protesting Muslims. Indians shouldn't really be the ones pointing fingers.

This is not the time for petty point scoring but Indian media alag hi level pe chal raha hai.

One can see the so called 'evidence' on twitter where ppl r confessing that his incident happened.

Looking at pakistan's track record of treating hindus I won't be surprised if this is true.

this does not look good on "Saylani Welfare Trust" if it is true. As far as I know "Saylani Welfare Trust" is very respected welfare organization in Pakistan. What is their explanation?

As far as I know there are 2 types of charity in Islam: Zakat and Sadqa.
Zakat can only be given to muslims while Sadqa can be given to anybody.

So its possible that those ration bags were from the Zakat type of charity and hence "Saylani Welfare Trust" was making sure that only muslims get it. Thats the only reason I can think of why they would do such a thing. Still they should have given those non-muslims ration bags from the Sadqa type of charity instead of just taking them out from the lineup and left dry. :facepalm: Some heads should roll.

I will take your word for it as I like to take a punt on any unverifiable news as long as it has a positive.

It’s admirable if true that Pakistan is moving forward in terms of religious persecution and sad that india is moving backwards again if this were true.

However it hasn’t reached a meeting point were both are at the same level.

Has there ever been a minority protest in Pakistan for rights as the magnitude of Shaheen Baag or even something remotely close where they had support from people from all religions?

Were they massacred by Nazi modi?

Pak has a notorious past so it seems like a believable news.

Hindu Baniya, Hinduon ki Zehniyat, can people get away with such statements on Indian television by a nobody leave alone a famous semi-famous celebrity?

There will be outrage.

Sure these politicians have made controversial statements and they faced the media wrath.

Anyways action speak louder than words.

I can say anything on here which might offend you, at best I will get banned or my post will get deleted, no damage done.

I am talking about actual ground level conversions and persecution.

One can see the so called 'evidence' on twitter where ppl r confessing that his incident happened.

Looking at pakistan's track record of treating hindus I won't be surprised if this is true.

Mr IndianZero I think we should look at our own track record of treating muslims first. Kindly compare the population of Hindus in Pakistan with Muslims in India and then talk. :inti

Can you elaborate?

What kind of logic is this?
If something like this happened in india these people would face backlash.
Ghatiya mentality on show here.

[MENTION=143690]IndianHero[/MENTION]

if we go by this clip, its clearly shows that 1 Private charity organization "Saylani welfare" workers wasnt much keen to deliver food items to particular community by thier own choice, but we dont know that whole context of it yet .... but according to some news channel on Tv, the "Saylani Trust" management has sacked the team members and workers on duty who are involved in particular incident , and start the investigation ....

but the other 2 private charity organization deliver the food items to that particular community in respectable manner, Edhi Trust and Al-Khidmat foundation .....

this does not look good on "Saylani Welfare Trust" if it is true. As far as I know "Saylani Welfare Trust" is very respected welfare organization in Pakistan. What is their explanation?

So its possible that those ration bags were from the Zakat type of charity and hence "Saylani Welfare Trust" was making sure that only muslims get it. Thats the only reason I can think of why they would do such a thing. Still they should have given those non-muslims ration bags from the Sadqa type of charity instead of just taking them out from the lineup and left dry. :facepalm: Some heads should roll.

its could be the case, we dont know the whole context of it. but "Saylani welfare" has sacked the workers on duty and start the investigation .....

Good on them to fire those people discriminating.

However it seems it is not a case of fire without no smoke.

This was picked up on a legit incident. Sure may have been overblown but as they say not a 100% lie either we some have been claiming

Good on them to fire those people discriminating.

However it seems it is not a case of fire without no smoke.

This was picked up on a legit incident. Sure may have been overblown but as they say not a 100% lie either we some have been claiming

atleast the community get the Food Items from other 2 Organizations .... thats all that matter ...

Indian media and fake news... better love story than twilight

What fake news? Lot of them have acknowledged a group that showed discrimination. Are you happy that it wasn’t government group or the fact that some groups are not being discriminatory?

Ok some people were discriminating in somewhere in Pakistan. However the video doesn't make it clear whether it were private distributors who expelled those people from the line or if it were the people in the queue themselves who were throwing them out.

