South Africa (404 & 73/2) crush Pakistan (333 & 138) by 8 wickets in the second match to level the 2-match series 1-1

Cricket Warrior

Pakistan endured a tough session as Simon Harmer struck twice early to jolt the top order, removing Imam-ul-Haq and Shan Masood in quick succession. Both dismissals were a result of clever bowling — Harmer skillfully set up the batters before slipping in the quicker slider that trapped them leg-before. The early damage deepened when Kagiso Rabada joined the act, nipping out Abdullah Shafique to leave Pakistan tottering at 16/3, still trailing the visitors by 55 runs.

Amid the chaos, captain Babar Azam showcased positive intent from the outset, playing with purpose and timing some exquisite drives to steady the innings. Saud Shakeel’s brief resistance was ended by Harmer, who continued to weave his magic on a surface offering significant grip and turn.

Despite the flurry of wickets, Babar remained resolute, batting with immense composure and determination. Alongside Mohammad Rizwan, he managed to guide Pakistan through the tense final phase of the day, ensuring no further damage.

As stumps were drawn, Pakistan were effectively 23/4, still facing an uphill battle. With the ball gripping and spinners growing increasingly threatening, the home side will need something special from their middle order to stay alive in this contest on Day 4.

Pakistan squad: Shan Masood (c), Aamer Jamal, Abdullah Shafique, Abrar Ahmed, Salman Agha, Asif Afridi, Babar Azam, Faisal Akram, Hasan Ali, Imam-ul-Haq, Kamran Ghulam, Khurram Shahzad, Mohammad Rizwan (†), Noman Ali, Rohail Nazir (†), Sajid Khan, Saud Shakeel, Shaheen Shah Afridi

South Africa squad: Aiden Markram (c), David Bedingham, Corbin Bosch, Dewald Brevis, Tony de Zorzi, Simon Harmer, Marco Jansen, Keshav Maharaj, Wiaan Mulder, Senuran Muthusamy, Kagiso Rabada, Ryan Rickelton (†), Tristan Stubbs, Prenelan Subrayen, Kyle Verreynne (†), Zubayr Hamza

=======

All posters, please take note of the following guidelines for match threads on PakPassion:

1. No personal insults at other posters, players, officials, coaching staff, etc.

2. No making fun of players', officials', or coaching staff's names.

3. Do not add any references to media, their social media, or post any pictures or screenshots from other sports websites.

4. Stick to commenting on this match. There is no need to bring other countries into the match discussion, as there are plenty of other threads where those discussions can be added.

I'm hoping for a RizBar special plus the tail to wag for the first time this series, Insha Allah. On paper, this is indeed the strongest tail Pakistan has had in recent times, especially with Asif Afridi at number 11.

We need to somehow bat for another 50 overs and aim to score 150 more runs. Setting a target of 180 for South Africa could really put the cat amongst the pigeons and give us a solid chance to turn the game in our favour.

Always in fourth inns a target of 175+ is something to work with.

Need atleast 150 more runs today and if somehow Pak get there Babar will likely have to score 75-80 of them

4 current or recent captains at the crease or yet to come. Babar, Riz, Agha and Shaheen. This profile of players should be counted on to show situational awareness and come good for the team. The minimum ask is to survive the first session.

Shaheen’s swings and misses are getting nauseating now. He has to bat with some maturity too. Find a less ugly way to get out.

Shan Masood and his Team Finds a way to loose a test match every series from winning position

Melbourne 2024 Aus 16/4 in Second Innings Test Match Surrendered

Pindi 2024 Bang 26/6 Test Match Surrendered

Multan 2024 Test match loss after Scoring 556 in first Innings

Centurion SA 99/8 Chasing 150 We managed to Squander that

Multan 2025 WI 54/8 in First Innings We managed to loose from this position

Now At Pindi we have almost surrendered after having SA 7 down with 123 Trail

Bunch of idiots running our cricket

Shan Masood and his Team Finds a way to loose a test match every series from winning position

it seems like Qudrat ka Nizam is nt happy with our cricket since we have Jailed our Best Cricketer

Qudrat ka Nizam plays Uno Reverse Card on us too often @mominsaigol

I've noticed PK can only win if they catch opponents by surprise and not by doctoring pitches.

