Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

Reminder : This thread is about the General Elections,and thus about every political party and every single candidate.All discussion about candidates(as long as it’s not personal or offensive) is allowed here.

Please take your post elsewhere. Thanks.

Just a few days to go to election so we are concentrating on talking about the key battle grounds not Jibran Nasir.

From what I gather Jibran Nasir is an activist and has defended Ahmadis. That's why a few Ahmadi posters on here continue to harp on about him in this thread.

There are other threads for them to do so. Kindly let's not do that in this one with just a few days to go.

Are ahmadi’s not humans? What a disgraceful post. Being a member of any particular religion has nothing to do with supporting JN and his ideals. If you have a problem with his policies, then state them instead of berating someone solely for pathetic religious reasons.

Roshan Opinion have usefully posted the swing seats to look out for on election night.

IMG_20180721_095224.jpg

He is a left-wing activist with many admirable ideals. However his ideals in Pakistan won't win him votes and I am afraid he is putting his life at risk by fighting with the TLYR types (the ones who venerate Mumtaz Qadri). He will mostly win about 1000 votes, which is a step up for the 500 he won last time.

Right, hopefully it's a stepping stone for him for future elections.

Some updates from Dunya Elections Cell

DinWse0XkAIWaap.jpg:small

DinXFFiX0AA-fTA.jpg:small

DinWUV0XsAAW08K.jpg:small

DinVwCdX4AA-D81.jpg:small

DintlyiW0AAoz2L.jpg:small

DinrgopWAAAwJRH.jpg:small

DinpzVMWAAAkop3.jpg:small

Dinfru7XUAAo12u.jpg:small

DineKdbXsAAYmD_.jpg:small

DindK_LX0AA5eKy.jpg:small

DindRWFX0AEgju-.jpg:small

DinbybKXUAAH9I6.jpg:small

DinahDsXcAAZilt.jpg:small

DinaLkPX4AA1ze4.jpg:small

DinZ6tFWAAEN9Iv.jpg:small

DinZovZXcAAcPFo.jpg:small

DinY9cpWkAA4K-9.jpg:small

DinYhcGWAAA7l1P.jpg:small

DinXvnGXcAMOBg8.jpg:small

DinXV-PXcAAmvmP.jpg:small

Yep really shocked to see PTI is showing fight in Gujjar Khan!

NA70 and NA79 can go either way. Strange to seat Abid Raza losing

Bro this will be the most exciting and nail biting Pakistani election of all time.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Public Interest Law Association of Pakistan gives highest score to our Manifesto rating it at 70 compared to big parties PTI 63, PMLN 66 and PPP 52. We are proud of our team for its efforts, vision & understanding of issues and are grateful to policy experts who served as mentors <a href="https://t.co/VBV5qvlOqf">pic.twitter.com/VBV5qvlOqf</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1020606382821666816?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

If I’m not wrong, firdaus ashiq awan was one of the most hated ministers in Zardari’s cabinet. I wonder why she got the ticket from PTI to contest in this elections?

wow just wow Gujranwala is proving to very close and both parties are going neck and neck. Only Khurram Dastagir is looking ahead on his seat by a big margin in Gjrnw all others are going neck and neck.

Din2it0XkAENJdH.jpg

Din3IZcW0AAgvTT.jpg

DinvBhQXsAADooc.jpg

DintlyiW0AAoz2L.jpg

Din2AeUW0AAXIUx.jpg

DinzXfsXUAIK-Pa.jpg

If I’m not wrong, firdaus ashiq awan was one of the most hated ministers in Zardari’s cabinet. I wonder why she got the ticket from PTI to contest in this elections?

She was going to win but her problem is she refused to take the strong MPA panel PTI wanted to give her and instead she made her own MPA panel because she don't want to spend any money from the pocket in this election campaign so now her MPA panel is rich and spending but they are not strong on ground to win her seat. Every MNA needs strong MPAs under him to win the seat

Faisalabad will also be quite a challenge for PTI.

Wow some very close contests [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] , surprised to see some seats which i thought were PMLN stronghold are with PTI now but also some PTI strong candidates seemd to be long way behind.

Ghulam Abbas of PTI in Sialkot against PMLN is really shocking 60% in his favour to 29%of PMLN.

Also didn't expect Khaqan Abbasi to be so close to Imran Khan in safe seat of Islamabad (46%-41%).

Anjum Aqeel also close to Asad Umar which isn't good.

Abrar ul Haq way behind Arastoo which is quite disappointing.

