Politics - Pakistani 2018 General Election and post-election discussion

Which will be the top party after the upcoming general elections?

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Look at Dunya's election cell surveys with skepticism. Most surveys are conducted in urban areas, respondents aren't randomly selected, sample size isn't provided and women are hardly interviewed, can result in a substantial margin of error: <a href="https://t.co/dmprzADx73">https://t.co/dmprzADx73</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021160026243813377?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">PTI leads among voters who voted for PML(Q) in 2008, while PML(N) holds on to a large majority of its 2008 voters. What's important is that PTI is leading among voters who voted for the PPP in 2008, confirming the common belief that PTI has eaten up the PPP's vote in Punjab. <a href="https://t.co/emIiGPWCIf">pic.twitter.com/emIiGPWCIf</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021086135026618368?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">All three major parties holding on to a vast majority of their 2013 voters, but PTI has taken a quarter of voters who voted for PML(N). PPP overperforms among voters who did not vote in 2013, PML(N) underperforms. <a href="https://t.co/78OgtPHgtE">pic.twitter.com/78OgtPHgtE</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021093554700136449?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">We will be publishing our final forecast tomorrow, based on a synthesis of our nationwide polls, constituency polls, polls by other agencies, past party performance and candidate's past performance, among other factors.</p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021082143152312320?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

Just some points I forgot to mention:

In NA-240, MQM-H (Mohajir Qaumi Movement Haqiqi) have a decent votebank, and are also in the running due to MQM splits. This seat may end up quite close, but I still predicit PSP winning.

Regarding NA-245, I forgot to mention one major factor going against Amir Liaquat. TLP are very active in this constituency due to a large Barelvi votebank, and they may just steal enough votes from Amir Liaquat to deny him the seat.

Correction

Flying out day after tomorrow, but my arrival time is touch and go with the end of polling. May Allah help me get there in time. Even if I don't get there to vote, I will make it a point to celebrate PTI victory in my city. So glad I going to Pak.

Also may not login in after tomorrow, tou tamam Pakistaniyon ko PTI ki jeet mubarak ho. Peshawar mein PTI ka chand nazar ahchuka hai :yk

Flying out day after tomorrow, but my arrival time is touch and go with the end of polling. May Allah help me get there in time. Even if I don't get there to vote, I will make it a point to celebrate PTI victory in my city. So glad I going to Pak.

Also may not login in after tomorrow, tou tamam Pakistaniyon ko PTI ki jeet mubarak ho. Peshawar mein PTI ka chand nazar ahchuka hai :yk

Nai yaar, you still have to vote no matter what :)

Good luck and have a safe trip.

Have a safe trip man. By the way, did you manage to get your vote changed back to Defense? Or are you going to have to vote in Korangi?

It'll be a mad rush to get to Korangi, and no I had to be physically present in Pakistan to change it to Defense so couldn't do it.

This video is from 2013 but always gets me charged up like crazy.

Dekho dekho kaun aya
Sher ka shikaari aya

Dedicated to my friend [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION]

Good luck in the elections, may the best man win :)

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">For our final forecast, we are starting off with KPK, where, despite not winning a staggering vote share, PTI is benefitting from a divided opposition vote. <a href="https://t.co/LK9HRecLGL">pic.twitter.com/LK9HRecLGL</a></p>— Roshan Pakistan Opinion Polling (@RoshanOpinion) <a href="https://twitter.com/RoshanOpinion/status/1021247435102879744?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hope <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NawazSharif?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NawazSharif</a> will get well soon under the best treatment of Dr Azhar Kayani of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RawalpindiRIC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RawalpindiRIC</a> whose son Bilal Kayani is contesting on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMLN?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMLN</a> ticket from Jhelum <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NA66?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NA66</a></p>— Paras Jahanzaib (@Parasjahanzaib1) <a href="https://twitter.com/Parasjahanzaib1/status/1021133547384565761?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

She said everything without saying much.

Apparently Nawaz Inqilaabi Sharif is sick again and "doctor" has recommended for him to be transferred to hospital straightaway.

And who is the doctor?? Father on PMLN candidate contesting 2018 elections.

They are not declared hope for democracy and Inqilaabi for nothing, 30 years of investment on media, doctors, bureaucrats, lawyers, judges, police helps :)

Massive respect man!

Balle pe hi lagana!!

Khair Mubarak to you too in advance. :ik2

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Hope <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NawazSharif?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NawazSharif</a> will get well soon under the best treatment of Dr Azhar Kayani of <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/RawalpindiRIC?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#RawalpindiRIC</a> whose son Bilal Kayani is contesting on <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/PMLN?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#PMLN</a> ticket from Jhelum <a href="https://twitter.com/hashtag/NA66?src=hash&ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">#NA66</a></p>— Paras Jahanzaib (@Parasjahanzaib1) <a href="https://twitter.com/Parasjahanzaib1/status/1021133547384565761?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 22, 2018</a></blockquote>

Apparently Nawaz Inqilaabi Sharif is sick again and "doctor" has recommended for him to be transferred to hospital straightaway.

