Questions Regarding Cricket Equipment (Bats, Pads, Gloves etc)

Serendipity said:
Good to see so much comradery flowing here mashallah!

What would the experts say about the TOP 3 bats are for number 6 position generally in club level cricket, a couple of overs to block and singles and then hit out really, light to medium, good graining, possibly medium distance graining and nice generic balance and curve???????????????

I am currently using CA 20 20 bat, did not knock, pretty good so far, love the balance and weight, thinking of getting one more, more solid in long run as back up, From Metro Sports opposite Jinnah Sports in Saddar.

I already had two crap unbranded ones...before that I played with one called Miandad!! was cheap and decent but not great but iof course you pay for what you get, generally speaking unless you get ripped off.

any suggestions?
Do you mind elaborating a bit more on CA20/20 because I got this bat as a gift didn't manage to use it properly so far. If you don't mind then can you tell me more about it's performance? I would really appreciate your comments and time

If you were to buy either Bubber Sher or Sher Amin then I would suggest you Sher Amin but if you don't mind spending a bit more then surely go for Bubber Sher :p (I am personally desperate to buy one Bubber Sher that's why I may recommend it to everyone loll). Honestly i am not aware of any other bats performance unless you want to go with Gray Nicolls then a 3 star bat wouldn't be bad either because it will last much longer than Bubber Sher and/or Sher Amin. Theoretically if you buy a 5-8 grains bat it would be best for you since you bat at number 6 so you basically play like MoYo, YK etc so you probably don't need a superior end bat because they tend tohave a shorter life rather than 5-8 grains bat (similar to CA 20/20). One thig I have noticed in these two MB Malik bats is that they generally have a big sweet spot. For instance if you manage to hit the ball just below the sticker it will still go far despite you didn't middle it properly

Hope it helps! :p
I apologize if I wasn't able to help you out because I am not fully aware of all bats in the market (just few)

Few bats of which I am aware of and are good
CA 10000 Plus (many PPers have it and got positive feedback)
Bubber Sher (Amazing can't explain much)
Sher Amin (Pretty good as well)

Hearing a lot of good things about Bubber Sher.....definitely would be on top of my list when I visit Karachi.

Any other bats besides MB or CA that should be considered? I need to buy a couple of bats for the team and any decent bat would do, doesn't have to be Bubber Sher or CA 12000.

Serendipity said:
Good to see so much comradery flowing here mashallah!

What would the experts say about the TOP 3 bats are for number 6 position generally in club level cricket, a couple of overs to block and singles and then hit out really, light to medium, good graining, possibly medium distance graining and nice generic balance and curve???????????????

I am currently using CA 20 20 bat, did not knock, pretty good so far, love the balance and weight, thinking of getting one more, more solid in long run as back up, From Metro Sports opposite Jinnah Sports in Saddar.

I already had two crap unbranded ones...before that I played with one called Miandad!! was cheap and decent but not great but iof course you pay for what you get, generally speaking unless you get ripped off.

any suggestions?

since u are going at number 6, i would recommend a bit heavier bat may be 2.10 or above cuz by the hopefully then ball is old hence u need a bit more in the bat to hit the ball far. go with wider grains. It also depends on what kind of pitch u play, is it hard, soft, matting, cement etc. if u play on a pitch where ball doesnt come on to the bat, u need a heavy bat as u need all the help u can get to time the ball. if its a hard pitch ur ok with any bat.
As for the bats that fit ur catagory, there is not such thing as all brands CA/Malik comes in different grains, weights, balance, sweet spots, curve etc.
i would recommend CA 10K, 2.9 weight, medium to wide grain.
balance u have to check yourself cuz same brand bat can have different balance. so two CA 10K bats will have very different balance, which basically depends on how the wood was pressed when the bat was made. balance is something no once can choose for u, only u can select it as its the feel in ur hand.

sakss said:
ya CA hi-hit

i would also recommend CA Somo but make sure u get the right one cz thre are alot of fakes out thre.....i got a somo 1 yr bak for 3000rs

Cover Drive said:
Yes it is from CA. It is CA Hi-Hit. My cousin got thus bat a few days ago, I never spoke to him how is the bat, but this guy mailed me some pictures of the bat and from picture it looked really nice with around 8 grains

Thanks to 'sakss' and 'Cover Drive' for answering the question.

Have any one used or heard about "CA Pro 2000"? I heard that this one has great balance and using it can help you time better. It has 5-8 grains and comes in weight range of 2lb 7oz - 3lb.

