Pakistan (302/9) defeat Afghanistan (300/5) by 1 wicket to win the 2nd ODI

It's a pretty sports mentality however. Their things that are legal and then their basic respect and ethics when playing a game.

We could have taken a single in the first game but imam decided to leave it as a dot ball because it would have been unfair to Afghans.

Sportsmenship is the key to respect.
There is no disrespect to the sport or to the opponent when Mankading. Why was Shadab stealing 5-6 inches on the fielding team before the ball is bowled? If Shadab stands in the middle of the pitch before the ball is bowled, will that be acceptable? Of course not. So it doesn't matter whether you are stealing 5 inches or 30 inches. It's a steal. Well done to Afghanistan for having a good match awareness. Shadab was rightly penalized for his lack of match awareness.

Imagine premeditating a mankad to beat Pakistan in ODIs for the first time, and then still lose :ROFLMAO: :ROFLMAO:

I think I’m in more shock than the Afghanistan players

Actually it was the 5 extra runs they gave us + the miss field that gave us 3 extra runs and shadab and naseem somehow performing miracles.
Well they were sloppy throughout with their extras. They are a minnow team tbf but you can’t discredit Shadab’s effort. He stood firm whilst others chickened out

Iftikhar uncle mate

Why does the management have to send Usama Mir before you to bring down the run rate? What is your purpose as a batsman in this team?

After you pull a Mankad stunt you better win lol, now it just looks embarrassing for Afg.

However the game awareness of not appealing for the no ball especially after what happen in Melbourne last year.

I'm ok with that Shadab dismissal but the ball before that was literally chest high, the umpire had to be blind not to see that.

Nonetheless that fired up Naseem once again 😂

Abdur Rahman bowled a no ball which wasnt given and even the first ball would be 5 wides had Shadab not hit that.

Afghanistan played their best and still lost to Pakistan.

I am not sure what else they can do to get the monkey off their backs. This is nightmarish stuff for any team to lose 2 matches from winning positions and that too against a No.11 who is swinging for heavens.
Mate they've been losing from winning positions since 2014.

In 2014 Asia cup, they had us 5 down and somehow umar akmal scored a 100 and won us the game.

In 2019, they had us beat but somehow imad waseem coupled with extremely sloppy fielding from Afghanistan made us win.

Last time they faced us at full strength they had us beat but naseem hit 2 sixes and won us the game and today they had us beat but giving us 8 extra runs, bowling full tosses and shadab and naseem performing a miracle helped us win.

Iftikhar uncle mate

Why does the management have to send Usama Mir before you to bring down the run rate? What is your purpose as a batsman in this team?
They know Ifthikar Can’t play! Don’t blame the management when the player himself is the problem

After you pull a Mankad stunt you better win lol, now it just looks embarrassing for Afg.

However the game awareness of not appealing for the no ball especially after what happen in Melbourne last year.
Not sure how the review system works for these buut Shadab was signaling no ball as soon as he hit it.

In a high-octane clash between Pakistan and Afghanistan, cricket enthusiasts were treated to a nail-biting contest that saw Pakistan emerge victorious in the final over by 1 wicket, despite an impressive century by Afghanistan's Gurbaz.

1st Innings - Afghanistan's Dominance:

Afghanistan won the toss and elected to bat first. The opening batsmen laid a solid foundation, setting the stage for a formidable total. However, the star of the innings was undoubtedly Rahmanullah Gurbaz. Gurbaz showcased his class and determination as he reached a magnificent century (ton), displaying an array of powerful shots and masterful placement. His ton was a testament to his skill and maturity beyond his years.

Supported by crucial contributions from other batsmen, Afghanistan posted a competitive total on the scoreboard. The partnership-building and calculated aggression of their batsmen kept the Pakistani bowlers on their toes throughout the innings.

2nd Innings - Pakistan's Thrilling Chase:

Chasing a challenging target, Pakistan's innings started cautiously. The Afghan bowlers struck early, removing key Pakistani wickets and creating moments of tension for the fans. However, Pakistan's middle order showcased resilience, with partnerships forming amidst the pressure.

As the required run rate climbed, Pakistan's chase became increasingly gripping. Their batsmen displayed a mix of controlled aggression and sensible shot selection, meticulously building partnerships to keep them in the hunt.

The Thrilling Climax:

As the match reached its climax, the contest was finely poised. Pakistan needed a considerable number of runs in the final overs, and Afghanistan's bowlers aimed to tighten the screws. The last over of the match arrived with Pakistan needing a handful of runs for victory. Tensions ran high in the stadium and among viewers worldwide.

In a heart-stopping final over, Pakistan's batsmen held their nerve. A couple of boundaries and well-run singles brought them within touching distance of the target. With just a few balls remaining, Pakistan secured the winning runs, igniting scenes of celebration among their players and supporters.