They are not declared hope for democracy and Inqilaabi for nothing, 30 years of investment on media, doctors, bureaucrats, lawyers, judges, police helps :)

As i said yesterday the bravado from Mian Sahib has gone and as people in my part of the world say Mian Sahib ki puss ho gai hai.

As was expected,he fell ‘sick’ before the elections.

Tehreek Labaik are not terrorists according to UN, US or even India. There is no magical solution to every problem.

They carry out acts of violence based on their religious beliefs, manage to bring Islamabad to lockdown and their leader has incited violence against minorities. But not terrorists? Better to accept we have problems with extremist groups and our Establishment is soft on them, rather than pretending they do not exist.

Is Ramzan Mengal not a terrorist?

Is Ludhianwi not a terrorist?

Is Abid Raza not a terrorist?

After the jalsa, this is my prediction for Karachi:

NA-236 Malir I - This one is a PPP safe seat, it is the only truly rural constituency in Karachi.

NA-237 Malir II - Another PPP safe seat, Abdul Hakeem Baloch is contesting from here.

NA-238 Malir III - This is a tossup between MQM and PPP. PPP have really worked hard in Malir, and the lower class demographic may play into their hands.

NA-239 Korangi I - This is an MQM leaning seat, but I wouldn't count PPP out from this one, this is not a typical middle class area of Karachi, its more lower class.

NA-240 Korangi II - This is one of the seats where PSP are strong. They have campaigned well here, and have got a good candidate too. However, MQM will give a good fight due to their strong party votebank.

NA-241 Korangi III - This is an MQM leaning seat, PPP and PSP will also bag a decent share of votes too.

NA-242 Karachi East I - Another MQM leaning seat, but PTI will do reasonably well here, I won't count them out, especially after the jalsa.

NA-243 Karachi East II - This seat should be a PTI safe seat, Imran Khan is contesting from here. I'm originally from this constituency, reasonably educated middle class area, PTI have very good support here.

NA-244 Karachi East III - After the jalsa I would say this seat belongs to PTI. Ali Zaidi is running from here, and although he hasn't run the greatest campaign, PTI has a big party votebank.

NA-245 Karachi East IV - Farooq Sattar vs Amir Liaquat Hussain, this one will be one to keep your eyes on. It is an uphill battle for PTI, but the constituency is another middle class area, and the wave from the jalsa may have just turned this into a swing constituency rather than an MQM leaning seat. I still think MQM will pull this off, but it's difficult to call.

NA-246 Karachi South I - This is the Lyari seat, PPP will win this by a complete landslide, though I am hearing PTI are on top on one of the PS seats.

NA-247 Karachi South II - This is a PTI safe seat, Dr Arif Alvi will win this without any issues, Farooq Sattar will be a distant second. Jibran Nasir has no chance, but I think he will win his PS seat.

NA-248 Karachi West I - PPP will win this seat. It could have been won by PTI, but they messed up the ticket allocation here. Being a rural constituency, the candidate here plays a far bigger role.

NA-249 Karachi West II - PTI will win this, especially after the jalsa. Faisal Vawda is running a wonderful campaign, and MQM have made a big blunder by doing a seat adjustment with PML-N. I really don't see Muhajirs turning up to vote for Shahbaz Sharif, especially after those paan comments, Karachiites really took that to heart.

NA-250 Karachi West III - This seat may just be a tossup now. I was hearing that MQM and ANP will do a seat adjustment, with the ANP candidate Shahi Syed contesting, but I don't think it materialised. I also read that an MQM MPA candidate has announced support for Shahi Syed. With these issues, the PTI may get much closer than anticipated. I will give this to MQM for now, but we PTI are very much in the race.

NA-251 Karachi West IV - PTI have union councillors in this constituency, and they have done a decent job. I am going to be bold, and predict this as a tossup between MQM and PTI, with PTI only just coming out on top.

NA-252 Karachi West V - This seat will most likely go to MQM, PPP will come second, bagging a decent share.

NA-253 Karachi Central I - Mustafa Kamal is contesting from here, and his popularity will win him the seat. I won't count MQM out, district cenrtal is serious MQM territory, and they have a big party votebank here.

NA-254 Karachi Central II - Unfortunately I don't see Azizabad falling this time, MQM will retain this seat. There are some serious PTI pockets in this constituency though, and I think PTI will bag more votes than last time.

NA-255 Karachi Central III - This is probably one of the safest MQM seats. Liaquatabad and Nazimabad are lower middle class Muhajir neighbourhoods.

NA-256 Karachi Central IV - Another MQM leaning seat, though PTI will bag a good share of votes here. PTI won a PS seat from here last time.

