Compared to Pakistanis living in Pakistan who acknowledge that they are not patriotic, overseas Pakistanis are still less patriotic.
If overseas Pakistanis were patriotic and actually loved Pakistan, they would come back instead of making excuses.
Their parents left in hard times and saw moving to the west as an opportunity to better their lives, but now they have enough assets and resources to return to Pakistan and live a comfortable life.
They can work in Pakistan, do business - all opportunities are available, but they are not interested because the perks and privileges of living in the first world overrides their so-called love and patriotism for Pakistan.
There is no absolutely nothing wrong it and it is actually the right thing to do, but at least this people should have the honesty to admit that their patriotism is limited to words only, and in reality, they don’t care about Pakistan.
Furthermore, their lack of patriotism can be demonstrated by the following: they are comfortable about the fact that their future generations, their bloodline, will have no attachment with Pakistan and no feelings for the country.
These first and second generation Pakistanis have something in their hearts for Pakistan because they were born in Pakistan or their parents did, but their children, grand children and future generations will have nothing to do with Pakistan.
They will not identify with the country and will not even care enough to visit once in a while. Pakistan will just be a country that their ancestors came from.
So this is the extent of their patriotism for Pakistan. Their love for their western passports is so great that they have no guilt about the fact that their future generations and bloodline will lose their Pakistani identity.
You are a decent human being you love your family, your friends that shows your character
You don't hate tham because they're poor or didn't provide you enough
Similar can be said for the country too if you have an affiliation you should love the country and care
And the constant complaining and solutions by you about Pakistan shows that you care
And that's patriotic too (that's why I said Nationalism is what's actually bad and detrimental to the country, Patriotism is Good cause that's you caring about the country, complaining about the problems offering solutions)
Your caring enough to offer solutions is patriotic in itself
Some people don't love or care for their families, friends I am not forcing tham to love them it's thier choice
But it's also my choice to judge a person's character based on that cause it shows a lot about the person
If you don't care about the place you were born in how loyal would you be to my company for example
Which perks and privilages?
My whole response was in the context of this by [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]I agree that caring for and loving your country is like caring for and loving your family members.
However, when you love someone, you also want to spend time with them and be around them.
You will be willing to forego a better job elsewhere just so that you can be with your loved ones. This is true love.
This is where the fake love of overseas Pakistanis gets exposed big time. They pretend that they love Pakistan, but they love their western passports even more, and that is why they are not interested in coming back to Pakistan and living in the country that they pretend to care about.
Quite often, certain family members, especially the parents that are still living in Pakistan, bear the brunt of their son(s) love for foreign passports.
Many overseas Pakistanis still have their old parents living in Pakistan with their sibling. They are not interesting in spending time with their old parents because their love for their passports is greater than their love for their parents.
They visit their parents once a year or even less frequently and they think they are caring for them and loving them by sending money or bringing some gifts.
I have a relative who is a doctor in the UK. He has been in the UK since the 80’s and his 88 year old mother lives with his elder brother in Pakistan.
He visits Pakistan for 2-3 weeks every year and brings expensive gifts for his mother and then does bhangra that he cares for and loves his mother a lot.
If you ask his mother, she would tell you that in the last phase of her life, she would rather spend time with her son and not with his gifts.
She doesn’t want to wave him goodbye after a 3 week vacation once a year with the fear that she may never seem him again.
This man can make as many tall claims as he wants, but the reality is that he doesn’t love his mother as much as he loves his UK passport and the standard of living that he enjoys in the UK.
My whole response was in the context of this by [MENTION=135038]Major[/MENTION]
"I also do not care about being Pakistani and would leave the country if I had a better opportunity."
And this by you
", I have said a dozen times that I am not patriotic"
Patriotism is love and care for the country nationalism is problematic
Better quality of life and standard of living in general. You cannot compare living in the first world with living in the third world.
This superior standard of living is the reason why these overseas Pakistanis are not interested in coming back regardless of how much they advertise their fake patriotism.
The funniest overseas Pakistanis (and I know a few like them) are the ones who downplay the standard of living in the west and claim that it is not as good as it seems, but when you ask them if that is the case why don’t they come back to Pakistan, they start looking the other way.
Once again, I am not patriotic. I admit it.