A) They beat England as England came with a flat track mindset and didn't really come in with spinners. They were also off guarded in general as going from a road scoring 800 vs spin mambas.

B) They only beat SA and WI in the 1st test as they had just arrived overseas and were getting use to the conditons.

In the 2nd test Pakistan always looses as those teams have now gotten use to the conditions.

I've noticed PK can only win if they catch opponents by surprise and not by doctoring pitches.

A) They beat England as England came with a flat track mindset and didn't really come in with spinners. They were also off guarded in general as going from a road scoring 800 vs spin mambas.

B) They only beat SA and WI in the 1st test as they had just arrived overseas and were getting use to the conditons.

In the 2nd test Pakistan always looses as those teams have now gotten use to the conditions.

that would hold true if touring team looked confident in second test

My problem with Shan Masood. He has been capatain for 2 years now and in this short period , His boys have Snatched defeat from Jaws of Victory seven Times. Does nt matter how good opposition is or how pitch is behaving. 7 test matches in 2 years a lot to digest for Fans.

that would hold true if touring team looked confident in second test

My problem with Shan Masood. He has been capatain for 2 years now and in this short period , His boys have Snatched defeat from Jaws of Victory seven Times. Does nt matter how good opposition is or how pitch is behaving. 7 test matches in 2 years a lot to digest for Fans.
I agree with you, was making an observation.

But I do disagree about confidence. WI and SA body language wise clearly looked confident and more so then Pakistan.

The only one im willing to forgive on this list is Melbourne as It was still Steve Smith and Marsh doing the rebuilding unlike Bangladesh where Mehdy and Liton Das did the rebuilding 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 and SA where Rabada went Lara mode.

But I do disagree about confidence. WI and SA body language wise clearly looked confident and more so then Pakistan.

The only one im willing to forgive on this list is Melbourne as It was still Steve Smith and Marsh doing the rebuilding unlike Bangladesh where Mehdy and Liton Das did the rebuilding 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 and SA where Rabada went Lara mode.

and what about motie in Multan? 52/8 and to this day Motie Best was that test match 🤣
do our cricketers feel any Shame at all? a bottom tier team mauling us after being 52/8 at our home ground

i think all teams playing against Pak now come with mindset that they are always in the Game no matter how bad a position they are . If Pak needs 10 Runs with 6 Wickets , all teams will fight till death against Pak

It is insane how many of these sort of things have happened in such a short space of time during Masood’s captaincy. These are one in a blue moon events. And as you said he already has 6 of them to his record. I know we’ve had these things happen like the t20 World Cup USA in other formats. But it feels like it’s happening every/every other test series. Defies belief. Even if Masood was the worst captain ever, he’d still be unlucky. And he’s not while he does lose the plot at times, there are periods of play where he does seem like a decent captain, more so than Babar who didn’t rack up this amount of weird losses despite captaining for far longer.

Probably a sign of low confidence within the squad. They can’t keep it together and see out wins. And Masood definitely is an issue, you can’t go from doing a decent job as captain before losing your head when the slightest things goes wrong. Needs to hold his nerve. There’s a decent captain there somewhere but maybe he just keeps bottling it due to his under confidence from being such a below par player historically that he can’t command respect of the team.

and what about motie in Multan? 52/8 and to this day Motie Best was that test match 🤣
do our cricketers feel any Shame at all? a bottom tier team mauling us after being 52/8 at our home ground
Exactly thats the thing that bothers me.

I didn't care about Australia cause

A) im obviously biased towards aus amd their my favourite team.

B) It's still Steve Smith and Marsh. Marsh is a poor test player tbf, but Smith once scored 200+ with tail enders and destroyed England in a match where england had no rhyme or reason to lose.

C) 4 wickets while bad, isn't exactly unrecoverable by any means. Especially when the lead isnt that high

The issue is when guys like Mehidy, Motie, Rabada become test superstars 🤣🤣. And even Liton Das.

Liton Das tbf is a decent bat for Bangladeshi standards but he ain't a test Atg who can rescue a team from 26/6 and reach 262 🤣🤣🤣. That too when his partner is Mehidy Hasan.

