South Africa end Day 1 at 123/2 after bowling Pakistan out for 177

For someone who is just 27 , why does one get the feeling Amir has poor stamina . Longest spell in Test bowled by him in say last 2 years , does anyone recall that ?

Another thing I often see with Pakistan is that the bowlers lose heart very easily when the batting fails like this. When the batsmen give something to work with they bowl with a different vigor.

even since pak playing cricket this is the case.. any bowler 'll lose hope in that manner. When no scoreboard pressure anyone can bat freely

Pakistan has wasted new ball, I am sorry not wasted but gifted to SA...

Are you sure about the last line?🤪

Yes. SAF have to bat last and that is a huge factor in test matches these days. I know you will bring up the last match here but I don't think the target for SAF will be 148 here.

It’s really difficult to compete when you lose top 5 for a score less than opponent’s openers put. To make SAF bat 2nd time effectively and bring Yasir in equation, max PAK can allow is 327; then bat their best 2nd innings since Gabba to put at least 375. Then we are talking on Yasir defending 225 on a Day 4-5 track.

This is precisely why I have been saying all along that the best chance for Pakistan to win a Test match here is if they get ultra green pitches like the one they got at Centurion. This is because it does two things for Pakistan:

1) Uplifts Pak's mediocre bowling attack.
2) SA's batting potency reduces.

SA have done well here and produced a great batting wicket. Reduced the effectiveness of Pakistan's bowling and they already know that Pakistan's batting cannot score even on cement pitches while their own batting benefits from this pitch.

The first test match was the best chance for Pakistan and they squandered it. They can now hope that JoBurg pitch is very similar to the first test match and they get a chance to bowl first.

This is precisely why I have been saying all along that the best chance for Pakistan to win a Test match here is if they get ultra green pitches like the one they got at Centurion. This is because it does two things for Pakistan:

1) Uplifts Pak's mediocre bowling attack.
2) SA's batting potency reduces.

SA have done well here and produced a great batting wicket. Reduced the effectiveness of Pakistan's bowling and they already know that Pakistan's batting cannot score even on cement pitches while their own batting benefits from this pitch.

The first test match was the best chance for Pakistan and they squandered it. They can now hope that JoBurg pitch is very similar to the first test match and they get a chance to bowl first.

That’s common formula of any upset, particularly in Test. The shorter the game is, the gap between 2 uneven sides reduces. If Test cricket was played for 7 days & 3 innings each, Lloyd’s WIN might have gone unbeaten in a Test for 12 years.

PAK has absolutely no chance at J’burg - I’ll be more than happy to be proven wrong for a large humble pie. It’s bouncier, faster and ball kicks (spongy bouncy), from good length - exactly 180 degree from UAE dross. PAK pacers will bowl wrong length, least said about batting is safer and st J’burg close to 80% dismissals are done through catching - something (fielding) PAK players don’t enjoy, neither passionate about and that’ll cost them in crunch moments.

Ramiz wants to replicate Aussies in South Africa. Give that man a medal. Sarfraz to become Gilly. Fakhar to become Hayden. Azhar to become Ponting. Shafiq to become Steve Waugh.

Rabada here definitely looked tired & if Faf is worried about his main pacers workload , why did he not pick Keshav in place of a batsmen ? Philander at 8 is being really defensive .
Lead under 100 now , let us see what a spinner does here .

This is why I don't rate 120kph trundlers. However skilled they might be, they get found out eventually.

First NZ, now here, Abbas isn't looking as big a threat.

Apparent 'Cape Town specialist' and most hyped bowler of last year Abbas is being manhandled by Markram.

Back to back fours, Abbas currently struggling, hoping for him to find his mojo soon...:four

It's so depressing watch Pakistan play test cricket these days. No passion, no standout players. Pity honest triers like Babar, Yasir and Abbas..

It's a sign of how much Hashim bhai has declined in the last 4 years. This trundler attack wouldve been smashed left, right and centre by a peak #

Sanga was unique - at 35+, still was world’s leading No. 3; but more or less 4 best No. 3 of history (from 1960s) faded away by early 30s & moved to lower spot - Kanhai st 32, Greg at 30, Viv at 31, Ponting probably 32/33 ..... Hashim Bhai is close to 35 now - and he is not even remotely close to the 5 names above.

This is something I wrote probably 3 years back in Amla-Sanga thread.

Ramiz wants to replicate Aussies in South Africa. Give that man a medal. Sarfraz to become Gilly. Fakhar to become Hayden. Azhar to become Ponting. Shafiq to become Steve Waugh.

That was such an ignorant discussion he had with Mbangwa lol For one thing they use similar balls, similar bouncier conditions. Besides for the best part SA never offered OZ helpful conditions as it could backfire. OZ having a good record in SA is not at all surprising. Besides they had ATG side for close to 7 or 8 years.

Good luck trying to knock that sense into the thickhead of Rameez. Sometimes I wonder how this guy ended up playing so many matches.

Rabada here definitely looked tired & if Faf is worried about his main pacers workload , why did he not pick Keshav in place of a batsmen ? Philander at 8 is being really defensive .
Lead under 100 now , let us see what a spinner does here .

Bowlers 74-1 failing

This is why I don't rate 120kph trundlers. However skilled they might be, they get found out eventually.