Guenon123 said:
Have any one used or heard about "CA Pro 2000"? I heard that this one has great balance and using it can help you time better. It has 5-8 grains and comes in weight range of 2lb 7oz - 3lb.
I just chcked CA website I did not see any 'CA Pro 2000' intact I saw 'CA Pro 20/20', I am not sure which one are you talking about. If it is Pro 20/20, then it is a better version of CA 20/20 which I currently have. 20/20 is pretty good bat, it is light weight (2.7 or 2.8), it has around 8 grains, good balance, the sweet spot is alright. I mean if I hit the ball it won't really go far I think this is because I did not knock it at all. I haven't used 20/20 much just used it once or twice so far. But another PPer posted comments on 20/20 above you can also read them. Also I once measured it is 65mm thick. So after reading these comments on CA 20/20 you can somewhat get an idea what CA Pro 20/20 would be like. Thus it will be much better than CA 20/20. (i am assuming that you are talking about CA Pro 20/20)Hope it helps!

frz said:
The bubber sher was for Rs. 8000 at UT sports a few days ago.. wasn't interested in buying so didn't attempt to bargain but he would probably give it for ~7500

I think you are mixing Sher with Bubber sher.
I was in Pakistan in summer, and in Sialkot Bubber Sher went for around 12-14000 Rupees.

Cover Drive said:
Do you mind elaborating a bit more on CA20/20 because I got this bat as a gift didn't manage to use it properly so far. If you don't mind then can you tell me more about it's performance? I would really appreciate your comments and time

If you were to buy either Bubber Sher or Sher Amin then I would suggest you Sher Amin but if you don't mind spending a bit more then surely go for Bubber Sher :p (I am personally desperate to buy one Bubber Sher that's why I may recommend it to everyone loll). Honestly i am not aware of any other bats performance unless you want to go with Gray Nicolls then a 3 star bat wouldn't be bad either because it will last much longer than Bubber Sher and/or Sher Amin. Theoretically if you buy a 5-8 grains bat it would be best for you since you bat at number 6 so you basically play like MoYo, YK etc so you probably don't need a superior end bat because they tend tohave a shorter life rather than 5-8 grains bat (similar to CA 20/20). One thig I have noticed in these two MB Malik bats is that they generally have a big sweet spot. For instance if you manage to hit the ball just below the sticker it will still go far despite you didn't middle it properly

Hope it helps! :p
I apologize if I wasn't able to help you out because I am not fully aware of all bats in the market (just few)

Few bats of which I am aware of and are good
CA 10000 Plus (many PPers have it and got positive feedback)
Bubber Sher (Amazing can't explain much)
Sher Amin (Pretty good as well)

Thanks mate. I did not knock CA 20/20 and still is good for me. The bottom, like any other bat needs to be knocked in and edges tapped in to avoid silly nicks but overall been good given the fact i have not knocked it except here and there, love the balance and it is light, just scored my half century last Sunday so cant complain. I did not even look in a hurry at the grain that much when i bought, fell in love with the balance and feel and the sweet spot, also it was a bit cheaper than CA10K.

I play on grass pitch with uneven and low bounce unless a genuine quickie or seamer comes in who cant extract more bounce.

jazakullah for your answer.

asfandyar said:
I want to buy an MB Malik Bubber Sher bat. Where can I buy one in Karachi, and what will be its cost?

i got mb malik sher amin recently one of the best bats i've owned got it for £60 which is about 8000 rupees :afridi

IAJ said:
I think you are mixing Sher with Bubber sher.
I was in Pakistan in summer, and in Sialkot Bubber Sher went for around 12-14000 Rupees.

That is possible. Like I said earlier, I was just browsing casually..

Serendipity said:
Thanks mate. I did not knock CA 20/20 and still is good for me. The bottom, like any other bat needs to be knocked in and edges tapped in to avoid silly nicks but overall been good given the fact i have not knocked it except here and there, love the balance and it is light, just scored my half century last Sunday so cant complain. I did not even look in a hurry at the grain that much when i bought, fell in love with the balance and feel and the sweet spot, also it was a bit cheaper than CA10K.

I play on grass pitch with uneven and low bounce unless a genuine quickie or seamer comes in who cant extract more bounce.

jazakullah for your answer.
Jazak ALLAH Kar Brother for your informative answer.......I got this bat as a gift from a club fellow. I didn't get a chance to use it much but from whatever I used it seemed brillant bat. I was amazed to see how thick the bat was. Man once I measured it and it was 65 mm thick. I was like Woooow. But then I saw Sher Amin and then Bubber Sher, I was just about to faint by just seeing how thick they were in light weight. Then I was like man this CA 20/20 bat is thin loll Anyways Jazak ALLAH Kar for your informative response I will be looking forward to use this bat on Saturday as we have a game :p

Btw where do you play? Where I play we mainly play on artificial pitches and/or mattings

wiseguy said:
i got mb malik sher amin recently one of the best bats i've owned got it for £60 which is about 8000 rupees :afridi
£60 pounds is very reasonable price. Watch over the time you will be much happier than you are right now. Just an amazing bat.

