Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
I dont get it. Malik has been selected because of Misbah. Now what do people want him do, say that he doesnt want to be selected? Who does that? Or better yet, who has ever done that?

Malik is just accepting all the chances that he is getting from other people.

Edit- I have finally become a senior international after slowly accumulating runs in my 7 year career :ajmal

Malik Century Round the Corner | Support Thread|

I think this guy is going to shut all of us up lol with a century.

What ever Misbah touches turns to gold even Malik will.

Just hope it aint a Golden Duck :malik

Not another Malik support thread. I am already tired of the other Shoaib Malik support thread.

he already has a million page support thread, why did you feel the need to make a new one apart from attention seeking

That thread is too negative. Lets try and keep this positive, I know we can.

Best of luck to Shoaib Malik.

Misbah most likely revived Shoaib Malik's career. A player's confidence has to increase when a captain makes a special request for him to be included in the squad. I just hope Shoaib Malik repays the faith Misbah has shown in him.

he already has a million page support thread, why did you feel the need to make a new one apart from attention seeking

Its fun :yk

Btw made 1 for hafeez it worked thought it might help Malik ini. Y get emotional.

There are more supports threads for Malik then runs he has made in last 2 years. Shows the class of him as a player.

It's pay back time for misbah. since malik asked for misbah in T 20 world cup. Thats the only reason i could think of.

its pretty simple for me

if hes in the playing 11, i hope he makes a century because it will benefit the pakistani team, i never hope a player fails in playing 11, just so that he can get out of the team

its pretty simple for me

if hes in the playing 11, i hope he makes a century because it will benefit the pakistani team, i never hope a player fails in playing 11, just so that he can get out of the team

I never think before joining pp that peoples say about some player will flop in playing eleven but now i know all are bukwaas pprs kyun tum apna chochr pun zayr krtaya ho g u

Misbah has requested for Malik's inclusion so that Malik can guide him and take crucial tactical decision on the field.
How come Misbah did not need this guidance in the test series?

Misbah should show some moral courage and open up to media and resign from captaincy in Malik's favor (I do not mind him to be a VC, however)

BZ ... you ....... you talking about morals?????? :)))

Actually I am disappointed that he left PU in their do or die match against Sind.
I can feel your pain.

He is playing for Pakistan, it's his personal loss but gain for Pakistan...so I support this decision (as Pakistan first)

Pakistan first for you???? Yes, I saw you dancing in your "kuchha" on Gerard Street to celebrate Pakistan's 3-0 whitewash.

o.... and we all know how you feel about Pakistan....

If you through the polling (in this thread) you would notice that I was against him playing WC (so that Pakistan lose and PPers realize the missing ingredient). people still wonder if Malik could have changed the end result.

When has it ever been Pakistan first for you? You wished Pakistan would lose in the world cup. Again you wish Pakistan to lose so we realise the value of Malik.

Bet Malik doesn't feel anything about losing $150K. If you have to give credit to the man, he's always stated and displayed his willingness and eagerness to play in the pakistan team (when he was dropped from the ODI side, he went to domestic and really worked hard to earn his place back in the team. Was very commendable, some may have just given up or content with churning out just average performances). Bet the guy's thrilled just being part of the international side/squad again and that he has another chance to prove himself. Personally I don't think he should be given another chance now, he was given chances he's failed and we should try out others. But I do like the fact he's still trying to get back into the international side, time is on his side, and that's how things should be, it keeps things competitive.

Sometimes I feel you're putting Malik in a bad light with your support. Malik recognises and publically stated he didn't perform up to the mark when he's not done well (while you argue every innings of 20 something is matchwinning when it comes to malik, but not other players). He's stated that he struggles with bouncy pitches and is trying to work on that (which you do't admit, and don't give credit to players who are playing better than malik on bouncy pitches). What's more I don't get the impression that Malik did want Pakistan to lose the world cup at all, and seemed generally interested in Pakistan's efforts despite not playing in it. While you wanted Pakistan to lose. What's more you don't even seem to want to watch matches if Malik's not playing in them.

Bet Malik wouldn't received half of the hatful posts towards malik on here, if you'd been a bit more level headed and less fanatical in your support towards malik.

