Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
At least Umer AKmal didn't waste 22 deliveries, Malik's inning of 2 of 22 balls totally killed any momentum we had

Also both players are in two different situations. Umar is in pretty good form and is used to the conditions. Malik, on the other hand, isnt use to the conditions, is in his first match and out of form. So why are we surprised that he was taking too many deliveries.

Havent we have seen this done by so many Pakistani batsmen in the past?

But when Malik does it uska character dheela hai :P

Top analysis

Rubbish!!

A top analysis would be how, and as everyone has been saying, Malik looked like a complete donkey against Fernando's pace... On a slow wicket his technique looked all at sea against a bit of pace!

Out of the top 6 in our line-up he is the one player who looks rubbish against any pace... This is not new, not something that just developed today, it's been this way since he was exposed badly in the UAE against the Kiwi trundlers!

I would go further, I don't know any top 6 batsmen in the world who looks so pathetically bad against medium pave bowling!!

Of course, you think it is a top analysis. In half of his post above, he is talking about you and singing your praises.

He must have been talking about this .....

So there is something wrong with a Malik fan for posting alot on threads involving Malik? :manzoor

Im pretty sure it is sad if you actually dont like someone and still make them the centre of your life ;-)

So he fails on his first game of the series and therefore he is undeserving. Arent you a fan of Umar Akmal? He also made 2 runs and got out to the same ball. This is despite playing for the entire series and being accustomed to the conditions. What was his reason for failing?

Oh but he made 91 in the 2nd match so its ok :facepalm:

P.S- Im gloating about his connections for those who hate him for non-cricket reasons. So it shouldnt bother anyone who doesnt literally root for him to fail. But by looking at your posts earlier today and the fact that you brought up this point makes me think that you also belong in that criteria ;-)

One Game? Time and Time again ppl r telling u to look at this recent performances

U bring in Umar Akmal? Wanna Compare SM vs UA regards to Batting Average and Runs Scored?

Shoaib Malik averages in Mid 20s for 3 Years now how long is the bad form gonna Last?

1 Match vs Zimbabwe was an excuse id accept
2 Match vs Zimbabwe is pushing it but still lets leave it
3 Matches vs Zimbabwe? Seriously?

They bought in Asad Shafiq out of the Blue in Zimbabwe and he scored 50

So one entire series is not enough for Malik to get back into the Game? He was expected to Perform today and he Failed

How many more chances does he need?

Again Bad Luck happens in Cricket
But Bad Luck for 30 Innings straight? -.-

Dunno what criteria ur talking about but i hate Purchi and Source which has crippled this great nation severely

U bring in Umar Akmal? Wanna Compare SM vs UA regards to Batting Average and Runs Scored?

So we dont judge players on a game to game basis? Its ok for him to get out for two runs? Yeah Umar has a better average than Malik. A difference of 3 runs. One is a natural batsman and the other is a bowler turned batsman. Congratulations Umar :bow:

Shoaib Malik averages in Mid 20s for 3 Years now how long is the bad form gonna Last?

1 Match vs Zimbabwe was an excuse id accept
2 Match vs Zimbabwe is pushing it but still lets leave it
3 Matches vs Zimbabwe? Seriously?

They bought in Asad Shafiq out of the Blue in Zimbabwe and he scored 50

So one entire series is not enough for Malik to get back into the Game? He was expected to Perform today and he Failed

How many more chances does he need?

Again Bad Luck happens in Cricket
But Bad Luck for 30 Innings straight? -.-

Dunno what criteria ur talking about but i hate Purchi and Source which has crippled this great nation severely

Malik hasnt been playing consistent cricket before the Zimbabwe series. He was out of the side for over a year. He returned as an out of form batsman against Zimbabwe and he failed.

Shafiq scored a 50 but surely he had been playing more cricket than Malik despite being in and out of the team. Im not defending his performances against Zimbabwe but this series is completely distinct.