Either way discrimination is bad needs to be condemned. Countless charity organizations are events are being held on Pakistan right now. Also noteworthy that the guy appealing and standing for non-Muslim is a Muslim himself.

Irony is that the Indian news report only mentioned discrimination against Hindus but not the discrimination against Christians hence being discriminatory themselves.

What fake news? Lot of them have acknowledged a group that showed discrimination. Are you happy that it wasn’t government group or the fact that some groups are not being discriminatory?

Epic Fail.
According to Sanghi media, they refused to give supplies to people living in Rehri Goth.

But...
there were no Hindus living in Rehri Goth in the first place.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Day 10 <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> ration drive supporting struggling minorities in this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> pandemic. Ration was distributed amongst the Hindu & Christian communities in Karachi. Truly ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all!<br>Urging everyone <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a> & <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> to the cause! <a href="https://t.co/ljjvSzfDX4">pic.twitter.com/ljjvSzfDX4</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1244950113249898496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 31, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

A lot of talk about "saylani welfare trust" in this thread.

I looked them up. They are doing a great job to help the poor by whatever means they have. It seems to be headed by a Mooooooolvi

Found an interesting press conference from 29 march

At 18:10 he makes an interesting comment.

They have different sources of money to help the poor. One such type is what is given to them as "Zakat", a religious donation which all resourceful Muslims have to give once a year.

According to him the help directly funded by "Zakat" can't be given to "Syeds" and non-Muslims. This is interesting because "Syeds" in Pakistan claim to be of noble heritage as descendants of Prophet Muhammad. He further explains that they help non-Muslims and in the past few days they have distributed raiton to non-Muslims without question just not from the source of "Zakat". He also says that since 2.5 years his organization is supporting hindu kids from Thar who come to them for help.

I am not a religious scholar so I don't know how much validity his claim has that "Zakat" donation can't be given to syeds and non-Muslim but they have their system in place. It's not as simple as just discrimination against non-Muslims since "syed" Muslim "noblemen" are also effected by the same principle.

Now these are the jahil Moooolvis of course with their wierd system. Looking for secularists and liberalists in Pakistan to show same amount of dedication as these guys who shall help every poor of the society irrespective of their creed.

Fake news of ANI that claimed Hindus of Rehri Goth were discriminated against when the reality is that there are no Hindus who live in Rehri Goth.
Fake news that is the OP of this thread.
Seriously dense individuals on these forums nowadays.

Man I am so angry and furious right now at those lame, spineless, fake and hateful Indians how want to bow seeds of confusion and division among not only peaceful Indians and Pakistani but also between Pakistanis themselves. And that two when both nations are confronted with a serious threat.

I found the source of the original video which was presented as an "evidence". Let's see the complete video:

This is what the description reads:

جے ڈی سی فاؤنڈیشن اور ایدھی فاؤنڈیشن کی جانب سے متاثریں لاک ڈاؤن کے لئے 3 گاڑی خشک راشن و آٹا ہولی ٹرینیٹی کتھیڈرل صدر کراچی میں پادری شاہد انور صاحب و بشپ صادق ڈینیل صاحب بشپ آف کراچی /بلوچستان ڈاہوسیس چرچ آف پاکستان کے حوالے کر دیا گیا ساتھ ہی JDC بلا تفریق رنگ و نسل ضرورتمندوں کے گھر گھر راشن بھی پہنچانے کی پوری کوشش جاری رکھے ہوے ہے

Rough translation: JDC foundation together with Edhi foundation have reached out to those effected by the lockdown. Three Ambulances filled with ration have been handed over to the president of Trinity Cathedral Karachi Pastor Shahid Anwar and Bishop Sadiq Danial who is Bishop of Karachi/Balochistan. Without discriminating against color and creed these ration will be distributed among the needy.

It is a heartening video to see people getting organized and helping each other. In the video you also hear about Christian community giving gifts during Ramadan to the local Muslim Community. JDC and the Church seemed to have been coordinating with each other in the past. You can't tell they had to do this because Saylani Welfare Trust refused to do so.

Yes, the pastor voiced his concern over an sad incident he saw but he wasn't beaten down by the Muslim interviewer. In fact it even shows the tolerance by JDC people that they didn't cut out that part from the video and let his concern be heard. There are bound to be some ignorant people. But the bigger picture is still there. People helping each other regardless of creed and color.

