Pakistan v West Indies | 1st Test (D/N) | Dubai (DSC) | Oct 13-17, 2016 | Day 2

We need to pick up scoring rates today and really put W.I under the scanner, the quicker we get to 500 and declare the better.

Azhar needs to play positively and aggressively today like he was in last session of day 1.

Shafiq needs to ensure his balance against indipper.

It always surprises me when people talk about Shafiq's impeccable technique. He's quite vulnerable whenever he plays across the line and will always be an easy LBW candidate against the inswinging/inseaming ball. Not a bad batsman to have overall but hardly the poster boy for "technique"

By tuktuking we will end up draw this test. 5 runs in 3 overs!!! Really pathetic

Aamir Nazir was heavily criticizing Pak batsmen for their approach against what he think is a china cricket team.

By tuktuking we will end up draw this test. 5 runs in 3 overs!!! Really pathetic
lol and then we wonder why not many people go and watch test cricket in UAE. We play absolutely dull cricket.

until the likes of Misbah and YK are around we should not expect any change in approach. Teams score 350+ on flat roads like this against better attacks and we are struggling to bat at 3+ rpo. This is torture. No intent either.

We were ranked no.1 team a week ago but it looks like we were never worthy of that rank. This approach suggest we are still far behind then top 3 teams.

Guys the T20s are over. :sa

You have to be respectful to the opposition. They are bowling well so far today, Gabriel is really bending his back.
Pitch like this you have to bat once and score big to all out your opposition. If we can not score over 250 in 90 overs than WI needs a good first inning to draw this test.

Azhar is just wasting ball without scoring. Its not really hard pitch to bat on.Unless we score big we will not win this test for sure.

Pitch like this you have to bat once and score big to all out your opposition. If we can not score over 250 in 90 overs than WI needs a good first inning to draw this test.

We rarely enforce the follow-on unless WI are bowled out very quickly. There's still 354 overs left in the game.

17 runs in last 10 overs, this is seriously poor batting! We need to get a move on here! :facepalm:

Azhar is just wasting ball without scoring. Its not really hard pitch to bat on.Unless we score big we will not win this test for sure.

winning is one thing but at least don't torture your fans and viewers. At least show some intent and play interesting cricket.

Actually you guys have to win all 3 tests. If you even draw 1 test, you lose points in the ranking system.

Half an hour gone, now the scoring rate has to improve. PAK should target to declare/get all-out for 160 overs. That's 64 X 4.5 = 288+292 = 575+ should be the target.

150 for Azhar, well played! but now get a move on!

Shafiq trying to up the tempo

also why do our fans cry so much

its a test

if youve got attention span of a goldfish then go watch some t20 match

lool that's because tailenders rarely get to bat at 3 or open the innings on such roads.

Then why don't other teams' batsmen hit 150s and make sure each match is a draw in UAE?

45 runs in the last 10 overs. :afridi

How is Gabriel bowling?

cummins and bishoo are

windies started well and tested at start

but now shafiq is attacking so they may lose it

or we might end up losign wickets

Bowls ~3 overs spells, was good but no-ball issue. Good pace and decent lines.

cummins and bishoo are

windies started well and tested at start

but now shafiq is attacking so they may lose their ****

or we might end up losign wickets

He was bowling well today.

Gabriel looked the best out of the lot when we toured there. Bowled in short but impressive bursts. Generated some good bounce. Joseph was good too, not sure why he isn't picked.

Cummins didn't look too special and picked wickets when we were looking to accelerate. Bishoo looked pedestrian.

Azhar Ali- rock solid and firmly focused :azhar
Asad Shafiq- relaxed, calm and patient :shafiq

this is perfect series for Azhar and Asad to get their average near 50

if they dont go from 43,44 to 48 or so then its a failure

+1 They won't get another opportunity to score so many easy runs.

Gabriel looked the best out of the lot when we toured there. Bowled in short but impressive bursts. Generated some good bounce. Joseph was good too, not sure why he isn't picked.

