[PICTURES/VIDEOS] Start of the Gautam Gambhir era as Head Coach of India, are you enjoying it?

Will Gautam Gambhir's coaching stint be a blessing for Indian team?

He's inherited a team where the senior players are past their best. Not fair to judge him this early

Must be familiar to him, he was past his best for most of his career himself.

He really needs to stop with his incessant pushing of KL Rahul. The guy is a rubbish and mentally weak player. Who cares about technique when you are averaging 33 in test cricket after 50+ tests?

I think hes a terrible man manager. Way too egotistical to be a good coach.

But so far the results are bad because it looks like India are being forced into a transition earlier than they were anticipating, just like in 2012.

Gambhir should be judged based on the results of the BGT. If he thinks both Kohli and Rohit Sharma are done then he should move on now.

I think hes a terrible man manager. Way too egotistical to be a good coach.

But so far the results are bad because it looks like India are being forced into a transition earlier than they were anticipating, just like in 2012.

Gambhir should be judged based on the results of the BGT. If he thinks both Kohli and Rohit Sharma are done then he should move on now.
I don't agree with last one .Bgt squad is already selected,so gambhir have to battle it out with old and spent force squad. Definitely india will be mauled at this rate but gambhir have to prove by working out a successful transition in next years. As u said he has to be a good man manager in first place for working out with lots of youngsters in all the formats.In a sense,it's like langers situation. It matters where it ended than started

Ravi Shastri when on air in the match at MCA Stadium, Gahunje:

“New Zealand have beaten them (India) handsomely in both the Test matches. It’s food for thought (on series loss). He (Gambhir) has just taken over the job. It’s never easy being coach of a team that has such a big following. It’s still early days in his career as a coach. But he’ll soon learn.”

Former India opener Aakash Chopra while speaking on his You Tube channel:

"Please win this match because WTC points are also involved. You will get 33% points (for the series) if you win this match. So many infamous records have already been created in Gautam Gambhir's tenure. Then you say you don't want to break any more records."

"It's not a dead rubber. There are two things in this. Firstly, never have we ever lost a three-match home series 3-0. We were whitewashed once in a two-match series but it has never happened in a three-match series. We are on the threshold of that record as well. Don't break it."

It has hard a new coach and someone perceived as quite a bitter fellow to come and drop Rohit and Kohli.

That should have been done by his predecessor.

Apart from that how much is the coach to blame for this loss?

He can’t work with Rohit and Kohli. Either he will get sacked after Australia or he will manage to get rid of them. Either way, there will be a shakeup after India get hammered in Australia.

India mentally owns Australia, they have beaten Australia in test series in Australia two times in a row and the last time they beat a full strength Australian team with their C, D team.

Australia mentally disintegrates against India and are forced to play defensive cricket. I don't see things being any different this time either. India knows the perfect formula to beat Australia in Australia

India mentally owns Australia, they have beaten Australia in test series in Australia two times in a row and the last time they beat a full strength Australian team with their C, D team.

Australia mentally disintegrates against India and are forced to play defensive cricket. I don't see things being any different this time either. India knows the perfect formula to beat Australia in Australia
It is not 2018-2021 anymore. Those days are gone. Since India last won in Australia, Australia humiliated India in the WTC final and the World Cup final.

India would find it hard to beat Australia today even in India let alone in Australia.

100% guaranteed that Australia will hammer India this time. In fact, India should be proud if they draw a single Test.

This series is a foregone conclusion. This series has all the makings of the 2012 type humiliation for India.

India has not started well under Gautam. Loss against Sri Lanka and now a home series defeat against Kiwis after decade. Gautam ERAis not working for India ATM.

Jay Shah to Gambhir: :inti

images

Jaiswal
——-
Gill
——-
Pant(wkt)
——-
Jadeja/Sundar

Need 3 more batting spots.

Jaiswal
——-
Gill
——-
Pant(wkt)
——-
Jadeja/Sundar

Need 3 more batting spots.
Assuming test matches,Definitely sai sudarshan in place of rohit .He is successful everywhere and across all the positions from 1 to 7 .He is technically very good. Eswaran,Gaikwad looked atrocious against Aus A in Aus tour.one of Mushir /Jurel should secure 5th spot.one more guy is Yash dhull . he is very good in pressure situations and technically competent.

Paddikal is not too far either. He doesn’t have a lot of potential though but can be a good batsman, similar to someone like Shikhar Dhawan.

Padikkal surprised me in Aus A tour.He need few more tours as he has the that habit of hanging his bat and will look really awful against good spinners.

It's the players. You can't keep relying on geriatrics like Rohit, Kohli, Ashwin and Jadeja forever.