Prediction:
MQM - 9
PTI - 5
PPP - 5
PSP - 2

Best case scenario for PTI:
MQM - 5
PTI - 8
PPP - 4
PSP - 2

Top notch post! Tbh though, I would be happy with PTI getting more than 3 seats in Karachi. 8 seats would be a huge bonus!

Good luck, man! More power to you! Btw, what is your arrival time?

A humble request to all those posters in Pakistan:

Kindly can you upload pics in this thread during the election day so that those of us outside of Pakistan can take in the atmosphere of the election frenzy also.

Let's get the party started guys. Just two days to go.

Honestly I'm thinking 120+ seats would make everything more comfortable.

Good luck to everyone voting in Pakistan. Lets hope those of us who want IK to win finally get to see it.

Also my dad is hitting 80 and has just been diagnosed with cancer. Please do duas for him. The reason I've mentioned him is that he used to be a Muslim league voter. My dada and pur dada were Muslim leaguers too. My dad was a councillor back in the day and my pur dada used to ensure that plenty of Muslim league bunday would attend jalsay from our pind.

I remember having some passionate debates with him during 2013 and prior. Coupled with my dads employee's (who are all Indians by the way). One of whom is a big IK fan. But now with everything that has gone on, he has washed his hands of nawaz and the others. He always knew they were crooks but they were better than the PPP. Now its IK all the way.

Some of my cousins are helping with Dr alvi's campaign in defence where my cousin is a PTI councillor. So to all you karachites please vote for the PTI and rid yourselves of the MQM terrorists and their ethnic fascism.

I will be going to Pakistan before the end of the year so no matter what will hopefully see IK as PM. And before anything happens to my Dad I just want him to see something different for the nation. Some hope for the everyone!!

The most important election of recent times ! Im reckon PTI gets 100 seats but im hopeful for 120+.

Regardless of what happens Imran Khan will go down in history as the one man who stood against tyrants and gangsters for his people. His 22 year struggle comes down to its final over on Wednesday..he is a truly outstanding individual !

:imran :ik :ik2

ECP explains what would count as valid or invalid vote on election day

The Election Commission of Pakistan (ECP) has explained what would count as a valid or an invalid vote when the country goes to the polls on Wednesday, DawnNewsTV reported.

In a letter addressed to presiding officers, the ECP listed down the requirements that a ballot paper would have to meet in order to be included in the counting process.

The watchdog, in its instructions, said that a ballot paper will be termed invalid if:

-it's missing the official code mark or assistant presiding officer's signature

-it's missing the ECP's watermark

-it's missing the official nine-matrix seal

-it has a paper or anything else attached to it

-it has stamps on more than one candidate's election symbols

-it appears equally in more than one candidates' boxes

The ECP, however, added that a stamp which appears in multiple boxes but a prominent portion of which is in favour of a particular candidate, will be counted as a valid vote.

Multiple stamps on the symbol of a particular candidate, as well as stamps on both the symbol and the name of a candidate will also be counted as valid votes, the ECP explained.

Last week, the ECP released a notification informing voters, polling staff and political parties of actions that would constitute as crimes on election day and would fall under the jurisdiction of the district returning officers.

Asking a voter who they voted for, spoiling ballot papers or stamps in any way, taking a picture of the ballot paper are some of the actions that would land the offender in jail for upto three months, result in fines upto Rs100,000, or both.

https://dawn.com/news/1421965/ecp-explains-what-would-count-as-valid-or-invalid-vote-on-election-day

Good luck to everyone voting in Pakistan. Lets hope those of us who want IK to win finally get to see it.

Also my dad is hitting 80 and has just been diagnosed with cancer. Please do duas for him. The reason I've mentioned him is that he used to be a Muslim league voter. My dada and pur dada were Muslim leaguers too. My dad was a councillor back in the day and my pur dada used to ensure that plenty of Muslim league bunday would attend jalsay from our pind.

I remember having some passionate debates with him during 2013 and prior. Coupled with my dads employee's (who are all Indians by the way). One of whom is a big IK fan. But now with everything that has gone on, he has washed his hands of nawaz and the others. He always knew they were crooks but they were better than the PPP. Now its IK all the way.

Some of my cousins are helping with Dr alvi's campaign in defence where my cousin is a PTI councillor. So to all you karachites please vote for the PTI and rid yourselves of the MQM terrorists and their ethnic fascism.

I will be going to Pakistan before the end of the year so no matter what will hopefully see IK as PM. And before anything happens to my Dad I just want him to see something different for the nation. Some hope for the everyone!!

May Allah grant your Dad shafa and strength. All my thoughts are with him.

Bro inshallah Pakistan will become the country that all of us living outside of Pakistan will want to come back to.

The most important election of recent times ! Im reckon PTI gets 100 seats but im hopeful for 120+.

