Sohail Tanvir as captain in ODI/T20I?

The fact that he is the top scorer, and the top wicket-taker for the Zouks says it all.

Just saying.
For who!? The Zouks, LOL! :)))

Even Malik is doing good in the CPL. Malik, Farhat, etc. all do good domestically. We all know how they perform when it comes to international cricket, though. Same with Tanvir. #justsaying

For who!? The Zouks, LOL! :)))

Even Malik is doing good in the CPL. Malik, Farhat, etc. all do good domestically. We all know how they perform when it comes to international cricket, though. Same with Tanvir. #justsaying

Those guys are domestic bullies. Malik hasn't scored a 50 in forever.

Tanvir always pitches in, and has always impressed me.

:banghead::banghead:
bro yasir arafat is far better allrounder then this *****

Sent from my GT-I9100 using Tapatalk 2

What a cricketer this guy is, a must in T20s (Captain). :sohail

It's about time we had a bowler as captain. I'd like to see junaid as the odi and t20 captain

Sohail Tanvir should be made Captain of T20 Team

The T20 Series against Australia will be the First T20 series for Pakistan after the 2014 T20 WC disaster
a new shape has to be given to the T20 Squad of Pakistan . we Do not need short term captain's like Ajmal, Afridi neither a immature ones like Umar Akmal or Shahzad who are still not able to handle themselves forget about how will they handle the team . the Best person to lead this team keeping the future in mind is Sohail Tanvir . he is a excellent T20 player has played all over the world in every T20 league. captaincy experience with Rawalpindi Rams , is not old enough neither too young . if given support he will turn out to be a very good captain for Pakistan in T20 Format. however i will never ask for him to be selected in One Day format . Also several changes need to be made in the T20 Team

This will be my 15 for upcoming series both against Australia and Newzealand
1.Fakhar Zaman
2.Sharjeel Khan
3.Ahmed Shahzad
4.Mohammad Hafeez
5.Umar Akmal (w/k)
6.Shahid Afridi
7.Sohail Tanvir (c)
8.Saeed Ajmal
9.Umar Gul
10.Junaid Khan
11.Mohammad Irfan
12.Sohaib Maqsood
13.Hammad Azam
14.Raza Hasan
15.Haris Sohail

Yes .thats what i wanted to hear!

I dont really care about t20 though.. make azhar ali t20 captain. I wont mind.

Misbah Brearley should be our T20 captain. It's disrespectful how he's not the captain of our T20 team, A team, under 19 team, under 15 team, woman's team, blind team and the Karachi Dolphins team. If he can be our test and ODI captain despite doing the worst job possible, then why double standards with T20I captaincy?

Sohail Tanvir's Captaincy

Not even in one game he has sent Mohammad Amir who is a better batsman than sohail tanveer himself, jamal anwar, yasir Arafat and yasim murtaza . Is it Professional Jealousy ? Professional Insecurity ? Misusing Captain's Powers ?

The batsman who like Abdul razzaq almost won a match against NZ which we had lost with his 79 runs innings hitting Daniel vettori for 3 sixes in his peak when he was most economical and accurate bowler of the world . How Do you see him not sending Amir to bat in any of 5 matches ?

Hyderabad gave chances to 2 youngsters today in this dead rubber to test young players of region and to give them a chance to express their talent and ability . And Sohail Tanveer ? Despite Pindi being out of the tournament did not give chance to any new player . The whole tournament he did not give a single game to Mohammad Rameez who was the best fast bowler of a domestic T20 event 2,3 years ago and was dropped from Pindi squad next game . Is this professionalism ? Ethically these manuvers are right ? Justified ? What do you say ?

These players who have wore Country's star on their heart on their chest , are they role models for youngsters ? This Captain this person is a role model and inspiration for domestic players of Attock , Rawalpindi , Talagung , Taxilla , Wah , Mandi Bahauddin ?

Contribute to this thread for a good cause . For Pakistan Cricket .

He thinks about his selection first. Well human nature it is, up to Rawalpindi management to change captain but who is available? Classy left Hander? :yk

Poor captain and selfish as anything. Keeping more deserving players out for his ego as he knows that they will be better than himself.

Pakistan is really a graveyard for people with attitudes and egos and who can't see anyone progressing more than them.

Absolutely despise this man when he is leading.

Make CLH the captain.

Selfish and poor captaincy by him. Don't know why poor Rameez didn't get a single match

Selfish cricketers do it.

Azhar isn't in Pak T20 team. He is national team Odi captain , test captain in line. You may have issues with his captaincy or performance in T20 but you won't associate this type of che_ap stuff from him.

He seems to be close to Shakil Sheikh and the other goons at RRCA.