Wow ...... :14: :14: :14:

Post of the Week..... no... Post of the month...... no
I think, this is post of the YEAR!!!

BZ..... honestly if you are an iota of man, I would want you to reply to this post ... in detail ... and come clean!

If I have to guess, you'll reply with one of your 1-2 sentence aain baain shaain.

actually this theory about Malik being hated more because of BZ is wrong as BZ doesnt have a twitter account and everyone hates Malik on twitter too!

:malik

actually this theory about Malik being hated more because of BZ is wrong as BZ doesnt have a twitter account and everyone hates Malik on twitter too!

:malik

When I joined PP in 2009, there was lot of misunderstanding and misconceptions about Malik.

I have addressed most (if not all) questions satisfactorily.
and 99% of the times haters just resort to "aayain bayain shaian"

My objective is not to get Malik more votes in PP-polls but to answer queries and now it's up to the person if he wants to accept the data or just keep hating.

On the other hand, when I pose some question, instead of addressing the question, they start "good old fashioned" bashing :)

There are still at least 20 questions in this thread for haters to answer.

Then there is another group...they hate by proxy...fans of Fawad Alam, Asad, Hammad, Razzaq etc.
If anyone of above is not picked, they blame Malik.

and then there is another groups...who pretend to be decent here and give "misdirected" advice and say that used to be malik's fan...etc etc...and tell nice things about malik here...but in other thread...keep mocking...

As i said on Jan 30th (here)

That there is a SOS call from PCB to include Malik.

Now no one can say that Malik is due to PPPP govt.

Misbah has requested for Malik's inclusion so that Malik can guide him and take crucial tactical decision on the field.

Misbah should show some moral courage and open up to media and resign from captaincy in Malik's favor (I do not mind him to be a VC, however)

aisi kaunsi emergency lagi hai jo sirf Sher-e-Sialkot hi humein bachaa sakta hai?!

and LOL @ last paragraph, just LOL.

All you post become invalid when you say:

Misbah should resign to let Malik take over.

Malik is better then Hanif and Sohail,

That a bloke with a test hundred every 16 tests is similar player to someone who scores a test hundred every 3.6 tests.

All you post become invalid when you say:

Misbah should resign to let Malik take over.

Malik is better then Hanif and Sohail,

That a bloke with a test hundred every 16 tests is similar player to someone who scores a test hundred every 3.6 tests.

I am not saying that Malik ios better than Hanif and Sohail

All I say that Malik is better opener than Hanif and Sohail statistically.

Accept it or deny the stats!

But do better statistics mean that he was a better opener then either of them?

Bresnan is also a better middle order batsman than Malik statistically. Averages over 45 to Malik's 33.45.

Black Zero speaking of stats. What are your thoughts on his recent stats vs BD and SRL? And don't say BD A small opponent, cause stats are stats. Need to know if you deny them too.

Bresnan is also a better middle order batsman than Malik statistically. Averages over 45 to Malik's 33.45.

I have marked you and now I wont let YOU to play decent/simple/shrewd/smart

First inform the forum, do you accept or deny before asking me the question.

So shall we open the book again?

Malik to score more then 30 runs in one innings. Any takers?

Ads101

You can't compare stats of those older players to Malik.
They played in bowler friendlier conditions without helmets, poorer equipment, with hardly any TV coverage...

I have marked you and now I wont let YOU to play decent/simple/shrewd/smart

First inform the forum, do you accept or deny before asking me the question.
I fully well know Malik's a better middle order bat than Bresnan. But do you see what's wrong with your statements? You somehow on the basis of 7 or so games where Malik averaged 40 or so to somehow ranked over guys like Hanif who was one of our best bats in a tougher era, averaging mid 40s as an opener over his entire career (and played mainly as an opener).

Malik played mainly as a middle order batsmen. Yes he has a better record as an opener, but you can't disregard the fact that overall, given the opportunities he had he could have done better. He averages just 30 something, and was hoped to become part of a middle order for years to come. That didn't happen.

It relates back to the post I wrote earlier. I'm sure Malik himself isn't thrilled with his test average. Sure he thinks he can do better than that.

Ads101

You can't compare stats of those older players to Malik.
They played in bowler friendlier conditions without helmets, poorer equipment, with hardly any TV coverage...
I wasn't that was BZ. Totally agree with you.

