Offical DISCUSSION thread - Aus v Pak ODI(1st final) [3/02/05]

Amjid Javed

PakPassion's 100,000 posts man
games starts @ 0330am uk time.

Pakistan will go into finals as underdogs but will be carrying momentum of previous results with them into the finals.

The previous 2 occasions where Pak and Aus have clashed in finals, Aus have won both series 2-0

However pakistans greatest ODI moment cane in Australia when they won the world cup in 1992.

Pakistan always seem to collapse under pressure in finals with Australia, inshallah this time round pakistan will stand up and fight.

Please place all pre-during-after match discussion on here please

|-E thanks

can it be anyone who starts the official discussion thread for matches?

cuz i would like to start it sometime as well

|-G yeah, i got a new siganture also!

Done Well Aj, old id was running out of reputation :-D :-D . If Rana is going to play today ?

i got a felling azhar will play instead of khalil or rao.

i hope not... but just got sad gut feeling!

haven't seen noddy bhai post here for ages.

I'd go with the same team from the last game.

Latest weather forcast is 60% chance of rain but with sunny intervals so hopefully we can get a good game in.

They may keep the leftie Khalil and the axe may fall on the unlucky Rao. But Rao has done very poorly against Australia so far, while Azhar has been mediocre in his few chances.

:eek:D maybe azhars given birth now so wont be tied down with extra weight!

I hope the rain stays away. Inshallah we will get a game

Gilli and Clark ?-a Rao.

But who will we replace him with???

Hafeez 3 dimensional superstar?
Azzhar PWP (playing while pregnant)??

The point is we should have brang some other bowling options-- esp when Shoaib got hurt, another specialist bowler should have been sent.

I just feel that Pak management never cared about sending the best squad for the VB series. Games against ozz are not the best time to experiment with new bowlers (experimentation should be left to playing agaisnt minnows like the bhindians |-U )

like all champion teams, expect the Aussies to bounce back hard. They are wounded by that defeat and will be eager to get revenge against Pak.

Despite him struggling to make the scales I would play Azhar instead of Rao.

VB-Series first final today
Pakistan can achieve the impossible

BY NABEEL SABIR
Pakistan cricket team will take on Australia in the first of the best-of-three finals of the VB Series today at the Melbourne Cricket Ground (MCG). The team led by Inzamam which has come under some harsh criticism on this tough tour of Australia have really played well in the last week or so and deserved to be in the final. And as West Indian captain Brian Lara said that Pakistan have the ability to beat Australia in the finals to take the title.
Pakistan is one of only three teams other than Australia who have won this World Series competition in Australia. They did it in 1996-97 while the other teams are West Indies and England who have won this tournament which started in late 1970's. Both Australia and Pakistan have been playing good cricket and in case of Pakistan they will enter the finals with confidence high and having peaked at the right time.
It has been raining in Melbourne for the last few days but the ground staff sees no problem due to that weather permitting. The new drainage system that was laid down as part of the refurbishment of the MCG has played its part and the ground is in ideal conditions.
But still the team winning the toss should look to insert the opposition in as some sideways movement will be expected as the pitch will have some moisture in it. This will help Pakistan as of late they have been very successful in chasing targets, which astonishingly only a year or so back, used to be their bane. In this regard credit should go to skipper Inzamam who has been able to instill this into the team that no matter how tough the target may be you can chase it. The wonderful run chase at Perth against Australia was a case in point where despite losing wickets Pakistan team didn't give up and came out victorious against a top notch Australian bowling line.
One certainly feels that the Pakistan team deserved a better deal than what they are getting for their performance in Australia. We should keep in mind that we had meagre resources as far as our players were concerned yet we gave Australia a run for their money in the Test matches. If we call ourselves the most self-critical people it wont be wrong. We just simply don't let any opportunity go by to bash our players. One would like to ask how many teams in the world have been able to stop the Australians at full strength in their own backyard. And we have at least given some good performance.
Coming back to the finals, it has to be accepted that skipper Inzamam against whose captaincy all sorts of questions are being raised, has done a fine job and has played a vital role in Pakistan's qualification for the final. Not only the big man has batted well - leading from the front but he has also captained the side well. The bowling resources have been very thin but Inzi has really managed them well for the team's best advantage and tactically to his maneuvering and field placing have been top notch.
The other theory of his - of preserving wickets early on and then going for a blast in the final overs - is the right thing to do in places like Australia where you don't get the liberty to score freely early on as is the case in the sub-continent. And surely he has hit the nail on the head here.
For the finals, Pakistan team should look at bowling more tightly against Australia as they are a much more stronger batting side than the West Indies. A lot will depend on Rana Naveed and how he bowls after the sad demise of his father. It would be tough. The other bowlers should look and support him well. The fielding will have to improve a lot. Simple and straightforward catches are being dropped which can cost dearly against any team let alone Australia.
The other thing, which has to be sorted out, is the batting order. One feels that Kamran Akmal opening the batting isn't the right choice. Yes, he has made a century at this position but he has been looking out of sorts off late.
Yasir Hameed should open with Butt and Shoaib Malik should come at number three where he had so much success but hasn't batted at during this tournament.
While Kamran should go down to number eight. In this way, we are wasting Malik who had to bat at number eight against West Indies and at number five against Australia.
Thus all in all, it won't be as one sided as it was expected early on. The finals will be a much closer contest. Pakistan need to play to their potential while doing the basics right. They have the ability to beat Australia and achieve the impossible, which will be a big relief and morale booster after not so good results in Tests and for the upcoming Australian tour.

