Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

I am afraid a sad news about begum Kulsoom and sympathy vote can turn the tables. Jazbaati qaum he

I'm not sure how big an affect that would have. Benazir was a totally different case, she was the party leader, two time Prime Minister, and also a figure loved and admired by the masses. Kulsoom Nawaz has never been someone people followed or admired, people only knew her as Nawaz Sharif's wife.

ISLAMABAD: Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chairman Imran Khan owns assets worth more than Rs3.8 million.

Moreover, the PTI chief earned Rs4,776,611 last year, as per the record submitted to the Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP).

The documents reveal details of Imran’s earnings from agriculture, salary and bank profits.

The cricketer-turned-politician paid Rs303,763 in taxes last year.

Imran is also the owner of 168 acres of agricultural land, according to the documents — a copy of which is available with Geo News.

The PTI chief has also submitted details of his foreign trips along with his nomination papers to the ECP.

This year, Imran only travelled to the United Kingdom. The three-day trip costs Rs240,000, according to the documents.

According to the documents, Imran does not own any businesses in Pakistan or abroad.

However, the PTI chairman owns 14 properties across Pakistan and none abroad.

Imran's wife, Bushra Bibi, and his two sons with Jemima Khan — Qasim and Sulaiman — have been listed as his dependents.

The documents state that Bushra Bibi's assets have not been included as their marriage took place in 2018. Similarly, Imran's sons have been shown as "not financially dependent".

A returning officer (RO) on Tuesday rejected Imran's nomination papers for NA-53 for failing to properly fill out the affidavit attached with the nomination papers.

The PTI chief's candidacy was also rejected from NA-95 (Mianwali).

However, Imran's nomination papers were accepted from NA-35 (Bannu), NA-131 (Lahore) and NA-243 (Karachi).

https://www.geo.tv/latest/199960-imran-khan-owns-assets-worth-rs38-million

I'm not sure how big an affect that would have. Benazir was a totally different case, she was the party leader, two time Prime Minister, and also a figure loved and admired by the masses. Kulsoom Nawaz has never been someone people followed or admired, people only knew her as Nawaz Sharif's wife.

they rented a house round to corner from my place in islu. This was during mushy's time. After they vacated the property, the landlord wasnt paid a dime and when he tried to get his money he was given the gullu butt treatment...not physically beaten but threatened.

Who rented?

[MENTION=133865]hussain.r97[/MENTION] this poll estimates 51 seats for PPP, that's quite different from your estimate.

The loss of MQM is gain of PPP.

I am afraid a sad news about begum Kulsoom and sympathy vote can turn the tables. Jazbaati qaum he

Sympathy Vote after 5 years govt ?. I would say it will backfire. MASSIVELY.

Had PMLn been sitting on opposition benches, Sympathy Vote was up for them to grab. In our society, No Govt will get Sympathy Vote, No matter whatsoever victim card it plays. NEVER.

If PMLn are planning to play this card (which I doubt they will) , it's advantage Opposition.

Whenever you post about Shekhu's two constituencies i get depressingly angry at PTI's folly.

In reality PTI has the potential to clean sweep Rawalpindi if PTI avoids making mistakes. With Nisar also contesting as an independent the wave is definitely with PTI. In urban areas of Islamabad PTI was already very strong. Tsunami is truly there in Rawalpindi.

Lol, now consider my situation - an ardent PTI supporter who has been mobilizing people in his constituency since Hina Manzur days and now all my bat-centric groundwork for the party has been zeroed by the handover to AML's qalam dawat. :110:

To give you an idea, during my free time I was printing and distributing PTI leaflets in NA-61 for 4 months in the lead up to candidates' announcement. I haven't distributed a single one since. No point.

Sympathy Vote after 5 years govt ?. I would say it will backfire. MASSIVELY.

Had PMLn been sitting on opposition benches, Sympathy Vote was up for them to grab. In our society, No Govt will get Sympathy Vote, No matter whatsoever victim card it plays. NEVER.

