Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
We don't need Shoaib Malik.

We should create a team which can dominate on any pitch but there is another factor that Shoaib Malik would be completely useless in Australia.

*fast bowling pitches
*Imagine him facing the fast bowlers.

Yes and we dont need batsmen that can not dominate on flat tracks in the sub continent.
And Shoaib Malik is not that bad as you trying to make him look he can play any fast bowling easily.

Only if Shoaib Malik was selected in the World Cup the result would have been different against india.

Well he has been in the domestic cricket but the PCB still not selecting him so what can Malik do.

Shoaib Malik has an all round worth to the team. Being both a useful batsman and bowler, meant he contributed a lot for Pakistan in ODIs. That is perhaps how he is underrated. People look at him mostly as a batsman. He was a good all round package, excellent fielder, good batsman and handy with the ball. He was also very good playing to situation as well as upping strike rate when required. His weaknesses was his lack of success against fast bowlers on bouncy pitches. Which is why perhaps I don't think he'll ever succeed as a test batsman. ODIs though, he's a good player.

He started as a bowler and developed into a batsman from scratch. He was then moved around the order constantly. Both these things affected his batting average I feel. We saw an in form Malik was a very good player for us e.g. 2007, 2008.

He was not a good no.6 though. He was wasted at this position. What boggles me is why he was kept at this position despite having success in different positions higher up the order. Higher up his average was good. If he is to play in the team he has to play higher up. Umar Akmal is a far better no.6 than Malik is.

He played at any number for the team. Staggering, guys like Farhat make comebacks when you have Malik.

Missed him badly against India :(

Man he is a class player against spinners

if they are willing to give young guys a chance ahead of him, then I do not mind.

Anwaar sahab was not this tour suppose to be the rebirth of the greatest captain of all time?

people speaking of him playing in australia or green top.
the question is, who in pak team is capable enough to play on green top. or on fast pitches.

the other question is Oath taking thing. well , he was not alone. plenty of player did that. mainly , afridi was there. so why just him?

he has played exceptionally well in domestic since he is away from national side. so he surely deserve.

and for me, he was the best captain after inzi. remember 2007 disaster of our team and after 3 months, we were in final of worldcup.

He deserve more then anybody...

integrity committee...:)

his inclusion depends lot on how Pakistan performs in WC...

If Pakistan wins the WC, then naturally no place for him under Afridi/YK/Razzaq.

and if we lose in QF, then it would be bye bye to skipper afridi and Malik comes to lead the team with YK/Razzaq forced out of squad...

if pakistan reaches SF, then situation is non-clear..

Wow.... kya prediction thi yaar.

I'd bet you my house we would have won had Malik been playing instead of Misbah in the SF against India.

forget his backstage behaviour, he could have won the world cup for us if he was batting at 4 instead of younis khan or at 5 instead of misbah!

He's a better ODI batsman than Hafeez, Afridi, Younis, Razzaq

You have just shown that you dont know what youre talking about :malik

lol..Malik plays for one thing only Himself..his mere presence in teh dressing room would have made sure we would not have reached the qf's let alone the semi's..from threads already on teh forum its clear some players will still act like paindoos even when we're winning and malik would have proven to be the magnet of dissent as he previously has..sorry but your support for him shows me that you know as much about cricket as i do about fixing car engines..which is diddly squat by the way!

Malik is a useless batsman, mediocre spinner and our team has enough of these bits and pieces players..

At one time you could perhaps gave argued that he was decent on slow, spinning tracks but even that's an illusion.. For those who doubt me, watch him play against the kiwis in UAE and his ridiculous technique against kiwi's medium pacers!!

People have obviously forgotton his match saving Test Hundreds in SL:

147* as an Opener at Colombo.

134 at Number 6 at Colombo.

Still one of the best fielders in Pakistan. An ideal ODI player, good record with bat and ball. Decent Test record. Deserves another run to prove his worth.

lol..Malik plays for one thing only Himself..his mere presence in teh dressing room would have made sure we would not have reached the qf's let alone the semi's..from threads already on teh forum its clear some players will still act like paindoos even when we're winning and malik would have proven to be the magnet of dissent as he previously has..sorry but your support for him shows me that you know as much about cricket as i do about fixing car engines..which is diddly squat by the way!