I fully well know Malik's a better middle order bat than Bresnan. But do you see what's wrong with your statements? You somehow on the basis of 7 or so games where Malik averaged 40 or so to somehow ranked over guys like Hanif who was one of our best bats in a tougher era, averaging mid 40s as an opener over his entire career (and played mainly as an opener).

Malik played mainly as a middle order batsmen. Yes he has a better record as an opener, but you can't disregard the fact that overall, given the opportunities he had he could have done better. He averages just 30 something, and was hoped to become part of a middle order for years to come. That didn't happen.

It relates back to the post I wrote earlier. I'm sure Malik himself isn't thrilled with his test average. Sure he thinks he can do better than that.

i am not understanding..if you accepting or denying it?

So .. BZ, what is the "mysterious phone call" and who was it from?

i am not understanding..if you accepting or denying it?
What the fact that Hanif is a worse opener than Malik? Course I don't accept that.

I accept the fact that Malik has a 0.5 or so (I think that's what it is, both average around 42) better average as an opener than Hanif. Course if you consider Hanif faced better bowlers, played in harder conditions and served as an opener for a longer period of time then Hanif's easily ahead anyway.

Course Fawad blows them both "statistically speaking" with his average of 54 as an opener. Fawad even played similar bowlers, they both played in sri lanka. Malik's greatest success as an opener when he scored a brilliant century was in sri lanka against Sri Lanka. Just like Fawad.

Just because a player did well in a few games doesn't make him a better player. And what's important isn't Malik's average as an opener. It's over his entire career at the positions which he's played. That's his overall worth "statistically" over his career. Malik doesn't even have an excuse, Malik's generally a middle order batsman, and that's where he likes playing. So not opening isn't exactly unjust. What's unjust is perhaps forcing a middle order player not used to opening to open, or a an opener down the order to no.6. But even then, quality players can usually score at any position. And from what I gather from what you've said in this thread, I don't think you think Malik's a bad middle order player or a bad opener. So why do you care where he bats, or go on about his average as an opener?

I accept the fact that Malik has a 0.5 or so (I think that's what it is, both average around 42) better average as an opener than Hanif.

This is only fact in your post
Rest could be true or false, depend on personal liking and disliking.

Luckily four openers play in a match and i did a comprehensive comparative analysis match by match (where Malik played as an opener) and malik won hands down!

Regarding "Middle order = #6/7) slots, I will touch this topic once we settled about opening position.

This is only fact in your post
Rest could be true or false, depend on personal liking and disliking.

Luckily four openers play in a match and i did a comprehensive comparative analysis match by match (where Malik played as an opener) and malik won hands down!

Regarding "Middle order = #6/7) slots, I will touch this topic once we settled about opening position.
Mo the other true fact of my post is Fawad has an average of 54 as an opener. Which is a better average by more than 10 runs, which is a significant margin.

Another fact I'd like to add is that Hanif averages 43.98 over his entire career. Malik averages 33.45 over his entire career.

Dunno which match you're talking about where you did comparative analysis where four openers played in the same match. Were these openers Farhat, Hameed, Butt, Faisal Iqbal, perhaps even Imran Nazir. Rate Malik better than those guys anyway, and that shows in his overall average anyway which is better than those guys.

A normal fan who thinks rationally and level headed about the player in question whom he believes will do well doesn't go around doing all these things comparing 30 odd scores and whatever the random stats you generate. He says I know the guy hasn't done justice to his talent, but I believe he's got the talent to do well, and hope he gets his chance. And that hopefully that player will do well in domestic adding pressure to the selectors to warrant him a comeback.

What you seem to do is try and rubbish other players and pull out all different attempts to hide Malik's obvious failings. That's not being fair, that's being selective.

Perhaps people on here do criticise Malik for unfair reasons. I don't think the guy has ever been a "pathetic" player. I don't label him unfairly as a minnow basher either, I made a thread about it, stats show that he isn't one. He's been an average one. That did show promise to do big things at certain times. And if he scores and applies pressure on selectors by doing well in domestic, I don't mind him rentering the team and fighting for his place. After his run of form, I myself backed him to come back to the limited overs team. He's had his chances though and failed epically, and now should wait his turn and others should be given a chance. If those fail too, and sometime down the line Malik can come back providing he's still performing in domestic and he's shown that he's improved his game and worked on the things that caused him to fail in the first place.