The difference between me and overseas Pakistanis is that we both lack patriotism but only one of us is willing to admit it.
I would have a far superior starndard of living if I moved to Pakistan, as it's much cheaper.
Please stop attacking overseas Pakistanis when you fully support the enemy nation India attacking Pakistan.
You've stated you love Pakistan too.
Which is it?
As someone who has been living in the middle east for the last decade, I visit Pakistan almost every month and still have a Pakistani passport. However, if I am being completely honest, it is not Pakistan that I am visiting. It is my parents. Sometimes I think about what will happen when my parents are no longer there (hope that time is far far away)? How often will I go to Pakistan? And I can come up with no reason for visiting in such a scenario.
Most of my old friends have either moved somewhere else or are no longer in touch so I dont really have a social circle in Pakistan. I can have a good standard of life in Pakistan but I already have a living standard I am satisfied with here. In fact sometimes when my parents come and live with me for a few months, I am perfectly satisfied with my life and dont even miss Pakistan. I still love everything Pakistani but at the end of the day you live where your loved ones are. Unless my family and loved ones are in Pakistan, love for the country is a very abstract idea for me. I dont even know if it means anything and if that makes me patriotic or unpatriotic.
My parents were planning to divide their time equally after retirement bw Pakistan and Canada/USA but my mom's terminal illness has changed everything dramatically. In fact my dad now is now thinking of doing away with all his assets, investments in Pakistan and just live in Canada, US in his old age because he knows that if he decides to go to live in Pakistan then I will not allow him to live there alone and will accompany him.
I myself question whether I will want to live in Pakistan alone once my parents are not around anymore. It will also depend on my new spouse, maybe she herself might not like the idea of living in Canada, US and will want to move to Pakistan because her entire family is there for one and second she might feel more comfortable raising the kids in Pakistan and having a better social circle there. I have seen many Pakistani young couples eventually move from the West to either the Middle East or back home to Pakistan for various reasons
Some people have a huge complex about being Pakistani or living there -that's their choice.
I am very happy to see plenty of Pakistanis who live abroad with warm feelings about the country they left or that of their forefathers.
Not just that but some of them have put poor kids through school, paid for medical treatments and have gone as far as setting up charity foundations which have built schools exclusively for the poor.
I feel there is a chip on shoulder issue.
If I was living in Pakistan and someone gave me constructive advice, I would be grateful to them.
We the real Pakistanis, i.e. those living in Pakistan and carrying only one passport reject constructive advice and lectures on patriotism from foreign passport holders.
You cannot be a patriot and show loyalty to Pakistan if you carry a foreign passport.
Born and Bought up in the United Arab Emirates with parents settled here in the late ’80s, it is really difficult to take that leap even though we have enough assets and resources to return.
Even though we are not citizens of the Emirates but we are not able to adapt the life in Pakistan (what it seems sitting on our couches). It is fantastic as a getaway to spend those Dirhams in Pakistan left and right but to practically generate income and run the kitchen seems a very hefty task to us.
Westernization has really hit Pakistan hard and it seems will never be able to fit in we refer to ourselves as “Yaha bhi pendu or waha bhi pendu” even when by the grace of Almighty we are having a decent lifestyle here in the Emirates but my reasoning to return is that all my life I have spent here in the UAE and built a business which is squeezing out of me everything I got just to breakeven by the end of the year.
The catch here is the fee and cost just to run a business for another year is so high that it has made me think that all those properties my parents have built over the years with their hard-earned money back in Pakistan are to be utilized. There are days where I sit with a calculator just start tapping in the numbers that my stay would be rent-free, I save AED 80,000.00 per year then I don’t need to pay every year's parking fee with all these calculations it seems living in Pakistan couldn’t be that hard.
We don’t have any active business set-up in Pakistan at moment and those incoming rents wouldn’t be able to get a family of 6 through the month. When we discuss our chances with people residing in Pakistan here are their typical replies;
• Pagal Hoye oye o
• Ithey tawanu loot ke kha jana
• Tuwade vaas da kam nahi
• Halaat bhut kharab hain
• 10 saal pehle andey tey sahi si
Generally, my observation has been that in Pakistan work is never primary it is a very sad state. Everywhere around the globe, the grind is never-ending but in Pakistan, 2 Hour job is handed over in 2 days with snags. Retail businesses open early in the afternoon and have no regards to customer service especially in Lahore.