Wow some very close contests [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] , surprised to see some seats which i thought were PMLN stronghold are with PTI now but also some PTI strong candidates seemd to be long way behind.

Ghulam Abbas of PTI in Sialkot against PMLN is really shocking 60% in his favour to 29%of PMLN.

Also didn't expect Khaqan Abbasi to be so close to Imran Khan in safe seat of Islamabad (46%-41%).

Anjum Aqeel also close to Asad Umar which isn't good.

Abrar ul Haq way behind Arastoo which is quite disappointing.

For me the biggest shocker is Abida Raza!

man oh man we are up for a mother of all battles in Gujranwala!

Wow Gujranwala is as exciting as India Pakistan cricket game :O

I think Faisalabad will be same, PMLN will have more easy wins than Gujranwala but overall contest very close in at least 6-7 constituencies.

Take these surveys with a grain of salt as these are not scientific surveys, they do not conduct sampling and demographic split. I would put a margin for error of +/-15%+ on these.
[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION]

Take these surveys with a grain of salt as these are not scientific surveys, they do not conduct sampling and demographic split. I would put a margin for error of +/-15%+ on these.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION]

Agree with you bro are not scientific surveys but still we had news coming from Gujranwala earlier that PTI is in a very strong position there and its clear from these survey results.

Wow Gujranwala is as exciting as India Pakistan cricket game :O

I think Faisalabad will be same, PMLN will have more easy wins than Gujranwala but overall contest very close in at least 6-7 constituencies.

I am expecting Nisar Jutt and Raja Riaz to win their seats.

Agree with you bro are not scientific surveys but still we had news coming from Gujranwala earlier that PTI is in a very strong position there and its clear from these survey results.

Gujranwala will definitely be very close, I think Gujranwala and Fasialabad are going to be swing areas.

Election commission has decided to end election campaign time at 22nd instead of 23rd..What effect will this have on campaign for PTI?

Gujranwala will definitely be very close, I think Gujranwala and Fasialabad are going to be swing areas.

If we half of the seats from Gujranwala and half the seats from Faisalabad then that will be MASSIVE for us. 7 or 8 seats from these two areas combined would be good.

Election commission has decided to end election campaign time at 22nd instead of 23rd..What effect will this have on campaign for PTI?

I think our last Jalsa is tomorrow in Karachi? there was some change of schedule i am not sure

They will have to go all out today and tomorrow now. It will mean a few Jalsas will be cancelled I guess.

This is a really weird decision by ECP, So PPP and PML-N aren't able to attract any crowd, let's end Jalsas 24 hour earlier then planned.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="hi" dir="ltr">Yeh tarbiat aur taleem hai Khadim Rizvi ki kay naujawanon kay haathon main danday hain aur moun pay gaali. Yeh hamaray bhai hain. In kay haathon main qalm do, kitaabain don, laptops do in ko gumrah mat karo. On the mob attack last night in Bizerta Lines <a href="https://t.co/oEetQH4aVG">pic.twitter.com/oEetQH4aVG</a></p>— M. Jibran Nasir (@MJibranNasir) <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir/status/1020586406337548288?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Somebody is spilling the beans, this time it’s not me ...Yeh tu gaya, keeping 200 million people quite is why Army championed in 4 decades... &#55357;&#56833;

https://www.dawn.com/news/1421562/i...ecurity-agencies-meddling-in-judicial-affairs

So this Anti Ahmedi and Pro Mumtaz Qadri Judge is the darling of liberals now oh why i am not surprised? Wo apni khaer manaaye his case was going into supreme judicial council and he had to divert attention while liberals needed a shaheed.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Attack on <a href="https://twitter.com/MJibranNasir?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@MJibranNasir</a> by TLP is part of the new round of religious fascism & fundamentalism supported by the state through mainstreaming them in electoral politics. A secular & people's democracy is essential for peace & economic progress in Pakistan. In solidarity with Jibran.</p>— Ismat Raza Shahjahan (@ismatshahjehan) <a href="https://twitter.com/ismatshahjehan/status/1020410143358545920?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 20, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Elections Survey: Visited Faisalabad and found that PMLN has lost ground there. PTI has been able to penetrate in some hardcore N pockets with ease. Last time N swept FSD, this time PTI is about to shock N with its performance. FSD = PMLN/PTI 50-50</p>— Mansoor Ali Khan (@_Mansoor_Ali) <a href="https://twitter.com/_Mansoor_Ali/status/1020556891813007360?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote>

So this Anti Ahmedi and Pro Mumtaz Qadri Judge is the darling of liberals now oh why i am not surprised? Wo apni khaer manaaye his case was going into supreme judicial council and he had to divert attention while liberals needed a shaheed.

