Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
yes because sometimes (and this is not often) some people need a slap to get them back to reality! and on internet forums sarcasm works as well!!

now please stop posting rubbish and move along!!

well what ur posting is nothing short of rubbish too! ur just bashing ppl! thats wrose. ur in no position to tell whats rubbish and whats not. maybe u should ignore this thread =]

Ok, not great form. He has produced in the past though. Better option than Hafeez (Avg = 22).

Imran Nazir, Khurram Manzoor, Fawad Alam, Nasir Jamshed, Imran Farhat and Tafeeq Umar have also produced in the past.

Plus you want Malik to replace Hafeez who is an opener. Malik chicked out and did not want to open.

Imran Nazir, Khurram Manzoor, Fawad Alam, Nasir Jamshed, Imran Farhat and Tafeeq Umar have also produced in the past.

Plus you want Malik to replace Hafeez who is an opener. Malik chicked out and did not want to open.

The guys you mentioned have played much fewer games than him, they can't bowl like Malik.

Didn't Malik say he'll play in any position? He's opened before. Hafeez is also a make shift opener.

Good that you started to delete your mistakes...

My mistakes? How? Was I batting in place on Malik? If was, would have certainly done better than an average of 17 in 28 innings!

The guys you mentioned have played much fewer games than him, they can't bowl like Malik.

Didn't Malik say he'll play in any position? He's opened before. Hafeez is also a make shift opener.

Do we need another part time bowler?

I don't understand why people seem to think Malik is some sort of bandaid fix to our batting and bowling woes. A very average player who can bully India's medium pacers on a flat track and nothing more.

He's not quite a batsmen, not quite a bowler. All this equates to is another passenger we've had in our team for far too long. I'm glad he's gone and I hope not to see him return. You don't average 30 in both formats for no good reason.

SS knows the context so he would get the message!
I know... the message was for SS... but you should be the last person talking about tazaad! I was trying to figure out if you are pot or the kettle?

on a side note: Malik got better stats than AS as an opener...Better than Hanif Muhammad.

Yes, and your same twisted logic, Taslim Arif got much better stats as an opener than Malik;

I know... the message was for SS... but you should be the last person talking about tazaad! I was trying to figure out if you are pot or the kettle?

Yes, and your same twisted logic, Taslim Arif got much better stats as an opener than Malik;

Yes

Taslim Arif
Saeed Anwar
Malik

and later comes

Hanif
AS
Shoaib Muhammad
and Ijaz Butt

By the way, deep dive analysis is also provided in this thread...inning by inning comparison with other openers who played in "those" matches ...

Yes

Taslim Arif
Saeed Anwar
Malik

and later comes

Hanif
AS
Shoaib Muhammad
and Ijaz Butt
Any blind person can see malik average better than Hanif.... but I hope you don't mean that malik is BETTER batsman than Hanif. Do you?

By the way, deep dive analysis is also provided in this thread...inning by inning comparison with other openers who played in "those" matches ...
Did this analysis included:

#Hanif batted on matting wickets for most his early tests...where as Malik batted on 500+ flat tracks?

#Hanif faced bowlers like Hall without helmets where as Malik faced bowlers like Balaji and Irfan Pathan with a helmet?

#Wickets were never covered during rain and overnight when Hanif batted where asduring Malik's day the wickets with fully covered and without a single leaf of grass on it.

....if your analysis did not include that ... then it would be nothing more than mere waste of time.

so it was emclub, i thought "zameer"

Don't humble me Awaar bhai.... after God distributed all the Zameer to Malik, Firdous Baji, PM's son and you...... nothing was left for sinful people like us! ;-)

Any blind person can see malik average better than Hanif.... but I hope you don't mean that malik is BETTER batsman than Hanif. Do you?

Did this analysis included:

#Hanif batted on matting wickets for most his early tests...where as Malik batted on 500+ flat tracks?

#Hanif faced bowlers like Hall without helmets where as Malik faced bowlers like Balaji and Irfan Pathan with a helmet?

#Wickets were never covered during rain and overnight when Hanif batted where asduring Malik's day the wickets with fully covered and without a single leaf of grass on it.

....if your analysis did not include that ... then it would be nothing more than mere waste of time.