I plan to initially move to Pakistan and set up a fit-out contracting firm and once I feel I am settling in let my family move back. It is just that my parents have done their bit and all of their children completed education and are generating enough income to support their respected families. What better place to have a retirement life than Pakistan with the perks of having domestic help for everything and mostly the peace of mind of not renewing tenancy contracts, insurances, trade permits, visas, and much more...
So you will have a far superior standard of living if you moved to Pakistan and you will always be willing to return to Pakistan and fight India in a war like John Rambo, but yet you are still living in England.
What is stopping you from coming back to Pakistan?
This is why I keep saying that the patriotism of overseas Pakistanis is fake. They can only talk but when you ask them to do something practical, they start making excuses.
Friends , family and im going to travel the world first. I visit Pakistan every year to 18 months.
The point is simple, you have no credibility to judge anyone when you side with the enemy. Stop it now, its becoming hillarious.![]()
I agree it is getting hilarious. Do you know why?
You claim that you can enjoy a higher standard of living in Pakistan than you do in the UK.
You also claim that if Pakistan army ever needs your services to fight India, you would hop on the plane in no time and fight the Indian soldiers ala John Rambo.
You also said that you are ready to die in battle for Pakistan.
And yet, and yet, you refuse to come and live in Pakistan for good and are only interesting in treating Pakistan, the country that you are apparently willing to die for, as a holiday destination.)
You love your UK passport so much that you don’t even want to live in the country that you are willing to die for.
I agree it is hilarious.
I would also fight for the UK if invaded by another nation. You need to look up what dual nationality means.
Its hillarous as what you demand of others is the opposite of you what feel yourself. You want to be Sanjay Dutt and fight for India if they invade Pakistan. You still believe you have credibilty to lecture others lol
Pakistan’s decision to allow dual passports has saved overseas Pakistanis a lot of embarrassment.
If Pakistan reverses this decision, a lot of overseas Pakistanis who fake patriotism for Pakistan will get exposed. They, including you, will give up their Pakistani passports to keep their western passports.
You can have dual passports but you cannot live in two countries at the same time.
Considering how you have made England as your base country and treat Pakistan like a holiday destination, you value your UK passport more than your Pakistani passport.
So please don’t give lectures on patriotism for Pakistan because you don’t know the first thing about it.
You might sing “God Save the Queen” and fight for the UK if it gets invaded, but you will never come and fight for Pakistan in a million years.
First come and live in Pakistan before signaling your intentions of fighting and dying for Pakistan.
We the real Pakistanis, i.e. those living in Pakistan and carrying only one passport reject constructive advice and lectures on patriotism from foreign passport holders.
You cannot be a patriot and show loyalty to Pakistan if you carry a foreign passport.
You claim that you can enjoy a higher standard of living in Pakistan than you do in the UK.
You also claim that if Pakistan army ever needs your services to fight India, you would hop on the plane in no time and fight the Indian soldiers ala John Rambo.
And yet, and yet, you refuse to come and live in Pakistan for good and are only interesting in treating Pakistan, the country that you are apparently willing to die for, as a holiday destination.)
You love your UK passport so much that you don’t even want to live in the country that you are willing to die for.
I agree it is hilarious.
Maybe just making fool of you lolBut those non loyal and non patriotic Pakistanis living in the likes of UK are the ones that Pakistan usually runs to for funds/donations etc.
If they are not patriotic and not loyal, why take their money.
I would have a far superior starndard of living if I moved to Pakistan, as it's much cheaper.
Please stop attacking overseas Pakistanis when you fully support the enemy nation India attacking Pakistan.
The worrying aspect really is that more people want to get out of Pakistan than want to stay there.
Also I feel that corruption is one of the biggest things that puts people off from going back and living in Pakistan.
Lol you will have superior standard of living in Pakistan? Do you live in council housing / projects right now?
How will you have better standard of living in Pakistan.
Set up your own power plant to give 24 hrs uninterrupted power supply? Clean the air yourself? set up desalination plants for clear drinking water from the taps? What about the cleanliness on the roads? Will you fix the infrastructure and bridges which will improve commute experience? lay hi tech underground fiber for 5G internet?