Regardless of what happens Imran Khan will go down in history as the one man who stood against tyrants and gangsters for his people. His 22 year struggle comes down to its final over on Wednesday..he is a truly outstanding individual !

:imran :ik :ik2

Complete agree Bro.

If it wasn't for Imran none of this would have happened.

Above all Allah has helped him.

There was a limit to the amount that Nawaz Sharif and Zardari could destroy the nation.

Now Allah will make Pakistan great again and Imran is the start.

Imran has everyone quivering in their boots.

After the jalsa, this is my prediction for Karachi:

NA-236 Malir I - This one is a PPP safe seat, it is the only truly rural constituency in Karachi.

NA-237 Malir II - Another PPP safe seat, Abdul Hakeem Baloch is contesting from here.

NA-238 Malir III - This is a tossup between MQM and PPP. PPP have really worked hard in Malir, and the lower class demographic may play into their hands.

NA-239 Korangi I - This is an MQM leaning seat, but I wouldn't count PPP out from this one, this is not a typical middle class area of Karachi, its more lower class.

NA-240 Korangi II - This is one of the seats where PSP are strong. They have campaigned well here, and have got a good candidate too. However, MQM will give a good fight due to their strong party votebank.

NA-241 Korangi III - This is an MQM leaning seat, PPP and PSP will also bag a decent share of votes too.

NA-242 Karachi East I - Another MQM leaning seat, but PTI will do reasonably well here, I won't count them out, especially after the jalsa.

NA-243 Karachi East II - This seat should be a PTI safe seat, Imran Khan is contesting from here. I'm originally from this constituency, reasonably educated middle class area, PTI have very good support here.

NA-244 Karachi East III - After the jalsa I would say this seat belongs to PTI. Ali Zaidi is running from here, and although he hasn't run the greatest campaign, PTI has a big party votebank.

NA-245 Karachi East IV - Farooq Sattar vs Amir Liaquat Hussain, this one will be one to keep your eyes on. It is an uphill battle for PTI, but the constituency is another middle class area, and the wave from the jalsa may have just turned this into a swing constituency rather than an MQM leaning seat. I still think MQM will pull this off, but it's difficult to call.

NA-246 Karachi South I - This is the Lyari seat, PPP will win this by a complete landslide, though I am hearing PTI are on top on one of the PS seats.

NA-247 Karachi South II - This is a PTI safe seat, Dr Arif Alvi will win this without any issues, Farooq Sattar will be a distant second. Jibran Nasir has no chance, but I think he will win his PS seat.

NA-248 Karachi West I - PPP will win this seat. It could have been won by PTI, but they messed up the ticket allocation here. Being a rural constituency, the candidate here plays a far bigger role.

NA-249 Karachi West II - PTI will win this, especially after the jalsa. Faisal Vawda is running a wonderful campaign, and MQM have made a big blunder by doing a seat adjustment with PML-N. I really don't see Muhajirs turning up to vote for Shahbaz Sharif, especially after those paan comments, Karachiites really took that to heart.

NA-250 Karachi West III - This seat may just be a tossup now. I was hearing that MQM and ANP will do a seat adjustment, with the ANP candidate Shahi Syed contesting, but I don't think it materialised. I also read that an MQM MPA candidate has announced support for Shahi Syed. With these issues, the PTI may get much closer than anticipated. I will give this to MQM for now, but we PTI are very much in the race.

NA-251 Karachi West IV - PTI have union councillors in this constituency, and they have done a decent job. I am going to be bold, and predict this as a tossup between MQM and PTI, with PTI only just coming out on top.

NA-252 Karachi West V - This seat will most likely go to MQM, PPP will come second, bagging a decent share.

NA-253 Karachi Central I - Mustafa Kamal is contesting from here, and his popularity will win him the seat. I won't count MQM out, district cenrtal is serious MQM territory, and they have a big party votebank here.

NA-254 Karachi Central II - Unfortunately I don't see Azizabad falling this time, MQM will retain this seat. There are some serious PTI pockets in this constituency though, and I think PTI will bag more votes than last time.

NA-255 Karachi Central III - This is probably one of the safest MQM seats. Liaquatabad and Nazimabad are lower middle class Muhajir neighbourhoods.

NA-256 Karachi Central IV - Another MQM leaning seat, though PTI will bag a good share of votes here. PTI won a PS seat from here last time.

Prediction:
MQM - 9
PTI - 5
PPP - 5
PSP - 2

Best case scenario for PTI:
MQM - 5
PTI - 8
PPP - 4
PSP - 2

Brilliant post brother i will take 4 seats from Karachi happily.

inshallah we are gonna win!

