South Africa vs Pakistan 2nd ODI: 1st Innings

great stuff by pakistan so far.

all we need now is the traditional singing.

way ho way ho way ho ha hai koi hum jaisaaaa

everybodyy!!!

Nicely guided to third man for a single by Yousuf.

149-2 after 24 overs.

300 definately looking on the cards and probably more.

Graeme Smith brought into the attack now... What is happening here ?

Three short balls not hit with enough timing to get more then a single- seems to be slowing down this pitch.

i just want those who said younis khan is useless in onedayers to come back and tell me why they think so???? the guy has been consistent in onedayers for past 12 months and has done it overseas too....what is more his strike rate has been extremely good!

It's been a great effort by our batsmen thus far Mashallah. Barring Kami's unlucky decision( Its time Bucknor retreated to the confines of his armchair in WI!!), MoYo and Younus have really turned on the class show haven't they.

Halfway mark and 154-2 with both batsmen set-- Great 4 by Younis again - short and pulled again

Graeme Smith brought into the attack now... What is happening here ?
SA has a pop gun attack and captaincy has been very poor. the bowlers need to be dropped. bring in jojo and billo.

Short form Kallis and pulled for 4 by Younis. Easily put away.

Another single stolen, call it daylight robbery even!!!

You can now watch an animated representation of our commentary on at Cricinfo 3D. It uses all our scoring data to render a 3d representation of the game, with various camera angles for you to play around with. It's a beta version.

Any of you guys tried it out? It doesn't run to well on my connection here. Though it is quite fast. Not updated very regularly.

Worked away for a single on the onside by Yousuf.

Smith is not a bad bowler, can keep it at a good length. But two class batsmen at the crease now, they'l probably go after him in the next over!

ahmadrulz said:
You can now watch an animated representation of our commentary on at Cricinfo 3D. It uses all our scoring data to render a 3d representation of the game, with various camera angles for you to play around with. It's a beta version.

Any of you guys tried it out? It doesn't run to well on my connection here. Though it is quite fast. Not updated very regularly.

It will slow everything else down.. but still a nice little product.

PlanetPakistan said:
against the best fielding team in the world....and apparently Yousuf is suppose to be a poor runner

Yousuf's problem in terms of running between wickets has been his judgment, rather than speed between them. Today that has been superlative.

TheSaint said:
Three short balls not hit with enough timing to get more then a single- seems to be slowing down this pitch.

Relax Saint! Its the ball which is getting older. The pitch wouldn't slow down in the span of 20 odd overs!

Younis playing brilliantly here proved me wrong in this game. The final score should be in the 330 region atleast if these two stay in for 10 more overs.

Short and pulled for a single, good fielding by Kemp on the boundary.

Yousuf's problem in terms of running between wickets has been his judgment, rather than speed between them. Today that has been superlative.

Touch wood! MoYo is pure CLASS.

Oooo, nearly edged to the keeper, good ball from Smith.

we should be able to double our score from our 30 over mark ... so if we have 180 in 30 overs... thats 360 in 50 overs..

Razzaq/Afridi/Mahmood ..

ahmadrulz said:
Relax Saint! Its the ball which is getting older. The pitch wouldn't slow down in the span of 20 odd overs!

Moisture dries down quickly my friend in these very hot conditions and it is all good for us as when the lights come on the ball moves around a bit more in the air and if the pitch is slower it is difficult to score-off. ;-)

Smith just about managing to keep Moyo and yk quiet... how long will that last?

Steered to third man for an easy single by Younis

Another easy single taken to fine leg, Yousuf this time

these two seem to be getting slightly frustrated..trying to connect, but not exactly getting the desired result.

Overpitched and driven in the air over long off by Younis for a maximum!!! A beauty of a shot!!!

SIXXXX off a good length too... no slower balls or bouncers to these two :D

Down the leg side and 2 runs are taken.

172-2 after 28 overs.

PlanetPakistan said:
expect M.Yousuf to dance down the track at least once in the next 2 overs

Its gonna happen soon, he danced down in the last over but smith dropped it short.

Slower ones being picked up well by Younis so far as he is so well set MashaAllah but the idea is right to take the pace-off the ball and let them make mistakes.

Flighted delivery and driven to long on for a single by Yousuf

Aren't the Y's playing a little too slow? We have Inzi, Afridi, Razzaq, Malik and Azhar to follow. If we dont make 150 off last 10 overs I'll be disappointed.
Dont forget Gibbs is back who chased down 434...their batting is very strong and our bowling not so.

Younis tries a sweep, hits the pad, Smith appeals but not out.

Short and slighty wide and cut away through point for 2.

177-2 after 29 overs

Pakistan in an excellent position.

before 2004, yk was a poor batsman, had no ODI century to his name..then came asia cup 04 where he scored his first century, 143 against hong kong..as they say, he hasnt looked back since!

177-2 from 29 - great stuff MashaAllah.
Another 6 overs from these two in a similar vein and we will InshaAllah near 350.

No ball and two runs taken to long on, good running.

If Afridi, Razzaq and Mahmood all contribute and hit well in the death, then a huge score is definitely on