Sreesanth says he's inspired by Mohammad Amir’s comeback after court lifts fixing ban (update #520)

Wasim was never caught red handed. There were all allegations and you can't ban a player just because you suspect his involvement and neither can you take the word of team mates because a lot of jealousy is involved.

Salim Malik was caught; banned for life. Didn't play again.

Ata Ur Rehman and Abdur Rehman.

His career was also over after match fixing scandal. Played his last match at the age of 21.

#Failpost

Salim Malik was already done by the time he got a life ban, thats why he got a life ban. Rehman was also given a life ban because he wasnt any good.

I would have edited my post (and apologies to Abdur Rehman) but seeing as the mods removed my post I cant.

Seeing as I object to that, I will restate. You say the test of Indian morality comes when one of their stars is caught, and I pointed out Wasim Akram and Ata Ur Rehman as examples of where Pakistan morality was selective. Or perhaps Asif and Akhtar before the 2007 World Cup. Or perhaps that were it left to the PCB, Asif and Amir wouldnt have been punished at all.

It appears Sree was caught with 3 girls in the car when police arrested him in the early hours of yesterday.

Yuvraj may have made his debut two months later but that was only because Jadeja was banned. It is not as if people were calling for Jadeja to be replaced when this scandal broke out.

The point is that the BCCI will not blink before banning *anyone* who is reasonably proven to be involved in match or spot fixing. It is not a test of morality at all. BCCI is not the best example of a moral board (most office bearers are politicians and very corrupt ones) and will never be one. However, it is a very, very smart board. It knows that a year or two of bad results will not hurt it as much as a taint on the game itself. It also knows that people will find new heroes to replace old ones. I don't think near term results for the team matter as much to the board as its ability to maximise the revenue potential from television rights - and bad results do not hurt the attractiveness of Indian cricket as much as the presence of match fixers in the team.

Chavan has apparently confessed while sreesanth is claiming innocence.

Yep. That's what the news I am also getting from my media friends in chennai. It appears Sree has started co-operating with police and has agreed that Jiju was his close friend(cousin).

Yesterday, on Times Now, some panelist asked why were the captain and franchisees not alert enough to see the signals these players were making such as rotating wristbands, setting the field, tucking a towel in your trousers etc. The inimitable Arnab Goswami went on to say it is not a trivial question and why owners and captains dont get suspicious when a bowler goes for 13-14 runs an over.

Salim Malik was already done by the time he got a life ban, thats why he got a life ban. Rehman was also given a life ban because he wasnt any good.

I would have edited my post (and apologies to Abdur Rehman) but seeing as the mods removed my post I cant.

Seeing as I object to that, I will restate. You say the test of Indian morality comes when one of their stars is caught, and I pointed out Wasim Akram and Ata Ur Rehman as examples of where Pakistan morality was selective. Or perhaps Asif and Akhtar before the 2007 World Cup. Or perhaps that were it left to the PCB, Asif and Amir wouldnt have been punished at all.

I have to agree here however, why bring Pakistan into this?

We are talking about how Indian board would deal with this - here is situation and we want to see the outcome.

A lot of stuff happened in the pre Amir/Butt/Asif days which could be classed as non-satisfactory but in todays age, with so much discussion, time and money spent on making sure this doesnt happen again - is there an excuse for BCCI?

Initial investigation suggests that Sreesanth was using a phone number registered in the name of bookie Jiju Janardhan alias Biju and thought he might get away by not using his own phone. Anything goes in this league

“Claiming to be innocent, he put all the blame on Jiju who he said lured him to spot fixing. Jiju was a close friend of Sreesanth and he never spoke on phone much with the pace bowler,” said a source.
http://www.hindustantimes.com/Speci...bated-when-to-swoop/SP-Article10-1061244.aspx

Who needs enemies when you have friends like Sree!

He could certainly use some friends now - but he'd be better off not holding his breath waiting for somebody to come in and bat for him...... His dad slagging off Dhoni did him no favours. Mind boggling really.

Chandila owed money to many, says teammate

M_Id_386296_chandila.jpg
ALTHOUGH they hailed from different cities, Ankeet Chavan, 27, and Ajit Chandila, 29, were teammates long before they came together under the Rajasthan Royals banner, having represented Air India for a number of years. The two spinners are now caught in the same web, arrested on Thursday for alleged spot-fixing during the sixth edition of the IPL.