Why does it make him the darling of liberals? It’s an allegation. He might be right or he might be not.

Where was he when all of this was happening? Why he only came into public once his own case was sent into supreme judicial council? Yahan sabka emaan tab he jaagta he jab unke apne oper ungli uthe. Nawaz Sharif ki jamhuryat be Panama ke baad he jaagi thi zyada

Is it just me or these elections just don't have that feel yet.... Maybe because the other side isn't even actively campaigning

It is almost as if certain parties are being prevented from campaigning as actively as they would like.

Where was he when all of this was happening? Why he only came into public once his own case was sent into supreme judicial council? Yahan sabka emaan tab he jaagta he jab unke apne oper ungli uthe. Nawaz Sharif ki jamhuryat be Panama ke baad he jaagi thi zyada

Still it’s an allegation that should be investigated. If he is lying we’ll all get to know the truth. If is speaking the truth then we’ll get to know the truth. It’s a win win. Plus, everyone has the right to information. We deserve truth.

It is almost as if certain parties are being prevented from campaigning as actively as they would like.

Yeah what a conspiracy that PPP can barely manage more than a thousand people in a jalsa outside Sindh and PML-N leadership is rightfully in jail after stealing from poor nation.

Kanspiracy :yk

Mian Bro

Is it amazing how Allah works.

Allah gave Imran PTI to warm up and get experience of running a government and tuning himself and his team.

And now inshallah Allah will give Imran the whole of Pakistan.

Ya Allah please help us on Wednesday.

Mian Bro

Allah gave Imran PTI to warm up and get experience of running a government and tuning himself and his team.

I don't want to use cricket an example here but this remind me of 1987 world cup (2013 GE) where we were fav but lost and than 1992 worldcup (2018 wc) everything was against us in the begining and we were told 2018 main to koi muqabla he nae hoga PMLN ki popularity peak per hai and than all stars started aligning in our favor. Khan was our captain in both WCs

I keep thinking back to the lady who voted for IK in 98 and people made fun of her and she responded... "Aj mera aek vote hai leken inshallah aek waqt ayega ke lakhon vote pareingaye"

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] some of the Dunya surveys are weeks and months old. Error margin could be around 20 percent here in some cases. But it does give a rough estimate.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Love that <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/AWP?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#AWP</a>'s election anthem confronts Imran Khan & PPP's courtship of sectarian militants, right-wing politicians & Amir Liaqat. Great job <a href="https://twitter.com/AmmarRashidT?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">@AmmarRashidT</a> and colleagues. <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/pakistan?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#pakistan</a> <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/elections2018?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#elections2018</a><a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NA53?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NA53</a> <a href="https://t.co/7xLrM8WmjW">pic.twitter.com/7xLrM8WmjW</a></p>— Rabia Mehmood - رابعہ (@Rabail26) <a href="https://twitter.com/Rabail26/status/1020605378004856833?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 21, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>

Why hasn't Jibran joined AWP?? They would not achieve anything except playing spoiler role in few educated areas.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] some of the Dunya surveys are weeks and months old. Error margin could be around 20 percent here in some cases. But it does give a rough estimate.

I think they did some surveys twice? Yea at least it's giving us a good rough estimate

Sorry typo error was meant to say in previous post:
PakWarrior said:Today 13:20

Mian Bro

Allah gave Imran KPK to warm up and get experience of running a government and tuning himself and his team.

I keep thinking back to the lady who voted for IK in 98 and people made fun of her and she responded... "Aj mera aek vote hai leken inshallah aek waqt ayega ke lakhon vote pareingaye"

PTI should have asked for her permission and used that video as TVC kuch edit kerne ki be zaruret nae thi. She was a voter from Karachi i think?

I want PTI posters to say the following in a post in order to energize the final few days.

Aai Aai PTI
Aai Aai PTI
Aai Aai PTI

Why hasn't Jibran joined AWP?? They would not achieve anything except playing spoiler role in few educated areas.

No idea [MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] bhai. I guess he preferred an independent seat.

Butterflies in stomach..Even though I told myself I wouldn't get hyped after last time..:))

wow just wow Gujranwala is proving to very close and both parties are going neck and neck. Only Khurram Dastagir is looking ahead on his seat by a big margin in Gjrnw all others are going neck and neck.