So....BZ as usual you are being so hypocrite that you
are gloryfying malik's 7 Tests as opener .... And yet
ignoring his constant failures since September 29, 2009.
Same usual crap...... Lagay raho....

BZ you are crap at statistics so don't talk about statistics when you are deliberately trying to mold it to suit your needs. Statistics is not limited to averages only especially when you ignore a host of other factors such as pitch conditions, bowlers and pressure situations.

Go look at ICC rankings, which is a much better indicator of a player's worth, your Shoaib Mirza is way behind

Ads Yaar kyun inti lambi posts pe time and effort waste kar rahe ho.

BZ what about Malik( bloke who scores a 100) every 16 tests being equal or better then a guy who scores a 100 every 3.7 games,

Malik doesn't need to prove himself. He is the greatest captain/match winner/batsmen/spinner/fielder Pakistan has ever had. Misbah should quietly step down and let Malik captain the side now.

So malik is an opener according to BZ. Why does he hide behind number 4 or 5 when playing domestic ? If he is a baysman why does he sukk at other positions that his average is a shame for a player who has been playing internationals for more than a decade. Before comparing with the likes of Hanif as an opener , can you see malik can't score to save his life outside the sacred asian lands and batting becomes a curse for him.(sports an average of 21 outside asia in tests and kingly 19 in odis :facepalm: )
Anyone who is the true fan of Pakistan Cricket should not back malik's place in Pakistan side at the moment especially after two wonderful years from late 09 to present.

Mods please put this in the Time Pass section.. oh sorry, I thought it was the Asif Ali Zardari support thread for a second. Its his cricketing equivalent, I guess.

Waqar Younis just blasted the selection of Malik in playing XI .... during team analysis before the match vs Afghanistan. He said, he does not uderstand why was selected after he failed miserably against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. He came this close to saying that Malik's selection is politically motivated/forced.

ok so as has now become tradition BZ its time you predict how many half centuries and 100's Mirza is gonna hit against the pop gun English attack. Im still waiting for his test 300 but what do you think BZ?? chaar fifties this series??

Too much negative thinking here. Mirza will dish out a phainty in the 4 ODIs by scoring two hundreds, one 150 and a 20 off 10 in the last match because he felt sorry for the England bowlers.

And then Malik woke up from his slumber.

But he is not a minnow basher. He saves his best for the best. Check out his record in Eng and Aus.

I wonder if Misbah knows that he is not a minnow basher!

Well .. the final bowling figures.....

Mods please put this in the Time Pass section.. oh sorry, I thought it was the Asif Ali Zardari support thread for a second. Its his cricketing equivalent, I guess.

:))) Post of the week for me!

Good to see you Posting MK!

Mo the other true fact of my post is Fawad has an average of 54 as an opener. Which is a better average by more than 10 runs, which is a significant margin.

Yes, I have no objection on that. But how it nullify Malik's stats?

Another fact I'd like to add is that Hanif averages 43.98 over his entire career. Malik averages 33.45 over his entire career.

Hanif career is over, while Malik still playing and i expect to avg around 44 at the end of his career.
With whatever data available, after compensating for batting position, i have compared Malik's stats with YK's. and there was a tie between YK and Malik (and YK average's 50+)

Dunno which match you're talking about where you did comparative analysis where four openers played in the same match. Were these openers Farhat, Hameed, Butt, Faisal Iqbal, perhaps even Imran Nazir. Rate Malik better than those guys anyway, and that shows in his overall average anyway which is better than those guys.

2 Pakistani and 2 from opposition.
i.e. Fawad played 4 innings and came 1st once...25% as expected. While Malik 50%

A normal fan who thinks rationally and level headed about the player in question whom he believes will do well doesn't go around doing all these things comparing 30 odd scores and whatever the random stats you generate. He says I know the guy hasn't done justice to his talent, but I believe he's got the talent to do well, and hope he gets his chance. And that hopefully that player will do well in domestic adding pressure to the selectors to warrant him a comeback.
I am not sure what your message is and how is it related to debate.

What you seem to do is try and rubbish other players and pull out all different attempts to hide Malik's obvious failings. That's not being fair, that's being selective.