Man of the Match: Rahmanullah Gurbaz

Despite the outcome, Rahmanullah Gurbaz's extraordinary century was a standout performance that earned him the well-deserved "Man of the Match" award. His elegant strokes and composed batting were a pleasure to watch, even though his efforts ultimately went in vain.

If babar isn't gonna use agha as a bowling option then simply put saud and tayyab needs to take their place.

Or you can choose nawaz instead.

Agha is useless against afghan spinners.
Yes definitely he needs to bowl.

Skin of the teeth stuff today.

Bowling lacked penetration early on and the middle order flopped again.

Shadab batted really well and Naseem was great at the end.

Imam should have kicked on after he'd got 50, but instead slowed down.

Skin of the teeth stuff today.

Bowling lacked penetration early on and the middle order flopped again.

Shadab batted really well and Naseem was great at the end.

Imam should have kicked on after he'd got 50, but instead slowed down.
Ifthikar played bad and should be dropped from WC

There is no disrespect to the sport or to the opponent when Mankading. Why was Shadab stealing 5-6 inches on the fielding team before the ball is bowled? If Shadab stands in the middle of the pitch before the ball is bowled, will that be acceptable? Of course not. So it doesn't matter whether you are stealing 5 inches or 30 inches. It's a steal. Well done to Afghanistan for having a good match awareness. Shadab was rightly penalized for his lack of match awareness.
English cricketers don’t do the mankad.It is unethical and against the spirit of the game.I don’t know many times Shadab went out of the crease.If it happens on an odd occasion then it is against the spirit of the game.Some teams want to win by hook or crook.

Usama should be dropped.Abdullah Shakeel,Tayyib and Wasim should play in the last match.Pakistan should have selected Arshad Iqbal and may be Abbas Afridi.The work load for Shaheen,Rauf and Nasim must be managed properly.Need to rotate the fast bowlers.

English cricketers don’t do the mankad.It is unethical and against the spirit of the game.I don’t know many times Shadab went out of the crease.If it happens on an odd occasion then it is against the spirit of the game.Some teams want to win by hook or crook.
Bro, in my opinion, if it's a rule of cricket, so how come it would be unethical? It's all about the game awareness shadab should be carried out.

Afghanistan pre planned this.
I'm pretty sure in order for you to mankad someone they need to be warned at least once before so Shadab would've probably had an idea of what they were doing but went ahead anyway.

Another great escape against Afghanistan !

I missed the end as my car broke down and was stuck in a layby for 2 hours. However:

The cost of repairing the car = £100s
Naseem Shah's last over heroics vs Afghanistan once again = Priceless.

Still feel we're a specialist batsman short in that middle-order.

A really good win against a very good Afg attack in those conditions. Should give the PKs lots of confidence. Usama Mir looks lost, lacking any control and surprisingly, confidence. Agha looked more positive today and needs to bat at 4.

We’re missing a Hafeez type batsman in middle order (in form Hafeez).

Asif Ali was way too inconsistent, there’s something about this Agha Salman though, should we persist with him I think so but if only Haider Ali was as good as the hype. Maybe worth a gamble with Mohammed Haris ?

Law 2.6.1 only refers to reviewing no balls in the event of a dismissal. There is no provision allowing no balls to be reviewed by umpires whenever they feel like it.
so there is also no law which states that a beamer can only be called by on field umpire (when no dismissal is involved).

We arnt discussing about decision reversal. We are discussing whether the third umpire should had been discussed before any actual decision was made

Yes, the Afghan umpire(is it true?) appeared more desperate for a Afghan win by not calling a clear no-ball? It was evident that even the commentators were taken aback by this decision.

On another note, where are Imad Wasim and Ehsanullah? It would be great to see them in action. We're aware that both of these players are capable of being match-winners. We should prepare Ehsanullah for the World Cup; he could be our X-factor! Imad, with his experience, could have provided substantial support to this team today. You can't expect Ifti to fire all the time

Kiya waqt agya hai k Afghanistan se tough competition honay laga hai 🤦‍♂️
Afghanistan isn't a bad team, their the best spinning team in the world, and they have a decent opening pair.

They beat Bangladesh, and were an automatic selection for the WC whereas Sri lanka and west indies had to play qualifiers.

Theirs easily the 3rd Strongest Asian team after Pakistan and India.

How did Afghanistan bottle this?

They had this in the bag 27 to win off 2 overs
Probably the same way Pakistan bottled the match against India in the 2022 WC at Melbourne, we should have won that game.

Afghanistan for me is an underrated team. People still call them minnows even though Sri lanka and West indies were the ones forced to play qualifiers, not Afghanistan.