The similarities, however, end there. Having risen through the ranks in Mumbai's cut-throat cricket circuit, Chavan had finally cemented his place in the Ranji Trophy squad last season with a string of consistent performances, including a sensational spell of 9/23 against Punjab.

Chandila, on the other hand, has been the quintessential journeyman who started his career in Haryana, plied his trade in Delhi's club cricket, before finally getting a delayed taste of success with Rajasthan Royals in the IPL.

Chandila's first-class career has been brief — only two Ranji matches for Haryana. However, according to Air India coach Manoj Sharma, the off-spinner has a knack for developing contacts.

"Chandila always had a patchy reputation. There were times when he wouldn't accompany us. And people often turned up to inquire about his whereabouts as he owed them money," said Deepak Joon, Air India captain. "I am sure he must be getting good money from his IPL contract. But if he was worried about paying his debts, there are safer options," he added.

For Chavan, the spot-fixing allegations couldn't have come at a worse time — he was scheduled to get married in a fortnight. His family members, who were busy with the wedding preparations, are in a state of shock.

"He hardly had time to help with the wedding preparations as he was travelling so much. So we have been running around, trying to make all the arrangements. I cannot express our shock when he called up at around 8.45 am today, saying that he had been arrested by the Delhi Police and was being taken to Delhi," said his elder brother, Nihar Chavan.

Chavan's coach, Satish Samant, said he was not at all money-minded. "Three years ago, he was not part of the Mumbai team... he wanted to pursue an MBA degree. I still cannot believe that he could have done something like this," said Samant.

Having grown up next to Shivaji Park, a cricketing venue steeped in history and tradition, cricket always played an integral role in Chavan's life. "Why will he do this? He is at the peak of his career. He performed brilliantly for Mumbai and this is his best season so far. We are all speechless," said Nihar.

Source:

Bookies also supplied women to players, say cops

It seems it wasn't just money — up to Rs 60 lakh for bowling a crooked over — that was on offer to the Royals players. The transcripts of phone conversations taped by the police allegedly contain evidence to suggest that the arrested bookies also supplied at least two of the cricketers with women. Related: Sreesanth, Chandila, Chavan caught fixing, IPL in a spot

The conversations reveal that two bookies, Manan and Chand, "arranged" women for Sreesanth and Ajit Chandila on at least three occasions, top Delhi Police officers said. The conversations have many references to the times of despatch and arrival of the women, the officers said. Related: Asking rate: 60 lakh for 14 an over

A third player, also of the Rajasthan Royals, too accepted the services of escorts provided by the bookies, the transcripts reveal. But this player was apparently not involved in spot-fixing. Biju alias Jiju, the alleged go-between who has been described as a friend of Sreesanth's, too apparently availed of the escorts' services. One bookie was Rajasthan Royals pacer until last year

Both Sreesanth and Biju had women with them when they were picked up by the police in Mumbai's Khar area in the early hours of Thursday. The two men had allegedly visited the RG's nightclub, and were in separate cars.

Delhi Police Commissioner Neeraj Kumar, who made no reference to this part of their investigations in his press conference, confirmed to The Indian Express: "Yes, such facts of bookies also providing women to two of the arrested players do figure in the transcripts. But we are not pressing any charges on the women in question since they are not connected with spot-fixing."

Kumar's press conference also had references to the "kingpin" of the racket. Top Delhi Police sources said this suspect was called "Salmaan", and he was based in Dubai. The police got their first leads in the spot-fixing case after intercepting this individual's telephone conversations, the sources said.

Police had asked the home ministry in March for permission to tap this man's phone. Sources said Salmaan may or may not be his real name, but confirmed that this individual figured in their database of persons indulging in anti-national activity, and who have connections with the underworld in Dubai and Mumbai.

It was some time in April that investigators picked up conversations between Salmaan and several bookies which clearly indicated that some matches of the forthcoming IPL season would be "fixed", sources said. As the circle of suspects widened, the police sought a second round of permissions from the home ministry.

After Wednesday's match between the Rajasthan Royals and Mumbai Indians ended in Mumbai, the Delhi Police took the unprededented step of informing both the home ministry and IPL organisers of the coming swoop. It was, however, not clear if they were also told who the specific targets of the action would be.

Source:

Cant put my true feelings into words. Hope these guys get hefty fines, jail terms and of course life bans.

i have no doubt that many more players are/were involved in spot-fixing , but catching and proving that is next to impossible..

hope BCCI takes very strong action which makes the players to think twice before they start adventuring

I have to agree here however, why bring Pakistan into this?