I have both these bats bought from Lahore last January. Having played a season with them in the UK I would say the Sher Amin is the better bat. They both have a similar ping and obviously the manufacture quality is the same. I think you pay more for the Bubber because it is the new Afridi bat and also the stickers are in fact tattoos on the one I have. This is not good as the paint comes off if the ball hits the splice or if the bat gets wet (which it invariably does playing in England). I believe they have now changed to proper stickers on the newer bubbers but unfortunately too late for me.

I would suggest saving a buck or two and buying the Sher Amin.

By the way does anyone know where I can buy Bubber Sher stickers online so I can replace the half worn away paint tattoos on my Bubber.

Thanks

AamerM said:
By the way does anyone know where I can buy Bubber Sher stickers online so I can replace the half worn away paint tattoos on my Bubber.

Thanks
Try Ebay, because I have seen many people selling stickers (not quite sure about which make)

AamerM said:
I have both these bats bought from Lahore last January. Having played a season with them in the UK I would say the Sher Amin is the better bat. They both have a similar ping and obviously the manufacture quality is the same. I think you pay more for the Bubber because it is the new Afridi bat and also the stickers are in fact tattoos on the one I have. This is not good as the paint comes off if the ball hits the splice or if the bat gets wet (which it invariably does playing in England). I believe they have now changed to proper stickers on the newer bubbers but unfortunately too late for me.

I would suggest saving a buck or two and buying the Sher Amin.

But is sweet spot different for both Sher Amin and Bubber Sher? Also isn't Bubber Sher a bit thicker compare to Sher Amin? Lastly apart from money factor which one would you recommend since you have and used both of them? And why?

Thanks
I am asking this because I am desperate to get one of these bat (intially I said I want Sher Amin but now I am like Bubber Sher)

Cover Drive said:
I just chcked CA website I did not see any 'CA Pro 2000' intact I saw 'CA Pro 20/20', I am not sure which one are you talking about. If it is Pro 20/20, then it is a better version of CA 20/20 which I currently have. 20/20 is pretty good bat, it is light weight (2.7 or 2.8), it has around 8 grains, good balance, the sweet spot is alright. I mean if I hit the ball it won't really go far I think this is because I did not knock it at all. I haven't used 20/20 much just used it once or twice so far. But another PPer posted comments on 20/20 above you can also read them. Also I once measured it is 65mm thick. So after reading these comments on CA 20/20 you can somewhat get an idea what CA Pro 20/20 would be like. Thus it will be much better than CA 20/20. (i am assuming that you are talking about CA Pro 20/20)Hope it helps!

Thanks for all the info. No, I was not talking about CA Pro 20/20. There used to be CA Pro 2000 which was used by Saeed Anwar/Marvan Atapattu etc as per a website.

Cover Drive said:
But is sweet spot different for both Sher Amin and Bubber Sher? Also isn't Bubber Sher a bit thicker compare to Sher Amin? Lastly apart from money factor which one would you recommend since you have and used both of them? And why?

Thanks
I am asking this because I am desperate to get one of these bat (intially I said I want Sher Amin but now I am like Bubber Sher)

The thickness of the two bats - there is minimal difference. The Sher Amin has also a thick blade and thick edges. Do you need the bat to be so thick? Probably not as long as you strike the ball properly.

The sweet spot on both bats is lower down the blade compared to english bats. I also have an old Slazenger v500 and the sweet spot is definitely higher up on the slazenger.

Performance wise both are very similar. They are both well balanced with nice pick up on both. The ball flies off both equally as well.

I bought the bubber because it was the new thing and yes it is a nice bat. The only drawback is the paint finish. If you can get a bubber with stickers then get one of those, it certainly turns heads and sparks conversation!
If you can't get one with stickers then get a Sher Amin.

AamerM said:
The thickness of the two bats - there is minimal difference. The Sher Amin has also a thick blade and thick edges. Do you need the bat to be so thick? Probably not as long as you strike the ball properly.

The sweet spot on both bats is lower down the blade compared to english bats. I also have an old Slazenger v500 and the sweet spot is definitely higher up on the slazenger.

Performance wise both are very similar. They are both well balanced with nice pick up on both. The ball flies off both equally as well.