A video which was supposed to show the unity of different communities playing their role in helping the needy has been misused for cheap propaganda to create hate at dire times. Shame on all those involved.

Check out their channel, they are doing amazing work in Karachi and need to be promoted by the media. Though they need to pay more attention to keeping their mask on and not take it off.

You were spot on. This is exactly what I found out after looking into this:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...ed-rations-in-Karachi&p=10714809#post10714809

Ok, so indian media is spineless but what about international media.
There is a website persecution.org for international christian concern and it has clearly stated that there were acts of discrimination against hindu and christian communities in pakistan where this charity was serving ration based on religion .
You can easily search for that on google. So please help yourselves, i just thought that if indian media is so spineless then why not try other mediums but the issue remains the same.

There is a website persecution.org for international christian concern and it has clearly stated that there were acts of discrimination against hindu and christian communities in pakistan where this charity was serving ration based on religion .
You can easily search for that on google. So please help yourselves, i just thought that if indian media is so spineless then why not try other mediums but the issue remains the same.

There are two different stories in this thread.
The story in the OP is the one reported by ANI which is completely fabricated.
The full facts surrounding the second story are also detailed above especially by [MENTION=144682]Sirris[/MENTION]

Didn't someone wrote the difference between zakat and that's why they were giving it to muslims only

A lot of talk about "saylani welfare trust" in this thread.

I looked them up. They are doing a great job to help the poor by whatever means they have. It seems to be headed by a Mooooooolvi

Found an interesting press conference from 29 march

At 18:10 he makes an interesting comment.

They have different sources of money to help the poor. One such type is what is given to them as "Zakat", a religious donation which all resourceful Muslims have to give once a year.

According to him the help directly funded by "Zakat" can't be given to "Syeds" and non-Muslims. This is interesting because "Syeds" in Pakistan claim to be of noble heritage as descendants of Prophet Muhammad. He further explains that they help non-Muslims and in the past few days they have distributed raiton to non-Muslims without question just not from the source of "Zakat". He also says that since 2.5 years his organization is supporting hindu kids from Thar who come to them for help.

I am not a religious scholar so I don't know how much validity his claim has that "Zakat" donation can't be given to syeds and non-Muslim but they have their system in place. It's not as simple as just discrimination against non-Muslims since "syed" Muslim "noblemen" are also effected by the same principle.

Now these are the jahil Moooolvis of course with their wierd system. Looking for secularists and liberalists in Pakistan to show same amount of dedication as these guys who shall help every poor of the society irrespective of their creed.

Zakat is not given to the Ahlulbayth this is established in the Sharia.

I’m truly sorry for the moderate Indians...

For those RSS members here I think when we use the word extreme it’s probably more to do with your extreme lack of intelligence then your political affiliation.

I’m truly sorry for the moderate Indians...

For those RSS members here I think when we use the word extreme it’s probably more to do with your extreme lack of intelligence then your political affiliation.

There is limited free speech in India in this regard.

I've seen many times where a moderate Indian says something in favour of Muslims and they get bombarded with hate. Not criticism but actual hate. Hundreds of messages where people call the moderate Indian abusive words.

So the moderate Indian stops supporting their cause coz they know how the public will respond

Zakat is not given to the Ahlulbayth this is established in the Sharia.

Thanks for the clarification.

For those who don't know, Ahl-ul-bayth means the descendants from the family of Prophet Muhammad.

To sum it up for all the slow learners the charity accused of discrimination in that tweet with a video clip is a private charity headed by a Maulana Sahab with no links to government. Their policy can't be seen as the government's offical policy. They have history of charity work in Thar one of the most neglected area with a hindu majority. In the press conference Maulana Sahab said they are helping everyone Muslims or non-Muslims. Though no official statement has been realized by the organization over this social media drama and they most likely have better things at hands to worry about.

The most likely explanation of the incident reported is that the charity distributed at that point was funded by "Zakat" donation. Which has the ruling that it can't be given to non-Muslims nor to the descendants of Prophet Muhammad. For them the legitimate source of charity according to Islamic law should be from "Sadaqa" funds. When Muslims makes a donation they differentiate between "Zakat" and "Sadaqa". Zakat is a fixed amount and obligatory while Sadaqa has no fixed amount and is voluntary.