First NZ, now here, Abbas isn't looking as big a threat.

You do realise that this so called 120kph trundler is our best bowler and only about two months earlier cricketers from all over the world were predicting him to become number 1 ranked bowler soon.

I'm sure the current South African bowling line up would knock over Elgars, Markrams, Amlas at will. It's just that Pakistan has faced a much superior bowling attack and our bowling is laying flat to be murdered.

Amir has gone slower than Asif now and pretty harmless, SA is like playing club level attack in their sleep... People will be asking for refund soon, there is no Venom what so ever by our bowlers :facepalm:

Ye Abbas ke saath kya kahaani ho gayi hai boys? :moha

returning after injury I would expect him to get better but having only 3 fast bowlers I am worried may be next game Amir will face injury scare, things are not looking good I expect yasir to get smacked around... Why do I keep coming to watch these guys:dw:dw

Sanga was unique - at 35+, still was world’s leading No. 3; but more or less 4 best No. 3 of history (from 1960s) faded away by early 30s & moved to lower spot - Kanhai st 32, Greg at 30, Viv at 31, Ponting probably 32/33 ..... Hashim Bhai is close to 35 now - and he is not even remotely close to the 5 names above.

This is something I wrote probably 3 years back in Amla-Sanga thread.

Yeah Sanga seemed to age very slowly. Had cat like reflexes even at the age of 37. Hashim bhai does not have the reflexes of his youth but against the pace of this attack he has that extra bit of time . He can really make it count and score a big hundred here.

Australia was hammered 1-3 in the last series in SA. SA is still a tough place to tour. India had the best chance to win. Lack of practice, pathetic selection cost the series.

Trundlers of highest order... I thought we were bad last time, we are at same level now :acp

They will have to self-destruct very badly not to secure a significant lead here. All they need is two remaining batsmen to score 50+, and they have plenty of quality waiting in the pavilion. You can't win Test matches by getting bundled for 177 batting first on a 250+ wicket.

........ not unless you're playing the Boyz!!!

I'm sure the current South African bowling line up would knock over Elgars, Markrams, Amlas at will. It's just that Pakistan has faced a much superior bowling attack and our bowling is laying flat to be murdered.

Bowlers not good?, why played long tail for them?

Wo bhai sahab jo apni marzi se ball krte thay was still a better bowler 132 to 140kmph makes difference

Batting paradise.trail under 100.
They will bat tomorrow,whole day and possibly even first session of the 3rd day and give us a target of 300+ and roll us out for under 200.

You do realise that this so called 120kph trundler is our best bowler and only about two months earlier cricketers from all over the world were predicting him to become number 1 ranked bowler soon

That's my point. It is near impossible for a 120kph bowler to stay threatening in international Cricket. He had a good start, but hard part starts now. Abbas needs atleast another 10kph pace to live up to the expectations people have today.

those who are writing off Abbas, can they tell me what philander did in the game?

Our bowlers should do better than this miserable attempt but then again they'd have little chance because the pitch is quite flat. So frustrated with our batsmen.They gave up on this amazing chance. They have only themselves to blame.

Fitness levels are highly questionable for some of the pak bowlers. They could barely maintain 135 kph for even 20 odd overs in this weather. Already dropped to 127 kph. Bumrah was clocking 145k late in evening at temperature of 38 degree cg. So could Starc and Cummins.

There's not a single ball where I can feel there might be a wicket around. At least throw the ball to Yasir! He might create chances

That's my point. It is near impossible for a 120kph bowler to stay threatening in international Cricket. He had a good start, but hard part starts now. Abbas needs atleast another 10kph pace to live up to the expectations people have today.

then how philander is successful? he bolwed 120-125 and went he said aahhh it when to 127? Its about getting your length right. Abbas is struggling right now may be not in rhythm

I wonder if it was wise to rush Abbass back so quickly after an injury

Fitness levels are highly questionable for some of the pak bowlers. They could barely maintain 135 kph for even 20 odd overs in this weather. Already dropped to 127 kph. Bumrah was clocking 145k late in evening at temperature of 38 degree cg. So could Starc and Cummins.

Amir was bowling 145 Kph on the last tour to Australia and 150 in 2010.

then how philander is successful? he bolwed 120-125 and went he said aahhh it went to 127? Its about getting your length right. Abbas is struggling right now may be not in rhythm

He gets zip off the surface at probing length. Not all 127 kphs are the same. Release point, angle, wrist cocking, seam position, seam movement so many variables can make one 127 kph ball better than another 127 kph ball.

Sorry to say but whoever said these lads would get into the Indian team needs to think again

He gets zip off the surface at probing length. Not all 127 kphs are the same. Release point, angle, wrist cocking, seam position, seam movement so many variables can make one 127 kph ball better than another 127 kph ball.

And Abbas don't have all that?

Considering their bowling resources, Abbas is cannon fodder for South African batsmen.

I don’t see him troubling England again as well. They took him lightly.

It's easy to criticize the bowling, but the fact is the pathetic batting has let the team down once again. The bowlers also need something to work with.

And here comes knee jerk reactions.....2 extremes on PP forum

1- sky is falling and end of world
Vs
2- one 50 or 4 wickets and We are the best..

:maqsood:maqsood