Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
im old..and my maths sucks so someone slow down and explain this formula shula stuff slowly..why divide by 2??

@BZ u claim Malik plays according to situation

Then u should have no problems accepting this formula

meaning Malik will score High number of runs IF played at 1-3 Spot

Malik will have a very high SR IF played at 4-6 Spot

Ur call Bro? Not doubting Malik now are u?

If Malik bats at 6 and has average of 30+ SR of 90= 120/2 = 60

Hafeez average of 40+ SR of 75= 115=57.5
Sounds fair.

the problem with that is if Malik comes in and there are 6 or 10 overs left and he smashes a quickfire 30 or 40 while hafeez has to get through a testing period when his opening partner has gone and try and rebuild...etc..

but I see where your coming from now..(dekha damagh thora slow hay aap jawaan logoan say)

I get the feeling BZ is gonna weasel his way out of this one aswell

1/2 67.4
3 68.27
4 71.43
5 68.09
6 64.65
7 58.99

Deal is for Top 6 so u can forget the 7th Spot
6th Spot is well in reason of 1/2 Spot

Lol. its a simple formula (average * strikerate) /2. Take eng vs Ind series for example. Here is what England batsman did, notice how Trott remains on top despite of his low strike rate but better average. But Samit Patel overtakes Peitersen because of the strike rate.

here is what data says:

3 1164.127
4 1274.70

6 1127.44

so it's not a fair formula.

How is it same?

show us, please?

Batsman A :
Average = 40
SR = 80

Batsman B :
Average = 30
SR = 110

Formula 1 = Average + SR

Batsman A = 120
Batsman B = 140 (14.28% Higher)

Formula 2 = (Average + SR)/2

Batsman A = 60
Batsman B = 70 (14.28% Higher)

Hence Its the same Damn thing

here is what data says:

3 1164.127
4 1274.70

6 1127.44

so it's not a fair formula.

where have you got those numbers from? just see if the formula is fair from the example provided by VTEC. Why are you complicating a simple formula? :murali

Batsman A :
Average = 40
SR = 80

Batsman B :
Average = 30
SR = 110

Formula 1 = Average + SR

Batsman A = 120
Batsman B = 140 (14.28% Higher)

Formula 2 = (Average + SR)/2

Batsman A = 60
Batsman B = 70 (14.28% Higher)

Hence Its the same Damn thing

thanks for showing by inserting some numbers (taken from air) and applying formula...

but

i wanted him to prove that it's not flawed.

see the table in this post, the factor is divided by 2

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4296608&postcount=3857

Even if you dont divide by two, the ranking will remain the same. See for yourself

your formula rely on multiplication, and if we divide the product by 2 then it wont effect the ranking...but ss's formula based on addition and dividing sr only by 2 would effect ranking.

advice: showing one series is not a proof...could be an indicator only.

thanks for showing by inserting some numbers (taken from air) and applying formula...

but

i wanted him to prove that it's not flawed.

Its an example

Simply Means Dividing by 2 doesnt effect the Difference between A and B in terms of Percentage

Just choose a Formula u like and accept the bet -.-

Malik WILL NOT Play in the Top 3

He will either play 5 or 6

With both Razaq and Afridi in the squad, perhaps a better wager would be whether Malik even gets a game in this series??

What is this? Do we really need stats to prove malik is useless?
No... we are trying to invent a formula that will make BZ to say that Malik is useless. I think, he knows & believes... Malik is useless, he is just shy to admit it!

The rate of scoring has changed completely since the advent of T20, I'm sure you'll agree so include matches since 2007 only. You'll be surprised to see the figures now, no.3 has the lowest factor among top 5 positions :23:

#6 still much lower than others (esp compared to #4)

Its an example

Simply Means Dividing by 2 doesnt effect the Difference between A and B in terms of Percentage

(A+B)/2 is a different formula than A+B/2 and in later case it would effect the ranking.

but from SS;s example, i think he meant (A+B)/2 while he wrote A+B/2

#6 still much lower than others (esp compared to #4)

no.6 is already ignored, you said if he is batting at 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5?