ALLAH apke father ko sehdat de or hum sabko aik naya Pakistan dikhaaye. Aameen

This pic made my eyes wet :(

Dix5C7GWsAElMZS.jpg

and reminded me of this tweet by Khan a year ago
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have given my best & fought to the last ball for my country against corruption & for justice. Now I am praying to the Almighty for success</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/834692217172262914?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 23, 2017</a></blockquote>

I don't understand why PTI are spending such little on TV ads now. I seeing more PPP and TLP ads than any others.

PPP got big money to spend. Most of TLP ads i think you saw on 92News? 92 is a pro Khadim Rizwi and pro TLP channel even during faizabad dherna only this channel was giving them coverage

That would explain it. Didn't know they are pro TLP, they seemed fairly neutral to me.

This pic made my eyes wet :(

Dix5C7GWsAElMZS.jpg

and reminded me of this tweet by Khan a year ago
<blockquote class="twitter-tweet" data-lang="en"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">I have given my best & fought to the last ball for my country against corruption & for justice. Now I am praying to the Almighty for success</p>— Imran Khan (@ImranKhanPTI) <a href="https://twitter.com/ImranKhanPTI/status/834692217172262914?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">February 23, 2017</a></blockquote>

Correction:

I have given my best & fought to the last ball for my country against corruption & for justice. Now I am praying to the Almighty for success & polishing military boots.

This message is hidden because Mamoon is on your ignore list.

I can't see your messages anymore [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] so there is no need to quote/tag me.

This message is hidden because Mamoon is on your ignore list.

I can't see your messages anymore [MENTION=131701]Mamoon[/MENTION] so there is no need to quote/tag me.

Don’t worry, you will still be able to see my posts when others quote me. :101:

Correction:

I have given my best & fought to the last ball for my country against corruption & for justice. Now I am praying to the Almighty for success & polishing military boots.

Your beloved leader once licked the boots of general Zia, took his holiday vacations from Musharraf and now he’s suddenly pretending to be an inqilabi. Sorry bro but pot shouldn’t be calling kettle black.

[MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION] [MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

If it came down to being the only choice for PTI, would you rather see this coalition form government, or would you rather see PTI sit in opposition?

PTI = 100
MQM-P = 11
GDA = 8
BAP = 5
AML = 2
IND = 11
Total = 137

In short, would you find it acceptable for PTI to form a government with MQM-P?

[MENTION=135]Waseem[/MENTION] [MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION] [MENTION=147106]PakWarrior[/MENTION] [MENTION=146984]awan_from_soon[/MENTION] [MENTION=1269]Bewal Express[/MENTION] [MENTION=138254]Syed1[/MENTION]

If it came down to being the only choice for PTI, would you rather see this coalition form government, or would you rather see PTI sit in opposition?

PTI = 100
MQM-P = 11
GDA = 8
BAP = 5
AML = 2
IND = 11
Total = 137

MQM-P without Altaf is no issue at all for me and i would say we shouldn't alienate them. Now the issue is we should have more numbers not exactly 137 (172 out of 342 after adding the 35 reserve seats) otherwise getting a bill pass from parliament will become joke every time if one of these party isn't on board.

Easy easy catchy monkey. Rome wasnt built in a day

I totally agree with you, MQM-P without Altaf is a far far lesser evil, and I would even say that there are people within MQM-P who have good intentions.

Regarding numbers, we can easily just add PML-Q, PML-Z, ARP, NP, etc to add more seats in case someone refuses to co-operate over passing a bill.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

I'm not sure if it works like that in Pakistan, but here in New Zealand for example, the current main ruling party is the Labour Party. They are in government with the Green Party and NZ First party. NZ First party are full coalition partners, they have ministers in cabinet etc. The Green party have a confidence and supply deal with Labour, where they don't get any ministerial positions, but they give Labour their numbers in confidence.

If PTI only end up with 95-100 seats, perhaps they could work out a deal like that where MQM-P are major coalition partners while confidence and supply deals are formed with some smaller parties?

Easy easy catchy monkey. Rome wasnt built in a day

true lol

I totally agree with you, MQM-P without Altaf is a far far lesser evil, and I would even say that there are people within MQM-P who have good intentions.

Regarding numbers, we can easily just add PML-Q, PML-Z, ARP, NP, etc to add more seats in case someone refuses to co-operate over passing a bill.

There are some very fine people in MQM-P like Faisal Sabzwari you just need give them space. Yea we can get one of these parties on board too but i was thinking how many ministries PTI will have to give up to all these parties? We suffered a lot in KP for having JI and QWP on board and sharing ministries with them.

true lol

There are some very fine people in MQM-P like Faisal Sabzwari you just need give them space. Yea we can get one of these parties on board too but i was thinking how many ministries PTI will have to give up to all these parties? We suffered a lot in KP for having JI and QWP on board and sharing ministries with them.

I think if we take MQM as a major coalition partner, giving ministries to the likes of Faisal Sabzwari wouldn't be too bad, he has good potential and makes some really good points about the rights of Karachiites. The real issue would be giving ministries to small, incompetent parties. This is why I would rather form a confidence and supply deal with such players.