We are talking about how Indian board would deal with this - here is situation and we want to see the outcome.

A lot of stuff happened in the pre Amir/Butt/Asif days which could be classed as non-satisfactory but in todays age, with so much discussion, time and money spent on making sure this doesnt happen again - is there an excuse for BCCI?

Well I brought it up because it was exactly the situation the poster was referring to, a board having to confront actions by one of its stars, as opposed to someone disposable.

But it wasnt intended as general disparagement of Pakistan.

I have made a mistake, Ankeet Chavan confesses

Link: http://timesofindia.indiatimes.com/...eet-Chavan-confesses/articleshow/20101896.cms

Tainted Rajasthan Royals cricketer Ankeet Chavan, accused of spot-fixing in the Indian Premier League, confessed on Friday for his role in fixing to Delhi Police special cell.

According to TIMES Now, Chavan's immediate reaction when he was questioned by Delhi Police was, "I did wrong".

However, Deepak Prakash, Sreesanth's lawyer, has said that the Kerala pacer has no knowledge about spot-fixing and is being framed.

The lawyer further added that Sreesanth is innocent, all allegations against him are baseless and they will apply for the bail on Saturday.

The criminal case registered by the Delhi police against the three Rajasthan cricketers for alleged "spot fixing" stands a good chance of yielding the first ever conviction in India for a sporting crime.

nothing new this, ipl is just one big sham about time icc should their metal and step in

You made a mistake, and now pay the price for it, you worthless, disgraceful piece of garbage.

No they did not make a mistake they knew exactly what they were doing, greedy low lives. I see a good future for both of them in Indian politics, Azzarudin is now a politician afterall....................Eda Thendi Sreesantha; reverend Pinarayi Vijayan can now guide you into the corrupt Kerala Politics where you can make 100 times more money than spot fixing in cricket :))) ...............

I'll always be thankful to Bhajji for slapping the taste out of this idiot's mouth. Wish he would not have stopped just there and proceeded to beat this clown black and blue.

And no 5 year bans for these 3, anything less than life bans would be doing injustice to the fans.

Guys there was an un named kiwi who was almost set up a few years ago, he was smart enough to alert IPL officials before things could go any further.

We now know why he needed that money, probably creating a harem somewhere.

I expected this and posted as a doubt in one of my earlier post, yesterday itself. Since sree has got good enough money from cricket and business fronts, Honey Trap or escorts must have been the easier route to lure him to spot fix.

What's more audacious was Sree's father's outburst against MSD and Bhajji for his son's wrong doings and making a sharp U-Turn by evening once Police press meet got over with damning evidence against his son.

These cricketers are young bacheolars with mostly no significant responsibility... I fail to understand what purpose this additional spot fixing money will serve in their life.....
I hope Police is thorough in its investigation. Legal system responds swiftly and BCCI comes really hard on these players.

Indian fans as usual living in fools paradise and trying to ease the feelings of insecurity and hurt by trying to bring in Pakistan and Pak players...look through this whole thread and you will know what I mean.

It barely took 2 posts to start the innuendos/insinuations...shows the love most/all Indian fans have for us...for once, Pak cricket is out of the spotlight (bad one at least) and I am reaching for my popcorns and soda and getting ready for a bumpy but fun ride ;-)

Blast from the past(for those in PP who never watched/read this story before). This holds true even today, after 13 years.

Very interesting old videos from Tehelka expose of 2000. Have a watch how these ex-cricketers reaction to Manoj Prabhakar's allegations #SunnyG, #RvaiBot, #KapilPaaji, #Sidhu

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p>[Archives] First sting on match fixing | Sunil Gavaskar talks about Azharuddin's bizzare purchases in London | <a href="http://t.co/aeuIJMRt9U" title="http://tehelka.com/how-to-fix-greed-2/">tehelka.com/how-to-fix-gre…</a></p>— Tehelka (@tehelkadotcom) <a href="https://twitter.com/tehelkadotcom/status/335316054869954560">May 17, 2013</a></blockquote>

Here's my prediction on one more name that might come out - Ajinkya Rahane.

If this actually happens, then i will share the information, which was given to me before Raj-KKR match in Kolkatta.
I won decent money based upon that information and now i am actually quite curious to know if it was a mere coincidence or was there more than what met the eyes.