I bought the bubber because it was the new thing and yes it is a nice bat. The only drawback is the paint finish. If you can get a bubber with stickers then get one of those, it certainly turns heads and sparks conversation!
If you can't get one with stickers then get a Sher Amin.
JazakALLAH Kar for your comments, they were really helpful. Previously I thought the Bubber Sher with sticker is fake and the original Bubber Sher is the one with paint but you proved me wrong. Thanks again.

Guenon123 said:
Thanks for all the info. No, I was not talking about CA Pro 20/20. There used to be CA Pro 2000 which was used by Saeed Anwar/Marvan Atapattu etc as per a website.
Ohh okay I am not sure which bat are you talking about then. I just went on CA website and saw all of there bats and didn't find any CA Pro 2000. Btw here is a direct link to all CA bats

http://www.cawears.com/cricket/products.asp?SecID=11&CatID=0

Frz checked the prices for me and there are as follows:

Sher is for about Rs. 13500, the CA 12000 was not available then but the CA 10000 is for about 14000 Rs

I just bought a Malik bat and I m not sure if its fake or real? So are there any tips to find out if a bat is a real english willow?

Rizwan25 said:
I just bought a Malik bat and I m not sure if its fake or real? So are there any tips to find out if a bat is a real english willow?

post few pictures of ur bat...close ups of grains and splice, colse up of edges and tell where u bought it from and for how much!

Bouncer said:
post few pictures of ur bat...close ups of grains and splice, colse up of edges and tell where u bought it from and for how much!
If it is Bubber Sher then on top of the cane it has a goldenish round circle

If you post pictures then it would be easier to tell if the bat is real or fake

WOW!!!
Ppl here really know abt bats!!!!!
I will certainly ask anything abt bats when I am buying one.

Right now I have Reebok Skipper
31GDS3VFBCL._SL500_AA280_.jpg

A good thread to keep going for any thig about bats I think:

which one is better then...

1 - CA 12000 Vs Bubber Sher ?

2 - CA 20/20 Vs Gray Nicholls or Reebok similar range? (light to medium range)

3 - Any one used Indian MRF bat signed by Sachin Tendulkar? two of my team mates have and it seemed good, oneof them is realllly heavy but they have lighter version too.

any one can who knows really or any of the above?

Bouncer said:
I bought it for $155 on ebay :( and I haven't received it yet so as soon as I do I ll post some pics...but I think I made a mistake cause a lot of ppl are telling me I shudnt have bought it online since most sellers are selling fake bats. I hope its not fake though :(

Cover Drive said:
If it is Bubber Sher then on top of the cane it has a goldenish round circle

If you post pictures then it would be easier to tell if the bat is real or fake
It is malik bubber sher..thanks for the info mate..

Serendipity said:
A good thread to keep going for any thig about bats I think:

which one is better then...

1 - CA 12000 Vs Bubber Sher ?

2 - CA 20/20 Vs Gray Nicholls or Reebok similar range? (light to medium range)

3 - Any one used Indian MRF bat signed by Sachin Tendulkar? two of my team mates have and it seemed good, oneof them is realllly heavy but they have lighter version too.

any one can who knows really or any of the above?

1. Not quite sure because it is a tough call. I haven't quite used either so sorry

2. I have CA 20/20. But before comparing CA 20/20 with Gray Nicolls you will have to find which bat are you looking for because there are different levels for Gray Nicolls bat (like 3 Star, 4 Star etc). I also have a Gray Nicolls bat, mine is Powerbow 3 Star (which is 60 mm thick and CA 20/20 is 65 mm thick). When I once compared the two bats I found out that when I hit the ball with Gray Nicolls it goes further compare to CA 20/20. I am not sure maybe this is because of knocking. I knocked in Gray Nicolls (alot seriously) but I never knocked in CA 20/20. As far grains are concerned CA 20/20 has around 8 grains whereas my Gray Nicolls have 4-5 (not quite sure if it 4 or 5). Whenever someone sees my Gray Nicolls bat in my club he always tell me that your Gray Nicolls bat will last much longer compare to CA 20/20 because for Gray Nicolls grains are wider apart.

Rizwan25 said:
I bought it for $155 on ebay :( and I haven't received it yet so as soon as I do I ll post some pics...but I think I made a mistake cause a lot of ppl are telling me I shudnt have bought it online since most sellers are selling fake bats. I hope its not fake though :(

If you consider the price then the bat doesn't look fake because one of my club team mate bought Bubber Sher it costed him around $120-$130 (Canadian) including shipping (I remember when this guy was about to buy his Bubber Sher he also called a seller who was in States selling Bubber Sher's [he had more than one], his Bubber Sher's were original. If you bought the bat from the same guys then InshALLAH it will be original). There is bunch of people on Ebay who are selling fake stuff. Especially sellers in India are selling fake stuff.