Exactly thats the thing that bothers me.

I didn't care about Australia cause

A) im obviously biased towards aus amd their my favourite team.

B) It's still Steve Smith and Marsh. Marsh is a poor test player tbf, but Smith once scored 200+ with tail enders and destroyed England in a match where england had no rhyme or reason to lose.

C) 4 wickets while bad, isn't exactly unrecoverable by any means. Especially when the lead isnt that high

The issue is when guys like Mehidy, Motie, Rabada become test superstars 🤣🤣. And even Liton Das.

Liton Das tbf is a decent bat for Bangladeshi standards but he ain't a test Atg who can rescue a team from 26/6 and reach 262 🤣🤣🤣. That too when his partner is Mehidy Hasan.
absoultely Insane.

As a cricket Fan its very hard to digest these losses with scenarios you described

We scored 556 in Multan against Eng. Root and Brook Mauled us but until Pak started second innings , Everyone thought it was going to be a draw

It is insane how many of these sort of things have happened in such a short space of time during Masood’s captaincy. These are one in a blue moon events. And as you said he already has 6 of them to his record. I know we’ve had these things happen like the t20 World Cup USA in other formats. But it feels like it’s happening every/every other test series. Defies belief. Even if Masood was the worst captain ever, he’d still be unlucky. And he’s not while he does lose the plot at times, there are periods of play where he does seem like a decent captain, more so than Babar who didn’t rack up this amount of weird losses despite captaining for far longer.

Probably a sign of low confidence within the squad. They can’t keep it together and see out wins. And Masood definitely is an issue, you can’t go from doing a decent job as captain before losing your head when the slightest things goes wrong. Needs to hold his nerve. There’s a decent captain there somewhere but maybe he just keeps bottling it due to his under confidence from being such a below par player historically that he can’t command respect of the team.

its not Just Test Cricket though. With Shan Masood its happens awful lot of times

our latest hiccups in short format

Loosing Second and Third ODI against WI from decent position

Allowing BD to Score 134 after having them 30/4 at Minefield of Mirpur and eventually loosing series

Sqaundering 2 Games against India in Asia cup and NY last year from absolute winning position.

the list is endless 😞

absoultely Insane.

As a cricket Fan its very hard to digest these losses with scenarios you described

We scored 556 in Multan against Eng. Root and Brook Mauled us but until Pak started second innings , Everyone thought it was going to be a draw
England beat us due to superior batting and stamina. I saw a collapse coming because of the heat.

For example Abdullah and Shan literally got put not cause of the delivery but cause they lacked the stamina to bat in the heat.

Meanwhile England never suffered any such issues. The only batters who was somewhat effected was Harry Brook and Joe Root but that too once both reached 200 and even then just minor cramps and a few short breaths.

They still reached 300+ and 266.

Pakistan had no chance when they came out to bat as they all were mentally exhausted. They couldnt even run or catch anymore. England made sure to declare on day 4 and not day 5 giving PK a full day worth of rest.

But yes I am speaking in hindsight. We all thought it was going to be a draw at that time.

During match threads its not really possible to analyse and think that far ahead. Once the match is over, and enough time has passed then we can dissect.

England beat us due to superior batting and stamina. I saw a collapse coming because of the heat.

For example Abdullah and Shan literally got put not cause of the delivery but cause they lacked the stamina to bat in the heat.

Meanwhile England never suffered any such issues. The only batters who was somewhat effected was Harry Brook and Joe Root but that too once both reached 200 and even then just minor cramps and a few short breaths.

They still reached 300+ and 266.

Pakistan had no chance when they came out to bat as they all were mentally exhausted. They couldnt even run or catch anymore. England made sure to declare on day 4 and not day 5 giving PK a full day worth of rest.

But yes I am speaking in hindsight. We all thought it was going to be a draw at that time.

During match threads its not really possible to analyse and think that far ahead. Once the match is over, and enough time has passed then we can dissect.
add one more to list

Eng at Pindi 2022 against Babar's team

in Response to England's 650 plus we were 475/3 and guess the result

add one more to list

Eng at Pindi 2022 against Babar's team

in Response to England's 650 plus we were 475/3 and guess the result
England in test cricket may not be the most successful team, however they do force teams to play outside their comfort zone Australia, SA, NZ and India included.