Another name would be OA Shah

Rahane's name has been mentioned in some news articles today. Spill.

Totally agree.

We've been soft on fixing. And as a result I believe fixing has not died down as much (or perhaps increased). You need to be harsh, take a no tolerance stand, players will think twice about fixing. Yes it might seem overly harsh, but the long term benefits are worth it.

Our trio many are complaining, punishment was too severe. They all got effectively five years. That's nothing. They could all quite easily play again.

Take a cricketer who is relatively new/not incredible and gets his international chance. Fixing one game in the risk of a 5 year ban doesn't sound too bad if he gets a significant amount of money. The risk could be worth it. What you want to do is to make the risk so great and the punishment so disproportionate that no one will dare try and fix. A life ban for fixing in international and domestic, and suddenly fixing looks like a incredibly undesirable thing to do.

One day we'll learn and come down harsh on fixing. We'll have had too many fixing scandals that we'll eventually learn from it. But doesn't look it's going happen soon.

People go on about talent here. That shouldn't be taken into account with fixing. Fixing is a much better reason to keep someone out of the side than lack of talent.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23BreakingNow">#BreakingNow</a> - Sreesanth confesses to fixing, says he made a mistake <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23iplfixingscandal">#iplfixingscandal</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@timesnow) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesnow/status/335336633933131776">May 17, 2013</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23BreakingNow">#BreakingNow</a> - Bookie Jiju talked him into fixing: Sreesanth to Delhi police<a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23iplfixingscandal">#iplfixingscandal</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@timesnow) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesnow/status/335336924455776257">May 17, 2013</a></blockquote>

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23BreakingNow">#BreakingNow</a> - I have not been framed: Sreesanth to interrogators <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23iplfixingscandal">#iplfixingscandal</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@timesnow) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesnow/status/335336410292817920">May 17, 2013</a></blockquote>

Re: Sreesanth, Chavan and Chandila being questioned in spot-fixing investigation

Was Sreesanth such a big waste? Cricinfo is going on and on about him. He averaged 37. Lol.

Indian fans as usual living in fools paradise and trying to ease the feelings of insecurity and hurt by trying to bring in Pakistan and Pak players...look through this whole thread and you will know what I mean.

It barely took 2 posts to start the innuendos/insinuations...shows the love most/all Indian fans have for us...for once, Pak cricket is out of the spotlight (bad one at least) and I am reaching for my popcorns and soda and getting ready for a bumpy but fun ride ;-)

no one is bring Pakistanis into this fixing saga, few pompous pakistanis themselves started bringing in, what in their view, was superior moral stand of PCB in 2000. They were asking for a befitting reply, which they got in plenty. Now u r trying to turn the table and accusing that Indians brought Pakistan into the discussion.

My advise would while u r munching pop corns, go through the earlier posts and get ur facts right. Its almost a celebration time for pakistani fans :) which is fine, but as they say don't jump too high lest u fallover.

<blockquote class="twitter-tweet"><p><a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23BreakingNow">#BreakingNow</a> - Sreesanth confesses to fixing, says he made a mistake <a href="https://twitter.com/search/%23iplfixingscandal">#iplfixingscandal</a></p>— TIMES NOW (@timesnow) <a href="https://twitter.com/timesnow/status/335336633933131776">May 17, 2013</a></blockquote>

Well atleast we can credit him for being the quickest in fixing history to admit his guilt .Good , now ban him from the game permanently.

How Sreesanth was lured

Sreesanth the biggest name in the betting scam has been in denial mode about his involvement, but has confessed that an attempt was made to lure him. Sreesanth who spent the night in police custody is now being questioned by the Special cell of the Delhi police.

"I was lured by a bookie and his name was Jiju Janardhan. However the pacer refused to have gone ahead with the deal. I was asked to few things by the bookie but I never went ahead with any offer", Sreesanth also told his interrogators.

The Delhi police however claim that Sreesanth who used his friend’s phone was lured by Jiju to meet with two bookies who go by the name Shubham and Jupiter at a hotel in Bombay. They allege that they had assured him of female company which lured him to meet them in the first place.

Delhi police sources tell rediff.com that they have the players in their custody for five days and there is a lot of questioning remaining.

Meanwhile the questioning of the arrested bookies has led to a trail in Tamil Nadu where four bookies with Rs 17 lakh in cash have been arrested.