If PMLn are planning to play this card (which I doubt they will) , it's advantage Opposition.

I hope you guys are right and i am proved wrong for the good! but i have seen people voting for MNAs and MPAs again once his / her corrupt father dies. This jazbaati qaum got a short term memory

WTH man a PMLN candidate returned PMLN ticket in Nowshera and joined PTI Gullalai? Trolling he bhai pure trolling

DgKNtBgWAAEDy-E.jpg

Here is the scenario on 7 NA of Rawalpindi in case there is no seat Adjustment with Ch Nisar.

Going by recent surveys it's safe to say PTI (+Sheikh) stand more than 50% chances of winning NA-61 > NA-60, NA-62, NA-63. (these 3 seats includes areas like Raja Bazar, Taxila, Rawalpindi Cantt etc)

NA-60 > NA-61 was up for an easy grab but PTI risked it by giving it to Shiekh Rasheed as mentioned by [MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION]

NA-59 PTI chances increased there because of divided vote between Ch Nisar and PMLN. There is not even a slight chance of PMLN winning it and its going to be between Ch Nisar and PTI.

PTI is really weak in NA-57 (Murree area, PMLN's Khaqan Abbasi will probably win it) and PTI is also weak in NA-58 (Gujjar Khan area, according to reports its going to be a 3 way fight there PMLN vs PTI vs PPP)

Agree with this overall assessment. Just corrected some erroneous numbering.

I hope you guys are right and i am proved wrong for the good! but i have seen people voting for MNAs and MPAs again once his / her corrupt father dies. This jazbaati qaum got a short term memory

Bhai yahan Govt k 1 saal baad public start bashing govt. N-League and PPP survived through 90s because they mastered the art of "Early and Safe Exit" after 2-3 years govt.
We are an impatient nation and In our society, public get fed up within momths. Any attempt to cash for sympathy vote will backfire if you were in govt. Someone Allowed to complete 5 years term is a big opportunity but an even bigger challenge/curse.

Look where is PPP after one complete term of 5 years. Merely non-existent in Punjab and restricted to parts of Sindh.

This was the reason why there were created false news by PMLn to Invite Martial Law in months preceding retirement of Raheel Sharif. They wanted to build their narrative "5 saal pooray karnay detay to Paris bana detay Pakistan ko".

Earlier I read through some posts and surveys predicting PMLn to win 70 NA seats. Bhai half century be nahi honi.

Lol, now consider my situation - an ardent PTI supporter who has been mobilizing people in his constituency since Hina Manzur days and now all my bat-centric groundwork for the party has been zeroed by the handover to AML's qalam dawat. :110:

To give you an idea, during my free time I was printing and distributing PTI leaflets in NA-61 for 4 months in the lead up to candidates' announcement. I haven't distributed a single one since. No point.

If anyone you have the right for a dharna outside banigala.

Aitzaz Ahsan gave impetus to conspiracy theory that Kalsoom's illness was just an excuse for Nawaz to delay court proceedings.
He said that it was a general conception that Sharif family is actually owner of that Hospital.

Regarding above discussion, I don't believe victim card can be any useful in Kulsoom Nawaz's health case. To be honest, there are no signs that it will be used to that extent. There is simply no parallel between Kulsoom and BB. In addition to one being completely apolitical and the other a head of political party , the nature of their illness is completely different. BB was murdered when she was pretty active and healthy.
May Kulsoom Nawaz recover well and have a long life.

"Mujha kyon nikala" despite the fact how much we disagree with is a victim card that has better chances of being heard than Kulsoom's illness.

[MENTION=133865]hussain.r97[/MENTION] this poll estimates 51 seats for PPP, that's quite different from your estimate.

The loss of MQM is gain of PPP.

From what I get they seem to be giving seats to PPP from Punjab based on their 11% there. Their popular vote numbers are more important as those are real figures, their seat projections see all speculative. Though I do agree that PPP are going to make gains in Karachi for siure.