[MENTION=142451]Mian[/MENTION]

I'm not sure if it works like that in Pakistan, but here in New Zealand for example, the current main ruling party is the Labour Party. They are in government with the Green Party and NZ First party. NZ First party are full coalition partners, they have ministers in cabinet etc. The Green party have a confidence and supply deal with Labour, where they don't get any ministerial positions, but they give Labour their numbers in confidence.

If PTI only end up with 95-100 seats, perhaps they could work out a deal like that where MQM-P are major coalition partners while confidence and supply deals are formed with some smaller parties?

That's not possible in our politics where everyone wants ministries the recent example are PPP govt where every coalition partner wanted ministries in return be it ANP, MQM, JUIF, PMLQ etc (and all of them got it). And in recent PMLN govt we saw it happening again although their numbers were better than PPP still they had to offer some ministries to parties like JUIF.

That is definitely by far the biggest issue with forming a coalition government. PTI are going to have to make sure they give ministries out that are not linked to their core manifesto promises. There can't be any compromise on health, education, electricity, water, anti-corruption, local government, and police. If PTI can keep these ministries and fulfil their promises, it will be a sucessful term, and I would expect re-election with more seats, less coalition partners, and therefore, more freedom.

I'm no real fan of PPP, but I must say that Bilawal has been running a very solid campaign. It may even have yielded something for PPP if they weren't carrying baggage in the shape of Zardari.

That is definitely by far the biggest issue with forming a coalition government. PTI are going to have to make sure they give ministries out that are not linked to their core manifesto promises. There can't be any compromise on health, education, electricity, water, anti-corruption, local government, and police. If PTI can keep these ministries and fulfil their promises, it will be a sucessful term, and I would expect re-election with more seats, less coalition partners, and therefore, more freedom.

I think we should give them ministries like port and shipping, hajj, minorities affairs etc or give them state minsitries instead of federal ministries like PMLN did with many ministries. I have a feeling if PTI come into power Railways ministry will again go to Sheikh Rasheed (he was actually a very fine railways minister). Health and Education are not that much important federal ministries because after 18th management provincial government handles these matters instead of federal govt.

I'm no real fan of PPP, but I must say that Bilawal has been running a very solid campaign. It may even have yielded something for PPP if they weren't carrying baggage in the shape of Zardari.

If Bilawal can sideline papa, phupho and old leadership of PPP he stand a chance to play major role in future politics of Pakistan otherwise they will be limited to sindh only

I think we should give them ministries like port and shipping, hajj, minorities affairs etc or give them state minsitries instead of federal ministries like PMLN did with many ministries. I have a feeling if PTI come into power Railways ministry will again go to Sheikh Rasheed (he was actually a very fine railways minister). Health and Education are not that much important federal ministries because after 18th management provincial government handles these matters instead of federal govt.

That is true. PTI will need to manage it really smartly, they can't make the blunder of giving away education to someone like JI again.

*18th amendment

If Bilawal can sideline papa, phupho and old leadership of PPP he stand a chance to play major role in future politics of Pakistan otherwise they will be limited to sindh only

I don't have huge hopes, but it would be best, for the sake of the country, that the PPP old guard and Zardari all get sidelined. Bilawal doesn't seem like a bad guy, and we can only hope for the country that he does the right thing, and takes PPP in the right direction so we get rid of this rot in Pakistani politics once and for all. It will be interesting to see the sort of role he plays once he's elected to office.

That is true. PTI will need to manage it really smartly, they can't make the blunder of giving away education to someone like JI again.

I am finding it really hard to see Fazlu out of government because he was part of every govt in our recent history lol so anything is possible including MMA joining the alliance and Fazlu getting Kashmir committee chairmanship for the 3rd time.

I don't have huge hopes, but it would be best, for the sake of the country, that the PPP old guard and Zardari all get sidelined. Bilawal doesn't seem like a bad guy, and we can only hope for the country that he does the right thing, and takes PPP in the right direction so we get rid of this rot in Pakistani politics once and for all. It will be interesting to see the sort of role he plays once he's elected to office.

I think if operation dhabardhoos continues Zardari and many PPP leadership will automatically get sidelined in a couple of years

I am finding it really hard to see Fazlu out of government because he was part of every govt in our recent history lol so anything is possible including MMA joining the alliance and Fazlu getting Kashmir committee chairmanship for the 3rd time.

Please no :sanga PTI need to keep a good relationship with MQM-P to avoid this type of situation.

PPP’s TV advertisements have been very impactful and the advertisements been carefully crafted. I am sure the TV advertisements will earn them sizeable additional votes here and there.

True and even PSP 2 seats and Afaq Ahmed if he wins a seat will be good for PTI

I would definitely much rather take PSP as a coalition partner over NP, BNP, PML-Z, ARP, etc. Mustafa Kamal is someone who is capable of doing a good job as a minister.