People bring up his performances before he was dropped from the side to make a case for their point of view, so they are trying to imply that his overall career average doesnt matter. Its his recent performances that should be looked at.

Well why not take it to the next step and only look at Malik after his return. He hasnt been given a good run of 3 games since his comeback. I dont count 3 games as a good run.

As u have claimed hes not gonna be dropped so we will have a decent pool of matches to judge his performance after a couple of series

He really has lost it. He should really work hard and try to come back because he still is young and can play for atleast another 5 years or so.

But he should first try to find some form in domestic cricket.

So we dont judge players on a game to game basis? Its ok for him to get out for two runs? Yeah Umar has a better average than Malik. A difference of 3 runs. One is a natural batsman and the other is a bowler turned batsman. Congratulations Umar :bow:

Malik hasnt been playing consistent cricket before the Zimbabwe series. He was out of the side for over a year. He returned as an out of form batsman against Zimbabwe and he failed.

Shafiq scored a 50 but surely he had been playing more cricket than Malik despite being in and out of the team. Im not defending his performances against Zimbabwe but this series is completely distinct.

People bring up his performances before he was dropped from the side to make a case for their point of view, so they are trying to imply that his overall career average doesnt matter. Its his recent performances that should be looked at.

Well why not take it to the next step and only look at Malik after his return. He hasnt been given a good run of 3 games since his comeback. I dont count 3 games as a good run.

ok lets do that since thats what most of us have been doing for God knows how long..tell me what he's done in his last 4 innings..

You didnt understand. When I said "Its his recent performances that should be looked at" I meant thats what his critics say :kapil

Just last 4 innings???

His last 8 innings have been ....

9, 3, 3, 2, 14, 7, 11, 2 = 51 runs in last 8 innings @ ave of 6.37.

How about 33 innings and counting?

Whats the point dude of giving my opinion on his performance. My opinion is not gonna change the fact that people actually root for him to fail.

If I say Umar also made 2 runs and got out to literally to the same ball, they would say that Umar performed in the second game (even though you judge players on a game to game basis) or if I say the whole batting failed apart from Afridi, they might say that well the other batsman made 10 runs more than him like that matters

The fact that this was his first match of the series doesnt change anything for these people.

Now alot of people have a strong dislike for Malik for backstage politics, for example (non- cricket reasons), so why cant I bring up his connections to keep the haters in check ;-)

So in conclusion, to all the Malik haters: Keep on thinking that your opinion on a forums site has any bearing in real life :P. Malik will be around no matter how he performs :malik

To the statsman of this thread, I wanna see statistics of your posts to see what percentage of your posts involve Malik. Must be a hilarious figure for someone who hates him.

So basically you have made him more of a focal point in your life than his fans :60:

EDIT- Just seen you that you have devoted another thread to Malik

You must be really

The problem I had with his innings was not that he scored 2 off 20 odd balls but the manner in which he did so. Even if you look at Misbahs tuk tuk, he looks in control - boring yes, not what the team needs yes but in control.

To be honest, Malik looked like a tailender. As a comparison if you looked at Ajmal, he looked like a better batsmen than Malik.

Blind adoration/hate is not what this should be all about, it should be about putting the best 11 on the field. Based on what I have seen of Malik through his career, I am afraid he does not feature in the best 11 by a long shot. One or two innings worth of note in 20 odd ODIs, if that, are not good enough at this level

Oh well. Does it really matter?

:malik is going to Bangladesh. Watch him score fifties against the mighty Bangladesh and retain his place in the squad for the next series. :po: :po:

You didnt understand. When I said "Its his recent performances that should be looked at" I meant thats what his critics say :kapil

oh acha..chulo..so you think a player should be given umpteen chances based on a performance he had three or four years ago? how is that fair? is it fair to our younger players? is it fair to players who are more consistent?

explain to me why you think he deserves to play in our side. I just want to understand why your so blindly supporting him.