If anyone you have the right for a dharna outside banigala.

I am working a fulltime job. That and the inherent futility of my actions is the only thing preventing me from going up to bani gala. Futile, because former prospective NA candidate from my area of NA-60, Fayaz Chohan, seems to be happy with a PP seat. His camp is not making any noise. Same is the case with former MPA from my area, Asim Mehmood, who was pipped by Kiani for NA-61 despite doing a lot of groundwork during his tenure. But he seems to be happy with getting PP-14 (although not announced yet). So, in general, there is no disgruntled leadership in Rwp who is going to take up our cause.

Regarding above discussion, I don't believe victim card can be any useful in Kulsoom Nawaz's health case. To be honest, there are no signs that it will be used to that extent. There is simply no parallel between Kulsoom and BB. In addition to one being completely apolitical and the other a head of political party , the nature of their illness is completely different. BB was murdered when she was pretty active and healthy.

"Mujha kyon nikala" despite the fact how much we disagree with is a victim card that has better chances of being heard than Kulsoom's illness.

I think you are not counting the fact that Kulsoom Nawaz's illness is playing into the N's narrative of victimization. Even when she is on her supposed deathbed, their cases are still proceeding.

That said, I am very skeptical of her being on a ventilator. Maryam was doing photoshoots of her mother left and right, however there is not a single photo on her feed that shows Kulsoom on a ventilator.

Bhai yahan Govt k 1 saal baad public start bashing govt. N-League and PPP survived through 90s because they mastered the art of "Early and Safe Exit" after 2-3 years govt.
We are an impatient nation and In our society, public get fed up within momths. Any attempt to cash for sympathy vote will backfire if you were in govt. Someone Allowed to complete 5 years term is a big opportunity but an even bigger challenge/curse.

Look where is PPP after one complete term of 5 years. Merely non-existent in Punjab and restricted to parts of Sindh.

This was the reason why there were created false news by PMLn to Invite Martial Law in months preceding retirement of Raheel Sharif. They wanted to build their narrative "5 saal pooray karnay detay to Paris bana detay Pakistan ko".

Earlier I read through some posts and surveys predicting PMLn to win 70 NA seats. Bhai half century be nahi honi.

Meri teraf se aapke mu main ghee shaker ager inke sath itni buri hui is dafa!

They and their lifafas and supporters are playing this "humain milne nae dya gaya card" although their name was never put on ECL by their own interior minister so who stopped them from getting over this mujhe kyun nikala and visit her?

From what I get they seem to be giving seats to PPP from Punjab based on their 11% there. Their popular vote numbers are more important as those are real figures, their seat projections see all speculative. Though I do agree that PPP are going to make gains in Karachi for siure.

Who are the people who are conducting these surveys? Why don't they have a legitimate website?

Honestly not sure why they don't have a website. They do seem reasonably new compared to other companies, and talking to them, they do seem genuine. They said that one of the major three political parties are a client of theirs.

In any case, surveys in Pakistan are interesting but should be taken with a grain of salt. Historically, Gallup have been the only major surveying company to survey for the elections, and they always turn out to be wrong, and that too by some margin, so I don't see why we can't give these guys a chance. Interestingly, Gallup and these guys are coming out with totally different numbers. Gallup currently have PML-N on 38% and PTI on 25%, doesn't seem right.

IB/ISI and other intel agencies must be doing their surveys too without voters knowledge based on ground situation i wish we had access to their research they are very close to reality because their guys are always mixed in common people and report from their posted location instead of visiting place to place and prepare a report based on interviews of a few.

They and their lifafas and supporters are playing this "humain milne nae dya gaya card" although their name was never put on ECL by their own interior minister so who stopped them from getting over this mujhe kyun nikala and visit her?

They do all propaganda to justify saazish and victim-hood.

