Shoaib Malik Support & Performance Watch

Should Malik be in the plans for the 2019 WC?

• Poll closed .
Don played during 30 nov 1928 to 14 aug 1948

and he averaged 103.63 @ #3 (where he batted mostly)

and during the same period #3 batsmen scored with the average of 50.23
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...8;spanval1=span;template=results;type=batting

but if we exclude Don's score, then the average is 42.921

and if we check the average of #3 batsmen (Jan 1, 1990 onward), its, 40.68
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...0;spanval1=span;template=results;type=batting

so there is is truth that Don's era had higher averages but by not much.

his translated average in today's era (1990 onward) would be: 94.739

Shame on the person who wrote the article "OP"

BZ, why you NO apply the same logic elsewhere ??? :malik

selective criticism is selective :sachin

Ok BZ.... let's see .... which one you are going to do first..... ODIs and tests... ?? :P

LethalSami... I predict ... BZ :runaway:

Ok BZ.... let's see .... which one you are going to do first..... ODIs and tests... ?? :P

LethalSami... I predict ... BZ :runaway:

TEST

actually I did an analysis of YK vs Malik on SS's request (though I warned him)

End result :Malik > YK and that makes SS really sad.

I can search and re-present that analysis.
Note: (WL couldn't counter that analysis)

It was a bullet proof analysis!

TGK can you post the link to that great Malik knock you are watching. I missed 2006 series due to work.

TEST

Where did YK come from? You compared Don to COMBINED average..... can you do the same?

TEST

Yes Malik's two hundreds against YKs twenty make me sad. Haha

i wanna see that "bulletproof analysis" which proves :malik > :yk

Page #62/63

go through the pages where I was challenged by SS and then I presented my Data set (though I was not much interested).

Objection raised by Jeera Blade, WL, Shakil and I addressed each/every question/objection.. and then i modified the data as per JB/WL objection which improved the result in Malik's favor.

Also provided some much need math coaching to Shakil

and corrected Sallu during the discussion.

P.S. do not forget :snack:

If we follow your logic then we will have to accept that Sachin >>> (Bradman + Bradman +Bradman) (i.e 100 >> (29+29+29))

P.S. Haha

Only difference is that Don scored 29 hundreds in 52( 1 in 1.7 tests) and sachin 50 odd in 190( 1 in nearly 4).

Here YK has 20 in 77( 1 in 4) and Don Mark 2 has 2 in 32(1 in 16). So that was a bakwaas analogy.

Page #62/63

go through the pages where I was challenged by SS and then I presented my Data set (though I was not much interested).

Objection raised by Jeera Blade, WL, Shakil and I addressed each/every question/objection.. and then i modified the data as per JB/WL objection which improved the result in Malik's favor.

Also provided some much need math coaching to Shakil

and corrected Sallu during the discussion.

P.S. do not forget :snack:

We are not all mathematicians like you BZ. I look at simple things like average of 52 v 33, 100s 20 v 2, 150+ scores 7 v 0, average in games played together 56 v 40. Should I go on?

but those stats are from when he wasn't the captain.....

make him the Kaptaan, then see :27:

I said he would win if you make him captain.
otherwise there are no grantees...

you have nothing to say about:

5 championships
3 formats
1 captain :malik

and then you "announce" that you do not hate him..

Imtehaan Malik ka nehi, Imtehaan haters kay hay.

Dermor Reeve had a simliar record.

No one ever thought of him captaining England.

this thread is going to make 100 pages soon... :sachin

both WL and BZ should lift their bats...err..fingers whatever

Dermor Reeve had a simliar record.

No one ever thought of him captaining England.

5 championships
3 formats

Best ODI captain for Pakistan EVER.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...ualval1=won;team=7;template=results;type=team

Best T20I captain for Pakistan EVER

and only captain to won more than 10 T20 for Pakistan.

in fact he is the best T20 captain in the world (along with MJC)

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...n2=10;qualval2=won;template=results;type=team

his w/l was 6, but then he was a sub-captain for Afridi.

This thread is glorious. :)

I am convinced Malik is either Chris Martin or :don. Can't be sure who exactly. :)

Only difference is that Don scored 29 hundreds in 52( 1 in 1.7 tests) and sachin 50 odd in 190( 1 in nearly 4).

Here YK has 20 in 77( 1 in 4) and Don Mark 2 has 2 in 32(1 in 16). So that was a bakwaas analogy.

You do not need to be mathematician,
Just need to be little thoughtful and even handed in execution.

lets look at your analysis for "matches per 100":

1: This should not be Matches per 100, instead it should be innings per 100.

2: We have to consider NO innings also.
and in this we have to be careful that we exclude only those NOs when player didn't cross 100.

If we do both above we will get something like following:

Don

6 NOs with 100+

so NOs when he had less than 100= 4

so net innings: 80-4= 76

2.62 innings per 100.

YK

4 NOs with 100+
so NOs when he had less than 100= 7

net innings= 138-7= 131

6.55 innings per 100

Sachin

15 NO with 100+ (poor :) )

NOs 17
innings: 297

5.82 innings per 100.

