SA Invite XI v Pakistanis | East London | Tour match | Day 1

There really is some hysterical nonsense in this thread.

It has been a mixed day for Pakistan.

The good news is:

1) Jamshed has confirmed his place in the Test team.
2) Hafeez lasted an entire session.
3) Sarfraz and Umar Gul put on 33 in 13 overs at the end, which they are going to need to do in the Tests.

The bad news is:

1) It was a day in which batting conditions deteriorated horribly after a good start. The pitch became moist and the light was very poor, and Pakistan lost 6 wickets for 45 runs in those poor conditions.

2) Azhar, Younis, Misbah and Shafiq all failed, which means that the entire middle order is short of runs and needs a decent innings in the second dig.

The only reason this is disappointing is because the dunces at the PCB have only scheduled one single match in SA before the First Test. If there was even one more match there would be plenty more chances for the middle order to hit form.

Good to see Jamshed and Hafeez doing well, the middle order is very brittle, Taufeeq should play and perhaps Nasir should come one down, nothing against Misbah but honestly he is 39 and can't continue for long, he'll struggle big time on these fast wickets.

he has been our reliable opening batsman for more than couple of years and has performed pretty consistently. Jamshed is a great batsman , but has a fitness issue which is a very vital aspect of test cricket.
Hate it when people say this, what about Inzy bhai. 49.60 average in tests and probably one of the largest men to play test cricket!

I'm sorry I doubted Sarfraz, he should play at 6 ahead of Shafiq :)
Maybe Gul at 7 would do better than Shafiq? :p

Not a good sign that the entire middle order flopped with this being our own prep before the 1st test, batsmen if they get a go in 2nd inns will need to bat miles better.

Misbah haina yaar. .. gham kyun kartay ho? He is our best of the best captain and will lead us 3-0 the same way he single handedly did against England.

only one warm up game against the top team in the world!!!

Zaka sahab, what were you thinking. Atleast 2 warm up games were needed!

Openers did well but middle order really needs to step up. As much as I like Azhar Ali, I have a feeling he won't do well on South African pitches. If he continues to fail maybe he should be replaced by Taufeeq

18 run partnership is good enough for you?

What the heck did the Middle orders Younis Misbah, shafiq, Azhar do..Huh... !!!
BIG partnerships of 11,19,4,6,0....Was that enough for you.!!!!!

So should I had to say 'very BAD partnership from Gul and Sarfaraz'...:danish???

Atleast they lasted this long.. and now they've put up a partnership of 33*.. second Highest of the innings..... :ajmal

Chotaay Bachoon, it happens, it is just one innings and that too of the first ever match on the toor...I still remember how Pak batted/played very well at the start of the 2007 WC in WI, I think we won all the practice matches (One I believe against Aussies if I recall correctly or India) and then when the tournament started, we went bust!

One bad innings of a tour match is an indicator of how the team is not yet fully acclamatized to the conditions....nothing more or less; when the tests start, no tour match form helps anyone especially when playing the world's best team at the moment!

Win or loose, let the team try it out and wait till the first test match is at least half over before starting oh drop this, replace that, oh he is too old etc. etc. cries, you all acting like women!

Chotaay Bachoon, it happens, it is just one innings and that too of the first ever match on the toor...I still remember how Pak batted/played very well at the start of the 2007 WC in WI, I think we won all the practice matches (One I believe against Aussies if I recall correctly or India) and then when the tournament started, we went bust!

One bad innings of a tour match is an indicator of how the team is not yet fully acclamatized to the conditions....nothing more or less; when the tests start, no tour match form helps anyone especially when playing the world's best team at the moment!

Win or loose, let the team try it out and wait till the first test match is at least half over before starting oh drop this, replace that, oh he is too old etc. etc. cries, you all acting like women!

Okay BUDDA Ji.......!!!!

