Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
dunno whether he's earnt it. If he does well in the second game perhaps. He has however bought himself time in the t20 team and deserves to be selected in that format now.

Horses for courses...he plays well against India so let him play against them...

He averages 51.82 against India and 41.92 in India in ODI's...not bad at all...

As for South Africa its worth noting that his average there is 55.83 in ODI's...

Probably not someone for the team if we're playing in England or New Zealand...

And btw as a reply to the guy who said Younis Khan is good against India...India is his best opponent overall but he does only average 26.15 in India...

Only problem is ... this sight is as rare ...as .. Elvis sightings!

.... oops. There I go again.... manipulating the statistics to suit my agenda!! :69:

those international records are poor by any standards. i tried to find the stats for domestic competitions, but couldnt find anything more than this years faysal bank records on cricinfo where malik was third highest in the averages and had a strike rate of 140+.

if i recall correctly, malik was pretty much dropped a couple of years ago and was only recalled after a stellar performance in the domestic competition.

if selectors have a pool of domestic players to choose from, and IF someone performs consistently outstandingly, its understandable that they are in contention for selection.

if any of us were selectors, of course it wouldnt be simply that - we would have to look at domestic performance, international performance, technique, experience, promise, team synergy, fitness - and most importantly how some subjective combination of all those criteria compare versus all the other players we have to choose from.

my memory may be failing, and i might be wrong in suspecting that malik has been stand out in the domestic competition for several years - if im correct though, what is more relevant than the international stats youre quoting is his overall cricketing - including first class - performances, weighted towards the most recent history.

either way, this puerile poorly written attempts at sarcasm and obvious character critiques of the player himself are unbecoming and detract from the real value in anyones posts here.

Title of the following piece:
"I'll breath easily only after I have played 4-5 similar innings - Shoaid Malik".

1101707340-1.gif

One good innings per 3 years.... that mean, he plans on playing for another 12-15 years?

Title of the following piece:
"I'll breath easily only after I have played 4-5 similar innings - Shoaid Malik".

One good innings per 3 years.... that mean, he plans on playing for another 12-15 years?

Hey...you should be happy with that kind of statement. It shows he's determined to prove he can do it consistently. Unless of course you want him to fail to prove you right? :waqar

Hey.... who am I to be unhappy??? If selectors and other "fans" can live with 1 innings per three years... I am fine!

Good that you, SS, insaftak are doing great...

but I am missing "The Great Khan"....
I hope he is also doing fine...

W63L35 said:

Good that you, SS, insaftak are doing great...

but I am missing "The Great Khan"....
I hope he is also doing fine...

Let me spoon feed you by spelling it out for you ... YET AGAIN....
S . A . R . C . A . S . M

spoon-feeding.jpg

Itna Rola after one decent knock in years. We deserve likes of Malik playing for Pakistan.

Don't you recall BZ's rola after Malik's 2* and winning shot in this match??

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/530432.html

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4366405&postcount=4799

Yesterday was 57* ..... 28.5 innings like that 2*!!!! What did you expect?

This is what SS said in commentary:

View attachment 30022

This is what SS said in commentary:

View attachment 30022

You must go through lot of effort to find these. Yes I was praising Malik as he played major role in Pak victory that we all want. Tell that to those who think we want Malik to fail to prove our point. If Malik plays well consistently and helps Pak win games I will be his biggest supporter. But playing well consistently does not meaning scoring after 3 years.

Pak Batsmens record Before the india game. ....

A small simple challenge.

List the people that have been better than Malik in T20s for Pakistan?

No didnt include zim and ban.

But Just checked. Original was pulled off for 1 September.

Updated list in other post.

You didn't answer my question. ....

Please answer the question. :)

Then I will answer ur post.

You didn't answer my question. ....

Please answer the question. :)

Then I will answer ur post.

When you (selectors) are selecting a player, they never look at overall record. If that was the case, Sachin and Ponting would be playing today. Recent form and record is looked for player to selected for the next game.

That is why I asked you.... what is the point of your post.

When you (selectors) are selecting a player, they never look at overall record. If that was the case, Sachin and Ponting would be playing today. Recent form and record is looked for player to selected for the next game.

U still didn't answer the question.... :) work with me... All will become clear.

We can come back to ur point. I promise I will answer.

U still didn't answer the question.... :) work with me... All will become clear.

We can come back to ur point. I promise I will answer.

The reason why W63 has difficulty answering your question at the moment is because the burnol that Akmal_Dynasty gave him has finished.

W63 is one the better PP posters. He's probably busy. I'm sure he'll be back to reply.

Ok I am selecting a team...tell me...
a) who got the best stats in T20I in last 12 months?
b) who got the best stats in T20I in wins in last 12 months?

Answers:

a) Malik
b) Malik

I feel for you guys, Malik has put you in catch-22 situation.

Question was how many batsmen have a better overall record than Malik?

But surely the solution lies in the question?

Tried and tested failures in ODI cricket is what has hampered us in the past. Time to move on perhaps and give a chance to the youngsters?