Din2it0XkAENJdH.jpg

Din3IZcW0AAgvTT.jpg

DinvBhQXsAADooc.jpg

DintlyiW0AAoz2L.jpg

Din2AeUW0AAXIUx.jpg

DinzXfsXUAIK-Pa.jpg

So Khurram is likely to win with fair margin but other 5 seats are 50-50. I hope PTI wins 3 out of those 5. 50-50 in N stronghold will be a satisfactory result.

We are winning NA79 i talked to a few people from there and they said Hamid Nasir Chatha son will probably win this time on PTI ticket even in by election he lost by just 1 thousand votes.

So according to Dunay survey Farukh is actually leading NA66 :13: i thought PTI workers were angry because he got the tickets instead of saqlain

DioNHuHXkAEmoRY.jpg:small

So according to Dunay survey Farukh is actually leading NA66 :13: i thought PTI workers were angry because he got the tickets instead of saqlain

DioNHuHXkAEmoRY.jpg:small

Yeh bik gaye hein ! PTI k hathon :))

Fawad's family has quite a few soft chubby men.

Haha yea and his family got votebank too in Jehlum i think Fawad uncle was a CJ of LHC? His another brother is also a SC lawyer

I am not completely sure but Altaf , his uncle also remained Punjab's governor during better days of PPP.

I heard Dar is losing but they are showing Dar and Khawaja neck and neck :13:

DioJHYaX4AAbngf.jpg:small

Just talked to someone living in NA-244 Karachi East (Ali Zaidi's seat). He is very unhappy with Ali Zaidi's campaign efforts. Apparently he has not been doing any real campaigning, visiting, rallies, etc. However, my friend has been campaigning in his own capacity, and is very optimisitc about PTIs chances. What he told me is that no one is really bothered about the candidate, and PTI and Imran Khan have a lot of support as a party, and will put up a very good show.

So it's just like Rawalpindi? People are voting for IK and PTI no matter who is the candidate

We are winning NA79 i talked to a few people from there and they said Hamid Nasir Chatha son will probably win this time on PTI ticket even in by election he lost by just 1 thousand votes.

Ali Ashraf's massive support is surprising. Guy was late in starting his active campaign. He is barrister and scion of Super Asia family. People like Mian Tariq had been doing their work for a long time.

I think as expected the wave is helping many weak candidates. This narrative of Army behind PTI and IK is the next PM actually backfired in many places for PMLN.

I heard Dar is losing but they are showing Dar and Khawaja neck and neck :13:

DioJHYaX4AAbngf.jpg:small

I guess again old survey by Habib Akram himself when Khawaja was disqualified.

It seems where candidates have remained same they are showing old results.

So it's just like Rawalpindi? People are voting for IK and PTI no matter who is the candidate

I think Karachi is like that in any case, people don't really care much about candidates. MQM don't win due to their candidates, the people of Karachi simply just voted for the party's vision and ideology. That is why Karachi are so conductive to PTI, if only PTI really worked hard to establish themselves. Having around 20% of the vote in Karachi despite minimal campaigning shows that Karachi is very receptive to PTI.

Honestly, these surveys are misleading, they are a very weak indicator of the election day results. If Habib Akram surveyed using random sampling, and surveyed based on demographics, then I would take this a lot more seriously. The way this is conducted will definitely yield a margin for error of beyond 15%.

I think they shouldn't be showing old surveys or at least mention the date otherwise this way they are misguiding people and can backfire big time if the results are totally one sided on 25th

Honestly, these surveys are misleading, they are a very weak indicator of the election day results. If Habib Akram surveyed using random sampling, and surveyed based on demographics, then I would take this a lot more seriously. The way this is conducted will definitely yield a margin for error of beyond 15%.

Most definitely these surveys seems inaccurate so should only be used to make predictions. It does give an indication though and especially constituencies where difference is more than 10-15% would not be too far from reality.

I think Karachi is like that in any case, people don't really care much about candidates. MQM don't win due to their candidates, the people of Karachi simply just voted for the party's vision and ideology. That is why Karachi are so conductive to PTI, if only PTI really worked hard to establish themselves. Having around 20% of the vote in Karachi despite minimal campaigning shows that Karachi is very receptive to PTI.

I really wanted Imran to keep Mianwali seat this time but i hope he will keep Karachi seat that will really help PTI in future and that way we can make it a stronghold of PTI

yep very high chance of error. He goes to 3 or maximum 4 localities. Dynamics change even at general councilor level which is a 4th part of Union Council. In one polling station it might be 70-30. And in another polling station it could be 50-50.