Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
As team being "hand picked" for T20Is and ODIS so it makes sense to bring this to fore:

That Malik got the highest avg in wins in T20I since jan 2012

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

and he also got the highest avg in wins in ODIs during same period:
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

Whatever wins we had in that period, due to malik's contribution
so its fair to suggest that without Malik, chances of winning will be substantially reduced.
(even against a 3rd-tier WI team)

As team being "hand picked" for T20Is and ODIS so it makes sense to bring this to fore:

so its fair to suggest that without Malik, chances of winning will be substantially reduced.

yes you have a point, especially the past few matches we have won chasing Malik was at the crease, in India and in SA.

but when the time comes for him to bat time and occupy the crease, he falls apart.

so no thanks, better off trying to resurrect his career as a ball-boy in tennis.

Wimbledon is about to start soon anyway.

You also forgot the number of MoM awards he has won since Jan 2012

yes you have a point, especially the past few matches we have won chasing Malik was at the crease, in India and in SA.

but when the time comes for him to bat time and occupy the crease, he falls apart.

so no thanks, better off trying to resurrect his career as a ball-boy in tennis.

Wimbledon is about to start soon anyway.

Malik came at 4/17 and contributed toward win:
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/601613.html
(May 26th, 2013)

You also forgot the number of MoM awards he has won since Jan 2012

he should have got this one at least.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/589306.html

against Ireland :P

Hafeez deserved it and he got it

Not only Hafeez Top scored.....but was also economical and took a wicket.

but like you said, Malik should've got it......just like he gets his place in the XI....phixed :asif

Yes, it was 4/17 against Ire-land...
and malik saved Pakistan. (AZ raised a point and I proved that it was not the case)
and this happened just recently (not even 30 days passed...so obviously ..perception is playing it's part here.

Re: MOM, hafeez bowled total of 2 overs (11th, 13th) for 12 runs , no wickets...

hafeez was out and it was Malik who with his NO 57 won us the match...

P.S. if we exclude ireland, then he avg 110+ in wins since jan '12

and malik saved Pakistan. (AZ raised a point and I proved that it was not the case)
and this happened just recently (not even 30 days passed...so obviously ..perception is playing it's part here.

Re: MOM, hafeez bowled total of 2 overs (11th, 13th) for 12 runs , no wickets...

Gul 3-21

P.S. if we exclude ireland, then he avg 110+ in wins since jan '12

What's Pakistan's win percentage when Malik isn't playing?

You forgot player of the tournament for Champions Trophy.

Pakistan played 4 matches (including warm up)

he was not given chance in warm up.. :facepalm: @ :misbah

two matches at #6 ...so its unfair to blame him when top order failing miserably

so pakistan remained winless ... so blame captain, coach and vice captain...

Re: The Shoaib Malik 'Support' Thread

According to BZ, if Malik fails, it's everybody except that Malik's mistake. Yes even my neighbour is responsible for Malik's failure. Sounds pitiful :malik :farhat

Its top order (#1 -> #5 ) to provide foundation and steer the innings...

do not expect #6/7 to provide foundation...

What's Pakistan's win percentage when Malik isn't playing?

You have not moral base to ask question as you are "bhagora" of debate...

still I will answer your question...without Malik, 0.375 is the W/L for Pakistan against major teams...since Jan "12

How about #7 and #9? Even Wahab Riaz scored 47* at #9...... when was the last time Malik scored more than 43 in an ODI? How many "moons" ago? :P date please!

So all these batsmen who have about 2-3 times better average at #6/#7...than Malik.... walked in to bat when score was 350-4 or 360-6 in ODI...or all the #1-5 batsmen had hit double 100s????

/.

The Shoaib Malik 'Support' Thread

Yaaar can someone remind me whether Malik has made those outstanding runs to get his average up to 50?

Have you checked his average in wins since Jan 2012..... :P

Sorry.... couldn't resist! :) BUt BZ was going to come here and reply with the same answer.

i think this thread should be closed now, no one in there right mind can defend him now, waste of space, maybe he should try tennis,

Black Zero do you think Shoaib Malik should be captain in all formats of the game? :)

T20I and ODis...Yes

Test...Misbah is doing fine...atm...
He was a pretty good player when he was captain.
Averaging 43.

I don't think they should have sacked him back in 2009.

Since then we've had Mohammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan and Misbah Ul Haq as captain.

Moon bhai was appointed in 2007 after the dismal performance by Pakistan in that years World Cup. Also in that time MS Dhoni was appointed captain, look at India and now look at Us.

In that 6 years, We've had 5 different captains and them only 1.