:bow: as you order.....:yk

chotaay bachoon, it happens, it is just one innings and that too of the first ever match on the toor...i still remember how pak batted/played very well at the start of the 2007 wc in wi, i think we won all the practice matches (one i believe against aussies if i recall correctly or india) and then when the tournament started, we went bust!

one bad innings of a tour match is an indicator of how the team is not yet fully acclamatized to the conditions....nothing more or less; when the tests start, no tour match form helps anyone especially when playing the world's best team at the moment!

Win or loose, let the team try it out and wait till the first test match is at least half over before starting oh drop this, replace that, oh he is too old etc. Etc. Cries, you all acting like women!

this

Our middle order failed which is a good thing as they will have to raise there game for the tests. If they scored runs they might of got complacent. They weren't scoring as they were just trying get time in the middle.

Good to see Jamshed and Hafeez doing well, the middle order is very brittle, Taufeeq should play and perhaps Nasir should come one down, nothing against Misbah but honestly he is 39 and can't continue for long, he'll struggle big time on these fast wickets.

what an idiotic suggestion if i ever heard one, misbah is a miles better then taufeeq and no such move should even be looked at.

The learning curve for every batsmen in this series and on this tour is that they need to be patient and take time to play themselves in like jamshed did, even if we get a solid platform at start it doesnt mean the middle order then just come out and start playing daft and agressive shots straight away.

what an idiotic suggestion if i ever heard one, misbah is a miles better then taufeeq and no such move should even be looked at.

I'm not talking about dropping Misbah, I know he cannot be dropped as he is the captain, I'd like to see Taufeeq ahead of Asad, quite simply because Taufeeq has done well in South Africa in the past.

No matter how good Misbah is (He was never as good anyways) but age catches up with everyone, it has caught up with even the best of the best and that is Sachin Tendulkar at 39, so who is Misbah? Sooner or later Pakistan will have to get rid of him. It won't happen for now, I know that but it needs to happen soon.

I'm not talking about dropping Misbah, I know he cannot be dropped as he is the captain, I'd like to see Taufeeq ahead of Asad, quite simply because Taufeeq has done well in South Africa in the past.

No matter how good Misbah is (He was never as good anyways) but age catches up with everyone, it has caught up with even the best of the best and that is Sachin Tendulkar at 39, so who is Misbah? Sooner or later Pakistan will have to get rid of him. It won't happen for now, I know that but it needs to happen soon.

And that should be sooner........ not later..

Re: SA Invite XI v Pakistanis | East London | Tour match | 25th-28th Jan

Misbah should b dropd

The man who doesnt evn dsrv to b in the team is captaining the side

Sent from my GT-S5300 using Tapatalk 2

Ok Guys.......InshAllah we will do better in the second innings......stop blaming Misbah.....the other players have some reponsibility too......but i do agree that pakistan needs to look to build a team for the next world cup.....Misbah is obviously not going to be playing...but because he has done so much for the team i think that we should let him decide rather than forcing the decision onto him.

SA Invite XI v Pakistanis | East London | Tour match | 25th-28th Jan

Lol why are you guys taking this match so seriously? We've lost plenty of warm-ups. The main point of it is to adjust to conditions :)

we should Try Umar waheed in test cricket
today he smashed 153 not out vs Abttoabad in Quaid-e-azam Trophy

From Cricinfo

'Misbah-ul-Haq and Asad Shafiq followed in the next four overs. Each only scored four and dealt with the pace far more awkwardly than the batsmen who preceded them.'

How predictable. The biggest FTB's exposed in a practise game.

They're not even good FTB's, how will they do well over in SA?

Re: SA Invite XI v Pakistanis | East London | Tour match | 25th-28th Jan

From Cricinfo

'Misbah-ul-Haq and Asad Shafiq followed in the next four overs. Each only scored four and dealt with the pace far more awkwardly than the batsmen who preceded them.'

Misbah has a ton in a match winning game in WI and a 99 in a match winning game in NZ. Bit harsh to put the ftb label on him based on one practice match

From Cricinfo

Firdose Moonda wrote that from Johannesburg. Like us, all she has seen is the score card!