Source:

It is all a conspiracy, people cannot accept that a Keralite is Indias best fast bowler so they did not give him any games and now they are framing him to destroy his career

Thats not me; thats what the Keralite boys in our office were saying .

It is all a conspiracy, people cannot accept that a Keralite is Indias best fast bowler so they did not give him any games and now they are framing him to destroy his career

Thats not me; thats what the Keralite boys in our office were saying .

India's best fast bowler? He couldn't be Uganda's best fast bowler.

The only positive out of this.Sreesanth will never ever play for India again.Thats such a relief.I hope they found Vinay Kumar fixng as well.

Absolutely.

Only concern is their lawyers do not use any loopholes to get them out. I hope the case by police is water tight, which it seems to be.

BCCI, to me will be very hard on these three to prove that they have zero tolerance on fixing.

These 3 will never put their steps on cricket field again. Rightly so.

I expected this and posted as a doubt in one of my earlier post, yesterday itself. Since sree has got good enough money from cricket and business fronts, Honey Trap or escorts must have been the easier route to lure him to spot fix.

What's more audacious was Sree's father's outburst against MSD and Bhajji for his son's wrong doings and making a sharp U-Turn by evening once Police press meet got over with damning evidence against his son.

I wouldn't blame his father . Sreesanth probably deceived him as he deceived us all.

All blame lies with the accused three Individuals alone and not their family.

India should adapt a pragmatic law system, like in USA where one can cut deals with one of the accused for helping to find other criminals. Do we have that in India?

Sreesanth, Chavan and Chandila being questioned in spot-fixing investigation

: Rajasthan Royals captain #Dravid, co-owner Shilpa Shetty & Raj Kundra have to appear before Delhi police on May 21. #IPLFixing

From twitter

India should adapt a pragmatic law system, like in USA where one can cut deals with one of the accused for helping to find other criminals. Do we have that in India?

In Australia its called Crown Witness, it is a bad thing to do in the crime circle, you dont become a rat, if you did the crime you can put yourself out there but not go behind the ones you did the crime with or disclose what you know. Rumours that Hansie Cronje didnt actually die from a plane mal function but was murdered as he had already named a few in the circle and was about to name a few 'bigger' names. Best scenario would be to WIPE OUT IPL as a whole and let things go back the way it was which was lesser corruption.

Looks like they are gonna question Dravid, Raj and Shilpa Shetty..... Allegedly Underworld was threatening the players with consequences and players have passed this info to management

In Australia its called Crown Witness, it is a bad thing to do in the crime circle, you dont become a rat, if you did the crime you can put yourself out there but not go behind the ones you did the crime with or disclose what you know. Rumours that Hansie Cronje didnt actually die from a plane mal function but was murdered as he had already named a few in the circle and was about to name a few 'bigger' names. Best scenario would be to WIPE OUT IPL as a whole and let things go back the way it was which was lesser corruption.

You're right but it does helps in preventing crimes from happening because the players may afraid of bookies ratting them out and that prevents them getting involved in this crime.

Wiping out IPL is not a solution, it is a step back, in fact IPL helped us in finding out these criminals because I know police are not interested in monitoring Ranji trophy and they can't get the copies of text messages if the match is happening abroad. Besides fixing happened in all leagues sports and never once they banned the league for the mistakes of individuals.

Looks like they are gonna question Dravid, Raj and Shilpa Shetty..... Allegedly Underworld was threatening the players with consequences and players have passed this info to management

Why this info is coming out now? If the management knew this they should have sought ACSU's help or BCCI's help or Police's help, it's as if they are cornered in to doing this, who are they trying to deceive?

I thought we always knew that Sreeshant was a nutcase, but spot fixing? Well I never.

no one is bring Pakistanis into this fixing saga, few pompous pakistanis themselves started bringing in, what in their view, was superior moral stand of PCB in 2000. They were asking for a befitting reply, which they got in plenty. Now u r trying to turn the table and accusing that Indians brought Pakistan into the discussion.

My advise would while u r munching pop corns, go through the earlier posts and get ur facts right. Its almost a celebration time for pakistani fans :) which is fine, but as they say don't jump too high lest u fallover.

Mr. Pungi, issues with eye sight, you cannot see post # 2 ?

Itna bara lecture dainay seh pehlay check hi ker laitaay keh post 2 mein kis nai aur kiya likha hai...sometimes just shutting up helps as well!

