Thankfully we don't have to play India in Test cricket

Saj

I would like to thank the Indian Government from saving the Pakistan cricket team from the misery, embarrassment and heartache of playing their team currently in Test cricket.

Yes, it pains me to say it, but the matches would be one-sided, anti-climaxes which would show up the current Pakistan Test team.

No bilateral cricket with India in the last 10 years is the best thing that has happened to the dignity of Pakistan cricket.

People don’t realize how big of a blessing it has been. Pakistan getting thrashed home and away every year across formats would have finished off the interest in Pakistan cricket.

Current KUldeep will bamboozle most teams. They struggled against Rehan on a flat deck. Imagine them facing SG ball from KUldeep. They could collapse in a heap not to mention the threat from Ashwin/jaddu/Bumrah/Shami. There won't be any breathing space.

Do us a favour - just make the WTC finals so that we Indian fans can enjoy the game 😁.

But hey , watch out it’s a ‘final’ and we know that word does some strange things to our team

No bilateral cricket with India in the last 10 years is the best thing that has happened to the dignity of Pakistan cricket.

People don’t realize how big of a blessing it has been. Pakistan getting thrashed home and away every year across formats would have finished off the interest in Pakistan cricket.
Ok if India is that much strong and confident then why does Pakistan always show interest in playing cricket with them but Indian board always finds some sort of excuse to back out?

Pak has very young side. I think Babar has played the most number of matches which is around 50.
With more experience players like abrar Abdullah Naseem Salman Shaheen along with Rizwan and Babar would form the best touring side to India

Ok if India is that much strong and confident then why does Pakistan always show interest in playing cricket with them but Indian board always finds some sort of excuse to back out?
Surely not because we are scared of the current Pakistan Team . We played you a lot back in the times we ought to have been scared .

The answer of course is politics - nothing else

There are political reasons for this. Govt is responsible not board

Do us a favour - just make the WTC finals so that we Indian fans can enjoy the game 😁.

But hey , watch out it’s a ‘final’ and we know that word does some strange things to our team
Bro don't wish for a Final otherwise Pakistan would have a walk over against the new chokers.

Will be a good series on Indian pitches.

Not sure anyone would want to watch any Test series in Pakistan on those awful surfaces?

No movement, no spin, no bounce.

Simon Doull has different opinion on "custom made" pitches.
No one questions Indian pitches and we all know the reasons why. If these are not custom made pitches. Can you please tell me why Ashwin and jadeja have the same amount of 5fers in SENA as glenn Phillips? If these are not custom made pitches than how come they have only taken 1 5fer between them?

I am still amazed that a sub-continental team has no quality spinner plus gets rolled over by a SENA team’s spinner. Tbh it’s a shame. Till you rectify your spin woes you can never compete against India.

No one questions Indian pitches and we all know the reasons why. If these are not custom made pitches. Can you please tell me why Ashwin and jadeja have the same amount of 5fers in SENA as glenn Phillips? If these are not custom made pitches than how come they have only taken 1 5fer between them?
India has seamers to spank the opponent overseas. Spinners are used as support cast. INdia uses 4 seamers. Why are you excluding West Indies/Srilanka and other countries. Ashwin played just one innings in NZ in his entire career. so this is stupid to ask knowing that India doesn't use spinnners as a weapon there. Spinners take fifers only when fast bowlers suck.

Pakistan would be loosing inside four days. Pakistan issue is not only batting , but bowling as well. Pakistan lack test quality spinner , there is no way they can put pressure on Indian batters , even though Indian batters have not been that good .

Nah, losing and winning can happen. Hardly means that you don't play.

I still love watching young Aus batsman on turning tracks in India even though series outcome is likely to be loss for Aus. Some individual perormances agaisnt gun side in their den is worth watching. Indians did not win when playing away in 90s. but brilliant knocks by SRT was worth watching in so many away tours.

You still try your best to compete and that's the fun part.

That’s because no bilateral cricket with India has caused massive financial losses to PCB.

This is also the reason why GOI doesn’t allow BCCI to play bilateral cricket with PCB. They don’t want PCB making money off them.