Cover Drive said:
If you consider the price then the bat doesn't look fake because one of my club team mate bought Bubber Sher it costed him around $120-$130 (Canadian) including shipping (I remember when this guy was about to buy his Bubber Sher he also called a seller who was in States selling Bubber Sher's [he had more than one], his Bubber Sher's were original. If you bought the bat from the same guys then InshALLAH it will be original). There is bunch of people on Ebay who are selling fake stuff. Especially sellers in India are selling fake stuff.
They guy I m buying from is pakistani based in uae...so lets hope its original otherwise I ll just have to call ebay for refund and stuff.

Rizwan25 said:
They guy I m buying from is pakistani based in uae...so lets hope its original otherwise I ll just have to call ebay for refund and stuff.
I hope it is original. I am not aware of Ebay policies as I have never purchased anything (whenever I intend to purchase something from Ebay but at the end I end up buying it from a local stores)

Cover Drive said:
^^^What club do you play for iHammad?
I am only 13 and i play at school and on the weekends with my friends! But studies come first, and I will think abt playing for clubs when im older. :)

Bubber Sher vs Sher Amin?
Which one is better?
Perhaps a mod can put a poll in this thread.

I will need some guidance on bats too....going to Karachi inshallah in January and would like to know what to look for.

i.e.

Grains (how many should I be looking for)
Thickness
Weight

etc.

I am hearing a lot of good things about Bubber Sher so that might be the ultimate pick - can I get a Kahuna in Karachi? A real one that is??

iHammad said:
I am only 13 and i play at school and on the weekends with my friends! But studies come first, and I will think abt playing for clubs when im older. :)
I never realized that your profile says you are in grade 8 :) Off course studies come first!! I myself joined the club for the first time this year (at 18) (during my first year university break) before that I played in highschool, summer and on weekends as you do.

xkalibur80 said:
I will need some guidance on bats too....going to Karachi inshallah in January and would like to know what to look for.

i.e.

Grains (how many should I be looking for)
Thickness
Weight

etc.

I am hearing a lot of good things about Bubber Sher so that might be the ultimate pick - can I get a Kahuna in Karachi? A real one that is??

As far my knowledge of bats is I would recommend you few things to consider before purchasing the bat. Always have your hands on the bat making sure how does it feels on your hands and more importantly the balance. When looking grains always remember that more the grains are sooner the bat will start to crack. In other words, lower the amount of the grains longer the bat will last. More grains bat usually doesn't require knocking whereas less grains bat requires alot of knocking. For instance, Bubber Sher has around 11-12 grains this bat will start to crack in a year or two. On the other hand a bat with 4-5 grains will last much longer than 11-12 grains bat. The thickest bat I have seen is Bubber Sher. I am not quite about thickness. All I know thicker the bat further the ball will go :( As far weight is concerned you will have to check it out what weight is good for you and your wrist (heavier bats can cause damage to your wrist). I have 3 bats and there weight range is 2.6-2.8 lbs and that is pretty light for me. I have seen and held a bat which weighs 2.10 lbs. That was fine for me as well but I like using light weight bats.

I am pretty sure it is really hard to find Kahuna in Karachi, especially original one and if you do find a Kahuna in Karachi it will be expensive because Kahuna's are not made in Pakistan so imported stuff tends to be expensive than local market. My suggestion to you would be that if you were to buy Kahuna then buy it online from a legit website rather than wasting your money buying it from Pakistan which at the end will be fake (most likely)

I hope it helps

Cover Drive said:
When looking grains always remember that more the grains are sooner the bat will start to crack. In other words, lower the amount of the grains longer the bat will last. More grains bat usually doesn't require knocking whereas less grains bat requires alot of knocking. For instance, Bubber Sher has around 11-12 grains this bat will start to crack in a year or two. On the other hand a bat with 4-5 grains will last much longer than 11-12 grains bat.

I hope it helps

Isnt that a myth really? I have heard that the more grains on the bat, the better...

Hence Grade 1 English willow is expensive.

If you take care of the bat, it will last long, no matter how many grains on it

Hello! Recently i have been in touch with a supplier in Pakistan who has offered me Bubber Sher and Ihsan Inferno 950 at a reasonable price. But after looking at the pictures im in doubt whether the bats are original or not, although the supplier has guaranteed that all their bats are authentic.