#وزیر_اعظم_کراچی_سے

Top trend in Pakistan but i hope PTI used this catchy slogan at ground too not just on social media

PPP’s TV advertisements have been very impactful and the advertisements been carefully crafted. I am sure the TV advertisements will earn them sizeable additional votes here and there.

Their ads are really catching my attention too, no other party has been able to catch my attention with ads the way they have. I guess it helps that their tunes are real catchy too.

I would definitely much rather take PSP as a coalition partner over NP, BNP, PML-Z, ARP, etc. Mustafa Kamal is someone who is capable of doing a good job as a minister.

And i don't think PSP will have any issue sitting in alliance with MQM-P they will sit with anyone except PPP their natural opposition

#وزیر_اعظم_کراچی_سے

Top trend in Pakistan but i hope PTI used this catchy slogan at ground too not just on social media

I can tell you this has been one of the main slogans being used on the ground by PTI workers for a few months now. The main issue with Urdu speaking voters is their fear of trusting someone from outside Karachi, this slogan really helps grab their attention.

Their ads are really catching my attention too, no other party has been able to catch my attention with ads the way they have. I guess it helps that their tunes are real catchy too.

They paid really big money for airtime their ads are long if you compare them with PTI and PMLN. One of their Ad is almost 2 minutes long and was being played in peak hours.

And i don't think PSP will have any issue sitting in alliance with MQM-P they will sit with anyone except PPP their natural opposition

All four of MQM-P, PSP, PTI, and GDA are looking at somehow keeping PPP out of Sindh Government, so I think they are more than willing to sit together in government. The only thing they are unwilling to do is merge into a single "MQM" again.

I can tell you this has been one of the main slogans being used on the ground by PTI workers for a few months now. The main issue with Urdu speaking voters is their fear of trusting someone from outside Karachi, this slogan really helps grab their attention.

That's great the feeling of having Karachi playing the most important role will convince swing voters in favor of PTI

All four of MQM-P, PSP, PTI, and GDA are looking at somehow keeping PPP out of Sindh Government, so I think they are more than willing to sit together in government. The only thing they are unwilling to do is merge into a single "MQM" again.

Yea Merger will dent their votebank further instead of increasing it.

PTI = 100
MQM-P = 11
GDA = 8
BAP = 5
AML = 2
IND = 11
Total = 137

Bro if it is one thing we've learnt over the years is that you can never trust the MQM.

They will form a coalition and after a huff they will get up and leave. All it will take is an investigation against one of their members during this accountability wave and that will be that and they will leave Imran.

They will want Imran to completely leave them alone in Karachi so they can continue with their old ways.

I would be happy for PTI to go into opposition.

This is why everything will be comfortable if PTI wins 115 to 120 seats.

PTI = 100
MQM-P = 11
GDA = 8
BAP = 5
AML = 2
IND = 11
Total = 137

I think MQM without Altaf is fine. They need a chance to redeem themselves but i really hope Bladia town culprits are hanged regardless of party affiliation.

Instead of ministry, PTI can offer them whatever assistance possible at federal level to improve Karachi? If PTI had Sindh government, they could have empowered local bodies but that is out of hand unfortunately.
If PTI forms alliances with so many parties and offer them all ministries then PTI will be left with very few. I also hope they reduce the number of ministries we already have and some are quite useless.

They carry out acts of violence based on their religious beliefs, manage to bring Islamabad to lockdown and their leader has incited violence against minorities. But not terrorists? Better to accept we have problems with extremist groups and our Establishment is soft on them, rather than pretending they do not exist.

Is Ramzan Mengal not a terrorist?

Is Ludhianwi not a terrorist?

Is Abid Raza not a terrorist?

I'm not denying the fact that TLP are extremists and anarchists, yet international community does not consider them a direct threat to them. My point to his post was only restricted to the fact that TLP are not bringing any international pressure to Pakistan. Nothing more.

The people you mentioned are target killers. And no doubt they should be dealt with. It is clearly the job of police.

As i said earlier TLP has nothing to do with establishment, it is a result of Qadri's hanging and amending of election act. Both of these issues were not related to agencies.

What you want army to do with it? Majority of these people are not armed but they are very tenacious and extreme in their point of view. Most of them are civilians , unarmed , it is not army's job to handle them. They can't make hundreds of thousands of more Pakistanis their enemies when they are already facing problems at borders, from Baloch separatists , TTP, ISIS and so on.

Bro if it is one thing we've learnt over the years is that you can never trust the MQM.

They will form a coalition and after a huff they will get up and leave. All it will take is an investigation against one of their members during this accountability wave and that will be that and they will leave Imran.

They will want Imran to completely leave them alone in Karachi so they can continue with their old ways.