No bilateral cricket has caused financial losses to BCCI as well but it is just a drop in the ocean for them because of how rich they are, but for PCB, it is a very significant loss.

BCCI can live without not spanking PCB year in year out in bilateral cricket as long as PCB is not making money off them.

If we had Misbah, Younis, Azhar etc then the things would have been different but yep right now its a blessing in disguise.
That is a myth.

Misbah’s Pakistan could barely beat Sri Lanka and Sri Lanka in that era were still very inferior to India.

Kohli’s India would have destroyed Misbah’s Pakistan in Test cricket as well.

There is nothing to question. India has proven that playing on good pitches they can beat any opponent at home. Always crying England themselves have agreed that this series has had some very sporting pitches. Remember India have drawn a series in England, South Africa and won in Australia. We have very good seamers for overseas Tests, so spinners normally don't come into play. For example in the second Test against SA, Jedeja did not even bowl in both the innings. Difficult to take fifers when you are not bowling.

On the same tracks India demolish away teams, Pakistan will lose to England, Australia, New Zealand

Would be interesting if in England.
either u arrange this series on Jupiter fact is that India is way ahead than Pakistan at the moment with current lot which we have we might not able to win even against Afghanistan with their prime spinners on.

That's because India has or had world class fast bowlers like Bumrah, Shami, Ishant, Siraj etc who picked most of the wickets in SENA on seam friendly wickets. Had we went in with the likes of Khurran Shehzad, Faheem Ashraf etc...then Ashwin/Jadeja would have had the chance of taking useless fifers like 5-140 or something.

India is far ahead of pakistan in all departments. only way Pakistan has 1 percent chance to beat india in test cricket is to play at a neutral venue like lords. Else, I think it will be all india.

I would like to thank the Indian Government from saving the Pakistan cricket team from the misery, embarrassment and heartache of playing their team currently in Test cricket.

Yes, it pains me to say it, but the matches would be one-sided, anti-climaxes which would show up the current Pakistan Test team.

:D

Truth hurts but so true this.

No one can compete with India on custom made pitches.
Pakistan cannot compete with India on any pitch because India is far superior at every aspect.

Therefore, Pakistani fans don’t have the right to criticize India for custom made pitches.

India is too good in all departments of the game, bench strength, think tank, talent, technique, game awareness, mental toughness,captaincy tactical awareness and cricketing intellect.

Apart from the one odd surprise on a bad day for India, the present day Indian cricketers will win 9 times out of 10 against Pakistan.

Their cricket has gone to another level.

I wish a staggered series could be arranged in Dubai/uae, Melbourne/sydney, Auckland/chch, Joburg/durban, Brimingham/any of the two london gounds.
am sure it would be sellouts, the Indo-pak-BD- SL expats would throng in numbers...and the wide variety of surfaces would be a fantastic test of skills for both sides.
In fact - i feel the same formula should be done for WTC finals instead of the winner takes all, one test in Eng at the beggining of the English season.
Am not saying that was the reason india lost in 2021 and 2023 but imagine if both WTC finals were played in india, we'd be WTC champs.
Different conditins- would be a true test.

Unfortunately if series was in Pakistan you would see Jaiswal and Gills scoring double and triple hundreds on flat roads and Pakistan crumbling on scoreboard pressure.

A series in India would be a bloodbath, Pakistan can't even handle pie floaters like jacks, Rehan etc. Indian spinners would be queuing up to bowl

Money, PCB hosting India for a series would make the board more money than a season of PSL! Hosting India is very very lucrative.

Indo-Pak clash will be a treat to watch but I am not sure if Pakistan will be winning that game. India is too good of a side atm to be beaten.

One positive will be the money. PCB can use that to improve grassroot infrastructure and become better team.

Yes, with the current bunch of players, we will be whitewashed with humiliation. India is a giant in Test cricket at home, like Australia.

We have not done too shabbily over last few years in away tours too,

Last series,

SA: Draw
Eng: Draw
NZ: Loss
Aus: 2 series, 2 Wins

Not too bad. Better away record than most teams in world cricket.

Hope we see better relations moving forward and there is sporting and cultural exchange between the two countries.