This shows that changing captains does NOT change anything.

Look at us now, we're on the verge of changing yet again another captain, we've shown no improvement since 2007

He was a pretty good player when he was captain.
Averaging 43.

I don't think they should have sacked him back in 2009.

Since then we've had Mohammad Yousuf, Shahid Afridi, Younis Khan and Misbah Ul Haq as captain.

Moon bhai was appointed in 2007 after the dismal performance by Pakistan in that years World Cup. Also in that time MS Dhoni was appointed captain, look at India and now look at Us.

In that 6 years, We've had 5 different captains and them only 1.

This shows that changing captains does NOT change anything.

Look at us now, we're on the verge of changing yet again another captain, we've shown no improvement since 2007

Yes, new board wanted to bring the new captain (YK) so they had to sack the Malik.
PCB played a questionable role and most players revolted against malik..

if we see his last ODI series we will know that players were not supporting him...

and i believe he avg even better when captaining vd major teams...

:facepalm: :facepalm:

I am fine that he is not in ODI team as team is meant to lose under misbah so better be not part of it...but he is also dropped from T20I squad..

now we will not even win any T20 game...

I am fine that he is not in ODI team as team is meant to lose under misbah so better be not part of it...but he is also dropped from T20I squad..

Can you honestly say he deserved to be retained in one day squad after the epic show in CT?

images

He just said he's fine with Malik not being in the ODI squad.

Anyway good decision. No more Malik :)

He said he was fine Malik was not to picked under misbah as team would lose any way.

BZ you are happy with Hafeez leading the team in T20s it seems.

How can fans still want Malik in the team? It would be more like Indians wanting Ishant Sharma in the Indian team.

Im shattered. How could they do this? Malik jsut needed one more match to hit a triple centruy and they do this? hope they all burn in the pit of fire for this! heresy I say!

Great he is done n dusted now youngsters should grab the chance and malik history........

I think it's a tragedy that he's been disposed of but I guess the right decision was made as Malik could only take Pakistan to the top of the tree as Captain! As Captain he would have become a legend with the bat and take his mediocre averages to unhartered territories.

Nothing mediocre about those averages.

WL aaj kamaal ho gya yaar. BZ endorsed Malik playing under Hafeez. Khair te hai?

It's a shame. But I guess his performance deserved a sacking.
Hope he goes back to domestic cricket to work on his form.

When where how.... link??

His ID must have been stolen?

Post #9812. says he is fine with him not in the ODI side as it's meant to lose under Misbah but seems upset that he is dropped from T20 side.

It's a shame. But I guess his performance deserved a sacking.
Hope he goes back to domestic cricket to work on his form.

Please no. He comes back every time after performing in domestic but reverts back to his mediocre self at international level. Not a single 50+ score in nearly 4 years over 60 odd innings. Enough is enough.

Post #9812. says he is fine with him not in the ODI side as it's meant to lose under Misbah but seems upset that he is dropped from T20 side.

Good catch!!!!! BZ MUST be OK with Malik playing Hafeez then!!! I bet his ID is stolen! :P

Have you noticed he has stopped replying to my posts.... he seems to be "jao main nahi bolta - kutti" with me! I don't know why!!!! He never replied to my facebook friend request! :(

Please no. He comes back every time after performing in domestic but reverts back to his mediocre self at international level. Not a single 50+ score in nearly 4 years over 60 odd innings. Enough is enough.

Please elaborate what you mean by 'performing in domestic'? Also examples of consistently big scores in domestic cricket backed up by stats/averages will be really helpful.

WL your work has paid off!

I don't think... IQ (and selection committee) read my posts in this thread......if they did, they would have dropped Malik 2.5 years ago.

My posts were to educate ignorant fans ...and most of them got educated.... only @4 of them chose to stay ignorant.... and all I can say is: "Allah unhain hadayat dey"! :P

Plus.... my predictions for last 2-3 years have ALWAYS come true that Malik will never be successful again... and he never was.

But that does not mean, he won't he back.... You watch..... if Harris or Umar Akmal fail.... Mibsah will bring him back!

Lets hope we have seen him for the last time in international cricket just need sohail tanvit and umar gul to go for good as well.. cant see these has beens popping up again and again and again... when there are alot of youngsters waiting for their chances.

BZ, have you considered CBT?

For the people who don't know what CBT is:

Cognitive behavioral therapy (CBT) is a psychotherapeutic approach which addresses dysfunctional emotions, maladaptive behaviors and cognitive processes, and contents through a number of goal-oriented, explicit systematic procedures. The name refers to behavior therapy, cognitive therapy, and to therapy based upon a combination of basic behavioral and cognitive principles and research.

