PCB Patron's XI vs England XI (Day 2 thread)

8 down now according to Sky Sports News.

Jimmy seemed to settle down nicely after those 2 expensive overs first up but I'm not sure Plunk quite wanted to go for 42 off 7 overs.

hasanahmad said:
how old is shahzad malik and is this the same player who many have called the future middle order batsman for pakistan?
Hes 27 I think, and hes the same one who made like 400 off 127 balls in some league game.

Zulqarnain and Tahir are both capable with the bat, can they revive the pak innings, the way the english reivived theirs, - that is the q

another poor show by asim kamal looks like he wount feature in the first test. the batsmen were caught behind driving at the swinging ball. we never learn do we!

Loudon bowled 2 maidens... and then went for 17 off the next 2 overs.

D'oh!

zaf1986 said:
Zulqarnain and Tahir are both capable with the bat, can they revive the pak innings, the way the english reivived theirs, - that is the q

You just had to say it didn't you?

If only our players could be exposed to the full flash great english attack including harmison and flintoff. Nice to know that we have crossed 200, hopefully our team can win this match.

Right, we're off again.

Hurry up and get them out so that the English batsmen can bed down this evening.

No one's showing it but various sites have scorecards that update after every over or so. The BBC and Cricinfo ones seem to update the most often.

SO we know Prior can catch and bat...shoot!

loudon next man in - look slike they've inverted the batting order

Billy said:
Strauss doesn't like those left armers does he?
I hope they dont pick [Edit by Mods: or even Khalil ? ] as a consequence

Irshad TEARS Loudon out!!

Caught Wicketkeeper - Bet it was a fast one :D

DM said:
Irshad TEARS Loudon out!!

Caught Wicketkeeper - Bet it was a fast one :D

or it could be a pathetic heave from a terrible delivery that got a top edge and went straight up in the air and back down again

Mohammad Irshad on fire! :-D

Loudon - Ct Wkeeper
Vaughan - lbw

ANDOTHER ONE FOR IRSHAD, ANOTHER ONE FOR IRSHAD 38-4

pure pace!!

33 for 4!

Irshad saab ko kya hogya hai!

Come on Mo!

DM said:
ANDOTHER ONE FOR IRSHAD, ANOTHER ONE FOR IRSHAD 38-4

pure pace!!

are you watching it? How do you know about the pace?

The figures seem good but you cannot really comment on his bowling until you have seen the wickets. For all you know they could all be slashing at short and wide deliveries or top edges.

Whatever happens.......well done to Irshad. Any spell which gets 3 wickets like this is a great spell!

are you watching it? How do you know about the pace?
I've no idea whatsoever, it's just a wild and hopeful assumption :D

Anyway, Sky news will certainly show this later so anyone who has it, make sure you watch it !

DM said:
I've no idea whatsoever, it's just a wild and hopeful assumption :D

:D We might as well assume that the ball that got Vaughan was a 97mph Waqar style banana inswinging yorker!:O

England on the ropes!

38-6 - Now Arafat takes 2 in quick succession!

:D We might as well assume that the ball that got Vaughan was a 97mph Waqar style banana inswinging yorker!:O
We'll find out wont we :D

Good to see Irshad get in the wickets but we shouldnt get carried away and ask for his selection. Its only a practice match and they're probably not taking it too seriously. After all, he didnt get any wickets in the first innings when the ball was moving..............

Well i'd include him and Yasir Ali immediately (if they are both 150kph bowlers) but that's just me and will not realistically happen

Wowsers, they appear to be getting a roasting out there !!!!!! :)) Im very pleased to see Yasir doing well with the ball, lets just hope he gets pushed up the order and get some runs too!!!Lets all hope Misbah kills the game off and not bring on any stupid part-timers!!!!! Just imagine the shame of losing against a patrons 11 and not even a full A team!!!

England 2nd innings R M B 4 6
AJ Strauss c Bazid Khan b Najaf Shah 6 21 18 0 0
MJ Prior c Yasir Arafat b Mohammad Irshad 16 37 27 3 0
AGR Loudon c Zulqarnain Haider b Mohammad Irshad 1 6 7 0 0
*MP Vaughan lbw b Mohammad Irshad 0 4 5 0 0
KP Pietersen b Yasir Arafat 10 23 17 1 0
PD Collingwood not out 1 0 4 0 0
+GO Jones b Yasir Arafat 0 2 3 0 0
IR Bell not out 0 0 4 0 0
Extras (b 1, lb 4) 5
Total (6 wickets, 14 overs) 39

Damn I think this attack is better than the actual pak attack.
You've got 2 quicks in Yasir Ali and Irshad, a good left armer in Najaf Shah, and to round it off a bowling allrounder of high quality in Yasir Arafat. Man...future looks bright. BTW what are the ages of all these bowlers?

PS, someone should record the higlights and upload them. Please!:D

WOW! 39-6! What a performance from Mohammad Irshad!

Arafat has now taken 6 wickets all bowled, that's right he's bowled all of his victims so far. Looks like Aaqib knew what he was talking about!

Mercenary said:
Arafat has now taken 6 wickets all bowled, that's right he's bowled all of his victims so far. Looks like Aaqib knew what he was talking about!

what did he say?

Something along the lines that Arafat was the closest to a finished product from this roster of bowlers. He also might have thought he was quickest of the lot, if I remember 88 mph +

Mercenary said:

But still no match for me :D

Zohaib said:
Damn I think this attack is better than the actual pak attack.
I know what you mean, I can't imagine us ever having England at 39-6 in the tests! But let's see....