Inshallah we'll win 2nite... and then take the trophy home as a soveneir for the teams only real player ie the kotha...

Pakistan should seize the opportunity

BY ZAFAR SAMDANI
What chance Pakistan stands to win the first of three VB series finals against Australia today? Plenty. At least judging from the manner in which the team gelled together in the last two matches.
That the team has also gained a psychological edge over the opponents is to be seen in a self-reassuring statement from ace pace-man McGrath maintaining that Australia would be favorites to win. This is an expression of nerves and uncertainty not seen in the mighty Aussies for at least half a decade if not a longer period of time.
Australia was almost defeated by West Indies during the tri-nation tournament but rain saved it from a second embarrassment; the first was in the Champions Trophy in London last year when the West Indians took the honour from it. The VB series performance against the West Indies exposed their limitations. Pakistan drove that point to the hilt by comprehensive success over the celebrated home team.
Brain Lara has tried to lend a helping hand by assessing that Pakistan has the ability to defeat the Australians. The problem of continuously failing but previously prolific opener Hayden has become an additional chink in the Aussie armor. This is so not because he has been getting out for low to no scores but because Shoaib Akhtar humbled him in the Test series. His loss of confidence has been fully exploited by the rookie Pakistani attack.
All of a sudden, the visitor's weak bowling has growing in to an area of advantage for the tourist. The relatively inexperienced Rana Naveed seems to have inspired his even greener colleagues, Mohammad Khalil and Rao Iftikhar. Both of them bowled well against Australia.
It is to be assumed that Abdur Razzak would not be lacklustre again. That makes them an excellent foursome. With Shahid Afridi displaying growing confidence and acumen, the attack has started developing lethalness.
But the managers of the touring squad need to rethink the playing eleven. The thinking of the captain, Inzamamul Haq that wickets should be retained to launch an attack in the later part of the innings has weight but that should not mean a crawl at the start.
With Salman Butt needing to re-assert himself, the team could do with a more authentic partner for him than Kamran Akmal who should prove a better batsman low down, possibly like Afridi and Abdur Razzak who have become more reliable than they were while playing at higher position. They have come to be feared by opponents and Akmal can also be groomed for a similar role.
The pace quartet plus Afridi are an excellent attack but there would be no harm in beefing up bowling. There are two options: Azhar Mehmood and Mohammad Hafeez. The former would be more of the same in the presence of four medium pacers; the off spin of Hafeez could add variety to the attack.
He would come in handy if one of the bowlers gets a hiding. Moreover, he can be batted as opener or one drop. A playing eleven composed along these lines would give the Aussies a harder run for their money, particularly as Hafeez performed reasonably well as batsman in his last outing. Yasir Hameed should be persisted with.
As the two main batsmen of the side Inzamam and Yousuf Youhana have hit mid season form, the batting that was a plus point of the team even in the Test series that inflicted a white-wash on the visitors, followed by Abdur Razzak, Afridi and Akmal, with Rana gaining confidence as batsman too, there is every reason to expect the players to produce a tough target for Australia or chase a challenging one. With the boys bristling with confidence and zeal in the field, Pakistan has started looking like a difficult-to-beat outfit with winning combinations.
The team seems to have faulted in one way. This has been so possibly because the players are not fully versed in the ways of the world and Bob Woolmer and Haroon Rashid failed to provide them guidance. They should have worn black armbands after the death of Younis Khan's father.
As Chairman Pakistan Cricket Board, experienced diplomat Shaharyar Khan is now with the team, one hopes they do that now to show solidarity with colleague Rana Naveed's grief whose father passed away the other day. His courage in staying with the team instead of returning home for mourning should also be acknowledged.

interesting to read McGrath stating that he thought this was a bad time for the Aussies to be playing Pakistan. Perhaps a bit of reverse psychology ?

weather update (YAHOO)
Today: Showers this morning becoming a steady light rain during the afternoon hours. High 67F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 60%.