They have the best spin attack and a decent opening pair. Their weakness however is an atrocious middle order since after their openers, none of their other batters can bat, even nabi is now out of it. And their fast bowling at the death is hilarious.

But them beating Bangladesh this year and they usually give pakistan a fight for their life whenever they play against us, unlike Sri lanka or Bangladesh.

Middle order is still huge problem .Without nawaz lower order also looks weak but nawaz is also not doing anything with the bat recently. So in short we are doomed

The middle order crisis will seem exacerbated against tougher oppositions in Asia cup and world cup. Babar Azam has completely failed to form a right combo

There were too many missed chances by afghanistan fielding when pak batters were batting. Top 3 teams will never give that much chances and that is why pakistan never won close matches against tougher oppositions in last 5 years or so

Inshallah, Pakistan will defeat Afghanistan in the 3rd ODI as well and secure the No.1 position in ODIs.

Mate they've been losing from winning positions since 2014.

In 2014 Asia cup, they had us 5 down and somehow umar akmal scored a 100 and won us the game.

In 2019, they had us beat but somehow imad waseem coupled with extremely sloppy fielding from Afghanistan made us win.

Last time they faced us at full strength they had us beat but naseem hit 2 sixes and won us the game and today they had us beat but giving us 8 extra runs, bowling full tosses and shadab and naseem performing a miracle helped us win.
You forgot the Asif Ali massacre of 21 t20 wc. By now,they should've beaten Pak atleast half a dozen times. Nonetheless it's good that they lost today. Because it could have sparked a huge controversy which could potentially harm the two nations' already turbulent relation. They need to improve their attitude & should maintain some sort of decency. With the exception of India,against every other subcontinent teams they always show off a level of arrogance which comes off atrocious since at the end of the they are still hovering at the bottom of the pecking order.

I disagree with them hovering at thr bottom of the pecking order. I would say their better then current Bangladesh and Sri lanka atm.

Pakistan finds it harder to beat Afghanistan then beat Bangladesh or Sri lanka

Great escape against Afghanistan
Middle order still needs to do more work

I disagree with them hovering at thr bottom of the pecking order. I would say their better then current Bangladesh and Sri lanka atm.

Pakistan finds it harder to beat Afghanistan then beat Bangladesh or Sri lanka
No, they are not better than Ban in 50 overs. The last series was an anomaly. Since 2015 wc Ban has been comfortably the second or third best sc team in this format. They may appear better than Sri on bilaterals but on tournaments they usually surrender. I am specifically talking about 50 overs where Ban is clearly a more well rounded & consistent team whereas Sri will perform better in tournaments.I don't expect Afgans to win a single match against any of their neighbors in Asia or World cup.I could be proven wrong but chances are very minimal.
As for Pak finding it harder to defeat Afg, well that's due to mental stress.They take way too much pressure on themselves & get stuck. They were finding it harder even in 14 as you mentioned where Ind & Sri simply ran over Afgans. Historically Pak have been less dominant against minnows compared to Aus, SA,Ind or Sri. It's in their DNA to make easier matches exciting.

No, they are not better than Ban in 50 overs. The last series was an anomaly. Since 2015 wc Ban has been comfortably the second or third best sc team in this format. They may appear better than Sri on bilaterals but on tournaments they usually surrender. I am specifically talking about 50 overs where Ban is clearly a more well rounded & consistent team whereas Sri will perform better in tournaments.I don't expect Afgans to win a single match against any of their neighbors in Asia or World cup.I could be proven wrong but chances are very minimal.
As for Pak finding it harder to defeat Afg, well that's due to mental stress.They take way too much pressure on themselves & get stuck. They were finding it harder even in 14 as you mentioned where Ind & Sri simply ran over Afgans. Historically Pak have been less dominant against minnows compared to Aus, SA,Ind or Sri. It's in their DNA to make easier matches exciting.
How do you rate our game against spin bowling of afghan i think we did alright played 30 overs of quality spin and chased down 300 total?

It was just about ok, but way too conservative. You can't apply same method against every spinner, because they complete 30 overs. This approach can only manage around 140 runs from these 3 which isn't good enough. I think they should target atleast one of them, possibly Nabi. He is decent, but not unplayable or mysterious. I am a bit of puzzled to be honest. Historically Pak batters have always dominated spin more than pace. Even against Murali they were more or less positive. You will see how Indians handle them, they will definitely attack more & won't let Rashid or Mujeeb settle down.These guys are really good, no question about that, but your batsmen with their ultra defensive approach are making them appear even better than their actual capabilities.

How did you rate our team vs spin against sri lanka test series we dominated their spinners do you think pak should bring those 2 players like abdullah and saud they played spin really well.