Im posting pictures of the bats, so those of you who got knowledge about cricket bats plz comment

• buber close f.jpg
    buber close f.jpg
    454.5 KB · Views: 250
  • buber side1.jpg
    buber side1.jpg
    116.4 KB · Views: 223
  • ihsan 1.JPG
    ihsan 1.JPG
    233.4 KB · Views: 217
  • ihsan 2.JPG
    ihsan 2.JPG
    222.5 KB · Views: 210
  • ihsan front.JPG
    ihsan front.JPG
    211.5 KB · Views: 220
Master_Entertainer said:
Hello! Recently i have been in touch with a supplier in Pakistan who has offered me Bubber Sher and Ihsan Inferno 950 at a reasonable price. But after looking at the pictures im in doubt whether the bats are original or not, although the supplier has guaranteed that all their bats are authentic.

Im posting pictures of the bats, so those of you who got knowledge about cricket bats plz comment
I am not sure about Ihsan bat but as far Bubber Sher is concerned it is fake in my opinion. The reason behind this fact is that the Bubber Sher has much more grains than the one in the picture (picture has around 6 grains but original Bubber Sher's which I have seen so far have around 13 grains). If the bat has sticker on front and back then it is probably fake because I have heard few people saying that Bubber Sher with stickers are fake whereas Bubber Sher which are painted are original. These are two reasons why I am saying it is fake not sure about others

Thank you for the comment. Yes, i agree with you, the bubber sher looks very fake and Ihsan is a bit better. I think i should rather buy from an established online shop, because if one of the bat can be fake then im unsure if the others are original or not.

Has anyone used a Inferno 950? How is the stroke, middle, balance etc

Cover Drive said:
I am not sure about Ihsan bat but as far Bubber Sher is concerned it is fake in my opinion. The reason behind this fact is that the Bubber Sher has much more grains than the one in the picture (picture has around 6 grains but original Bubber Sher's which I have seen so far have around 13 grains). If the bat has sticker on front and back then it is probably fake because I have heard few people saying that Bubber Sher with stickers are fake whereas Bubber Sher which are painted are original. These are two reasons why I am saying it is fake not sure about others

Well when it comes to English willows then I believe grains vary by the grade level of willow. There are 4 types of English willows, grade 1 being the best one and usually have 12-15 grains. 6-8 grains doesn't mean that its a bad or fake bat. It could just be a grade 2 or 3 willow bat, which may not be as good as grade 1 but they do last long and got really nice stroke. I have personally used a genuine Kashmir willow Malik bat and it was amazing, much better than my teammates English willow bats. Genuine Kashmir willow come in two grading. Grade 1 Kashmir willow is as good as grade 3 English willow, but these days its better to avoid buying Kashmir willow bats as they are of much worse quality & are not even genuine Kashmir willows.....typical desi going. :)

Kriketer said:
Well when it comes to English willows then I believe grains vary by the grade level of willow. There are 4 types of English willows, grade 1 being the best one and usually have 12-15 grains. 6-8 grains doesn't mean that its a bad or fake bat. It could just be a grade 2 or 3 willow bat, which may not be as good as grade 1 but they do last long and got really nice stroke. I have personally used a genuine Kashmir willow Malik bat and it was amazing, much better than my teammates English willow bats. Genuine Kashmir willow come in two grading. Grade 1 Kashmir willow is as good as grade 3 English willow, but these days its better to avoid buying Kashmir willow bats as they are of much worse quality & are not even genuine Kashmir willows.....typical desi going. :)
Bubber Sher is grade 1 but the pictures show that it is no where near grade 1 loll...:)

Can you tell more about Kashmiri Willow? They are cheap in price as well, right? Do you knock it? Also how many grains does grade 1 Kashmiri Willow has? I have no idea about Kashmiri Willow bats nor have seen them :(

nitrous said:
Isnt that a myth really? I have heard that the more grains on the bat, the better...

Hence Grade 1 English willow is expensive.

If you take care of the bat, it will last long, no matter how many grains on it
You are right more grains better the bat is. I have posted this in my older posts as well. Yes Grade 1 English willow is most expensive and the best willow. By take care what do you mean? Oiling, right? Then knocking, right?

Master_Entertainer said:
Thank you for the comment. Yes, i agree with you, the bubber sher looks very fake and Ihsan is a bit better. I think i should rather buy from an established online shop, because if one of the bat can be fake then im unsure if the others are original or not.

Has anyone used a Inferno 950? How is the stroke, middle, balance etc
Search you will find a thread called 'Ihsan Inferno 950' have a look at that thread. You can also get Bubber Sher shipped from UT Sports (From Karachi they sell original stuff), shipping from UT Sports is not that expensive

I shall post picture of my bubber sher, i have used it for one season now. :)
There isn't a better bat out there, there really isn't.
Everyone who sees it loves it, bunch of teammates used it in nets too and had nothing but positive things to say about the bat.