I used to support him as a player during the woolmer era as he looked a good propect for us and was showing some good performances. but those have decline and he is no longer producing the goods. Hence he should make way for others. the equation is pretty straight forward.

I can't understand what hes done to retain his place for Bangladesh ODIs?

The reasons why Malik has been retained is purely political.

PCB and Zaka Ashraf will want to remain in the good books of the politicians (or Firdous Ashiq Awan) by retaining him.

The idea that Malik is in the squad on merit is laughable.

The reasons why Malik has been retained is purely political.

PCB and Zaka Ashraf will want to remain in the good books of the politicians (or Firdous Ashiq Awan) by retaining him.

The idea that Malik is in the squad on merit is laughable.

The idea that Malik actually has some real fans is laughable x10. Its just hilarious :))

Still feel BZ is Malik in disguise and he has just created few fake ids to show increased support in numbers. The similarities among their posts is so striking, they're all dumbwits :ahmed

Malik used to be a good no:3 in Inzi's era. But now he's just finished. And the fact we don't play India much is also a big let down for him. :malik
About time we move on and give chances to more deserving players.

@Riff ur reading this

lets forget all his current innings on bad form
but the day he scores anything above 40 runs i will start counting his total runs and average with each passing match

We will call it "Malik's form come back watch"

for 99% of the ppl his last 30+ Innings is enough to convince them he is crap
since there are other batsman who can easily replace him

for 1% persistent fans there are other methods :akhtar

and riff has run off like a weasal too..what is up with ppers who dont have the guts to remain around and answer straight questions?? cmon riff why do you support him? why?

Good alrounder for pakistan who make runs and get wickets in the matches top are afridi amir sohail the greatk. razaaq shoaib malik .dawn news.

and riff has run off like a weasal too..what is up with ppers who dont have the guts to remain around and answer straight questions?? cmon riff why do you support him? why?

I have other important things to do in my life than post on PP all day. :facepalm: at you being desperate for my response.

Why I like Malik?

Ive been a fan of Malik ever since he became a regular in the side after the WC 2003. His all-round performances during the Woolmer era and him raising his game against our arch rivals India made me his fan. I wont stop supporting him just because he hasnt been playing well. Im not like people who are fans of whoever is current performing and who forget about their former favourites. I will continue to support him and hope that his form will return. And I will also continue to defend him so if I think people hate him for non-cricket reasons (which I know alot of people do) then I will also gloat about his selection for reasons other than cricket :ajmal

I have other important things to do in my life than post on PP all day. :facepalm: at you being desperate for my response.

Why I like Malik?

Ive been a fan of Malik ever since he became a regular in the side after the WC 2003. His all-round performances during the Woolmer era and him raising his game against our arch rivals India made me his fan. I wont stop supporting him just because he hasnt been playing well. Im not like people who are fans of whoever is current performing and who forget about their former favourites. I will continue to support him and hope that his form will return. And I will also continue to defend him so if I think people hate him for non-cricket reasons (which I know alot of people do) then I will also gloat about his selection for reasons other than cricket :ajmal

and yet here you are..

so in other words you prefer to be someone who supports a single player over the team and what is best for the team. Thanks for clarifying that. You also claim you supported him when he played well. I supported him too but only because his feats were helping us win. WHen he became a liability due to poor performance the team and country come first.

It seems that Malik fans are all the same, supporters of Malik and not Pakistan!

I just don't understand Riff and Anwar's diehard support. I mean there has to be a good reason. We get die-hard Afridi, Akhtar, Waqar, Wasim, Inzi, Imran and Miandad supporters because these are players with that X Factor who have at some point (even if not particularly consistently in the case of Afridi and Akhtar) reached the highest of heights and displayed unparalleled talent.

But Malik? I mean Malik? A talentless neither here nor there player. What is up with your pulse?

. When he became a liability due to poor performance the team and country come first.

So you also hate him for non-cricketing reasons.... ????