The T20I side has freshened up and they don't look too bad .

He may well be a poor coach but this is a tough transition coming up.

Gautam Gambhir's performance under scanner after disaster in Sri Lanka and India​

Unprecedented series defeats against Sri Lanka and New Zealand have placed Gautam Gambhir under immense pressure barely three months into his appointment as the head coach of the Indian team. He was appointed to the top post amid much fanfare and was also given a rare seat at the selection committee meeting for the tour of Australia. However, his initial report card clearly suggests things aren't looking good for the former India opener.

Unless there is a remarkable turnaround Down Under, Gambhir, who was given a free hand in selection matters, may not have as much say in issues concerning the team in the coming times. Right after Gambhir took over the reins, India lost an ODI series to Sri Lanka for the first time in 27 years, and then New Zealand completed a 3-0 whitewash of his side in Tests at home on Sunday, something the team never experienced in its long cricketing journey.

While the coach can only do as much, questions are now being raised about the lack of prudence on display by going for a rank turner in Mumbai despite knowing that the top-order has time and again failed in the last six to seven years against quality spin bowling on wickets offering decent turn. Even Gambhir's philosophy of playing the same way, come hell or high water, is something that those associated closely with Indian cricket have failed to fathom.

Agreeing to send pacer Mohammed Siraj as night-watchman on the second evening of the third Test against New Zealand in Mumbai and Sarfaraz Khan at No.8 in the first innings are some of the tactical moves that are being questioned by everyone. "Gautam Gambhir was given access which his predecessors Ravi Shastri and Rahul Dravid didn't have. The BCCI's rule book doesn't allow coaches to be a part of the selection committee meetings, but for the Australia tour selection meeting, an exception was made.

"The head coach was allowed to attend considering the magnitude of the tour," a senior BCCI source told PTI on the condition of anonymity. At least two players -- Delhi and KKR speedster Harshit Rana and Andhra and SRH all-rounder Nitish Reddy -- are in the Border-Gavaskar Trophy (BGT) squad on the insistence of the head coach.

However, Rana wasn't given any white-ball game in either Sri Lanka or during the home series against Bangladesh. It was reported that he was released before the last match as he was unwell, but within a week, he was back bowling in the India nets in Bengaluru. And then, he had a good Ranji Trophy outing against Assam.

There was a school of thought that believed Rana, rather than featuring in the Ranji Trophy, could have been sent to Australia with the India A team as playing one or two first-class games on bouncy tracks there would have allowed him to hit the right length before the Test series.

Instead, he was turned into a net bowler for the just-concluded Test series in which two of the three tracks were rank turners.

Coming to Reddy, he got into a tangle while facing a short ball in the 'A' game and his bowling, which is certainly not good enough to be among the main five bowlers, has also raised concerns.

Impressed with Reddy's T20 skills, Gambhir was convinced that he can be the ideal replacement of Hardik Pandya as the seam bowling all-rounder.

The Australia series will be an acid test for Gambhir as he might have to also become the harbinger of doom for some senior players and show them the mirror as the board watches his moves from the sidelines.

The whitewash has also put the maverick Delhi man under the lens.

Gambhir.

Average player. Average coach.

Gambhir did a good job In t20s.India got good squad of 15 members with back up positions for all the spots and multi skilled players too.In other formats once deadwood rohit,kohli leaves his real test begins. He has to be sensible and should not go with spin tracks until our players are comfortable on those. He has to look to cut the deadwood or losses quickly

Sunil Gavaskar minces no words in 'terrible' assessment on Gambhir's head coach role: 'Numbers speak for themselves'​

On Monday, a day after the 25-run loss against New Zealand in the final Test match of the series in Mumbai, which led to India incurring their first-ever Test series (minimum of three matches) defeat on home soil, Gavaskar was asked about Gambhir's ongoing stint as the head coach of the Indian team, and the batting legend replied saying "the numbers tell the story." He was quick to remind that India had lost an ODI series (2-0) against Sri Lanka in August in his second assignment since assuming the role. It was India's first defeat in a bilateral series against the Asian side in 27 years.

"The results speak for themselves. Even in Sri Lanka, India lost an ODI series after a long time. And now here, it's a loss, it's a terrible loss. So, I think the results speak for themselves," he said.

Like the senior batters in Rohit Sharma and Virat Kohli, Gambhir's position in the Indian team is also reportedly under the scanner after the loss against Sri Lanka and New Zealand. According to news agency PTI, unless a remarkable comeback in the upcoming five-Test Border-Gavaskar Trophy series, BCCI is likely to curb Gambhir's power after the head coach was given a free hand in selection matters.

