Sri Lanka vs England | 4th QF | WC'11 | Colombo | 26/3/11

At least we finished our one sided QF much sooner than this, and put everyone out of their misery!

Colly's daughters' wishes coming true.

Srilanka are looking good and they would be playing NZ in the semis on this ground and on current form they would be a good fancy for the finals! Seems like it would be an all sub-continental final!

This England side against SL is just as bad as
WI against Pakistan.

Just as impotent, just as clueless, just as...

Sheikh 'Pitiful' Chilli

If this was Pakistan, everybody and his maternal
uncle would be yelling "Fixed Match" from the roof-
tops. Only, there is a sinking understanding in the
English supporters that their side is really this bad.

Sheikh 'Kuch Keh Bhee Nahi Saktey' Chilli

Let's have Uppal Taranga's 100 and then
match over.

Sheikh 'Dilshan is Tired Of Bashing England' Chilli

If this was Pakistan, everybody and his maternal
uncle would be yelling "Fixed Match" from the roof-
tops. Only, there is a sinking understanding in the
English supporters that their side is really this bad.

Sheikh 'Kuch Keh Bhee Nahi Saktey' Chilli

True.

Where are the ton and a 1/2 English supporters
on PP ?.

Probably getting trashed in the local pub.

Sheikh 'Drowing Sorrows' Chilli

This is a huge victory for Sri Lanka. All but in the Final in my opinion.

Dilshan, on one leg, thrashes Swann, England's
pride and joy spinner, for a four.

Sheikh 'Yea Kya Majra Hai' Chilli

All smiles as Dilshan blocks out last two balls so Tharanga can get his century

Congrats Tharanga! Class player. Well done SL. Rematch of 2007 Semi.

It's all over. England put out of their misery. A 10 wicket victory. Dilshan down.

Poor England. Weren't as bad as the scorecard makes them look like.

Dilshan, can't walk out of the park. He is being
helped by two men, off the field. What a hero.

Sheikh 'Iron Man' Chilli

Absolute Annihilation by Lankan Batters. England were simply not good enough today.

Congrats to Sri Lanka and its fans, Commiserations to England and its fans

Sri Lanka and Pakistan generally celebrate humbly when they win a game............contrast that with the ott and cocky Indian celebrations.

England's team is largely made-up of pretty boy
rockstar wannabees, for whom cricket is just a
launching pad, to get bigger, better things.

They aren't hungry enough to play the game and
today, it showed.

Sheikh 'Cream Rises To The Top' Chilli

Well played Sri Lanka, a much better ODI side than us.

Supporting Pakistan to win the WC cup now.

Congrats to Sri Lanka and its fans, Commiserations to England and its fans

Played SL. I thought they would win today.

Athers: "You've been on the road a long time. Looking forward to going home?"

Strauss: "Yes".

I think that says it all really. England planned for the Ashes down to the last detail, but they also agreed to seven ODIs against Aussie when three made more sense. They had no clue who their best ODI XI were. They took a mentally and physically exhausted side into the WC and watched player after player go home or succumb to injury.

The time to start to prepare for WC 2015 is right now. The nucleus of the new side has to be Cook (skipper), Bell, Bopara, Morgan, Broad and Swann. Time for Strauss, KP, Colly and Jimmy to hang up their ODI boots.

I'm really happy Sri Lanka won, I thought England would be more of a challenge though, they were quite disappointing. I was sorry to see some dropped catches by the Sri Lankans, they are usually excellent (well, don't know about Samaraweera, but Mathews certainly is). Probably this day would have been too good to be true for them without those mistakes, so they were bound to have an off day in one department. If Pakistan don't reach the final and SL do, I will root for them to win the World Cup (but not just because they would prevent India from winning, also because I like SL and I would love to see them lift the trophy if Pakistan don't win their semifinal). But come on guys keep the dream going!!

Played SL. I thought they would win today.

Athers: "You've been on the road a long time. Looking forward to going home?"

Strauss: "Yes".

I think that says it all really. England planned for the Ashes down to the last detail, but they also agreed to seven ODIs against Aussie when three made more sense. They had no clue who their best ODI XI were. They took a mentally and physically exhausted side into the WC and watched player after player go home or succumb to injury.

The time to start to prepare for WC 2015 is right now. The nucleus of the new side has to be Cook (skipper), Bell, Bopara, Morgan, Broad and Swann. Time for Strauss, KP, Colly and Jimmy to hang up their ODI boots.
I've been very disappointed with England this world cup. No planning, constant whining, lack of fight in certain matches e.g. Bangladesh.

Honestly I think they planned better for The T20 world cup which they won.

England are never going to take the world cup more seriously than the Ashes. The ashes needs to be played further way from the world cup. Maybe play it a month early. It's clear to me that the ashes had an effect on England's preparation for the world cup. Maybe Australia's too. Or make sure the world cup isn't played near the ashes.

This 7 ODI series, in my opinion has to change. In fact I wouldn't bother playing them at all. Just play 2 ODIs (no T20s) and then have the test series. No one really cares about the ODI series in the ashes, so it's not worth having them.

Having said that, I still think these were all excuses. Fact is England didn't want to win the world cup as much as the ashes. It's difficult to find that extra motivation when you've already achieved your main goal. Add that, the squad selection was wrong, and the preparation was little.

Congratulations to SL. Stunning victory!

England, please go home and rest for a while. :facepalm:

Ultra Humiliating defeat for England, but I'm kinda glad that its all over for them. The whole team is free to break any arm or leg and have a never ending rest. Now I can give Pakistan my 100% undivided attention.

Congrats to Sri Lanka. Amazing performance. But I hope we don't see you in final! You are pretty dull team at the end of the day.

Having said that, I still think these were all excuses. Fact is England didn't want to win the world cup as much as the ashes. It's difficult to find that extra motivation when you've already achieved your main goal.

Agreed.

Their main prize was clearly the Ashes and in that they were successful.

But no semi-final berth since 1992 is just rubbish really.

lol just yesterday i told my dad that dilshan and tharanga will fail miserably against world XI

IM so much happy for SRILANKA> what a win and one to remember for a long long time. Poor English Fell'as will now go home CRYING. Bunch of LOOZER'Z. SRILANKA were BRILLIANT. AAWsome batting by both the openers, gave eng nothing away. awsome performance and this is called a DOMINATING win. LOVED IT. WOW first we smashed WI n Now SRILANKA smashed ENG. looks like a PAK-SRI FINAL inshallah