Furthermore this incident and the small video clip provided as evidence for the Indian media report have nothing to do with one another. The Indian Media report has been debunked in OP.

Right now under difficult conditions many different charity organizations are doing their part in helping the poor and so far no charity has officially expressed the sentiment that their relief work is for Muslims only.

No one should try to play holy here. Pakistan is a third world country with a high rate of illiteracy. Discrimination against minoirtes and different groups is a reality and not something foreign. However at the time of crisis a lot of volunteers are doing highly respectable work to help the effected. Any cheap attempts to create unnecessary drama, spread misconceptions and to undermine their efforts needs to be exposed.

We love to make fun of ignorant Maulvis for their close mindedness and stubbornness. We also should at the same time be humble enough to recognize the endless efforts in charity by some Maulvis at the time of crisis.

super spreader swept under is it ?

Do you know whats the beauty of this universe, nothing lasts for long, neither the virus, nor the blame.

Whatever goes up must come down and whatever is down will come up. From history the successful ones were the ones who treated the ones below with respect, because they understood the rule of the universe. So when times changed they were treated with respect

I've seen many times where a moderate Indian says something in favour of Muslims and they get bombarded with hate. Not criticism but actual hate. Hundreds of messages where people call the moderate Indian abusive words.

So the moderate Indian stops supporting their cause coz they know how the public will respond
I can very well relate with this.

How do you know?

Did you live in India? Did you atleast live in the sub continent?

Lol no one takes seriously statements of someone sitting in a certain “suburb” of England which is not exactly a hub for intellectual activity

You are basing this on your assumptions. I have a lot of biases too trust me and you may not enjoy them if I pass them of as facts as well but I won’t do that because I don’t pass off my generalizations as facts thanks to my education and upbringing.

You have done that many times and been caught with your pants down as a result running away with your tail between your legs.
Seriously, what is this obsession with intelligence, education etc that you need to highlight in your posts to somehow add validation to them??

The pathetic Indian media trying to sling mud at a welfare organization

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A lot of negative propaganda being thrown up on Seylani Welfare Trust<br><br>In this crisis they are doing a spectacular & selfless job of delivering food & ration to the poor<br><br>But propaganda that they are refusing to give ration to Hindu community is BASELESS & FALSE <a href="https://t.co/LMlACDdkrV">pic.twitter.com/LMlACDdkrV</a></p>— Awab Alvi (@DrAwab) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrAwab/status/1245321614167879680?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

They will be best served to worry about their own country which is down in the dumps currently.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">A lot of negative propaganda being thrown up on Seylani Welfare Trust<br><br>In this crisis they are doing a spectacular & selfless job of delivering food & ration to the poor<br><br>But propaganda that they are refusing to give ration to Hindu community is BASELESS & FALSE <a href="https://t.co/LMlACDdkrV">pic.twitter.com/LMlACDdkrV</a></p>— Awab Alvi (@DrAwab) <a href="https://twitter.com/DrAwab/status/1245321614167879680?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 1, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

They will be best served to worry about their own country which is down in the dumps currently.

Since they put out a tweet after 2 days after a backlash confirming it never happened, I think that is good enough for me to believe this never happened. Indian media should apologize for this 2 days from now as well.

Unlike the Indian Media, they actually have a valuable job to do.

They can't waste their valuable time where they can donate to poor people by replying to Sanghi media.

Unlike the Indian Media, they actually have a valuable job to do.

They can't waste their valuable time where they can donate to poor people by replying to Sanghi media.