Rizwan25 said:
Got it?

Yea man just got it like an hour ago, I don't know how to upload pics here so give me ur email address and I will email em to u right now...
I don't feel good about it man, I think its fake :(

Rizwan25 said:
Yea man just got it like an hour ago, I don't know how to upload pics here so give me ur email address and I will email em to u right now...
I don't feel good about it man, I think its fake :(
Did the seller have 786 in his name? What is his userid or the link?

12thMan said:
Did the seller have 786 in his name? What is his userid or the link?
Did u also buy a fake bat from ebay? What's the procedure to getta refund?
I ll appreciate your response.

Cover Drive said:
Bubber Sher is grade 1 but the pictures show that it is no where near grade 1 loll...:)

Can you tell more about Kashmiri Willow? They are cheap in price as well, right? Do you knock it? Also how many grains does grade 1 Kashmiri Willow has? I have no idea about Kashmiri Willow bats nor have seen them :(

Yes, Kashmir willows are a lot cheaper. Sachin, Dravid, Inzy, and most Asian players in 90s used to play with Kashmir willow bats, so you can guess they can't be that bad. I have never seen any Kashmir willow with more than 8 grains. These days its not easy to find a good Kashmir willow bat reason being lots of fake and poor quality bats out there, unless you are getting it from a store and storeguy tells you the truth which bat is good and which isn't. Never buy a Kashmir willow online especially from a place like e-bay.

Rizwan25 said:
Did u also buy a fake bat from ebay? What's the procedure to getta refund?
I ll appreciate your response.
No. I have not bought anything from an auction site yet. I may buy a balla if I had to but not a Bat. When I was growing up all you needed was a balla and tennis ball. What if you also buy a ball and it may match the bat.

i need some ones opinion.....im looking to buy ca 20/20 bat the new one..i heard its quite light ..has anyone used it yet or heard about it??i need to know by maximum tomorow coz sme 1 is getting it for me from pakistan n i have to tel him 2mrw.....

sakss said:
i need some ones opinion.....im looking to buy ca 20/20 bat the new one..i heard its quite light ..has anyone used it yet or heard about it??i need to know by maximum tomorow coz sme 1 is getting it for me from pakistan n i have to tel him 2mrw.....
I have CA 20/20. It is quite light and it is pretty good as well (the sweet spot isn't bad). It has around 8 grains which isn't that bad either. My feedback are positive ones. If you have any other question let me know (I will surely answer it after 4 hours InshALLAH)

Cover Drive said:
I have CA 20/20. It is quite light and it is pretty good as well (the sweet spot isn't bad). It has around 8 grains which isn't that bad either. My feedback are positive ones. If you have any other question let me know (I will surely answer it after 4 hours InshALLAH)

thx for replying...whts the price and is it easily availible??whats the weight like compared to ca 10000 or ca 8000??

sakss said:
thx for replying...whts the price and is it easily availible??whats the weight like compared to ca 10000 or ca 8000??
I got that bat as a gift from a fellow club member. I am pretty sure it is easily available in the market. Btw where are you getting it from in Pakistan? If Karachi try UT Sports. I called UT Sports about a month and a half ago to ask price of few products. CA 20/20 was around Rs. 3500. As far weight is concerned the one I have is around 2.7-2.8 lbs whereas I have also seen CA 20/20 which weighs 2.13lbs.

Cover Drive said:
I got that bat as a gift from a fellow club member. I am pretty sure it is easily available in the market. Btw where are you getting it from in Pakistan? If Karachi try UT Sports. I called UT Sports about a month and a half ago to ask price of few products. CA 20/20 was around Rs. 3500. As far weight is concerned the one I have is around 2.7-2.8 lbs whereas I have also seen CA 20/20 which weighs 2.13lbs.

ths pretty light.....na from rawalpindi...ijaz sports.....price should be bw 3000-4000 then rite?
thnx alot for the info bro.....

btw any other bat u recommend within the same price range??
iv used ca somo,,ca hi hit,,ihsan crown,,,,as skipper,,,mb malik(the 1 moyo/malik used before) and other plain ones...

sakss said:
ths pretty light.....na from rawalpindi...ijaz sports.....price should be bw 3000-4000 then rite?
thnx alot for the info bro.....

btw any other bat u recommend within the same price range??
iv used ca somo,,ca hi hit,,ihsan crown,,,,as skipper,,,mb malik(the 1 moyo/malik used before) and other plain ones...
You should be getting one between 3000-4000.