Hammad Azam really needs to find some other team IF he still wants to impress the selectors. Today he got a proper chance for the first time in 5 years and he looked good, played a good hand.

I'm more fussed about him taking Amir off after 1 over...

Hammad Azam really needs to find some other team IF he still wants to impress the selectors. Today he got a proper chance for the first time in 5 years and he looked good, played a good hand.

He has mistreated Amir in bowling aswell intentionally . No way you take Amir out of the attack after one over. When he bowls one good over next over batsman has to take a chance to score as it is T20 he removes him from the attack.

Shakeel Sheikh is linked with ICA.

Not even in one game he has sent Mohammad Amir who is a better batsman than sohail tanveer himself, jamal anwar, yasir Arafat and yasim murtaza . Is it Professional Jealousy ? Professional Insecurity ? Misusing Captain's Powers ?

The batsman who like Abdul razzaq almost won a match against NZ which we had lost with his 79 runs innings hitting Daniel vettori for 3 sixes in his peak when he was most economical and accurate bowler of the world . How Do you see him not sending Amir to bat in any of 5 matches ?

Hyderabad gave chances to 2 youngsters today in this dead rubber to test young players of region and to give them a chance to express their talent and ability . And Sohail Tanveer ? Despite Pindi being out of the tournament did not give chance to any new player . The whole tournament he did not give a single game to Mohammad Rameez who was the best fast bowler of a domestic T20 event 2,3 years ago and was dropped from Pindi squad next game . Is this professionalism ? Ethically these manuvers are right ? Justified ? What do you say ?

These players who have wore Country's star on their heart on their chest , are they role models for youngsters ? This Captain this person is a role model and inspiration for domestic players of Attock , Rawalpindi , Talagung , Taxilla , Wah , Mandi Bahauddin ?

Contribute to this thread for a good cause . For Pakistan Cricket .

what about m,nawaz why was he drop???

Who is Shakil Sheikh? [MENTION=46895]sunnykhan[/MENTION] also mentioned him in relation to ST couple of days ago.

Does anyone have more information on Shakil Sheikh?

Like I said in another thread: This has been pointed out here numerous times by many posters including myself but to no avail. There are quite a few of his blind fans on PP who would not hear anything against this slow-medium trundler who wants to keep his place even if it meant sacrificing likes of Hammad (many times batting ahead oif him and not giving enough chances to him to bowl even when he is blowing well, bringing himself on when cheap wickets are a coming), Amir, others

I laugh every time when someone says he is the best or second best cricketing brain in Pakistan...laanat hai aisi cricket per when mediocre taluunts like Tanvir are termed as kings just like Rameez is called the best commentator from Pak just because he can mumble better english than most and can repeat his steady dose of dated idioms and phrases.

Lastly, if Tanvir was the best T20 bowler in Pak, just because he has some variations than why not include Yasir Arafat and Azhar Mehmood who have tons of variations as well and do well in IPL and other leagues too. Plus they are better all rounders than this tuullaay baaz? And since when did he became 'A Batsman' let alone an All Rounder to start coming before Hammad, Amir, etc?

Who is Shakil Sheikh? [MENTION=46895]sunnykhan[/MENTION] also mentioned him in relation to ST couple of days ago.

Does anyone have more information on Shakil Sheikh?

He is President Islamabad Cricket Association (I think) and is the same leech who called Misbah a geeder (coward or something) and is a known chamcha of some big wigs. He is known to be corrupt as well

thanx man i was thinking i am only crazy cricket fan ..but after joining pakpassion i realize their are many like me u rocks..

You have no idea man :afridi

Welcome to PP and I hope you enjoy your time here inshallah :)

Haha i laughed so hard at his answer when he was asked why he bats above hammad. He replied something along the lines of " as a captain i dont want youngsters to bat in pressure situations, i want to take all the pressure myself"

That was one of the most idiotic things i have ever heard a cricketer say. So if a tailender is a captain, he should come to bat ahead of genuine batsmen like hammad just because he wants to take all pressure. Lol

How harder he tries he cant beat talent of Mohammad Aamir. Aamir does not need Tanvir's support to be selected.

He is one of these guys....(i think its the guy in the middle of first row)

http://www.pcb.com.pk/photos-gallery/featured-images-1/-10.html
Mr. Shakil Ahmed Shaikh
President Islamabad Region
House No. 287, Street No. 76, G - 9/3, Islamabad
Cell: 0301-8555506, Fax: 051-2251504
E-mail: sshakil58@hotmail.com

Here is his twitter: https://twitter.com/ShakilShaikh58

He also is

From his picture he looks like kindaa guy I do not want to mess with.