Here are my non-cricketing reasons.....

Just last 4 innings???

His last 8 innings have been ....

9, 3, 3, 2, 14, 7, 11, 2 = 51 runs in last 8 innings @ ave of 6.37.

How about 33 innings and counting?

I just don't understand Riff and Anwar's diehard support. I mean there has to be a good reason. We get die-hard Afridi, Akhtar, Waqar, Wasim, Inzi, Imran and Miandad supporters because these are players with that X Factor who have at some point (even if not particularly consistently in the case of Afridi and Akhtar) reached the highest of heights and displayed unparalleled talent.

But Malik? I mean Malik? A talentless neither here nor there player. What is up with your pulse?

Negative attention bhi koi cheeez hot hai! :P

Since you have ignored my response to your post I cant take you seriously Sultan. It seems that you are here just to start a argument like the statsman of this thread or to get a reaction. Not sure which one :ajmal

EDIT- The statsman also disappears when he has no answer :runaway:

and yet here you are..

so in other words you prefer to be someone who supports a single player over the team and what is best for the team. Thanks for clarifying that. You also claim you supported him when he played well. I supported him too but only because his feats were helping us win. WHen he became a liability due to poor performance the team and country come first.

It seems that Malik fans are all the same, supporters of Malik and not Pakistan!

Funnily enough I sense that alot of people would want Malik to fail regardless of whether Pakistan wins or loses.

Lets put it this way, the Afridi fans, prior to the Woolmer era, kept advocating for his selection despite being a pathetic player who was in and out of the team (dont let me remind you how rubbish he was), until Bob Woolmer transformed his role (thankfully). No one was bothered about why Afridi fans kept supporting him. But there are double standards when it comes to Malik's fans.

Chalo, looks like he will be there for the Bangladesh series. :ajmal

Lol at anyone who thought he was gonna be dropped (you know who you are). Take my advice and stop praying on his downfall, you would only be disappointed time and time again :yk

I read your post Riff - no need to respond to it cos you still didn't answer the question and went on about Umar Akmal instead of moon boy. Incidentally I don't care much for Akmal either. But the question was about the great 2 off 22 innings.

Funnily enough I sense that alot of people would want Malik to fail regardless of whether Pakistan wins or loses.

So far Malik has not contributed to any one of Pakistan's wins since his return :akhtar

He is just wasting a spot which Asad Shafiq rightly deserves
Sadly Malik has political backing which u Riff proudly point out

Malik is gonna score a 50 sooner or later and this thread will be full of "Malik showed the haters" rant

What they supporters wont realize is that

Batting Average and Consistency > >>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>>> a Fifty after 30 Innings

Lets put it this way, the Afridi fans, prior to the Woolmer era, kept advocating for his selection despite being a pathetic player who was in and out of the team (dont let me remind you how rubbish he was), until Bob Woolmer transformed his role (thankfully). No one was bothered about why Afridi fans kept supporting him. But there are double standards when it comes to Malik's fans.

Chalo, looks like he will be there for the Bangladesh series. :ajmal

Lol at anyone who thought he was gonna be dropped (you know who you are). Take my advice and stop praying on his downfall, you would only be disappointed time and time again :yk

I believe Afridi's role in the side was alot different to Maliks and he was dropped numerous times in the past before being picked again but lets not turn this into a afridi vs malik thread, if you want you can start another thread for that. Also just because afridi fans kept begging for his selection before the woolmer era (i dont really remember seeing you on PP in those days e.g. the sports network days) does this mean to spite them youll do the same for Malik? is that really what a pakistan fan should do? (actually I would dispute afridi being rubbish as he was a young player who took a five fer against the best team in the world at the time plus helped us win in India. for a youngster that was pretty good, and helped us win a trophy in australia hardly rubbish)

As sultan said what is it about Malik that gets you going? now with afridi people can see the attraction, he is an impact player who is also a world record holder and an asset lower down the order etc etc etc, or wasim an all time great who could make the ball talk etc and so forth..