Sreesanth, Chavan and Chandila being questioned in spot-fixing investigation

Bookie arrested is former Royals player

One of the bookies arrested, and named as Amit Kumar, is actually Amit Singh , a former Rajasthan Royals player who was released by the franchise last year.

ESPNcricinfo has learned that Singh, a fast bowler who played in several matches in the 2012 season, was picked up for questioning five days ago but was formally arrested on Thursday in connection with the spot-fixing case that also allegedly involves three current Royals players. Singh, 31, has been identified in the first information report (FIR) as "Amit Kumar r/o Ahmedabad, Gujarat".

Singh has now been suspended by the BCCI pending inquiry.

Singh, who resides in the Bopal suburb of Ahmedabad, played 23 IPL games for the Royals between 2009-2012. He was also part of the Gujarat Ranji Trophy team in the 2012-13 season, last playing against Saurashtra . He'd been in the news for having been reported twice for a suspect action during the 2009 IPL.

Source: www.cricinfo.com

http://tehelka.com/how-to-fix-greed-2/

Tapes from the earlier match fixing event around 2001.

For my Pakistani friends, watch Part 1, you will get an idea about why Indians from the 90's rever Sachin Tendulkar

Everyone ribs Sachin because of his fans, the man himself is quality.

Don't think anyone has ever doubted his loyalty to India and the sport. Brilliant role model.

Tendulkar turned diwn a 10mn dollar contract because he had to endorse alcohol.No amount of money can induce him.He gets Z catagory security,doubt any Underworld wala has the guts ti threaten him.

http://tehelka.com/how-to-fix-greed-2/

Tapes from the earlier match fixing event around 2001.

For my Pakistani friends, watch Part 1, you will get an idea about why Indians from the 90's rever Sachin Tendulkar

Tendulkar turned diwn a 10mn dollar contract because he had to endorse alcohol.No amount of money can induce him.He gets Z catagory security,doubt any Underworld wala has the guts ti threaten him.

ppl like sachin dravid and ganguly have always been loyal to the country ...

He can turn down now . in 90s same tendu used to endorse smoking for few $$$$.....

My favorite

Chetan Bhagat: IPL is private teams playing for money. If you think it's more than that, the joke is on you. It's entertainment for TRP. Anything goes.
What is TRP any way?

My favorite

What is TRP any way?

ITs something as TV Ratings prolly how many people watch it on TV....and generally the rating tends to decline the after a week the tourney is kick started also the rating are going down from the last seasons as per my knowledge....

Srinivasan was on tele and said only these three players were involved, their is no evidence against others.
Delhi police is saying it goes a lot deeper.

Srinivasan was on tele and said only these three players were involved, their is no evidence against others.
Delhi police is saying it goes a lot deeper.
You would think you would have learn't by now to not trust anything the mafia says.. :))

Sree's Lawyer seems confident....looks like there is no concrete evidence against sree

ppl like sachin dravid and ganguly have always been loyal to the country ...

Well I am sure no-one questioned that... In the link Lele talks about a match in which the Indian team manager found out about potential fixing by Azhar and Jadeja and relayed the same to Sachin. Sachin then single-handedly won the game/series for India.

Sreesanth versus the World

Did he do it?

For a few years, between 2006 and 2009, I knew Sreesanth better than many of you - in my role as a cricket writer, a friend, and, as he insisted on calling me, an older brother. But on Thursday morning, like millions around the world, I did not have an answer to the question above.

Three days later, I still don't. During all those phone conversations that he and I had over the years, all those meetings - on the cricket field, in his hotel room, at my house - did I ever get the feeling that he would one day be branded a fixer? No. Never.

I did ask him once or twice about betting and match-fixing. I asked whether he had ever heard of these things while playing for India. Rumours, a stray conversation overheard, suspicious characters floating around a team member, anything at all? His "no" was always firm. "What's wrong with you, don't you have anything else to talk about?" he asked me once.

My last conversation with him was in November 2009, when I called him to say that I was relocating to Oman. My first was when I walked up to him in Kingston in 2006 and introduced myself.

"Malayali aano? [Are you a Malayali?]," he asked. My answer made his eyes light up. It was his first overseas tour with the Indian team, and I had just returned to cricket journalism after a gap of many years.

We soon discovered that we were the only people in the entire travelling Indian contingent - players, officials and media - from the southern Indian state of Kerala, speaking the language of the state, Malayalam.