Yeah there was great unity of the team during the WC without Malik :23:

Just dont make me bring out the batting averages :malik

He is a decent ODI player, nothing special and in hindsight I would have preferred him over YK at the WC. But having said that, he is still not a good enough player, and seems to involved in team politics, I wouldn't select him in the future, just an FTB and India basher.

Malik is a useless batsman, mediocre spinner and our team has enough of these bits and pieces players..

At one time you could perhaps gave argued that he was decent on slow, spinning tracks but even that's an illusion.. For those who doubt me, watch him play against the kiwis in UAE and his ridiculous technique against kiwi's medium pacers!!

Yeah only that performance should be used to judge him :facepalm:

Pakistan ODI batting stats since Oct 1st 2009.

Player Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s

Misbah-ul-Haq 16 13 2 523 93* 47.54 729 71.74 0 5 1 31 5

Fawad Alam 13 13 2 393 64 35.72 532 73.87 0 3 0 19 0

Imran Farhat 4 4 0 140 66 35.00 212 66.03 0 1 0 10 2

Mohammad Hafeez 24 24 2 751 115 34.13 970 77.42 1 4 1 91 5

Shahzaib Hasan 3 3 0 100 50 33.33 113 88.49 0 1 0 13 2

Umar Akmal 31 29 2 885 71 32.77 1091 81.11 0 6 2 64 12

Khalid Latif 4 4 0 128 64 32.00 186 68.81 0 1 1 11 0

Abdul Razzaq 28 25 8 534 109* 31.41 526 101.52 1 1 1 46 19

Kamran Akmal 31 29 2 847 89 31.37 1016 83.36 0 6 0 95 12

Asad Shafiq 16 15 1 420 78* 30.00 597 70.35 0 2 1 40 1

Imran Nazir 1 1 0 28 28 28.00 40 70.00 0 0 0 6 0

Salman Butt 10 10 0 266 74 26.60 351 75.78 0 3 4 36 0

Shahid Afridi 37 35 0 931 124 26.60 678 137.31 2 2 2 81 39

Ahmed Shehzad 10 10 1 232 115 25.77 273 84.98 1 0 1 30 5

Sohail Tanvir 5 3 1 50 30 25.00 54 92.59 0 0 0 9 0

Zulqarnain Haider 4 4 2 48 19* 24.00 68 70.58 0 0 0 3 0

Mohammad Yousuf 14 14 0 315 58 22.50 480 65.62 0 1 0 22

Younis Khan 29 27 1 570 73 21.92 927 61.48 0 4 4 30 0

Shoaib Malik 9 9 0 179 39 19.88 271 66.05 0 0 0 13 1

Pakistan ODI batting stats since Oct 1st 2009.

Player Mat Inns NO Runs HS Ave BF SR 100 50 0 4s 6s

Misbah-ul-Haq 16 13 2 523 93* 47.54 729 71.74 0 5 1 31 5

Fawad Alam 13 13 2 393 64 35.72 532 73.87 0 3 0 19 0

Imran Farhat 4 4 0 140 66 35.00 212 66.03 0 1 0 10 2

Mohammad Hafeez 24 24 2 751 115 34.13 970 77.42 1 4 1 91 5

Shahzaib Hasan 3 3 0 100 50 33.33 113 88.49 0 1 0 13 2

Umar Akmal 31 29 2 885 71 32.77 1091 81.11 0 6 2 64 12

Khalid Latif 4 4 0 128 64 32.00 186 68.81 0 1 1 11 0

Abdul Razzaq 28 25 8 534 109* 31.41 526 101.52 1 1 1 46 19

Kamran Akmal 31 29 2 847 89 31.37 1016 83.36 0 6 0 95 12

Asad Shafiq 16 15 1 420 78* 30.00 597 70.35 0 2 1 40 1

Imran Nazir 1 1 0 28 28 28.00 40 70.00 0 0 0 6 0

Salman Butt 10 10 0 266 74 26.60 351 75.78 0 3 4 36 0

Shahid Afridi 37 35 0 931 124 26.60 678 137.31 2 2 2 81 39

Ahmed Shehzad 10 10 1 232 115 25.77 273 84.98 1 0 1 30 5

Sohail Tanvir 5 3 1 50 30 25.00 54 92.59 0 0 0 9 0

Zulqarnain Haider 4 4 2 48 19* 24.00 68 70.58 0 0 0 3 0

Mohammad Yousuf 14 14 0 315 58 22.50 480 65.62 0 1 0 22

Younis Khan 29 27 1 570 73 21.92 927 61.48 0 4 4 30 0

Shoaib Malik 9 9 0 179 39 19.88 271 66.05 0 0 0 13 1

Whats so special about 'since 09'? What a biased post :)))