Even today, nothing gets me more excited than the occasional India-Pakistan fixtures in ICC events and Asia Cup.

India look good these days, no doubt. But they have only gotten good since they stopped playing Pakistan.

We were their bogey team and a few losses against us woild see them chopping their players/captain/coaches.

They would not be the settled unit they are today if they had to continously face us. The bigger blessing is for Indian cricket that they can play pressure free

It's a shame we don't get to see test matches between India and Pakistan, with the new talent coming through my hunch is that Pakistan would win a three test series 2-0, and a five test series either 3-0 or 3-1.

India look good these days, no doubt. But they have only gotten good since they stopped playing Pakistan.

We were their bogey team and a few losses against us woild see them chopping their players/captain/coaches.

They would not be the settled unit they are today if they had to continously face us. The bigger blessing is for Indian cricket that they can play pressure free
A team that has a 0-8 record against India in wcs is suddenly our bogey team lol, we all know what happens to pakistani players when they face India.

Even in the 2000s, India won 3 out of the 4 odi series played (incl 2 in pak) and only lost 1 out of the 4 test series, winning 2.

And lets not forget the epic trashing in 2003.

Pakistan has lost test series at home to sl, nz, aus and got crushed by eng.

I think even winning 1 match would be a miracle for you guys

A team that has a 0-8 record against India in wcs is suddenly our bogey team lol, we all know what happens to pakistani players when they face India.

Even in the 2000s, India won 3 out of the 4 odi series played (incl 2 in pak) and only lost 1 out of the 4 test series, winning 2.

And lets not forget the epic trashing in 2003.

Pakistan has lost test series at home to sl, nz, aus and got crushed by eng.

I think even winning 1 match would be a miracle for you guys

We are talking tests not ODIs. In either case why stop at 2000's? Go back and check records of both formats, we are still ahead in head to head encounters by quite a margin.

We needed more indo-pak test series' in the 90s. I think they played 3-4 test matches

Unfortunately if series was in Pakistan you would see Jaiswal and Gills scoring double and triple hundreds on flat roads and Pakistan crumbling on scoreboard pressure.

A series in India would be a bloodbath, Pakistan can't even handle pie floaters like jacks, Rehan etc. Indian spinners would be queuing up to bowl

If the series is in Pakistan, our batters will score plethora of runs as you mentioned. Still remember what Viru did in Multan back the day. This is the main reason why I want Indian team to play Champions trophy next year in Pakistan. With all the IPL hitting experience, our boys may get bezerk on those flat decks of Lahore and Pindi.

However, a test series in India or UAE will be more closer than you think. Spinners and reverse swing will come into play and then who knows.

I do not necesarily agree with the assessment. When we consistently play against good teams, we improve. thats actually true for most teams. the reason our test cricket is so bad now is because 1) we dont focus on scheduling it and 2) as a result of not prioritizing it, we are not playing enough and against enough quality teams.

The focus is just on T20, not even ODIs anymore. PRIORITIES, PRIORITIES!

You were our "bogey team" in the 90s.

No no scratch that.... you were a better side than us in the 90s. Just like how India have been a better side than Pakistan for the most part of the last two decades.

This "bogey team" drama might make somewhat sense in one-off ICC tournament games but not in bilaterals.

Wah, Bhai ka confidence toh dekho! Kya baat hai!
It may not happen right away but ill tell you something. The day our board says contracted test players will make as much money as they make playing T20 leagues all around the world, and start scheduling regular test series (bare minimum 3 tests) against the likes of England, NZ, Aus and SA regularly, it will take only a couple of years for us to get to a point where we can actually get that margin of victory against India.

When we consistently play against good teams, we improve. thats actually true for most teams.

This is such an overused and an illogical cliche.

Joe Root and Chris Silverwood's England side proves it blatantly wrong. The only reason why England had to resort to the last ditch i.e 'Bazball' and Joe Root is no longer an England Test captain is because they kept on playing strong sides (India, Australia, New Zealand) continuously for an year and a half and kept on losing to them. They didn't improve at any point in that period and ended up losing a series to West Indies.