Most therapists working with patients dealing with anxiety and depression use a blend of cognitive and behavioral therapy. This technique acknowledges that there may be behaviors that cannot be controlled through rational thought. CBT is "problem focused" (undertaken for specific problems) and "action oriented" (therapist tries to assist the client in selecting specific strategies to help address those problems).[1]

CBT is thought to be effective for the treatment of a variety of conditions, including mood, anxiety, personality, eating, substance abuse, tic, and psychotic disorders. Many CBT treatment programs for specific disorders have been evaluated for efficacy; the health-care trend of evidence-based treatment, where specific treatments for symptom-based diagnoses are recommended, has favored CBT over other approaches such as psychodynamic treatments.[2]

It can really make a difference, otherwise this will cripple you for the rest of your life.

Will?? What do you mean by "will"? :P

Quite amazing how this one isn't banned yet.

I know!

Which other fan?

Riff.

I don't think it has something to do with eyesight, it is a deeper and complicated issue.

I give up on Pakistan team until losers like Malik, kami and Farhat are part of the squad.

You can start watching again! :)

:110:

Read that post again.

I said Malik was playing sensibly at that time (but as usual, he fell very soon!). That didn't mean that I denied he was (and IS) a tried-and-tested FAILURE!

Read some of the gems from this thread by those two I mentioned.....

By the way, this insaaniyat guy is the same .... who last 100 or post are nothing but bashing Afridi for his non-performance! :))

Malik will prove a lot of people wrong.

Anwaar Bhai don't worry, Malik will be back with the team in no time.

All Pakistani captain should know by now, dno't drop Malik from playing X1.

He has just came back after the disaster year he has had. He just showed that he can be dependable in under pressure especially in the recent T20 and ODI series in India.

Malik is still the best T20 player, and the same player who just won you 1st T20 against India not a long ago. He is not needed to stabilize today, so he decided to play risky shots. Let's move on, shall we? You guys are desperate to go after Malik whereas you guys should pick on Test players who have failed and surrendered a whitewashed series in favor of South Africa.

That's brilliant. BlackZero.

I guess Shoaib Malik is different man when it comes to India. Although, i do have the ODI series - Tour of South Africa 06. I don't know why people would think Shoaib Malik can't plan in green pitch. I was watching the extend highlight of that match, and from first to third pitch were flat track, and last two pitches were bowling friendly pitch where Malik has shown to be capable to bat in those pitches. There is a reason why he averages 50 in South Africa. He was out of form for the past three years since 2009. Who knows he will get back in form, and surprise us on the upcoming tour of Africa, Insha'Allaah! (i am not predicting)

I have been following Pakistan cricket for a very long time. Those bad-in form players are expected to be bad-in form until their times will come. Shoaib Malik time will come. His performance is not needed now, but after several players retirement, someone always step up. That's what i have noticed from the history of Pakistan. Allaah knows best. History will repeats itself. Who knows he will step up when the whole team fails? Witnessed that in the history of Pakistan cricket. Pakistan cricket is unpredictable for reasons.

Insha'Allaah, Shoaib Malik will not only perform in ODI/T20, but surprise us in the Test format in a way we can never imagine. I have witnessed many Pakistani sloggers become Test batsman overnight - of course, with years of experience. Never underestimate the Cricket, and certainly, not Pakistan Cricket. Shoaib Malik does perform with his bowling service, and his fielding is desperately needed after the poor fielding has been witnessed in WC Semi Final 2011 which has cost the match big time, and possibility of WC too, Allaah knows best.

And we still need his fielding department. Once, Shoaib Malik is in form, he will be providing his batting, his fielding, and his bowling effectively. That's big bonus for Pakistan if you ask me.

Pakistan needs him, and i hope he really comes back after the West Indies. I really am disappointed at PCB for continuous to overlook him. Despite of many alleged controversies Malik is linked with, and most of times, i have corrected here due to hatred of Malik that led to blind negative statements against Malik for no reason.

I am not surprised with the hatred of Malik strongly alive, and that is the guy from Karachi, witness the entire 'Hatred' reality in the whole Karachi. That is harshly fact, as people seriously considering the 'Murder' to him.

Read some of the gems from this thread by those two I mentioned.....

By the way, this insaaniyat guy is the same .... who last 100 or post are nothing but bashing Afridi for his non-performance! :))

Insaaniyat's posts look like he was being sarcastic. As for Mohsin, he seems to be a fanboy. :P