"Gautam Gambhir was given access which his predecessors Ravi Shastri and Rahul Dravid didn't have. The BCCI's rule book doesn't allow coaches to be a part of the selection committee meetings, but for Australia tour selection meeting, an exception was made.

"The head coach was allowed to attend considering the magnitude of the tour," a senior BCCI source told PTI on the condition of anonymity.

The report further revealed that there not only Gambhir's philosophy of playing Test cricket, a few of his tactical choices spotted during the recently-concluded New Zealand series - sending Mohammed Siraj as night-watchman on the second evening of the third Test and Sarfaraz Khan at No.8 in the first innings - have raised quite a few eyebrows. Not to forget, questions have also been raised about the lack of prudence on display by going for a rank turner in Mumbai despite knowing that the Indian batters have increasingly become vulnerable against spinners.

Source: Hindustan Times

India Head Coach Gautam Gambhir To Be Grilled After BCCI Went Against Policy To Accept Demands: Report

Gautam Gambhir will reportedly be quizzed by the BCCI over the decision taken since he’s taken over as the head coach of the Indian men’s cricket team as part of its review over their poor show against New Zealand at home. India suffered a historic 0-3 whitewash at the hands of the visitors despite having the history and home advantage on their side.

According to a report in The Times of India, the team asking for rank turners despite a shift in stance earlier this year when they beat England 4-1 in a five-match Test series on sporting pitches is also under scrutiny. The team reportedly asked for pitches helping spinners after they lost the opening Test to New Zealand in Bengaluru where they were stunned by the conditions that aided seam and swing bowling.

“The decision to go back to rank turners caught a few people in the board by surprise. The new support staff under Gautam Gambhir will be asked about their vision for taking the team forward," TOI quoted a source as claiming.

Gambhir’s “every demand" has reportedly been accepted by the BCCI including the support staff which saw the appointment of Abhishek Nayar, Morne Morkel and Ryan ten Doeschate.

Additionally, the former India opener also attended the selection meeting for the Australia tour which has become a bone of contention.

“The BCCI has agreed to every demand of Gambhir so far," the source said. “He has been given a support staff of his choice despite BCCI’s policy of promoting coaches they have groomed through NCA’s programme. He has also been allowed to attend the selection meeting to pick the team for the Australia tour. The board may have to revisit its decisions and ask Gambhir for a roadmap."

The review meeting is expected to be attended by captain Rohit Sharma, Gambhir and chief selector Ajit Agarkar.

Typical Mumbai pr .Deflect everything from. mumbaikars.everyone knows rohit and kohli are done and dusted. They are the main culprits in both series.What about other batsman like Jaiswal,Sarfaraz,Gill etc so called technique and hunger for big runs .Is rohit not responsible for the batting first in Bangalore and not picking another fast bowler on that pitch

India Head Coach Gautam Gambhir To Be Grilled After BCCI Went Against Policy To Accept Demands: Report

Gautam Gambhir will reportedly be quizzed by the BCCI over the decision taken since he’s taken over as the head coach of the Indian men’s cricket team as part of its review over their poor show against New Zealand at home. India suffered a historic 0-3 whitewash at the hands of the visitors despite having the history and home advantage on their side.

According to a report in The Times of India, the team asking for rank turners despite a shift in stance earlier this year when they beat England 4-1 in a five-match Test series on sporting pitches is also under scrutiny. The team reportedly asked for pitches helping spinners after they lost the opening Test to New Zealand in Bengaluru where they were stunned by the conditions that aided seam and swing bowling.

“The decision to go back to rank turners caught a few people in the board by surprise. The new support staff under Gautam Gambhir will be asked about their vision for taking the team forward," TOI quoted a source as claiming.

Gambhir’s “every demand" has reportedly been accepted by the BCCI including the support staff which saw the appointment of Abhishek Nayar, Morne Morkel and Ryan ten Doeschate.

Additionally, the former India opener also attended the selection meeting for the Australia tour which has become a bone of contention.

“The BCCI has agreed to every demand of Gambhir so far," the source said. “He has been given a support staff of his choice despite BCCI’s policy of promoting coaches they have groomed through NCA’s programme. He has also been allowed to attend the selection meeting to pick the team for the Australia tour. The board may have to revisit its decisions and ask Gambhir for a roadmap."

The review meeting is expected to be attended by captain Rohit Sharma, Gambhir and chief selector Ajit Agarkar.

Seems like they are trying to put Gambhir under the bus while Kohli and Rohit are not being questioned.