But Malik? after that purple patch under woolmer and then a year or so while he was cuptaan what has he done? should he merit being in the side? on what basis should we continue to pick him over a better player?

also do you support pakistan or Malik? anf if its the latter how is the picking of a player clearly out of form and a liability helpful to our team?

To be fair to Riff - I would unashamedly say that I would want Malik to fail every time regardless of winning or losing. It's more important to rid the team of this cancer in the long run.

Thanks for justifying my point of view :malik

I believe Afridi's role in the side was alot different to Maliks and he was dropped numerous times in the past before being picked again but lets not turn this into a afridi vs malik thread, if you want you can start another thread for that. Also just because afridi fans kept begging for his selection before the woolmer era (i dont really remember seeing you on PP in those days e.g. the sports network days) does this mean to spite them youll do the same for Malik? is that really what a pakistan fan should do? (actually I would dispute afridi being rubbish as he was a young player who took a five fer against the best team in the world at the time plus helped us win in India. for a youngster that was pretty good, and helped us win a trophy in australia hardly rubbish)

As sultan said what is it about Malik that gets you going? now with afridi people can see the attraction, he is an impact player who is also a world record holder and an asset lower down the order etc etc etc, or wasim an all time great who could make the ball talk etc and so forth..

But Malik? after that purple patch under woolmer and then a year or so while he was cuptaan what has he done? should he merit being in the side? on what basis should we continue to pick him over a better player?

also do you support pakistan or Malik? anf if its the latter how is the picking of a player clearly out of form and a liability helpful to our team?

Ive already explained why I like Malik. What I wanna ask is why do people care?

If I didnt support Malik, would that mean he wouldnt be selected again. More importantly, if people put forward arguments to argue why Malik shouldnt be selected, would that make any difference in the real world?

I have my opinion like everyone else and I dont care if people like it or not. I dont rant about why people dont like Malik and the reason is simple: I dont care.

Ive said this before and I will say it again, some of you take this forum way too seriously. For me, its all jokes.

^^
if your support for Malik is just an ellaborate joke to wind up people then let's draw a line under it...

If it's not then there are overwhelming reasons why people attack posters like yourself and BZ.
It's simple, most logical thinking people rightly summize that Malik does not warrant a place in the squad, let alone a place in the side. His inclusion means a youngster misses out.

Why should he be excluded? As mentioned in pages after pages on this thread, there is overwhelming evidence to prove that Malik is not an international class player and his weaknesses have been badly exposed to every opposition. If he was a youngster then we could allow him time to work on his technique but the problem is that he's been around for a decade now and his technique against anything bowled over 70mph is atrocious..

99.99 pct of the people believe his selection is political and that's just outrageous. Most people can't understand how anyone could support such a player even if they are a young adolocesent girl (or boy).. It's got to the stage where even close friends and relatives should feel ashamed for promoting such a player. In truth if anyone really cared or him, even fans, they should be on here thanking him for trying but ultimately advising vim to retire from international cricket and to concentrate on other things.

Malik please do Pakistan Cricket a Favour and give ur ODI Spot to Asad Shafiq and Test Squad spot to Umar Akmal

Both of these young batsman although inexperienced are putting u to shame in the batting department

Please dont do this great injustice to these two wonderful talents
We all know u are a Crap batsman and will remain a Crap batsman and might only last till Firdous Awan is in power

Yes Malik you are a PURCHI who has failed in 35+ Consecutive Innings
Do u feel no Shame? How do u even face your team mates? :facepalm:

Sania bhabhi would probably be a better than him at this point.

shocking, pathetic, disgraceful.

badly want us to win this last one to move up the rankings. So if Malik scores big and we win I'll be delighted. This "dead rubber" actually holds some worth this time.

Don't think Malik will score big though, at the moment he looks awful out there.