Tonight: Steady light rain this evening. Showers continuing overnight. Low 58F. Winds light and variable. Chance of rain 60%.

Hafeez in for Yasir!

Toss will be vital in today’s match, says skipper Inzamam

By Waheed Khan

KARACHI: Pakistan captain Inzamam-ul-Haq said on the eve of the first VB series one-day final against Australia on Thursday that the toss is going to be vital because of persistent rains in Melbourne.

"Look, it has been raining heavily here for the last two days and we have not been able to see the pitch as yet since it has been covered. In such circumstances I think the toss will be vital for both teams. Because you don’t know how the pitch is going to behave in these circumstances," Inzamam said on telephone.

He also confirmed that there would be just one change in the Pakistan line-up for the first final with Muhammad Hafeez replacing Yasir Hameed.

"We have been forced to make this change because it is very risky going into a game against Australia with just five bowlers. So we require someone who can bowl a few overs properly which is why we are going to play Hafeez," he explained.

Inzamam said that Australia naturally started off as favourites in the best-of-three finals but said he had confidence in his team as it had performed well under pressure in the last two matches.

"Obviously, myself and Yousuf (Youhana) have vital roles to play as senior batsmen. But we have got this far because of a concerted team effort and that is going to be our strength in the finals."

Inzamam said in the last few days he had been telling his players to be wary of the Australians who had the capability of bouncing back in the crunch and big matches.

The Pakistan skipper said he was happy that finally the team had adjusted to the Australian playing conditions and felt it was a good idea to have long tours instead of back to back matches which is the normal procedure these days.

"On such long tours the younger players get time to adjust and show their true worth," he added.

Recalling his hearing with match referee Chris Broad which led to a 100 % match fee fine on him for slow over-rates, Inzamam said he had gone to the meeting with a heavy heart.

"To be honest I was very scared that I was going to be banned for the finals. But when the match referee announced the fine I heaved a sigh of relief and thanked God because money is nothing but missing out on the finals would have been a disaster for me and the team."

Pakistan Zindabad!!! all those at the MCG will live to remember, that this ground is a spiritual home for Pakistan Cricket, 1992 world cup, and now 1st VB final!!! (okay, we have lost there as well, but it's the wins that count, init??? ;-))

hmmm ... Hafeez did do quite well in his last game with the bat. it would make sense if Malik plays at 3, and Hafeez takes his spot? No point playing Malik if he won't be at the top of the order. Then again, if the top order does click, with Malik, Afridi and Razzaq, the lower order becomes even more explosive ... dammit just let Malik bowl so that we can settle our lineup and play that extra batsman!!!!

I think this is how it happened:
cam1_webcam.jpg

Well done rana.[/url]

Ponting was out LBW - but unfortunately we have an ozzy umpire- SHAMELESS !!!!

razzaq makes up for the drop earlier!!

what a catch to get gilchrist!!!!1

I jus feel soooooo sorry for rana whenever i see him on screen ... i dont why but i do

rao bowls ponting !!!!

excellant bowling from rao today!!

ok, i have a bad feeling lads, symonds is going to play his usual superman innings against us.

As for Rao i am so happy for the boy, the unluckiest bowler i have EVER seen.

OZZY OZZY OZZY

WHERE WHERE WHERE??

i jus hope they keep the pressure up i dont want synmond makin runs

I dont kno why do v have to have 2 diff threads one for discusion and another one for official score both at the end in discusion wont it be betta to have one.

i agree badxshah
its quite silly to have two of em

its just a pp thing
in my mind u can update the score n do the discussion but they want the sone for serious detailed posts

coz we r pakis, everything is complex to us, and if it aint complex we make it complex

khalil bowling a line which would be ideal to
LH batsmen not Rh who are milkin him

Synmond Dangerous

khalil getting killed!!

Bring in 3 dimensional super star Hafeez

|-U |-U |-U

yaar both were clean out form afridi, hawk eye showing both going on to hit the stumes, the second shout was plumb!

man i hate this umpiring fiasco
these aussies cheating us off ne momentum

Rana might want to take up some American Football, Just rugby tackled khalil.

Bloody comical, but i like the enthusiasm!

lmao, "the Afridi" just said to yoyo after his fielding, "BOHAT ALAA KAKA"!

lol class!

Wth is goin on here they were both out and they even didnt bother to comment on them ..

i wana swear here... i cant stand mark nicolas .......

they are praisin synmond come on comment on the lucky break both of them got crap

This partnership has to break asap. This is looking very dangerous. Hit the stumps if pads do not work.

Symonds has done the damage, it can only get worst from here. Only a fortunate incident can save us now.