By the way you excluded his most recent innings

catch-22

You must go through lot of effort to find these. Yes I was praising Malik as he played major role in Pak victory that we all want. Tell that to those who think we want Malik to fail to prove our point. If Malik plays well consistently and helps Pak win games I will be his biggest supporter. But playing well consistently does not meaning scoring after 3 years.

on one side you saying "hats off to malik" and on other side you asking malik to be dropped (in sig)...

aren't you confused :sania

Malik's dad-in-law upset at Malik not getting MoM award! :)))

What are the chances Malik can do it in .... two matches in a row?

Any bets?

What are the chances Malik can do it in .... two matches in a row?

Any bets?

He will score at least 30+ against the Susralis (If he comes early). Malik is very good against spinners even when out of form

So BZ ... you want Afridi to finish the game or get out so that Malik can finish the game???

I think, we are toast ... no matter what. 41 in 3 overs... not possible

BZ.... come on... we need your prediction?
Malik at crease.... 25 in 10 needed!!! hurry up!

Malik to face.......his first ball.....21 needed in 8 balls.

My prediction .... Malik will have lowest S/R in the match.

20 runs needed in six ball....... piece of cake for Malik... right BZ?

hahahaha takes a single from the first ball and gives Strike to Gul... what a champion! :)))

I am not blaming him for the loss but to me he gave up too early. 21 of 8 was not impossible but he took singles and gave up the chase.

21 off 8 is impossible.

Malik has never been a sixes hitter so him coming in and being asked to hit sixes straight away when all the other sloggers like Afridi struggled.

He should have come in ahead of Kami imo...

I hope your jesting W62L35 cos if not then thats really clutching at straws...

10 posts by W63 in this thread in the last hour, with only two being responses to other posts :)))

I think he is still burning from the :AAG which Malik caused in the last game.

Give the bloke some more burnol quick :msd

21 off 8 is impossible.

Malik has never been a sixes hitter so him coming in and being asked to hit sixes straight away when all the other sloggers like Afridi struggled.

Two points....

1) That is exaclty why he should not be in the dressing room when Pakistan is playing T20s.

2) Hafeez could never hit sixes... but look how he stepped up!

Malik should have came in when lala came in.

Yeah Malik is useless coming late...he needs time to settle...Afridi will hit from ball 1 regardless of where he comes in the order...

Hes also in form...Kami especially should not be ahead of him...

Yeah another crap performance from Afridi

Wasn't crap. Was a pleasant surprise lol

Yeah Malik is useless coming late...he needs time to settle...Afridi will hit from ball 1 regardless of where he comes in the order...

Hes also in form...Kami especially should not be ahead of him...

Yeah it was a poor decision at that time. The risk would have been that Malik may have let the RRR escalate as he takes time to settle in. I think the thinking was that the 'hitters' should try and bring the RRR down which to be fair Afridi had a good stab at but Kamran was :facepalm:

I think that Malik is a big tool but I have realised that this guy has India's number. He should bat at #6 in the ODI's after which he should be given a 'break' from the format until the next India series.

With Afridi not playing, we'll have a sixth bowling option with him in the side as well.

Yeh thread kuch sooona soona la raha hai!!! Where are the fan boys and the lovers?

BZ has disappeared. Doondho usko yaar.
Just BZ.... what about his side-kicks... buying burnol???

At least we were happy at Pakistan's win on 25th and Malik's performance!

Yeh thread kuch sooona soona la raha hai!!! Where are the fan boys and the lovers?

Just BZ.... what about his side-kicks... buying burnol???

At least we were happy at Pakistan's win on 25th and Malik's performance!

I knew match was lost when instead of sending Malik "they" sent Afridi and then Kami... (both out of touch players)
and kept the player out of game, who won you match just 72 hrs earlier...

they got what they deserved...

and i am happy, Malik didn't try to hit out...

I knew match was lost when instead of sending Malik "they" sent Afridi and then Kami... (both out of touch players)
and kept the player out of game, who won you match just 72 hrs earlier...

they got what they deserved...

and i am happy, Malik didn't try to hit out...
BZ when Afridi cams we needed 13 an over and we kept up with the rate. When Malik cams we needed 21 of 8 difficult but not impossible. At least Afridi scored 11 of 4. Malik did not even try. Taking that single on 18.5 was surrender to me. Malik gave up too early. May be to keep peace at home.

Word on Hafeez today?

Out of syllabus sawal imtihan main nahi pochtay!

I will say...no need to change the squad ...

Selectors have picked the squad...if team loses...selectors should accept the responsibility...
"One should stick to the squad selected by the selectors. A captain should have no say in it." Sarfraz Nawaz

Did you notice Sarfraz Nawaz and BZ saying the same thing...... similar minds thinking alike! :P

Didn't SN also belonged to PPP once?

Out of syllabus sawal imtihan main nahi pochtay!

Did you notice Sarfraz Nawaz and BZ saying the same thing...... similar minds thinking alike! :P

Didn't SN also belonged to PPP once?

Sarfraz was a jayala once and so was I but we both saw sense. He is a haq prast now and I am a tsunami man.