Apparently he has a son who plays for ISlamabad. He, too is a leg spinner. [MENTION=47981]b[/MENTION]ullet_drive Tumhara Shahzeb tou geyaa kaam sey :)

http://www.pcb.com.pk/players.php?action=view_profile&player_id=2408

Apparently he has some issues with sarfraz nawaz (Who doesnt?)

http://nation.com.pk/E-Paper/Lahore/2015-06-23/page-17/detail-8

Here's why

http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/s...hail-Tanvir-in-World-Cup-squad-Sarfaraz-Nawaz

This thread should have more info on the guy but the youtube videos have been removed
http://www.pakpassion.net/ppforum/showthread.php?170639-Islamabad-Cricket-Association

here hassan cheema sheds some light on shakil shaikh

http://www.espncricinfo.com/blogs/content/story/815311.html

Sohail is turning out to be a reprehensible captain apart from being a mediocre player with poorest of fitness and fielding standards. He hardly has a backing of players and locals these days, which he used to have earlier in his career.

Looks like a diplomatic person so I won't be surprised with his connection with Shakeel Sheikh.

This thread will not be much fun without [MENTION=100663]mussu-100[/MENTION] but I don't think he's very active these days. :sohail

Haha i laughed so hard at his answer
when he was asked why he bats above hammad. He replied something along the lines of " as a captain i dont want youngsters to bat in pressure situations, i want to take all the pressure myself"

That was one of the most idiotic things i have ever heard a cricketer say. So if a tailender is a captain, he should come to bat ahead of genuine batsmen like hammad just because he wants to take all pressure. Lol

I nominate it for the Retarded Quote of the Month, What a Superb and Smart Cricketing Brain he is:yk

Haha i laughed so hard at his answer when he was asked why he bats above hammad. He replied something along the lines of " as a captain i dont want youngsters to bat in pressure situations, i want to take all the pressure myself"

Sohail sahib ye youngsters hein ya murghee ya chirya k bachay ? Jinhein zamanay ki garmi , dhoop , baarish se aap unki mama bun k bacha rahay hein ? Caring m_ther trying to destruct careers and self project own's cricketing brilliance .

:sohail is a very street smart cricketer. Misused by the PCB.

Here is that street smart player giving one of the most idiotic quotes in an interview, ever!

Quote Originally Posted by Madplayer
Haha i laughed so hard at his answer
when he was asked why he bats above hammad. He replied something along the lines of
"as a captain i dont want youngsters to bat in pressure situations, i want to take all the pressure myself"

It was such a a phuntaastic quote, I had to put that in my signature!

I don't ever want Tanvir to play for Pakistan again but I do hope that his name is in the running so we can all have a good laugh. His selfishness is absolutely hilarious. Doesn't even try and hide it. :))

"as a captain i dont want youngsters to bat in pressure situations, i want to take all the pressure myself"

How caring! :)))

been saying it for some years now, glad more people are waking up

After younis there is no current player i hate more than T00l Kit

[MENTION=138980]TalentSpotterPk[/MENTION] You had quoted a post of mine which has been deleted. Could you shed some light as to what you said and which post you quoted?

This Guy ?

Till he is able to run will keep on playing for pakistan .

Who is board of Governer in PCB Represebting ZTBL ?

What is meaning of blue eyed ?

I think whenever he gets very tired he conveys his boss rest me . Than he gets dropped than rants on media and comes back .

One of the most pathetic medium pace bowling in last T20 and worst fielding and still makes the squad ahead of so many decent fast bowlers .

Nauman anwar can be needlessly dropped . But he can't be deservedly dropped .

In every 5 years we have a p_ _ c_i

Rameez raja playing Shoaib mohammad dropped

Imran farhat playing toufeeq umar yasir hameed dropped .

Saleem elahi not playing others playing

But I don't remember any worse example than this current example .

This is injustice at it's extreme heights . God knows whose hands are how much longgg

This thread will not be much fun without [MENTION=100663]mussu-100[/MENTION] but I don't think he's very active these days. :sohail

Will be active soon, just give me another couple weeks. Have some exams coming up.

Tannu will knock some sense into people with his own performances.
[MENTION=57355]pakistanigoneaussie[/MENTION] watch out.

Will be active soon, just give me another couple weeks. Have some exams coming up.

Tannu should wed mannu and retire because now we have found another all-rounder in Annu

Except Annu has biryani issues, and can't bowl for his life.

Tannu weds Mannu (and then) returns.

Yeah Apparently tannu weds mannus every other year. And his returns are worse everytime he steps on the cricket field. :))

I've never seen such a selfless captain as Tanvir who always makes himself a sacrificial lamb. It's not his fault that Hammad can't bat or bowl and Rawalpindi team has chokers in batting.

Yeah Apparently tannu weds mannus every other year. And his returns are worse everytime he steps on the cricket field. :))

So who exactly took three wickets and won the MOTM award in the 1st T20 against Sri Lanka?