There is no doubt that Pakistan wins matches against Afghanistan, but it's often a hard-fought victory. Especially, Afghanistan's spinners pose a challenge for Pakistani batsmen.
I think after some time, Afghanistan's team will become very strong and capable of defeating any good team.

Everyone knows Afghanistan has good spinners.Against Afghanistan,Pakistan selectors must pick batsmen who are good against spin.air is horses for courses.

How did you rate our team vs spin against sri lanka test series we dominated their spinners do you think pak should bring those 2 players like abdullah and saud they played spin really well.
Excellent, it was so refreshing because it was completely unexpected. The only reason you guys succeeded was because of this aggressive approach. Had they have gone with the usual tuktuk brand they would have failed & Srilankan spinners would have taken the series.
You can't afford to play both Shafique & Saud on the same eleven against a top tier team. Shafique is a top order batsman, who are you going to sacrifice to accommodate him? Saud is an excellent player of spin but how will he handle pace? He may become a sitting duck against 145+ genuine pace. I think they can give both of them a go in the next match & see how they fare. But on bigger matches you can afford only 1 of them.

For the next match Babar and co should play all those players who they want to see and potentially will make the eventual World Cup squad.

I would go with something like this;

1. Fakhar
2. Abdullah
3. Babar
4. Saud / Tayyab
5. Salman
6. Harris (wk)
7. Nawaz
8. Usama
9. Shaheen / Faheem
10. Wasim Jr
11. Haris

Imam is locked and so is Rizwan in the middle order because Mohammad Haris hasn't proved he can be more than a hitter in the lower order. So by and large the team should look to lay one or both of Tayyab and Saud to see how they perform and this will help get a combination where if Rizwan is out then if Harris can do the job of a finisher.

Pacers deserve a rest as well.

Wo bhi team hai khelne ayi hai. If they won't start to improve their Cricket now then when will they? Can't except them to perform like they did 10-20 years ago
Yeh competition aur teams k sath bhe hona chahiye na afghanio ka ?

For the next match Babar and co should play all those players who they want to see and potentially will make the eventual World Cup squad.

I would go with something like this;

1. Fakhar
2. Abdullah
3. Babar
4. Saud / Tayyab
5. Salman
6. Harris (wk)
7. Nawaz
8. Usama
9. Shaheen / Faheem
10. Wasim Jr
11. Haris

Imam is locked and so is Rizwan in the middle order because Mohammad Haris hasn't proved he can be more than a hitter in the lower order. So by and large the team should look to lay one or both of Tayyab and Saud to see how they perform and this will help get a combination where if Rizwan is out then if Harris can do the job of a finisher.

Pacers deserve a rest as well.
Faheem should not have been in this squad.Arshad Iqbal or even Abbas Afridi could have been tried.

I'm pretty sure in order for you to mankad someone they need to be warned at least once before so Shadab would've probably had an idea of what they were doing but went ahead anyway.
No that's not true but giving someone a warning first seems more reasonable however they have can run someone out like this without warning.

In the third game I will go with

Imaam
Fakhar
Babar
Tayyab Tahir
Rizwan
Agha Salman
Shadab
Usama Mir
Fahim
Wasim Jnr
Shaheen
Rauf

Naseem shah should be rested.
Fahim should not be in the squad but we need to rest Naseem.
Tayyab should replace Iftikhar.

In the third game I will go with

Imaam
Fakhar
Babar
Tayyab Tahir
Rizwan
Agha Salman
Shadab
Usama Mir
Fahim
Wasim Jnr
Shaheen
Rauf

Naseem shah should be rested.
Fahim should not be in the squad but we need to rest Naseem.
Tayyab should replace Iftikhar.
Both saud, tayyab and Abdullah need to play. Pakistan are making a huge mistake not taking saud and tayyab.

Saud has shown he's a natural at spin, we also need accumulators to win games. Pakistani awaam thinks we can bazball like England but in reality we'd be out for 80 if we did that. Pakistan has chased down 300+ totals due to accumulators and saud is an excellent accumulator who will back babar and Imam.

Fakhar needs to be rested and Abdullah opening. Fakhar should be advised by the coaching team to regain his confidence rather then play against Afghanistan under pressure and tayyab has proven to be a much much better placer of pace and a solid hitter. He's also like 15 years younger and a good future prospect to invest In.

Usama needs to be rested for nawaz, haris should play instead of rizwan for one game and bat at no 7.

Ideally this should have happened in the 2nd odi, but knowing Pakistan, Hell will freeze over before they change their so called winning 11.

Pakistan is making the same mistake that they made in champions trophy and 2015 World Cup, having out of form players while inform are bench warmers and then suddenly are bought up and expected to perform in world cup stage.