Your talk just makes me laugh lol
No I dont.
Try using some common sense. Properties are cheaper, labour is cheaper ie, maids, drivers.
lol at roads... Heard of SUV's?
lol @ power... Heard of genarators?
lol@ clean air. Heard of village life?
Yea so you have to go inconvenience of getting generators, buying expensive SUVs and to top it off also move to some village (which would have so many other infrastructure issues) to make your statements come true.
Lol some superior standard of living that must be… Your reply clearly exposes that you haven’t done any real research and just gave a throwaway line about ‘superior standard of living”
Unless you are on the dole and living in council housing, this lifestyle is def not a better standard of living lol. And even then it’s debatable. Why are so many British Pakistanis on the dole and have terrible financial standing yet choose to live there?
lol. I prefer the village life but if not I live in ISB, its air is fine, in fact cleaner than Birmingham in the UK.
It may be inconvience or expensive to you.
So many? What are the percentage of Brit Paks on the dole? Btw we dont have the dole here anymore. You're telling me do research lol.
Yea so you have to go inconvenience of getting generators, buying expensive SUVs and to top it off also move to some village (which would have so many other infrastructure issues) to make your statements come true.
Lol some superior standard of living that must be… Your reply clearly exposes that you haven’t done any real research and just gave a throwaway line about ‘superior standard of living”
Unless you are on the dole and living in council housing, this lifestyle is def not a better standard of living lol. And even then it’s debatable. Why are so many British Pakistanis on the dole and have terrible financial standing yet choose to live there?
Non resident Indians and Pakistanis generally tend to be very patriotic on social media. I'm not saying it's fake but it's a natural phenomenon that happens as they grow or live in an environment away from their country or the country of their parents. So the romanticism of nostalgia starts to kick in.
In practical life though, nobody in his sane mind would ditch a life in a first world country and move to a third world country, unless they have a pressing reason to do so due to family reasons or having assets in the country. In fact, most people in the subcontinent would not wait to get the heck out of their respective countries and move to a first world country if they had the opportunity to do so. Of course, one can pontificate endlessly on social media that he would move to the subcontinent if it's more developed/corruption free like the west/has better conditions for living, but if the subcontinent had all these qualities, it would become like the west and people of other nationalities would start moving to the subcontinent, forget about non resident Indians and Pakistanis. But in reality, everyone will always choose to live in a country with a better quality of living than worse.
Dont people in subcontinent who live in the upper middle class have a good lifestyle? If you save money in the west and then go back home and live in the upper middle class why is it so bad? One can argue you would have a higher living standard in the upper class in the subcontinent than in the middle class in the west. You can easily afford maids, drivers, cooks, etc, which is almost impossible in the west unless you are part of the 1%.
I would agree though that people dont move back out of patriotism.
If this was true, every desi who lives and works in the west would move back to the subcontinent after a few years. Clearly this doesn't happen.
You cant save enough money in a few years to live in a posh area in the subcontinent, especially if you were from the middle class.
We pay alot of tax here, not to mention our own living expenses, money spent on vacations, etc.
If I want to move to a posh area in Karachi and buy a 1 Kanal house, I will need at minimum 8 crore. Most likely much more. Then their is the question of having enough money saved to pay my living expenses, take vacations, etc. I dont know what kind of job, or if any job, I would get there, so in the ideal situation I would have enough money saved that I dont need to work.
It will take me 15 - 20 years to be financially comfortable enough to go back to Pakistan. I am sure many other desis feel the same way in the financial regard. And when they have money they have children who have been assimilated into western life, dont want to go back to a country where their parents are from.
Usually people talk about going back home when its fresh in their memories and at early stages in migration, after a few generations this talk dies down.
How many of the Americans, who are children of European immigrants care about where there grand fathers came from?
Same with the Chinese, the families of the early immigrants to all those china towns around the world, hardly care about going back to China.
The Indian immigrants to Africa left because they were kicked out.
The Africans who were sold and forced into slavery to America are still there, or there children are and going back to Africa is the last thing on their minds.
Its one of the great things about immigration, after many years we wernt be calling pakistan home, sending money back or supporting Pakistan in cricket, especially against England, this will be home and every link with Pakistan will be broken. Its just a natural process, and the immigration take over has already happened in the UK, with Curry now being our national dish.