Woow man you have used alot of bats. I own three bats (1 Gray Nicolls, 1 CA 20/20 and one plain bat). So I am not quite sure about any other bats within that price range. Sorry bro :(

If you have any other question please don't hesitate asking me. It would be my pleasure to help you out

Cover Drive said:
sakss please read post number 81 and 90 for more information on CA 20/20

thnx that ws quite helpful...
i thnk im gona go for the ca 20/20
wish had the budget to get the ca plus 10000....what a bat that is...

sakss said:
thnx that ws quite helpful...
i thnk im gona go for the ca 20/20
wish had the budget to get the ca plus 10000....what a bat that is...
CA 10000+ is Rs.10000+

I once had my hands on this bat. Honestly speaking the bat is amazing. It is so light and the balance and everything is awesome.

Cover Drive said:
CA 10000+ is Rs.10000+

I once had my hands on this bat. Honestly speaking the bat is amazing. It is so light and the balance and everything is awesome.

I think both CA10000 & Malik Bubber sher are priced between Rs. 10,000-14,000.

Even if they are Rs 12,000 - it works out to about $150 Canadian! much cheaper compared to what I have seen online as both bats are being sold for $200+...I have seen it as high as $300 on one site.

Cover Drive - I see that you are in Toronto....do you play in the league as well?

xkalibur80 said:
I think both CA10000 & Malik Bubber sher are priced between Rs. 10,000-14,000.

Even if they are Rs 12,000 - it works out to about $150 Canadian! much cheaper compared to what I have seen online as both bats are being sold for $200+...I have seen it as high as $300 on one site.

Cover Drive - I see that you are in Toronto....do you play in the league as well?
One of my fellow club member bought Bubber Sher for $120 (without shipping). Online (like on Toronto Kijiji and Craigslist) I have seen people selling it for $350 used and there is no guarantee that it is original. He is going Pakistan next month. I am really keen to buy it. But now I am double minded. I have CA 12000+ pads and gloves, so should I buy MB Malik Bubber Sher or CA 12000+? If anyone was in my position what would have you done? Please give me your suggestions it would be really appreciated

xkalibur80, I actually live in Brampton. I did join a club this summer for first time. I played under EDCL. How about you? What league did you play for?

Cover Drive said:
One of my fellow club member bought Bubber Sher for $120 (without shipping). Online (like on Toronto Kijiji and Craigslist) I have seen people selling it for $350 used and there is no guarantee that it is original. He is going Pakistan next month. I am really keen to buy it. But now I am double minded. I have CA 12000+ pads and gloves, so should I buy MB Malik Bubber Sher or CA 12000+? If anyone was in my position what would have you done? Please give me your suggestions it would be really appreciated

xkalibur80, I actually live in Brampton. I did join a club this summer for first time. I played under EDCL. How about you? What league did you play for?

That's pretty cheap...I have never seen a bat priced that low even on kijiji. As far as your choices are concerned, I don't think you could wrong with either of the two.

I am going to Pakistan as well inshallah in January so the plan is to bring back a couple of good bats.

We are currently putting through a team for the first time in T&D and are recruiting players. If you are interested in switching do let me know as we are holding tryouts this month.

Does UT sports have a branch in Lahore (if so what is location)?

If not, what reputable shops are there in Lahore with reasonable prices?

Dare2Dream said:

No UT Sports does not have a branch in Lahore. However, I got pads and gloves for myself from Lahore. I didn't go Lahore this summer but my mom got these pads for me and she told me that she got them from Liberty (there is a sports shop in the basement not quite sure where exactly it is, but if you need to know I can surely ask her for you). She got CA 12000+ pads and gloves both for Rs.5000 whereas I called UT Sports around a month ago and asked them the price of it they told me they are Rs.3200 so she paid Rs.1800 more than UT sports price but who cares.

Dare2Dream said:

I asked her where exactly was the shop she said it is below Shezan Sweets

Cover Drive said:
I asked her where exactly was the shop she said it is below Shezan Sweets

Thanks man, I'll keep that in mind! Gulberg is easy to get to!

Wondering if anyone else have any suggestion on a shop in Lahore of the calibre (in price/quality) of UT sports? There must be some known shops that have UT sports like low prices.

thres a few sports shops in anarkali too....ther prices are quite reasonable

sakss said:
thres a few sports shops in anarkali too....ther prices are quite reasonable

Yeah, that is where I bought my bat last time.

So looks like no specific shop stands out in Lahore like is the case for Karachi?

Help please...

Ok, i'm in England and frankly, the bats here just don't cut it, my dad got me a malik sher from pakistan but my baby cousin spilt orange juice all over it before i could oil/knock it in and the wood split when it dried. So now i have a budget of £50 and was wondering if anyone knows anywhere to get a pakistani bat, or Maliks to be precise, these English websites are just too expensive.