I soon discovered that Sreesanth was an extremely lonely cricketer, with hardly anyone in the Indian team he could call a friend. I represented a generation much before his, and we had little in common, except for the language, but I felt that he was more at ease with me than with his own team-mates. I soon realised that he only wanted to talk to someone, and to be listened to.

Contrary to what most of my journalist friends believed, he never really gave me any "inside dope" about the team. Any such question was almost always countered with, "It's not right on my part to talk about that", or simply, "Why do you want to know?" We usually ended up talking about life, the power of religion, and even issues involving his personal life that no one would really want to tell anyone, let alone a journalist.

As the months passed, and as I travelled more with the team and with Sreesanth, one theme started dominating our conversations. His constant refrain was: Nobody in the team likes me, I have no godfathers to back me.

He complained that since he came from Kochi, a city that was yet to figure on the Indian cricket map then, he was discriminated against, particularly when the team was being selected. He claimed that his cricketing skills came to be noticed only after he moved to Bangalore, and that he had only ever received any significant support at the higher level from one man, Greg Chappell, then the team's coach.

He fumed that some of his team-mates from north India were spreading stories about him, maligning him. In fact, on the 2006-07 tour of South Africa, the crowning moment of his fledgling career, he was more concerned about a story allegedly being spread by some of his team-mates: that he always carried a knife about with him!

Yet, soon enough, if briefly, he became an "established" member of the Indian team. Our conversations became few and far in between, he would often not answer the phone when I called, and after some time stopped returning calls too. Sreesanth the cricketer had become Sreesanth, the dancer, the brand ambassador, the star.

Then came a call, at around 4am one morning. "Brother, you have to come to the hotel. I am in the lobby and there is some breaking news." I was working for ESPNcricinfo in Bangalore then, and rushed to the hotel. There he was, chatting to some TV reporters who he had called too. He claimed that the hotel staff had refused to allot him and a friend a room he wanted, and that they had "misbehaved" with him. He wanted the journalists to do a story about that. I was more interested in the friend, simply because this was the first time he had ever introduced anyone to me as his friend. "That guy was my manager." he later told me.

I never came across that manager again, but I started seeing more such people with Sreesanth. He once came to the National Cricket Academy in Bangalore with one such friend, and left with him. It was never the same person, though all of them were young, hair gelled in the latest fashion, sporting branded clothing. "Who are these guys?" I asked him once. "Don't worry, I know them well," he said.

"Just make sure your friends don't land you in any more trouble." I told him once, days after he hit the headlines for a party in an apartment in Bangalore that ended in violence.

At around that time, I happened to discuss Sreesanth with one of his former India team-mates. "He is so naïve. He will do anything for his friends," this player said to me. "I have once seen him hand over whatever cash he had in his pocket to someone who approached him with a sob story."

Sreesanth's stint with the Indian team did not last long, and he was dropped.

"I will come back," he said to me. "I will now focus only on cricket, nothing else." It was a line I would hear repeatedly from him, even as he appeared on tacky TV dance shows, in fashion shoots, and gossip columns linking him to various Indian movie actresses and models.

In between, there was the incident with Harbhajan Singh, where once again Sreesanth told me that he was being discriminated against. "He punched me, but everyone is supporting him. They are putting pressure on me not to take up the issue any further," he said.

By now our interactions were limited to the few times we met at the cricket academy. Then one day in November 2009, I tried his number. To my surprise, he answered. He wished me luck, and ended the conversation with his usual line: "Pray for me, brother."

I tried to stay in touch with him later on the phone and on email, but there was no response. Life went on, his and mine. Yes, he did keep popping up on my computer and TV screens, under various headlines, some good, some bad. And most of them brought a smile to my face. Until last Thursday morning.

http://www.espncricinfo.com/magazine/content/story/636661.html?CMP=chrome

Great article, this one.

One more arrest in IPL spot fixing...

one more arrest in IPL spot fixing,,, a very famous actor Dara singh Son Vindu Dara Singh. he has very close connection with players,according to media.. he found watching match seating with MS Dhoni Wife...

I saw him a few times with Sakshi in the stands.

Apparently, he only knows them. but as an actor and son of famous personality...knowing sree's cousin should not be a far fetch...

Re: Sreesanth, Chavan and Chandila being questioned in spot-fixing investigation

Being Son of Dara singh and he has himself acted in a number of films its no secret that he knows many cricketers and actors etc.