Now to point #3...

This (your) analysis about 100 is flawed at the core...as scoring 100 runs is just a milestone...and for team, 99 or 101 would mean same...

and secondly, top order got more chances to score 100 than lower middle order (self evident).

Lastly, (back to YK), YK is the worst #3 batsman in the world who got the highest %age of failure in reaching double digit.

5 championships
3 formats

Best ODI captain for Pakistan EVER.

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...ualval1=won;team=7;template=results;type=team

Best T20I captain for Pakistan EVER

and only captain to won more than 10 T20 for Pakistan.

in fact he is the best T20 captain in the world (along with MJC)

http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...n2=10;qualval2=won;template=results;type=team

his w/l was 6, but then he was a sub-captain for Afridi.

Dermot Reeve

You do not need to be mathematician,
Just need to be little thoughtful and even handed in execution.

lets look at your analysis for "matches per 100":

1: This should not be Matches per 100, instead it should be innings per 100.

2: We have to consider NO innings also.
and in this we have to be careful that we exclude only those NOs when player didn't cross 100.

If we do both above we will get something like following:

Don

6 NOs with 100+

so NOs when he had less than 100= 4

so net innings: 80-4= 76

2.62 innings per 100.

YK

4 NOs with 100+
so NOs when he had less than 100= 7

net innings= 138-7= 131

6.55 innings per 100

Sachin

15 NO with 100+ (poor :) )

NOs 17
innings: 297

5.82 innings per 100.

Now to point #3...

This (your) analysis about 100 is flawed at the core...as scoring 100 runs is just a milestone...and for team, 99 or 101 would mean same...

and secondly, top order got more chances to score 100 than lower middle order (self evident).

Lastly, (back to YK), YK is the worst #3 batsman in the world who got the highest %age of failure in reaching double digit.

I'll take the worst number 3 in the world, with an average of 50 over a tail-ender like Malik.

I'm trying to get a compromise.

He's starting past Imran at the moment.

No ... he is not starting. He has always maintained that Malik is better ODI captain than Imran.

Hey BZ.... what do think about Malik getting picked in IPL? How confident do you feel about your best T20I captain?

No ... he is not starting. He has always maintained that Malik is better ODI captain than Imran.

Hey BZ.... what do think about Malik getting picked in IPL? How confident do you feel about your best T20I captain?

He will be picked only if he is made the captain.

I thought BZ clarified that. He only plays when he is the captain.

That's why he never plays at home. Coz at home, sania is the real captain

He will be picked only if he is made the captain.

I thought BZ clarified that. He only plays when he is the captain.

Nope.... BZ said that Malik only performs IF he is captain.
There is a differnce between being picked, playing and performing.

My question is regarding Malik - being picked.

That's why he never plays at home. Coz at home, sania is the real captain

He has not performed in UAE, Sri Lanka, Zimbabawe either .......... as I said, there is difference between playing (being part of the team) and performing.... :P

bz why did malik not win the 2007 world t20 as captain?

I do not know* much about IPL...and i am not interested in it..

because of the rule of playing mandatory 7 sub-standard players...

I would not watch...but I am glad that Pakistani players would earn some pocket money.

Nope.... BZ said that Malik only performs IF he is captain.
There is a differnce between being picked, playing and performing.

My question is regarding Malik - being picked.

Ah yes, you are right. But will he be ok being picked knowing that he wont be the captain?

He has not performed in UAE, Sri Lanka, Zimbabawe either .......... as I said, there is difference between playing (being part of the team) and performing.... :P

By home, I meant apnay ghar mein. You know, in his house, where sania is the captain :P

I do not know* much about IPL...and i am not interested in it..
So knew everything about CT20 (off shoot of IPL)...... and even kept making predictions about Malik leading SS.

Don't have guts/courage to say this about IPL? :P Chicken!

because of the rule of playing mandatory 7 sub-standard players...
So .. .that is what question is ....
Would he be picked as 4 other Bradman-like players??? Well.. only one Bradman like player?

'

BZ what's your verdict on the clip posted in #7883? I say make him slip catching practice coach.

So knew everything about CT20 (off shoot of IPL)...... and even kept making predictions about Malik leading SS.

Don't have guts/courage to say this about IPL? :P Chicken!

So .. .that is what question is ....
Would he be picked as 4 other Bradman-like players??? Well.. only one Bradman like player?

'

He will be picked...(and good for him)

but for Pakistani spectators IPL got no attraction.

Note: for CL, there were some real teams...and thats not an offshoot of IPL though BCCI got more power than other 3 participating boards.

Malik had the second highest avg among pakistan top order in Eng (vs Eng) in matches when malik played!

Azhar had avg of 8.5.. :)

Umar Gul had better average than all of them.

Malik has played international cricket for a decade and your still comparing him with Azhar Ali and Umar Amin, who were in their debut tours and Umar Akmal who was in his first year.