Meanwhile, PTI also scoring big with Maryam's "meri London tou kya Pakistan mein bhi koe propery nhi hai" after seeing asset list in her nomination papers.

IB/ISI and other intel agencies must be doing their surveys too without voters knowledge based on ground situation i wish we had access to their research they are very close to reality because their guys are always mixed in common people and report from their posted location instead of visiting place to place and prepare a report based on interviews of a few.

They only count seats and not votes.

Mush knew in 2008 well before elections that Q is going to have around 40 seats. Ch Shujaat used to criticize him that Mush had fixed the elections since he knew the results well before election day.
It was simply a matter of Mush having intelligence reports with him.

Honestly not sure why they don't have a website. They do seem reasonably new compared to other companies, and talking to them, they do seem genuine. They said that one of the major three political parties are a client of theirs.

In any case, surveys in Pakistan are interesting but should be taken with a grain of salt. Historically, Gallup have been the only major surveying company to survey for the elections, and they always turn out to be wrong, and that too by some margin, so I don't see why we can't give these guys a chance. Interestingly, Gallup and these guys are coming out with totally different numbers. Gallup currently have PML-N on 38% and PTI on 25%, doesn't seem right.

Gallup Shafi is not dependable. I remember he estimated 18-20 seats for PTI last time. PTI actually won around 30 despite massive rigging. In fact if not rigging PTI would have had 40 seats in previous elections. So, gallup Ejaz Shafi's error margin was 100 percent in calculating PTI seats.

They are truly awful. They are meant to be one of the more reputable firms, but their previous predictions give me no confidence. I think it will be interesting to see how these new guys turn out to be, their results seem more in line with the actual situation. Good thing is they have said they will release a new poll every 10 days, so it will allow us to see the general trend.

Big blow to PMLN in NA-133. Zaeem Qadri contesting as independent after not getting a ticket. Angry press conference by the fellow. He clearly looks to be in the Nawaz and Maryam clique.

Regardless, Ejaz Ahmed's chances increase.

ZQadri.jpg

Waheed Alam got over 1 lacs votes in last election so don't know what was Zaeem expecting.

Asim Nazir one of the strongest electable of Faisalabad contect Ch Nisar and agreed to contest Indep (he refused PMLN ticket). I can see those who refused PMLN ticket from Jhang joining Ch Nisar group soon.

Muslim LEague Hum Khayal in making? anyway interesting times ahead!

There used to be a poster 'Insaftak' during the last elections. I wonder where he is now? My social media and these forums used to be flooded videos and photos of crowded rallies and speeches. Now there's no buzz and there's negativity everywhere. PTI is no longer as popular as last time around even here on PakPassion.

Asim Nazir one of the strongest electable of Faisalabad contect Ch Nisar and agreed to contest Indep (he refused PMLN ticket). I can see those who refused PMLN ticket from Jhang joining Ch Nisar group soon.

Muslim LEague Hum Khayal in making? anyway interesting times ahead!

Telling you again Boss. Half Century be nahi honi.

There used to be a poster 'Insaftak' during the last elections. I wonder where he is now? My social media and these forums used to be flooded videos and photos of crowded rallies and speeches. Now there's no buzz and there's negativity everywhere. PTI is no longer as popular as last time around even here on PakPassion.

Tourists are always more excited compared to permanent resident guards.

PTI cancels one NA ticket and one PP ticket given to Ayesha Nazir because she decided to contest from one more NA constituency?

A very poor decision from PTI. Now, PML-N will sweep Vehari.

Ayesha Nazir and family are immensely popular.

PTI cancels one NA ticket and one PP ticket given to Ayesha Nazir because she decided to contest from one more NA constituency?

True they are popular they were acting just like Major Tahir. They were contesting Independent on some seats against PTI and on PTI ticket from other seats.

Did not know they were contesting against PTI as independents.That’s very unethical.

What will PTI do know? I do not see any good candidate from Vehari.