I've never seen such a selfless captain as Tanvir who always makes himself a sacrificial lamb. It's not his fault that Hammad can't bat or bowl and Rawalpindi team has chokers in batting.

There is a lot of factually correct information in that.

it's funny to see some fans moaning about why Tanvir bowls ahead of Hammad and Yasir or Amir. Tanvir is the best T20 bowler compare to these three by big margin. The whole world appericiates his brilliant T20 bowling skills, leading wicket taker in IPL first season,superb in CPL,brilliant in world T20s...and what has Hammad and Yasir got?fail to make their national teams.

Precisely. Best T20 bowler in Pakistan.

Obviously MRSN and Mussu-100 (slight doubt he might be Tanvir himself) live on another plannet called the 'Kuukriville' :)

There even saying an 'if' against the great player is crime punsihable by death:steyn

As for the MRSN comment, no one complained (as far as I can see) about Tanvir bowling ahead of anyone; the concern was that he brings himself on the most opportunistic of times and tries to break rythm of others by not allowing them to bowl consecutive overs or taking them off when they are bowling well!

As far as the matter of him coming before any XYZ in that team as a batsman, remember he is that idiot who lost us that ODI in UAE against Autralia (not Irfan since he is a proper tailender)...what a brilliant bat he is just because he can slog once in a blue moon (to leg side, how refreshing and unusual). He actually makes Afridi looks like a reincarnation of Bradman, that is how bad he is as a batsman!

Less said about his fielding, running, and any physical related skills the better; he seems like he is ready to retire any minute because he can barely even stand or field a straight ball in the ground! Most of the time, Pak captains must be thinking where to hide to him, where to hide him.

Why is Air Traffic Marshal T00l Kit about to land a plane ?

I have exams too but have to keep up to date with Team Man, etc. Always some entertainment. Welcome back.

Waiting for Tannu to win us the WCT20, as he's the 'best bowler'... :13:

As for the MRSN comment, no one complained (as far as I can see) about Tanvir bowling ahead of anyone; the concern was that he brings himself on the most opportunistic of times and tries to break rythm of others by not allowing them to bowl consecutive overs or taking them off when they are bowling well!

it's T20s not ODIs or tests where you allow bowlers to bowl a long spell. I've seen many captain even Dhoni bowling one overs spell in T20s, saving a few overs of your best bowlers for death overs isn't a bad idea..you don't want to make the same mistake Sarfraz made in the final by bowling out his best bowlers around 14 overs and in the end it proved to be a big mistake as karachi failed to defend big total. Batsmen in T20 these days play first few overs with extra cautious especially if the bowlers are good one to save wickets so that's one of the reason why captain take off their best bowlers early on..

That is a very limited and as it pleases you kind of view...when the team is getting flogged, Tanvir is not the one bowling at all, when there are easy wickets on offer, he is the first one bowling.

Let's not discuss his batting or fielding capabilities which you don't seem too keen to defend anyway...or probably they are not defendable even in your view as well :)

That is a very limited and as it pleases you kind of view...when the team is getting flogged, Tanvir is not the one bowling at all, when there are easy wickets on offer, he is the first one bowling.

Let's not discuss his batting or fielding capabilities which you don't seem too keen to defend anyway...or probably they are not defendable even in your view as well :)

He isn't a great batsman but he has the ability to clear the ropes unlike RR's lower order batsmen. You remember the game against Australia but do you remember the game against NZ that Misbah was about to choke again but Sohail Tanvir won us by hitting fours and also sealed the series. His CPL team also uses him as pinch hitter sometimes and I don't think Sohail Tanvir is captain of his team in CPL.

To be honest, wasn't a bad choice as T20 Captain - easily better than the current one.

But, ever since he has declined as a player, I can see his efforts to improve his stats by using his Captain status, which is never a good sign. This type of players often lead the side with insecurity & try to improve own stats - est example I can give was Rameez Raza in mid 90s. He has vast experience of playing in several leagues & his unique bowling style (with swing) was quite handy in a 4 overs game; besides he can clear the rope if anything is on leg & drifting down; but oblate, I don't see him making even the XV squad - which for me is the first criteria of choosing a Captain. A Captain MUST be an automatic choice in playing XI as long as he is fit.

Many here mocked AZ bhai when this thread was started (don't worry [MENTION=19532]AZ[/MENTION] people also mocked visionaries like Mandela and MLK in their early days :) ) however could Tanvir be a credible captaincy candidate for the T20 side post Afridi? Perhaps so.

Solid spell of bowling. Best T20 bowler in Pakistan. Hopefully our next T20 captain.

One of the best brains in our team along with Mian Malik.

He has proved again why he is the best T20 bowler we have.