Lets talk about overall shall we

Malik- 34
Afridi-23
Hafeez-23
Kamran- 27
Younis- 32

Hafeez and Afridi just slightly better with the bowling, but there is a bigger margin in the differences in batting

:malik

Whats so special about 'since 09'? What a biased post :)))

Lets talk about overall shall we

Malik- 34
Afridi-23
Hafeez-23
Kamran- 27
Younis- 32

Hafeez and Afridi just slightly better with the bowling, but there is a bigger margin in the differences in batting

:malik
0ct 09 decline of our senior batsmen started.Afridi slightly better bowler?:))):)))

Yeah there was great unity of the team during the WC without Malik :23:

Just dont make me bring out the batting averages :malik

at least there wasnt a full blown mutiny like when Malik beta was around!

the "unity" was enough to get us to a semi final..if malik would have been there we would have lost to canada and kenya..

yes bring out the batting averages..indeed he trumps the aforementioned players but if you ask any respected cricket expert, and i dont mean Anwaar here, YK is a better player than Malik. As for Hafeez and Afridi, they are all orunders who can bowl a hundred times better and are real team men..

also give me his scores from his last 20 matches..my all means compare him to YK, but in this case stats dont tell the whole story.

any player with a 300 in a test match should be able to play ODI's..

Malik is history just deal with it and mvoe on..your life will be much better that way..

Yes after the CT 09 likes of malik YK and yousaf declined as odi players.over 50 games combined they average 20 odd.time to move on.

malik can not get back in the team this year at least , we have three tours . westindies ,zimbabwe and bangladesh and the players will perform in the three series and he won.t be called back. Probably malik's career is over and guys like asad shafiq , hammad azam , naved yasin will take him over.

Yes after the CT 09 likes of malik YK and yousaf declined as odi players.over 50 games combined they average 20 odd.time to move on.
Malik lost form. And was persisted with. Since he lost captaincy, he was plunged into a period of poor form.

He has regained that form as we can see through his domestic performances. Hence should have been recalled to the team.

He is still in prime fitness being 29. Still one of the fittest cricketers we have at the moment.

There is a difference of being past it, and out of form. Ridiculous to say Malik's past it considering his age, and the fact he's piling the runs in domestic too.

Form is temporary, class is permanent, as is the case with Shoaib. These should be his peak years as a cricketer.

As long as Afridi is captain of the ODI and T20 team, I cant see him returning to limited overs cricket.

At best, he could be recalled to the Test squad, which would be unfair on him because he's not a Test player imo, but I dont think he would complain too much :malik

What has Afridi's captaincy got to do with Malik's inclusion?

He's always played at any position for the team.

What has Afridi's captaincy got to do with Malik's inclusion?

He's always played at any position for the team.

Afridi has stated that he doesnt want Malik in the side because he disrupts team :quote:unity:quote:, but that was before World Cup, so I dont know whether he still thinks like this, probably does.

You must must have a player in the middle overs who can score against spinners.That is where I find Malik to be dangerous.I still remember him cutting and sweeping every ball for four against India in CT .We need to learn how to utilize different kinds of players.

So when he is in the team as a player he starts playing politics, creates grouping and back stabs the captain. When he is in the team as a captain he starts back stabbing the entire nation and the country by bowing to chunks of money earned by foul play, yet he has the majority support here and enjoys the poll lead. Goes a long way to show what kinda voting majority do we have and what kinda folks it supports, no wonder Zardari is our elected president, fairly and squarely.

He knows how to rotate the strike, find the gaps and is a quick runner.

That's nothing man !! He even knows how to make a quick a 90,000 pounds sterling by simply tossing the ball to Imran Nazir to bowl the final over.

So when he is in the team as a player he starts playing politics, creates grouping and back stabs the captain. When he is in the team as a captain he starts back stabbing the entire nation and the country by bowing to chunks of money earned by foul play, yet he has the majority support here and enjoys the poll lead. Goes a long way to show what kinda voting majority do we have and what kinda folks it supports, no wonder Zardari is our elected president, fairly and squarely.