I thought you read my posts ..... but apparently not...or you are just being the Disney character ... as usual!!!

Show me one post where I said, I hate Malik?

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=4343194&postcount=4309

If Malik start to perform, I'd be bigger advocate for his selection than you!

That was not meant for you..go through this page and people are "proudly" declaring their hatred for SM...so I was redirecting your message toward them.

I know you love Malik

You missing the point...
Make Malik the captain and you would get an exceptional performance.

You don't have a point...... so what's the point in talking about this point.

Is he a MATCH-FIXER that we will only perform when he is captain?

What if he is captain.... and other 10 players said the same thing (make them captain and then they will perform) that you are saying..... then what your hero will do?

You don't have a point...... so what's the point in talking about this point.

Is he a MATCH-FIXER that we will only perform when he is captain?

What if he is captain.... and other 10 players said the same thing (make them captain and then they will perform) that you are saying..... then what your hero will do?

why do not you run a query and you will know..that some suck as captain....:srt :yk :afridi :moyo

and some excel :malik :inzi :aamer sohail

:)) So you are such a blind fan....

Are you saying sohail & Inzi also SUCKED when they were not captain....like Malik is sucking now?

again..why don't you check the difference yourself...

(Performance as captain - Performance as non-captain)

You are intentionally ignoring the equally important other international innings.

hasn't he scored 50+ vs Aus just 3 tests ago?

anyway, you were saying about out of form...he is in form...just not scoring...one long stay in middle will address this...nothing to worry about.

hasn't he scored 50+ vs Aus just 3 tests ago?
One 50 in 3 tests??? Is this the merit based selection you talk about all the time?? :)))

still no comment about ODI and t20 innings? ;-)

anyway, you were saying about out of form...he is in form...just not scoring...one long stay in middle will address this...nothing to worry about.

when did I say he is out of form???? where.. Mr. Disney character?

He is not scoring .. I don't care why... his lack of runs in last 33 innings is good enough reason for him to be kicked out of the team.

Malik wont field if he isnt paid the match fees
Malik wont perform if he isnt made Captain

BZ u conveniently ignore

attachment.php

You missing the point...
Make Malik the captain and you would get an exceptional performance.

Brilliant, just brilliant - should be nominated as the POTW.
A guy who is barely holding onto his spot in the team - mind you due to "non-cricketing reasons", i.e: wife is 'indian/tennis superstar', Firdous Ashiq Awan, so-called 'senior', should be made captain.

When we look at cricketing reasons as posted by many, his past two years and plus, there is only one conclusion - he should be ditched for good.

To be honest, your post above reeks of desperation. I mean a guy desperately trying to reclaim his spot in the team would let his performance do the talking rather than wait to be nominated captain.

Brilliant, just brilliant - should be nominated as the POTW.
A guy who is barely holding onto his spot in the team - mind you due to "non-cricketing reasons", i.e: wife is 'indian/tennis superstar', Firdous Ashiq Awan, so-called 'senior', should be made captain.

When we look at cricketing reasons as posted by many, his past two years and plus, there is only one conclusion - he should be ditched for good.

To be honest, your post above reeks of desperation. I mean a guy desperately trying to reclaim his spot in the team would let his performance do the talking rather than wait to be nominated captain.

when firdos ashiq was not minister then he was captain so why you blame this

I am taking about the present scenario - there has been a lot of political pressure for the Pakistani board to clear Malik and get him in the team. Were it not for this pressure, Malik in all likelihood would have never made it to the team. And the OP would have us believe that Malik is not performing as he is waiting to be made captain. Hope this clears my point of view

the team doesnt need a spinning all-rounder in Tests -we have Hafeez
the team doesnt need a spinning all-rounder in Odis and T20s-we have Hafeez and Afridi

there is no place for Malik in the side

Make him captain and he'll perform. Yes of course the Pakistan cricket team should put all other ambitions aside and just hope that Malik performs after he's made captain