Not quite the same.
Third and fourth generation British Pakistanis are still supporting Pakistan in cricket.
However even second generation Europeans in the US are fully integrated and have little links to their parents home
Not quite the same.
Third and fourth generation British Pakistanis are still supporting Pakistan in cricket.
However even second generation Europeans in the US are fully integrated and have little links to their parents home
Because they took over the USA, they adjusted very quickly, became the dominant power with the natives falling under them.
For brit pakistanis it wil take more time, because there mixing in with other races, but in 50 years i see europe being overtaken by immigrants who call it home and have broken linkages to there native countries. Just like the whites in america.
Its not long now, till Eid becomes a national holiday in the UK,
I agree it is hilarious.
No we dont.
has your opinion changed now? Because you were the one who said lets make sure that the rupee is 250-300 against the dollar.
You want Pakistan to suffer if Imran isnt the PM
and what does that mean what we make of our country?
Overseas Pakistanis looked down upon local Pakistanis.
Now overseas Pakistani's want local Pakistani's to vote for PTI so that Imran Khan could be PM. Now in order to make Imran Khan PM we had to vote for Amir Liaqut.
Now, the local awaam ends up electing Amir liaqut for assembly. Isn't that what the Overseas Pakistani's wanted? So why blame the locals when they did exactly what you guys wanted.
Yet you lot blame because you dont understand the politics here.
Since I was mentioned in the thread bump, I would say I have a desire to come back to Pakistan one day, once I am financially able to do so. As in maintain the lifestyle I enjoy now.
I am targeting roughly 20 more years, and then I can retire in Pakistan.
I would also add that many of the resident Pakistanis in this forum are from the upper middle class/elite of society. They enjoy a lifestyle that is better than most overseas Pakistanis. They are not leaving Pakistan out of any patriotism, but because they are already well set in Pakistan.
So have overseas champions booked their flights to fight alongside their cult leader?
Or will they continue to offer armchair support?
Pakistan are at the mercy of foreign support, don’t bite the hand that feeds you.
sorry but you are wrong here.
Many of us that live here are not from upper class. Plus, many of that are living here are living cause of parents, not having money to move, or knowing how to move in a legal way.
Resident Paistanis dont enjoy a better lifestyle. It is hard enough to get a decent paying job. Their arnt even jobs here. The salary that people get are not enough to survive aswell.
So Major wants to leave Pakistan now after IK is no longer at the helm.
Looks like the fear is kicking in. Typical, supports corruption and like corrupt money, wants to find a route to foreign land.
You couldn't make it up.![]()
i will advice you to go back 1-2 pages and you will find my post that says i would love to leave the country if I had the opportunity and i said that during Imrans govt.
You can spin it how you want.
Still the irony is laughable. You want to become an overseas Pakistani.)
Indian embassy still your mobile number.
Why would i want to emigrate to any enemy state? Do i look like a Palestine supporting Pakistani Brit to you?
Oh, and to bump a thread asking if overseas Pakistanis would move back to Pakistan while wanting to move out of Pakistan after IK is out!
I am in tears!)
Didn't you claim you lived in New Delhi?
There is a bit of India in every Pakistani: Zardari
lol. You've lived there. You've ate their dhal and made money while working for PPP. Perfect place or where else are you thinking? We dont need PPP supporters in the UK.
Didn't you claim you lived in New Delhi?
Overseas Pakistanis never came during Imrans time, I bumped to expose the hypocrisy of the fake patriots who were posting in other thread they wont move to the country every again, while in this thread they were never inclined to move back in the first place..
Atleast i am not like you says if Imran Khan is not the PM than Pakistan should suffer from hyper inflation. This coming from a guy who will never come back to the country.
Bhai tera leena dena kya ? Lol![]()
Overseas Pakistanis never came during Imrans time, I bumped to expose the hypocrisy of the fake patriots who were posting in other thread they wont move to the country every again, while in this thread they were never inclined to move back in the first place..
Atleast i am not like you says if Imran Khan is not the PM than Pakistan should suffer from hyper inflation. This coming from a guy who will never come back to the country.
Bhai tera leena dena kya ? Lol![]()