Well apparently they were compelled to do that in this case

It should be a top priority to investigate hate spreading and misleading social media rumors. Unfortunately they simply aren't as ignorable as you believe them to be. Case in point: popular Indian politician seem to take such rumors as established facts.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">He obviously has no work assigned to him as PM by the Pak military and ISI except to bad mouth India. The treatment of Hindus and Sikhs today in Pakistan especially denying them food is one step away from genocide</p>— Subramanian Swamy (@Swamy39) <a href="https://twitter.com/Swamy39/status/1245949916641255426?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">April 3, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Popular Indian politican said:
The treatment of Hindus and Sikhs today in Pakistan especially denying them food is one step away from genocide

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Day 10 <a href="https://twitter.com/SAFoundationN?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@SAFoundationN</a> ration drive supporting struggling minorities in this <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Covid19?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Covid19</a> pandemic. Ration was distributed amongst the Hindu & Christian communities in Karachi. Truly ensuring <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/HopeNotOut?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#HopeNotOut</a> for all!<br>Urging everyone <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Stayhometosavelives?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Stayhometosavelives</a> & <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/DonateKaroNa?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#DonateKaroNa</a> to the cause! <a href="https://t.co/ljjvSzfDX4">pic.twitter.com/ljjvSzfDX4</a></p>— Shahid Afridi (@SAfridiOfficial) <a href="https://twitter.com/SAfridiOfficial/status/1244950113249898496?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">March 31, 2020</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Man I am so angry and furious right now at those lame, spineless, fake and hateful Indians how want to bow seeds of confusion and division among not only peaceful Indians and Pakistani but also between Pakistanis themselves. And that two when both nations are confronted with a serious threat.

I found the source of the original video which was presented as an "evidence". Let's see the complete video:

This is what the description reads:

جے ڈی سی فاؤنڈیشن اور ایدھی فاؤنڈیشن کی جانب سے متاثریں لاک ڈاؤن کے لئے 3 گاڑی خشک راشن و آٹا ہولی ٹرینیٹی کتھیڈرل صدر کراچی میں پادری شاہد انور صاحب و بشپ صادق ڈینیل صاحب بشپ آف کراچی /بلوچستان ڈاہوسیس چرچ آف پاکستان کے حوالے کر دیا گیا ساتھ ہی JDC بلا تفریق رنگ و نسل ضرورتمندوں کے گھر گھر راشن بھی پہنچانے کی پوری کوشش جاری رکھے ہوے ہے

Rough translation: JDC foundation together with Edhi foundation have reached out to those effected by the lockdown. Three Ambulances filled with ration have been handed over to the president of Trinity Cathedral Karachi Pastor Shahid Anwar and Bishop Sadiq Danial who is Bishop of Karachi/Balochistan. Without discriminating against color and creed these ration will be distributed among the needy.

It is a heartening video to see people getting organized and helping each other. In the video you also hear about Christian community giving gifts during Ramadan to the local Muslim Community. JDC and the Church seemed to have been coordinating with each other in the past. You can't tell they had to do this because Saylani Welfare Trust refused to do so.

Yes, the pastor voiced his concern over an sad incident he saw but he wasn't beaten down by the Muslim interviewer. In fact it even shows the tolerance by JDC people that they didn't cut out that part from the video and let his concern be heard. There are bound to be some ignorant people. But the bigger picture is still there. People helping each other regardless of creed and color.

A video which was supposed to show the unity of different communities playing their role in helping the needy has been misused for cheap propaganda to create hate at dire times. Shame on all those involved.

Check out their channel, they are doing amazing work in Karachi and need to be promoted by the media. Though they need to pay more attention to keeping their mask on and not take it off.

So Mr. Rajdeep...can you stop spreading hate and propaganda against Pakistan? You posted a tweet that showed you a video which I quoted in this post, kindly please check it out completely. In Pakistan when we give Sadqa to the poor, we don't differentiate between Hindu, Sikh and Muslim. That only happens in India as shown by your bigoted leadership. So can you apologize to everyone for spreading hatred and propaganda on Pakpassion.

Pakistan isn't a rich state.

A poor and a neglected person is poor and neglected regardless of their religion. Many poor Muslim families in Pakistan have to go to bed hungry everyday.

Right now I am glad to see welfare organizations in Pakistan, many of which are run privately by Mooooooolvis are reaching out to help poor people regardless of their creed.

However the sad reality is that despite their best efforts not all needy people can be reached especially due to limited ressources and the semi-curfew type situation. So I fully expect the cheap hatred spewing people to continue looking for a loophole until they finally come up with a sensational story where they manage to identify a couple of neglected hindu villages in Pakistan.

My advice for them is that instead of wasting ressources to find such a story they can perhaps gather their resources to help the neglected Hindus in Pakistan if they have such strong concerns for their brothers across the border.