I just mentioned it to put things in perspective. The point is, it hardly makes any difference when both strike rate and Average is considered.

(A+B)/2 is a different formula than A+B/2 and in later case it would effect the ranking.

but from SS;s example, i think he meant (A+B)/2 while he wrote A+B/2

Ur Right he meant (A+B) /2

So its now ur call as Farazaidi has agreed to ignore the 6th Spot which u had a problem with

no.6 is already ignored, you said if he is batting at 1 or 2 or 3 or 4 or 5?

I just mentioned it to put things in perspective. The point is, it hardly makes any difference when both strike rate and Average is considered.

but WL wanted to consider top 7 players...in his proposal..

i wanted simple...if he bats in top 5 then he would make 50 40% of times of completed innings.

^what if he scores an undefeated 100? will that not count? :P

surely that cannot be considered a completed innings.

^what if he scores an undefeated 100? will that not count? :P

surely that cannot be considered a completed innings.

100 will count as a 50 scored but inning would not be counted as it's not completed.

5 completed innings * .4 = > 2 x 50s
4 completed innings * .4 = > 1 x 50s
3 completed innings * .4 = > 1 x 50
2 completed innings * .4 = > 0 x 50
1 completed innings * .4= > 0 x 50

ill wait till the brain boxes on ehre figure this one out then tell you where I stand..damagh main durd ho gaya hay!

#6 is not into 5, fyi.
what ..... ???? #6 not into 5? You are being you again.

Why don't you and fara agree on something and propose?

OK... Fara.... I'll let's you decide .....

You come up with any codition that involves S/R and averages.... multiply, divide, rank,etc.... get BZ to agree on.

I'll only give my input on where Malik should be in those Ave/SR ranking.

I'll be quite until you/BZ come up with the formula.

Most welcome Ayub Sahib.

I am happy that you taking good class of WL! And he could not answer you.
Thanks again for joining this thread.

first my name is shahzeb and 2nd thank you i wanted to talk to w6 but he is not ready soon i will shut him

what ..... ???? #6 not into 5? You are being you again.

OK... Fara.... I'll let's you decide .....

You come up with any codition that involves S/R and averages.... multiply, divide, rank,etc.... get BZ to agree on.

I'll only give my input on where Malik should be in those Ave/SR ranking.

I'll be quite until you/BZ come up with the formula.

hey, its Faraz :)

the problem is that the bet implicates you because of what BZ wants out of it. Ref.

"W63 has to create a thread praising Shoaib Malik and use statistics to prove that Malik is the best thing that ever happened to Pakistan (I'm sure you can help W63 with that). And all of us "haters" will provide supporting "bravos" and 'wah wah' to that thread and nominate it for the post of the week."

so I'd prefer you to make the final call on it.

I'm leaning more towards 40% thingi, requires much less calculation

Most welcome Ayub Sahib.

I am happy that you taking good class of WL!
Where? Keep nagging for attention is same as "taking class"? :)

And he could not answer you.
I have to understand his posts to answer them.. don't I?

Thanks again for joining this thread.
Yes, I know... if I was you, I'd feeling lonely before he came along.

Now that you have company.... same likes (Malik), same dislikes (everybody on PP - except a few Malik-lovers), same age (?), same intellect ... :P

khoob guzray gi jo mil baithain gey dewaanay du! ;-)

hey, its Faraz :)
Sorry.. :) BZ said Fara .. I just blindly copied him!

the problem is that the bet implicates you because of what BZ wants out of it. Ref.
Fine... but I have agree to the bet. I'll do what he wants me to do if YOU (or we) lose the bet... but I don't want him to wiggle out of his vague statements. That is why I proposed ave/SR scenario.