Aus, SA, India and NZ however can typically adjust to the challenge.

Pakistan in test cricket is a team that plays inside their comfort zone.

The next time England tours PK they'll win. They'll be prepared.

Brother im giving you endless list of Bottle Jobs in our comfort zone
Obviously cause PK hasn't played outside their comfort zone since the Misbah Era.

Ik Misbah is hated on this forumn for whiteball but in his era Pakistan did win outside their comfort zone as well (Excluding SA and Aus)

And plus Misbah turned UAE into a fortress. Its not like Shan Masood and Aqib have turned PK into a fortress. If anything they are making batters out of Motie and Rabada 🤣🤣

Shan goes unnoticed because Pakistan won few games on these kind of pitches that suited us.. Now pindi pitch has not responded as expected so we all can see shan getting exposed yet again.

England in test cricket may not be the most successful team, however they do force teams to play outside their comfort zone Australia, SA, NZ and India included.

Aus, SA, India and NZ however can typically adjust to the challenge.

Pakistan in test cricket is a team that plays inside their comfort zone.

The next time England tours PK they'll win. They'll be prepared.
infact 2022 series against Eng , Pak bottled all Test matches come to think of it

after Pindi debacle

in Multan we needed 64 Runs with 5 wickets in Hand. Guess the result

in Karachi , Eng was 265/7 in Response to 303 and Guess the result

Obviously cause PK hasn't played outside their comfort zone since the Misbah Era.

Ik Misbah is hated on this forumn for whiteball but in his era Pakistan did win outside their comfort zone as well (Excluding SA and Aus)

And plus Misbah turned UAE into a fortress. Its not like Shan Masood and Aqib have turned PK into a fortress. If anything they are making batters out of Motie and Rabada 🤣🤣

we lack batting depth of Misbah's Team to make home Games fortress like UAE

During Misbah's Era , Blue print was clear . bat the opposition out in first innings. Never give them any sniff

Now a days we try to trap opposition with Spin but our batters are as bad playing Spin

Yeah.. He has replaced him.... Cry rivers
Bhai, the squad is weaker now 🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣.

Why cant you understand this simple fact?

What was the issue in asia cup? The issue was that excluding farhan and Fakhar and maybe a haris fluke here and their everyone else were

A) Too slow SR wise

B) Walking wickets.

Just look at what happened in the final? From a trajectory of 200 to a subpar total? 🤣🤣.

And your solution is to replace haris for Usman Khan who unlike haris who has 3-4 performances and a 20% success rate, usman Khan has a 0% success rate 🤣🤣🤣🤣.

And your 2nd solution is to replace Fakhar who had the highest amount of runs + Avg and 2nd highest sr overall for PK with Babar who is showcasing his oozing class in test cricket?

Kya ho gaya hai in sab log ko?????

OMG Nexus is back 💀💀💀💀💀

Would be really surprised if Pakistan survive the first session. We have always been and will always remain mental midgets. As soon as an opposition counterattacks or gains a lead we crumble.

What a shame. Even players like Muthusamy, Rabada & Maharaj batted better than Pakistan's main batters. For how long team management will keep tolerating repeated failures in 2nd inning. Babar has flopped in all 4 innings, Imam, Rizwan, Saud, Abdullah just played 1 good inning out of 4. You can blame your tailenders when your main batters are struggling

Even in last test all his fans were saying he did great because he top scored in the second innings. Even when he didn't even score a 50.

Since Babar cant handle slightest of pressure , Only reason he cant get back to form for so many years is his Fans who have hyped him so much that even a normal innings where Pak innings does nt crumble , This guy still fails because of Fans expectation . I have said Many times it will be miracle if this guy ever gets back his form with fake titles from Fans

He is the top scorer for Pakistan in 2nd inning... It is his fault again???
Is he playing international cricket since last 8-9 years just to be top scorer in an inning? Has he ever taken any responsibility and won a test match for a team? This is Babar's 61st test match and he still doesn't know how to build long inning and save his team in crucial situations