Did not know they were contesting against PTI as independents.That’s very unethical.

What will PTI do know? I do not see any good candidate from Vehari.

No news so far about alternative candidates and Khakwakwani isn't that strong so PTI is looking weak in Vehari right now

The Jutt Family was given three tickets yet they wanted more. Height of greed. No other family in Punjab got three tickets!

Nazir family being too greedy. PTI did the right thing here.

However, we are still to see any correction in previously allotted few tickets.

There is absolute mum from parliamentary board. Tickets need to be finalized by this weekend.

Wait what... some tickets are still not finalized?

Yes but not only PTI actually PMLN is yet to announce majority of their tickets too and PPP ticket to koi free umre ke tickets ke sath be nae le raha. I heard PTI will finalize 99% tickets by Friday evening (1% will be left to decide in next 1 week) and PTI will start election campaign from Sunday.

Aon Abbas Bappi PTI's General Secretary South Punjab taking SMQ to cleaners for distributing Multan tickets to family members and buddies.

vUyN9x6g

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x6mfj7n" allowfullscreen allow="autoplay"></iframe>

Imran Khan will b kicking off the election campaign from his hometown Mianwali on this Sunday!

Last jalsa before 25th July should be held in Karachi or Lahore.

Interesting to see this new trend in Punjab people in different cities finally started saying "Chalen aik dafa Imran ko be moqa dete hen", "Imran ka be aik chance banta he", "Inko 30 saal azmaa lya he ab PTI ko dekhte hen"

PTI candidate from NA256 Karachi is Najeeb Haroon he paid 40 crore rupees tax in last 3 years what's his sources of income? must be a very very rich man

DgRrrvGXkAA1L96.jpg:small

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="ur" dir="rtl">لاہور:پنجابیوں کی تعدادزیادہ ہے،ووٹ دےکرسیاسی لاڈلےکوفارغ کرناہے،خواجہ سعدرفیق<a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/Abbtakk?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#Abbtakk</a></p>— AbbTakk (@AbbTakk) <a href="https://twitter.com/AbbTakk/status/1009872825715494912?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

That'd be the 'ladla' who has ruled Punjab for 30 years and has been the PM three times.

Oh sorry, I was mixing Imran Khan with the real Ladla.

That'd be the 'ladla' who has ruled Punjab for 30 years and has been the PM three times.

Oh sorry, I was mixing Imran Khan with the real Ladla.

They are so desperate they are now back to playing Punjabi card and slogans like Jaag Punjabi Jaag

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Since almost a week I have used all resources available incl surveys to assess if & where merit may have been ignored in ticket allocation. I assure all who have submitted complaints that before announcing the final list I will ensure that where merit was bypassed it is restored.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1010092984149438464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

PTI candidate from NA256 Karachi is Najeeb Haroon he paid 40 crore rupees tax in last 3 years what's his sources of income? must be a very very rich man

That is more than the Sharifs and Bhutto/Zardari Family Businesses have paid in the entire history of PK.

Seriously Najeeb should be awarded NA seat on this alone, what a man!!

I think he is a successful businessman and heard many times about his tax payments.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Since almost a week I have used all resources available incl surveys to assess if & where merit may have been ignored in ticket allocation. I assure all who have submitted complaints that before announcing the final list I will ensure that where merit was bypassed it is restored.</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/1010092984149438464?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">June 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

I heard some people even manipulated the survey results, ab ye aik banda bechaar kya karay. Shah Mahmood Qureshi has been busy securing tickets for his family and relatives. Nazir Jutt family from Vehari acted like greedy idiots even after being awarded 3 tickets.

If anything, Jahangir Tareen deserves huge respect for working tirelessly without any personal gains.

Imran Khan has spent many days (weeks) just going through applications and even reviewing the appeals and facing angry protesters but there are way too many greedy leeches around him.

what do peeps think about the Zaeem Qadri press conference? seems as if they are falling apart!!

