South Africa v India | 1st Test | Centurion | 16-20 Dec 2010

Ha ha.Maybe but atleast we should give a fair chance till end of 3 matches,before concluding for sure that among top 3 nobody deserves the no1 spot now,as each play in home only well.

No truth in that. South Africa have a very good away record in recent years. Certainly India haven't been us in their backyard for many years.

Could not Win against Pakistan @ UAE. They were Clear Favorite in that Series Weren't they?

I think I read somewhere that Amla is averaging over 500 against India in 2010!

At this rate, Jacques will get to 50 hundreds before Sachin gets there :P. I kid, but I couldn't be more happy that my man is racking up all these runs this year :)

Sreesanth doing a broad. Except he didn't aim for the face. Good on him!

indeed...they have generally been pretty decent away from home in general..as far as i can remember since 2007 (correct me if im wrong)

beaten india ,pak away,
aus away, wi home and away(??) not sure there..
cant remember if they beat england away?

but they have been ok..

then again the above could be totally wrong?lol..

Yaar for past 2 years i think except for west indies,they have drawn series everywhere(and lost to aus home),.That is a good record but not a outstanding one.India hasnt gone much.They have gone to sl drawn series,nz win series before that.If india lose this series and in england,i will accept india does not deserve to be there.If india win in england,again nobody deserves to be there,because england did a good job in your country.

I am glad I am not listning to the biased Kepler Wessels right now. I remember that idiot from the UAE series and he just spoke about SA all the time. And I am sure he must be doing the same now.

Sreesanth to Amla, no run, Sree lands one on a length around off stump, Amla gets behind the line and blocks. Sree stares at Amla. If the aliens were seeing this, they'd think India were completely on top here.

cricinfo team is down to desperate measures to keep readers interested in the commentary!

I repeat my question which I raised earlier today:

Can SA reach 400 today?

It reminds me of England in the 2005 Ashes.

They will give probably bat till a lead of 500 till tomorrow evening.Give last 15 or 20 overs for sewag and gambhir.

Play Whole day Tomorrow and Get a lead of 500+ and they Go to the field to Kill the Indian Batting lineup.. That should be the plan SA might have right now..

Sreesanth is legend.

Remember what he did last time in South Africa -

[utube]tCrn2CpHOiM[/utube]

SA lead by 230!

India need a miracle to get SA batsmen out without piling on another 100 r so. Its early in the test match, so it will be interesting to see if Smith declares and try to get the Indians out or just pile on a massive lead and hope that SA doesn't have to bat again in this match. I think the second option is a little more dangerous as Indians will fancy an escape if there are less then two days left to play.

What a nightmarish start to the tour. It's looking ominous right now. Heading for an innings defeat. I hope we show some fight in the 2nd innings.

Looking forward to watch the highligts later in the evening with hot pizza! :)

Could not Win against Pakistan @ UAE. They were Clear Favorite in that Series Weren't they?

Those wickets were so docile the west indies of the 80's couldn't bowl out zimbabwe blind team under 13 c's on it.

I mean we left them chasing over 400 while declaring 2 or 3 wickets down both games. It's not like we were out played. Pathetic pitches.

And next people will point to the fact we drew with England forgetting we had them nine down in two matches hundreds of runs behind for them to draw. These two things cost us major points. We'll discuss the greatness of lack there of regarding India after they are done with this tour, australia and England.

Those wickets were so docile the west indies of the 80's couldn't bowl out zimbabwe blind team under 13 c's on it.

I mean we left them chasing over 400 while declaring 2 or 3 wickets down both games. It's not like we were out played. Pathetic pitches.

And next people will point to the fact we drew with England forgetting we had them nine down in two matches hundreds of runs behind for them to draw. These two things cost us major points. We'll discuss the greatness of lack there of regarding India after they are done with this tour, australia and England.

Whole of 2010, SA have won only one series vs the number 8 team. Your record in last 2 years reads 7 wins, 5 losses and 6 draws!! Last 2 home series that you played you could not win( 7 home tests, 2 won) :P

Looking forward to watch the highligts later in the evening with hot pizza! :)

first time in ages I have decided to miss the highlights of a Test match :(

this is been very poor for us , it was expected we would struggle in the first test ..but they way we are giving up without a fight , is a little difficult to digest .

SA are good against ZIM/IND/BANGLA AND other minnows.
Against aussies, they are no shows.

I just don't understand when a team has a good start, for example 111/1 why people start talking about 500+, 700+?

It only takes one good spell from a bowler and you are suddenly 160/4 and eventually all out for 280.

Probably because in this case it will be 500 odd, unless Harbadulkar takes 10fer bowling from both ends in partnership with himself.

Another few hundred runs with 8 wickets in hand, 600+ doesn't seem so far off now.

Another Awesome day. Just what the doctor ordered. As I expected SA destroying the mediocre indian medium pace trundlers to all parts. SA should declare sometime tomorrow with a 400 lead and skittle India for less than 200. Lets hope for another wonderful day for SA tommorow and SA win by an Innings

India only have themselves to blame. Losing the toss didn't help, but neither did coming in with no warm up games. Tendy actually did well to dig in on a sealing pitch, the rest of his colleagues needed to have some of his application.

Was there truth to rue rumours that Sreesanth and THE MIGHTY AND TALL ISHANT were bowling vicious bouncers at 120 km/h?

did anyone forgot SHEWAG?
Shewag to Steyn: BAAP BAAP HOTA HAI BETA BETA HOTA HAI.

Steyn to Shewag:Steyn to Sehwag, OUT, 83.9 mph, Steyn 1, Sehwag 0! Sehwag left the first two go in the first over. Can't hold back this time. Gets one on a length, landing outside off and moving away a touch. He tries to go up and over with the upper cut. Hashim Amla was lurking at third man, not all the way back to the boundary. He was there specifically for this shot. Sehwag was not entirely to the pitch of it, and ended up scooping it in the air. Amla snaffles it. SA have struck a huge blow.

V Sehwag c Amla b Steyn 0 (9m 3b 0x4 0x6) SR: 0.00

Steyn ab bata kon beta aur kon baap

surprised to see Unadkat didn't get much turn and spin on this wicket :akhtar

but seriously india might aswell play with 3 spinners and let zak have a go with his 75+mph deliveries.

350-400 runs Lead will be good. SA will look for a innings Win against the no.1 Team :))

after beating newzland in an inning. that will be some record. if some one can confirm has there any record that a team lost by inning after just winning by an inning in last test.

Dravid on Kallis :"We were hoping he would be spending time looking in the mirror so he might not score as many runs". "The hairstyle has changed, but the batting hasn't."

S.A are pretty much looking to bat once in this game so they should aim for another 2 or maybe 2.5 sessions of batting, get total up to 600 and then try and humilate India into submittion on day 4,

Its going to be very tough for India to save match from here!

S.A are pretty much looking to bat once in this game so they should aim for another 2 or maybe 2.5 sessions of batting, get total up to 600 and then try and humilate India into submittion on day 4,

Its going to be very tough for India to save match from here!

Rain is predicted after today so we have hope...

"We are waiting..."
"We're waiting..."
"Ons wag..."
"Bring it on!"
"South Africa is waiting. Bring it on."

After the first couple of days of the Test:

"South Africa is still waiting. Is India here yet?"