I say we definitely play Yasir in the ODI series at least especially if Razzaq is injured

I mean seriously. Shoaib is awesome, know denying that. But for whatever reason, our bowlers lack the concept of creating pressure. Even on a good wicket they will pour many runs before taking wickets. But then again when you have the likes of Sami, that's bound to happen. I like Sami but with bowlers like Irshad, Ali and even a left armer in Shah, who swing the ball around, is Sami really worth the investment? Lets hope Sami does it this time, or even as an ardant fan, I beleive it's time to move on.

I know it's only a practice match but still...

And I agree Arafat should be given a chance in upcoming one-dayers especially if injuries occur to a certain allrounder..

Yasir is pretty beefy and by the looks of his figures, possesses a nice turn of pace. Though he'll have to do something amazing to knock the RAZZAK from the number 1 all-rounder position.

But the main thing is, tresco hasn't played in the second innings so far..and 4 more wickets left.

Arafat is seemingly more of a bowling allrounder while razzaq has developed into a batting one. Hmmm....on some tracks it might be worth playing Arafat as bowling allrounder along with Shoaib, Shabir, Rana...in the future if he continues his development.

I say get rid of sami, this has shown the talent we got which is not being used becuase of sami pakistan are better off with out him.

Selectors take note! England struggling against a 4 prong pace attack. This is what I've always believed, no matter what the attack...always pick your best bowlers! Create good, sporting tracks and just concentrate on playing better! Damnit, don't focus so much on kind of pitches, etc. In turn, our 4 best bowlers should be Shoaib, Shabbir, Rana/Sami, Kaneria. No mushtaq just for the sake of having more spin!

Fletcher to team: Thats it lads - pack up and lets go home
Harmisson: Yippeee ( home sweet home ....)
Hoggard: Wooohooo - no more pot noodles for me.....

I just saw some clips of the first innings...Najaf looked quite sharp, although he has kinda similar bowling style to Khalil :O

His dismissal of Straus in the first innings was any bowler's dream...Straus leaves the delivery, it comes in, and crashed in to his stumps :91:

Zoni is definitely putting pressure on Akmal...he seems to always score when his team is in trouble. Just check his batting in any of the last 5-10 games, he always comes in the middle of a batting collapse of sorts and then steadies the ship, scores at least 30-50 runs, and in most cases remains NO :14:

Yasir Arafat is skiddy and swings the ball well...don't know what will happen if the the conditions are not conducive to swing though

Irshad and Yasir Ali both have powerfull actions and both explode at the crease...I just saw them again after like 8 months or so. I almost forgot what their actions looked like

Who looked the quickest of the lot?
I know, there was a bit of grass on the pindi pitch, so not sure how they'll go on flatter tracks. But anyway, wasn't there a time where Pak use to create greentops when India used to tour in the imran days?

yasir arafat looks very deceptive..seems to be alot more nippier than his action etc would seem..i bet thats whats fooling the english(other than him using his brain unlike other bowlers out there)..as for najaf he looked good too but both him and irshad were a bit wayward later on...so i dont know..plus flintoff isnt playing and even in the ashes he helped england along so we should be tempered in our praise for the young guns!..inshallah i reckon we'll see these guys playing for pak very soon!!

Zohaib said:
Who looked the quickest of the lot?
I know, there was a bit of grass on the pindi pitch, so not sure how they'll go on flatter tracks. But anyway, wasn't there a time where Pak use to create greentops when India used to tour in the imran days?

Didn't see enough of the bowlers to judge who looked quickest...camera angle and work was poor too!

if I am not mistaken, Najaf clearly looked like bowling in 82-84 MPH range cause he was making the batsman hurry and jump

The quickest has to be Yasir Ali cause that has been my impression since seeing him and Irshad play against each other in a 4 day game in Pakistan, earlier this year. Yasir Arafat looked skiddy too but most of his dimissals were kinda like swinging yorkers length balls...hard to judge speed on those!

In Imran's days, we used to have green pitches in only Lahore and Peshawar...rest were mostly flat pitches with some assistance for pacers in the early morning and right after tea time...it was just that Imran was so good that he blew them Indians on any kind of pitches :19:

Thanks Monsee. Seeming that you've seen Ali and Irshad in the 4 day match before, do they seem to bowl more inteligently than someone like Sami? Do they move the ball around, etc? I know they've got the pace to trouble batsman.

Zohaib said:
Thanks Monsee. Seeming that you've seen Ali and Irshad in the 4 day match before, do they seem to bowl more inteligently than someone like Sami? Do they move the ball around, etc? I know they've got the pace to trouble batsman.

Again, let me say that I have only seen them bowl in a couple of games...so don't believe 100% of what I say but surely the truth is some where in there too

Yasir looked more disciplined, better built of the two cause he is taller and when he fills up with age, he will be really built like a young Ian Bishop (i.e. if he works on his fitness from here on), he swung the ball at quite serious pace, and his line-n-length was much better

Irshad is built well for his height but I thought he could become better if he tightened his stomach area which kinda looked pudgy (a la Shoaiby these days), he had just decreased his run up a bit as per advice of Sadiq Mohammed (ext-Test Opener and Multan team's coach now), he had a very powerful approach to the wicket and was building speed towards the end but when I saw him he wasn't looking like the finished product.

Since then he has bowled well in almost in every game that he has been part of so something is going right for him. Maybe he has finally become comfortable with his shorter run up and has worked on his fitness. He swung the ball but I don't have too much recollection of how well he did that