Yes

As I said you haven't read the complete analysis....Malik outscored the other 3 openers most of the times...in matches he played as an opener.

Malik has not been trained as a specialized opener, he was pushed in to that position and he performed ok. With time he would have been improved.

average of openers in Hanif's era was somewhat similar (also mentioned in this thread) so no point in discussing covering wkts etc.

AS struggled (or not challenged enough) against other sides.
SM has better record against SA and SL

but average of 36 is still not equal to 50, right.

Against SA he did struggle but WI and Aus were the best bowling attacks.Malik did not open enough to compare.

AS struggled (or not challenged enough) against other sides.
SM has better record against SA and SL

but average of 36 is still not equal to 50, right.

For an opener its top notch.If maik averages 40 over 30 tests opening I will convert.

Against SA he did struggle but WI and Aus were the best bowling attacks.Malik did not open enough to compare.

But still he never had an average of 50 or even 44 (as per your conversion rate:)

so back to original point "Kya yeh Khula Tazad nehi?"

For an opener its top notch.If maik averages 40 over 30 tests opening I will convert.

SM played 7 and average almost 43...
AS's average for first 7 tests...40.25

anyway...as I said after 58 tests Malik will average around 45 (God-willing)

Since you asked me why I deleted my posts... would you tell me why you changed your user name?

Speaking of Zameer, how does your zameer (if you have any) would let you say that Malik was a better batsman than Hanif who is in CRICKET HALL OF FAME...... unless you are Malik's mother. I think, he dad may have been a little more unbias than you are.

The day Malik is admitted to Hall of Fame, I'll stop watching cricket.

As I said you haven't read the complete analysis....Malik outscored the other 3 openers most of the times...in matches he played as an opener.
I'll read it when I am done puking after reading your comment that "malik is better batsman that Hanif"!

Malik has not been trained as a specialized opener, he was pushed in to that position and he performed ok.
Big freaking deal..... Fawad alam was never an opener. Majid Khan was never an opener. Mohsin Khan and Aamir Sohail were not openers. Who gets "trained" as an opener in pakistan and how?

With time he would have been improved.
...and you also know "ghaib ka ilm" and can predict the future? Then I am sure, you did predict him carrying tennis kit bags while the team played World Cup?

average of openers in Hanif's era was somewhat similar (also mentioned in this thread) so no point in discussing covering wkts etc.

Why not?

What about Hall and Balaji point? No point in discussing that either ..huh?

wait so now mr mirza is better than hanif and imran?

actually i think he's better than Lara too..or maybe Bradman himself?

The day Malik is admitted to Hall of Fame, I'll stop watching cricket.

Which might be the day Anwaar/Black Zero starts watching it, then just looking at stats ;).

Nah just kidding Anwaar.

I've always thought Malik should have tried as an opener. If he couldn't get no.3. Dunno why he didn't do it. He should have made it public he wanted to play as an opener. Yet he didn't.

At no.6, where he mostly plays, umar akmal has far outperformed him. He averages about 10 more in that position than Malik. If Malik was going to play at 6, there shouldn't even be a discussion about him at all anyway.

At no.6, where he mostly plays, umar akmal has far outperformed him. He averages about 10 more in that position than Malik. If Malik was going to play at 6, there shouldn't even be a discussion him at all anyway.

If Umar Akmal is better than Malik.... then that would make Umar Akmal better than Hanif Mohammad and Imran Khan!

Wow... Next Hall-of-Famer .... Umar Akmal!

for those talking about how Malik should be tried as this and that, he doesnt want to. He wants to play where he wants to play because he is a shehzada who thinks he's better than the rest! and according to anwaar sahib he's better than Imran and hanif put together..!!

That was one match. There's plenty of times he succeeded as an opener. He never really stayed as an opener, even scoring big. He should have consistently opened for a long stretch. In my opinion batting at no.3 or opening for a player like Malik isn't really that big of a difference. If the no.3 place wasn't available, he should have opened.

Can you really trust Malik opening,facing the new ball against the likes of Dale Steyn ? I remember Kulasekera and Thushara causing him all sorts of problems in the 2009 tour.