Another thing.. I want is... that the bet is deceive. If Malik plays... (I don't care how many matches he plays and at what position).... one of us win or loses the bet. There better not be tie.

so I'd prefer you to make the final call on it.

I'm leaning more towards 40% thingi, requires much less calculation

Can you please clearly state this 40% thingi?

But if you are afraid of calculations, I'll do the calculations.

By less calculations, I mean its simpler and for everyone to understand.

I would propose this

If Malik plays 70+ balls, he would make 50 in 40% of those innings

Now it doesnt matter where he bats, or whether he goes not-out. 70 balls are more than enough for this Bradman to get to his 50 in this day and age. Its only 71% SR. :manzoor

Dont worry about tie, even if Malik plays only 1 innings in the said criteria, he'll either score 50 (100%) or wont score 50 (0%)

What say?

Faraz don't you think facing 70 ball is a big ask for Malik?

Welcome to ODI cricket,land of talentless wonders and sloggers.

By less calculations, I mean its simpler and for everyone to understand.

I would propose this

If Malik plays 70+ balls, he would make 50 in 40% of those innings

Now it doesnt matter where he bats, or whether he goes not-out. 70 balls are more than enough for this Bradman to get to his 50 in this day and age. Its only 71% SR. :manzoor

Dont worry about tie, even if Malik plays only 1 innings in the said criteria, he'll either score 50 (100%) or wont score 50 (0%)

What say?

I still don't understand
So... let's say he does this... who wins each line?
Code:
Pos	Score	Balls	S/R	Who wins (BZ or US)
3	49	72	68.06	
3	51	69	73.91	
3	49*	71	69.01	
3	100*	100	100.00	
6	60	90	66.67

Also why S/R of 71?

This year 366 50+ scores have been scored in ODIs....
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...an;template=results;type=batting;view=innings

Only 60 of them have S/R of 71.43 or below;
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...an;template=results;type=batting;view=innings

This is even low by Malik Standard..... only 4 out of 38 of his scores of 50+ are below a S/R of 71.43.

What are you up to? Are you trying to trick me ....?? looks like you are a Malik fan in disguise! :P

obviously that will also include the innings where he gets out before facing 70 balls :D I included it to eliminate the stipulation about batting at 5 or 6 and that completed innings thing.

OK yaar lets shove it, this is way too twisted for anybody's liking

I think, you are right. I agree

But here are the choices BZ refused and danced around.... becuase he knows how pathetic Malik is...and there is no way Malik will be in top 3 in either of the choices below.

BZ claimed that these choices are unfair. Well, little does he know that these choices are the SAME to all the players. They are not specially created for Malik.

1. At the end of the series, we'll list batmen who batted at postion 1-7
. We'll sort lists by Average and S/R;
If Malik is in top three positions on both categories, BZ wins.

The qualification is:
a) We only list the batsmen where batted at positions 1-7 (or 1-6).
b) We only list the batsmen where batsmen played 3 or more innings.
c) We only list the batsmen where batsmen minimum 100 balls.

2. Your offer in this post:
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4296608&postcount=3857

If Malik is in top three positions, BZ wins. Again... the qualification is:
a) We only list the batsmen where batted at positions 1-7.
b) We only list the batsmen where batsmen played 3 or more innings.
c) We only list the batsmen where batsmen minimum 100 balls.

I'll listed above choice so that after the series .. we can see how low Malik was on both lists. :))

Fair List but im willing to bet BZ will again weasel out of it

He is already weaseled out.

I just listed the two choices... so that we can refer to them after the series.

Third choice I gave him in Zimbabwe series was that he picks Malik the captain of his fantasy team and I don't ... then let's see who win the Fantasy competition..... he chickened out then also.

This thread should be stickied.

Best thread ever on PP. Keep it coming BZ:snack:

Dont worry i wvet everyone us tail sirf zameen se niklta hai kuch akal se kaam lo kabhi mind be use kar liyaa karo

BZ ....see who is oozing with confidence!!! :))

1101373807-1.jpg