Basit Ali recently vehemently criticized Indian head coach for his poor performance against New Zealand at home:

"India ka batting coach hai kaun, jo yeh nahi bata pa raha ki Test cricket session to session hoti hai? Bas har over 12 run bana lo, 10 run bana lo. Yeh koi cricket hai yaar! (Who is India's batting coach, not able to advise the batsmen that you approach Tests session by session? Trying to score 10-12 runs every over is not cricket),"

"Is there no one to tell players like (Yashasvi) Jaiswal and (Shubman) Gill that when you reach 30-35, then don't get out playing loose shots, try to play out the session? Because only a set batsman can be successful (on such tracks), at that time he is your Bradman," Basit Ali further said. "But it seems they wait and think that there is still Virat Kohli to come, Rishabh Pant too, also KL Rahul and Sarfaraz (Khan); but on these tracks, the one who is set is the big player,"

"Jaiswal scored 200 against England. Those were better pitches. (Rahul) Dravid has a better mind (as a coach) compared to Gautam Gambhir. Dravid used to advise for four-day pitches so that a Test match goes at least until the fourth day. Let it turn from the third, fourth day, fifth day. But you guys are asking for wickets (that turn) from the first day, where someone who is not a regular spinner will get turn even if he bowls straight,"

Former South Africa Captain AB de Villiers doubts Gautam Gambhir's role in Samson's redemption, says on his YouTube channel:

"Something has triggered there, something has clicked in his game which is absolutely great to watch. The thing about him is that he makes it effortless out there. I don't see much experimentation going out there. Not a lot of creativity in terms of funny shots, doesn't seem that he wants to entertain the crowd and please someone, he just sticks in his little bubble and he just is easy on the eye."

Meanwhile, Sanju Samson said at the post-match press conference after the end of the first T20I:

“When you have a supporting captain like Suryakumar Yadav and Gautam bhai and VVS Laxman sir, they all support you during failures. The way they communicate with you in your failures is very important. Everyone knows that if we are going through a negative phase, then the player can get lost there,"

India head coach Gautam Gambhir in a pre-departure press conference before leaving for Australia ahead of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25:

"You all keep talking about transition. Transition or not, the players are hungry."

“I am not thinking about Transition. All I am thinking right now is about the Test series vs Australia. Transition or no transition will keep happening. But at the moment the focus has to be on the Test series.”

"We have a lot of experienced players who have played in these conditions. Those inputs will be crucial for the young players. We have ten days of preparation ahead of the first Test."

"The main challenge will be the conditions, which are very different in India compared to Australia. This applies to both the support staff and players. If we can get solid preparation, there’s nothing better. We've been to Australia many times, so that experience will be crucial. We're ready to fire from the very first ball."

"What does Ponting has to do with Indian cricket? Both Virat and Rohit still work very hard and they are still passionate."

"We were outplayed by New Zealand. Not going to defend. The criticism we are receiving we take it with both hands and we keep going forward. My relation with Rohit is great."

India head coach Gautam Gambhir in a pre-departure press conference before leaving for Australia ahead of the Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-25:

"You all keep talking about transition. Transition or not, the players are hungry."

“I am not thinking about Transition. All I am thinking right now is about the Test series vs Australia. Transition or no transition will keep happening. But at the moment the focus has to be on the Test series.”

"We have a lot of experienced players who have played in these conditions. Those inputs will be crucial for the young players. We have ten days of preparation ahead of the first Test."

"What does Ponting has to do with Indian cricket? Both Virat and Rohit still work very hard and they are still passionate."

"We were outplayed by New Zealand. Not going to defend. The criticism we are receiving we take it with both hands and we keep going forward. My relation with Rohit is great."

Seems like there is some Mumbai v Dehli issues going on still in Indian cricket ala Karachi v Lahore?

During an interview with local sports media outlet, former Australian captain Tim Paine criticised Gautam Gambhir for his coaching style ahead of the Border Gavaskar Trophy series:

“I don’t love it. It’s not a good sign I think, because all he was asked was a very simple question.“I think he’s maybe looking at Ricky still as someone he’s playing against, but Ricky is a commentator now – he’s paid to give an opinion, and his opinion was spot on. Virat has been sliding, it is a concern, absolutely. But for me now, the biggest concern for India right now isn’t Rohit Sharma’s batting, isn’t Virat Kohli’s batting, it’s their coach and his ability to stay calm under pressure.”

“Their last two series wins out here they had Ravi Shastri who was fantastic.”

“He created a great environment, the players were energised, they played with passion, he sold them the dream and motivated them in a really light-hearted enjoyable way. They have gone to a new coach now who is really *****ly, really competitive – and that is not to say that’s not a good thing and a good way to coach – but my concern is that it’s not a great fit for the Indian cricket team.”