Again, no one knows how much truth there is in that. It is easy to make assumptions. You clap with both hands.

Very true. If it was a more popular player this had been said about nobody would've batted an eye. Rumours are rumours, innit. Unfortunately the public likes to feel enraged about whatever

(Not, mind, that I liked Malik's captaincy. He was a good allrounder but the selections and some of the decisions were really frustrating)

Very true. If it was a more popular player this had been said about nobody would've batted an eye. Rumours are rumours, innit. Unfortunately the public likes to feel enraged about whatever

(Not, mind, that I liked Malik's captaincy. He was a good allrounder but the selections and some of the decisions were really frustrating)

Yes. Tbh, he didn't handle the captaincy very well. Should have really made the armband his own.

Doubt we'll see him in the very near future, unless injuries come to haunt the batsmen.

Pakistan needs him, and i hope he really comes back after the West Indies. I really am disappointed at PCB for continuous to overlook him. Despite of many alleged controversies Malik is linked with, and most of times, i have corrected here due to hatred of Malik that led to blind negative statements against Malik for no reason. Out of the team, he is only one who has suffered the most especially how he was treated, forced to resign, yet some players like Yousuf continued to humiliate by giving public statement....etc. He was totally shattered, and the same team that undermine his captaincy, has ended up doing the same under Younus captaincy. Finally, Younus realizes the truth about Malik, and he was very sympathy about Malik situation after Malik has exposed the oath taking against Younus which surprisingly is fact that people still continue to ignore that fact.

After what he went through, his form was totally gone. Thank God, he was in form at the right time, but PCB mind didn't sync to rational at the right time sadly.

Khair hai, we still have to focus WC T20. Better bring Malik back. Never ever select Misbah and Younus.

Another day, another time to support Malik.

Hey guys, I cant remember Malik begging infront of the Indians and making the whole nation look desperate :23:

Yeah only that performance should be used to judge him :facepalm:

Do you believe only what you want to or are you capable of actually reading something and taking it for what it is.

That performance in UAE was to highlight the fact that he is no longer good even on slower surfaces, I.e. Kiwi's medium pacers were making him look like he was playing against the great windies quartert of the 70's on a fast a furious perth wicket.

Then we had the test series in England where pretty much everyone failed HOWEVER only one batsman was made to look like a scared rabit caught in front of the headlights and yes that was your very own Malik!

I just dont understand how such a mediocre batsman, check his test match average, can get so much support over another player who is now universally regarded as a top test batsman but an average ODI player, and yet this person only averages 2 runs per innings more????

Lets not also forget that during his captaincy he played a large number of games against minnows which boosted his average and ofcourse bowled himself against the weaker teams to add to his wicket column, yet under someone else he purportedly refused to open the batting or bat at number three and ofcourse hardly bowled an over in either test matches or odi's!

Then we had the test series in England where pretty much everyone failed HOWEVER only one batsman was made to look like a scared rabit caught in front of the headlights and yes that was your very own Malik!
Extremely unfair. And generally incorrect.

Malik was shafted unnecessarily on that tour. If memory serves, he handled the pace and swing and bounce of the English bowlers better than most, bar one Test match (the 2nd of the series, if I'm not mistaken.)

Extremely unfair. And generally incorrect.

Malik was shafted unnecessarily on that tour. If memory serves, he handled the pace and swing and bounce of the English bowlers better than most, bar one Test match (the 2nd of the series, if I'm not mistaken.)

Well the memory of that match where he just refused to get in line is still haunting me!

Besides, we have to move on from mediocre players and start blooding the youngsters now! We have 4 years to get our act together and I see absolutely no need to have a player like Malik in the team!

If he was an Inzy or a Moyo, and he was prepared to guide the youngsters then fine. Sadly he is neither of them and his rumoured aloofness is exactly what is not required at this present time!

Pak cricket has a fantastic opportunity to start afresh. Maybe not in the way desired, but an opportunity nevertheless.

The likes of Malik are the past. He is not for the future. We have pretty much got rid of the disruptive forces in the team, picking Malik again is a mistake.

Pak cricket needs zero tolerance to disruptive/dysfunctional/non performing/poor attitude players.