When and where?
or you mean I should not post comparative analysis?

Waqar Younis just blasted the selection of Malik in playing XI .... during team analysis before the match vs Afghanistan. He said, he does not uderstand why was selected after he failed miserably against Sri Lanka and Bangladesh. He came this close to saying that Malik's selection is politically motivated/forced.

Waqar should have said it, hes not under contract with the PCB!

ok lets see who is hypocrite...

ppers were bashing that Malik could not play new ball ... and then i presented his stats as an opener and then they just changed the topic and started bashing me (around 2 years back)

Just last week i was posting in other thread about yk and someone (i.e. you) challenged to back with data..and you brought that discussion to this thread (i was least interested) but when i presented that YK fails to reach double digit 1/3 of times while playing at #3. then someone (i.e you) tried to refute my result with fabricated stats but obviously I caught the fabrication and then someone just changed the topic.

and just now SS, re-initiated discussion opening stats and like a "non-hypocrite" person you standing on side-line (neither denying or accepting) and trying to change the topic

so i wonder if really i am the hypocrite!

BZ you are crap at statistics so don't talk about statistics when you are deliberately trying to mold it to suit your needs. Statistics is not limited to averages only especially when you ignore a host of other factors such as pitch conditions, bowlers and pressure situations.

Go look at ICC rankings, which is a much better indicator of a player's worth, your Shoaib Mirza is way behind

I see your point.
Please including other factors like pitch conditions, bowlers and pressure and "mold" the data.

I am waiting.

Does anyone think the PCB/Misbah etc keep adding him to the squad, just to be further entertained by this thread?

If you forget that BZ is actually being serious, and pretend he's a comedian, some of the stuff he says is just gold!

Hanif career is over, while Malik still playing and i expect to avg around 44 at the end of his career.

I honestly burst out laughing.

as you presented stats, and i agree with that, YK got better conversion rate than Malik.

but not related to the point i was making to.

So malik is an opener according to BZ. Why does he hide behind number 4 or 5 when playing domestic ? If he is a baysman why does he sukk at other positions that his average is a shame for a player who has been playing internationals for more than a decade. Before comparing with the likes of Hanif as an opener , can you see malik can't score to save his life outside the sacred asian lands and batting becomes a curse for him.(sports an average of 21 outside asia in tests and kingly 19 in odis :facepalm: )
Anyone who is the true fan of Pakistan Cricket should not back malik's place in Pakistan side at the moment especially after two wonderful years from late 09 to present.

What
what
why

as you presented stats, and i agree with that, YK got better conversion rate than Malik.

but not related to the point i was making to.

You still have not told us why do you think Malik is better or equal to a bloke who averages best part of 20 runs per innings, scores hundreds 4 times quicker.

I told you that Afridi and Waqar are anti-malik.

never liked him as a coach/commentator.

What
what
why

That's where he does well according to you and is better than hanif. He comes down the order in domestic to avoid facing the new ball which shows that he is not an opening material and then he fails down the order in internationals ,which shows he is not any good in the middle order either. The only positions left are the tailenders , let's see how he does there.

ok so as has now become tradition BZ its time you predict how many half centuries and 100's Mirza is gonna hit against the pop gun English attack. Im still waiting for his test 300 but what do you think BZ?? chaar fifties this series??

First prediction was about 100s vs SL in tests (they never let him play a single test)
Second prediction was about 50s vs SL in ODIs (he was not picked for 1st three)

if Malik plays 4 completed innings, he will make 2 50s.

ok lets see who is hypocrite...

ppers were bashing that Malik could not play new ball ... and then i presented his stats as an opener and then they just changed the topic and started bashing me (around 2 years back)

You are not only hypocrite..... but also changed the topic..
ONE MORE TIME... lets stick to 7 matches as openers... vs constant failures since September 29, 2009.!

As I said... lagay raho... moon bhai!

You still have not told us why do you think Malik is better or equal to a bloke who averages best part of 20 runs per innings, scores hundreds 4 times quicker.

oh you forgot?

you asked me to do a inning by inning analysis of yk vs malik...and when i did, you got vvvvvvvv angry and then "asked mods to start a poll yk vs malik"

i hope, now you remember ...