Cummins didn't look too special and picked wickets when we were looking to accelerate. Bishoo looked pedestrian.

Cummins will improve. He is young and just got back from county cricket. Windies are unlucky to be versing the 2 best Test teams right now. Most spinners look pedestrian against us. :srt :jm

This bowling lineup should be punished by all our batsmen. Sami was very unlucky yesterday.

51 runs in 13 overs today... why is everyone crying?

4 RPO scoring rate or more needs to be maintained for rest of the inns, Need to get into a position where we declare in last session today with 500-550 on the board.

Yasir needs 5 wickets to become the fastest Asian player to get to 100 Test wickets.

That's about 600 runs for both of them in the rest of this innings and other remaing 5 innings. I dont think it is fair.

This match should be stopped on humanitarian grounds, prevention of cruelty to cricketers :))

Not sure why people are complaining about the rate though. Pakistan have a really solid batting order. Felt the middle order was very strong but with weak opening batsmen before the England series, now they have found solid batsmen at the top as well. There are many sides having a strong top order. India for example have quite a talented bunch and a technically correct top 5, but none of them have a penchant for huge scores. They tend to give away their wicket after making pretty 70s and 80s. Australia too has a strong batting order and I've woken up to India Australia tests only to see scores of 130/0 at the SCG after the first session. They can absolutely pummel you into submission and score at ODI rates in many sessions. However they also tend to give away their wicket due to the same aggressive mentality of scoring runs at a high rate.

But the Pakistani batsmen rarely if ever throw their wickets away. They don't score runs fast, they keep going at a mundane rate and sometimes it may not look the most attractive too. But rest assured they will be slowly killing off whatever chances you had in the match like a slow poison. You need top quality pace and spin bowlers to get their batsmen out of their comfort zones. Otherwise you can bid goodbye to getting to the dressing room and have to get prepared for standing in the sun for hours together. They have mastered the old school style of test cricket, which also happens to be the most reliable and least error prone approach in the game.

Not sure why people are complaining about the rate though. Pakistan have a really solid batting order. Felt the middle order was very strong but with weak opening batsmen before the England series, now they have found solid batsmen at the top as well. There are many sides having a strong top order. India for example have quite a talented bunch and a technically correct top 5, but none of them have a penchant for huge scores. They tend to give away their wicket after making pretty 70s and 80s. Australia too has a strong batting order and I've woken up to India Australia tests only to see scores of 130/0 at the SCG after the first session. They can absolutely pummel you into submission and score at ODI rates in many sessions. However they also tend to give away their wicket due to the same aggressive mentality of scoring runs at a high rate.

But the Pakistani batsmen rarely if ever throw their wickets away. They don't score runs fast, they keep going at a mundane rate and sometimes it may not look the most attractive too. But rest assured they will be slowly killing off whatever chances you had in the match like a slow poison. You need top quality pace and spin bowlers to get their batsmen out of their comfort zones. Otherwise you can bid goodbye to getting to the dressing room and have to get prepared for standing in the sun for hours together. They have mastered the old school style of test cricket, which also happens to be the most reliable and least error prone approach in the game.

Dude :14: Awesome post

Chase to Azhar Ali, SIX, Azhar becomes the first player to hit a six in D-N Test cricket. Tossed-up offbreak on off, Azhar attacks it, slog-sweeping it into the empty stands beyond midwicket

Good luck to Babar in his 1st test knock here.. Azhar needs to keep playing in same aggressive manner here.

Dud bowlers and pathetic catchers.

Pak should score 700/2 from here on :miandad

ball is gripping and spinning I think enough is to offer for good spinners...I like the sight of babur.

Azhar Ali thakta bhi nahi hai yar. pata nahi kya kha kar ata hai.

ball is gripping and spinning I think enough is to offer for good spinners...I like the sight of babur.

yea but babur needs to get a ton here. No excuse for not getting a good score here.