Now whether Pakistan cricket has the same guts as McCullum/Stokes to do a complete top-down overhaul of its entire approach is a question you definitely have the answer to.

This is such an overused and an illogical cliche.

Joe Root and Chris Silverwood's England side proves it blatantly wrong. The only reason why England had to resort to the last ditch i.e 'Bazball' and Joe Root is no longer an England Test captain is because they kept on playing strong sides (India, Australia, New Zealand) continuously for an year and a half and kept on losing to them.

Now whether Pakistan cricket has the same guts as McCullum/Stokes to do a complete top-down overhaul of its entire approach is a question you definitely have the answer to.
Well, I see where you are coming from and in an INDIAN CONTEX, my statement does not seem to apply well. India continues to prioritize test cricket, in fact all cricket against top quality opposition and the results, while decent, are still a bit bare in terms of silverware.

With Pakistan, thats not the case. We do not have the domestic structure India does and our improvements come from direct exposure to top quality international cricket. That has always been the case. Feel free to disagree but history actually shows that every time Pakistan played regular test cricket against good teams, the skill levels and the results gradually improved.

I will back this up with some stats, particularly around 2008-2012 or so era, to prove my point when the time permits.

3-0 Tests, 4-1 ODIs, 5-2 T20is - that's how I'd see it, even at home, heck Indian pitches might give us more joy than Pakistani ones. India would be devastating on roads.

However, I disagree on the blessing of no bilaterals - event in tests. We could do with a marquee occasion to build around especially in red-ball cricket. It was healthy for us visiting England every 2 years from 2016-2020, be good if we had another scenario such as that. So what if we get smashed, happens in Australia every few years, and elsewhere though not as despairingly.

Besides, I think Pakistan could have a good test team, not very good or great but just good: Abdullah, Ghulam, Saud, Babar, Hurraira, Rizwan, Salman, Jamaal, Shaheen, Naseem, Abrar.

By the way when it comes to PAKISTAN cricket, TEST CRICKET is absolutely not the priority anymore. All other arguments come later. Pakistan board and players are driven by the financial aspect of it and test cricket is the most demanding and least rewarding for them. Test cricket actually got put on the back burner a long time ago, around the SHARJAH ODIs era. This is without question. So why would they even worry about doing a to down overhaul?

Those things are for cricketing nations like England and Australia to worry about. Pakistan is looking just to white ball, that too just T20 cricket now, whether we like it or not.

Yes talent bahut hai bas motivation nahi, if not Pakistanis can do anything.

What a loser mentality

No one questions Indian pitches and we all know the reasons why.
It's not the case actually. In fact, the last time Eng toured Ind (2021), most Eng cricketers and ex cricketers (like Alistair Cook) had heavily criticized the Indian pitches publicly. 2 out of 4 venues were given "below par" rating by ICC. Neither ICC nor ECB is scared of BCCI.
This time all the 5 pitches hv been 'sporting'. Most Eng players/commies hv openly praised the pitches. And hv rather whined a lot about the DRS this time. LOL.

You were our "bogey team" in the 90s.

No no scratch that.... you were a better side than us in the 90s. Just like how India have been a better side than Pakistan for the most part of the last two decades.

This "bogey team" drama might make somewhat sense in one-off ICC tournament games but not in bilaterals.

In tests, India has the lowest win percentage against Pakistan hovering around 15%.

Not so easy to beat us

In tests, India has the lowest win percentage against Pakistan hovering around 15%.

Not so easy to beat us
Lol, you must be a salesperson , Pakistan’s is also only 20% .. and we haven’t played in years that’s why.

Not so easy to beat us
lol you have never been our bogey team, you were just better than us.

Your overall record against us is 12-9 which isnt that good despite your superiority

Lol, you must be a salesperson , Pakistan’s is also only 20% .. and we haven’t played in years that’s why.

Just shows how competitive the two teams can be when facing each other. Pak can never be written off no matter how strong India looks. And India has only started to look strong now that Pak is not in the picture.

Politics has deprived us of this great rivalry.

lol you have never been our bogey team, you were just better than us.