Looks like he is definatley leaving the PMLN!! and is open to joining the PTI!!

I think it's better he contests Independent as PTI can't even offer him a ticket and his main issue is ticket. Him contesting Independent helps PTI as well as Noon votes will split. Also, he is a foul mouthed idiot, we should just offer him some tissues and shoulder to cry on so he could expose the not-so-Sharif family but don't take him in party.

Did you guys watch Waseem Badami's show in NA243? PTI seems to be FAR ahead of others which is great to see and also noticed quite a lot of them voted for PTI in 2013 as well.

MQM seems to have lost most of the support (more than i even expected).
Some of MQM supporters even supporting Tekreek e Labbaik or MMA (surprised to see this).

PPP has also gained but not as much as PTI in this constituency.

Is this historically MQM stronghold? If this trend continues in other areas of Karachi then PTI will have a huge chance of winning 6-8 seats from Karachi.

Wow Imran Khan has just delivered a brilliant speech to protesters "Ye jo aap log protest kar rahay hain, ye aapka haq hai" Appreciated them and explained to them everything he has to to ensure justice is done.
This is one of many speeches he has delivered and assured them of justice. Once he said, i will listen to you but don't pressurize me with blackmailing tactics which PMLN is spreading is threats which is absolute non sense. No leader has spent as much time explaining the decisions which is real democracy.

Looks like his recent speech has done the trick, few people finally starting to end the protest.

Did you guys watch Waseem Badami's show in NA243? PTI seems to be FAR ahead of others which is great to see and also noticed quite a lot of them voted for PTI in 2013 as well.

Some of MQM supporters even supporting Tekreek e Labbaik or MMA (surprised to see this).

Is this historically MQM stronghold? If this trend continues in other areas of Karachi then PTI will have a huge chance of winning 6-8 seats from Karachi.

I think surveys/shows in other constituencies of Karachi will give us a better idea. Imran Khan is running in NA-243 and this constituency is a strong one for PTI in any case. It is traditionally an MQM seat with mostly middle class Muhajir families and some pockets of Pathans. They need to do a show in NA-254 Azizabad, that will give us a much clearer picture of the extent that MQM have lost support.

This SMQ vs JKT fight is getting out of control now. Even their social media teams are now fighting like kids. SMQ fans are accusing JKT of being a Zardari agent in PTI

Nice to hear. Has ARY come back on track? A few days ago Badami ran a survey recorded in last winter to downplay PTI support while also projecting that PMLN has ended load-shedding.

I heard some people even manipulated the survey results, ab ye aik banda bechaar kya karay. Shah Mahmood Qureshi has been busy securing tickets for his family and relatives. Nazir Jutt family from Vehari acted like greedy idiots even after being awarded 3 tickets.

If anything, Jahangir Tareen deserves huge respect for working tirelessly without any personal gains.

Imran Khan has spent many days (weeks) just going through applications and even reviewing the appeals and facing angry protesters but there are way too many greedy leeches around him.

They are still in the PTI fold. Saw tickers on 92 news about Nazir's interview to 92 news. He says whatever Imran will decide we will follow, and PTI will clean sweep from Burewala.

Feel sorry for Khan sometime i mean he made sure his relatives are far away from party but the leadership below him are making sure to secure best positions and tickets for their bhaanje bhaanjyaan damaad bhai behens

Short but good speech by IK to convince naraz workers.

<iframe frameborder="0" width="480" height="270" src="//www.dailymotion.com/embed/video/x6mi1zv" allowfullscreen allow="autoplay"></iframe>

They are still in the PTI fold. Saw tickers on 92 news about Nazir's interview to 92 news. He says whatever Imran will decide we will follow, and PTI will clean sweep from Burewala.

They weren't following it when they pitched Ayesha's sister, Arifa, against Khakwani. And announced their own PP panel too. I'd be careful with these guys. They seem like quite the opportunists.