During interview with local sports media outlet, Sourav Ganguly stepped in to defend India's head coach, Gautam Gambhir, following remarks involving Ricky Ponting:

"All I will say is let him be. I saw some criticism on what he said in the press conference. It is the way he is. Let him be. When he won the IPL, he was the same, you were going gaga over him. Just because he has lost three test matches and a one-day series against Sri Lanka, the straight talk has not been looked at nicely. But that is the way he is.”

“And why not? Australians, from the time I have watched cricket, they have been tough for you. They have played their cricket that way, whether it was (Steve) Waugh, Ponting or (Matthew) Hayden. So, there is nothing wrong with what Gambhir has said. That is the way he is, and he fights, he competes, so let us give him a chance. It has just been two-three months, and you are passing a judgement on him.”

That was such a dumb, but a totally expected, response from Gambhir!

Ponting is an analyst! Of course he’ll give opinion on both teams strengths and weaknesses lol!

Gambhir needs to get overcome his small man syndrome and understand that the world is not always against him. People are not always trying to pick a fight.

He still talks like an angry teenager lol!

Manjrekar is spot on. Gambhir is not mentally fit to face the media

During conversation with local sports media outlet, former India's star all-rounder Ravi Shastri has an advise for current head coach Gautam Gambhir ahead of the all-important Border-Gavaskar Trophy 2024-2025:

"I think would be the first thing would be to be calm, you know, don't let outside elements, influence you in any way. Because of that, don't get into a position where knee-jerk reactions happen. Get to understand your players. You will see them in bad situations, you'll see them in India, you'll see them in overseas, you know, you will, notice what it takes for a player to click. You will understand situations of a team where a certain player might be better than the other."

"It took me some time to understand everyone. He might have seen them from the outside of the IPL, and he might have sat with a few players in the dressing room when he played the game, but there are a lot of other players and they come from different mindsets, different cultures, and different parts of the country. And for you to dig deep and understand their mindsets would be the most important thing. There could be a player, you know, who's an introvert, but actually, if you push him out there and give him the confidence, he could be a match-winner for you."

1st test of BGT, INDIA all out for 150.

Gautam is gonna have a tough time ahead.

Nitish Kumar Reddy Speaking at the post-match press conference after Day 1 of 1st Test between Australia and India:

"Even I heard a lot about Perth and I still remember when we were having after the last practice session, I had a chat with Gautam Gambhir sir. He mentioned when you get any bouncers or something like those sharp spells, you just take them on to your shoulders and just feel like you are taking a bullet for your country."

"So that really helped me a lot, that just boosted me up. So I was feeling that somehow you'll have that on the back of the mind. He said that thing and I felt like you need to take bullets for your country."

Gautam Gambhir Flies Back to Australia to Rejoin Indian Squad Ahead of Second Test

Latest reports state that India’s head coach Gautam Gambhir will rejoin the team in Australia on Tuesday, having flown out of India after having returned home because of “personal reasons".

Gambhir had earlier informed the Board of Control for Cricket in India that he would be going home and coming back ahead of the second Test and BCCI approved the request.

Now gambhir has reached his coaching career critical juncture .Will he able to push rohit and kohli before the series and show some spine or not.dravid must have happily played everyone and lost it meekly.will he show some guts and take out both washed up pr bulked superstars to revive the team or sit in a corner with out any fight and sulk quietly? If he sits quietly, both players don't even hesitate to prolong their career shamelessly and suck the Indian team chances in ct and other imp series

Shahid Afridi during an interview on a podcast said:

"Gautam has got the responsibility because he was the coach of the Kolkata Knight Riders that won the IPL. This means that he has something in him. Coaching a franchise and leading a national team is a big responsibility."

"He has just come in; it has just been 1-2 times. Whenever someone comes, it takes time. It is not just the responsibility of the national team; you have to go to a lower level."

"Whichever coaches and directors are there, you have communication with them on what kind of players you need and what bowlers you need. Whenever someone new comes in, I say give them time. Give 8-9 months or a year. Every system takes time to affect."

Former Pakistan cricketer Basit Ali feels that there is some tension between Indian skipper Rohit Sharma and head coach Gautam Gambhir, he said:

“Rohit Sharma and Gautam Gambhir are not on the same page, be it the one-day tournament in Sri Lanka; Bangladesh, which was a weak series; or the New Zealand series after that,"

“I can explain it very easily. In all three Tests matches, a different spinner played. In two Test matches, they batted after winning the toss, but here they chose to bowl. There are three left-handers in the Australian batting....So why not (Washington) Sundar and why not (Ravichandran) Ashwin? Anybody who understands cricket will definitely talk about it,"