Your overall record against us is 12-9 which isnt that good despite your superiority

We were superior yes. India however cannot claim superiority now since they don't play us

Just shows how competitive the two teams can be when facing each other. Pak can never be written off no matter how strong India looks. And India has only started to look strong now that Pak is not in the picture.

Politics has deprived us of this great rivalry.
We know we are better than you because you got trashed at home by sl, aus, nz and eng while we haven't lost a home series for 12 years.

Pakistan hasn't won a match in aus for 3 decades while we have won the last 2 series there.

And Pakistan are a middling team who hover around the 6th Or 7th position and haven't made a wtc final.

I am pretty confident we would trash Pakistan both home and away without breaking a sweat

We know we are better than you because you got trashed at home by sl, aus, nz and eng while we haven't lost a home series for 12 years.

Pakistan hasn't won a match in aus for 3 decades while we have won the last 2 series there.

And Pakistan are a middling team who hover around the 6th Or 7th position and haven't made a wtc final.

I am pretty confident we would trash Pakistan both home and away without breaking a sweat

Great achievements by India and kudos to you guys for making the best of home advantage.

However, these achievements are not against Pakistan and the intestity of an India vs Pakistan match is different. Until we see one, it's all what ifs

Great achievements by India and kudos to you guys for making the best of home advantage.

However, these achievements are not against Pakistan and the intestity of an India vs Pakistan match is different. Until we see one, it's all what ifs
But we can look at the results of India pak matches in white ball cricket and pak are a better white ball team than red ball.

And in the sub continent, a wc clash between india and pak carry more pressure and weight than a test match does

Its not far fetched to predict that a team ranked No.1 or 2 will defeat that mostly hovers around in the 7th position

We were superior yes. India however cannot claim superiority now since they don't play us

LMAO. I know patriotism blocks all the logic and sanity (which is not a bad thing) but this is like some Zimbabwean fan saying "England or Australia cannot claim superiority over us because they don't play us".

Yes I know the gap between India and Pakistan is not as big as Australia and Zimbabwe but the point remains.

Not so easy to beat us

How do all these stats even matter? :uakmal

Pakistan also had a higher win percentage against India in ODIs before the 2018 Asia Cup. Did that stop them from getting murdered by us for 5 consecutive ODIs in a row from 2018-23?

LMAO. I know patriotism blocks all the logic and sanity (which is not a bad thing) but this is like some Zimbabwean fan saying "England or Australia cannot claim superiority over us because they don't play us".

Yes I know the gap between India and Pakistan is not as big as Australia and Zimbabwe but the point remains.
Okay that's really far fetched. A more accurate comparison would've been Australia vs England, the other prominent test rivalry. If Australia doesn't play England for almost 2 decades, can they claim superiority?

The gap between Pak and India is not big, but don't forget, Pak is leading. Your team has to close the gap

India has seamers to spank the opponent overseas. Spinners are used as support cast. INdia uses 4 seamers. Why are you excluding West Indies/Srilanka and other countries. Ashwin played just one innings in NZ in his entire career. so this is stupid to ask knowing that India doesn't use spinnners as a weapon there. Spinners take fifers only when fast bowlers suck.
And NZ used Philips as a spinner lol and picked up a 5 fer.
Pakistan cannot compete with India on any pitch because India is far superior at every aspect.

Therefore, Pakistani fans don’t have the right to criticize India for custom made pitches.
I just stated a fact. Pakistan are a rubbish team currently doesn't change the fact that India has custom made pitches for their bowlers hence why Ashwin and jadeja has the same amount of 5fers in SENA as glenn Phillips.

I don’t see it this way at all.

Playing your biggest rivals is some of the most enjoyable matches and, win or lose, being deprived of those matches makes the game a little less enjoyable. Also you never know, crazy things happen in these kinds of high pressure rivalry matches. Even if we lost, maybe they would provide the motivation for Pakistan cricket to make changes to become a better team.

On another note, how cool would it be if cricket had more marches in a neutral venue. Imagine Pakistan and India playing a Test match at Lord’s. Or England vs Australia competing on spinning pitches in India. It could makes for some really unique match ups.