That was one match. There's plenty of times he succeeded as an opener. He never really stayed as an opener, even scoring big. He should have consistently opened for a long stretch. In my opinion batting at no.3 or opening for a player like Malik isn't really that big of a difference. If the no.3 place wasn't available, he should have opened.

he refused to play in those positions repeatedly..did he play there when he was all powerful cuptaan? no..what makes you think he would otherwise? wake up.

erm.
Well I said he should have demanded to play as an opener. And that he prefers to play lower down instead.

He will play at other positions it seems if he is required to. He did this is the last few matches. He will not put himself there himself nor say performing up the order is his preference either.

You should have read the previous post in which Markhor quoted.

Can you really trust Malik opening,facing the new ball against the likes of Dale Steyn ? I remember Kulasekera and Thushara causing him all sorts of problems in the 2009 tour.

get your homework on this issue and then i'll tell you the truth...ok?

anyway, here is the proof:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3081776&postcount=1136

another one...looks like I have already addresses all issues about Malik:

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=3083380&postcount=1148

It means he mostly throws his wicket away for an easy catch due to a momentary lapse of concentration?

If he is vulnerable to out-swing then he must be a candidate of caught-behind :yasir
and if to in-swing, then bowled/LB

If he is vulnerable to out-swing then he must be a candidate of caught-behind :yasir
and if to in-swing, then bowled/LB
Suppose that makes sense I guess.

I haven't really noticed a weakness with the new ball with Malik really. He's better against spin than pace, but he's still pretty decent against pace.

He's still a much better limited overs players than test. I'd have him in my ODI squad for sure.

On Wednesday will we really miss Shoaib Malik. He was part of the YK/Afridi/Razzaq circle and must be heartbroken having to watch from the stands rather than be out there playing.

Let's hope he returns after Pak win the WC.

He was also a part of the circle that worked against YK, and would probably have worked against Afridi. Not needed. Why not cry for Butt back too?

I hope that his runs will not be missed on Wednesday. Are you expecting us to lose fireworks?

You can't compare Butt with Malik. That's outrageous.

These were all rumours about him against YK, etc. I hope we win, don't we all?

On Wednesday will we really miss Shoaib Malik..

I miss Anwaar Bhai more than Malik.... I don't know when he is going to come out of his mourning period of Pakistan/Afridi's successes in this WC..... may be if we lose to India.

It was more then rumours, everyone from Afridi to Inti named Malik as a negative force in the team. Guys like him are unnecessary and not needed. We play India once a year at most anyways, no need for his rubbish batting for the other 364 days.

No, I'm saying he has a good record against India but he's not in the squad and people need to move on.

lol, W has some stats on his discarding actually :)

But are they as good as Anwaar Bhai's stats PROVING that Malik was better captain than Imran and better opening batsman than Hanif? ;-)

Hopefully Misbah and Younis get axed from the ODI team, and Malik gets the recall :malik

do not give a toss about the stats and whether he can play on green wickets.

bring Malik back NOW.

If he were in the side we would never have got this far..we must be strong and keep this side together and add some new players while waving goodbye to misbah and Kami in odi's..Malik is history a poor player and termite who is irrelevant to our success ad a team!!

No need to recycle the same old rubbish.Fresh faces please.Asad and Umar looked our best and most fluent batsmen today and more new blood needs to be introduced.

bring Malik back NOW

We made the same mistake with YK.Stats dont lie.Malik has been pathetic since CT knock against India and we need to move forward.

bring Malik back NOW.

Bring Malik back. If not a single batsmen of Pakistan team can survive against mediocre bowling attack. Then, we are in real trouble.

Malik will be back, and YK should retire from ODI that performance was a disgrace.

Atleast Younis got fed up and threw his wicket away, Misbah just occupied the crease with no interest in chasing the target :boycott

No need to recycle the same old rubbish.Fresh faces please.Asad and Umar looked our best and most fluent batsmen today and more new blood needs to be introduced.

We made the same mistake with YK.Stats dont lie.Malik has been pathetic since CT knock against India and we need to move forward.

Malik is an ODI specialist, whilst for YK it was always a chore.

Asad and Umar have found their niche in the team, but you need someone to be the backbone.

and Malik is the man for that, he has exactly what it takes and should be our number 4.