If PTI is the largets party, i wouldn't mind PTI sitting in opposition because if they cant implement the policies then no point just getting the government for the sake of it.

3 parties they should not even think about forming alliance with are:

PPP
PMLN
MMA

I think these 3 combined would get around 110 seats so quite a sizable chunk.

If we rule out MQM as well then another 8-10 gone and even tougher to form government.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p lang="en" dir="ltr">Elections season is lit and we are all listening to the same old promises from the politicians everywhere. Ali Gul Pir had summed it up all in a perfect way.<br>Listen and enjoy:<a href="https://t.co/oFvyk06oeR">https://t.co/oFvyk06oeR</a> <a href="https://t.co/amSWJgqjmW">pic.twitter.com/amSWJgqjmW</a></p>— Patari (@patarimusic) <a href="https://twitter.com/patarimusic/status/1021352146711826432?ref_src=twsrc%5Etfw">July 23, 2018</a></blockquote> <script async src="https://platform.twitter.com/widgets.js" charset="utf-8"></script>
Sums up my feelings about these elections.

You know it as well as I do that TLP is not the only extremist organisation that is participating in these general elections. As far as magic solution is concerned, the path to mainstreaming any extremist organisation is through de-radicalisation. They should first be forced to give up their extreamist narrative. Without following this fundamental principle you are mainstreaming extremism.

What do you want establishment to do in this respect? How can they be forced to give up extremist narrative?

Also read my quote to Loralai.

I'm not denying the fact that TLP are extremists and anarchists, yet international community does not consider them a direct threat to them. My point to his post was only restricted to the fact that TLP are not bringing any international pressure to Pakistan. Nothing more.

The people you mentioned are target killers. And no doubt they should be dealt with. It is clearly the job of police.

As i said earlier TLP has nothing to do with establishment, it is a result of Qadri's hanging and amending of election act. Both of these issues were not related to agencies.

What you want army to do with it? Majority of these people are not armed but they are very tenacious and extreme in their point of view. Most of them are civilians , unarmed , it is not army's job to handle them. They can't make hundreds of thousands of more Pakistanis their enemies when they are already facing problems at borders, from Baloch separatists , TTP, ISIS and so on.

I don't think there are any TLP supporters on PP and Waqar is definitely FAR from being a TLP supporter.

One thing people completely forget is how TLP was formed, this has absolutely nothing to do with Fauj. This happened as a result of Mumtaz Qadri hanging and surely Army was taken in full confidence when he was hanged. People forgot that even Army Chief at that time was abused by these extremists (They are not terrorists which is a different thing).

Then they kind of disappeared until PMLN gave them lifeline by making an amendment they they did not intend to make. If this was made as a matter of principle then even i would stand with them as it was just change in oath which wasn't such a big deal. They ALWAYS knew there would be massive backlash so it was intentional by someone at higher level otherwise i see absolutely NO POINT.

This is why i found it shocking that some people even thought about using Arms against a group that generated sympathies at such a large scale and attacking them would have generated lot more support. The way they dealt with this group was THE BEST possible way.

MQM have historically been very difficult, but I they deserve another shot with Altaf gone. I feel like the current MQM is a whole new (and relatively cleaner) party, and I think PTI will be able to form a decent working relationship with them. This is just my opinion, but I think handing the country over to PPP + PML-N + MMA is injustice to Pakistan when you have the chance of forming a decent coalition and working relationship with a party like MQM.

PTI should under no circumstances form a government with PML-N, PPP, or MMA. From the others, they need to avoid the likes of PKMAP and these small inexperienced parties. I would honestly prefer a coalition with MQM-P and PSP, as these two parties have some decent, educated people in their ranks (such as Faisal Subzwari and Mustafa Kamal), who are capable of being good ministers.

MQM have historically been very difficult, but I they deserve another shot with Altaf gone. I feel like the current MQM is a whole new (and relatively cleaner) party, and I think PTI will be able to form a decent working relationship with them. This is just my opinion, but I think handing the country over to PPP + PML-N + MMA is injustice to Pakistan when you have the chance of forming a decent coalition and working relationship with a party like MQM.

PTI should under no circumstances form a government with PML-N, PPP, or MMA. From the others, they need to avoid the likes of PKMAP and these small inexperienced parties. I would honestly prefer a coalition with MQM-P and PSP, as these two parties have some decent, educated people in their ranks (such as Faisal Subzwari and Mustafa Kamal), who are capable of being good ministers.

Prefer them over band of small parties like NP, PML-Q, BNP, PKMAP, ARP, PML-Z I mean.

What do you want establishment to do in this respect? How can they be forced to give up extremist narrative?

Also read my quote to Loralai.

I’m not telling Army to do anything. I telling them to not do anything. I’m asking the election Commission to ban these organisations if they don’t drop their extremist narrative. I repeat again, I don’t want Army to do anything.