The others were Butt and Farhat, who like Malik are tried and tested failures who should never have been in the team.

Ok BZ.....what do you have to say about the gap between bat and pad? :P

^^Malik wasn't the captain in that series!

Yaar yeh BZ ka dialogue hai. Come up with something original. Like that ball had shaped to be an out swinger but the reverse in swing created that gap because reverse in swing is illegal in Saudi Arabia that ball should be put behind bars and Malik Sahab ko baa izatt bari kiya jaaye. Thats all your honour.

more then gap see where his front foot is
not on off stump but on far left side lolol (from our perspective right side)

On a serious note that's an embarrassing picture. There is so much wrong with his technique that you would thing that's an alien who has picked the bat for the very first time in his life.

Your objection might have some weight, had he played on front foot.

But thats not the case...he is playing with a straight bat...

unlike YK who plays with tilted diagonal bat.

this mean nothing, I did an analysis of Pakistani batsmen and proved that technically Malik is lot better than some so called legends :yk :moyo

let me find it for you..

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?t=101911&highlight=usual+suspects

tragically, "Breach" data is gone ( :( imageshack )

Azhar will score 100s on dead/flat tracks :yk
and will not reach double figures whenever there will be any movement :yk

Asad is the man, who wont score big, but will be a reliable player in testing conditions...

His 30/40 >>> Azhar's 150.

And Malik scores on??????

You mean on the same flat/dead tracks of UAE where.....
.........#1 team England got bundled out 6 times to lose 0-3?
..........where Malik has scored these triple 100s?
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...9;spanval1=span;template=results;type=batting

http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/426395.html
http://www.espncricinfo.com/ci/engine/match/426415.html

Asad is the man, who wont score big, but will be a reliable player in testing conditions...

His 30/40 >>> Azhar's 150.

cmon now BZ lets not deflect attention from the obvious! his feet are almost adjacent to each other. Anyone with half a brain knows he's in a horrible position there!

but you know it was a great innings, best ive seen for ages!

what about the second video? now thats waht I call hitting it out of the park!! what an innings!!

whats shocking is that from 2009-2012 he has an average or 16 odd!!! how can this be defensible? is this not mediocre? beggars belief!

I brought up the century.

At least Malik completed one this year.

BZ you can add this to his stats.

Misbah out for 16 (as expected)
Bonus: Azhar out for egg

Misbah will be leading the ODI team in India - (as expected)
Misbah will be leading the Test team in South Africa - (as expected)
Azhar will be key part of the TEST team in South Africa - (as expect)
Bonus: Azhar may be also part of ODI team in India.

Malik...........................................??? ........................... - (as expected)

Malik- 3 hundreds against south africa (as expected)

fixed..

by the way miandadrules, those two centuries were amazing. I remeber his hooked six off mcgrath at perth! the commentators were drooling!!

Malik...........................................??? ........................... - (as expected)

1- Yes, though on merit he should not even be in odi squad :yk
2- Yes, and that will expose his test captaincy.
3- Yes and he will be exposed again ... (avg 8.5 in testing conditions) (Asad will shine, just for record)
4- No.

amazing what a player. I think we can safely say one of our greatest batsmen!! haterz gonna hate! He'll be selected for the test series and then the haters will cry again!!..lol..lol

I am glad that you embraced the truth.

may the force be with you.

1- Yes, though on merit he should not even be in odi squad :yk
We all know your definition of merit;
http://stats.espncricinfo.com/ci/en...al1=span;team=7;template=results;type=batting

2- Yes, and that will expose his test captaincy.
Just like you peridicted... Malik will score a match winning 40? ;-)

3- Yes and he will be exposed again ... (avg 8.5 in testing conditions)
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showpost.php?p=5286685&postcount=7909

(Asad will shine, just for record)
Since when you have been such a big fan of Asad. Do you realize, Asad is hogging Malik's place.... aT #5/#6. If Asad is out of the team, Malik may be in.

Umeeed pe dunia qayum hai!

WL there should be a campaign to get Malik a test recall. We are promised he will average 60+ over 8 years and match YK of 2004-2011. Why are wasting such a great player.

fixed..

by the way miandadrules, those two centuries were amazing. I remeber his hooked six off mcgrath at perth! the commentators were drooling!!

It was a thing of beauty. I have never seen anyone man-handle McGrath like that. The rest of the batsmen were so scared of the bowling, they were backing away to leg before the ball had been released, but not our Sialkot Sher.

What I admire most about Malik is his humility. While the rest, fight, cheat and back bite to stay in the team; some even getting politicians to intervene, he has remained austere.

You never hear him bragging about his performances. Can you imagine if Younis Khan ever scored a century in England, we would never hear the end of it.

WL there should be a campaign to get Malik a test recall. We are promised he will average 60+ over 8 years and match YK of 2004-2011. Why are wasting such a great player.

Your mistaken.

Malik isn't going to match Younis, he's going to surpass him.

So I guess that would make him a contender for the greatest batsman of his generation.

Mover over Tendulkar and Ponting.